Reading Reviews for Creeper
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie Creeper

1st September 2014:
Oh, wow, this was chilling.

I loved the way you used repetition throughout the story - I didn't mean to do it in particular was haunting. I felt so terrible for Teddy, and I can definitely see something like this happening - it's the wizarding world, after all. And, of course, it was definitely plausible - after all, we already know of cursed necklaces; didn't Draco see one in Borgin and Burkes? Your take was obviously different, but I didn't have any trouble believing that there would be a necklace like that.

There were a few things that didn't make so much sense to me. I didn't understand why he was in prison - why didn't they go back to the store owner, or use Veritaserum? There are certainly ways to get around that - maybe the shop owner skipped town/was only there for a day, or maybe they thought that Teddy was mad. Or maybe he even confessed, because he felt like it was his fault. I just would have liked to see some explanation.

That said, I do understand why you didn't have one. There's not much space in the Every Word Counts challenge, and given those parameters, I was very willing to suspend my disbelief.

Overall, excellent job. :)

Author's Response: Hi there! :) Thanks for stopping by!

I'm glad you thought the idea of the creepers was believable. Actually the cursed necklace from HBP inspired me to write this one shot. :) I can certainly imagine that there would be many many types of cursed necklaces.

If they had enquired about who really killed Victoire, the story wouldn't have been much effective. ;) Also I think that Teddy was so shocked that he didn't even try to defend himself. And the creepers can be found only on Halloweens in Hogsmeade and aren't seen very often, so no one would've believed him anyways.

Thanks for the lovely review dear! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8 Creeper

7th July 2014:
Hi There.

Wow, this was certainly a different story. I did not expect that when I saw your summary, but I definitely loved it. It was creepy and confusing in a good way. It messes with your head, probably because Teddy himself is kind of messed up in his head.

I really like how Teddy keeps repeating to himself: "I didn't mean to do it" and "It was the Creeper". To me, it sounds like he's trying to convince himself of his own innocence, more than stating the facts. And what's interesting is that I found myself wondering at the end of story, whether he was actually telling the truth or if he was just trying to make up some kind of story to appear innocent or to handle the situation he's in. It really messed with my head, but I'm glad it did.

I also liked your description. I could see the whole thing in my head, feel Victoire's fear when the Creeper attacked. And then Teddy's grief and how guilty he feels. And I liked that you didn't reveal where he was until the very end, because I felt more sorry for him when you told it the way you did, then I think I would've if you had revealed where he was from the start.

This was so weird, but so good. Definitely 10/10!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi! :D

Thanks! I just love these kind of summaries. They make the reader curious and they also seem beautiful. I was trying to come up with one myself for this one and seriously it took me hours before I thought of the right one. I'm so happy you liked it!

Yeah, I wrote it that way to reflect the fact that it all is going inside Teddy's head again and again as he is in Azkaban. I'm not sure if dementors will be there, but I think the Ministry will come up with something else that will give the prisoner some mental torture. But I'm happy you thought it worked well! Teddy's grief was a big part of the story and it was pretty hard to pull off. :)

The descriptions were too tricky! I'm glad you liked them. :)

Thanks so much for this wonderfully unexpected review! I appreciate it!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Creeper

6th July 2014:
Hello again! Oh wow, I didn't expect this when I read the story summary! I've read a couple of the stories written for the Halloween challenge recently but this one was really great. The title sums it up - this story really is creepy, and it plays with your mind the way Teddy's struggling with his own sanity in Azkaban.

I felt so, so sorry for Teddy here. The way that he was hoping that everything would be perfect for Victoire on her first birthday as his girlfriend, and he put so much effort into the gift and thought that he was doing something nice for her, when really she's ended up becoming one of them... the imagery there was kind of horrific (brilliant, but scary!). I just felt so bad since he had know way of knowing what would happen but really it's not his fault... but he's suffering all the same. I did notice one typo (dares instead of dared) but it was well written all the way through. I really liked the parts in italics as I really sensed Teddy's desperation there.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Sian! So sorry for the wait!

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed my story so much! I just love summaries like that and I always try to come up with some myself. Aren't they great for a dark, scary story? :D

Poor Teddy! I felt too bad for him as I wrote this. And Victoire probably died thinking of him as her murderer! She must've thought he did that on purpose and so will all the Weasleys and Potters. That makes me too sad. :( But I was so fascinated by this idea and the overall genre that I couldn't help but do this to him. :P

Thanks! Descriptions and imagery is always the tricky part. I'm so glad you liked that!

Thanks for the lovely review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lostmyheart Creeper

28th April 2014:
Wow... this was... weird. Scary weird.
I had to go back to confirm that it indeed was Teddy. I mean, seriously, this was so sad and unfortunate, and why did it happen to Teddy? When he has been through so much. Poor guy.

You definitely managed to create a very scary piece, it was gloomy and unsettling. Especially the ending line, where Victoire now joins the rest that worked for the creepers.

It was very well written and I loved reading it (I have a weakness for dark stories) so this was like candy for me! *evil laughter* nah, just kidding. But I still loved it :)
And I can't believe you managed to squeeze that scary story into 500 words - or a little more than 500 words. You did a great job! :)

- Avi

Author's Response: Yes! This turned out to be a really strange story, I hadn't expected that... :P But I'm glad you liked it anyways. :)

I know! I feel bad for poor Teddy too, but he was just so perfect for the plot... I just couldn't resist casting him as my protagonist. I wish I could make it better for him! Let's imagine that he sneaks out of Azkaban with the help of a creeper who has remorse. XD

Haha, who says no to a good scary story? I'm so happy you enjoyed reading this! It WAS pretty hard to squeeze everything in exactly 500 words, but I did that. Yay!

Thanks for stopping by!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #5, by quixotic Creeper

12th March 2014:
Here for the blue and bronze battle!
Well...that was expectedly thrilling. I think this is the perfect story for a Halloween competition. It's really fast paced and horrible (which is a great thing in this situation).

The emotions really stand out in this piece due to the small number of words. It's really easy to picture Teddy's grief and I think that picture is going to haunt me in my nightmares for a while.

I really like the sentences in italics. It was really like being in Teddy's mind. He's just thinking the same thing over and over again that he wasn't the one who killed her. It's almost like he's already losing it in Azkaban, his entire character is unraveling.

The last line I felt really hit home. The creeper is on the loose and there are many of them. Thank the Gods that my birthday isn't on Halloween or I really wouldn't be able to sleep at night. *shudders* this a really well written piece and completely fits with the Halloween mood! Amazing job!

Author's Response: Hi there!! :D

I'm so glad you found this perfect for the competition! Actually the idea was in my head for a long while, and the QTR competition was like a great opportunity to write it out. :) And I liked that you thought this was 'horrible' coz that's what the creepy creepers are meant to be. ;)

Oh... Did I scare you that much?? :O But I'm glad you could understand what Teddy was feeling. :)

The sentences in italics is one of my own favourite ideas. It's great that you agree! :) And yeah, Azkaban is already making him lose his head, I can't even imagine how that poor guy is going to spend the rest of his life there!

So happy you liked the last line! It was like the most important part of the one-shot. YES. There are more creepers out there!! Isn't it lucky that I too was not born on Halloween?? ;)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Your review really made my day! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #6, by Illuminate Creeper

15th February 2014:
Hi! Review Tag!

This is a super creepy oneshot! I like how this is a totally original idea, I've never read anything quite like this before. You created the creepers yourself, adding to the canon with this really interesting and scary magical object!

I like the the sort-of poetic prose you used, it really adds to the creepy atmosphere of the story.

Great job!

P.S. I don't know if you know, but Victoire's birthday is actually May 2nd, because of the anniversary of Voldemort's demise. Doesn't really matter that much, but just thought I'd mention it xD

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you found this original. That' what I wanted this little one-shot to be. :)

Yeah, the poetic prose never fails to create a scary atmosphere. That's why I used it!

Oh, I didn't know that! Anyways, thanks for letting me know... Now this just has to be what it is. ;)

Thanks for the lovely review! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #7, by Secret Santa Creeper

1st January 2014:
Review 2!

So, you have a knack for writing knock your socks off one-shots. I've passed over this story each time I've gone through your stories to chose one to read, so I decided I would finally read it. My oh my was I in for a treat.

Your impeccable descriptive words, care for detail and just a general knack for writing has come together beautifully in this story. I love how throughout the story I felt almost afraid of yet sympathetic for the narrator. Because it wasn't his fault, but at the same time, it was.

I think the description you used for this story was perfect as well. Because going into the story I honestly had no idea what a creeper could possibly be. But as the story started I had a feeling what they would entail.

Anywho, brilliant job! Lovely read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This review is practically making me blush...

I was writing this story for the Halloween Story Competition, so I just tried to make it scary by adding all those descriptions and also by writing it in a different style. I have never used such narration before, so it makes me feel happy to hear that it suited well with the plot. :)

Thank you again for the wonderful review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #8, by ReeBee Creeper

17th December 2013:
Wow! Review swaps are so fun! I'm sorry this one's a day late :(

Anyway, I remember seeing this banner request at TDA, and thinking that I wanted to read it. But you know how things go, somehow, I didn't get around to it.

But, I'm so glad I did! This is amazing! I loved it! And so little words! Wow, I don't even know what to say! The most common mistake in these kind of things is focusing on everything (characterisation, description, etc) in small amounts. And, I feel that that doesn't really work well, but I loved it how you just focused on the plot and it worked so well!

Some of the lines! Oh my god! I've got goosebumps! The last line was my absolute favourite- it was super chilling and creepy!!!

Ahhh!

Thanks for a great review swap! :D

-ReeBee :)

Author's Response: I'm always comfortable with short word counts. I like to keep my chapters short and simple, so the challenge of writing a one-shot in 500 words wasn't really hard, but I had to struggle a little writing Creeper. Like you said, I couldn't decide where to focus. I'm so glad the idea of focusing on the plot worked well! :D

Haha, thanks! The last line is my personal favorite. ;)

Thanks for the lovely review, hon! Getting back to page to leave a review in just a while. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #9, by bellatrixlestrange123 Creeper

30th November 2013:
Hi there! I'm here for our review swap!

Your link was for 'through the darkness' but I've already reviewed it already, however as soon as you update it, PM me so I can review chapter 2 because I really would like to keep reading it :)

Ok, so on with the review! Firstly, round of an applause to you for writing such a brilliant one shot in just 500 words. It's an art that I most certainly don't think that I could ever pull off. Over and above that, you managed to use 500 words to create a rather hauntingly beautiful atmosphere and you maintained it effortlessly through the whole story.

I felt like there was this rather misty veil over my eyes and I was observing Teddy with my very own eyes. I could imagine him crying on the floor and almost floating through hogsmead and into the 'creeper's shop' and also, I felt like I was watching victorie's death. It was brilliant and with that one, one shot. I feel as though you truelly did capture the dexterity of writing beautifully.

The little voice/ Teddy's thoughts that you had as short sentences in italics also helped to add a very evocative mood to the story and added more to the quality that would fit any Halloween challenge! Well done!

Keep up the lovely work!

Bella x

Author's Response: How could I forget your amazing review for Through The Darkest? :D I'm glad you left another lovely one for Creeper!

Thank you for the applause! ;) It was not as hard as it sounds to fit everything in 500 words though. I'm basically not a descriptor and I like to keep my word count short, so it was kind of easy for me. :)

I'm glad you liked the one-shot overall. Teddy's thought in italics is my own favorite idea. I cut down a few words to fit the sentences in. :P I just had to add them, but I also had to fit everything in the word count.

Thanks for the lovely review Bella! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #10, by academica Creeper

18th November 2013:
Hey there, here with your requested review :)

First off, I love that banner! So pretty.

This was really cool in its simplicity, like a dark fairy tale gone wrong. I think it was a great choice for a quick drabble competition.

I kind of read this story in a detached way, if that makes any sense. It was like I knew what was going to happen to Victoire and there was nothing I could do to stop it. I had a sense of foreboding as soon as you mentioned that the spirits haunting Hogsmeade had all been born on Halloween. It's so sad that Teddy killed the love of his life by just trying to get her a nice gift. I feel like I've read a folk tale that tells a similar story--were you inspired by one?

Anyway, I liked how you took time to dwell on Teddy's feelings after the incident has occurred. It's interesting to imagine him in Azkaban, withering away to become a creeper in his own way, knowing that Victoire has gone to haunt Hogsmeade and there's nothing he can do about it.

Nice work! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello Amanda! :D

Dark fairy tale gone wrong... Wow, I love it! It seems to pretty haha. :) But yeah, this seemed just perfect for the QTR competition. It might have been a bit boring if I had written it in 1000 words.

No, I don't know any similar folk tale... But if you could remember where you read it or something be sure to shoot me a PM. I'd love to hear tit. :)

Thanks for the lovely review! It surely was helpful and nice. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #11, by KK Creeper

15th November 2013:
Creepy but beautifully written.. Great job! I feel so bad for Teddy and Victoire.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heaven Creeper

14th November 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

More than being scared, this story made me feel incredibly sad. In the spirit of Halloween, I think that is rather acceptable, since many of the monsters that come out to haunt us on that night might be doing it out of sadness themselves.

I loved the way you've written this. There's not much description, and when there is, it's all said like it is. You haven't "dressed up" the narration which I think really adds to the rawness of Teddy's pain and guilt.

I also really loved the repetition. It really added to the feel of someone trying to convince someone else of a truth. It also sort of illustrated the crazy spiral that one must enter when one is sent to Azkaban in the company of the Dementors.

This was really nice to read!

Author's Response: Hello!

Yes! That's exactly what I wanted to express through the story. The people who give the creepers to people are the victims so they are doing it out of sadness. It's true. :)

I found it hard to fit descriptions in the word count so I changed the way of writing the story. Glad you liked it!

Haha I once used the repetition for my OF Halloween story and decided to use it here as many of my readers found it effective. :)

Thanks for stopping by and taking time to review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Haronione Creeper

14th November 2013:
Hi! Here for the QTR review battle :) This was a creepy little one-shot! A great entry for the Halloween challenge :)

I love the build up of suspense at the start of this one-shot. I love how you've made the reader wonder what Teddy is denying he did and why he feels guilty about it. For me it really made it the story much more scary from the start and made me want to read on to find out what had happened, which is always great in a story :)

Teddy should have known there was something wrong with the 'necklace' when the shop keeper insisted on calling them creepers, and even more so when he gave Teddy the best one for free! Silly Teddy! But I guess in his excitement about getting Victoire a beautiful present made all logic leave him. Bet he regrets that now though!

The creeper (great name by the way) coming to life must have been terrifying for both of them! I liked the imagery you used for that, it really brought it to life, almost like it was a character. I find it scary that the creeper appears to be enjoying what it is doing... And then that it snaked out of the room, free to strike again.

I feel so bad for Teddy at the end, having to live with what has happened, being blamed for it and reliving it all under the effect of the Dementors. Poor Teddy!

I really liked this story, it was original and truly creepy! You did a great job of making it scary in such a short word count, well done :)

Haronione ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The Halloween Competition was challenging but fun as I hadn't tried my hand at horror/dark yet. =]

I'm glad you liked the suspense. I was just trying to make it creepier and it looks like I've succeeded. :) and I'm a huge fan of keeping suspense.

Yes, Teddy should have thought twice, but he was so excited that... It just happened!

I love the name creeper too! It makes the story seem more scary I think. :) glad you liked the scene overall.

The ending is kinda sad, but I think it fits perfect with the story. How many ghost stories end happily?

Thanks for the lovely review! :D



 Report Review

Review #14, by Nimbus2000 Creeper

4th November 2013:
This was really good. I could feel what Teddy must've gone through. That poor poor guy! He loved Victoire so much that he stepped out in Hogsmead on Halloween... And what he has got in return? Azkaban!
Really creepy.. Loved it!
Sam
P.S. I loved the name creeper!

Author's Response: Sam! :D
Yeah, I felt sorry for Teddy too. He has already faced so much in his life...
Glad you enjoyed reading this though. :)
Thanks for leaving an awesome review!
Ashwini
P.S. I love the name creeper too! ;)


 Report Review

Review #15, by toomanycurls Creeper

2nd November 2013:
Non-relevant fact - I love the word creeper. :D

This is a very chilling story. I can only imagine the types of dark jewelry available (and not all of it meant to be harmful by the buyer). I felt so bad for Teddy throughout this. The way he was duped into getting that creeper necklace for Victoire and how it killed her. :( The way you describe the effects of the necklace is quite dark and artful.

Ending this with Teddy in Azkaban is horrible but perfect. Part of me is angry that Teddy didn't think twice about the person giving away his best item - maybe his parents would have taught him to be suspicious of that kind of gesture. It's wonderful that in 500 words you managed to make me feel horrified and sad as Teddy's (and Victoire's) life fell by the wayside.

-Rose

Author's Response: I love it too! :D Actually I developed the plot after the word 'creeper' popped into my head. It seemed so perfect for a spooky story that I couldn't resist writing one. :P I'm glad you liked it.
We are familiar to dark jewelry like Katie's necklace, but this is a bit different. The creepers are more than dark objects. It's like they're living. Hope I make sense!
Poor poor Teddy! I felt so bad for him while writing this, but he seemed perfect for the story.
Teddy should have thought twice before taking the necklace for free, but I think he was so thrilled for gifting it to Victoire that he didn't act very practically.
I'm glad you liked this! :D
Thanks for leaving such a wonderful review! It really made my day... :)
Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #16, by Albus Potter's Woman Creeper

29th October 2013:
Aw poor Teddy :(
But great writing :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I feel sorry for him too. :( Maybe that's why I decided to keep at least Tonks for him!
Thanks for stopping by! :D
Ashwini


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login