Reading Reviews for Forever Young
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dojh167 Forever Young

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

I almost didn't read this because feeling... But I can be strong (?)

I love your opening, and how you so effortlessly paint a picture of each of the Weasleys with so few words.

The fact that you've given Fred this fear of growing old is really very believable. In part because so many people have these biases, and also because he always presents himself as so youthful and carefree.

I really like how you've separated Fred and George for this. Too often people assume that they are so inseparable that they are always thinking the same thing, but the fact that you establish right away that George is daydreaming on his own really creates a separation and puts is firmly into Fred's own world with his private fears.

"Living and dying didn't sound so scary, it was just how you got there." Wow. It's very interesting that he's not afraid of death. It also seems in character, because there is no trace of fear in his death scene.

I found the shift to the battle scene very abrupt. Even though the implication is that he had been thinking about the first part of the chapter throughout the battle, that is not clear, and the calm tone of it made me feel like he was reflecting from a separate point in time.

Overall, I really enjoyed this. And I survived the feelings!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter Forever Young

20th June 2015:
HI SAM!
I'm here to shower your author page with love for the house cup :D Having said that and now having read this story, I feel like my plans may have changed to heading to the nearest corner and rocking whilst full on sobbing. YOU BROKE MY HEART.

Even though I'm mad at you for breaking my heart, I have to compliment you on your astounding ability to write Fred. He is so 100% in character. I love how as an 8 year old he's totally tactless and comments on Aunt Muriel's lumpy face, and how the 8 year old reminds himt hrough his life about not wanting to get old. I love that when Percy makes his comment to Pius Thicknese about quitting, he doesn't say that he's proud of Percy, he says that he isn't against feeling proud of him. That line to me out of this whole story just screamed Fred, totally perfect. Even though this story makes me want to cry from now until the end of time, it really was beautiful. I'm mourning Fred all over again.

Dee
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by DracoFerret11 Forever Young

20th June 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the House Cup 2015! So, let's go over things:

Plot: Ahh...sad. Even years and years later, it still depresses me that Fred died. Why did he have to die, JK Rowling?? WHY? But this was a sweet story. It was sad in a lot of ways...but it made sense. A lot of people are afraid of getting old. Fred should've had his chance though.

Characterization: I think it made sense for Fred to be afraid of aging, even if I can't really imagine him being afraid of anything. But if he was, this might have been it. It's an interesting idea, in any case.

Emotions/Descriptions: I wish I'd been able to see more of Fred's emotions throughout this, as well as more details of how things looked/sounded/felt/etc. It might have helped everything to really come to life. It would have been interesting to see if Fred was scared during the battle, etc. But as is, it was still quite good!

Overall, I liked this. It was short, but sweet. Good job!

--Emily (DarkRose)

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm Forever Young

12th July 2014:
Hi!

No, this was too sad and I wonít allow you to destroy me with all the feels! :P ♥ I really loved this idea of fear with Fred as it was just so unique and so different. I really wouldnít have seen it coming until I read this story but the weird thing is that it the fear made complete sense with the way he was always the jokier and more exuberant one of the two and perhaps that was to cling onto his youthfulness.

I really liked how you used Aunt Muriel as an example too as she must have been pretty terrifying so it was really fitting here. Gah, typical Fred making light out of his death even though I just want to cry so much right now. I guess it worked so well with his character and him no longer needing his fear I should be happy but I just canít be. Such a fab story though!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hello!

Ah, feels. They destroy me on a daily basis. I tend to return the favor. *hides* I both loved and hated how ironic getting Fred and the fear of growing old for this challenge, but it was something I loved writing if you can believe that.

It's okay if you're not happy. Writing this got me right in the feels, too. There was a tear. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by tomatina Forever Young

9th March 2014:
The end was heartbreaking for me honestly...but I loved your story. :) It was interesting that it was in the second person and I loved the description. I could never put something so eloquently and leave so much emotion with just just two sentences, but your last two sentences really toyed with my emotions and made me think. Frankly, they were incredible. This is an amazing story.

Author's Response: The end, ah, I cried a little if I'm being completely honest.

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Forever Young

6th March 2014:
I love how you effortlessly moved from him being eight to being in the battle. It's strange what your mind thinks of during certain situations.

I am so sad right now though, to think that Fred's fear was growing old and now he'll never grow older.

This was amazingly written and I feel so sad now. :(

Author's Response: It just felt right, how I did it. I'm glad you like it. :)

I know, it made me sad, too. We can be sad together. *hugs*

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by ShadowRose Forever Young

1st March 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Battle!

First off, I absolutely adore stories written in second person. It's so personal-sounding, and gives the story this haunted feeling - like you're listening to a voice inside your head. It's such a short piece, but it's so loaded with emotion too. I really love the premise for this as well - Fred having a fear of growing old. It definitely seems like something believable for someone known for his childish behaviour, and it makes his early death all that much more powerful.

I love your characterization of Fred - he's an instantly relatable character. I also love how quickly, yet smoothly, you're able to transition through time periods. The whole piece feels connected, even though it takes place over a large span of years. It's so heartwrenching too, seeing little Fred fret about growing old, and then reaching the point where he never has to. It's such heart-wrenching irony, and gosh darn it, you're bringing up a lot of Fred feels and I just - augh.

This piece was just so beautifully written - short and charged, which I think works perfectly. The repetition of the "I don't want to look like that" is great, and shows Fred's fear while also reminding the reader that, no, Fred won't ever look like that. The story ends on such a haunting note too: "You'll never grow old now." It's so heartbreaking and powerful, and just, wow. I'm actually out of words at this point.

This was absolutely heartwrenching and breathtaking and everything in between. Great job with this story - I thought it was amazing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hello, Taylor!

Yes, I agree with second person sounding so personal; it's the reason I chose to write it this way. It made it all feel more real in my head, more... haunted. Yes. When I got the premise of fearing growing old for the challenge and Fred as the character, the irony had me staring at the screen for a minute. But it made a bigger impact on his death and I couldn't resist.

I'm glad; that's what I wanted. I didn't really think about the transition when I was writing, the beginning was just a memory during the war, but when I got it written down and read it through, I was very happy with how it fit. Fred feels - I had a lot, too.

Short and charged seemed so much more powerful than if I'd tried to make it longer. I stopped when it felt right. Oh, the end; it was so sad to right. I'm glad you liked it. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 Forever Young

25th October 2013:
Oh, this is so perfect.

The idea is so original. So great and just fabulous. I adore you for coming up with this. It is magnificent and breath-taking. Honestly.

You just did Fred so well. Second person was absolutely amazing to read. It was your first time, right? It worked so well though. I'm struggling to find words to say... honestly. Just brilliantly done.

Your comparison to Muriel was really clever. I liked it a lot. I really hope you win this challenge, because this was so well written.

Absolutely gorgeous!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was so nervous about this, not only because it was a canon character but because it was Fred and it was sad. So, I'm very happy that you like it and that you thought second person worked well, it was a new thing for me. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by ATLpaintingflowers Forever Young

25th October 2013:
ASDFGHJKL! I really, really, really shouldn't be reviewing this so early, but I honestly couldn't wait. This is one of those stories that I couldn't wait to read from the time I issued Fred and the fear of growing old. I was dying waiting for this, lol. Let me begin by saying you are like probably one of the most original author's out there, and I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading this, because I hadn't expected this story to go the way it did. Your characterisation, transitions, everything is perfect as usual. This one-shot kind of tore my heart out, but made me extremely happy at the same time. I would love to see this as a short story, I think I would die of fangirling. But yes, this is a great story, and I enjoyed reading it so much
~Naomi

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much for the amazing compliments! I'm so glad that you liked it. It was very new for me, so I was nervous about writing it and how it would come out, but I quite liked the result and I'm happy you did, too.

Thank you so much for the challenge and for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by The Misfit Forever Young

24th October 2013:
SAM!

I really shouldn't be adding to your pile of unanswered reviews, but I just had to leave a review on this! ♥ Although it's shorter than I would have liked, you really portray the Weasley family well in this.

Fred Weasley and the fear of growing old, how ironic :P I really like this one-shot, although I would suggest making it longer and fleshing out the time expanse between when he's eight and 20. I do love the way you describe Muriel though, it sounds really authentic from an eight-year-old boy's perspective!

Absolutely lovely one-shot! ♥

Author's Response: ISOBEL!

A longer one-shot would have meant ripping out my heart (I sold my soul for what I did to Nicky).

Yes, the heart wrenching irony. What a combination, eh? :P

Thank you so much, I'm so happy you like the descriptions of Muriel and the Weasleys. I get nervous about canon characters. :)

Thank you for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login