Reading Reviews for Tough Times
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DracoFerret11 A Dramione Thanksgiving Pt. 1 (Hermione)

12th July 2014:
Hello (yet again)! This might be my last review for a little while (life's getting busy), but I wanted to let you know that I liked this chapter!

Plot: I love the idea of Hermione going to Harry & Ginny's for Thanksgiving, though I have to point out that Thanksgiving is an American holiday and wouldn't be celebrated in Britain. Also, where were Mr. and Mrs. Weasley? But I liked the conflict with Lavender and can't believe Ron was such a jerk. I totally don't think he's that sorry about hurting Hermione, and I didn't like that she seemed to believe him either. She says she's moved on? WITH DRACO, PERHAPS? We'll see!

Characterization: I liked Hermione in this chapter (except when she accepted Ron's apology). Ginny was good too, though I can't actually imagine her throwing Lavender out. And Ron was pathetic. Ugh. So annoyed with him. Harry was good, though.

Descriptions: I liked the details you provided about how the house and Hermione looked, though I would have liked to be able to see Lavender and her expressions, as well as Ron/Ginny/etc.

Emotions: Hermione's emotions were a bit confusing here. Is she mad? Is she sad? I couldn't really tell. Some clarification would help!

Overall, this was a good chapter. I liked it and thought the conflicts were interesting. Good job. I'll read more ASAP.

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for such an amazing review. It really helps to hear what would be good to improve on. If I ever go back and re-edit I will be sure to look into some of these specifics.

 Report Review

Review #2, by DracoFerret11 Well This is Awkward (Hermione)

12th July 2014:
Hi again! This might have been one of my favorite chapter so far!

Plot: I liked the idea of Hermione and Draco watching movies together. It's a bit hard to picture since that's such a Muggle thing to do for Draco, but I liked it. Their awkward moment during The Notebook was well-written. Good job. And good job with Draco's attitude after Hermione fainted. I really liked that scene! It was funny and in character. Good job.

Characterization: I think both Hermione and Draco were quite good in this chapter, save for one moment -- why on Earth did Hermione faint? That's a very un-Hermione-ish thing to do, and I really couldn't even understand why it happened. Besides that, though, the characters worked here.

Descriptions: I can't really imagine the layout of the living room where they're watching movies or how close they are together on the couch, etc. Maybe some more details about that could help me picture things better.

So far, so good. I'm glad there's still some awkwardness for them. I think that's very realistic. Good job!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thank you for the response.

 Report Review

Review #3, by DracoFerret11 A Friendship Blooms (Draco)

12th July 2014:
Me again!

Grammar/Spelling: Same as other chapters, I've noticed some grammar and spelling issues. If you could reread these chapters and edit them (or even get a beta reader to help), I think you could improve this story a lot.

Plot: This was an interesting chapter. The time jump was a bit much, though, I think. I might have liked to see more of the arguing and awkwardness that must have been there when they first moved in together. Instead, we skipped that and went straight to the friendship. I liked the friendship, don't get me wrong, but I might have liked to see more of a transition.

Characterization: As for the characters in this chapter...things were a bit strange. Hermione was okay, but Draco was a little weird. Not only was he talking aloud to himself (which would be bizarre in anyone), but he was talking about how much he liked Hermione which I didn't really understand. I don't know what they've gone through or how they've bonded, so it didn't seem justified. Does that make sense?

Emotions: I would have liked to see more about how the two of them were feeling about their new friendship. I kind of understood that Draco was rather hesitant about it, but that was only through his words that I learned that. I would have liked more of a "show don't tell" approach and been able to see that hesitancy or awkwardness.

This chapter threw me off a bit, but I'll continue to read to see if things get back on track. We'll see.

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thank you for the response.

 Report Review

Review #4, by DracoFerret11 First Day with Draco (Hermione)

12th July 2014:
Hello again. So, let's go over things:

Confusion: The one thing I'm still not quite sure on is how long Hermione and Draco are supposed to stay in this room. It's been alluded to as a long time, but they seem to have accepted that quickly and I can't tell just how long it's going to be.

Grammar/Spelling: I noticed several errors in this chapter again. The one that stuck out was "His growl was mumbled." instead of "muffled." But there were others too.

Plot: Interesting! I wonder how they're going to adjust to living together. So far, you did a good job describing their "house," but I wonder if it's going to seem even smaller if they start getting on each other's nerves. Also, are they somehow monitored while they live there? With cameras or something? Just to clarify. So far, my only "complaint" is that they still seem to be too calm about the whole situation. I would expect more resistance.

Characterization: Hermione was quite good in this chapter, as was Draco. The fact that she's already attracted to Draco is a bit strange though. To her, he's still a jerk. I would clarify that somehow if possible.

This story's pacing is rather good so far, and the plot is interesting. I'm eager to see how it pans out and hope that their personalities don't change too much for the sake of the story. We'll see!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by DracoFerret11 A Nightmare Come True (Draco)

12th July 2014:
Hello again!

Grammar/Spelling: I noticed a lot of instances where you accidentally left letters off of words. I would suggest you read through this chapter to catch and fix those misspellings.

Plot: What a twist! This was unexpected, but I'm really excited to see where it goes. This chapter kept me reading, and I'll definitely continue ASAP. Draco and Hermione sharing an apartment? That's bound to get...interesting. It feels a little uncomfortable that the Ministry is pretty much using them as lab rats, though.

Characterization & Emotions: Hermione was pretty good in this chapter, as was Draco, but I didn't feel the proper outrage that I would expect from them after receiving their assignment. Draco only considered refusing it for a split second, despite his prejudices against Muggleborns, and Hermione in particular. Hermione barely reacted to the news at all! Their responses just didn't feel realistic.

Descriptions: Again, I didn't get many details about how things looked, sounded, felt, smelled, etc., and I would have liked that. It would bring this story to life more.

I'll continue reading soon. Well done here.

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by DracoFerret11 A Visit to the Pool (Hermione)

12th July 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2014! :D So, let's go over things:

Grammar/Spelling: I only noticed one obvious error where you wrote, "a head to big for his body" instead of "too big."

Plot: Another interesting chapter! I wonder how things will go from here. Hermione's brief conversation with Draco was just tense enough. I liked it. And her conversation with Ginny was just heated enough (maybe a BIT too much on Ginny's part). Overall, I liked it. We'll see how things keep progressing!

Characterization: I think you did a good job writing for Hermione. She worked well in this chapter and was believable. Draco was also good from what I saw of him. Ginny was a bit strange. She got REALLY mad unexpectedly, and her line at the end about not wanting Hermione "involved" with Draco was a bit bizarre.

Descriptions & Emotions: I wish I'd had more details in this chapter. Some of the more interesting moments felt glossed over, and I didn't get too much depth on any of the characters' feelings. It might help to add some of that.

So far, so good. A few tweaks here and there would help, but I'm still with this story. Reading on!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #7, by DracoFerret11 The Mudblood Visits (Draco)

12th July 2014:
Hello again! Let's go over chapter two!

Odd moments: There were only two things that stuck out to me in this chapter. One, Draco's sudden realization that he was dreaming about Hermione. That seemed so out of the blue and unexpected. How did he come to that conclusion and why was he so sure? The second this was that he told his house elf to bring Hermione to him. How, exactly, is the elf going to do that? That sounds a bit like kidnapping, and I don't feel like Hermione would just go to Draco's house for the fun of it. Final side note: the house elves' names are a bit too...normal? They seem more human that elfish if that makes sense.

Grammar/Spelling: The only issue that stuck out was in this sentence: "He never let anything Draco say bother him." where "say" should be "said."

Plot: Okay! So we have a Draco-chapter! I thought this was interesting. His choice to go swimming was a bit odd and out there, but it didn't jar me from the story. I do wonder, though, why there was a boat in a pool. And I'm especially interested to see how Hermione reacts to being at Malfoy Manor.

Characterization: I liked that Draco was still snappish here. His treatment of the elves indicated to me that he was very in character as we know him in the book. He was still sassy-Draco, and I liked that a lot.

Descriptions: I think you did a good job in this chapter of showing Malfoy Manor and Draco's actions. I could follow everything going on. Good job!

So far, so good! I'll read on.

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by DracoFerret11 A Rude Awakening (Hermione)

12th July 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2014! :D So, let's go over things:

Odd: There were a few parts of this chapter that didn't make too much sense to me. First, why does Hermione have an address book? That's an odd thing to carry and her entries didn't make much sense. That information really didn't add anything to the chapter. The next thing was when Hermione thought she would "call Ginny." Why wouldn't she Floo her or just apparate to her house? Why would Ginny have a phone? These are just things I need information about to clarify this setting and everything. :) Next thing that just stood out strangely was when the dialogue tag after Hermione tells Ginny that Ron cheated on her. The tag says that she "squealed." That just doesn't fit her words, you know? And finally, Hermione wakes up at three am and thinks that she'll be expected to be awake in "two hours." Who wakes up at five am?

Okay, I hope that didn't sound too harsh right off the bat, but I wanted to let you know the things I didn't understand. Things will be more positive soon, I promise! :)

Grammar/Spelling: Only a few errors here!
1) "You can stay with me a Harry" where "a" should be "an"
2) "reccomend the medium mint..." where it should be "recommend."
3) "apperated a block away" where it should be "apparated"

Plot: Okay! So, I actually really liked the beginning here. This was very well-written, and I can't wait to read more. I think you accomplished the introduction very well. I'm interested in the story already! Of course, I've read "Ron cheats with Lavender" stories, but I still like the idea and will read on.

Characterization: I liked Hermione's character a lot. I think the fact that she kept her cool and got out of the apartment before she did something drastic was very realistic. I also liked her relationship with Ginny. Ginny was well-written and believable and a very good friend. I was a bit confused when Hermione thought about the fact that she'd heard Harry snoring in the forest four years ago? What was that about? But we didn't really see Harry in this chapter so I'm not sure what to think of him yet. :) Ginny and Hermione were good though, well done!

Descriptions: I didn't get a lot of details about the settings or characters (how they looked, sounded, smelled, felt, etc.), but I didn't mind too much in this chapter. In future chapters, I might, though. I'll let you know.

Emotions: I wish I could have seen more about how Hermione felt when she learned that Ron was cheating on her. She seemed angry and sad only for a moment, and then she was hoping that her intern was attractive. She just got over it too quickly, you know?

Overall, I really liked this chapter! I hope this review didn't sound too harsh. I'm going to read on and let you know what I think! :)

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Emily The Arrival (Hermione)

3rd May 2014:
I can't wait for the sequal! I would love it to either be I. Scorpio or Emma's point of view. (Love the name Emma by the way! ^_^) Great story and a great author too! I have read all your fics and all of them are equally brilliant! Keep on writing, xoxo

Author's Response: Thanks, I have been waiting for someones opinion. I'll be sure to get on it right away.

 Report Review

Review #10, by chantale The Arrival (Hermione)

21st February 2014:
very good and i can't wait for the sequel...

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I can't be sure when the sequel will be out, but I have some ideas brewing already.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Avid Reviewer/ JK. Rowling Fan The Arrival (Hermione)

19th February 2014:
The story was thoroughly imaginative and was able to entice the readers into viewing more. Personally, in my opinion I would enjoy as sequel to this wonderful piece of fanfiction. Criticism : Be careful on your grammar and spelling.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your response, I love hearing what people think about my stories. I will also listen very carefully as I have heard that sort of criticism before. I am currently working towards getting a beta.

 Report Review

Review #12, by slightly odd kat First Day with Draco (Hermione)

2nd February 2014:
we don't celebrate thanksgiving in the UK, we never have done. I find your story very confusing and not particularly well written.

Author's Response: Thank you for your input, it seems I forgot to do my research. Thank you for so very kindly explaining my error.

 Report Review

Review #13, by dramione lovegirl A Trip to the Shopping Center (Hermione)

9th December 2013:
this story is amazing!! :) i loved it till now!! :) waiting to see what happens next!! :) please update soon! :)

Author's Response: I'll update as quickly as the site will let me, lol. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #14, by loonyforever A Dramione Thanksgiving Pt. 1 (Hermione)

1st December 2013:
This story is so good! I kind of hate Ron- but I also hate Lavender.

Poor Hermione, she's been through so much emotional trauma in her life and she has to put up with Ron and Lavender too :( I feel very bad for her but I hope there will be some Dramione action soon to make up for it!

Your story is a lot like my story- but I swear I didn't copy it! Don't think I copied it! :P If you want to read and review it, that would be great :)

Great story and I will be waiting for an update!

Author's Response: Thanks, I feel the same way about Ron and Lavender.
And I agree about Hermione's traumas. She has dealt with so much without having Ron hook up with Lavender. As for Dramione, look out it's coming soon.
And about your story, I would love to give it a try, thanks for recommending it.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Stunned Well This is Awkward (Hermione)

30th November 2013:
I like how the story is progressing! And the tension between Draco and Hermione as well :)
There were a few typos so make sure to check your work before you submit it but otherwise fine.
Looking forward to the next chapter I can see that hopefully we're building towards a Dramione moment YAY!
Stunned x

Author's Response: Thank you, you will get your Dramione moment soon enough. And thank you for telling me about the typos, I have been working on corrections as well.

 Report Review

Review #16, by thewickedprincess The Mudblood Visits (Draco)

29th October 2013:
I like your story
Please keep writing and all the best

Author's Response: Thank you, I am happy to know that someone actually enjoys my writing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login