448 Reviews Found

Review #1, by k1187700 Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

30th May 2015:
AAAH I HAVEN'T BEEN ON THIS WEBSITE FOR AGES AND NOW I'VE CAUGHT UP WITH ALL THE CHAPTERS AGAIN I CAN NEVER LEAVE IT PLEASE UPDATE THIS I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart Befuddled: Rose AND Scorpius POV

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

So the words before my eyes are starting to blur because I've been staring at this computer screen for so long, but this story is so good and I want to know what happens! Please tell me that Scorpius and Rose get their happy ever after. I feel so invested in them already and I just want them to have good things happen.

After all the back and forth with Scorpius trying not to push Rose and Rose thinking Scorpius was disgusted with her, I'm so happy that they've finally talked it out. They sure seemed to jump into getting hot and heavy pretty fast, but I get it. They're in love with each other and there's been a ton of emotions and desire building up.

I thought it was really sad how affected by her scaring Rose is. Scorpius is right. Those scars aren't disgusting. They prove how brave and tough she is. She shouldn't feel the need to recoil or be shamed by them. I was so happy when Scorpius did that bit of magic and took some of the color and heat out of the scars. I think it really made Rose feel better.

And I'm so glad that Selenia made Rose go to a therapist. With everything she's been through she most definitely needs someone to talk things through with...someone who is objective and not personally invested in the situation.

I'm happy that things are starting to normalize a bit, but I'm scared that you're going to take that away in an upcoming chapter. You've already lulled me into a false sense of security once and then crushed my heart. I'm not sure if I can do it again.

Good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #3, by TreacleTart Back to the Beginning: Rose POV

27th May 2015:
Hey Beth,

Man this story is really playing with my emotions now. I've been happy, outraged, and now I'm a teary emotional wreck.

I'm so glad that Scorpius convinced her to go to Harry. It's about time. He really should've been alerted from the jump off. This whole situation sounds like way more than a few trainee Aurors are capable of handling.

I'm happy that Grimmuald Place will be put to good use. I think the idea of putting fidelus charm on it is a great idea and hope that it will protect them all from further harm. Not to mention the idea of James, Albus, and Scorpius being there to protect Rose alongside Dom and Selenia is smart. There's always strength in numbers.

I don't like that Rose wants to keep this from her parents, but I understand why. I think she's afraid that Ron would go and kill the guy if he was able to get his hands on him, as he should. That being said, I'm a strong believer that when awful things happen, it's important to have open and honest communication about it. That's really the only way anyone ever heals. Hopefully, at some point she'll open up to them about it.

Another good chapter! This story is really moving right along!

 Report Review

Review #4, by TreacleTart Bombarda Maxima: Scorpius POV

27th May 2015:
Beth! Beth! Beth!

WHY MUST YOU BREAK MY HEART LIKE THIS?!

The descriptions of Rose flipping out were heartbreaking and awful and scary. I said this in the last review, but I'll say it again. I'm so happy that Selenia and Dom managed to keep a cool head. They not only managed to save her from being kidnapped, but also helped her when she started having her violent anxiety fueled meltdown. It was truly gut-wrenching to read about.

The scene where Scorpius and Albus were destroying the forest was a great way to convey how they were feeling. I mean sure you could have explained it in a dialogue, but the moment where Albus throws an Avada Kedavra illustrates it better than anything anyone could've said. Scorpius and Albus are beyond furious and Stannous is a dead man walking.

Still my biggest question is why no one alerted Harry or Ron. I know that they're all adults, but Harry is the Head Auror and should be made aware. Furthermore, I wonder how his Stannous jerk is still wandering around freely after everything he did to Rose. I can't imagine that Harry or Ron wouldn't have beat him to death with their bare hands had they known.

This was a tough chapter to read, but it does what it's supposed to within the story. The technical aspect of your writing has been flawless thus far. Good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart Besieged: Rose POV

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

Here I am reading this sweet love story about how Scorpius and Rose are falling love with each other. Everything is just peachy AND THEN YOU GO AND SPRING THIS ON ME! SERIOUSLY! I COULD WRITE YOU AN ENTIRE REVIEW OF SHOUTY WORDS RIGHT NOW!

Okay, so you've got this nice atmosphere set up and Rose is finally coming to terms with the damage that's been done to her. Her and Scorpius have finally admitted their feelings for each other and even started spending time together in public. You've lulled me into this beautiful lovely calmness.

AND THEN STANNOUS SHOWS UP! I was so scared for poor Rose and I wanted to jump into the fight myself and save her. I'm so glad that Dom and Selenia woke up and thought clearly enough to react properly or else Rose might have been kidnapped again. Smart thinking on Dom's part to send a patronus. The only thing that I wonder is why she sent it to Scorpius and not Harry...not that Albus and Scorpius didn't help, but Harry or Ron could've arrested the jerk and thrown him in Azkaban for the rest of his miserable life.

UGH I AM SO FURIOUS WITH STANNOUS RIGHT NOW! SERIOUSLY, IF I COULD GET MY HANDS ON HIM!

I guess this explosive reaction means that you've done a good job writing this because it's done what it was supposed to do.

Excellent work on this chapter! Really the whole story has been engaging so far, but this chapter is a step above the others.

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #6, by TreacleTart Better: Rose POV

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

At the rate I'm going, I may have a third of this story knocked out by the end of the night.
This will probably be a relatively short review since this chapter is so short, but here it goes.

I think Rose's reaction to Scorpius is adorable. She gives away all of the tell tale signs of being nervous and having those beginning of relationship feelings. It's really sweet and I'm so glad you haven't rushed them into a relationship. In fanfiction, it's so common to see two characters meet and fall in love in like two chapters, so it's nice that you're letting this develop at a more natural pace.

I thought it was cute to see Rose shout after Scorpius in the hallway and basically alert everyone to what's going on. Harry's reaction to the whole thing was rather charming. Of course, he would notice since Scorpius has pretty much grown up with them and Rose is favorite niece.

This was a short chapter, but it was packed full of lots of sweet, fluffy goodness. I can't wait for more!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #7, by TreacleTart Bitter: Scorpius POV

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I'm back for another chapter!

So not only is Scorpius aware that he has a thing for Rose, but everyone else knows it as well. It was nice seeing Albus trying to take the mickey out of him instead of being insanely jealous and over protective. Scorpius and Rose are adults after all.

The scene between Albus and Harry was pretty intense. I don't know how Ron could just stand back and let this happen like it wasn't getting out of hand. At least Teddy and Scorpius seemed to be aware of what was going on.

It was quick thinking on Scorpius' part to distract everyone. He really did seem to save them from a potentially uncomfortable, awkward moment. Imagine if one of them had actually really hurt the other. It would've been pretty bad.

The only little bit of constructive criticism I'd like to offer on this chapter is that the argument between Albus and Harry seemed just a bit too tidy and neat for my taste. Considering that Albus was seething with fury only moments before, it doesn't seem like things would blow over quite this easy, but that could just be me.

I love that Albus forced Scorpius into a situation where he had to actually talk to Rose. I hope he finally tells her what's going on!

As always, good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #8, by TreacleTart Besotted: Rose POV

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I just happened to get wrapped up in this story and decided to keep reading, so here I am!

The idea that Rose woke up and just knew that something was amiss further confirms my suspicions that she and Scorpius should be together. You only have feelings like that when you truly love someone deep down in your soul.

I had a good chuckle when he potion made him drunk instead of sobering him up. At least it stopped him from puking though. Thank goodness for small favors.

I thought Scorpius' confession to Rose was sad, particularly because he thought so low of himself. Clearly, he doesn't have the most savory of pasts, but after what he went through with his parent's death, it seems like he would be destined to rebel in one way or another.

And the ending! Does this mean that he and Rose have hooked up at some point? That certainly seemed to be the implication. I'm so glad that he's realized what a kind, compassionate person she is and seems like he wants to treat her right!

Oh and I almost forgot! The scene where Rose is examining her scars. I know this is a weird thing to say, but I really liked how you handled that. That seems like a perfectly normal reaction to have!

Good work as always!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #9, by TreacleTart Bereft: Scorpius POV

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I'm back for the next chapter!

The relationship that you've built between Scorpius and Rose is so sweet and tender. You can really sense the growing love between them. The way that Rose is attuned to Scorpius' emotions and in the converse, how he's attuned to hers is truly lovely and they are lucky to have that.

I can just imagine Ron's reaction to finding Rose half dressed and asleep in Scorpius' arms. It would figure that this would've happened while Albus was in the loo because obviously had he been there, it wouldn't have looked quite so unsavory. The idea of him trying to hex Scorpius, being blocked, and then physically lunging at him seems like the exact sort of thing he would do.

I found the ending of this chapter a bit sad though. I wish Rose would've let Scorpius come stay with her instead of banishing him back to a party that he didn't want to be at. To me it seems like he's drinking out of loneliness and boredom, something that probably wouldn't have happened had he been with Rose.

This is a really well done story so far. The way the two story lines bring the two characters together is really interesting and I have really no idea where it's going to go, although I have my fingers crossed for a bit of Scorpius/Rose action. :D

Good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart Blown Away: Scorpius POV

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

I'm here for our review swap!

Poor Scorpius. I can't imagine what it must be like to come home and find a scene like this. Finding your parents killed in what appears to be an explosion. It's just awful.

I thought you did a great job of characterizing the different relationships between Scorpius and his father versus Scorpius and his mother. You can see that Draco is a stern man who's been affected by the things he's seen at war. I think the fact that he even allows Scorpius to hang out at the Potter household speaks to his growth. The relationship between Astoria and Scorpius on the other hand is more like a typical mother son bond. She seems to dote on him and protect him when Draco is feeling off.

I wonder if the argument between Scorpius and Draco was as it seemed. It seems odd to me that Draco would forbid Scorpius to play football with the neighborhood kids. Maybe there was some kind of threat to their family and Draco was actually trying to keep Scorpius safe. Maybe the accident wasn't really an accident, but a murder staged to look like a gas explosion. I'm really curious now. I might have to go and read the next chapter!

Thanks for the swap!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #11, by Aphoride Broken: Rose POV

20th May 2015:
Hey Beth! :) Stopping by for our review pairing!

You know, it's weird how I've been by your page so many times, but never onto this (it's coz it's so long and all, partly; I think I could never catch up :P), when it's so famous, really, and so good. Anyway, I'm here now! :)

I love the way you opened this - the mystery and uncertainty immediately at the beginning, with the panic attack where we don't know who the character is or what's quite going on, is so so powerful, and a brilliant hook! It's like, I already feel sorry for her from the beginning, you know, and want her to get better and feel better about herself - and to know what happened in the cabin which started all of this! And who Stannous is... pretty sure I'm not going to like him already :P

Also, I gotta say quickly - I saw the chapter list and the line of B words made me very happy :P It's the little things...

I love Rose's character, too. I love how she's so clever, but considers herself lacking in some things - in common sense, perhaps, in quick-thinking, improvisation and quick temper, and how she picks up on things which other people wouldn't necessarily consider flaws which she does: like compassion and trust. It's a really clever way of showing us what she's like while giving us insights into herself further, and little glimpses at what perhaps the 'old Rose' was like, before everything. Also, the 'I'm not good enough' kind of rhetoric Rose uses here when she's thinking about herself is so indicative of people who've been through difficult things, like Rose has, and it's so sad, but so true to life to see, you know?

Gah, you're already making me want to hug her and tell her that she's wonderful and everything will be okay (but then, she does remind me of my sisters - long, very personal story there!).

The repetition with the 'get up. dressed. wash. rounds. study.' section was so, so good. Again, so indicative of her condition and how she is, but so effective in the narrative, too! :)

I love the little glimpses of other characters in this, too - Dom and Al and Scorp and Selenia, even James, too - and how good they were, with the little indications of what they'll be like in later chapters, when we see more of them. All of them are so good, they already feel like real people (but then, I already knew your characterisation was good from previous things, so... :P).

I love your writing - but again, you should know that by now too :P - it's so so good, and here you've just got the tone perfectly. Rose's voice in this is so so strong and real that it allows everything to come through, and it really makes the story hers, if you know what I mean, which makes the first person shine so beautifully.

The little details in this were so good, too - I loved the little dash of humour with James and the story about why they all got sorted unexpectedly, and the details about the reactions at the sorting ceremony were just so so perfect.

So yeah, I love this, and I'll definitely be back! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi Aph!

Gosh! This review is too sweet! After I read it, I realized that I pretty much commented on the VERY SAME THINGS for your story. Hee hee - the chapter titles, the fact that the story is so popular, the way you opened up the first chapter... haha!

Oh my! I *LOVE* how you picked up on the subtle qualities of the Old Rose. She's definitely not that person anymore (but maybe she'll be someday :) ).

These characters are so ingrained in my mind, I don't have to think about them too much when I write, but I'm so happy you picked up on their main qualities - James is goofy, Selenia is unfailingly kind, and Albus has a hot temper which can lead to anger or unbridled passion.

Thanks for your comment on the fist person POV. I actually tried to go back and rewrite the story in third person POV, but it just didn't work. I also ended up switching first person POV between Rose and Scorpius. His view starts in the 3rd chapter, and I'd love to know how you think it works.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by cherry_pop94 Bereft: Scorpius POV

16th May 2015:
Ahh a good old fashioned accident. I forget that those still happen in the high stakes world of fanfiction.

This was a very good chapter. It was interesting to have more background on the Malfoy family, especially about Daphne, who doesn't often make any appearances in next gen fics.

I really liked that Rose and Al came to see their friend (as they should). And it definitely made sense to me that Harry told them to give him space. Though, wouldn't they have been at the funeral? I also thought it was quite rude of Ron to burst in like that shouting. I mean, the poor kid just lost his parents. I think Ron would be more understanding and sensitive of that. Even though Ron is known for being insensitive and a little brash, he does know what it feels like to have lost family.

Still, really good chapter and I'm excited to see what's next!

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hi there Stefi!

As far as the funeral goes, it was really quick because Daphne was making all the arrangements, being the only living relative left - and she did everything really quickly and kept it very small. Scorpius was still in shock so he didn't really have a say in the matter.

Yeah, Ron isn't always the best in these emotionally-charged situations - especially where his daughter is concerned. (But he was really fun to write - hee hee)

You're right about him knowing about losing family - but Ron doesn't always think rationally when he's dealing with Scorpius. He's still carrying a grudge on all the Malfoys.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by cherry_pop94 Blown Away: Scorpius POV

16th May 2015:
Oh my god. I'm just so shocked by what's happened here!! Are Scorpius's parents dead? Does this have anything to do with Rose's kidnapping?? He said that the anniversary was tomorrow and earlier you said that Hogwarts graduation just happened and Rose was kidnapped on graduation. Oh my god. I'm just so confused and intrigued.

Well, suffice to say you've definitely got my attention.

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hi there Stefi!

Hee hee - I'm glad I've got your attention :D I don't want to say too much - I think it's more fun if you find out on your own...

Oh! I hope you're not too confused. You will find out about Scorpius's parents soon. Rose was kidnapped at her Hogwarts graduation two years ago. And yes, it is the anniversary of his parents' death - that happened about 5 years ago.

Thanks so much for these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by cherry_pop94 Broken: Rose POV

16th May 2015:
Hi so I figured I should read this since it's up for a Diadem. And let just say, so far, it is definitely deserving of that!!

I really like how Rose uses the repetition to get through her panic attacks. It's very realistic and of course also makes for excellent writing. Her panic feels very realistic to me and definitely relatable.

Am I correct in assuming that Rose was kidnapped? You've done a really good job there with sort of building suspense. I'm definitely curious to know who Stannous is and why he held Rose captive for six days. Maybe a former Death Eater or someone who holds some deep resentment against the trio?

I also really loved your bit about Albus's sorting. I like seeing him in Ravenclaw and it definitely fits. With the way he was thinking so much about his sorting in the epilogue just made him seem like a little Ravenclaw! I may have squealed a little thinking about a tiny little boy so shocked by his sorting that an older student had to lead him away. Seriously, an adorable mental image!

Anyway, I love this story so far! Can't wait to read the rest :)

-Stefi

Author's Response: Hi there Stefi,

Yay! You found my novel! This is the story that I've definitely put the most work into. It sounds weird for me to say that I'm *glad* you found the panic attacks realistic - haha.

I wanted to do something different with the trio, in terms of sorting. I really liked the idea of a tight knit group of four. These guys have been through it all together. And then we toss in Dominique and James for good measure.

Anyway, I can't tell you how excited I am that you like this story!

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by TearsIMustConceal Besotted: Rose POV

15th May 2015:
Hey Beth! I’m back again because I just couldn’t stay away! And because you also asked me very nicely :)

So once again, this chapter was absolutely amazing! You’re seriously giving Rose a hard time though! Her thoughts and feelings about her scars are heart-breaking – that everyone would be as repulsed as she was by them even though that is obviously not case and I hope she finally realises that! I can’t even begin to imagine what she must have been through.

And Stannous – he is seriously evil, I didn’t realise how evil until I realised he made his own torture curse up – that is a seriously unhinged, crazy thing to do. Will he be as evil as Voldemort? I feel as though he’s going to be the big bad for the Next Gen so I’m guessing he will be appearing sometime soon?
But I love that now, she finally has the courage to look at the scars herself – it just shows you how far she has come and the influence Scorpius really has on her, which, thank god, she has finally realised!

Scorpius missing him Mum – Beth, what are you doing to me? I’m really upset now because he’s just so cute and vulnerable and I want to hug him and make him feel better! His comparisons of Rose and his Mum – there so sweet and genuine – you can tell right there that he pretty much loves her so hopefully they admit it to each other soon! And then him comparing himself to his Dad – I still want to hug him Beth! Even though admittedly, he clearly was a bit of an idiot, he’s hating himself and he doesn’t deserve that, not really. He was just a teen going through a rough time, which Rose does understand.

And then we see a glimpse of Al and his protectiveness of Rose. I love Al and in his position, I would have done the same thing! I love how he’s so close to Rose – I love strong family bonds!

And that little moment when she’s happy he told her that there hadn’t been anyone else – my heart soared because it’s so clear that they are destined to be together!!

But they didn’t kiss! Do you know how much I wanted that kiss to happen? Please tell me it happens soon? Pretty please?

Oh Beth, this chapter was just amazingly cute and heart-breaking and inspiring because your writing is just brilliant! I can’t wait to read the next chapter!!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #16, by Flower n Prongs Blown Away: Scorpius POV

13th May 2015:
Hi Beth. I'm here for the BvB review battle.

I was excited to get to read Scorpius's POV for the first time, since he was only in the last chapter and he could be hard to read at times. I was not expecting this though. I was thinking "okay, we will move on from the party and maybe see what happens after that with hints about the past." Seeing this flashback was... wow.

It is clear that Scorpius's parents have something on their minds in this flashback, since his mother was acting out of the ordinary and his father seemed very concerned with keeping Scorpius with him. Like Scorpius, I wondered if it was just Draco's old feelings coming back into play. Astoria's reaction seemed a bit off and I wondered what was coming. I would never have guessed what actually happened though.

And how do I even formulate a 12+ response to the ending? Holy bleep is probably the best I can do haha. That all this happened while Scorpius was spending time with a Muggle kid he didn't even like to annoy his father was a brilliant choice that will certainly affect present-day Scorpius.

The comment about owling Mason was great, because his reaction really showed how slow he was (perhaps why he has a lack of friends). I loved the comment about Granddad Weasley still coming over, curious about Muggle artifacts. =) One question: who is cousin Wolfram? Or is that something that will be revealed later.

Again, that ending... wow. I see why people talk about this story a lot! =)

- Rhaenyra

 Report Review

Review #17, by CambAngst Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

12th May 2015:
Beth, you sly, sly devil, you! It was probably too much to expect you to give up your secrets so soon. I have a lot of idea about why Rose fell, but you're not going to tell me. Not yet, anyway. The blond haired mystery attacker, the elevated heart rate... I have a strong feeling that this attack wasn't simply a matter of falling down the stairs. There's some dark magic involved here, I'm sure of it!

Wow. Sounds like James was a complete mess. He's become one of the more oddly sympathetic characters in this story. At times he acts like a big lunk, but other times I get the sense that he's more tuned in than he lets on.

"I didn't even hear her fall. She had all these photos and documents around her. I figured she'd tripped, but I swear – I didn't hear her. Sh - shouldn't I have heard it?" -- Maybe, maybe not. I'm suspicious that some of those photos and documents will be missing when Rose wakes up.

"I could've deflected it just into the wall next to her, but instead, I made sure it hit her square in the chest. Perhaps she shouldn't be so rude to upset fiancés." -- Or Auror trainees. Definitely not so rude to upset fiancés who are training to become Aurors.

I loved the family moment with Hermione and Ron and Scorpius. I wasn't sure where you were going to go with that one, and it was nice to see Hermione pull her family together.

"The heart rate didn't increase until after she'd been here for a bit." -- Peculiar, indeed. Cursed? Poisoned? Maybe those pictures had some sort of spell on them.

Again, it was heart-warming to see the extended Weasley clan supporting Scorpius. I'm sure that took him completely by surprise. He's been so disconnected from Rose since the party.

He steeled a look at us for a moment until his eyes met with Harry. -- Yeah, best not to go picking fights with the Head Auror.

You did a good job with the conversation between Ron and Scorpius. It didn't feel like it was easy for either one of them, which was certainly the right tone. Maybe I would have kept Ron's sentences shorter and a little less formal. It's hard to say how the characters age and everyone sees it a little differently. The subject matter was perfect, though. I feel like Scorpius needed to hear all of that and he needed to hear it from somebody who -- as he correctly surmised -- wasn't Harry.

Overall, an awesome chapter! I can't wait to see what happens when Rose wakes up!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLane Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

10th May 2015:
Hmm, that part about James not hearing anything sounds a little mysterious.

That receptionist is REALLY sympathetic! I'm sure the last thing visitors need is that kind of attitude when they are worried about somebody.

She's probably right to be a little suspicious about somebody who wants to visit the daughter of two war heroes in hospital though. Especially since I'm getting the impression more and more that Ireland's "we give people their privacy" might not be ENTIRELY just self-congratulatory nonsense and that being the child of well-known parents might put people under more scrutiny in other countries.

YIKES, this sounds way more serious than I'd imagined. I mean, obviously falling when pregnant is going to be serious, but I didn't think Rose would be unconscious this long or that there'd be this much panic. I never considered anything like Rose going into cardiac arrest. I really hope she and the baby will be OK. I'd imagine they will be.

Yikes, I really don't think Rose could handle losing the baby on top of everything else. Or Scorpius either. How would he feel if anything happened to the baby or Rose after the way he'd been avoiding them?

Hmm, that's really strange. I'm not sure what's going on here. Could she have been poisoned or something and the effects of the poison caused her fall? I don't see HOW though. Or perhaps somebody in the hospital is in league with Stannous and took a chance to do something with her while they had her under their control. Scary thought.

The Weasley family are so kind to think of Scorpius like that. I mean, obviously, he's one of the people it's worst for as he could lose his child, but so could Ron and Hermione, although that is probably rather less likely. I could easily imagine everybody being so caught up in their own worry and trying to support family members that he'd get overlooked.

And it IS good Selenia is with her.

I really don't think Draco could have helped Hermione at that point without getting himself and possibly his parents killed. He really DIDN'T have much choice.

I think it is understandable though, that Ron would never forgive him, not just for that, but also for the way he nearly killed Ron in an attempt to murder Dumbledore and for his involvement with the Death Eaters in the first place.

I think Scorpius is putting too much emphasis on backgrounds, with his thoughts about how he and Rose can't be the same because their families are different. As Ron said, they are not their parents and just because their parents were different doesn't mean they are.

At least Scorpius has copped on a bit. Now, we just have to hope it isn't too late, but I don't think it will be.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Claire Evergreen Blown Away: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Hey Beth! Here for the swap!

Ah, I'm so excited that we get a peek into Scorpius's mind (which, you know, I should have guessed by the chapter titles, but we'll ignore that haha). It's going to be so cool seeing multiple sides of the story as it progresses.

Alright, so I'm going to hold off on assuming some of the things that I said in my last review because we definitely get a different idea of Scorpius here. Even in the flashback, there's still that little but if a temper that gives me a weird feeling about what happened between him and Rose, but he seems much more vulnerable here. I have no idea if I'm correct or not, but I'm 99% sure that Scorpius is not exactly the good guy in this, but it was really nice to look into his mind.

Oh my goodness! That whole thing with his parents was absolutely awful! Now I want to know why that happened and why it seemed like his mother knew about it beforehand.

I can see why everyone loves this story so much! I'm hooked! Thanks for agreeing to do the swap with me!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #20, by Anie Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this story. I truly look forward to it and look for this banner specifically.

This chapter made me feel all sorts of feels. The exchange between Ron and Scorpius was perfect and I think very well done.

I certainly hope someone realizes (or Rose remembers) how she was injured! Ugh!

I hope you're well!

Author's Response: Anie!

How are you? You have no idea how excited it makes me to hear that you look for my banner!

I can't say too much about what Rose remembers. Next chapter will be along soon!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by Dianainga Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
It makes me so happy that the entire Potter/Weasley clan rallies around Scorpius and loves him. He needs it so badly. I am still very worried about the future. I know that Rose still is in danger and that frightens me. Cannot wait to see how this develops. Thank you for the update!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yes! I'm so happy you picked up on the love the Weasley's have for Scorpius. It's hard to convey that when I'm always writing from his and Rose's POV.

Hmmm... I guess you'll have to wait and see what is next for these two!

Thanks for taking the time to review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by TearsIMustConceal Bereft: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Hi again Beth, I’m back. I just can’t stay away.

Hm, straight away I am not believing it was a simple kitchen accident – whether this is because I’m suspicious naturally or not, it just doesn’t feel right at all, especially when in the last chapter Astoria is about to tell Scorpius that it isn’t safe, but she isn’t able to finish it. Something fishy is going on but I know you won’t tell us anytime soon because you’re evil (you’re not really, you’re amazing) but I’ll be waiting impatiently to find out what’s going on because even if Scorpius is down for accepting it, I am not!

I love how you’ve shown Daphne as marrying a muggle. It’s very rare that Daphne isn’t portrayed as the evil sister so it’s a lovely change. But it makes me sad that she’s his only family left – I kinda wished Narcissa was around but then this chapter wouldn’t have played out the way it did so I’ll forgive you for that.

Awww poor Scorpius, I can’t even imagine what he must have been feeling – the guilt must be killing him inside - but I understand the not being able to talk about it and not crying – I’m like that, I never talk about my problems and it’s only when someone eventually asks me if I’m okay or hugs me, that I break.

Which leads me onto Al and Rose coming to the rescue!

I adore that Rose just knows instinctively what to do and what to say and when not to say anything – that’s a real, deep connection right there! And Al, oh Al, he’s the guy who just pats you on the back awkwardly but I can relate to that so much! But it doesn’t matter because he’s there and that’s all Scorpius needed. This part is just so perfectly written – you never fail to amaze me Beth!!

I loved Ron and I love that this scene breaks up the atmosphere a little and we have a little comic relief from Rose in the form of ‘Now, if you would excuse me, I have to use the loo - unless, of course, you want to follow me in there and accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet.” I absolutely loved that part! I felt that a little laugh was much needed! And also Scorpius’ muggle uncle – his scenes where he’s on the phone to Daphne – I loved them too! It was all perfectly done!

I love that we see more of Daphne here and that we learn that she wasn’t just ignoring Scorpius, she just didn’t know how to deal with him. She’s so far removed from that world anymore and her sister’s family, I feel as though she thinks she is a little helpless in trying to help her nephew - a nephew she really didn’t know. I love how she let Scorpius decide where he wanted to go – I feel like he really needed that control over his life to start to overcome and pull through everything!

That end scene with Scorpius and Rose – oh the feels! They’re so perfect for each other and I need them to see that desperately! They’re something just so easy about them - they just fit!

Once again, I loved everything about this and it was just wonderful, even if I’m feeling a ton of emotion right now! You’re writing is just beautiful Beth!

I might need a bit of time to recover but I’ll definitely come back soon for the next chapter.

But who am I kidding? I’m pretty sure I’ll moving onto it straight away!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins beard Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Hey Beth!

I absolutely love that Ron is the one to talk some sense into Scorpius. He really needed it to come from Ron.

I'm so worried about Rose and the baby, that's just so horrible. I hope she'll be ok. I'm afraid that no one realizes that she didn't just trip, and that something like this will happen again because they all haven't realized the danger the baby is in.

It's so sweet that everyone shows Scorpius that he is truly a part of the family. First Hermione and Ron, then Harry and Ginny stepping in for Scorpius' parents and then the whole weasley clan (there's so many of them - they could fill a whole country with only weasleys I think)

I'm so glad Scorpius went in to see Rose. That seems to be symbolic, he shows that he'll stay with them no matter what.

You write so well, I'm almost jealous (but I get to read it, so that's ok)

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Hi Anja,

I thought of you as soon as I posted this chapter and I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Although Rose and the baby still hang in the balance and things are very uncertain as yet, there is still progress with Scorpius. He knows how much the Weasley's accept him - and his interactions with Ron were especially important - for *both* of them.

Ah! I love, love, LOVE that you totally get the characters in this story! I agree - it had to come from Ron, because his acceptance means so much to Scorpius.

And Ginny and Harry have always treated Scorpius as a member of the family, but Scorpius didn't always see it, being too wrapped up in his emotions and crises.

Yeah - Scorpius really *wants* to see Rose, he just needed a little push. Now he's ready to be the husband and father that Rose needs.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by TearsIMustConceal Blown Away: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Oh Beth, what are you doing to me? I was not emotionally ready for this chapter!!

It all seemed to innocent to start and then you did THAT to me!

But anyway, onto the chapter….

Awww, look at Scorpius with his very cute and obvious crush on Rose. Of course, she seems completely oblivious of his feelings, which is far enough seeing as she has plenty going on in her life. But she has feeling of her own – is it wrong to want them together already? I want ScoRose now!!!

His memories of that t-shirt he gave her – it’s nice to see that it’s him that holds onto the memories of it rather than Rose, but then again, she might not remember it that much after everything she has gone through. But the fact she doesn’t particularly recognise it – even if Scorpius doesn’t know that, I still want to hug him and tell him she will eventually!

THAT FLASHBACK! Oh the feels but let’s start from the beginning…

I always imagined that Astoria would be the reasonable parent, the peace keeper between Draco and Scorpius with soft words and Draco as the more stern, stubborn parent who is stuck in his ways. I feel as though Draco is the colder of the two but that’s how I imagine him and it’s not surprising seeing as his father was the same way. I also like how you haven’t completely changed Draco’s character – as much Harry may have saved his life in the room of requirement and won the war, freeing him and his mother from the clutches of Voldemort, I still don’t see them as ever being friends, merely acquaintances – it’s really realistic!

Scorpius walking out on his parents – I want to yell at him to go back and say goodbye and that he loves them – Beth, you’ve killed my emotions. Plus, was Astoria about to say it wasn’t safe? Was that a general warning or was she seriously afraid something was going to happen? I need to know!

Befriending the muggle boy, Mason – you can just feel that Scorpius is only there, tolerating the annoying boy just to spite his father – that must haunt him all the time.

And then the scene that caused serious heartbreak! You did it so well – it was beautifully written and I could feel every emotion Scorpius was feeling and I could picture every moment vividly! His inability to move and comprehend what’s happened to his family in that moment, not being able to accept that his mother was lying dead on the floor and not being able to step foot in the room – his denial is so realistic and honest.

Beth, how could you do this? To me, to everyone? I am now knee deep in emotion and feels. I’m scared now this is only going to get worse and you’re going to continue to break my heart, bit my bit until there is nothing left!

But ignoring my emotional state, this chapter was absolutely amazing and you’re writing never fails to draw me in. You really are a fantastic writer Beth!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #25, by Claire Evergreen Bent: Rose POV

9th May 2015:
Hey, Beth! Finally here for our swap!

I love the way that you introduce characters. You never have to outright say "oh, he likes to party" or "she is really outspoken." Everything is shown and nothing is straight out told to us. Like, we get the idea that Fred is more than likely a womanizer and Dom is extremely outspoken and can be over the top. I love reading stories that allow us to get to know the characters as we read instead of an info dump at the beginning.

Speaking of characterization, Scorpius kinda creeps the daylights out of me. Originally, I thought it was kind of sweet how he went over to Rose and they started to talk, but when I went back, it seemed like she was kind of on edge around him until she had a few drinks. Don't get me wrong, he seemed to at least care about her a little bit, but it seemed extremely protective and the line He was often angry. definitely does not have a very positive connotation. It also makes me wonder if there was a connection between that and when Rose was attacked...

With the attack, you also did a wonderful job conveying her helplessness both during and after, I think it was interesting to note how much she hated feeling helpless, which led me to believe that she wasn't always like that. I mean, obviously she has changed after whatever happened to her, but her reactions definitely made it seem like she didn't like who she has become.

I love this story so far! I can't wait to read some more!

-Claire

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>