Reading Reviews for The Beginning of the End
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Raahim Drown

11th February 2014:
I read a lot of fanfictions and the details in this...I mean just wow. You're doing a fantastic job! Keep it up love

Author's Response: Thanks so much! That means a lot to me :)

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #2, by Court Drown

10th February 2014:
I think you do a great job capturing the intense emotions of Rose and Scorpius. I would be interested to find out more about their relationship before they kissed. They were in the same house, so were they friends at all? Also, I'm a little confused about Draco. Did he marry a half-blood? Why did Lucius call Scorpius a bloodtraitor or halfblood (I can't remember the exact phrase)? What was Draco's life like that he thinks that Scorpius marrying Heather and taking over the company will give Scorpius the life Draco never had? Is it just about the things Draco experienced in the war or is there more to it? Also, does Heather Parkinson go to Hogwarts' as it seems like Scorpius doesn't have any interactions with her?
I would love to see Rose and Scorpius together more and hope he has to work to earn her trust back after hurting her repeatedly. I would love to see a little more Lizzy and Al and find out about their relationship.
Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! That made my day :).
Okay, for your questions.
1. The story, so far, has developed with flashbacks and narration. I'm sure eventually you will get to see the evolution of their relationship before romantic sentiment got involved :).
2. Blood traitors are purebloods who betray their traditional values in any way, not only by intermarrying. Lucius calls Draco that because he has renounced many values of their culture and has re-mingled with the society (including Muggles and Muggle-borns) after renouncing the Dark Lord.
As for the rest ... patience is a virtue! All of your questions will be answered soon :).
Thanks so much for reviewing!

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #3, by LaLaLuna Drown

8th February 2014:
Oh my gosh, I LOVED this chapter! Seriously, your writing style is so beautiful. I get caught up in the story and you pull me along, weaving a intricate web of both physical and mental description. I thought that Scorpius' reaction to his grandfather's death was extremely well written and his pain was almost palpable. I felt for Rose the entire time she was babbling/afraid of babbling, because I've been in that position too and you wrote it extremely well. Al and Lizzy's relationship added some humor to what would have otherwise been a very heavy emotional chapter, and I thought the contrast between the events made them that much more poignant. I did think it a little strange that no clues were dropped prior to this incident but I think that because A. Rose, the narrator, was distracted by her own boy problems, and B. Al and Lizzy's relationship was what seemed to be a new event it is understandable that we didn't know anything about it prior.
And then there's the love scene. Oh my gosh. You have no idea how much I loved that ENTIRE scene. The struggle, the emotion, the pain, the longing... you expressed it so beautifully. My heart was crying for Scorpius and Rose. And then, when Scorpius shattered Rose's heart just after she had so lovingly given it to him... I wanted to cry.
So, what I think I want to say is: Thank you. I'll never be able to look at Sco/Rose the same way again, and I love every sentence of your writing. You write the characters like they're real, describe the scenes like I'm walking through the halls of Hogwarts, and paint the character's emotions and thoughts so vividly. Emotions are the aspect of writing I have the most trouble with, so reading your piece helps me understand how to change my own writing. Thank you. (Reading over this makes me sound like I'm just gushing for the sake of gushing, but I promise you I mean everything I say. You are a beautiful writer. One who happens to be writing one of my favorite ships. :D)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh.
Seriously. I don't know what to say.
You have literally rendered me speechless.
(And that is quite a feat, let me tell you.)
Okay how about this: screw Scorpius. You are officially the love of my life :P.
AH THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU SO SO MUCH! That still doesn't seem like enough, but I hope it sufficiently expresses my feelings.
I logged in today, saw a review from you, and smiled, because your last few reviews were absolutely lovely: sweet and constructive, just like a review should be.
But then I saw THIS and I almost cried of happiness! You made me look at my own writing in a new light; up until now, I've just been a voracious reader, an English nerd and someone who was decent at stringing words together. But you made me feel like an author, for the first time on my life. Thank you.
I don't think I deserve any of your wonderful praise, but I'm so ridiculously ecstatic that you think this about my writing. I really hope I continue to meet your expectations!
Again, I can't say it enough: thank you. From the bottom of my heart.

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lanalovegood Drown

31st January 2014:
That was.fantastic! Change absolutely nothing, it was perfect

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!! You made my day :D

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #5, by KailynBryn Drown

28th January 2014:
Good job on this story. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it :D!

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lisa Drown

28th January 2014:
So, basically; I've been looking for a good Scorose for weeks, and then I stumbled upon this story. It was absolutely incredible. Not only was it well written, but it also avoided several common, infuriating cliches. I love it so much and the romance/angst between Scorpius and Rose made me want to jump around and fangirl. I love the way you portray each individual character. Please keep writing because you are amazing. Cheers! :)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! That means so much to me!
I have to admit, I was a bit iffy about using the whole Head Boy/Head Girl scenario, just because it's the most overused cliche in the book, so you saying that I avoiding annoying cliches makes me feel like I did a decent job at putting a different spin on it!
Haha I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and thanks so much for reviewing!

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lisa Drown

28th January 2014:
So, basically; I've been looking for a good Scorose for weeks, and then I stumbled upon this story. It was absolutely incredible. Not only was it well written, but it also avoided several common, infuriating cliches. I love it so much and the romance/angst between Scorpius and Rose made me want to jump around and fangirl. I love the way you portray each individual character. Please keep writing because you are amazing. Cheers! :)

Author's Response: Lol I just realized that you posted this 3 times :). Thanks again for your lovely praise!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lisa Drown

28th January 2014:
So, basically; I've been looking for a good Scorose for weeks, and then I stumbled upon this story. It was absolutely incredible. Not only was it well written, but it also avoided several common, infuriating cliches. I love it so much and the romance/angst between Scorpius and Rose made me want to jump around and fangirl. I love the way you portray each individual character. Please keep writing because you are amazing. Cheers! :)

Author's Response: Haha once again, thank you so much and I really do hope you enjoy the next updates! :D Thanks so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by LaLaLuna Friends

19th January 2014:
I really liked the winter/ice metaphor at the beginning of the chapter. Probably because I'm an English nerd but I really loved the parallels between Scorpius' emotions and thoughts and the weather. And the plot twist! Quite exciting. I also think that your representation of the Draco-Scorpius dynamic is quite convincing and accurate. It's always bothered me when people either portray the Draco-Scorpius relationship as either too warm and loving (i.e. Draco loves everything Scorp does and accepts all his decisions) or too harsh. But you really capture the happy medium quite well and I feel so bad for Scorp trying to please his father at the expense of his dreams! One note: wouldn't Neville have replaced Sprout as the Herbology teacher by their second year? Unless you have him working as an asistant teacher, which is possible. Either way, yet another wonderfully compelling chapter and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for this review!
From one English nerd to another, I love using flowery language, but I try to moderate it in stories like this, mostly because I feel like it can sometimes alienate readers. However, you seem to really get it, which makes me ridiculously happy, so thanks for that!
Unrealistic Draco-Scorpius relationships irritate me, too. I tried to keep their dynamic as true to Draco's canon character - and my imaginary Scorpius's character - as possible and I hope I did a semi-decent job with it :).
And to address the Sprout thing... well, that's just embarrassing. I'd completely forgotten about poor Neville! How mortifying ... especially for someone who prides herself on knowing everything HP :/! I suppose I'll work him in as an assistant teacher if the class comes up again. Thanks for pointing that out!
Thanks again for reviewing - you have no idea how much I appreciate it! I really, REALLY hope the upcoming chapters meet your expectations!

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #10, by LaLaLuna Again

19th January 2014:
I was going into this chapter thinking that I had to actually give some critique, not just ramble on and on about how wonderful your writing is. But then I read the chapter. Your voice is so powerful. Strong, forceful, descriptive, concise. I felt that the conversation between Scorpius and McGonagall was really well written, and the emotion between Rose and Scorpius at the end was extremely powerful. One small comment though: if Scorpius had injured his arm badly, how was he able to take off his shirt? I wouldn't think that he would be able to lift his arm well enough without hurting himself, but that's just me. Otherwise, though, this story is completely incredible. You mix vivid description with realistic dialogue evenly and the emotion is incredible. Love, love, love!

Author's Response: OH MY GOSH, you reviewed all my chapters! How amazing are you?! I wish I could kiss you right now!!
Thank you SO MUCH for your lovely compliments! They seriously make writing this story a pleasure. I don't know if I deserve all of them, but they sure do a good job inflating my ego...! (Which is a good thing ... I think :P)
Also, thanks for pointing out that snag. I'm sure a shoulder injury would've impaired his ability to take off his shirt ... however, Rose couldn't heal it from the outside, since the bruise was forming on the surface of his skin. I definitely should've made that transition smoother, though; it was unrealistic to have him casually take it off as though the wound were nothing.
GAH words cannot describe how much I love your reviews. And you. Stay awesome and keep reading!

- CandiFloss


 Report Review

Review #11, by DracoObsession17 Again

18th December 2013:
Absolutely fabulous! I'm loving the characterization and the longing and the feelings! I can't wait for Chapter 4-I just know it's going to be great!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really hope you enjoy the upcoming chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by LaLaLuna Maybe

9th December 2013:
Just wanted to drop a quick line to say that I'm loving your story. The imagery is really strong and the writing style is clear, concise, and leaves me wanting more. I love Scorpius, Rose, and the way you switch effortlessly between them. Especially for being new to fanfiction you write really well.

Author's Response: :D Thank you so much! I love that you took the time to review this and that you actually gave me feedback points - I'm really grateful! I'm so happy you like the story so far and I hope you continue to enjoy the upcoming chapters. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Miss Muggle Maybe

6th December 2013:
You are a great and talented writer! I just love the way this is written. Not to mention, you took the whole Rose-Scorpius-enemy-Headboy/girl thing and still it's somehow unique and stands out. I'm very pressed.

I definitely intend to follow this story and I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much, I really appreciate it! I know the whole premise has been done to death, but I really wanted to put my own spin on it. Hopefully, it'll turn out semi-decently :P. Keep an eye out for updates; I hope you enjoy the upcoming chapters! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Persephones_Child The Last First Day

30th November 2013:
WOOP WOOP I'M YOUR FIRST REVIEWER WOOP WOOP
Great story so far! Keep writing! :-)

Author's Response: AH thank you! Your review made my day :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login