Reading Reviews for Foreign Affairs
  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by icingonmycake Marked

17th April 2014:
Aaaw! Epic dramione moments, the perfect amount of drunk abandon, and I really loved the part when Draco wants to come into her room and she's changing! This was so awesome I cannot put it into words, suffice to say that I'm addicted to this story.
IoMC

Author's Response: Well there had to be some humor in this otherwise dark story! I also wanted to show how much Hermione's image means to her, so that we can see her drop the act later as they get closer. The end of this chapter is still a mystery to readers...but I know why it happened! Mua ha ha.

-FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #2, by icingonmycake The first step

17th April 2014:
What can I say, I'm in love with this story. I've decided to abandon homework completely until I read all the chapters that are currently up. DRACO! I liked the way their first meeting seemed natural and realistic.
IoMC

Author's Response: Love that you love it! Homework will wait, I know that feeling and I'm so glad that is how you feel about my story! I have mixed feelings about Draco, as a character in general and also in this story. Most people want to see him as this strong hero that sweeps Hermione off her feet, but that doesn't seem realistic to me. I think he's kind of weak, and definitely going through a tough time. That being said, something has to draw them together, so I find moments of strength in him that make the relationship complicated and real (I hope).

Love always,

FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #3, by icingonmycake Reflection

17th April 2014:
As you said, not much action, but still a great and well written chapter. I can't stop reading... I wonder if ma'am will accept 'Too Interesting Fanfic' as a reason of not completing homework...
IoMC

Author's Response: I liked writing that chapter a lot, because it's the first time in this story that I actually got into Hermione's mind and showed a bit of what's making her tick. Not exactly a plot heavy chapter, but I felt it was necessary to get the reader more involved in the character.

Hugs,

FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #4, by icingonmycake Up too late, and out of luck

17th April 2014:
WHO WAS HE? WHAT WAS HE TRYING TO DO? I need to know! You're really good at getting people hooked on to a story! I'm supposed to be completing a massive pile of homework right now :/. Epic chapter. Can't wait until the first dramione moment!
IoMC

Author's Response: Ah, you will see! The most recent chapters reveal a lot more, and the ones to come will tie it all together. Glad you're loving it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by icingonmycake A Meeting With The Minister

16th April 2014:
LOVE LOVE LOVE. all I can say! The ending! Gosebumps! I can't wait! This is going to be epic, I can just feel it!
IoMC

Author's Response: Yay! Glad you're loving it. It makes me SO happy to hear that a reader can't put my story down (so to speak). In my humble opinion, this story gets pretty epic. Hang on to your socks, I'm gonna try to knock them off! Please keep the reviews coming...even if you run out of nice things to say. Every opinion is valuable.

Hugs,

FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #6, by icingonmycake Prologue

16th April 2014:
Wow, this was a great start to the story I'm already in love with it! Though this chapter could have been made more interesting by actually starting with the article about their death, but only the first few lines and sort of worked it all into Hermione's thoughts. This was great though. I felt a little sorry for Ron but slightly more for Hermione, it must have been a shock that she had no other place but that of 'Ron's Future Wife'. I like how detailed this chapter was and it didn't leave me with any questions but "What next" which is exactly what a powerful piece should do. So hats off to you! I'm glad that you didn't say that Hermione was alienated by Harry as well, because that is the path most go and the path that is least natural. Going to read the next chapter!
P.S- I'd live it if you checked out my fic, Explosion.☆
IoMC

Author's Response: Thank you so much and welcome to Foreign Affairs! I hope that you continue to enjoy and review! This first chapter pains me a little, because it was my first try at a fic and it needs some revision that I haven't gotten around to. Maybe I'll give your suggestion a try and see if I can't spice it up a little :)

I totally agree that Harry wouldn't turn his back on Hermione, he would try to make peace with both his friends, even if it didn't make him happy. We've all read the books, can't we give Harry a little credit??

I'll totally check out Explosion, the title alone has piqued my interest.

Thanks for reading!

-FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #7, by SiriusAura92 Two Masters

16th April 2014:
Ah, the plot thickens.
I really found the first part of the chapter in particular really interesting. Though I can't decide whether he's talking to an Acromantular or if he's the spider equivalent to a Parsalmouth. Either way I really like how you built up Casimir in such a short span of time so well done!

Can't wait for your next installment!

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Thanks for another insightful review, you always ask me the question that I find I most need to answer for myself. I think Casimir is my favorite character to write in this story, because he's dark and twisted. In answer to your question about his conversation, I think it's kind of both, but I left it a bit ambiguous because I haven't completely decided yet if he shares this affinity with all spiders or just the acromantula. I'm excited for my next installment too, because I honestly only have a hazy idea of what is going to happen in the next couple chapters. I'm just going to let it come to me.

Love always,

FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #8, by brttknee Two Masters

11th April 2014:
Great job! A little short, but just enough to keep me wanting more :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! And for reviewing, too. It's awesome to hear from readers. I'll try to make the next chapter a little longer, I often mean to write a really long chapter and then find myself at a natural stopping point. There's a lot of important stuff coming up so please keep reading!

Much Love!

-FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #9, by Stunned Prologue

10th April 2014:
Hey FawkesFelicis it's me again (Stunned)
I've tried to message you on the Forums page about your offer to be a beta for my chapters in your last review of Lucky. Annoyingly (although I'm probably doing something wrong) the message thing didn't recognise your Author name thing. Is there any way to contact you, you said in the review to PM you but I have no idea how to do that haha, do you know? If you're not interested anymore don't worry about it but if you are, I'll try to send you the chapter.
Thank you!
Stunned x

Author's Response: I'm totally still interested, sorry it's been troublesome! Now that I think about it, it makes sense that this site doesn't allow direct, private contact for our own safety. I made an email address for my author-ing, it's fawkesfelicis at gmail and it's not linked to any actual information about me. I'm sure you're not a creep, but safety first! If you do send me messages, it might be a good idea for you to create your own alternate email, just on principle.
Feel free to send me the chapter there, as your beta I promise I won't share your work with anyone, just give you the benefit of my opinions :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Stunned Two Masters

10th April 2014:
I love the direction of this story!
And I loved Draco in this chapter as well, he was so quiet but you could see how protective over Hermione he was which was wonderful.
I know Dramione will pull through although Draco and Hermione are really going to have to fight for each other I think!
So looking forward to the next chapter!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Thanks, Stunned! This is the beginning of the second half of the story and the action is really going to pick up. I'm thinking about re-working the earlier chapters, because they seem really bland to me now and I think a lot of people don't continue reading to the good parts because they get bored :( So it's up to me to make it more interesting. Of course, that's pretty low on my to-do list.
There will be all kinds of fighting for everything as we get to the real meat of the mystery!
Glad you enjoyed!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SiriusAura92 Mind Games

8th April 2014:
Another really good chapter.
In fact I think I prefer this cave scene to the last one as it feels a lot more personal to Draco than the last one did Hermione. (I'll have to go back and have a re-read of it though to make sure but that's what I get from first impressions.)

I really cannot wait to find out more about this cave and it's enchantments.
Well done again and looking forward to your next update!

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Well spotted! Yes, Draco's experience in the cave is much more dramatic and personal, care to guess why? My new chapter should be validated sometime today, and our heroes will have a moment to discuss this, but the mystery won't be solved just yet. Other things are stirring in this story right now. Thanks for sticking with me, your insight is always so valuable.

-FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #12, by Stunned Mind Games

26th March 2014:
This was really creepy but I'm glad you did a chapter from Draco's perspective it's interesting to know what the nightmare was like from his point of view. I am loving this story! DRACO LOVES HERMIONE YAYYY!!
I can't wait to find out where you're going to take us next!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I don't want to give anything away so I won't say too much, but I think it was really important to get inside Draco's head. My lovely reviewers reminded me that he's *kind of* part of this story too. I know this chapter was weird and abstract, but it will become clear why this happened soon! I'm about to have spring break so I hope to get a lot of writing done!

Love always,

Fawkes


 Report Review

Review #13, by Thistle Into the Dark (Part 2)

25th February 2014:
Well, things are going pretty quickly between the two of them (maybe a longer intermediate state between the post Hogwarts feelings and love would have been a smoother transition ?). Still I can't wait to read the next chapter ;)
Casimir is really a cool character, I really enjoyed the passage when he is the narrator !! I'm trilling to read more about him ! :D

In hope to read you soon.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading!
I know I rushed their relationship a bit, I agree with you that I could have done that more smoothly. Thanks for the feedback :)

Casimir will certainly continue to be an important character.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Thistle Fight and Flight

25th February 2014:
Love what you did with Hermione and Draco so far ;)!!
But I'm really sad about the Wealsley's behaviour. A bit over-reacting aren't they ? ^^
I hope she'll find a way to forgive them though I can't imagine how ^^ (I know I wouldn't lol)

Author's Response: My big regret in my early chapters is that I just rushed through everything because I wanted to get to the fun parts of the story. The plot line with the Weasley family totally deserved more attention. Maybe I'll go back and edit that someday?

 Report Review

Review #15, by SiriusAura92 Into the Dark (Part 2)

23rd February 2014:
HEY!
Sorry for being so quiet lately!

I am loving how dark you're making this! It contrasts really well with the earlier romantic chapters and I'm hoping there's more like it.
I also like that you're giving Hermione more action scenes but I would like to see Draco share a bit more glory (All due course I'm sure but just something to keep in mind).

Characters- Amazing
Detail- Amazing
Creepiness- Perfect!

Cannot wait to find out more about this cave.
Hope you had a great Christmas!

SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I plan more creepiness from here until the end, it's so much more fun to write than the fluffy romantic stuff.
I struggle a lot with writing Draco, I feel like he is really a weak person, but I know that he only works for Hermione if he finds his inner strength. I think I need to write about his inner discovery of his strengths in order for it to be believable. I don't really buy it when people write him as this big hero that saves Hermione, I think she's actually tougher than him. Thanks for sticking with me even though I've been slow lately!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Goldie Into the Dark (Part 2)

18th February 2014:
This story is so well written! I love the plot. But try not wimp out Draco too much. He needs to be the one fighting the dark magic. That was his sole purpose of accompanying Hermonine on this mission. Please post soon!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading, and for your honest advice. You are right, I think I do make him weak sometimes. I used weakness to show the side of him that Hermione is able to forgive, and you'll see what REALLY happened to him in the cave next chapter.I know everyone wants to see a man who will fight for our heroine, and I hope that will happen in later chapters...

Please keep reading and reviewing!

Love,

FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #17, by Stunned Into the Dark (Part 2)

16th February 2014:
Super freaky chapter, really well written, the descriptions were very vivid which was great!
I am intrigued as to what is going to happen next, not only between Draco and Hermione (their interaction in this chapter was amazing by the way!) but also in the cave when Hermione and Draco wake up.
Please update soon, I know as a fanfic writer myself that sometimes it's hard when you're really busy but I love this story a lot so I will be very excited when the next instalment arrives!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know this chapter is not what people usually like to read in fan fic, but I knew from the beginning of my story that I wanted to write it and I wanted it to be really creepy :)

I'll try not to keep you waiting!


 Report Review

Review #18, by brttknee Into the Dark (Part 1)

14th February 2014:
A great little chapter! Keep 'em coming!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm working on it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by brttknee Marked

13th February 2014:
Dang! You are an incredible writer! That last section about forgiveness gave me major chills! When I first started reading this story, I wasn't sure how I would feel about a Draco/Hermione pairing, but you have made it entirely believable. Thanks for this awesome story!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! I hope that you'll continue to enjoy this story as much as I do. I love Draco and Hermione together precisely because they're complicated and it's hard to make it work between them. Next time you review tell me what pairings you'd love to read...I'm always looking for new inspiration!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Stunned Into the Dark (Part 1)

13th February 2014:
YOU'RE BACK!! YAY! I hope you're alright by the way, and I'm also so happy you updated, THANK YOU!
A really good chapter as well, I liked the fact there was no tension really after their kiss and the flow was perfect.
As usual, I loved your writing and your style, it's really good and makes for such easy reading.
The storyline to this Dramione is incredible and this chapter is just starting to build it all up even more, the ending has left me begging to know what happens next- so please (If you can) update really quickly!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Thanks for the warm welcome :)
I can always count on you!
I'm doing a lot better, and I hope to update really soon. I know what needs to happen, but I'm such a perfectionist that I sometimes have trouble making my chapters just right. Hope that you'll continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #21, by k Washed Clean

20th December 2013:
I just found this website and your story was the first one I chose. I hope your still updating I'm very much enjoying it.

Author's Response: Hi, welcome and thanks for choosing my story! I update about every two weeks, or sooner if I can. I have most of the story planned out and I try to keep it high quality. I hope you continue to read!

Love,
FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #22, by Stunned Washed Clean

19th December 2013:
THAT WAS 'PRETTY DAMN GOOD'. PERFECTIO. I honestly cannot think of one way you could have improved that chapter.
It started amazingly but it just got better and better and the end was just totally brilliant.
Totally, totally brilliant.
I have a feeling this is going to be a long review, so bear with me.
I'm going to start at the beginning (a very good place to start.) The first sentence had already got my attention. The way you said that the sky was 'peppered' with stars and not just 'there were stars in the sky', it was wonderful imagery. I couldn't have asked for a better opening.
Then, the way you described Casimir was fabulous. It was all the little words like the metaphor of the lake to be his life and the contrast between his 'delicate features' and yet how the moonlight 'contorted' his face.
And then the peak of action in the chapter, and how you described that was superb. It all happened so quickly in your writing (like the a landslide would) but somehow you managed to maintain all the intricate descriptions. The water 'surged', and just moving back a line now, how 'Her breath was like fire and her brain felt frozen and dull'. Now THAT contrast was beautifully done. The contrast between the fiery, fierceness and rage linked with fire and then the cold, icy and grey themes linked with 'frozen and dull'.
I wish I could write an essay on this, but I know this review is getting very long so I'm just going to skip to the end (although, believe me, I've barely even scratched the surface of stuff that I liked about this chapter). This kiss was outrageously perfect. And the build up to it was better.
I loved how you built up my expectations of a kiss but when you said 'Maybe we need each other.' I was completely torn between thinking 'THEY'RE GOING TO KISS' and thinking 'this is clearly the beginning of a long journey before they kiss.'
However, I am extremely glad they did kiss in the way they did, it was very satisfying and just wonderful basically (I'm running out of adjectives now, can you tell?!)
Another quick note before the end of my VERY long review, the sorting section was surprising but so terrific, I loved it. It completely reflected the change in Draco and put it all into perspective and a new light.
I don't know if you've grasped the idea that this chapter was amazing, but in case you haven't (!), IT WAS. OKAY?
I didn't plan on such a long review, but I got lost in the chapter and yeah. Basically I have no words left.
Merry Christmas FawkesFelicis!
Love, Stunned x

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I don't even know what to say! I'm really glad that this chapter meant so much to you, it was the most emotional one for me while I was writing.

I will gladly share my secret writing technique with you. Ready?
Pick every sentence apart until it feels as close to perfect as you can get. Take out extra words, add emotion, don't over use commas. Pay close attention to your grammar, but be prepared to break rules in order to get your work to sound right. Read poetry to get inspired. Picture in your head the scene you want to write and then make it into language. Read out loud to yourself to make sure your rhythm works.

This is just a sample of the things that I keep in mind when I write. A lot of it is luck, a little is planning, and the majority is editing. Not that I'm the world's greatest, but these are the tricks that I know.

Merry Christmas!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Stellaluna Washed Clean

19th December 2013:
OMG so freakin good!!! You have to update soon u can't leave me like this!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Stick with me, I'll keep it coming!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Stellaluna Washed Clean

19th December 2013:
OMG so freakin good!!! You have to update soon u can't leave me like this!

Author's Response: Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #25, by SiriusAura92 Fight and Flight

4th December 2013:
Hey! Sorry I haven't been reviewing as much lately.
Firstly, the past two chapters are really well written. I think writing (as you put it) artsie has its own place and works better for some chapters then it does for others.

I also like the way your slowly allowing bits of the old Draco to seep through though, if I were Hermione, I'd probably punch him again for what he said!

One thing I have noticed though (and this is me being really picky!) is that there seems to be a fair amount of 'Oh I shouldn't/should've done this/that' moments cropping up. I just don't want that to come up TOO many times and become a fly in the ointment.

In all two very nicely paced chapters with some great action.

Btw, it's nice to see I'm not the only one who uses the Nimbus 2020 in their story! ;) haha!

Can't wait for the next installment! (And don't worry if it takes a while, if you've got other stuff going on, of course it takes priority)

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Thank you for your helpful and honest review. I've seen the Nimbus 2020 in several stories...but I did kind of borrow it from you, glad that's ok! It seems to be the logical next model.

As for Hermione's indecision, you are right, and I will pick that apart in future edits (I like picky authors). If I'm honest with myself, those moments are manifestations of my own self-doubt, which is one of my character flaws. I need to remember that Hermione is a little stronger than me in that area. I think you'll see in chapter 8 that she gains some confidence, and that's all I'm going to say! ;)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>