Reading Reviews for Broken Silence
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan Long Nights

13th January 2014:
Ooh, I like this. You did quite well depicting Victoire's heartbreak at her sister's leaving. So sad that that had to drown out what should have been happiness at her engagement. What should have been a really special day for Victoire got totally turned around when Dominique ran away and I think you portrayed her feelings of loss really well! The flashback was well integrated too.

Your portrayal of Teddy and Victoire is really cute, even though they can't be as happy about their engagement as they would be in other circumstances. They do seem like the sweetest couple here and seem so loving - evident in how much he takes care of her here :)

I think my favourite part of this was the last few paragraphs where Victoire reflects on past Christmases with Dominique! It was really cute and I liked the details you chose to bring out. Dom's fashion taste, Christmas carols, the snow, the hot chocolate. It made for a nice wintery scene that contrasted Victoire's sadness about her sister leaving.

Aw, I'm glad she came back in the end!

Thanks for the review swap, it was fun!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, i guess it is :( I'm glad I did! After all, that was the main point of this! I'm glad!

Thank u! That honestly was a concern for me, how I could get the romance to shine through when the main plot was about sister love :)

Thank u! That credit goes to Grace :) She was the one who told me to add more description :D

Thank u! I really enjoyed the swap too!


 Report Review

Review #2, by kenpo Long Nights

10th January 2014:
Hiya, here for the BvB battle:)

This was awesome, but sad. I think Victoire was great. Her family and the traditions that they shared were obviously very important to her, and I think that was clear but not too obviously stated. It also makes sense that family would mean a lot to her. She's the oldest child of the oldest child... and she's the oldest cousin.

I don't know why, but for a second I thought Teddy had killed her.

...my bad.

That would've been an interesting direction to take things...

Dominique is so dramatic. She's such a younger sister. She does have a point, but it was clear that they didn't want to hurt her.

I liked that you had the flashback in there. It was nicer than if you'd narrated that section. It made the characters come alive a lot more.

Teddy and Victoire were so sweet together. They obviously cared for each other very much. I hope their relationship isn't hurt too much by Dom's reaction...

I already said that I liked the way you portrayed Dom... but really. It was good. So dramatic. I'd love to see Bill trying to calm her down.

This was a really cool, well written story. I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Hi! Another lovely review! How sweet! :D

Thank u! I'm glad it does! I would hate for it to seem cliche and not necessary or believable!

Haha, that is actually a first! :D And yes, how interesting that would be! Ooh a plunny! ;)

Thank u! Thats all she's meant to be, dramatic. Not 'bad'! I'm glad u saw that side of her!

Nah, it wouldn't be! Teddy loves Vic too much for that! And vice versa!

Thank u! I'm glad! Your reviews are really awesome! :D

Thank u! I'm glad u did! :D

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm Long Nights

7th January 2014:
Hey Curie! Here for the final day of the 12 days of reviewing!

I really loved how you wrote Teddy and Victoire as they were so sweet together and I could really tell that they cared for one another as that seemed to shine through throughout this piece. Another thing I really liked was that though they had the fluffy moments, they also had those when you could really tell how much they knew each other and meant to each other which were really adorable too.

The flashback was really good too, because you wrote it really well and the tension between the two sisters was really noticeable. I also liked it because it gave me more background information to the story because I was mildly confused at the beginning about the whole proposal thing. If you are willing to edit this, I would perhaps include a small scene at the beginning of this with Dom not being proposed to because it will mean thereís more background information and great angst wise. If you donít want, thatís also fine.

I liked Dom a lot too because she was quite the firecracker and had me chuckling about how extremes. I do hope that she does come to terms with it in the end and perhaps it was best that she wasnít proposed to.

There were a couple of errors in regards to your dialogue punctuation so I suggest you check out the tutorials on the forums because theyíre really useful and great for grasping the basics of it.

Fun read!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!!

Thanks so much, I'm glad that stood our to u! Meansthe main thing I tried to so was accomplished! I'm glad u could see that too! I was kind of worried that the whole thing would be Vic being all angsty and no romance! Thank u for the reassurance :)

Thanks so much! And that's a great suggestion! I'll definitely add that in when I go back and edit! Thank u so much!

And I can't tell u how much I love u for saying that! A lot of people think that she's only a really selfish witch ( ;) ), but, all she is is a drama queen, or, a firecracker :)

Okay! I'll definitely go do that too! I'm terrible with grammar :(

Thanks for the super lovely review! :D

-Curie


 Report Review

Review #4, by MissesWeasley123 Long Nights

3rd January 2014:
Hello again Curie! Yay, I get to read more of your work! I'm here again for the 8th day of the 12 Days of Reviewing!

One thing I'd like to point out, in your chapter summary, Victoire's name was spelt wrong :) You can go fix that whenever though, Grace did an excellent job at betaing the piece.

This definitely was darker than the other prompt stories! I was not expecting this! Prompt four was definitely the hardest to write for because you couldn't alter the beginning in any way, and a whole whack of other people would have the same beginning. I think you threw in a very good twist of your into this, so great job!

Dom is so ew. I hated her. Characterization is definitely a strength for you because you wanted the reader to hate her, and I did, so your job there is done. She is just such a brat!

The flow of the story was great, which was nice to see because when people are switching POVs and going into flashbacks and stuff it's not always the smoothest but this was, so congrats on that.

Tedy is so cute, really. He seems so loving and him and Victoire make the cutest couple ever, and especially when he proposed!

Anyways, great one shot and I wish you luck in the duel!

Author's Response: Hi Nadia!! :D

Haha, yeah, I normally don't write dark, but this, I wanted to do instantly! The hardest thing for me is getting the voice right, so I was actually happy that the beginning was already tere :D

Thank you so so much! It' means a lot!! :D I can express in words how happy u made me! :D

Eep! More compliments!! Thank u thank u thank u!! :D you are way too nice to me!

Haha, I'm glad u think they're cute! Teddy is definitely my dream guy! :)

Thank u!! I'll fix up those typos soon :)

Thanks again for the super lovely review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by UnluckyStar57 Long Nights

3rd January 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the Eighth Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing, in which we must review Winter Writer's Duel stories. :)

Poor Victoire. Her siblings were her whole world, and to have one of them leave her must have been heartbreaking--no, it WAS heartbreaking. I love that Teddy was there to comfort her while she cried.

Oh, the flashback! That was terrible!! Dominique was so distraught, and of course she had to hear Teddy's proposal! So Victoire obviously blames herself for Dom's disappearance. The thing that really bugs me is that Victoire had every right to be happy, but Dominique got offended by her happiness. Humans are silly like that, and you captured that PERFECTLY.

This was a great story! Good luck in the Duel!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yeah :( I'm glad u got that message about how important her siblings were to her!

Yeah, she does blame herself :) haha, I'm glad u did capture that well. That was the kind of base of this strict; how silly humans can really be!

Thank u! I'm glad u enjoyed it!

-ReeBee


 Report Review

Review #6, by BookDinosaur Long Nights

3rd January 2014:
Hello Curie! I'm here for the Eighth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing. :)

I realy enjoyed reading this story! I think your development of the prompt was really nice. I think Prompt Four stories (like mine) turned out actually quite dark compared to the others.

I really enjoyed reading about Teddy and Victoire here, they were such a sweet couple and it was so obvious that they loved each other. The way Teddy was just there for Victoire made me so happy to read about them.

But ah, Dom! I mean, not to be nasty or anything, but she's being really selfish, ruining her sister's Christmas and proposal. I mean, okay she miht be upset that her boyfriend dumped her, but it's not like Teddy was proposing to Victoire to spite Dom! And unfortunately, I think this situation is quite realistic as well, a lot of relationships seem to be really one-sided. :( That's why I was so happy to see Teddy and Victoire's relationship where they both cared about each other so obviously.

I really enjoyed the way you descibed Victoire's relationship with her sister, it was really nice and very vivid, I could really feel how much Victoire cared in this story.

I jut want to point out though, there were a couple of instance where you spelt 'Victoire' as 'Victorie', switching the 'i' and the 'r' around. It was nothing big and didn't really disrupt the flow of the story though, so you don't have to worry too much. :)

I think that the way you switched POVs was really smooth, I really liked how you switched so easily from Victoire's to Teddy's.

I think you have some really nice imagery going on here - these two quotes in particular were beautiful and really vivid, the helped me see the scene in my mind so well.

She had been so happy then. Her eyes dancing, the fire in her eyes lit with elation.

and

The white blanket of snow contrasted heavily with the black quilt that was the night.

This was a really nice story and I really enjoyed reading it, congrats on getting an entry into the Duel and good luck! :)

Author's Response: Emily! You're so sweet!!!

Yeah! I know right! I've read a few and they're quite dark :) and yours! Ah! Really heart wrenching! But amazing! Congrats on the win!

Thank u so much! That was definitely my point and I'm glad it worked! He's totally my perfect guy! :D

I'm glad you thought it was realistic :) yeah, Dom is a bit selfish and totally crazy in this. Yeah, I Thayer with u on that one, a lot of relationships are one sided.

Eep! Thanks so much! I have no siblings so I was going blindfolded with this one! I'm glad it was sweet!

Thank u! This was actually my first story in 3rd person!

I've never been complimented on imagery in any of my stories, so this means so much to me! Thank u thank u thank u!! :D

Thank u! Thanks again for reading mine , Emily!!

-Curie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Infinityx Long Nights

3rd January 2014:
Hi there! I'm here for the eighth day of the 12 days of reviewing challenge.

This was such an emotion-filled, beautifully written story. I love the closeness between Teddy and Victoire. Its really sad that their happy moment had to be spoiled because Dom was being such a stupid brat.

I love the way you portrayed Teddy. He's just so sweet, sensitive and supporting. It was so nice of him to propose to Vic in a different room. I love the description of how happy Vic had been; that was such a beautiful line! The amount of love he holds for her is so evident and adorable.

I love your characterization of Victoire as well. She just loves her siblings so much. Its a pity Dom couldn't be a bit more mature.

I found a few minute mistakes here and there, which I'm sure you'd find yourself if you read it through again. One thing that really stuck out was your spelling of Victoire. At some places its Victoire and at others its Victorie. That really struck out and interrupted the flow of the story so I thought I'd point it out. :)

Overall, it was brilliant. I absolutely love the way you ended it as well. It was to the point and powerful.

I really enjoyed reading this story. Good job! :)

- Erin

Author's Response: Thank u so so much!! I'm so glad that you thought it was written well!

Hehe, he's definitely my perfect guy! Yeah, thanks so much! I'm really happy with the description in this Aw, thank you! But, of course, don't hate Dom too much! She's just a drama queen, doesn't mean any real harm. :)

Yeah, thank u for pointing that out! You're the first person who has! I'll go back and edit that :)

Thank you so much! I've actually been told that the ending was too abrupt, so this was reassuring :)

Thanks again for the super lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by LightLeviosa5443 Long Nights

1st January 2014:
Hey some I'm here for the BvB review battle!

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS STORY. I mean, you know as well as I do how big I am on Next Gen, and we both know that I mostly read ScoRose. But I loved this one. I love when people write fics that make me fall in love with ships I don't normally read. You've done that for me here.

The entire time I was reading I was on the verge of tears because I didn't want Dom to be gone, I wanted her to come back, for everything to be okay. I felt Victoire's pain almost as if it was my own.

I already said this, but I loved loved loved this story. The ending was fantastic as well, when Fleur came out and she's "she's back". Just perfect.

xoxoxoxoxoxoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Thank u so so much! I'm glad you liked it! Especially when you are a huge ScoRose shipper! *jaw drops* you LOVED it!! Ah! *squee!* I'm so glad!! :D

Thanks so much! I'm glad that u could feel the pain! :D

Than u so much! Wow...perfect! Thank u so much!! :D

xoxo Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by writeyourheartout Long Nights

30th December 2013:
Curie! Hi! You only have six stories on your page, so I'm here reviewing you for the 12 Days of Reviewing challenge on the forums! Also, I've been meaning to review all of the Writer's Duel entries, and what a bonus that I also have the chance to read some of your writing in return for all the wonderful things you've said about my own! Yay! Let's get started! :-D

Ah, this was so sad! That prompt four, man, it really made for some darker stories! I really enjoyed the angle you took this story; where something so joyous and romantic turned into something so upsetting! Of course, it makes me want to punch Dominique in the face, but hey - at least you're evoking emotions, right? :-p

Teddy and Victoire I found very sweet. I feel so badly for them that they're meant to be experiencing some of the happiest moments of their lives right now, but it's been ripped away from them because her sister is bitter and angry and jealous. I don't know that much about next gen characters or how your versions of these three compare to others, but I really enjoyed them all. Teddy is such a sweetheart for his tracking Victoire down and not leaving her alone, and I personally love that he couldn't keep himself from proposing any longer! When you love somebody that much and you want to spend your life with them so badly that you can't wait any longer, it's just very romantic. It's really too bad that he didn't get to enjoy the moment really at all. Only the one memory of "She had been so happy then. Her eyes dancing, the fire in her eyes lit with elation." (Love this line, by the way.) And Victoire cares so much about her sister to let her little temper tantrum destroy her so deeply. You would think that for Victoire to care so deeply about Dominique's feelings, Dominique in return would care enough about Victoire to suck up her sadness and congratulate her sister. But unfortunately, a lot of relationships tend to see this sort of one-sided-ness.

Dominique... Gah, what a brat, amiright? I mean, first off, she shouldn't be taking out her own relationship issues on Teddy and Victoire in the first place, but the fact that she actually blames Victoire for -getting- proposed to, like she's the one who did it, just shows the level of crazy Dom is at in this moment. "How could you do this to me, Vic?!" She's not doing it to you, Dom; she's saying yes for herself and for Teddy! Ah, she's such a Grinch, ruining Christmas. :-p

I think you did a really good job at flipping between Victoire and Teddy's thoughts! They're sort of these small POV changes that were both easy to follow and didn't require those annoying announcements of *So-and-So's POV*. Kudos to you, my friend!

I love the third to last paragraph that talks about Victoire and Dominique's childhood traditions in regards to the snow. It's very prettily written and so sweet. :)

I just have a few small critiques!:

"She couldn't bring herself to say something, she didn't know what to say." - This sentence is a little wonky; it doesn't quite sit right. I think just a few of the word choices and the phrasing don't allow it to flow as smoothly as it should. I think it would read more fluidly reworded similar to this: "She couldn't bring herself to say anything, for there was nothing to be said."

"The only thing she wanted to do was continue her search, but she was tired and her search so far was just as she had expected: futile." - I really like this line! My only tweak is that the twice used phrase 'her search' sounds a little repetitive so close together. I would try to substitute one of them for something else.

"She spat (present tense) out her older sister's name, a mocking tone seeped (past tense) into her voice." - You flipped tenses here. The majority of your story seems to be in present tense, though, so I would edit the 'seeped' to fit correctly.

"'Of course they were in vain!' She (she, not She) thought, bitterly." - (In the story, that first part is italicized, but Idk how to do it in a review! LOL) I think with these internal thoughts, you can get away with simply italicizing, and not both italicizing and putting them in single quotes. It would be just as easy to follow for us readers and I think it would just be more aesthetically pleasing, is all! But it's up to you! :-p

Anyway, overall I really enjoyed this, Curie! I think you did a really good job with prompt four and I'm excited to see the results of the competition! Congratulations on a great entry! *hugs*

xTanya

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D Haha, yeah! Very happy to be evoking emotions! :D

I'm so glad that you understood the idea behind it. Ive got a few reviews where they've said that they didn't get some of the ideas, so, this was very reassuring! :D Yeah, Dom is a bit of a drama queen...

Thank you so much! This is the best writing I've done, not the plot and etc, but the actual style :)

Thanks so much for the CC! I really really appreciate that! I'll change it in the next edit! :D Thanks so much! I'm so glad u liked it!! :D

Thanks for a fantabulous review, Tanya!

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by momotwins Long Nights

27th December 2013:
Wow, Dominique is out of control selfish and crazy. Holy crap. I wanted to smack the crap out of her, what a little brat! Poor Victoire and Teddy. They should've just told her off. Somebody needs to tell her that not everything is about her. Victoire really took all the blame, if only in her own head, I hope her parents didn't make like it was her fault. She and Teddy did nothing wrong.

Man you got me totally emotionally invested. I want to smack Dominique upside her head! haha. Nice job.

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you for the lovely review!! And coming from such a great author! My jaw is hitting the ground! Wow! I can't believe its really you!! *excited squeal!!* Anyway...

I'm glad you were emotionally invested :) That completely made my day and was the one true point of the story! Dom's just a drama queen, I hope you don't hate her too much :) But, thank u for the wonderful review!

I still can't believe its you!! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Secret Santa Long Nights

25th December 2013:
I really liked this story. I love one-shots and character studies, and this was both, so yay!

The central concept was a good one and makes a lot of sense. Dominique was heartbroken, and sometimes when you're in that state, it's hard to feel happy for anyone else. Also, I would think that once you got up the nerve to propose to someone, you wouldn't want to wait, so I can definitely see both sides. And Victoire's inner turmoil about being so happy about being engaged, but feeling so terribly about hurting her sister...man, there really is a lot going on in this story!

I loved the hints and details that you included, especially the bit about how Dominique always insists that they leave milk and cookies for Santa.

And I thought leaving the ending on a bit of a cliffhanger was a good choice. Yes, Dominique is back, but I don't think there would have been a way that you could have tied up the loose ends in a one-shot. You ended it just right.

So, basically, I thought this was all around great. I'm really glad I got the chance to read it. Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :D

Thanks again! Wow! That's the first time someone's told me it makes sense! When I wrote it, I had quite a solid understanding of the topic. But people have told me that it was a bit hard to believe that happening :) so, I'm glad u think it's good! :D

Thank u so much! That credit gods to my beta. Grace was the one who told me to add a bit more description and I came up with the stuff on what they used to do :)

Thanks so much. If I had resolved the whole thing, it would have turned fluffy and cheesy. Which I didn't really want- I thought it would stilt the mood and atmosphere of the story !

Thanks so much! That's so sweet!! :D Merry (belated) Christmas to u too! Have a great new year! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by DracoFerret11 Long Nights

22nd December 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums! I decided to read and review all of the Writer's Duel entries! :D So, let's go over things:

Syntax/Spelling: I only have two things to mention here. One, that I think you might use the word "shriek" too many times. ;) And two, that the female version of the word "fiance" (accent won't show up) has a second "e" and is spelled, "fiancee" (with the accent on the first "e" still).

Plot: This was a really interesting take on the prompt! I haven't actually read very many stories that include Dominique, so this was really interesting for me. Good job creating the dynamic between the sisters. I can see my own little sister reacting like this in this situation. I wonder why Teddy couldn't have just waited to propose, though...Anyhow, I really liked that Victoire was the one to go and search for her sister. I feel like I would be too angry to do the same. :/ Anyhow, very solid plot idea and good execution!

Characterization: Again, I liked the sister-dynamic between Victoire and Dominique. I could really relate to that, since I have three sisters myself. Also, I liked Teddy. :) But I feel like he wasn't very understanding of Victoire's situation. Maybe it's because he's an only child, but I just didn't feel like he was being supportive, which made me a bit sad.

Descriptions: I think that I could feel the emotions of the different characters, but it was hard for me to picture the scenarios and characters. I was a little unclear on where they were or how anything looked, sounded, smelled, felt, etc.

Overall, good job! I liked your take on this. Good luck in the Duel!

--Emily

Author's Response: Great job! I wanted to try and review all of the stories, but as it does sometimes, time got ahead if me :(

Ah, okay :) I thought it might, but got confused whether that was in French or English as well. I'll edit that in later :) and I'll definitely look to a thesaurus for shriek :) thanks for pointing that out.

I love writing Dom. She can be interpreted in so many ways. But, in both my stories she's come off as a negative character. But she's really just a drama queen. Yeah, Victoire is a bit guilty so she's go :)thanks so much!

Really? That sounds awesome! I'm an only child, so I was super nervous about how that would work in the story... But thanks so much! Yeah, Trddy is a bit awkward- he knows what to so but he doesn't understand the situation Vic is in :)

Hm, thanks for that note. I've actually got that a few times, I'm going to go edit that in my document and put it up later :D

Thank u so much! That was a lovely review to read!

-ReeBee


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lululuna Long Nights

20th December 2013:
Hi there! :) One of the things which is so cool about the fourth prompt is how it's a little darker than the others and there are so many ways to approach it, and I felt like yours was really original. :) I really liked how the relationships between the sisters was established and how close they clearly are, such as with Victoire keeping a picture of her sister in her wallet. I felt so sorry for Victoire, thinking that it was all her fault when really the boyfriend is the bad guy in the situation. The portrayal of Victoire was great as she seemed like such a caring, genuine person, and her and Teddy were very cute together.

I also felt like Dominique was being quite selfish and a little unhinged in how she saw her sister's happiness as being an insult to herself. That characterization was great and though I hoped they would find Dom, I was a little annoyed with her for causing so much drama! I think Teddy was too, with how he wondered how Vic could put up with Dominique and her moods all the time.

Well done with this! :) It was a great read, and good luck with the Duel! :D

Author's Response: Yeah- I loved the fourth prompt. And since they added it in last- god! It was definitely love at first sight! ;)

Thank u, yeah, Teddy is a bit of weird character in this one. In a way, he's still the type of young male- who doesn't think a lot about others.

Thanks so much, I was so scared when writing her. There are so many different versions of her!

Dom, she's a drama queen. Especially after her break up, she's on a bit of an emotional roller coaster and just wanted to get away :)

Thanks so much! You did one too. I'll get to reviewing it soon :) Good luck to u too!

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #14, by teh tarik Long Nights

19th December 2013:
Hello there! Congrats on getting in an entry for the Writers' Duel! :)

Such a sad piece :( But at least it got a lot happier in the end. You really showed Victoire's angst really well, and I think you did a great job conveying the depressed, gloomy atmosphere of the story, with the cold and the tears and everything. Teddy's presence in this fic was a comfort, both to Victoire and to the reader. Teddy is so supportive; without him, I think Victoire would have crumbled to pieces long ago. Also, it makes your story a little easier to read, knowing that Victoire isn't suffering alone, that she has his wonderful support in her quest to find her sister.

Wow, Dominique's reaction to Teddy's proposal is incredibly extreme! So much so, that I think that the sisters don't have a very good relationship with each other, although other parts of the story seem to contradict this. Dom is bitter and angry and downright resentful that her sister is getting married and she isn't; she does exhibit quite a selfish streak, and perhaps Victoire is really gentle and indulgent toward her sister, always letting her have her own way and such. At least that's what I'm inferring from their sibling relationship. I've also got to admit that Teddy is a bit insensitive to propose to Victoire on the day of Dom's break-up...at least if they'd known she'd been in such a state (and I think they do know).

Dominique had loved the snow. She would always take her hot chocolate outside, forcing Victoire to join her. Victoire preferred staying inside, watching the golden flames instead of the frigid snowflakes, but her sister was too big a force to be reckoned with. Together, they would sit outside, talking about everything; boys, clothes, people Dominique didnít like, until the falling snow turned their hot chocolate cold.

^ I loved these lines. Such a beautiful warm scene. It's such a lovely portrayal of two sisters; Dom definitely sounds like the dominant one here.

I think the ending was a little abrupt, and you could possibly have built on it a little. It took me by surprise. But I suppose you did have a word limit, and I'm sure you made the best of it. :)

Well done! This is a lovely piece. Best of luck in the Writers' Duel!

-teh

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank u!

Thanks for the angst comment! I honestly- I didn't know what i was going to do with this piece... I've never written angst and out of the four prompts this one was my favourite. But, of course this would lead to an angst-y story, which I've never written before... So, it was a real dilemma.

Yeah, I guess it was super extreme. Originally I wanted to portray Dom as having a bit of a crush on Teddy, but, they're sisters, so that idea was scrapped. Dom, in this story, is a bit of a drama queen, she's super dramatic and really really impulsive. So, when she saw that she kind of over reacted- but you're right, I should have explained that more. I'm working towards improving my characterisation in my one shots :)

Yeah, I guess he could have been. But, that day was actually the anniversary of getting together, but, reading back through it, I realised I didn't mention it! Totally my fault!

Thank u! Those are my favourite too! I added those on a whim during the last edit :)

Yeah, I guess, I could have, I'll probably edit that soon :) Yeah, the ending was meant to be abrupt, but not that abrupt! :) I really need to work on plot flow...

Thank u! You have no idea how happy that makes me, especially from u! :D Such a great author!

-ReeBee


 Report Review

Review #15, by BitterSweetFlames Long Nights

17th December 2013:
I already told you that I loved this piece... And I am telling you again, here. First off, nothing makes me happier than knowing you wrote Teddy/Vic 'cos you'd beta'd my teddy/vic... I think you did this one really well..

It was, in parts, beautiful and heart-wrenching and the imagery is really really well done. I especially love the ending. I mean I know that it isn't exactly over and that Dom is still, in ways, broken but there's such joyous hope there you can't help but cry with Fleur, with Vicky. So well done, my lovely Curie, I definitely enjoyed this one.

--Carla

Author's Response: Carla! I can't believe u took the time to read my story! I'm still shell shocked!

And u were definitely the inspiration! You've done so much for me! Everything all my angst experience (writing obviously), is from u! Thank u so much!

Thank u so much! I knew that if I gave a closed ending, it would be fluffy and cheesy. But, I wanted this fic to be different, so, theres my attempt at that :)

Thank again! You have done so much for me! And there is a character in the story I'm currently writing based off you. Just a tiny token of thanks! :D

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by toomanycurls Long Nights

16th December 2013:
For someone who doesn't like angst, you did an awesome job making me feel angst during this!

I loved the tension and mystery you put into this story. Your use of imagery in this is remarkable. Part of me could feel the cold that Victoire felt and see the expressions and reactions you used. I was kind of curious why Teddy didn't want Dom to find out he was proposing to Victoire - did he know about her relationship flop with Alex?

The logical grown up in me wants to say that Dom is overreacting and not accepting her sister's good news with good grace. Then the part of me that remembers what a first love feels like and the first heartbreak as well is a bit more understanding.

I do really like that despite her sister's reaction, Victoire went out after her and tried to find her. You've described Victoire's feelings as the eldest really well. I can tell that she loves her sisters and feels quite responsible for their wellbeing.

The ending is quite squee-worthy. The open ending is perfect because it at least lets me know that she's home but doesn't try to resolve all the conflict you introduced in the story.

Awesome job!
-Rose

Author's Response: Haha, Rose! You're too sweet! And I might have started warming up to angst, especially after I read A Moment of Fear! I just don't like sad endings...which is ironic because my next one shot isn't all too happy :*(

Thank you so much! Imagery was one of my main focuses here :) Hm, I probably will make that clear in the next edit :) It was meant to be that Teddy proposes after Dom comes home, so he knew about her problems :)

Yeah, I don't know of anyone who has experience a serious relationship or love or marriage, but, initially, I would feel super betrayed is someone did that to me. But, of course, only initially :) And I think, more than the fact that Vic was getting married, for Dom, she is sad about her own relationship and a bit resentful that Vic has what she can't.

Thank u so much, I was scared for that too! I have no siblings, but I love writing about them and have quite a few friends who do have siblings :) My cousin is good enough as a younger sister though :)

Thank u so much! I felt that if I did try to resolve it, it would ruin the feel of the story and make it fluffy and cheesy. I didn't want it to be fluffy and cheesy, i just wanted to do something different :)

Thank u so much!! That was really sweet!!! :D

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Rumpelstiltskin Long Nights

16th December 2013:
Curry!

I had to come check out your angsty story!

I've got my Next Gen family tree down so I (mostly) know who people are! Actually, I know who everybody is in this story! :D

In the beginning I was a bit confused, as I was meant to be. I was left wondering why Victoire was so upset and what had happened between Dominique and herself. Great job building up the mystery and anticipation!

I feel very bad for Victoire. Her Christmas Eve and proposal were botched and Dominique is furious with her (and missing). I understand that Dom was going through some tragically emotional issues that the proposal only seemed to mock, but I still feel for Victoire.

The desperate attempt at finding Dominique and the emotions of both Victoire and Teddy were breaking my heart a little. :( Then, you wrapped everything up with a hopeful ending! How festive! :D

I want to mention that you used some beautiful imagery in here.

Well done!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Rumpel!! You are way too sweet! Why are there so many good people in this world?!?! Nah, its not a bad thing... ;)

I'm so glad, yay! Maybe another step closer to reading next gen more freely??

Ah! Yay, the confusing part worked!! Thank god, I had no idea if the build up worked!

Haha, that is good :) It was meant to make the reader go, 'aw, poor girl' :) Yeah, Dom, in my mind, was always a tad (lot) bit dramatic and emotional :)

Yay, that was the angst part and I can't believe i pulled it off! Thanks so much, Rumpel! Haha, yeah, I didn't want to go into details with the make up, because, knowing me, it was probably going to turn fluffy and cheesy, and I didn't want this one to be like that. I think I have enough cheesy and fluffy fics ;)

Thanks so much, imagery is super hard! I'm always scared that the imagery is going to be too try-hard!

Thank u for the amazing review! :D

-Curry!


 Report Review

Review #18, by riddikulus11 Long Nights

15th December 2013:
Curio!!! That was so good! :) I was hooked from the start. I really liked how you brought in some Christmas traditions at the end like how Dom liked to hang the stockings and all that. And your description was beautiful :) Awesome job! :D

Author's Response: Tashie!! Why must you follow Pri in her name calling?! *dies* Nah, just kidding ;)

Thanks so much!!! I'm so glad you liked it!! I was super excited (as u know)!! My first foray into writing in third person and into sort of angst!!

Thanks so so much!!

-Curio ;)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login