Reading Reviews for Seized
  
146 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Where do we go from here?

16th May 2015:
Erhmigad Another Chapter! YAS!! Thank yo so much for the message!!

I can forgive you for taking a while to update - after all, RL has to come first... but I CANT forgive you for that cliffhanger!! :O :O How could you do this to me Deee?!?!? They were supposed to confess their undying love for each other now that Astoria's out of the picture, but instead, Draco's back to calling her 'Granger'? Really?!? What is wrong with him?!

(Sorry... I was a little passionate there... :P) I can't help it! This story is just too good! I really can't blame Draco for his reaction, I mean, it sounds like Astoria has been walking all over him for quite some time now, and he's tired of it! But that's still no excuse for him to talk to Hermione that way. *Grumbles at Draco*

And Harry... oh, Harry. I'm not sure if I think it's meddling, or endearing that he's interfering. I mean, it's obvious that he cares alot about his friend, but who is he to try to prevent the inevitable? :P

Narcissa's behavior seemed a little odd to me... honestly, I'm wondering if somehow, she knew about the plan. It doesn't seem that way, but still... *raises eyebrow suspiciously*

Anyway, this was another intriguing, amazing, addicting and somewhat frustrating (:P) chapter, Dee! I really can't explain how much I love this story... and how much I need Draco and Hermione to make up like.. now! Great job, and I can't wait for another update!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by a fan Where do we go from here?

9th May 2015:
another great chapter

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Veritaserum27 Must All Good Things Come to an End?

9th May 2015:
Gah!

This chapter. I'm a puddle of nothingness. I have to confess that I am a really big Ron/Hermione shipper, and this chapter just destroyed a little bit of me. Don't get me wrong - I love a good Dramione - especially when its done well, but you wrote their break up so... so... heartbreaking! Ron was actually mature. He was able to see through the anger and list his very valid reasons to Hermione. And she had no choice but to agree.

Part of me wanted to yell at her, "Hermione! Quit your job! Show him that he means more than your career!"

Sob.

She couldn't do that. I don't know if she will be willing to do that for anyone. But it might hurt Ron even more to find out that she is...

I did find one small typo here:

his the hand which rested upon his knee

I think you meant to use either "his hand" or "the hand" :)

So... now that you've broken my heart - I need to move on to the next chapter :D

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Could the Timing be Any Worse?

9th May 2015:
Hello again!

Good job with the make-up scene for Ron and Hermione. It wouldn't be realistic if they just fought and fought. Plus, it's not like either of them to give up on something so important.

I'm glad her meeting went well! It seems that the new guy will definitely help Hermione accomplish her goals.

Ah! So Draco's an Auror. That's really interesting. I'm sure there were some rough patches (like you said) with both Harry and Ron, but I've always felt like Harry would be more willing to acknowledge that someone had changed for the better. Ron is always going to hate Draco - especially for what happened to Hermione at Malfoy Manor during the war.

And then we are right back to the arguing again. I can sorta see Ron's point here. I don't think Hermione is intentionally avoiding wedding planning, I just think she feels like it will always be there and there are more important things right now. However, Ron thinks that too - he's feeling like their relationship is on the back burner and I can't blame him.

Yay! Harry and Ginny are engaged! At least that's one happy couple! (Two if you count Draco and Astoria - haha!)

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 Who Ever Said Relationships Were Easy?

9th May 2015:
So after your super-suspenseful Prologue, I just had to keep reading.

I love your banner for this, by the way. I think you've characterized Hermione and Draco's emotions really well!

I really, really like the premise of this. It has a very different flair than any other Dramione I've ever read. I love the way you described it - as a "slow burn." I think that is the only way those two would get together and I'm really excited that you've acknowledged the fact that there is SO much history between the two of them that there are a lot of layers to get through.

Great job with Ron and Hermione's characterization. I feel like Hermione thinks she's always got to work harder to overcompensate for being Muggle born - as if to prove that she's just as worthy. Poor Hermione - wasn't saving the wizarding world enough? And then there's Ron how doesn't quite get where she's coming from. Not that I can put all the blame on him - she needs to learn a bit of balance in her life. The good stuff will pass you by if you're too busy trying to "change the world."

Ron's proposal was perfectly Ron - I was giggling at that. And poor Harry. Get a grip, man! Of course Ginny will say yes!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 Prologue

9th May 2015:
Hi there Dee!

I saw you'd posted that you had a new chapter up and I realized WHAT?! - How did I not know about this story?

This first chapter was just about perfect. It is everything a prologue should be. I've read so many near misses that this was a delight to come across. For one thing - you weren't afraid to keep it short. You're just giving us a taste of the excitement and horror that we can expect in this story.

Also, your story summary was fantastic. A lot of times when there is a key plot point like a kidnapping, the author will put it in the summary, but it doesn't happen until six chapters in. You've led with the good stuff here. :)

It was great how you painted us a picture of Astoria's demeanor. She's calm - she even knew it would happen - and you gave us just the tiniest hint that Draco is involved in some way. Maybe not intentionally, but he is the reason she is being taken.

Great start! Can't wait to read on!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 Haven't You Figured it out Yet?

3rd May 2015:
WOW OK HOLD THE PHONE! (I haven't used that saying in such a long time :P) Talk about a plot twist! So Astoria has been behind this whole thing? Talk about absolutely crazy! Man, you really have me reeling from this new information! To be completely honest, I never expected for her to be behind it all. I'm just completely stunned right now, and I really dont know what to do with this new information. Although the upside is that obviously Draco wouldn't want to take her back (not that he really wanted to before we found out this information) but especially now that we know this, there is no way he will be wanting her back. Which is an awesome thing when it comes to the dramione aspect of this story as it really gives an opening for Hermione to come in and be able to get with Draco without worrying about Astoria still being in the picture.

I also really loved this chapter. This chapter had so much more description going on and it really made it much easier to picture the events and get sucked into the chapter (not that I haven't been sucked into the previous chapters because I definitely was sucked into them as well) But still, I could really feel myself getting pumped up from the action of the story and it really made this chapter stand out to me!

I can't wait to be able to read the next chapter (seriously you should really get on that :P) This is a really great story and has been super enjoyable to read! And YAY I'm finally all caught up on the posted chapters now! Woot Woot! Again this was a super enjoyable chapter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #8, by slytherinchica08 Who Said Anything About Being Friends?

3rd May 2015:
Gah that ending, how could you do that to me? At least the next chapter is already posted so I don't have to wait to find out what is going on. But still, thats so not fair to do.

And then we have the kiss! I mean I'm so extremely excited, they finally kissed.. but then you go and do something like that where Hermione tries to deny the attraction and the feelings and tells Draco that its all a big mistake! She can't do that to him... or me! They need to be together!

But I do love how Narcissa seems to know things about her son before even he does. It really shows her character (and also keeps her close to canon as well which is really nice to see). She really does love her son and while he may not enjoy his choice of company with Hermione, she does still love him. I thought it was very touching to see anyways.

Your chapters are definitely more conversation heavy but in this chapter it does seem like you've added in some more description details which was really nice to see. Adding in the bits after they speak that give us a clue into their demeanor I think is super helpful to get a better idea of the characters and the feel of the story as well.

I thought that this chapter was very enjoyable and it definitely made me want to read more. Again, I'm so glad that the next chapter is already posted so I don't have to suffer with that cliffhanger! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #9, by slytherinchica08 Hasn't Anyone Heard of Communication?

3rd May 2015:
Guess who's back?! Its only been closing in on a year since the last time I stopped by to read and review this story but now with the Let's Get Active Challenge, I decided to stop by once more and see if I can clear out a few of my stories from my currently reading list (or at least catch up with the posted chapters) so here I am at long last. Now onto the actual review itself.

Its so crazy for me that even though it has been quite some time since I last stopped by and read this story, that the moment I began reading again, the details all began to come back to me. I wasn't feeling like I missed so much stuff or that I was completely clueless as to what was going on with this story so that was super nice. The flow that you have for this story is also super nice. Everything flows so well together and not once did I feel like I needed to pause to take in information or reread sentences because of structure. The only thing I could really critique would be to say that while this was a great chapter, I do feel like some more description could be added in (though that is definitely a personal opinion and it is just fine the way it is). Basically I just feel like this chapter was very conversation heavy and while that helps to move the story along at a nice pace, I dont feel quite as immersed in the story because I can't feel or see (or any of the other senses) what is going on in this story as well as I could with a bit more description. But again, this chapter was still really wonderful and a great read! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #10, by firefly910 Who is Keeping Secrets Now?

8th April 2015:
The last scene reminded me of NCIS when they have their 'campfires' to go over the case. That will make no sense if you don't watch the show!

I'm wondering why Hermione is so adamant about keeping the info about the notes a secret? I know that Ron would be all for pinning it on Draco but would Harry? It would put Draco under suspicion but he's already been ruled out of the actual kidnapping.

I know it's probably all going to come to light at some point. It'll be interesting to see Ron and Harry's reaction when it does.

 Report Review

Review #11, by firefly910 Does Anyone Win When You Compromise?

8th April 2015:
Oh Draco, you tortured soul. The backstory you have given him as to how he's come to change his views is perfect. It isn't to over the top, he hasn't had this HUGE epiphany and started hugging muggle borns all the time. He just wants to do what he feels is right now that he's out from under his father's influence.

Narcissa is characterised perfectly as well. I can imagine it was hard for her to have such a fall in society. As much as she may have detested her husbands way of life, it did bring a certain level of living (as I mentioned with Astoria in my last review) and I can imagine her wanting to have that once more, without the Death Eater associations.


You write about the Malfoy's brilliantly.

 Report Review

Review #12, by firefly910 What is Draco Malfoy Hiding?

8th April 2015:
What is going on?!?!

Once again great dynamic between the two of them. Hermione is always going to get the answers she wants.

It's also a nice touch that you have Draco kind of still being controlled by his family. His mother did always have some sort of hold over Draco and the fact that whatever is happening is her idea is a nice little twist.

 Report Review

Review #13, by firefly910 Can a Leopard Change it's Spots?

8th April 2015:
I love Dramione dynamics. Whatever situation people put them in you can just tell they spark off of each other. Not in a necessarily romantic, they just seem to have this . . . thing between them. Well for me they do anyway.


I like that this is obviously going to be slow burning Dramione. It's the best type.

Also interesting (but not surprising) that he covered for his mother. If he thought her innocent then surely he could have just told Harry what she had said about her being on the visitor log?

Hm.


Also liked that you introduced relationship problems with Draco and Astoria and the fact that she didn't like his work. Although Astoria probably wasn't a raving dark magic supporter I always imagined her to like the lifestyle that came with being a Slytherin in high social circles.

Having her fiancee putting Death Eaters away isn't really conducive to the life she wanted is it?

 Report Review

Review #14, by firefly910 Haven't You Heard that Big Boys Don't Cry?

8th April 2015:
Well. . . Does Narcissa know something or doesn't she?

You would be inclined to think she does. Her relationship with Lucius was always presented as steadfast even though she herself was not a Death Eater. I don't know, she just seems the type that would protect him or at least not let on what was going on.

I'm glad Hermione is back on the case!


One of the things I like about this story is your characterisation of Harry. A lot of people don't like writing Harry as main character because they are scared of getting his voice wrong. I think you write him well. I like that he wants to get the job done but realises that Stan won't be up to it. Other aurors may have pushed on regardless. But Harry always has his moral compass in tact and you show that.

Author's Response: No spoilers, Callie! Narcissa isn't as innocent as she seems, lets just leave it at that ;)

I'm the total opposite with Harry, he's that character we know best so I feel comfortable writing him because I can take a good stab at how he would react in any given situation. I'm glad you think I get him right :D

Thank you for another great review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by firefly910 Does Hermione Granger Know Everything?

8th April 2015:
The body switching spell is clever. I always struggle to come up with my own spells.

Of course Hermione would have kept hold of those books, she's the type that knows things will come in useful at some point. She really does need to rejoin the team, they aren't going to get very far without her.

The description of Stan turning back into the real Stan was great, made me feel a bit queasy. Especially loved the bit you added about the guard turning green. You would think they'd be tough as nails!

Where is Lucius Malfoy?!? So intrigued!

Author's Response: Thanks :D I wondered if it wasn't realistic but it's been pretty well received thankfully.

That's exactly why I wanted to make the guard physically affected by the transformation, just to show how awful it was.

Lucius is.not in Azkaban :p


 Report Review

Review #16, by firefly910 Are there Answers in Azkaban?

8th April 2015:
Okay so I am back!

Oooh a cliff hanger. What is going? Why does Stan Shunpike look exactly like Lucius Malfoy?

Dun dun dun

Loving the story once again. You mix the serious side of the case and Ron and Harry's friendship really well.

OH OH OH!

Does Narcissa know where her husband actually is?

Author's Response: CALLIE! These reviews really made my day, thank you so much!

I'm answering none of your questions because I don't want to spoil it :p


 Report Review

Review #17, by casual_chaos Must All Good Things Come to an End?

6th February 2015:
Okay, I lied, this is so sad! And you described it so well, the heartbreak of both of them being aware that their relationship was less than ideal, and the hurt over ending it. I just feel so sorry for both of them. And also, I loved Ron in this - he sounded just like himself, but with a bit of maturity added in. :)

I don't have time to review the rest, but I will be back, you can count on it! You have a great story unraveling here, and I'm so excited to see where you'll take it. :)

Author's Response: Sad indeed, Andy! The Ronmione shipper in me really struggled to write this. I'm pleased you liked Ron here, that's exactly what I was going for with him!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by casual_chaos Could the Timing be Any Worse?

6th February 2015:
I just finished reading this chapter and thought how Harry and Ginny had the worst timing to announce their engagement, and then I noticed the chapter title. It couldn't! :D

Okay, this was another great chapter! It was so great to see Hermione's hard work being paid off. And of course she would decide to celebrate it by cleaning her flat by hand, haha! Though, I have to admit that I love spending a few hours cleaning my flat when I get all of my exams done. There's something really relaxing about it.

Okay, moving on! I'm really interested in how Draco turned out to be. I love the little backstory you gave us, about him going back to finish his seventh year, and how he would study in the library. And his relationship with Astoria sounds genuinely lovely so I guess that will make this story even more complicated. :P

But oh, Ron! My feeling about him and Hermione not being meant for each other has been greatly reinforced. I'm pretty sure they would have broken up if Harry and Ginny didn't show up, and I wouldn't even be that sad about it. I'm so mean, haha. But really, I think Hermione deserves someone who will understand her, and who wouldn't put so much pressure on her. And who would wash his dishes! :D I'm still fond of Ron, though. It would be great if he also met someone new, then everyone would be happy, tee-hee! Maybe Astoria? Okay, I'm joking, enough with the matchmaking! :D

I'm really looking forward to the rest of this story, Dee!

Author's Response: Hi, Andy :D I'm finally getting round to replying to more of your lovely reviews :D

I'm with you on the cleaning thing, I find it such a good stress reliever. Friday night cleaning is my favourite!

I'm glad you liked the background for Draco, it's pretty much my headcannon of how things played out for him after the war. I definitely think he would have gone back to Hogwarts, even after his part in the war.

I totally love Ron, so I definitely haven't ruled out finding him another girl. Hermione definitely isn't the one for him in this story though. When you read on I think you'll change your mind about Astoria ;)

Thank you so much ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by casual_chaos Who Ever Said Relationships Were Easy?

6th February 2015:
I feel so sorry for Hermione here! I can understand how it's like when you have so much responsibilities and so little time that you can't spend time with your loved ones - it's definitely a hard thing. And Ron is not helping at all! But I understand him as well, that's not how a proper relationship should look like and it's expected of him to get upset about it at some point. It's clear that the two of them are not the best couple (I will be perfectly honest here: I never thought they would make a great couple) and I'm glad you showed it in such an elegant way, with the feeling being mutual. I'm really interested in the development of their relationship here. :)

And Harry is proposing to Ginny! Awww! :D I love Harry and Ginny together, and it's so nice that Hermione can feel excited about them even though her own love life is on shaky ground. And it's so human that she is a bit jealous. You really got me rooting for Hermione here!

I love the way you introduced us to her job, and how she got to where she is now. It was all very subtle and you didn't give too much information - it was just enough for us to get a proper picture. Also, I loved the little details, like the window with a sunset, and the filing cabinet, and that co-worker with a booming laughter. :)

Finally, you had the trio so perfectly in character! I'm always wary of stories about them because not everyone can write them win such a believable way but you managed to capture them perfectly and that's just great! Like I said, I'm really excited about this story, Dee! :)

Author's Response: Hello again, Andy :D

I do have as soft spot for Ron and Hermione, but I do find it really easy to write their relationship as a rocky one. I think even in their marriage the way JKR wrote it they would have lots of arguments like these ones. I'm glad you're rooting for Hermione, she's one of my favourite characters to write.

I'm so terrible at information overload in my stories so your comment about not giving too much information really made me happy, thank you so much ♥ I know a lot of people avoid writing the trio because they're the characters we know the most, but I find that knowing them so well helps me to write them.

I'm excited that you're excited about this story! Thank you again, Andy! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by casual_chaos Prologue

6th February 2015:
Hey Dee!

I wanted to start reading this story for sooo long. And now I finally have time!

Okay, I am SO intrigued by this! This was a great prologue! I love your descriptions and the deeply unsettling atmosphere you created here.

Also, I have SO MANY QUESTIONS!

Who are these people? Why didn't she just apparate?

''They had come for her, as they warned they would and trying to escape from them would be impossible.'' - Why? And how? What kind of sorcery is this?! #badjokes

So she was waiting for them, and clearly Draco doesn't know anything about this.

''...thinking of the man she loved and how it was entirely his fault that she was in the situation.''

Okay, this sentence got me hooked. I'm assuming Draco is the man she loves, so why is this his fault?

This is like the best prologue ever! Haha, I'm really excited about this. Also, I love how these guys just blasted every door open instead of just pushing them like every normal person would. They are playing their role of the villain very well!

Great work, Dee. I'll see you on the next chapter!

Andy

Author's Response: Hi, Andy! Sorry for being SO slow at responding to your lovely reviews! Better late than never though, right?

I'm glad you came away from reading this with lots of questions, that's exactly what I wanted :D I'm not going to answer any of them though, no spoilers! I can tell you that I'm absolutely THRILLED you liked the opening chapter.

Thank you so much for this brilliant review ♥

Dee


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ju Hana Haven't You Figured it out Yet?

29th January 2015:
OMG! The 1st story I read in 2015 and I certainly did choose the best one to kick start my obsession with HPFF..lol..I knew your stories are great..been reading the whole chapters and had to stop only to realize that it is still WIP..please please please update the remaining quickly..love you so much!! XoXo

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! I'm so glad you've enjoyed the story up to this point. The next chapter is coming along, just very slowly, sorry!

 Report Review

Review #22, by writeyourheartout Could the Timing be Any Worse?

25th January 2015:
Dee! I'm back for more! Happy Hot Seat Day! ^.^

Aww. This really is a sweet opening - or maybe bittersweet, considering what happens to them soon enough. But still, it's really nice to see you give them a real chance as a couple, who fight and make-up and try to move forward. Hermione choosing to cook Ron's favorite meal for him, followed by his actual acceptance of the gift just goes to show that they really don't walk away from this relationship without having tried hard to make it work first. I really love that choice. Oh! And I read your review response that talked about wanting Ron and Hermione's break-up to be entirely about them and not influenced by Draco at all, and I think that was just a brilliant choice that's reflected in every Ron/Hermione scene. :)

I love seeing Hermione thriving in her work environment and truly making a difference. She's so great, and your version of her always feels so authentic.

I have to mention as well that your minor original characters are all so great! If I remember correctly, Loretta Fleets and Corrigan Riggs are really only briefly seen throughout the story, but even so, you've made them both so three-dimensional in this chapter alone.

Hermione flooed straight back to the flat, intent on spending the rest of the day cleaning the flat by hand rather than magic, it was so rare for her to have the time to do it. - Bahaha! Finally a decent amount of time off in which she doesn't plan on devoting to additional note-taking and planning AND SHE WANTS TO SPEND IT CLEANING MUGGLE-STYLE? And she actually sounds excited too! LOL Crazy girl. (I hate cleaning, in case you couldn't tell! :-p)

Oh, Draco and Astoria... Such a lovely, ridiculous, excessive wedding announcement. Especially considering... Well, seeing as I know where this leads in the most recently added chapter... hahaha Let's just say there are a lot of things I could say right now, but... yeah. Just imagine me throwing shade their direction. ;)

So I've said this to you a lot, but I'm gonna say it again because I can't help it: I just love the way you so slowly build the Draco/Hermione relationship. And even though he's not really even in this chapter, you still lay a foundation here that makes me need to mention it again. For example, the fact that they actually both went back for '8th' year to graduate Hogwarts properly, but they didn't have any sort of relationship there. Or the fact that when she sees his face in the paper, there's no mention of, "Oh, he's sooo preeetty!" haha And also that she works in the same building as him, but they have no relationship. I just think all of that's so great because it feels the most realistic that neither would try to grow closer without a reason too; that it takes being forced to work together on a case to get them to progress.

Gah, the fight! I can so imagine that going down the way it did. I really understand Ron's frustration, although I understand Hermione's reasoning as well. Neither are wrong in the way that they feel, but that's kind of why it's such a bad fight to be having - especially when neither wants to budge on their side of things. Again, just gotta comment on the complete plausibility of this story. ^.^

Side-Note: The Floo Network is so invasive! LOL I mean, you can literally land inside someone else's house without even knocking! But congrats to Harry and Ginny and their excellent timing! :-p

Another wonderful chapter, Dee! ♥

Tanya

P.S. I hope this review puts a smile on your face. Especially because I need it to soften the blow when I tell you that LJ6 will not be posted today. DON'T YELL AT ME! IT WASN'T MY FAULT! My brother is in town and I forgot he was coming and so I haven't even been home since Friday morning... That's a pretty valid excuse, yeah? hahaha LOVE YOU. (And you love me, too. Don't forget that. ;))

 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan When is the Timing Ever Good?

24th January 2015:
Happy Review Hot Seat Day :)

Hermione and Draco are getting very comfortable with each other's company ;) I like how they both kind of had that realisation and reflected on how odd it was that they are friends now.

I thought you incorporated the flashback really well, and it shows just how much the war changed Draco, as well as how powerful Hermione's kindness is. It was so sweet how her squeezing his hand gave him the motivation to keep going - and the fact that that motivated him rather than repulsed him really said a lot for how he'd changed.

And then how he gives her hand a squeeze as they're sitting there at lunch. Now, I'm still not converted to Dramione, but that was an adorable scene. Just saying. :p

I wonder if they'll find out anything else from Stan!

Excellent chapter :)

Author's Response: Kristin!! You are so amazing at leaving these hot seat reviews, you're honestly putting me to shame. Thank you a million times ♥

The flashback was Erica's idea, I wanted something to show that Hermione had begun to accept and maybe even forgive him a long time before their friendship started. I think of the trio she would be the one who was the most understanding of his actions from Voldemort's return and throughout the war.

Ahaha! I'm glad you liked that scene. I will have you converted to Dramione by the end of this story, I will!!

Thank you again ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by leahandro01 Haven't You Figured it out Yet?

23rd January 2015:
hi i love this story and all of your other stories. i only just made an account today and so this is the first time ive written a review i hope i did it write lol. but i have read all your dramione stories. your realy good at writing dramione and i love dramione and your one of my favourite writers on this site. this was a great chapter and plot twist and pls pls please update soon i want to read more!!!

Author's Response: Hello! You definitely reviewed right, and wonderfully too! Thank you so much, I'm really glad you enjoy my stories. Next chapter is coming soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by writeyourheartout Who Ever Said Relationships Were Easy?

9th January 2015:
Dee Dee Dee ♥

I'm having a lot of fun rereading this story and finally leaving some proper reviews for it, too! ^.^

I love your Ron and Hermione. They are so plausible as a couple here, with a fight I can so easily imagine them having. The dialogue between the two of them, the hot-headed banter, the dramatic storming off after Hermione's singular attempt at kind and rational doesn't exactly go over well - it's all just spot on. What I think is even more exceptional about your writing of these two here is the fact that they're actually having a relatively common fight, and so it would have been easy to make them sound like any old generic couple, but you were able to make them feel so authentic - like Ron and Hermione in this fight and not anybody else.

What I love about their story in this is how believable it is. You cover so many fundamental topics that couples really should agree on if they plan to last without any of it feeling like simply a ploy to separate them and make way for Draco. It's all rooted deep in realism, so that I never question why things happen the way they do.

Oh! And bonus points for not making Ron some horrible person who treats Hermione poorly or is an awful boyfriend, but simply just not the right fit for Hermione. Love that.

I love the job you've given Hermione, by the way. I'm pretty sure she ends up working in law in canon as well, but the Dobby's Law thing is just such a spectacular branch off of that - regardless of what Ron thinks. ;) And I love how her beaded bag trick comes into play and basically improves every office worker's life! You're so clever and creative. ^.^

Aww... the proposal sounds pretty hilariously charming... almost makes me sad they're having such issues now. But, luckily, I've never been particularly attached to the Ron/Hermione ship, so... I think I'll be alright. ;)

Your attention to detail is really great. For example, when Hermione is doing the dishes by hand and it's mentioned how once upon a time Ron woke poke fun at her and she'd throw bubbles at him, but now he just rolls his eyes... Such a smart choice to include that sort of then versus now comparison to showcase how their relationship has changed. Not only that, but IT'S SO TRUE THAT THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS! Things you used to love about someone can eventually start to just annoy the crap out of you! hahaha

Harry's proposing! Daww. Sweet. ^.^ I think it was really clever of you to include a Harry/Ginny subplot that focuses on how happy the two of them are in comparison to Hermione and Ron. It just sort of solidifies the fact that things are not the way they should be between two people actually in love, and not just together out of habit or convenience or for any other reason.

Great chapter, Dee. Like I said, I'm really glad to be rereading this story. Maybe by the time I reach chapter 22 again, there will be a chapter 23! ;)

LOVE YOU.
Tanya ♥

Author's Response: Tanya Tanya Tanya! ♥

I can't believe you're going back over this and leaving more reviews. The last lot you left me were beyond lovely, now I get more! I am not worthy *bows*

I know a lot of authors on here shy away from writing the trio because readers know them so well and can be so critical if anything it OOC, but I actually find them the easiest to write BECAUSE we know them so well. I wanted to keep their essence but still show that they were older, their little domestics definitely helped with that. And I really wanted to make their break-up totally about them, which is why I didn't have Draco have any involvement with Hermione until after her break-up. I definitely couldn't make Ron horrible, he's petulant and childish at times but not horrible, and never a cheater! I'm so glad you commented on the proposal, it took a lot for me not to get carried away and make that a bigger scence. I actually love Ron and Hermione, and they're definitely one of my favourite canon ships, but Draco/Hermione will always be my preference :p

*blushes* I'm thrilled you liked the job Hermione has, the Dobby's Law thing just seemed like something she would do, it's a step up from SPEW but I think Ron ruined that name for her ;)

I'd be lying if I didn't say my own relationship disagreements played a big part in this, and you're so right about little things going from endearing to just plain irritating, don't tell my bloke I said that ;)

Hah! MAYBE there will be a chapter 23, I seem to have distracted myself writing other things but I have the end of this story all planned so I will be finishing it...soon ish.

Thank you so so so so SO much for another amazing review. You are just the best. Love love love!! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>