Reading Reviews for Spread Your Wings
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lululuna Chapter 1.

13th March 2014:
Hello! :)

Aw, this was such an adorable start to your story! It feels very refreshing and original as well, and Annabelle and Lily are so adorable in their innocence. I really like Annie so far, she seems down to earth but also quite quirky and fun, and I'm curious to find out more about her family and what happened to her mother.

The suspense of who Lily's boyfriend is was quite exciting! I really had no idea who it was going to be, but then when his name was announced I had to giggle. I'm curious to see how the twins might be in this story. The feeling of youth they have is great, like how Luna only lets her sons go on a date if they're together. I wonder if perhaps Annie will like Lorcan better than she suspects...

The dynamic between Lily and Annie is great. I like how they're quite playful and teasing, especially when Annie was teasing Lily about dating a boy who is so close to the family. I also liked the detail about Lockhart and how he's still thought of as a beautiful and vain man all these years later. :P

This was a lovely start to your story, and I enjoyed it! :)

Blackout Round 3 - 20/20

 Report Review

Review #2, by PolyJuice_ Chapter 1.

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 20/20! (YES! LAST ONE! *wipes sweat off brow)

Aw! This was so cute! After spending most of the battle reviewing sad stories this was a refreshing change! Especially as this was as well written as it is! I loved the way you wrote these two girls. It almost made me feel like one of them, chattering away about their new boyfriends.

I can't wait until the next chapter. This is going to be a great story, and it'll be hilarious to see this date of Lily's, not to mention the blind date set up for Annie!

Homeschooled, eh? Interesting, I never thought about the boys being homeschooled, but when you say it, I guess it makes sense. Very Luna-like. makes me wonder what kind of education they're getting! Haha!

Anyway, great job!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #3, by lady_devil Chapter 1.

7th March 2014:
For the Blackout Bingo!

Hi! I just want to say this is just a great start to your story; you set the scene perfectly well.

This chapter was very entertaining, like watching an episode from a show and seeing teenagers behaving like normal teenagers. What you wrote was a perfect length for the first chapter. Sets the story going and the ending made me want to read the second chapter straight away! I hope you keep writing! I have already favourite it.

I've always liked next gen characters and the way you made James and Lily, loveable characters at first go! Love their little banter over James admiring himself in the mirror. The comment about Lockhart was funny! I defiantly liked the idea of Harry telling funny stories about Lockhart to his children.

Your OC Annabelle, I love her! I really do, even her name is adorable. She's just so down to earth to me - being forgiving and agreeing to go on the double date for Lily and writing to her father is just so sweet, can't wait to read more about her.

Hope you update with a new chapter soon!

Author's Response: hey!

thank you for this review, it really made me smile :) I'm so glad you like this story so far and I really hope you stick around!

I'm sure I'll be posting soon, so I hope to see you back :)

thanks again!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by Chazzie Chapter 1.

4th March 2014:
Hey there!
So far this is really funny and cute! The dialogue between the characters is realistic, and it fits in easily with the characters. I loved the Lockheart bit, that made me smile. One thing that I picked up on though, is that you could possibly try making it clear how the characters are feeling by how they do something, rather than just telling us that they are, for example, furious. But that's only a small suggestion, and I really loved it! Looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: aw thank you :) I've had a really rough day so getting a nice review like this definitely made me smile. I'll take a look into that, thank you for pointing that out!

again, thank you :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #5, by keyty Chapter 1.

1st March 2014:
Hi! Here with your requested review.

So far, I like your plot. Even though the chapter is short, you didn't fill it with too much information. It flows nicely and is upbeat without being too fast paced, and that's difficult to do, so kudos to you! (hey, that rhymed!)
I'm interested to see her mother's story, but that probably won't be revealed for a while. I can't wait to see how their date goes tomorrow, I bet it's going to be very funny! I'm also excited to see how you portray Luna's kids, that could be very interesting.

I only caught one error, at the very beginning:
“I really don’t know,” she told her him
Easy fix!

I think this story can be very cute and, if you let it be, emotional as well. Please come back to re-request, I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: thank you! I'm glad you liked it :) yeah, I originally I had the first chapter much longer and having a lot more information but I thought i'd be a little to overwhelming and decided to split it up. Yes! You will find out a lot more information in the upcoming chapters!

Oh thank you for that! I'm always really bad at catching my own mistakes :p I'll make sure to fix that when I go back and edit it :)

thank you! I definitely will :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by lindslo2012 Chapter 1.

24th February 2014:
Hi there!
Here for your requested review.
This is the first Lily fic I have read and so far I am very impressed and want to read more!
I can imagine Lily as such a cute little girl!
I am glad she has a friend like Annabelle, she seems nice.
I like it alot so far and I really enjoy that you are pretty clear what the story is about from the first chapter, usually I also write that way so I admire your intensity from the very beginning!
I am excited to read on to see how this double date goes! I can tell this story will be cute and addicting ;) no CC for you here, you did very well!
hope to see you again on my requested reviews so I can come back and read more!
Until next time,
-Lindsey
10/10

Author's Response: Aww thank you very much! That means a lot and I'm really glad you liked it! I will definitely request again when I post the next chapter! :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by soufflegirl99 Chapter 1.

12th December 2013:
This is an absolutely awesome chapter! Really entertaining and funny to read, and I loved every word of it! :)

The character of Annabelle is brilliant -- this bubbly, happy girl that was a pleasure to read about! I loved the amount of little details you added in to the story to make her more three dimensional and believable -- like the fact she doesn't like flooing, e.t.c. Your description of her relationship with her Dad was lovely too, and it really helped set the scene and get an idea of who she is, and what she's like. The characterisation of Lily is awesome too! The way she foresaw that Annabelle was going to whack her, and her banter with James…James! The way you described him as knowing he was attractive, and being smug, made me laugh a lot! I especially loved the bit about him being vain and looking in the mirror! It was really inventive, and really funny to read! :D

I love a next gen fluff (I mean, who doesn't right?!) but I must say this one has such an original plot! I love the way you brought the Scamanders into it, and I especially loved the way that Annabelle is dating Lorcan to not make things awkward for Lily -- that's a really sweet thing to do! The not to her dad made me laugh a lot too! :P And i can't wait to see how the plot develops, because you've set up the foundations for such an original story! I can;t wait to see what happens next!

Overall, a captivating, very gripping and thoroughly awesome chapter with a great, realistic bunch of characters! :D :D

Author's Response: Oh my goodness you totally made my day, thank you so much for this review! :)

I'm really glad you liked the characters and the plot, it definitely just came randomly to me and I'm really in love with the idea of it!

haha oh yeah, next gen fluff is my favorite!
it gets me all gitty and I love how much freedom you have to write in it.

gah, I can't even explain how happy this review made me, you are so sweet! I have a month and a half off of school for winter break so I definitely think I'll be posting soon and finishing it :) I hope you continue to read!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heaven Chapter 1.

8th December 2013:
Hello!

This is a really good start! You've set up the premise for your story right off the bat, and introduced your main characters as well. Fantastic!

I loved reading Lily and Annie's friendship. The way you've written them, you can tell that they're super close. Their relationship reminded me of the way my friends and I acted at that age, which I think you've shown spot on. Their two teenage girls who get excited over boys and when cool things happen in each other's lives, and rope each other into crazy plans.

I do have one CC, though. I found the flow and pace of the chapter a little off. I liked the way you opened it, by jumping straight into the action, but then you kept on jumping from action to action, with very little room in between to breathe and get to know the characters. I think something that would help with that is a little more description. What you do have in terms of description is nice, so you obviously know how to write it, but just a little more of it would be nice, so we get a better sense of place and characters.

A nice start, though! It'll be interesting to see where you take this!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for reviewing!

I'm glad you liked their friendship and were able to relate to them a little bit :) I always love when people can relate to characters that they read!

And oh thank you! I'm always looking for good ways to improve my stories so I'll definitely take your CC and use it :)

Thanks again for taking the time out to review! :)

-Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login