Reading Reviews for Fluorescent Adolescent
  
526 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alena communism in mermish

26th March 2017:
OH MY GOD I am so jealous of your characterization. Seriously, they just seem to pop off the page and come alive in my head as I'm reading about them. I love how quickly you can sketch out a character - sometimes with just a few descriptive words and some dialogue - until they are already so memorable.

Most of all your dialogue is incredible. I'm basically crying with envy right now. It's so natural, so zippy, so bright and has so much realistic rythm. You just are so brilliantly able to capture the vagueness, the speed, the redundancy, the idiosyncracies and the pure ridiculousness of most human conversation. Instead of feeling like outlets for exposition, your dialogue moves the plot forward while also revealing character and being funny.

Also, side note, I love how much mention there is of school work so far. I hate it when fanfics just completely ignore the fact that students have classes, to the point where homework, teachers, etc. are never even brought up. Also, since they're Ravenclaws I feel like this makes even more sense and is even more important for the characters.

Anyway, I can't wait to read more and I definitely think you deserved those Dobbys!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cook2016 of stars & constellations

25th March 2017:
Dead. I think I'm dead. That last line killed me!

I am in love with this story! I think I reread it every week or so! You've managed to show natural teenage character growth and development that is rarely seen in fanfictions. You manage to do it without having characters go through some unrealistic dramatic plot twist. I am in awe of your ability.

I am horrible at reviewing and I'm trying to be better! Looking forward to the next AMAZING update!

 Report Review

Review #3, by purplerain of stars & constellations

10th March 2017:
"The whole relationship, I worried about you and Lancaster, and the second we break up-”
I'm so glad that James is being open about how he feels for once because this I didn't pick up on at all apart from when he seemed unsettled by seeing a picture of mikey and effy in her room before they went on their date. Did effy know he was insecure about this or is this the first time she's hearing it too?
I'm so excited for the next chapter I wonder how James and effy will interact with not being at school together now!
I must say your writing has progressed and improved so much you sound like such a professional writer now giving the loveliest details in the loveliest ways
Can't wait for more

 Report Review

Review #4, by gobbetspotter of stars & constellations

10th March 2017:
The scene where effy is under Louis is so funny and when James comes along and sees it that was perfectly constructed you just know he was a little jealous! I love effy' banter with Louis and I hope that they will get along better eventually and that she resolves her differences with Freddie too
The star of this chapter tho was albus for me I feel like if he had not fallen over jeffy wouldn't have reunited! I was wondering tho what happened between the few weeks of the match where they kissed and when James found effy again at her house? Did they kiss and just leave each other at the quidditch game, if they did they are just so stubborn😂 Brilliant chapter so excited to read more, how many chapters roughly do you think are left?

 Report Review

Review #5, by Danielle Felton of stars & constellations

8th March 2017:
Okay so hi! I just started reading your story and I'm done already...it really was incredibly addicting! I got sucked into your world and it felt like I actually knew these characters. Effy is an incredible character an I just love how you created her. Quick question though..when you referred to Trinidad...was it the island? Don't know if I read it properly but I was curious to know how it ended up in that part of the story. Also I live there so if it is the island you're talking about then that was such a cool part to me! Looking forward to reading more stuff soon! 😁

 Report Review

Review #6, by couldyoureallyknow of stars & constellations

7th March 2017:
Congrats on the Dobby's. This has been such a well written story and I've loved following the journey of Effy and James. It has the right flow and mix of angst and humour which makes it such an enjoyable read.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Potter 434 of stars & constellations

6th March 2017:
omg firstly well done for your Dobby's
secondly well done, absolutly fantastique chapter
i cant believe England got kicked out so early though!-well I can being a mostly Scottish supporter but oh well

I love this so much so you need to do me a favour and write more for me soon!

from me xxx

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ash of stars & constellations

6th March 2017:
great chapter!!

I can't wait to read what happens next!

 Report Review

Review #9, by astoryending of stars & constellations

5th March 2017:
Okay so, found this in the Dobby list and I think winning 'most addictive' was definately right because I got sucked right in haha!

The way you write the characters and the dialoge is just fenomenal and those last three words in this chapter? Dead. Just died right there.

Love love love the magnetism between Jeffy and hope they'll just get over themself and GET TOGETHER, jeeez. ;)

(One last note; so happy I found this story and it'll go straight to my favourites! xoxo)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Kay of stars & constellations

4th March 2017:
As always amazing chapter. "I miss you" my heart broke jusT a little

 Report Review

Review #11, by The Justice League of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
This was so good and satisfying after so many chapters of torture! Honestly a girl had dreams of the two drunk imply confessing their love, but I didn't think you'd do it? What is this? A genuinely happy chapter just to satisfy my Jeffy heart??? What a life to live

But seriously, I've said this to you before, but their interactions are so genuine and I love reading the conversations that seem like they flow as part of a story rather than as a completely secrete plot. If that makes any sense. You're such a talented writer and I can't wait for the next update!

 Report Review

Review #12, by putitonpaper of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
Stop, stop it right now.

I feel like this is almost over and I can't handle it.

I feel like I'm reading the 7th book of the HP series and I'm about to read the epilogue. I feel like I'm in the movie theater for the 8th Harry Potter movie, waiting for it to start, and my best friend just looked over at me to say "I feel like this is the end of our childhood... weird."

"Don't do this to me," I yell turning my Oscar-level drama to a 12 on a 10-point scale.

"I miss you"? Stop. Be still. My heart. That was perfection. I don't actually know if this is finished but this line is sooo perfect for the end of the Effy-James "childish" relationship and the beginning of an adult one.

I'm all over the place because there's just so much here to comment on. You've done a superb job making your characters relatable and honest!

I have a little brother that's still in high school and I swear I had the honor (read: terror) of having to pick him up from a party and you've described high school debauchery perfectly.

And don't even get me started on the character development of James! Ahh, it was hard, it was a struggle but he finally got there! Man, oh, man don't we all wish all men would GET THERE??

And Effy is just the right mix of strong but also weak when it comes to James. I loved how Aspen called her out when she was like I'm so over James! Girl, bye.

And I laughed out loud when Oscar said that he understands the struggles of minorities at Hogwarts! I know that Jasmine commenting on Hogwarts being racist was meant as a joke but JK totally could have done better with this (the diversity of Hogwarts) in her books haha.

Can I take your master class on descriptions? You're easily top 5 writer I've seen for setting scenes. I am not worthy.

Oh... and, of course, Congratulations on the well-deserved Dobby wins!!

This is amazing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by angieart of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
AH I almost fell out of my chair when I saw the new chapter. But honestly I think this might be my favorite chapter. We finally see James open up to Effy (which he should have done a long time ago but know...) UGH IM SO GLAD JEFFY IS BACK. But also WHERES MIKEY. Im all for team Jeffy but I really don't want Mikey to be out of Effy's life cause he was once her best guy friend. AND OSCAR IS BACK!! YESS!! Congrats so much on the Dobbys. I was really hoping that you would win cause you honestly deserve it so much. This story is honestly so entertaining and unique in so many ways. THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR IDEAS AND AMAZING WRITING TO US. Im weirdly so attached to this story and its characters.
Cant wait for the next chapters and hopefully a sequel ;).

 Report Review

Review #14, by FAlover of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
Oh my goodness...that last line killed me. I'm so happy that JEFFY is back! Congrats on the dobbys, you absolutely deserve it 100%.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Maia of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
ngl i'd let james make an honest woman out of me. loved this chapter! ✨

 Report Review

Review #16, by Sam of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
Love this story so much. Your writing gets better and better with each chapter! Can't wait for the next.

 Report Review

Review #17, by crimson quill of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
Hey!

What a great new chapter! Firstly, I must say how much I really love Oscar. He is my favourite minor oc character. He's great light relief for the story when effy is feeling so angsty about James as well as being a great layered character. I would be up for seeing more of him.

I love the way you wrote James' confession because it was so in character. You really keep the personalities of your characters together well and consistent which can be quite tricky to do. This is one of the reason as I said in a previous review that it is the best written on the site and I'm really impressed you were only fifthteen when you wrote a lot of this.

Congrats on your dobby wins, very well deserved. I voted for you. I totally know what you mean about 'real' life friends don't know about writing/reading ff so the importance of our community is so lovely. I'm glad you're feeling loved. Haha. Cheers to this time next year when you'll probably be picking up another set of dobbys. Keep up the great work. Xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by luna1306 of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
I love aspen and oscar so much! There're just so dramatic and gossipy!
FINALLY Effy and James are together again. But I'm quite worried about mickeys reaction, it's going to be so bad! (I hope)

Congrats with your dobbys you deserve it so much! Because this is truly the most addicting romance novel I have ever read!

△⃒⃘ luna

 Report Review

Review #19, by JT4HP of stars & constellations

3rd March 2017:
OH MY GODRIC!!

What a absolutely, wonderfully long update. I am so excited. I don't even know what to write.


.

Kidding, obviously I know what to write. I seriously think this might be my favorite chapter of FA. The writing was on point, like the cup was perfect. But also all of Effy's feelings were just...spot on, you know? LIke we've all felt like that. SO GOOD.

Also, I just loved every interaction. It had the witty Aspen and Effy banter that I adore. Also, James and Effy fighting, which I also adore. AND THEN THEY MADE UP! Ugh. He misses her!!! UGH. WHAT NEXT?! I'm waiting (not so) patiently for the next update.

Also, very well deserved Dobby wins! I was so happy when I saw FA up there.

Also this is my favorite line of maybe ever :
"“It was a fu* kiss the week after I have to hear you had asked Dahlia to your graduation prom- call me Mr. Brightside, but-”

“What the f*** do the Killers have to do with this-”

“It was only a kiss!” I protested loudly..."



Everything was so wonderful in this chapter I can't even say it enough. SO WONDERFUL. Writing was perfect, characterization was perfect, EFFY AND JAMES ARE PERFECT (not really, but perfectly imperfect for each other).

See ya next update for another rambling review from me!! :) :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Violet Potter 434 eng-ger-land!

27th February 2017:
outstanding as per usual

gosh I felt so sorry for effy when james said that at the end-just proof of how amazing this is-cause only truly great writers can really make you feel so much for a character in just a few lines


anyways great chapter and congrats on the dobby nomination( I may have helped in the voting process- so yay for both of us)

seriously tho well done


keep writing for me- the sequel sounds great

love from me xxx

 Report Review

Review #21, by scintillated communism in mermish

26th February 2017:
CONGRATS ON YOUR DOBBYS! They were so well deserved - this story is absolutely AMAZING & I'm typing this on my phone so this review is going to be short but congratulations again! FA is great and one of my absolute favorite stories on this site; your writing is so enrapturing and Effy is so real it makes for an amazing story.

(Also this chapter was really nice; Effy crushing on Al seems like a realistic way for her to meet James, and your writing is as great as always!!)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ash eng-ger-land!

22nd February 2017:
Fantastic chapter!!! Your nomination is well deserved :) and five years in the future story of James and effy sounds like an awesome story that I already cant wait to hear!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by scintillated crushed moon extract

19th February 2017:
i swear i've read this chapter like 50 times?? yet somehow every time i feel like reading a fanfic i end up back here?? this is definitely in my top ten favorite next gen fanfics (probably top ten) and you deserve like over a thousand reviews, definitely. now here is why i love it so much:

1) effy??? she is such a great character - and i don't mean person, i mean character, which is all a testament to your writing skills - she is brilliant and she has her virtues and her flaws. and it's important that you see both; oftentimes, in fanfictions that i read, the character's flaw is something that is kind of glaring and obvious, and there's only like one? but here, effy kind of creeps up on you, like especially her negatives.

2) this is specific to this chapter - just how many characters. i know how often, that a whole ensemble is just off putting, but it sends off the whole school-vibe? like i have like 500 acquaintances, and we gossip about each other and talk occasionally, and putting it into a story just makes it all just that much more realistic. plus they're all so vivid and full of life - like in this chapter alone, you already see a hint into lara, into danny, into mikey. you've given every single person a somewhat complex personality, which is tough to do in a novel of this proportion.

3) JAMES & EFFY. but i'll go in deeper on that in another review or something so i don't spoil anything.

4)"It was that time of year again, that time when golden amber leaves litter the ground, crunching under every step, and trees became exotic shades of crimson red, burnt orange, alien yellow." this opening sentence is just one example of your brilliant writing. it's absolutely enrapturing, i hope you know that? i aspire to write like you someday - even in first person, which i don't even like all that much, you somehow manage to weave your sentences together in such an interesting way! especially your descriptions of setting- they set the scene so well, and your metaphor usage, is well, on point.

overall, this chapter was amazing, just like your other ones! in my last review, i forgot to congratulate you on your dobby nomination, it is completely and utterly deserved. and yes, i have read this story about 500 times, but this time i'm going to go and review every chapter, because i am so shocked that this doesn't have more than it does?? also this is like 500 words i'm going to stop now haha

Author's Response: wowowow what an amazing, amazing thing to wake up to! thank you so, so much for this absolute present of a review, what a gift, thank you! where do i begin?! i'm speechless!

firstly: i am so, so glad you like effy. i personally cannot stand first person narrative that will go "i am notoriously bad-tempered" or "everyone knows i am selfish"; i think it is the writer's responsibility to show it more implicitly, show it through actions and thoughts rather than huge introductory statements so THANK you i am so glad you think i did a relatively good job of it!! means a lot a lot a lot.

and ahhh once again you've highlighted something that i worked really quite hard on in FA - the quantity of characters! because you're right, you're so right, the average person's school social isn't compromised just of the 'best friend' and the 'hot crush': it is the people in your classroom, the characters in a school year, those on your sports team, your friends and your closer friends... that sense of community and being constantly surrounded by people and characters was one of my favourite things about school and i really tried to create a sense of it in FA! so thanks again ahhh!!

god. this whole review has been so so lovely and so assuring to my not-so-hot ego as i've been stuck at this plot line for the next chapter for WEEKS now. it's totally made my day- my week, even- and i cannot thank you enough. you rock, you're an absolute bona fide rock star and all i can do is thank thank thank you! thank you! xoxox all my love


 Report Review

Review #24, by PLUM eng-ger-land!

11th February 2017:
HOW DID I NOT SEE THIS UNTIL NOW! I must've blacked out. This was an incredible chapter and I just can't get over how horrible James is being to Effy. I just want Effy to scream at him to shut up and tell him exactly how it is tbh. Anyways, loved this chapter I read it in like two minutes. Can't wait for the next one! And congratulations on your well deserved Dobby nom!! I'm so happy for you!!

PLUM xx

Author's Response: gosshhh thank you so so so much! haha james is being ridiculously awful & if i was effy i would DEFINITELY be crying more than she is trying not to but yess- so agreed on that part.

i'm so so glad you liked this chapter and ahhh! thanks so much for your congratulations! means the absolute world- all my love xoxox


 Report Review

Review #25, by FA IS FIRE eng-ger-land!

7th February 2017:
BEST STORY EVER

THIS IS AS GOOD ENOUGH TO BE ON THE TOP 10 LIST.

PLEASE KEEP UPDATING FAST AND KEEP THE STORY CREATIVE.

THANK YOU FOR BRINGING THIS BOOK INTO MY LIFE

Author's Response: wowowowow thank you so SO SO much! my face is beaming & i cannot thank you enough for bringing your compliments and loveliness into my life! xox

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>