Reading Reviews for Starfall
  
340 Reviews Found

Review #1, by yellowpetals Wander Forth the Sons

18th November 2014:
First of all, hello :)! I'm a first time reviewer, but I have been with this trilogy from the very first chapter of Ignite you posted. I'm addicted to it. I generally don't feel like reviewing stories, but I have an itch now, so here it is.
I dare say I took last chapter quite well, there were no tears, no return of the endless sadness that followed methuselah's death. Because I am certain in my heart of hearts that Scorpious will come back because he always does. Because even if I am scared that we might not even see or hear from him during the next book at all( depending on what dead people in the realm of death do in your book), I must believe he will come back.
But this chapter, oh this chapter got to me and got to me hard. Because even if I can choose to deny what happened for now, then poor Albus and Rose can't. Their grief right now is true and as raw as it gets. And who can keep their heart closed and not sympathise with such tragedy.
Ah...
Well, anyway, I wanted to get this off my chest in a hope it will get a bit more bearable. And to say how beautifully I thought you've wrote this story so far. And to tell you that it's appreciated even if not everyone leaves a review to show it. So thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for coming from the ether to write me a review! I appreciate all readers - I'm just glad people are enjoying themselves - but it's good to know what you're enjoying, or just to get a little reminder you're out there. But I know it takes extra time to write these, so I do appreciate it. Reviews don't come naturally to me, either (so apparently I write them huge, which makes me less and less inclined to write them, but that's not the topic here).

There's more to come on the nature of death, death magic, and the bridges between the realms of the living and the dead in the next book, which is all I can say to people's hopes of resurrection. Nothing in this world is easy.

But no, Rose and Albus can't see such a prospect, can't imagine it. It was tough to write, meaty and satisfying but tough. I'm glad it was effective for readers, and thank you very much for your kind words. I do know the silent masses are out there, my read count tells me so, and I appreciate all of you anyway, but thank you a bunch for taking the extra time. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #2, by EarthsTrueGreen Wander Forth the Sons

17th November 2014:
I have never cried over a piece of fanfiction before, but this chapter broke my heart and made me cry twice for your character's heartache. Good update can't wait for the last chapter.

Author's Response: I do put these poor kids through the wringer, don't I? I'm not sorry it hit you in the feels. I hope they were good, cathartic feels, mind. Else I am a bit sorry. Last chapter Incoming. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #3, by kaeliebear Wander Forth the Sons

17th November 2014:
I had a feeling it was the future that they were seeing in Ager Sanguinis, I had just really hoped that I was wrong. He's not dead, he really can't be. it's not possible and I refuse to believe it!

Author's Response: Sirius Black taught us that falling through a Veil was hazardous to your mortality. Scorpius Malfoy has learned that same lesson, I'm afraid. And it was the plan all along from Ager Sanguinis.

All things happen for a reason. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Whimsical Diva Wander Forth the Sons

17th November 2014:
Ugh! I don't know why my reviews for the previous chapter were deleted. Anyway, this chapter felt strange - in that I wasn't quite as moved as I've been in the past, simply because I refuse to believe that Scorpius is gone forever. Sure, he's dead, but Matt was dead too, and isn't the whole point of having the Chalice defeating death, or being able to travel between the world of the living and the dead? And of course, he can't be gone when his nemesis Thane is still around. I mean, if he still remains dead at the end of Book 3, then I might come back and read this chapter and allow myself to feel sad, but as of now, I'm just looking forward to the next book.

One thing though, I'm glad Albus promises to be more of a proactive and less implausibly idealistic character in the future. If that needed killing Scorpius, so be it. It'll be interesting to see how he'll now walk the tightrope between having a more sensible and calculating outlook on life, and being the good guy he deep down always will be.

So just... one more chapter? Like I'd mentioned in my previous review, hope it answers some questions about de Sable, Eva and how she's going to manoeuvre her way, and just what the mainspring of book 3 is going to be - revenge, probably? Please do update, especially if this is the last of this lot we'll be seeing until 2015.

Author's Response: I don't know what happened to the last ones either! I read them, I just hadn't got around to answering them (I do it in batches). So thanks for them anyway, even if I don't recall anything specific you said which specifically needs addressing.

Except, of course, this crazy theory like Scorpius might be able to come back. All I'll say is that I didn't draw a Veil death out of a hat (I did not spin a Wheel of Cruel Deaths on choosing how to kill him off, though I feel I should make such a Wheel), so Oblivion will be dealing with the hows and the whys and the whats and the consequences. Beyond the apparent.

Albus has a whole new path to walk. That naivety and idealism got his heart broken and his best friend killed, or so he believes. The trial of courage questioned if he could be brave, really, without understanding loss; will he risk his neck and the necks of others, will he stand up for beliefs he once held so fervently, now he knows what the price REALLY is? Those will be the questions we'll face. In some ways, this is the story I should have been writing all along; two-thirds through the saga, Albus' story of Becoming is only just beginning.

The next chapter's in the queue and it will reveal some of those questions you've posed. It'll be out hopefully by the end of the week (the queue is a power beyond God and Man. Or, beyond me). Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Solana14 Wander Forth the Sons

17th November 2014:
I'm feeling much like... well, at least one reviewer has already said and maybe more. I too don't particularly want to read any more.

Yes, that you evoked such feelings in readers proves how brilliant you are at what you do here... but does it really?

Your writing is absolutely superb, characterization, setting, tone -- top notch. Story? I wonder...

Being a dedicated reader all my life as well as a writer myself, I know characters get killed off all the time. There are reasons for that in fiction. That includes beloved characters, major characters, too. And that's the author's prerogative.

I remember JKR saying shortly after Deathly Hallows 2 that she'd considered killing off someone major -- I think one of the main 3, maybe even Harry himself. And in the end she just couldn't do it.

I'm not saying that has any connection with your story which is your own, of course. You as author make the judgment call. You said you had reason. I'm just saying that, as a reader, I feel this time it was wrong.

Not wrong according to your reasons, of course, only you determine those. But wrong for me as a reader.

And I've never felt this way in literature, ever. Sad though I was, I always had a strong desire to continue -- which said loads about the story and, yes, the author's skill.

I am, of course, extremely curious about what happens with certain things -- Draco's involvement which I do now feel is occurring in some way, Astoria's reaction, where Albus ends up going, his relationship with his family, what Thane, Eva and them are up to, etc. That I want to know these things shows the excellence of the writing. But the excellence of the writing is not all that matters to the reader.

I'll probably come back at some point to see what happened and how it all ended. I must know that. But I'll not be following regularly anymore. Because this time, something was done to the reader which I find -- not palatable.

Author's Response: I understand why you're feeling what you're feeling. It appears I have been callous and cruel, not just in killing off a protagonist character, but doing so abruptly, and doing so with a seeming lack of emotional significance. Methuselah's death was a price to be paid to earn the ending; Scorpius' death was no such price. Methuselah's death had some dramatic impact upon everyone, especially Selena; Scorpius' death just seems to be breaking everyone and tossing them into a pit.

Hope is what you're looking for, and it feels right now like I've just dumped hope in the Veil along with Scorpius; the senses of innocence and adventure and a FUTURE are all gone.

Or, such is my guess on what you're feeling, on why this is being difficult for you. I can understand that. Hope is necessary, else doing harsh things to one's characters isn't automatically clever writing, or good writing. I can write a hundred words on kicking puppies; just because it's dark doesn't make it good prose.

All I shall say is that this story is not done. Not even the story of Scorpius' death is done; it was done in this way for a dramatic purpose and that dramatic purpose has yet to be played out. If this remains for you a story without hope, then I understand that, and I'll be sorry to see you go as a regular reader. My request is, simply, to trust me. I know sort-of what I'm doing, though of course I don't know 100% what I'm doing or I would have bought my reader's trust already.

There will be answers to lots of things, and they will be addressed some day. Thanks for all the reviews and the time you've taken to write this, and read my stories!


 Report Review

Review #6, by whykay Wander Forth the Sons

16th November 2014:
I hate this. I don't want to read on :(

Life's a b* even in fanfiction and you are cruel and so very brave to do this to Scorpius. And BRILLIANT for evoking this sentiment.

(I will come back, but later perhaps, after the third story has gone on for a few chapters.. or not? Ugh. Life's dilemma's on how to cope with the loss of a fan-fictional character in an alternate universe set in the future.)

Author's Response: Cruelty is not always brave, but I'm aware I'm going to upset a LOT of people with this choice, so thanks for sticking it out (and sticking up for me). I give you such HARSH dilemmas don't I? You'll have a while to decide on what to do with Oblivion. Only one more Starfall chapter. Oblivion's not 'til 2015 anyway. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #7, by BellaLestrange87 Wander Forth the Sons

16th November 2014:
I'm still mad at you for the last chapter. But, moving on. (First!)

I think everyone's grief is really well-portrayed here. It makes sense that Albus would want to leave the house that he shared so many memories with Scorpius in. I think the fact that he moved Scorpius's trunk to the attic, even when he knew he was leaving, shows just how much he is sad/depressed/grieving over Scorpius's death.

I like Albus's argument with Harry, and the points he brought up. They're entirely valid: Harry didn't really lose anyone he knew for his whole life. Yes, Fred died, but Harry wasn't extremely close with him. If you really think about it, to truly understand Albus's pain, Harry would have to lose Ginny, Ron, or Hermione. But you're not going to make him go through that, are you? *stares suspiciously* I do think it's touching that Albus put on Sirius's old jacket, though. It's like a kind of bond: the one who lost their best friend because of the Veil wearing the jacket of the one who fell through the Veil and died. It would've been even more ironic if Scorpius had been wearing it when he fell through. Reading your review responses to the last chapter has made me give up on denial. He's dead now.

Seriously, what was Hugo thinking, reading Rose For Whom the Bell Tolls? Even though I've never read the book, I googled it when you mentioned it in your author's note, and boy, did he make a stupid choice there. I think his next choice though - Alice in Wonderland is a better idea than a romance novel. If he read her one of those Rose might remember all the happy times she and Scorpius spent together and fall even further into grief.

Speaking of grief, Rose's is excellent here. It seems realistic - and I say seems only because I've never lost someone that close to me as Scorpius was to Rose - but I remember the pain of losing someone who I didn't know as well, and it sucked. A lot. Poor Rose. I'm almost glad Matt's there for her, if it wasn't for the fact that he spent the first half of this book pining after Rose and beng jealous of Scorpius. It seems kind of convenient that he showed up the minute Rose realized that she knew that Scorpius was going to die.

Ah, tied up plot ends! To be honest, I forgot completely about that. I don't know what I thought when I first read that chapter. Probably what Rose initially thought.

Good chapter. Heart-rending chapter, but good.

~Olivia

Author's Response: I accept anger. Anger is normal! Maybe some day you will forgive me. I will try to earn said forgiveness.

Al just can't cope, poor kid. He only had a few months living with Scorpius, but so much of his life and his identity have been built around this friendship, it's just inconceivable to him of how to be a whole person without the guy. I feel I was hard on Harry, because grief is grief, but at the same time, Harry can't know what he's going through. If Harry had lost one of those three, he might, but in some ways he was tremendously lucky; he didn't lose any contemporaries, equals in his life. The closest was Fred and I'm sure that was deeply sad for him, but it's not the same.

I can't comment on who I'll kill in future! Apparently I'm a danger. But while we should see more of the parents and extended family in Oblivion, the story remains very heavily on our gang. Who are decreasing in size. Because I kill them.

The parallels with Scorpius and Sirius have never been intentional, honest. I didn't choose a Veil as my Weapon of Choice, just those two men have wound up walking a very similar path. So by reaching out to a symbol of Sirius, Albus is kind of reaching to a symbol of Scorpius.

I don't know why Hugo picked that book. As a writer, I was sat flailing for what Hugo might read her (I should have invented Magic Literature, I love doing those things), and while Alice in Wonderland came to mind quickly, I honestly just spun in my chair and picked a book at random. It was such an AWFUL book I couldn't resist putting it in. I have a problem, don't I? It's not a HAPPY romance, either. It ends in death.

I have no first-hand experience... or second-hand experience... of the sort of grief Rose is going through (loss, yes, but not even on this scale of closeness. It is still for the suck). This is one of those 'project my writer brain' into the situation and imagine, much like imagining having a magic fight on top of a flying stone dragon, except sadder. But I'm glad it's convincing and compelling! Matt is trying to help, in his Matt-like way... possibly with suspiciously good timing, who can say.

One more chapter before it's over. Thanks a whole bunch for the review. Apologies for my late-night, whimsical responses. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Kaeliebear Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

10th November 2014:
Oh no! I don't even know what to say!! Hurry and post the next chapter!

Author's Response: I will be posting up the next chapter soon! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Guilty_pleasures Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

9th November 2014:
He's not dead.
I'm sure he's not dead. It's not even denial, it's logic. He can't be dead, not dead-dead, not if you're going to write another entire book about a plague that now lives inside him. Not when he's fallen between the world 'with locked gates' between life and death with the one magical peice of metal that allows access to that world. Not when he and Rose had Actual Plans. He's a Canon character. You wouldn't... you couldn't really kill off Scorp. Not when you've made him so completely yours. Not after he WAS book 1. No. He might be a shadow of himself in a veil that took Sirius Black so easily... but he's not dead. Sirius had James and Lily and Remus and dumbledore and basically everyone he ever loved in that world. Scorp's people are on the living side. We'll see him again.

That's what I choose to think anyway.

Loved how you repeated things that were said to him by people that mean everything to him throughout your chapters to him near the veil. So very well done.

How come he didn't hear Rose, though? Not everyone he heard is dead...

Good god, Lockett is going to be a MESS.

Also loved the scene with Gabriel and Jen and Selena's mother. And Hermione. Brilliant. I love imagining the aged version and relationships between your Anguis characters' in Stygion when their kids are the ones having near-death experiences.

Near death, because Scorpius isn't dead-dead. He'll come back, every time.

In your next book, right? Yep. I just know it.

I am not going to allow myself any other idea until we get to read on (:

Amazing chapter, as always.
Can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: There ARE a lot of Chekhov's Guns on the wall, aren't there? I suppose we'll see when they go off, and how. I will never stop this kind of theorising from my readers. :)

Scorpius wasn't explicitly hearing things said to him by people that mean everything - he didn't hear Albus, either. He did hear from the living, but they were all about moments of death. Methuselah's last words, Nat's words right before Tim died, all about the dead, not just about the ones he loved. We will see Lockett before the end. But yeah. She is going to be hit HARD.

More chapters to come to answer your questions... though some may be kept for another book. Glad you enjoyed the Anguis cameos; Gabriel at least will play a bigger role in Oblivion, because he's sneaky like that. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by whykay Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

8th November 2014:
I can only chant - 'chalice to the rescue', 'chalice to the rescue'... why else were the explanations put in place on how the chalice helps to navigate the Veil? Scorpius will come back, this time too.

But yeah, it is so sad.. Poor Rose and poor Albus. This will change them. It was premonition after all. I have to go back and read the chapter on their experiences with the Veil. Again.

Gabe and Tanith are awesome, like always and I am glad to see Jen playing not quite the foil to them. Lillian, I hope, is merely reacting and will come around. She should really be grateful than spewing at them, as are Harry and Hermione. One more question - are Thane and Raskoph arrested? Will De Sable's presence help?

I hate to say this, but Draco will be shattered. Maybe the true nature of his role in the Council will be revealed? ooh.. I would love it if he were a double agent too, like Snape was. Anyway, getting back to 'Scorpius' falling through the Veil' incident, I think it will be days or months before he resurfaces. But I wonder if the ritual has done any lasting damage to his body.

And lastly, my appeal - please do not kill him off. There wasn't even an unresolved love triangle here (as if that is the only reason that justifies killing off a character, but still). That is too cruel.

Author's Response: It's true there's a lot of Chalice lore out there of which we have not seen the full implications, but the Chalice can remain lost and its effect still impacting the world. It was premonition. And it was a premonition Rose ignored wilfully, as the Guardian condemned her for in her Trial of Wisdom.

Cameos from Gabe and Tanith, though we'll see more of Gabriel in the next book. Which wasn't planned, but it makes more and more sense he'll have a role if he's stepping up to take his own action against the IMC. Lillian is... upset, and reeling, and stressed. She almost lost her daughter and all of her power couldn't stop this; the institution she built not only didn't help, but was nearly a detriment. We'll see more from her in the future, too.

Thane and Raskoph got away. As for de Sablé... couldn't comment! His part is not over. We shall see Draco before the end of Starfall.

Scorpius IS dead. My interpretation has been that this killed Sirius, even if I can't make full thematic sense of killing him in such a manner, but Veils are passages to the realm of the dead and you can't be alive in such a place. If there is method to my madness, it may be revealed another time.

But thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by scorprose Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

8th November 2014:
How could you even think of writing like this. You broke everybody's heart dear. Its unnecessary to say how brilliant is your writing when it can easily elicit tears in the readers eyes. But pl give any absurd reason you want and we will believe it but pl pl pl bring scorpius back.
Just reducing 1 pt in rating bcos i cant digest scorpius death. Sorry.

Author's Response: All I shall say is that I do everything for and with a reason. There is method to my madness, even if this seems random and cruel right now.

If I'm hitting hard enough to hit my ratings, so be it! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Solana14 Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

7th November 2014:
I also don't know how to feel. I'm ... devastated. ... I don't know if I can read any more. If you've killed off Scorpius ... I just don't know if I'm interested anymore. I will come back in and hope that, with the Chalice with him, he's looking for a way out. It has to be. It has to be.

Author's Response: Well, Scorpius is definitely dead. That point can't be quibbled over. What I do from here is always up for debate. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by peacock33 Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

7th November 2014:
That was devastating! I even started crying. But I will keep hope since Scorpius does have the chalice. I wonder how the Malfoys are involved and why the Council wasn't more hesitant to use Scorpius that way. And I wonder what Eva will do after this and if she'll try to redeem herself by helping to get Scorpius back. Is this the end of this book? Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: There are still two more chapters, which will start to explain some of the fallout, though no doubt there will be questions left unanswered until the next book. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by blu Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

7th November 2014:
i don't know how to feeltoo many emotions running inside me nowbut sure as heck loved it!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it in spite of everything! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Tom Hase Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

7th November 2014:
Let's just hope Scorpius is a good singer. I heard you need these kind of skills in the underworld if you ever want to come back. Well, a chalice might help as well.

Author's Response: Though Orpheus was breaking in to try to get his dead lover out. Maybe Rose should be the one with the singing voice. Or Albus!

 Report Review

Review #16, by greenphantomme Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

7th November 2014:
Oh no.
I also feel the need to comment on the chapter, but I don't even know what to say.

'Tis a sad day in fanfic land right now.

The only thing I can think of is how's the third book-part coming along? Is it mostly written with an alive Scorpius trying to use the chalice to make his way through the underworld? (I will keep hope forever!)

Author's Response: I cannot comment on the contents of the third book, but I'm NaNo-ing it and it's coming along nicely (broken 40k today). It probably won't see the light of day until the new year so I've got time to edit (very rough job so far) and chill out, but it will be here, have no fear.

Otherwise I am a cruel writer, though I take no pleasure in this right now. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by guilty_pleasures Ashes, Ashes

4th November 2014:
So I realised I can leave another review.

I just want to let you know that I totally disagree with people who think Albus' character is lacking. I might be bias, because I've been with you awhile now, but I think he's perfect. Some people in this world don't need to be loud about who they are to be who they are and that's the way you've written Albus... and it's perfect to balance the five. He's the big, strong, quiet, loyal observer - always taking everything into perspective and making as cautious decision as possible, always taking it upon himself to look out for everyone but also give them respectful distance, always trying to do the right thing by everything, he's caring but also stern. The natural leader.

Scorpius and Rose admitted a few chapters ago that they're all grown ups now. In Ignite Lockett says the same. But Albus is kind of the grandfather of the group. The old soul ;) He is SO not lacking. Albus just rarely needs to say a lot to put a lot of meaning out there. He's the one who knows what people should do but also lets them work it out themselves. He is just good, and his friends know that makes him vulnerable and they are protective over him, like you would be over a grandfather. Or Dumbledore.

Yeah! He's true to his namesake. Whats bad about that?

I think people are a bit used to a Potter romance being the center of a Next Gen fic. Unless its a Sco-Rose fluff. But you are different. You write mystery! With a crazy, unheard of thing in fanfiction... PLOT.

Sooo Albus hasn't been in the spotlight much. But he's always been there, in the background, keeping them honest, whether it's been 'don't tell Albus' in Ignite or 'talk to Albus about it' in Starfall... he helps the characters grow. I think the group would completely fall apart without him. Like, without Rose they'd be short a rule abiding, love-d up, semi-insensitive brainiac, but they'd have Matt and Scor and Selena who could try to fill the void. Without Matt, they have less information readily available, and less of an emotional punching bag, but they'd have Rose and Selena. Without Selena, they'd have a lack of determination, of spunk, of biting sarcasm, of out-of-the-box thinking and heartbrokeness, but they'd have Scorp and Rose and Matt. Without Scorpius, they'd lose a lot of lightheartedness, wit, cunning and plot twists... but Selena and Rose can do that too. But without Albus? They'd lose their purpose and honesty. I think they'd all go their separate ways and most likely end up letting ambition get the best of them all. Whether it be for research, for revenge, for righteousness, for power... they'd end up working for the wrong people and the wrong ideals. I think it's Al who keeps them all on the right side.

That's why I don't think he's static. I think he's in the background cos he puts everyone before himself and gives the others enough hope to keep them GOOD.

For example, without Albus, Eva wouldn't have ever wanted Lisa to be a part of her, let alone believe 'Lisa' might be the overwhelming part of her that wants to be more than Thane's servant, the part that wants to do the right thing, or not pick a side at all. She would have continued to be a hateful assassin on the side of power, money and greed if it wasn't for Albus' belief in her, his endless hope and influence to do good.

What I'm trying to say is. I know reviews are helpful. But please don't feel the need to change Albus. I think, if what I've said is what you mean for him to be, then you've characterised him beautifully!

Yeah... I'm way too invested in this fanfic. I should leave you alone now! Hahaha.

Author's Response: Ha! Thank you for the defence of Albus. I would outright say that I have made some mistakes in the planning of his character; I was very resistant to the idea of Harry Potter's son having an angsty and bad relationship with his father, which I think clipped Al's wings and didn't come from the perspective of a writer so much as the perspective of a fan. I made him the straight man foil to Scorpius, which meant he's worked alongside him and alongside Rose, but less so of his own accord.

If I had my time again, I would portray Albus differently. I would have probably made his story of Ignite more of the good guy being reluctant and circumstances eventually pressing him into stepping up, and thus becoming that good guy through trials and difficulties. As it stands, I'm working through the portrayal of Al I've got, in that now he's getting his principles tested by them blowing up in his face.

I would agree that he provides a perspective and attitude none of the rest share; his earnest, positive and moral stance without cynicism, without judgement, and without compromise aren't something the rest bring to the table. Nobody else would have been able to bring Eva around the way they did, because they would have been cynical and cautious and even if they'd have been RIGHT, it wouldn't have challenged her viewpoints on the world.

Al will change, because the experience with Lisa will change him, but it's going to make him examine his principles and be tested. Not be forever transformed into a cynical and brooding guy to angst next to the rest.

Thanks for the bonus review and defence of Al! I would do him differently if I had my time again, but I do love him as he is.


 Report Review

Review #18, by inevitable_bliss Ashes, Ashes

4th November 2014:
This is my first review for your story as I've just stumbled upon it recently (and what a happy surprise!). I've got to say, I love your blend of fiction with history and culture. And I have a love/hate relationship with how invested with your characters I have become emotionally, so kudos to you friend. (Except, unfortunately, Albus. He's just so static, I hope you are able to grow his character further)
This next chapter will have to be bringing together a lot of elements: a veil, the chalice, a pureblood (sacrifice? Or are the golems meant to kill him?), Lethe, and some type of absolute power for the council. Not to mention the interference of our favorite pesky teens since Scooby Doo.
So, breaking it down, from what I'm reading about Lethe, the words forgetting and reincarnation are popping up. Perhaps the ultimate power is brainwashing the whole world? But that seems to simple and doesn't explain the Chalice nor Scorpius. I have some ideas forming but for now I will have to wait for you to upload the next chapter :)
I have to say, I love Eva/Lisa and the road she has been careening towards of her own inner salvation. I hope she finds it, whatever happens. (Because i know you have a penchant for killing off lovely characters).
Speaking of, Scorpius. There was that terrible foreshadowing of his death in this same temple, and it's by falling. And they are building a scaffold...Not liking the maths here.
Thane is a continually interesting character. Self serving to a fault and veritable genius with an honor code, something is going on to make him serve Raskoff. Raskoff who, by all accounts is a mad old man out for a century old vendetta.
Well, that's enough of my scattered conjecture. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the history! It was a lot of fun to do the research and, honestly, it rather wrote itself (like I had to make up so little about the Parisian Catacombs to incorporate them into my plot plans). The characters are what drive the tale, though, so glad you like them. Albus is the most static, but we'll be seeing some significant changes from him in the future.

Bear in mind with 'Lethe' that the Stygian Plagues have always been named, well, according to the Styx, and there was only so much of literal fire associations with the Phlegethon plague. Sometimes the Council of Thorns are just melodramatic.

Thanks for reviewing! Glad you've enjoyed the story so far.


 Report Review

Review #19, by whykay Ashes, Ashes

4th November 2014:
So they need a pureblood but how did everything start with Scorpius? Does he mean his interactions?

Eva is unwanted by both sides. Doesn't surprise me. Thane is onto her and Albus.

And Albus - of course, he is more angry at himself than getting heartbroken. And Scorpius is being so true to his character.

What I am scared about is their prior experience at Ager Sanguinis - Will Rose and Albus be broken because of Scorpius? Will it come true? Will it come true for Albus wrt Lisa?

I think Lisa will triumph over Eva. But I don't know if they will stay back to help her.

Good Chapter!

Author's Response: Thane has his reasons, not all of which are apparent, for picking Scorpius. But some of it is because he's a melodramatic type, and it's always been him vs Scorpius, since the beginning. Plus, yes, he knows that Eva is lying, he's just considering that as a later issue to deal with (because under no circumstances does he expect her to betray him as much as she's doing). She's changed a lot from the woman he expects her to be.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by jack Ashes, Ashes

4th November 2014:
I do like the fact that Eva is choosing to help the others. The fact that Thane is willing to both call Raskoph sir and compromise on his promise is a great reason for her to help. The issue I have is that Thane is willing to compromise his code for Raskoph. Its not that I dont see Thane as self-serving enough to be willing to do something like that. It is that Raksoph has been nothing but incompetent the entire story. Unless he has been successful off screen, I dont see how Raksoph has gotten such power that Thane is willing to be subservient to him. I do recognize that he is brutal and not to be trifled with. Its just the council does not seem powerful enough to be able to handle the overt terror Raksoph loves to use. That is the one thing that is likely going to give the IMC enough power to stop the council. Mind you this wanst enough to break my suspension of disbelief it did bug me. throughly enjoyed the rest of the chapter. I really liked how Evas comment about golems was just dismissed

Author's Response: Eva is hitting crunch time, and picking where her loyalties lie - Thane has changed, and SHE'S changed, and there's only so much she can put up with what she tolerated before.

It's true; Thane at least pretends like he has a code, just like Scorpius and Eva both identified, and it would be weird that a man like Raskoph, whom he has no particular reason to RESPECT - follow, perhaps, depending on his well he's paid - would make him compromise himself. Basically, don't worry about your suspense of disbelief. :D There is more to the Council's workings than we know, and though that's really Book Three's story, you're not odd for side-eyeing Thane's actions here.

Raskoph cares nothing for her observation abou golems. He can make more golems! I guess we'll see if he's right or wrong there. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Whimsical Diva Ashes, Ashes

4th November 2014:
I wonder why they need a pureblood to kick off Project Starfall? Golems don't kill purebloods, right? Yet Raskoph doesn't believe the old immunities will work. And why did Thane choose Scorpius, when either Matt or Selena would've sufficed? And I also wonder how Draco or Astoria are involved in all of this? Ah, questions, questions...

I knew they'd be back in Ager Sanguinis. What I fear now is whether Scorpius is going to die, as foreshadowed previously. Of course they have the Chalice, but then it'll all be too easy if they can bring him back to life with the help of the Chalice, won't it? I'm surprised though, why this place didn't affect any of Raskoph's or Thane's men the way it did the Six? And what about those Dementors? Totally see those making a reappearance as well at the denouement. Will Matt or Eva be able to cast a Patronus this time?

OK, I have to admit, I loved the bit where Eva was exposed. I mean, it's cliche and a bit banal, but enjoyable nonetheless. Albus deserves everything he's getting for being such a copper-bottomed muppet, but poor Scorpius doesn't deserve to die.

Part of me believes that Chalice will be destroyed by Matt's sword (it IS destroyable, right?) I still have a hunch that Eva might die, trying to save the Five. Also think either Thane or Raskoph is going to snuff it. And also think it'll be nice to read something from Albus's perspective - I think except that one scene in Ager Sanguinis with Lisa, I don't remember reading anything at all from his POV, which is odd, given how long this story is.

Anyway, this review was all over the place, and be a dear and put that next chapter in the queue. Only 3 more to go, right? Can't wait to see how this all ends.

Author's Response: Golems most certainly do try to kill purebloods! The defences in Badenheim didn't ACTIVATE unless a non-pureblood triggered them, but the golems were from there indiscriminate. And the ones in Ager Sanguinis originally, the ones Matt and Scorpius fought, were triggered by them, as the Templars didn't care about blood purity (especially as they worked with Muggles). Thane had his reason for choosing Scorpius, and some of these are personal and some of these are professional. Also, Selena is definitely not Sacred 28 material pureblood; she's got good ancestry but there'd be interbreeding in there. And while the Doyles wouldn't have been caught dead marrying Muggles, the Rileys, while a respectable wizarding family with no Muggles in their lineage in recent generations, would be similarly not Sacred 28. Malfoy? Malfoy's the purest of the pure. Raskoph's also not SURE the old immunities will work. It'd be a bit of a gamble to assume.

Ager Sanguinis had to make a comeback. It was almost happy accident in the planning; I intended on 'somewhere in Syria' and then there was going to be the final throwdown, and when I developed the castle I knew it had to be where all the chickens would come home to roost. And yeah, the Chalice is established as being PRETTY dang powerful. It makes death a rather more questionable issue.

Dementors are a problem, though the gang had no run-ins with them on Ager Sanguinis' grounds.

Albus has indeed trusted until it stabbed him in the back, and os he's getting everything he 'deserves' with Eva's exposure. It becomes theatrical because Thane is demonstrating his power over her, to HER as well as the rest. It's true, we've not had much from his POV. I think one scene just after Badenheim (with Rose, I think it was his POV, not hers?) and the immediate aftermath of kissing Eva. But otherwise we've not had much from his POV, mostly because other people have had more to give. And a lot of his personal scenes have been with Eva, whose POV has been more valuable.

Next chapter in the queue soon. Though I must do my NaNo writing of book 3 today, so... it'll be in by the end of the day. ;) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Guilty_pleasures Ashes, Ashes

3rd November 2014:
Suspense. Oh this build up! Still can't even. Gah!

LISA/EVA DIDNT RAT YOU OUT, FIVE. SHE WAS JUST IN THE WRONG PLACE AT THE WRONG TIME AS SHE ALWAYS SEEMS TO BE IN LIFE. SHES NOT ON THEIR SIDE. ALBUS, PLEASE TAKE HER BACK!

So impressed at how you threw in what we have to look forward to in your next installment. Lethe! ... sounds frightening and excellent and just so glad you love to write these because I love reading them!

Mind blowing chapter as always. Excited for the next!

Author's Response: As ever, Lisa is cursed with matters never being as they appear. Sometimes to her benefit. Sometimes REALLY not, and the Council would rather not show their hand on how they really found the Five when they have an effective scapegoat to cover up their sources.

There'll be more info next chapter on what's REALLY going on, but next chapter is also It, The Real Climax, so... we'll see what happens! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by whykay In the Pale Moonlight

29th October 2014:
I knew it. All of them are lulled. Even Albus. I am confident nothing is going to happen to them. I am not so sure about EvaLisa. And the Chalice.

Author's Response: The Chalice is the thing, so we'll see how the other guys cope with it all - and what Thane/Raskoph want. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Guilty_pleasures In the Pale Moonlight

29th October 2014:
Remember when I mentioned I found it hard to leave reviews on your chapters because sometimes I just become a total fangirl and can't even anything because my brain is a mush of OH MY GOD THIS IS EVERYTHING I NEEDED AND LOVE ABOUT FANFICTION HOW ARE YOU SO AMAZING I NEED THE NEXT CHAPTER ASAP THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME ...?

... This is one of those times.
Everything is perfect. I am so glad Selena and Matt have decided to be imperfectly perfect together and work through their heartbreaks together. I am so glad scorp and Rose are aware they're grown ups now and that NEWTS aren't all there is to life. And Albus? I just... I can't... Yep. Mush. Need Eva to confess in the midst of a drama fueled Prometheus raid for the chalice. I need Eva to be the good guy and for Prometheus to get away without the chalice because those kids don't need to hunt it any more than they have already. I need Eva and albus to live happily ever after. But I also need that third book to happen. So ARGH! Mush. Love.

Please keep doing what you're doing!
Thanks for another great chapter. Excited for the next!

Author's Response: I don't mind fangirling flailing. Lets me know I'm doing something right. Even if in the flailing I'm not entirely sure what. Probably the cliffhangers. You guys love those, right?

Selena and Matt being 'imperfectly perfect' together is... perfectly put. The lot of them are growing up, in their way, and learning to cope with the question of what's next. Okay, so what's next is an abduction at the hands of Prometheus Thane, so...

It's not over 'til it's over. But there'll still be content for a third book, so we'll see. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by kaeliebear In the Pale Moonlight

28th October 2014:
I've been completely engrossed in these stories for the past several weeks, and they've been worth every minute. I absolutely adore these characters and the way their stories are being told. I love them. Can't wait for more. And I really hope Eva stands up to Thane and tells Al the truth. Keep up the great writing.

Author's Response: Guess we'll see how Eva chooses to handle this, for better or worse. Glad you're enjoying yourself reading this story, though, and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>