679 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lorna Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

27th January 2016:
Your story really is amazing. You've brought the characters to life in such a way that you feel like you're right there with them. I love the relationship between Rose and Scorpious! And I hope Albus eventually finds someone else. I can't wait for the next chapter! This is definitely my favourite fanfic that I've ever read!!

Author's Response: Hi there Lorna,

Thanks so much! I'm so happy you like my Rose/Scorpius story. Yeah, I feel really terrible about Al too. Maybe he'll find someone SOME day, but he's got a lot to get through right now.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #2, by Tonks1247 Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

21st January 2016:
Hiya Beth!

Imma start by assuring you this chapter did nothing but break my heart almost as much as the last one did. Not quite as much, but like…this chapter really pulled at my heart because Selenia is truly gone and poor Albus is not taking it well and I can’t blame his heartbreak and Rose finding that gift from Selenia in the desk, and how Scorp was given it by her (which I had to jump back a few chapters to refresh my memory)…I’m so heartbroken. It makes me so sad to just imagine how drastically their lives changed due to the shock of losing someone that no one ever expected to be attacked….

I did have to smile just a little bit at how Rose realized the baby was moving and how Albus was the first one to feel the movement. It’s honestly just what needed to happen to help pull Albus out of himself. I like his instant freak out and asking what he should do and how he can help before he even knows what’s going on. That was so Albus. And it only continued as Rose was able to reach out to him and get him to agree to do something other than lie in bed. It makes me happy that he’s up, and I can only laugh at the thought of Scorpius finding out that Albus felt the baby move first and how he isn’t the first Rose goes to…I can just imagine the look on his face…

The only other things I have about this chapter are the two things that were touched on but not really focused on. And that’s Samara with her weird behaviour and that final assignment case study thing. Those two things have been bothering me for quite a number of chapters and I feel like they’re significant, as they keep coming up, and just…I’m curious and anxious to see where they come in. That final assignment is just weird…there’s something about those pictures and how they tie in with other things mentioned in this story…honest to goodness pulls at my mind every time they’re brought up. And Samara? Well…I’m suspicious, but I don’t know why. Her character just has certain behaviours and attitudes and I can’t say I trust her all that much…

Overall though, as much as this chapter was sad, I quite enjoyed it. I’ve missed reading these characters and was quite happy to come home and finally get time to read and review another chapter. Can’t wait for more!

-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela,

Eeep! This review is so lovely and I can't get over how KIND and THOUGHTFUL you are to me. Thank you so much.

This chapter was difficult to write on one level because it was just so sad - but I couldn't just skip over their grief, so I'm glad you felt I did a good job with it. I'd always planned the part with Albus feeling the baby. In fact, I think I've had that down for nearly 3 years now! Kind of a "circle of life" thing - haha!

I don't want to comment too much about those two things you've noticed that keep popping up, except to say that you are very observant :)

Gah! I don't know if there's any higher praise for an author than "I missed reading these characters!" You have no idea how much that made my day!

Thanks again, Makaela - I'm so grateful for your support for this story.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by ginny4ever Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

18th January 2016:
I just hate to see everyone so upset... But I firmly believe that Al and everyone else will get through this. At least Rose's baby brings a ray of hope in everybody's lives.

I'm still shocked how Selenia died so suddenly... She was so kind and loving and such a good person. But for everyone grieving over her, I just want to remind of Albus Dumbledore's words: "To the well organised mind death is but the next great adventure."

Thanks for the chapter, loved reading it again (: Please keep posting, I just can't get enough of this story!!!

Emily

Author's Response: Hi there Emily,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I really appreciate knowing how the readers feel about the story.

I'm so sad over Selenia's death too. I know, I know... I'm the AUTHOR and I KILLED her off, but it really is an important part of the story. I'm working on the next chapter now and these lovely reviews keep me going! And I love that quote from Dumbledore!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by HPfanfromLondon Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

17th January 2016:
this story is absolutely amazing! Read all 39 chapters I 2 days (fell asleep reading).

The story, the characters, the tone of voice and the writing style. Just perfect. This story is the perfect extension to the Harry Potter books. When you think of the themes between the philosophers stone and the deadly hallows, you see that they grow darker and more mature. This story perfectly continues that development from where the deadly hallows left and introduces more mature themes.

What I like most about the story is that while it focuses more on the relationships between characters, it also has the same kind of problem solving, tension, intense feelings and complex plot developments as the original books.

It is perfect for someone like me who has grown with the series!



When will chapter 40 come?

Author's Response: Hello HPfanfromLondon,

Eeep! I don't even know what to do with this review! Thank you SOOO much. You read it ALL in 2 days?! That's amazing - considering I've been writing it for nearly THREE YEARS now and I'm still not done - haha!

I'm just so blown away that you feel this is an extension of the books - because that's really what I set out to write. I wanted the next gen characters to have their own voices and personalities and demons to overcome - but within the realm of their parents still being around. So thank you SO MUCH for that comment :)

And I feel like you really understand my story so well. I can't even tell you how much I appreciate this review.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by oldershouldknowbetter Back to the Beginning: Rose POV

11th January 2016:
We are just tag-teaming each other now are we not. Once more drawn in to review for the BvB.

Rose wakes up alone and upset and it is disheartening to think that this is just normal for her. She beats herself up over it too. *sigh*

But is she alone? This morning also brings with it the presence of Scorpius she soon finds. He didn't expect it to be at wand point though. Once the adrenaline wears off though she's back to the nausea and shakes. What this poor girl has been through ...

Scorpius recriminates himself too. These two ... well at least *spoilers* they get some measure of closure next chapter.

It is funny but Scorpius's diatribe of self loathing is what steadies Rose and brings her back to herself. But then he shocks her with his knowledge of her scars. She tries to run, tries to submerge herself in her usual routine - as we first saw she does, way back when this whole sorry tale started. But no, Scorpius is having none of it. What you have given us is so raw with emotions but once again you don't stray from what is believable. One of the great things is that it is finally, finally cathartic for Rose. Really well done and very necessary for her character. Oh and lovely kissing too. ;)

'... and gently put his hand over mine for the second time that day. I noticed that this was all the contact he was willing to make.' When I read stuff like this it just makes me sigh deeply and sadly, "oh Rose."

I really like how you have Scorpius telling Rose that she has to tell her uncle. It is very logical - I hadn't thought of how it would be to their careers, but it makes a lot of sense. Not just that of course, it also fits into how you have established how the pair of them view Harry: Rose as a bit more than just an uncle; Scorpius basically as his surrogate father. Good stuff.

I nodded, understanding that his was too much for him. I was too much for him.
*sigh* Oh, Rose.

She keeps thinking that she is not brave, but she bravely marches (almost runs) to reveal all to her uncle. But her courage does fail her slightly, as it would anyone, when the crunch actually comes.

Sometimes you have the most subtle and perfect bits of characterisations in the littlest of things. When you have the confidence in Albus's voice comforting Rose and putting some strength into her is so perfectly judged. It really shows exactly how Rose is: she takes her strength from those around her, from her friends, her family, complete strangers even. She lives for what she can do for others. It's why the attack upon her was so debilitating to her - had it happened to someone else then she would have been stronger for them and helped them far more than she has been able to do for herself.

Rose steels herself and all of the truth comes tumbling out. Harry is horrified, of course, but reacts intelligently and quickly: just as we all want him to be the older Harry is competent and holds to what we hoped that his younger self would become.

The move into Grimauld place wmill be a logical step, but it also allows for some good movements in the plot too.

'... probably wants to be here for you, Rose.” I wasn’t so sure about that last part, but nodded anyway.'
*double sigh* Oh Rose.

Harry is such the elder statesman. When Rose tells him that her father must never know, his reply is so well done. He states what we know about Rose, it reminds your readers that it has been true for Harry too. As Dumbledore said, Harry was/is a remarkably selfless person. So too is this Rose.

"Scorpius’s hand still holding on to mine. I knew he was just trying to be nice because I was so upset.'
Oh come on Rose, please please, I know you can't, dare not think that he has any other reasons for holding your hand than some sort of platonic comforting, but come on!

It's a beautiful moment right at the end, a mutual joining of two very alike souls comforting one another.

Well another great chapter and it leads into an outstanding one that I have already reviewed in that funny two-for-one review that I did a while back. It is a watershed in terms of the story and this chapter leads up to it very nicely. Actually this chapter is also a turning point in one way to - for a different strand of the plot: that of the scaring (both physically and mentally) of Rose by Stannous. It is now out there, and by sharing with her family she has lessened her pain considerably. She can now heal fully and not mark time as she has been by repressing it and keeping it to herself.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #6, by lhod23 Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

10th January 2016:
Oh I'm so happy to see an update! I am very impressed with how you described the grief felt by the different characters.. it was very realistic. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Gah! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I really appreciate it. I'm glad you like this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by oldershouldknowbetter Bombarda Maxima: Scorpius POV

8th January 2016:
I simply cannot believe it, I have a moment to review for the BvB and pop onto the thread only to find that once again I have the pleasure of reviewing your wonderful story once again.

Firstly, a big phew. Rose wasn't taken by Stannous in the last chapter, instead she was claimed by the arms of Morpheus. That's why we didn't know what happened to her, she had lapsed into unconsciousness from her ordeal. It is great that Scorpius is there, right on hand to aid her.

But he's not much help, Rose is in a very nasty way. From Selenia's administrations, we find out that there is nothing really physically wrong with her. It really brings it home to your readers the torture that Stannous must have put her through - to have his presence and only an attempt to try to spirit her away cause such emotional turmoil, enough to manifest itself so physically it has left such raw emotional scars upon the poor girl.

Soon enough though the others find that there are more than merely physical scars left upon her body. As her shirt rides up, it reveals the scars from the Crucio Flagrante. No one has seen them before. This is the very point that concerned me with your re-write, that surely somebody would have seen the scars before now, but that is the whole point. Rose has obviously been so withdrawn into herself, keeping herself from anyone due to the shame she perceives her scaring to be. It's really tragic, because she has also cut herself off from the comfort that she would receive from her friends and family.

Within all this emotional mess, there is a lovely little bit of characterisation for Scorpius. It's always a trap that an author falls into with characters that they love of making them too perfect. Here you give Scorpius a very understandable and logical flaw. We have seen him act with presence of mind in the heat of the moment and - a bit of a spoiler here - we shall she him do so again and again in the chapters to come. But he admits to us here that after the adrenaline has calmed down, he is not so good. The calm methodicalness that is required for a healer in these circumstances is not his to have. It also shows us how well the pair of Rose and Scorpius will compliment each other.

There is one positive thing out of the whole mess though, Scorpius realises the true depths of his feelings and love for Rose. He has thought so before, but now he knows how irrevocably he has fallen for her.

Scorpius too wonders just how Stannous has managed to breach the wards on the flat, time and time again. There must be more to this and knowing your skills as an author, the nature of it will be revealed in the exactly appropriate time and manner.

Some of the truth is finally revealed to her closest friends - Stannous didn't touch her except for the casting on her of his twisted version of the Cruciatus curse.

Scorpius almost looses it, and is prevented from seeing Rose by Dom. I can understand it, at the moment she needs her female friends and calm. She might be too upset by seeing Scorpius at this moment because he is the one whom she would be the most anxious about what his reaction to the scars might be. It is understandable, but so is Scorpius' reaction.

Luckily for him we have that caring friend in Albus by his side. Albus drags him away and Scorpius has enough prepossession to allow himself to be led. They apperate to the Forest of Dean, a good pull from the books, by the way. And what ensues is a scene filled with too much emotion (and wanton tree destruction) that I can say little about except that it is deftly handled by the author who never allows it to fall into the ludicrous.

We are treated though to a display of just how powerful Albus is as a wizard. The fight with his father was just the tip of his capabilities we have to now realise.

Scorpius berates himself as much as he hates Stannous: he should have known; he should have been there for her; he will always be there for her from now on. And just after is a beautiful little bonding moment with the two boys who are almost like brothers.

When they come back to the flat, there is also a tender moment between Scorpius and Selenia, that shows how close the two of them are as well. Nothing more to it than they are both in love with people that the other person loves too. We can see in them that mutual camaraderie.

Dom leaves Scorpius with Rose, leaving behind a few choice words too. Ones that I don't think that Scorpius fully deserves, but he - who is ever the harshest upon himself - thinks that he does.

He settles down near to Rose and enters a fitful sleep.

You say in your Author's note that you worked long and hard on this chapter and it shows. At any stage the rawness of the emotions at finally having the evidence of Rose's torture revealed to her friends could have dipped into the maudlin or the other way into the frankly risible, but you avoid either trap and steer a path fraught with emotional context. It is a powerful chapter.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter

 Report Review

Review #8, by TearsIMustConceal Befuddled: Rose AND Scorpius POV

6th January 2016:
Hey Beth, here for the BvB review battle!

Oh my, I have missed this story so, so much! The minute I started reading I just wanted to carry on but I can't because I have work but my god, this was amazing as per usual and you are just amazing and yeah, onto the review! (I have so many chapters to read, this makes me happy!)

Let me say, first off, "Skurmis hi yow narken?" favourite line of all time. I literally snorted at this, which was very unattractive but also very necessary because it's hilarious and it really does kind of sum up the pair of them – they're so awkward around each other, most of the time they can't get words out unless they're talking about something serious so this line just embodies them so, so well!

THEY FINALLY GOT TOGETHER!! This makes me extremely happy! Although their awkwardness and shy looks and everything was adorable, I am super happy finally talked about it! I was screaming at Rose in my head that she was so obviously wrong and that Scorpius still wanted her, she was just acting a little crazy! I also loved how you made Scorpius feel like he was a pervert every time he spoke to her – that made me laugh too – the pair of them are a match made in heaven because neither of them are the best with words when it comes to each other! But yay for it finally happening!

Awww, Scorpius healing Rose was so cute! “However, it only works in certain… situations” - I'm intrigued, does this mean it only works if you love the other person? Or something entirely different? This little detail really stuck out to me and I want to know what it means – Scorpius seemed really coy about it so i'm thinking it's to do with loving a person, maybe?

I also loved Rose believing that, when Scorpius touched her scars and she froze, that it wasn't her fault – I feel like that's such a significant point here, that she's finally becoming stronger and realising she wasn't to blame for anything that happened to her!

Anyway, this chapter was amazing and I can't wait to read the next! I've missed this story so much!!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Vicki!

Wow. This review was so sweet and kind and detailed and just... THANK YOU!

I really, REALLY enjoyed writing this chapter. I get SUPER frustrated with the awkward stories about two lovers who are obviously meant for each other and how they go back and forth with the misunderstandings and I DIDN'T want to do that here - but then this chapter happened. ;) I guess I can justify it by the fact that it didn't drag on...

Haha - I really like that line too.

Yes! Hold on to your thoughts on the "certain situations" where Scorpius's magic can work. That will come back. And it was really fun to have Scorpius think he was a pervert and Rose think he wasn't interested in her - I still chuckle at that.

Thank you again - SO much. You have no idea what your reviews mean to me.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Slytherdor18 Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

5th January 2016:
Hi Beth!

I just wanted to say that this was yet another great chapter! Idk if you remember me, but I was here yesterday. I reviewed only once (chapter 25 or 26 I think) and I'm sorry...but the reason why is because I've just flown through this story in a matter of less than 48 hours and I didn't wanna take the time to review because you had a few cliffhangers and I couldn't stop reading!

First things first: I CANNOT believe you killed off Selenia, she was the best and kindest character...how could you?! SHE DIDNT DESERVE IT! But then again, that's what makes a good writer: getting the reader emotionally attached. But then again I did see it coming, right when Rose's wand went off about the auror call. I knew it had to do with Selenia because she borrowed Rose's traveling cloak. Although I wasn't expecting death, I knew some kind of something would happen. In a way, it was a right move to do something as kill her off since this story is supposed to be a somewhat realistic world with dark magic and bad wizards. As realistic as a world with magic can get anyway.
Also, making all these characters cry has made me cry as well. I get too attached to things and I empathize almost too much.

I think you portrayed everyone - especially Al's - grief very well and accurate. It seems very practical. The fact that Rose isn't like Al also makes sense because she feels the need to take care of him and her soon to be child. i like how you have everyone grieving in a certain way.

I also totally remember the green package and I was hoping Rose would open it! Very cute, and I love how she chose gender-neutral colors because no one knows the gender yet.

Since you said you have figured out an outline of the rest of this story, you've got to know what gender you want the baby to be right? Ugh I kinda hope it's a boy but something is telling me it might be a girl...was the pregnancy potion that Rose took a foreshadowing to the gender reveal? I remember the silvery potion turned pink, but it was never explained if the pink had to do with the gender or just of the confirmation that she's pregnant.

Ugh I got so many questions!!! I want to know when Rose's memory gets jogged from when she fell (or was pushed) down the stairs. I also really want to know about the baby name! I've thought about constellations and stars and kind of like your thoughts of pheonix. I also like Orion and Rigel...there are so many obviously, whatever you choose will be a great one!

So...yeah. Please keep writing and updating, I love this story so much! You're a great author and seem so nice and kind. Everything seems like it has been well-thought out and great quality, thanks to crestwood. Being a punctuation/grammar freak who likes to edit everything like myself, I have seen one a few flaws but nothing to the point of where I can't understand anything. The writing and plot and fluff is just amazing! I love the concept of a new prophecy. I'm glad Scorpious doesn't feel as if he's evil anymore. Hopefully he won't be too worked up when he finds out Al got to feel the baby kick first haha ;D

That's about it for me, I'll see you in the next chapter (which will hopefully be soon!!) :)

Have a happy start of 2016!
-Morgan

Author's Response: Hi there Morgan!

Thanks AGAIN for stopping by to leave a review. This one was SO SWEET! (And yes - I totally remembered you :) ).

Wow. The whole story in less that 48 hours - that is impressive.

I really struggled with the decision to kill off Selenia. Originally it was going to be another character (I'm not ready to say who just yet) - but Selenia dying fit much better into the rest of the plot line. I know it's REALLY weird, but I miss her. She was awesome.

Ha! I'm so happy you remembered the little package. It was SO many chapters ago and I was nervous that readers would be like, "What the heck is going on?!" -so thanks for the vote of confidence on that.

I don't like giving away too much in my review responses, so I'm not going to comment on the gender of the baby - other than to say that I already know what it is AND I've got the name all sorted out as well. ;)

I'm glad you have questions - and I truly hope you stick with the story. It's reviews like this one that keep me going. Aww, thanks for the compliments - crestwood has been a great help to me.

Happy 2016 to you too!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Slytherdor18 Bone Tired: Scorpius POV

4th January 2016:
You writing is seriously so good! I am engrossed in this story. I just started this morning and now it's 8pm. I like how you switch up the POVs and also do well with trying to follow canon with the original characters (not next gen ones)! The plot is super good, I do love my fluff, but having things with a real thought-out plot is so great. You are really creative and talented!!
Another thing I would add that I noticed in this particular chapter is that you wrote about Al mentioning the prophecy to Scorp, Dom, and Selenia when they were all talking about Rose. I usually don't point out small flaws, but because you had a whole segment on how Harry told Dom and Al to Obliviate their significant others about the propehcy, I wanted to mention it. Al was like "is the prophecy too much to handle" or something along those lines...Selenia was apart of that convo when she wasn't supposed to know about it anymore.
Just thought I'd mention it, not trying to be negative or nitpicky!
Overall...Keep writing, you have really got me in deep with this story! I've even shed a good amount tears at the beginning with the mixed emotions of Rose and Scorpious, I really can't handle angst that well haha.
Love it! I will definitely be reading more of anything you write! :)
-Morgan

Author's Response: Hi there Morgan,

Gah! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I love getting feedback and I'm so sorry for taking so long to reply to this.

I just read through the chapter again to check out the plot error you mentioned and OMG - YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!! Thank you for pointing that out - I'll definitely rework the wording to fix that mistake. I think (iirc), I added this chapter in after writing through most of the story - so in "my head," I'd already revealed the prophecy to Selenia.

Haha - sorry I made you shed tears, but I do love that you're really into the story!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by oldershouldknowbetter Besieged: Rose POV

3rd January 2016:
Well how about this, my first review of the new year, the first for the new BvB and one of my old favourites again. It's all so good, let me dive in.

Well of course your readers are going to like the first paragraph. Snogging *sigh* and yay!

What to do about the press and public opinion of the Weasley/Potter people must be a concern for every writer of a Next Gen story. From my memory you haven't touched upon it much, but here you have a reference to it in the background and it has a logical position in your world. It is a presence in their lives and one which they must tread around carefully.

They still have not labelled their relationship, oh how them that is. Even when James pointedly refers to it, she still doesn't want to define what it is - especially not to Scorpius. Heaven forbid that they actually talk about their feelings towards each other to each other.

Her father's name is mentioned which causes Rose some consternation. Ron is always a force majeure in these sort of stories - whether he is a force for good or ill, and from what we've seen before he is not going to be that approving.

And then ...

You just cannot leave us happy, can you? No the drama just has to raise it's ugly head, though in your case the way I imagine him is far from ugly - I picture him as looking maturely handsome in a slightly evil and unsettling way.

Stannous is in her flat and it brings all of the panic that she has always felt. Her wand is not with her, blast (also, but of course it isn't).

She flashes back and we realise that the abduction by Stannous is so much worse because it was also a betrayal. It makes it so much worse that she really liked him, and in no schoolgirl-crush sort of way, but he was to her exactly what an older mentor should have been. She loved his lessons because they stimulated her mind and abilities. To have him be the one to hurt her would simply have to taint all of her memories of all of the things she'd learnt from him.

Oh, we are going to delve into what happened now. The shock of seeing him again has propelled her right back into the thick of it. I have jumped around this story so much that I cannot remember if this is the first time that we have learnt what really happened. If it is (and I think it is) it is a good place in the story to finally reveal the events.

Or as we shall see, what she remembers of the events, because she wasn't exactly compos mentis for the entirety of the ordeal. We are spared the gruesome details of exactly what went on and all we are informed of is that it was the worse torture she had ever known.

And here he is in her flat, urbanely sitting there and addressing her politely like nothing was amiss. She has been caught flat footed, but her brain at least is still working. She thinks about all of the protection spells upon her flat. There really cannot be much wrong with them or much of a gap in the protection that they bring. No it really has to be something else. It could be just that Stannous has a powerful and as yet unrecorded magic which allows him to breach her defences, but, from a little bit of a memory of what is to come, there is a tickle to me of what one of the causes of their breach could be. For anyone who actually reads these reviews as reviews, there is about to be a spoiler. But could the gap in their defences be an inside man, actually I mean, an inside woman?

And he reveals that he is still keeping an eye on her. It's just so creepy, but she cannot think about it now, she has to concentrate upon surviving and escaping him.

Reinforcement comes in the form of Dom, but that just summons more reinforcements for Stannous. One of them is the oily git from the party the other night. He grabs Rose and it is good to see that though her magic might desert her in these situations sometimes, her basic moxie hasn't. She lands a good solid hit on her assailant which allows her to break free. She is always struggling to overcome the repression of her abilities that the attack upon her in the past engendered.

The end of the chapter is so full of drama, it's beautifully done. She escapes one, to be jerked back into Stannous' clutches. Selenia tries to intercept her, but Stannous grasps her. Her friends try their best but more reinforcements arrive for Stannous, but they aren't for him, it's Scorpius and Al. Stannous' cronies desert him and he tries to apparate away with Rose and she manages to struggle free. Or does she?

The way you leave us, she could have gone with him or she might have stayed with her friends (please, please be more than just might, please be the one to be true). You know that I have read on, that I have read more than up to just this chapter, but the way you leave it I cannot remember exactly what happens next. Has she been abducted once again? I will really have to read on and find out.

As per usual, a great chapter with an amazing mix of both romance and drama. As of writing this review, I know that you have a new chapter out, but having just completed this review, I realise that I have forgotten a lot of the details inbetween. So I shall just have to re-read everything again instead of skipping to the latest chapter. *sigh* What a chore having to re-read all of this excellent story, I don't think.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #12, by grednforge217 Broken: Rose POV

3rd January 2016:
This is one of the best fics I've ever read, and I've been reading fic for a decade. I can't believe that this is your first fic, it is so well done! I already have such affection for these characters, and as somebody that suffers from anxiety, your description of panic attacks were so on point that they almost hurt. Thank you so much for writing this, I cannot wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Gah!

I just happened to be online and this amazing review popped up. Thanks so much! I'm so relieved that my portrayal of anxiety came across as realistic - I wanted to be very careful and respectful in dealing with that as part of the story.

I'm grinning so wide right now - I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by Tildis Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

3rd January 2016:
I love how this is not an ordinary love story were all problems come in form of bickering. This goes deeper than that. It's not Scorp vs Rose but Rose AND Scorp (And the rest of the potters/Weasleys) vs Stannous and Co.

Also while i thought Selinia was wonderful and actually brought something to the story I understand why you had to kill her of. Right in the feels on that one! Though I feel like a small moment from Albus point of view when he found her or how he feels right now whould probably bring even further emotions.(Maybe something for a chapter to come?). I am not complaining though, i looove this story and you are doing a great job writing it! Both the dialogs and way of writing feels natrual.

A great way to bring Albus bacck, btw!

I look forward to next chapter
//Tilde

Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm so sorry that it's taken me this long to reply to this amazing review. And I feel like you REALLY understand these characters. I was reading this like, "YES! THAT IS WHAT I'VE BEEN TRYING TO DO!!" Most of the Rose/Scorpius stories I've read were exactly as you described - a fighting match between the two of them. Some of them are fabulous stories, but I really wanted to tell mine a little differently.

That's a really good idea to put in Albus's POV. I've tried really hard to stay with Rose and Scorp so far, and I'm not entirely sure I want to go into the sort of grief he must be feeling - it's just TOO sad :(

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review - I really appreciate it!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

2nd January 2016:
OMG THERE'S A NEW CHAPTER I JUST CAN'T EVEN *flails*

Although maybe I shouldn't have been so eager to come back and have my heart broken...

I know I'm not even a character in this story, but even I can't believe she's gone, it's so sad, and you did an excellent job of conveying the absence and sense of loss they all feel - I mean you even made me feel it. Your portrayal of their grief was very, very real.

I'm glad to know that Sels' parents aren't holding a grudge against the wizarding world, that's very important and I'm glad you brought it up. And I'm also glad that, after taking their time to grieve, Harry and Scorpius and Dom are back on the case - I'm glad there's still someone out there working to find Stannous and I hope they find him soon! He definitely IS getting desperate and that doesn't bode well for Rose! And I'm glad she doesn't take issue with the 'no public places' thing anymore! It's for her own good, even moreso now than before!

Speaking of Rose, she's almost in her 3rd trimester!! EEK! I'm getting So excited for the baby... but also really, really nervous. I mean you just KNOW there's going to be one more big showdown with Stannous and I really, really hope it ends well for everyone involved... I don't think my poor heart could take losing another one of these characters you've made us fall in love with!

Seriously, I can't express to you how much I love this story, or how incredibly talented you are! I'll be eagerly waiting for the next chapter! Well done, as always!

-Jayde

Author's Response: Jayde,

I absolutely love your reviews.

I've gotta say it again. I LOVE YOUR REVIEWS! They are just so sweet and heartfelt and you make me FEEL every emotion that you went through when reading the chapter and it just... Gah! Thank you so much.

It really means a lot that you feel I did a good job with the grief. I try to balance getting deep enough into their feelings and going overboard to the absurd. But I can't imagine too many worse things than losing someone you loved so much at such an early age.

Haha - I'm pretty excited for the baby too. And you're spot on about a big showdown coming up - but I can't say anymore than that. I've got a bunch of things that need to happen before that. There's a ton more ups and downs ;)

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by AutumnRed Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

2nd January 2016:
SO happy you're back!!! I've missed reading this story, so I'm ecstatic you've updated.

xoxo,
AutumnRed

Author's Response: Hey there!

Oh - THANKS so much! I feel like we're really getting to the good part of the story and I'm so happy you took the time to leave a review.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins beard Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

2nd January 2016:
BETH ♥ ♥
FINALLY A NEW CHAPTER!
I love it! SO MUCH!
What a beautiful way to make Albus realize that life has to go on!

I love what you wrote about the funeral and I'm so glad that everyone got to say goodbye, even tho it was a muggle funeral. What Selenia's mum said to rose and scorpius was so great and so important for rose to hear. I'm so glad Selenia's parents aren't blaming magic for their daughter's death.

A house full of grieving people is probably the worst thing ever. I can't begin to imagine how Hermione or Ginny must feel when they enter and bring food and try to help... it must be absolutely terrifying for ginny to see her son suffer so much.

I have a folder of the few stories i love the most - i print them out and read them again after they are completed. (Out of all the stories I have read on the Archieves, so far six stories have made it into this folder). Well, seven if you count this one. I'll add it once it's completed.

Can't wait for the next chapter ♥

~Anja

Author's Response: Anja!

OMG - this REVIEW! Thanks so much for this. I can't believe my story is going to make it into your special folder. You have no idea how motivating that is to hear. Truth be told, I'm kinda stuck with writing right now. I've got the entire story outlined to the end, but I'm having a hard time getting it down :(

However, this review was so uplifting, I'm inspired to keep going.

Thanks again! *hugs*

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by Tildis Beautiful: Scorpius POV

1st January 2016:
Wow, i just LOVE this chapter. Its mesmerising how their love is so strong and how they are able to express this love without words. This was a pleasure to read, you truly showed that you have a way with words that goes without saying. Kudos to you!!

Author's Response: Hi there Tildis!

I'm so, SO sorry that I've taken so long to respond to this. I was so excited to see that you took the time to leave a review on my story. I'm really fond of this chapter too! I really wanted to convey their deep emotional attachment to each other - and how it goes beyond passion and love.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by CambAngst Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

31st December 2015:
Hi, Beth!

So today got away from me a bit. Often happens on the last work day before a long weekend. Nevertheless, here I am to put my thoughts into words.

I loved what you did with the story line in this chapter. After the horrible shock from the last chapter, you took some time to let the characters grapple with their emotions and try to come to terms with what happened. Pretty much the way people handle these situations in real life, so that felt very natural. Unless something huge was going to happen in the aftermath of Selenia's death -- another attack, a giant revelation -- this was the right way to pace things.

At least for me, your writing in Scorpius's half of the chapter felt a little stiff. They guy is obviously dealing with a lot of strong emotions and conflicting feelings of responsibility -- taking care of Rose, being excited about the baby, being worried about Al, wanting to catch the killer(s) -- as well as his own grief. What bugged me a little bit was the choice of words and phrases in some places. You normally write with such a natural-feeling flow and rhythm and not a lot of extraneous words. There were a few places where the phrasing of things felt a little too formal and the sentences got a bit long.

It was really sweet of Rose to try to help Selenia's muggle parents make sense of what had happened. I'm glad that her mother isn't going to end up embittered like Petunia Dursley. If I had any critique of this section, it was perhaps that Selenia's mother was dealing with things a little too well.

The high point of Scorpius's half of the chapter for me was James. I thought you did a great job with a character who hasn't been a major focus of the story up to this point. I loved the way you captured his small movements and mannerisms.

Moving on to Rose's section, I felt like you were right back into your normal writing style. It all flowed beautifully, especially the dialog. I had the sense that you were a lot more comfortable writing this section.

Samara... So now that I can't be suspicious of Selenia anymore, you've provided me a suitable replacement. ;) Is she a dark wizard collaborator or just an annoying fangirl?

He wouldn’t take the calming draught and only would drink the draught of dreamless sleep after much convincing on particularly bad nights. -- Some things obviously run in the family.

Wow. The letter from Selenia. That nearly undid me, as well. :-/ Once again, Rose almost starts to look through the case file from her training. Obviously you're saving that for a Big Moment in the story. I'm still highly suspicious that the dead couple are Draco and Astoria...

You came up with a brilliant way to snap Al out of his funk. I'm sure he's not completely out of it, but at least he seemed more like himself for a bit. You wrote the whole scene very well!

I noticed a few typos while I was reading:

“Nah,” I inhaled as I shook my head. He won’t come out. Still barely eating.” -- You missed your quote marks at the start of the second bit of dialog.

It was that image the completely undid me. -- that completely undid me

“She’d be really sod off if she knew... -- OK, I admit that I don't know whether this is wrong or not. It reads awkwardly and I'm not sure there's a proper past tense of "sod off". ;)

Awesome chapter! I'm looking forward to your big finale!

Happy New Year!
-Dan

Author's Response: Hey there Dan!,

The good news: I've fixed all the typos you found in this chapter.

The bad news: I completely suck at responding to reviews. I'm so sorry.

Thanks so much for finding those typos. I fixed the first two quickly checked on the last one, and I can't find a definitive answer, so I'll have to dig a little deeper when I get the chance and see if I should replace that with another phrase or if it's correct.

Also, thanks for your feedback on Scorpius's POV in this one. I'm definitely going to give it another look - and I think you're right - I didn't quite capture his intense range of emotions this time around. He's got to be feeling everything and carrying a lot of burden on his shoulders.

Haha - yeah - Selenia can't be an inside operative now that she's out of the picture. I like your thinking on this, but I'm still smiling because you haven't figured out everything just yet. As far as Selenia's mum was concerned, I totally took the easy way out on this one (*hides behind couch*) because I wanted a clean break with her parents. I didn't want them demanding an investigation from the ministry and adding another story line and cast of characters with their own agendas. I probably could've found some middle ground in between the two...

The letter was actually an afterthought, but it seemed to fit really well. It kind of acted as a nice way for Rose to say goodbye to her best friend.

The scene where Al feels the baby move has been around for ages. From the moment I knew I was going to have to kill off Selenia, that was going to be Al's olive branch back to the land of the living.

And since I know you read all of my author responses, I feel this little tidbit won't go unnoticed: In my original version (the one that first swirled around in my head and wouldn't STOP, so I just HAD to start writing), Selenia wasn't going to be the one who got killed. It was another character entirely. Maybe one of these days, I'll get around to making a thread on the forums with all this stuff... gotta finish the story first - gotta finish the story first - gotta...

Thanks again - I appreciate all your support and critique!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by Leeloo Besotted: Rose POV

31st December 2015:
Amazing chapter!! As far as character development, I think I prefer scorpions to rose right now! She's a little to damsel in distress for me...

Author's Response: Wow - TWO reviews! Thanks so much! I tried hard to not make Scorpius too whiny - maybe I forgot about Rose. I really enjoy getting your feedback. ♥

Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by leeloo Broken: Rose POV

30th December 2015:
Absolutely lovely!! Very few stories have me hooked on the first chapter! Bravo!!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm so happy you like the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by ginny4ever Brutal Agony: Rose POV

17th December 2015:
Wow. I never expected THIS to happen... But why Selenia??? *tears streaming*

I have a feeling the death had something to do with the case Selenia was trying to solve, with the exactly same curse having been used. Maybe Selenia was close to figuring out something, and Stannous found out? Okay I really have no idea what's going to happen next...

All I know is I always get this kind of bubbly, happy, excited feeling when I see that a new chapter has been posted!! ^^ I can't wait for the next one!

Emily

Author's Response: Hi there Emily,

I'm so sorry that I've taken so long to reply to this review.

Gah - I know I'm terrible with what happened to Selenia, but it had to be done. I cried myself when I was writing it. I like how you're thinking with the mystery and everything. All will be revealed. I really hope to have the next chapter up soon!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by oldershouldknowbetter Better: Rose POV

20th November 2015:
Hi there here is another review for the BvB. Thumbing through your chapters, I have begun to realise that whilst I am running out of chapters for you to review, there are plenty left of your story for me to chew through (not meant nearly as pejoratively as it sounds).

It is an interesting thought to me to have Rose be closer to her uncle than her father. I suppose that it might give a vital clue as to the differences between each of our takes upon the same character. There are so many similarities, I see a mention of the love of reading popping up, but in the end having your Rose 'kindred spirits' with Harry will produce a remarkably different version than my own. It is not the reason that I love your story, but it is one of them, reading about the wonderfully drawn and fully realised character that is your Rose and it's so different to how I picture her. As to our Scorpii (I try to use the plural form because I know you love it), they are far more similar except for the tragedy that you inflicted upon the young lad.

This little bit of exposition is delivered to us on the way to Harry's office. It explains a lot of what happens in future chapters: how welcome she is made to feel and how much freedom she has to come and go from the Auror department. She is of course on her way to meet us where we left the boys at the end of the previous chapter.

It really made me smile how the quickly disappearing and smirking Albus that we left in the last chapter is halted so abruptly by the Rose we encounter in this chapter. She does have bravery and gumption and strength of will, she demonstrates it here, but it fails her when she needs it most. The way I think it is, please correct me if I'm wrong, is that if she is in a place of comfort or where she knows that her abilities are unquestioned, then she has all the determination in the world. But when she is ill at ease, in a place that she feels out of depth -whether that is really true or not, or her just thinking that it is so - then that is where her courage fails her.

She heals Albus showing her proficiency at the healing arts, even though she is still only a trainee like Scorpius and Albus are. Albus repeats his earlier statement and Rose feels like pinching him, good on her! No, wait a sec, bloody listen to him and talk to the boy already. That's once each in successive chapters (actually twice in each chapter) that Albus has said the same thing to each of them, and are they going to pay attention? Your average reader doesn't have to have read ahead, like I have, to know that it is not going to be the case.

Rose looks over to see if Scorpius has heard, but he is otherwise occupied: she goes 'phew'; we go 'arrgh!'

... but wait a sec, rose's hind brain has taken over control of her mouth in conjunction with her subconcious. She asks him to meet her later on! WOOT! Happy days.

You continue what you have shown in chapters before this, of having everyone except the two of them know that they fancy each other and tell them to get on with it. Even Harry, and the way you do it is so charmingly fatherly that it shows us how much they both love and respect each other.

Oh look, I have run out of chapter - you said it was a short one - and unlike usual, I have not run out of words. The total number of characters I've used has only been 3742, no 3753, no ... oh you know what I mean.

So I'd like to go over something that we conversed about in the pm format. I mentioned how it is that in a good romance the author should attempt to keep the two lovers apart for the majority of the work. You expressed a slight aversion to that sort of 'cruelty' inflicted upon the characters (ha! it is to laugh, with the torments that you inflict upon your characters, that it is in this one aspect you show them mercy). I maintain that, far from avoiding it, you have done it in this beautifully constructed romance.

You see, you don't have to keep them apart only physically. With this wonderful story, you have your romance cake and eat it too - they are together, but are also kept apart. So the two lovers are together, which we all love and that is where strictly 'romance' would normally stop, but what you have done is make the environment in which they inhabit so precarious that happiness could be snatched away from them at any time. To clarify what I mean, the two are apart in that they cannot relax in each others arms and not have to look over their shoulders - they are awaiting the advent of things beyond their control, that could occur at any moment, and result in their separation.

It is so well done. You might like all the stuff that I am doing with the concept of magic and the way the magical world works in my story, but I am equally impressed with what you are doing with the structure of what should be a simple romance. It is complex and layered and beautifully done.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Hi there Andrew,

I cannot BELIEVE this review is from over two months ago - I'm so sorry for taking this long to respond. The good news is that since you've been a writing MACHINE, there are now SEVEN chapters in Pride & Scorpius that I haven't gotten to yet - so no worries there!

Rose being closer to Harry than Ron has always been my head canon. I think it actually has a lot to do with my own relationship with my father. It's not weird or anything (and I'm not actually closer to an uncle - I didn't grow up with any around me). My dad is just not great with expressing his feelings - much like Ron. He definitely HAS a lot of feelings, but when he's so close to a situation, he tends to go on emotional overload and bungle things up (this is more Ron than my dad). Harry is slightly removed from the situation, being the uncle and can see Rose's POV a little more than a hot-headed Weasley can. :)

Hee hee, Scorpii - I giggle every time.

And YES! Yet again, you totally picked up on Rose's bravery and gumption, when she needs it. She doesn't see it herself, but she is brave in her own way. Plus, she KNOWS Albus inside and out - and he is NOT going to get away with anything on her watch.

Gah! Andrew - you're so kind with your words. I agree that a good romance story will soon be over the minute the two characters realize they are finally meant to be together, but I really didn't want my story to be that way. I wanted Rose and Scorpius to be working together to fight against a greater evil. I'm so glad you feel like I'm getting to that point! To be honest with you, I feel like I still did far too much 'together - apart - together - apart' for my taste in this story. But sometimes the characters have a way of just doing it to themselves, despite my best efforts - haha.

Thanks again - for all your reviews. I really, truly treasure each one.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by Musing Besieged: Rose POV

18th November 2015:
Hi Beth! I am here again. Reviewing for BvB.

Wow, a lot happened in this chapter. The beginning was so nice and fluffy. Rose and Scorpius are finally dating and although Rose isn't quite sure about it being a 'relationship', I hope it wouldn't take too long from here. Rose has no one but Scorpius over her mind and just when I thought that the only problem now is handling a certain 'red-headed temper'...

BOOM! Here comes Stannous! (Yeah, I know things can't get al right this early in the story. Plus, Rose has to fully recover from her PTSD.)

I couldn't help but deliberate the fact that Hogwarts got such a horrible man as a Transfiguration teacher after Dumbledore and McGonagall. Stannous used to be Rose's favourite teacher and gathering from the way you have described his way of teaching, he must have been good at his subject. Was that only a garb to fool everybody?

That man from the party is Stannous' accomplice?! Stannous may have returned after two years, but I think he has a plan up his sleeve.

I was reading the last part at such a speed, all the while hoping that Stannous doesn't get successful in taking away Rose again. I really drew out a breath of relief when I knew that he didn't! But, I think he did damage to Rose, again. Poor Rose! The way she was screaming and pushing away everyone nearly broke my heart.

Hey! It's not fair to end the chapter here. I have so many questions I want answers to. What does Stannous wants from Rose? How did he break through the wards of their flat? Will Rose return to her old withdrawn self? What will Scorpius do?

Yes, I know what you will say. I should read further. ;) I will do so at the first chance I get. :D This was such an AWESOME chapter. You surely know how to keep your readers interested.

-Emm ^_^

Author's Response: Hi Emm,

Ugh - I'm terrible and I've let this review go far too long without replying, but I'm determined to get these answered this week! Thanks so much for this! I know this chapter was one of the more intense ones - and I'm actually a bit giddy that you were so taken in by it. I never know how my writing is going to come off and I can't tell you how exciting it is to get a review that goes through all the emotions the reader felt while they were reading the chapter. Eeep!

Haha - I know it was a rough spot to end it - and a fair warning - the next chapter isn't too much of a chipper one, but the story is really starting to move at this point.

Thanks again - I ADORE getting your reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by oldershouldknowbetter Bitter: Scorpius POV

14th November 2015:
Hi there, I have finally snagged you for the BvB. I had thought to maybe review something else, but how could I resist coming back to one of my favourite stories on this site. I've told you that I had to not read your story for a while, that the stories that I liked with a really strongly drawn Rose I couldn't read because it interfered with the voice of my Rose in my head. Well recently I've finished writing some chapters with a lot of internalised Rose deliberation and having penned them, I've gotten it firmed in my mind and so could go back and resume reading these stories again. One of the first I came back to was this wonderful tale and I am happy to say that I'm up to date. I vaguely thought about reviewing the latest chapter, but I went to and realised that I wanted to comment on a lot that came before. So here I am, back at the first one that I haven't reviewed yet.

And it's a wonderful chapter (though most are). It's the one after all the horrible party and the drunkeness. After Rose had 'rescued' him from his drunken state and obviously hung around with him for the rest of the weekend on what anyone else would call a protracted date, but these two cannot; these two who have not yet mustered up the gumption to actually be honest with each other and talk.

We find both Albus and Scorpius together in the Auror department, with the new trainees, and being a disruptive influence.

I like what you've done regarding Harry and his reforms of the Auror department. We do not know much of it from the books, just the merest snapshot, but it fits with how the rest of the ministry was run. Harry reforming it rings true to me and is a wonderful example of his character. The mentoring system is also well done, not only from a practical point of view, but for what it allows you to do with your story.

Harry is so warm and welcoming and tolerant and ... but like any father, a young son can always make one see red by being inconsiderate. In trying to get a rise out of his mate, all Albus succeds in doing is raising his father's ire. This is such a good examination of intra-family dynamics. Actually it all is, a lot of what you've written in these first few chapters: from Ron's over protectiveness of his daughter in the flash back; to the last day of Scorpius' parents; and now this. The story proper is focused upon the Next Gen kids, but they are informed by the strong personalities who are their parents. So incidents like this one are like baton passing moments, where the leading man status is passed on by Harry to his son. His son now has the imperature to be the hero of his own story and not have to feel that he is just a secondary reflection of his famous father. It's so well done.

But, I'm getting ahead of myself, I haven't even gotten to that bit in the story yet. Harry in a bit of a fit of pique, calls his son out and has him 'demonstrate' duelling for the new recruits. The exposition you provide from Scorpius is wonderfully done: informative without being too much. It also shows, again, Scorpius' Ravenclaw nature and that he is so connected to and in touch with everyone he loves - except for Rose. Argh! As to an angered Ginny Potter, everyone knows that's something to fear.

Scorpius looks around and realises that he is the only one who knows it's all about to go south. At this moment we know that he is already a good Auror and in time will become a great one.

You write the action so well. The mounting tension is palpable (ha! I've just read on and you have Scorpius use the same phrase too and he's right) and having the combatants marching in on each other is such a good device; it ramps up the tension each time you do it. Just as it comes to a head you have Scorpius be a peacemaker and step between them. And we all relax and it was all a demonstration - yeah, right. Any newbie who actually believes that needs some training in conflict recognition.

Scorpius takes them away so that the two of them can explode at each other in private (again, how much do I love your Scorpius). Things are said some that cannot be unsaid, but thankfully you use it as a goad to force a realisation upon Harry that has been a long time in coming. Scorpius is again the catalyst here - so good.

Almost effortlessly do you show us what maturity brings when you have Harry reconcile things with his son. 'Yes, I've been hard on you, but you deserve it because you're better than me and you will be great' to paraphrase. Such the elder statesman.

S.N.A.K.E.s - rises from my chair to give you a standing ovation, such a good catch of an acronym. And you haven't forced the words to fit either, bravo.

The tension is diffused and like a good father should, Harry gives his two boys a pat on the back; metaphorically and literally. One for the abilities that every Auror wants and aspires to and the other for the abilities that every Auror actually needs.

The end of this dramatic scene is interupted by a certain little, female, red-headed Weasley. Scorpius goes weak at the knees upon seeing her and Albus gets a poke-in-the-side into Scorpius before scampering away; the poke being only verbal thankfully after the recent physical exertions.

And that is when we are reminded of the very first line of this chapter. And it also jogs our memory about something else too. What was the initial disruption all over? That's right, Albus trying to get his mate to be honest with Rose about how he feels! Argh *pulls hair out* we know Albus, we know!

Another great chapter in such a great fic.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Andrew,

I always must leave your reviews to be answered last so that I can give them the attention they are due. No other reader of mine is so detailed in noticing every small part of my story - whether it be in the plot, characterization, or interpersonal relationships (for which there is NO lack of in this particular installment :) ).

It makes me so happy to read all your points - but it also pushes me to be the best writer I can be. I don't want to disappoint any of my readers, but there are a select few who I feel hold their standards high, and I want to make sure that I keep to those standards.

I completely understand about not wanting to confuse the voices of your own characters from reading another story. I generally avoid that as well, but I'm so happy you've found yourself at a point where you can come back to this one - because your reviews are so amazing!

I chose the title of this novel rather on a whim because 'it just seemed to fit.' I had only written about half of the overall plot when I started posting on this site (which is what forced me to choose a title). The working title on my computer was "Rose is Rose." Immediately, I hated "Actions Speak Louder Than Words." It is too cliche and sounds like a syrupy love-hate novel. But the more and more I've written these two protagonists, the more I realize that the title holds true for their story - they choose to use their quick-witted minds to out-think each others' emotions rather than just have a chat about it. The cycle of not talking leading to a misunderstanding, leading to more angst repeats in several instances. So, although I still feel like my title is a bit predictable, I can't think of anything else that would be a better fit for this. (Wow - I had no intention of revealing so much in a review response - hah!)

Thank you for your kind words about my action scene. This was my first go at writing a duel and it was complicated by the fact that there were so many bystanders that would have a reaction to what was going on. I wasn't exactly sure if I'd pulled it off, and I rely on feedback from the readers to let me know - so thanks!

Eeep! So glad you like my S.N.A.K.E.s exams - I was particularly proud of that - as it seemed to fit so well with the exams taken by Hogwarts students. Since those exams are overseen by the Ministry, it seemed to make sense that they would also have their own exams with short-hand names. And I was so excited to see that you nominated that for a SOTM award. Thank you!

Yes! You noticed how I brought the chapter back to the important issue at hand - Rose and Scorpius! EVERYONE can see that they need to be together - when will these two figure it out?

Thanks again, Andrew - this review was fabulous!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by BellaLestrange87 Brutal Agony: Rose POV

11th November 2015:
This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

Beth. How could you? *sobs* Not Selenia! *grabs box of Kleenex*

I really liked your writing here; you could really tell just how shocked and upset everyone was. A lot of Rose's narration in this chapter seemed really impersonal (at least to me) and I felt that it really showed the shock and grief that she was going through, and how she was trying to cope by focusing on her job, mechanically, and on tending after all the other patients.

I feel like this is the beginning of the end of the novel; Selenia's been murdered *sits in puddle of tears* and Rose's pregnancy is further along. If I might make a prediction, I think you'll end it with a cliffhanger, with Rose's/baby's fate unknown, and then make us wait for Book 2/sequel, with the prophecy to deal with.

I'm really looking forward to the next chapter - hopefully nobody else dies (well, nobody we like, anyways; Stannous could die and I'd be really happy) - and this was a wonderful chapter, as always!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Olivia,

I'm so sorry. I really am.

But at the same time, I'm so pleased that the chapter read like someone in shock. I really wanted to convey how Rose was feeling at the time - her words weren't coming too easily to her and she was trying so hard to focus on her job.

Wow. I actually like your idea better than the way I've planned out the novel. Hmmm... you've got me thinking now.

Thanks so much for this awesome review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>