Reading Reviews for Creeper
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by quixotic Creeper

12th March 2014:
Here for the blue and bronze battle!
Well...that was expectedly thrilling. I think this is the perfect story for a Halloween competition. It's really fast paced and horrible (which is a great thing in this situation).

The emotions really stand out in this piece due to the small number of words. It's really easy to picture Teddy's grief and I think that picture is going to haunt me in my nightmares for a while.

I really like the sentences in italics. It was really like being in Teddy's mind. He's just thinking the same thing over and over again that he wasn't the one who killed her. It's almost like he's already losing it in Azkaban, his entire character is unraveling.

The last line I felt really hit home. The creeper is on the loose and there are many of them. Thank the Gods that my birthday isn't on Halloween or I really wouldn't be able to sleep at night. *shudders* this a really well written piece and completely fits with the Halloween mood! Amazing job!

Author's Response: Hi there!! :D

I'm so glad you found this perfect for the competition! Actually the idea was in my head for a long while, and the QTR competition was like a great opportunity to write it out. :) And I liked that you thought this was 'horrible' coz that's what the creepy creepers are meant to be. ;)

Oh... Did I scare you that much?? :O But I'm glad you could understand what Teddy was feeling. :)

The sentences in italics is one of my own favourite ideas. It's great that you agree! :) And yeah, Azkaban is already making him lose his head, I can't even imagine how that poor guy is going to spend the rest of his life there!

So happy you liked the last line! It was like the most important part of the one-shot. YES. There are more creepers out there!! Isn't it lucky that I too was not born on Halloween?? ;)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Your review really made my day! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #2, by Illuminate Creeper

15th February 2014:
Hi! Review Tag!

This is a super creepy oneshot! I like how this is a totally original idea, I've never read anything quite like this before. You created the creepers yourself, adding to the canon with this really interesting and scary magical object!

I like the the sort-of poetic prose you used, it really adds to the creepy atmosphere of the story.

Great job!

P.S. I don't know if you know, but Victoire's birthday is actually May 2nd, because of the anniversary of Voldemort's demise. Doesn't really matter that much, but just thought I'd mention it xD

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you found this original. That' what I wanted this little one-shot to be. :)

Yeah, the poetic prose never fails to create a scary atmosphere. That's why I used it!

Oh, I didn't know that! Anyways, thanks for letting me know... Now this just has to be what it is. ;)

Thanks for the lovely review! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Santa Creeper

1st January 2014:
Review 2!

So, you have a knack for writing knock your socks off one-shots. I've passed over this story each time I've gone through your stories to chose one to read, so I decided I would finally read it. My oh my was I in for a treat.

Your impeccable descriptive words, care for detail and just a general knack for writing has come together beautifully in this story. I love how throughout the story I felt almost afraid of yet sympathetic for the narrator. Because it wasn't his fault, but at the same time, it was.

I think the description you used for this story was perfect as well. Because going into the story I honestly had no idea what a creeper could possibly be. But as the story started I had a feeling what they would entail.

Anywho, brilliant job! Lovely read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This review is practically making me blush...

I was writing this story for the Halloween Story Competition, so I just tried to make it scary by adding all those descriptions and also by writing it in a different style. I have never used such narration before, so it makes me feel happy to hear that it suited well with the plot. :)

Thank you again for the wonderful review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #4, by ReeBee Creeper

17th December 2013:
Wow! Review swaps are so fun! I'm sorry this one's a day late :(

Anyway, I remember seeing this banner request at TDA, and thinking that I wanted to read it. But you know how things go, somehow, I didn't get around to it.

But, I'm so glad I did! This is amazing! I loved it! And so little words! Wow, I don't even know what to say! The most common mistake in these kind of things is focusing on everything (characterisation, description, etc) in small amounts. And, I feel that that doesn't really work well, but I loved it how you just focused on the plot and it worked so well!

Some of the lines! Oh my god! I've got goosebumps! The last line was my absolute favourite- it was super chilling and creepy!!!

Ahhh!

Thanks for a great review swap! :D

-ReeBee :)

Author's Response: I'm always comfortable with short word counts. I like to keep my chapters short and simple, so the challenge of writing a one-shot in 500 words wasn't really hard, but I had to struggle a little writing Creeper. Like you said, I couldn't decide where to focus. I'm so glad the idea of focusing on the plot worked well! :D

Haha, thanks! The last line is my personal favorite. ;)

Thanks for the lovely review, hon! Getting back to page to leave a review in just a while. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #5, by bellatrixlestrange123 Creeper

30th November 2013:
Hi there! I'm here for our review swap!

Your link was for 'through the darkness' but I've already reviewed it already, however as soon as you update it, PM me so I can review chapter 2 because I really would like to keep reading it :)

Ok, so on with the review! Firstly, round of an applause to you for writing such a brilliant one shot in just 500 words. It's an art that I most certainly don't think that I could ever pull off. Over and above that, you managed to use 500 words to create a rather hauntingly beautiful atmosphere and you maintained it effortlessly through the whole story.

I felt like there was this rather misty veil over my eyes and I was observing Teddy with my very own eyes. I could imagine him crying on the floor and almost floating through hogsmead and into the 'creeper's shop' and also, I felt like I was watching victorie's death. It was brilliant and with that one, one shot. I feel as though you truelly did capture the dexterity of writing beautifully.

The little voice/ Teddy's thoughts that you had as short sentences in italics also helped to add a very evocative mood to the story and added more to the quality that would fit any Halloween challenge! Well done!

Keep up the lovely work!

Bella x

Author's Response: How could I forget your amazing review for Through The Darkest? :D I'm glad you left another lovely one for Creeper!

Thank you for the applause! ;) It was not as hard as it sounds to fit everything in 500 words though. I'm basically not a descriptor and I like to keep my word count short, so it was kind of easy for me. :)

I'm glad you liked the one-shot overall. Teddy's thought in italics is my own favorite idea. I cut down a few words to fit the sentences in. :P I just had to add them, but I also had to fit everything in the word count.

Thanks for the lovely review Bella! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #6, by academica Creeper

18th November 2013:
Hey there, here with your requested review :)

First off, I love that banner! So pretty.

This was really cool in its simplicity, like a dark fairy tale gone wrong. I think it was a great choice for a quick drabble competition.

I kind of read this story in a detached way, if that makes any sense. It was like I knew what was going to happen to Victoire and there was nothing I could do to stop it. I had a sense of foreboding as soon as you mentioned that the spirits haunting Hogsmeade had all been born on Halloween. It's so sad that Teddy killed the love of his life by just trying to get her a nice gift. I feel like I've read a folk tale that tells a similar story--were you inspired by one?

Anyway, I liked how you took time to dwell on Teddy's feelings after the incident has occurred. It's interesting to imagine him in Azkaban, withering away to become a creeper in his own way, knowing that Victoire has gone to haunt Hogsmeade and there's nothing he can do about it.

Nice work! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda! :D

Dark fairy tale gone wrong... Wow, I love it! It seems to pretty haha. :) But yeah, this seemed just perfect for the QTR competition. It might have been a bit boring if I had written it in 1000 words.

No, I don't know any similar folk tale... But if you could remember where you read it or something be sure to shoot me a PM. I'd love to hear tit. :)

Thanks for the lovely review! It surely was helpful and nice. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #7, by KK Creeper

15th November 2013:
Creepy but beautifully written.. Great job! I feel so bad for Teddy and Victoire.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heaven Creeper

14th November 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

More than being scared, this story made me feel incredibly sad. In the spirit of Halloween, I think that is rather acceptable, since many of the monsters that come out to haunt us on that night might be doing it out of sadness themselves.

I loved the way you've written this. There's not much description, and when there is, it's all said like it is. You haven't "dressed up" the narration which I think really adds to the rawness of Teddy's pain and guilt.

I also really loved the repetition. It really added to the feel of someone trying to convince someone else of a truth. It also sort of illustrated the crazy spiral that one must enter when one is sent to Azkaban in the company of the Dementors.

This was really nice to read!

Author's Response: Hello!

Yes! That's exactly what I wanted to express through the story. The people who give the creepers to people are the victims so they are doing it out of sadness. It's true. :)

I found it hard to fit descriptions in the word count so I changed the way of writing the story. Glad you liked it!

Haha I once used the repetition for my OF Halloween story and decided to use it here as many of my readers found it effective. :)

Thanks for stopping by and taking time to review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Haronione Creeper

14th November 2013:
Hi! Here for the QTR review battle :) This was a creepy little one-shot! A great entry for the Halloween challenge :)

I love the build up of suspense at the start of this one-shot. I love how you've made the reader wonder what Teddy is denying he did and why he feels guilty about it. For me it really made it the story much more scary from the start and made me want to read on to find out what had happened, which is always great in a story :)

Teddy should have known there was something wrong with the 'necklace' when the shop keeper insisted on calling them creepers, and even more so when he gave Teddy the best one for free! Silly Teddy! But I guess in his excitement about getting Victoire a beautiful present made all logic leave him. Bet he regrets that now though!

The creeper (great name by the way) coming to life must have been terrifying for both of them! I liked the imagery you used for that, it really brought it to life, almost like it was a character. I find it scary that the creeper appears to be enjoying what it is doing... And then that it snaked out of the room, free to strike again.

I feel so bad for Teddy at the end, having to live with what has happened, being blamed for it and reliving it all under the effect of the Dementors. Poor Teddy!

I really liked this story, it was original and truly creepy! You did a great job of making it scary in such a short word count, well done :)

Haronione ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The Halloween Competition was challenging but fun as I hadn't tried my hand at horror/dark yet. =]

I'm glad you liked the suspense. I was just trying to make it creepier and it looks like I've succeeded. :) and I'm a huge fan of keeping suspense.

Yes, Teddy should have thought twice, but he was so excited that... It just happened!

I love the name creeper too! It makes the story seem more scary I think. :) glad you liked the scene overall.

The ending is kinda sad, but I think it fits perfect with the story. How many ghost stories end happily?

Thanks for the lovely review! :D



 Report Review

Review #10, by Nimbus2000 Creeper

4th November 2013:
This was really good. I could feel what Teddy must've gone through. That poor poor guy! He loved Victoire so much that he stepped out in Hogsmead on Halloween... And what he has got in return? Azkaban!
Really creepy.. Loved it!
Sam
P.S. I loved the name creeper!

Author's Response: Sam! :D
Yeah, I felt sorry for Teddy too. He has already faced so much in his life...
Glad you enjoyed reading this though. :)
Thanks for leaving an awesome review!
Ashwini
P.S. I love the name creeper too! ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by toomanycurls Creeper

2nd November 2013:
Non-relevant fact - I love the word creeper. :D

This is a very chilling story. I can only imagine the types of dark jewelry available (and not all of it meant to be harmful by the buyer). I felt so bad for Teddy throughout this. The way he was duped into getting that creeper necklace for Victoire and how it killed her. :( The way you describe the effects of the necklace is quite dark and artful.

Ending this with Teddy in Azkaban is horrible but perfect. Part of me is angry that Teddy didn't think twice about the person giving away his best item - maybe his parents would have taught him to be suspicious of that kind of gesture. It's wonderful that in 500 words you managed to make me feel horrified and sad as Teddy's (and Victoire's) life fell by the wayside.

-Rose

Author's Response: I love it too! :D Actually I developed the plot after the word 'creeper' popped into my head. It seemed so perfect for a spooky story that I couldn't resist writing one. :P I'm glad you liked it.
We are familiar to dark jewelry like Katie's necklace, but this is a bit different. The creepers are more than dark objects. It's like they're living. Hope I make sense!
Poor poor Teddy! I felt so bad for him while writing this, but he seemed perfect for the story.
Teddy should have thought twice before taking the necklace for free, but I think he was so thrilled for gifting it to Victoire that he didn't act very practically.
I'm glad you liked this! :D
Thanks for leaving such a wonderful review! It really made my day... :)
Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #12, by Albus Potter's Woman Creeper

29th October 2013:
Aw poor Teddy :(
But great writing :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I feel sorry for him too. :( Maybe that's why I decided to keep at least Tonks for him!
Thanks for stopping by! :D
Ashwini


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login