Reading Reviews for Fluorescent Adolescent
359 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Siriusly i love the Peanuts Movie (yes I made that joke) call me darling

28th November 2015:
Damn that was intense to Whatever the chapter was great, Effy is so s*ssy lol

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Peanuts Movie crushed moon extract

28th November 2015:
Oscar is a beautiful cupcake that must be protected. And I love Effy like I already love her

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dixiedox unicorn blood

2nd November 2015:
Your characters are EPIC
Flashing neon Stars in a bleak grey sky is what they are
Every single one speaks to me and demands acknowledgement, I love it
I would expect it to be only effy, james, albus maybe aspen Oscar and jasmine to be that way
But no I feel it down to just the brief encounter with effy's brother, Romilda vane, ophelia, all these personalities that are just amazing and loud and effortlessly brilliant
Please continue to characterise people the way you do! I would love to see how you write maybe lily potter or Dom weasley? I think you would do such a good job
I'm in awe of your characters they have so much spunk and you should get the dobby for best dialogue
I'm very impressed! Love love love it!
I've reviewed before but I just wanted to enforce again how fun and entertaining and just lovely this fic is to read! Wishing you tons and tons of motivation and inspiration forever!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lily unicorn blood

2nd November 2015:
Hello I reviewed some chapters ago
I just wanted to say that I adore your tumblr page!! It's so cool!! The pictures you choose are so exactly what I imagined myself and the snippets of extra scenes makes me so happy!!
Agh please continue on with that!
And another thing I wanted to add was somewhere I read that you felt a bit disheartened by the amount of reviews you had on the last one or two chaoters and I just wanted to apologise because myself and probably many other anon reviewers are in sorry by nature selfish and lazy, we review once and then expect that to be enough! So for that I applogise I will try to review every chaoter now! And I will urge my two friends who actually told me to read this to do the same!
I really am excited for future chapters hecause I feel like in these primary 16 you've really laid down strong foundations for characters and relationships and now it's time for some drama and plots to kick in! I'm so ready to read this!
Also Id love to see dominique roxanne lily victoire and Hugo and what you make of them? I think you do characters so well I'd love to see your interpretation of them! Good luck for future xhapters and I will try my best review!
Die hard FA lover for life!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Longbottom wild horses

1st November 2015:
This chapter was strange but I really liked it?!
The interaction between james and effy was short and brilliant and slightly bizzare
The Scorpious scene really made me laugh!
I predict a Scorpious/rose future oh poor aspen!
I'm really enjoying this and can't wait to read more

 Report Review

Review #6, by itssine unicorn blood

31st October 2015:
Just wanted to tell you that yours is one of the James/OC stories (I'm slightly obsessed) that inspired me to finally have the courage to make an account and upload my own. So thank you so much for that!
I was so happy to see this chapter was up, I've been checking back all the time... this is so addictive!! I love the whole Albus chasing after Poppy thing, it reminds me so much of James and Lily the first. And I also loved the lake-party scene... I feel like it really epitomised the whole teenaged-almost-summer-nights thing- florescent adolescence I guess! I also really liked the little exchange between Effy and Rose, I feel like their combined snark and wit could make them a pretty cool duo. Also, YES! at your non-stereotypical-Hemione-clone portrayal of Rose.
And of course the Jeffy! Oh my God. That was soo fantastically written! For some reason I love how he checked she wasn't drunk, it shows a caring side to him, and that he's definitely not a total jerk ahaha. This was such a happy chapter so yes, I am definitely sensing a downhill slope... I can't wait to read! Okay, I'm definitely going to shut up now.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Peagreenfluff unicorn blood

31st October 2015:
The mugging off of Penelope really made me laugh Oscar and effy are the best couple ever!! Love your characters, I really hope you give us a bit more info into what some of the other wotters are like!! Your take on louis and rose and Fred has been so fun id love to see how you portray lily and dominique etc.
Update soon!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hotlineebling unicorn blood

31st October 2015:
These sound like the best parties ever! What a good weekend effy had!
Oh I'm nervous for the downfall of jeffy but also excited to see some form of emotion from james towards her!
I can't wait to read how you do this because everything you write is refreshing and unique
Enthralled by your characters, in love with hogwarts all over again and loyal to this fanfic forever! I'm considering creating a real hpff account just to favourite this story adding it to my reading list on an iPhone just doesn't seem enough!
Hugs and kisses xo

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dish unicorn blood

30th October 2015:
This is absolutely fabulous! Adore the writing and I may be alone in this, but Mikey/Effy is appealing to me more ;) However let's see where things go! Love it, can't wait till the next chapter :)

Author's Response: oh my gosh, really! i'm kind of really excited that mikey/effy is appealing to you? like idk why haha- just be very excited for upcoming chapters ;) thanks so much for reviewing, i really appreciate it! xxx

 Report Review

Review #10, by Bishbashbosh albus! albus! albus!

30th October 2015:
Woah what a good chapter!
Effy is so cool and Jeffy was so perfect!
I love this new poppy/Albus angle!
I was so sad you deleted your other Albus oc story it was really good! But FA continues to impress be
Also really dig the new banner! and everytime you rewrite the summary I think wow shes so good at words and writing and then you rewrote it again even better and I'm just like HOW R U SO TALENTED!
Can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: i'm SO glad you liked this chapter, especially the jeffy aspects of it! and yeahh, i just didn't have any direction whatsoever for my other story but i've got a new one up- called catastrophe!- i personally think it's waaay better. but yeah- and i'm so thrilled you like the new banner!
honestly this review has made me indescribably happy, thank you so so much! i hope you like the next chapter hehehe. thanks again for reviewing!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by Nargles unicorn blood

30th October 2015:
That party by the lake was so beautifully described!! I felt like I was there! The description was so intense that I actually felt those emotions and like EFFY said the happiest part is sometimes thinking about all the wonderful things to come! It's weird how we all think these things but only some of is (like you) have the talent to write them down in words!
Brilliant stuff! I'm excited to see where this goes next!
Btw I love aspen so much she is by far my favourite character!!
Uodate soon x

Author's Response: oh my gosh that is the nicest and loveliest thing to hear, i'm just ecstatic you felt that way about the lake scene! it was so much fun to write and i'm so lucky that it was actually based off a real life event which was what most likely gave it that vibe- ahhh yay i'm so, so happy you feel that way! and i'm so flattered you think i have that talent, it's such a compliment, thank you /so/ much!
and omg. aspen is my favourite too! people often overlook her for oscar, mikey and jasmine, but she's such a solid gal pal, i'm so glad you can recognise that. thank you so so much for such a kind review, you've made me indescribably happy, ahhh- thanks again! ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by Flowertots unicorn blood

30th October 2015:
Rose wants to ruin her own cousins party as a protest against capitalism😂 I'm really laughing at that - you come up with the best stuff!

Author's Response: oh my gosh haha, thank you so much! i'm so glad you like it! xxx

 Report Review

Review #13, by Gred unicorn blood

30th October 2015:
Omg so I'm totally ready for poppy/albus! This is going to be awesome! and I love how my favourite character (effy) was behind them! Go girl she just knows it all! Love love loved this chapter and the others too, the amount of Jeffy has been perfect! Although I'm dreading the down hill of their future I'm also ready to see this angle, I want a frustrated, jealous james and a hurt effy who will grow from this!
So excited - keep writing!!

Author's Response: POPPY/ALBUS IS GOING TO HAPPEN AND IT IS GOING TO BE GREAT. it'll just take a really, really long time, and albus is going to mess up a lot, and poppy is going to throw a lot, but yeah... it'll happen! and yes haha, effy is always getting herself involved in these kind of things! she and james have a lot of growing up to do, and a lot of faults they need to sort out, but they'll pull through. i'm just as excited to write angry james/angsty effy as you seem to be to read it! hopefully it doesn't disappoint- thank you again for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by Reign unicorn blood

30th October 2015:
Hello there
So I've been reading this story for a long time now but only have now bothered to review because I'm lazy like that (apologies)
I have many things to say
1) there is nothing more in my day that I dedicate time thinking about than JEffy
The dynamics between them are so real and raw and alive and everything that one can hope to feel in their life. I completely get the approach you're writing with them. The age difference and different power positions portrays them as quite ugly and vain and that is so REAL and therefore beautiful. They are flawed characters and have so much growing to do and learning about each other as people so that they can respect each other. They are the young lovers that end up getting married but have so much before that to get through so many ups and downs and I cannot wait to read about them because you write it so well
You have made me believe in romance, you make me smile and hope that one day I can feel what I've come close to feeling through just words
(I'm sorry if this makes no sense)
2) your characters and their personalities are so colourful and vibrant that I wish these people were my friends because they are so funny and the banter between them is downright comical. Comedy romance and real contemporary issues blend together in this fanfiction in perfect harmony and the fact that you have produced something so light yet powerful in only 16 chapters says so much about you as a writer
3) I love the character of james, he is so hot and ugly at the same time. I want to punch him and then kiss him better?! He's what every girls wants in their life secretly and Effy is truly lucky to have him
4) your addition of contemporary issues and topical banter is so funny and it makes me want to go to hogwarts and blend into this hierarchy of teenage bliss! It's truly heart warming to read!
5) things that you write about like when effy mentions how the school nurse once thought she had an eating disorder and james' insecurities about not being like his father and grandfather are so awesome because it really shows you give this fanfiction time and make sure it's a balance of the serious and light hearted. Just like life is
6) lastly I just want to say that this fanfiction is the type of story that stays with me, one that I think about in my spare time. The type that day dreaming about gets me through a tough day at school and is an escape to my problems. Truly thank you for having the consideration to put your thoughts to paper.
I wish you the best and hope this review was not too strange
Good luck for future writing and know that whatever you write is making someone smile and offering a solace to their problems! I'm not sure if I will review again but I'm glad I got the chance to communicate with you at least this once
Lots of love xx

Author's Response: ohh my god. this review totally made my day, i felt genuinely breathless after reading it. like where do i begin? i can't stop beaming, i couldn't be happier than you've decided to review! it genuinely means so much, and it's just so motivational for me to keep on writing fluorescent adolescent, i always say this but i really do just write this for those that want to read it, and i'm just so, so happy that you've decided to leave a comment, it actually means the world!! and woooww what a review! i think this review is the one of the nicest reviews i have EVER gotten, you've made me so so happy hahahaha ♥

so firstly- i can't even put down into words how happy i am that you like jeffy so much, and your description of them is just like. YES. OMG YES!! that is EXACTLY what i was going for, no teenage relationship is perfect (and if it is, chances are one of them isn't feeling the relationship you know?) and i really wanted to capture that with james & effy, neither of them are perfect, and they've both got a lot of growing up to do, i'm so so glad you can see that! you've really made me beam with excitement- that is such a great way to put them, yeesss!!

and i am THRILLED you like my characters so much! i'm always scared that there's too many involved, and you've just totally eliminated that fear! you've totally made me want to write and write and write fluorescent adolescent, all the way to the last chapter, just to give you more as a way of thanks for this unbelievable review. perhaps it helps that i'm the same age as these characters so i'm really quite living their experiences (except, you know, the magic and stuff) but yeah, as somebody who wants to be a writer when they're older, you've said things that have given me so much confidence- just made me so, so thrilled, you know? i can't thank you enough!

lastly, i couldn't be happier that this fanfiction helps you in real life, like as a means of escapism and stuff. i know so so well what bad days can be like- my form of escapism from daily antics are tv shows on netflix, and if this is be that for you i feel like i've really accomplished something! i'm so happy it helps you in some way or another!

you've totally made me go and polish up, re-draft the next chapter. hopefully it'll be up within the next week, and please do review again! you've motivated me so SO much and you've honestly made me indescribably happy. i want to communicate with you again! i want to hear what you think of upcoming chapters! but if not, that's fine, this review has honestly made my LIFE and i'm just so, so happy right now. thank you, thank you, thank you! THANK YOU! ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #15, by Luna unicorn blood

29th October 2015:
The Jeffy in this chapter killed me. It was simple beautiful and so powerful! I honestly love them as a couple so much and they are my favourite ship I have ever read. Honestly they deserve fanfiction to be written about them!! Xo

Author's Response: OMG YOU'RE TOO TOO KIND THANK YOU SO MUCCCHHH, thank you thank you! i'm /ecstatic/ that you like jeffy so much! ahhh ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by Lol x10000 unicorn blood

29th October 2015:
Hey there just wanted to say that I really enjoy your take on rose ive never read about her like this and I really hope you expand on her character more and we get to see more interaction between her and effy! Because effy is lovely and I just know she won't judge Rose! Amazing chapter btw, the scene with the lake had me remembering summer! Effy's life is literally my dream!!
Can't wait for more x

Author's Response: hey! i'm so excited that you like my take on rose, oh my gosh i have ALL these ideas and potential plots for her and rose in the near future, especially for the duo in their seventh year, hopefully you like them ahaha- ahhh thank you so much for this lovely lovely review! and i actually wrote the lake scene in summer, i do love autumn but nothing beats spontaneous summer nights- so i'm so glad i could capture that. thank you again for such an amazing review and you know, just for reading in general! means so much!! xxx

 Report Review

Review #17, by Radiohead unicorn blood

29th October 2015:
Woah !!! so I read on tumblr that apparently this is the new clash so obviously being the fanfic obsessed freak that I am I had to check this out and read all 16 chapters in one day
And hell to the freaking yeah this is so the new better and fresher dose of clash
I cannot even explain in words how cool funky and exciting these words you have written are
Effy is a crackling flame man! an independent, fierce fire cracker that no one can tame not even james and I love that!
The plot is easy light hearted and quick to follow and your characters I bet you don't even need to be told are the type of geezers every british girl should have in her life!
Chapter 13 was my absolute favourite but this once certainly came a close second!!
Cannot wait to read more and please can we have more of aspen and Oscar in the next few chapters I just love them!!

Author's Response: oh my god, i'm just scared you're pranking me here. somebody said that on my hpff tumblr page and i freaked the fack out, you know, because like clash was so unbelievably good- pretty much everyone's all time favourite next/gen, most likely- and yeah, no way can my story even COMPARE to clash! and so you saying that has made me get a bit of a lump in my throat, i can't stop beaming but also like, no WAY!! i think i'm blushing?

"geezers" hahaha, my ex-boyfriend used to call alan sugar that- thank you so much! and i LOVE your description of effy, that is exactly what i was going for, YESSS! thank you! i want to quote you and put it as the story bio! thank you so much!

you've made me indescribably ecstatic, thank you so much. i want to write an extra aspen/oscar scene for the next chapter to prove how happy you've made me, i think i'll go do that now, thank you again!! ahhh ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by Marge88 the usual atticus

29th October 2015:
"It's like communist China up here""
"Snog marry avoid"
You are just too funny
I love all the contemporary reference they actually make me crease so hard!
I'm so jealous of your writing talents, you do romance so well (I mean come on that scene at the end with Jeffy was just freaking amazing, it may be the best moment of this whole story thus far and that's coming from someone who laughed for a solid 15 minutes at the whole Effy having to pretend to be Scorpious' mum thing), you're effortlessly funny, I swear to god your characters have the best personalities in the whole of fanfiction! This chaoter has been my favourite so far, I'm not yunna read the next one too soon because Im svared you won't update and I need Jeffy in my life!!im enjoying everything so much and I really love the banter between all your chatscyrrs I'm excited to see where you will take this especially with the mikey angle, I'm also excited to see more from characters like jasmine, ruddy, louis and rose I feel like you can explore so much kore with them. I'm also so excited to see your take on lily, dominique and roxanne (that is if you will bring them into it) you do characters so well I just can't wait to see what their personalities will be like! There is so much to look forward to lol
See you soon!

Author's Response: oh my gosh, thank you so much! i'm so so glad you like those references hahaha- when i started writing FA i was like, let's make this as realistic as possible, let's make effy and her friends talk like real teenagers, you know? so many of their conversations are straight up plucked out of group whatsapps or girly brunches- so yeah, thank you so much!

and nooo. i want to upload the next chapter soon! like, i've been on half term, and somehow between going out and doing work i've managed to almost complete the next chapter? hopefully it'll be up soon! i love writing this and i don't want to leave it until effy has graduated! (which is, most likely, the end of the story.)

you're just so so lovely! you're the best! i have the biggest smile on my face right now, i swear to god. like oh my goooddd i'm grinning!! this has actually made my day- you have no idea how much reading your words has made me happy. and there's SO MUCH ruddy, louis and jasmine coming up. and with lily, dominique and roxanne- i want to introduce them! i'm just scared it'll all be too many characters by that point, hahaha!

thanks again, thank you SO MUCH LIKE- i just don't know what to say? you're honestly the kindest, the loveliest and you've totally put the biggest beam on my face. and after all this university application pressure, you've made me feel so much better! YOU'RE SO GREAT THANK YOU ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by Thursdaygirl unicorn blood

29th October 2015:
No!!! I'm scared for JEFFY going down hill:( I love them too much
I'm very very impressed by this chapter and how you've maintained interest! Normally at this point light romance gets boring but you just make me want to read more and more and more!
This is my favourite fanficyoon at the moment and I've recommended it to all my nerdy Harry potter freak friends so I applogise in advance for more crazy fan girls begging you to update more because I just know they will be just as hooked as me!
What more can I say ERM basically this is just pure loveliness
You know when you take autumn walks and the sky is blue and the leaves are all sorts of shades and there's nice wind and good music and you think woah I love life this is that in a story
I really really love it and I cannot wait to read more!
(Fingers crossed for JEFFY and can I just say I love rose and effy! Rose is so interesting to me because you do her so differently and effy is honestly one of the best oc's I have ever encountered. I want to be her. Her personality and views are just woah, the fact that you weave important issues like feminism in just make her so much more special than your everyday vain MARY sue)
Love it update soon! And I hope you stay inspired for this story forever because it honestly makes me and I'm sure so many other people so happy. It puts a smile on my face everytime I read more! Truly well done you are so talented

Author's Response: hey hey hey!!

you know what, i'm kind of happy that you're scared for jeffy going down hill, because it just shows that you like them as a couple and like the next chapter isn't going to be pretty but ultimately their rollercoaster has to come back up again, right?? because honestly they're kind of based off chuck/blair (from gossip girl, do you watch?) and. that couple ended up getting married. sooo... ;)

i just can't thank you enough for like. EVERYTHING. !!! you are so, so, so kind and lovely and amazing and i'm beaming as i re-read your review, thank you to the moon and back, thank you!! you've totally made my day, i can't express just how grateful i am for your review- but i'm beyond words. thank you endlessly and infinitely, thank you!! (and i LOVED that paragraph, that was me today hahaha, i love autumn days like that!)

and i'm so glad you like this take on rose. i kind of wanted to challenge this neo-hermione take everyone's seemed to lump on the poor girl- my good friend, like rose, also has quite famous parents, and she's even crazier than this rose is, which kind of makes sense, you know, rebelling against your parents and the society that worships them. but my new story- it's called catastrophe- characterises rose just like her most typical form, all prefect-y and popular and kind and nerdy/ish. so yeah, really different from this rose! AND I'M SO GLAD YOU LIKE EFFY BECAUSE SHE IS JUST, you know, i just love effy so much, i've weaved so much of myself into her! thank you thank you thank you!

you've totally inspired me to finish up the next chapter; hopefully it'll be up in a week or two. thank you endlessly, i'm actually speechless! you are so kind- thanks INFINITELY. lots of love ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by nextgenluna crushed moon extract

26th October 2015:
hahahaha, i'm obsessed with this fic already. love it. (love oscar and aspen the most!!!)

Author's Response: i'm so happy you like it! the first few chapters NEED revision (can't believe it's been two years since i wrote them...)- let me know what you think of the rest!! xxx

 Report Review

Review #21, by hpffluvss unicorn blood

21st October 2015:
Oh my goodness. I saw on tumblr that someone called this the new Clash and i completely agree with that person. This is such an incredible story and it has such great characters. You do it so well with how you let your readers get to know more about the characters. Like i totally feel like they are real. And the JEFFY feels is this chapter basically killed me. Seriously can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: OMG WHAT NO STOP!! I AM GRINNING LIKE MAD- that is the most FLATTERING thing anyone has ever said, thank you so so much, i couldn't disagree more but i appreciate the idea so, so SO so much omfg!! like whaaat!! thank you!!
and regarding my characters- i can't get over how many times i'm saying 'thank you' in this response but it's all i can really muster. i think i'm really quite overwhelmed; this is so exciting. i couldn't be more grateful, thank you!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #22, by MagicInMe unicorn blood

21st October 2015:
Literally this is my favourite fanfiction like ever, honestly love your characters and your writing style so much! you're breaking my heart saying it can only go downhill from here for Jeffy though...please update soon already looking forward to next chapter xx

Author's Response: thank you so, so much! i'm so glad you like fa- reviews like yours really do make my day. i want to push through another chapter by early november, so hopefully that'll make up for downhill jeffy! thanks again for such a lovely review xoxo

 Report Review

Review #23, by Notjustarandomgirl2 unicorn blood

20th October 2015:
I love your story, it is written in a very professional way and kind of is addicting!
I couldn't get enough from it and had to read it till the last update and I really can't wait for you to post a new chapter. I adore Effys and James relationship, even though at the beginning of their relationship I was thinking that she let a lot of his mistakes slide easily and I detested the way James made her feel like she is actually in the wrong etc. and would never explain something without her having to ask him. Still, this one is my favourite couple out of all the fanfictions I've read yet
Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: you're so so lovely! thank you so so much- you're making me beam with excitement hahah, thank you again!
i think with effy and james, you know, the age difference between the two is so much more important when in a school environment for power positions, and i wanted to highlight the kind of uglier side to school relationships like that rather than make it all yay teen love, you know? so i'm SO glad you took that observation! he's got a lot of growing up to do, as does she, and i'm so excited to write it all- and jeffy are one of your favourite couples? literally wHAT! that makes me so, so happy. thank you infinitely, endlessly, forever and ever ♥ i'm grinning!

 Report Review

Review #24, by JT4HP unicorn blood

20th October 2015:
(Oh my god no don't let it go downhill from here)

I liked this chapter a lo.t. I love how fiercely independent effy is but also how much she does like James. It's such a good medium between the two.

I feel like effy and James need more love. Please don't make them go downhill :( I I'll be so sad

Honestly great chapter though! Especially loved the ending but about his jersey ;)

Author's Response: oh my gosh, i couldn't be happier that you like this chapter- and most importantly, effy! 'fiercely independent' is exactly what i was going for, yes yes yes! thank you! and don't worry- jeffy have a looong road of ups and downs, they'll have plenty more love in the future, but i'm sorry (and kind of glad haha) that it'll make you sad- hopefully poppy/albus plot lines will kind of make up for it?
thanks again for reviewing! it means so much! xoxo

 Report Review

Review #25, by hplover101 unicorn blood

18th October 2015:
omg no plz jeffy are the cutest thing ever I don't think I can handle them going downhill. Amazing chapter, still in love with this story-who isn't? Also loving scorpius and rose, and really like how you write Rose. Can't wait for the next update! xo

Author's Response: thank you so so /sooo/ much for reading and reviewing, especially for such lovely words! james and effy are stronger than i've portrayed them to be, they'll pull through. hopefully? is that a spoiler? idk. and i'm so glad you like this characterisation of rose! thank you again for reviewing! xxx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>