46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FriendofMolly CH 28 The Twin Towers

6th April 2014:
Jet,
This was a good review of who and what's been going on. I think if you had added anything more it would have been lost on those of us still stunned, 12 years later. On the other hand, it has whispers of what is to come. That is something to be excited about.
FoM

Author's Response: I made the choice when I started my story to tie it into real dates. One can argue if that was a good idea or a bad one, but I am trying to be true to that decision. I did not think that you could just gloss over September 11. Some years later there is an attack in Britain. I mention it as well.

I think the Wizarding world is more closely connected to the Muggle world than some Pure Blood families would like to believe.

Thank you for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly Ch. 26 The Malfoy Wedding

29th March 2014:
Jet,
I am so glad this chapter has finally posted. The flow and content are just perfect. Even though Ginny reacted a bit selfishly about Harry having to be in Switzerland during the Quidditch Finals, I am thrilled that when she recognized that Harry needed her, she was right where she needed to be.
Bravo,
FoM

Author's Response: Ginny knows that Harry has to put his job first at times. Sometimes what our head knows and what our heart wants are two different things.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #3, by dtinch Ch. 25 The Spring of 2001

3rd February 2014:
great job sorry i havent reveiwed for a while but got caught up in another story and life got in the way as well but again great job and thanks for writing a good story and keep it up .

Author's Response: Sorry I haven's updated in a while. There are several chapters in the works, but my Beta and I am still working on them.

Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Tycho165 Ch. 25 The Spring of 2001

23rd January 2014:
other than ginny's very annoying whining at the end it was very good. but i guess i could see being a little sister would make you very attention craving. Nice job!!!

Author's Response: She really wants to have Harry at her games, which is understandable. She is not handling it very well right now. Tougher separations are coming, but I hope to show Ginny doing her best to handle it.

Thank you for the nice review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMolly Ch. 25 The Spring of 2001

22nd January 2014:
Jet,
How different this is from the first draft. It definitely flows a lot smoother, and opens a few possible plotlines. In every story, I find the urge to throw a Petrificus Totalus at someone. If I had two wands Carmella and Colorado would be my target candidates in this one. I understand Ginny's disappointment, but she is whining like a 14 year old. She can't be surprised when Harry gets pulled into a crime scene. She knew how he was when she married him. It's time for Harry to dig out his Omnioculars, so someone can record Ginny's matches. It's getting really good and mysterious, as there is so much that can happen.
FoM

Author's Response: It really helps having to rewrite something.

I'm working on having Ginny work hard on understanding Harry not being there. It's just hard to have such a fabulous sports season and then the most important person in your life is not there.

Thank you again for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMolly CH 24 The Christmas of 2000

16th January 2014:
Jet,
You wrote a stupendous Christmas chapter. It was very sweet that you wrote of Harry and Ginny's plans of sharing their home with children who wouldn't have a Christmas. The simplicity of having the little ones make an ornament, was unique and beautiful. Thank you for sharing the first of many Christmas that Harry was able to participate in making it special for others.
Perfect,
FoM

Author's Response: Christmas and summer at the pond are going to be markers for the stories as the next generation gets older. Harry working the 23 and 24th is also going to play into some future chapters.

Please let me know when I fall short. Thank you for the review.

Ket


 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMolly Ch. 21 Ginny’s Head Injury and Hermione’s Promotion

15th January 2014:
Jet,
Never a dull moment in the Weasley Family. Narcissa may not have met the Toad, but surely she knew that Draco was the head of her Inquisitor Squad. I'm sorry that Ginny hurt herself, but it sounds like she put to end someone the MLE should have.
FoM

Author's Response: Ginny got a little carried away. Quidditch is in my mind a little like American Football or boxing, leaving too many of it's players injured. Her body is already a little battered, and it would be wise for her to be a little more careful.

Narcissa and Molly are important.

Thank you again for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMolly Ch 20 Kreacher Reflects

13th January 2014:
Jet,
If only, if only. My heart breaks for Kreacher and Azalea. There is nothing worse than losing a child. In this case change brings pain, before the good. Harry certainly wouldn't want Azalea to endanger her health. Yet he is sadly unaware. Here's to better days.
FoM

Author's Response: You can see by the second inscription that Fletcher's life and death are bringing major changes to the Wizarding world. It is sad that it takes so much pain to bring this type of change.

Harry would be horrified if he knew Azalea is endangering her own life to fulfill Harry's off the cuff remark about having children. This story thread is not over.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMolly Ch. 18 Relatives

13th January 2014:
Jet,
This was a little bit trouble, but a lot more joy I have to agree that Tom and Bill's grandfather and father are the nastiest we've seen in a long time. They were only topped by the absolute most hated woman alive, Dolores Unhitched. I predict she will spend the last miserable days of her life screaming,"I was only doing my job". At least the family have their own private beach to relax on.
Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: I think people will forgive big evil more easily than petty meanness that delights in hurting other people. Dolores and Vernon Dursley seem to differ only in degree, and it is hard to see anything good about either of them.
The cousins are going to love the beach.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMolly Ch. 16 Victoire has Red Hair!

13th January 2014:
Jet,
This keeps getting better and better. You are delving into the whys of House Elves. It's fascinating.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you.

It is always interesting to me how different authors handle the next generation. Birth order is important. Victoria is portrayed many different ways.

It seemed to me that everyone had Dominique as a female, although the name could be male or female. So when I first started to write the story I tried to make her male. It didn't work. I find it fascinating that even an author only has so much control of their characters.

I hope I can keep the house elf story consistent and fascinating.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMolly Ch 15 Attacked by Guns!

12th January 2014:
Jet,
The final segment is the best. I think Donna learning to giggle is the first in a long line of good Motherhood lessons. Why a witch is fussed with a dirty dress? Does she not know Scourgify?
It was inevitable that guns would invade the magical community. It funny how the DE's willing adopt Muggle technology, when it does harm. This was breathtaking.
FoM

Author's Response: I am not sure how good Donna is at domestic spells, unlike Molly for example. Even if she does know Scourgify she may not take a messy dress lightly, especially if her mother was upset if Donna got dirty doing anything but playing Quidditch.

Donna has a long part to becoming a good mother, and it will not always be easy. I expect her own children would not be as timid at Tabitha, which would cause Donna to have to change parenting skills again.

Every child is different and ought to be parented differently.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMolly Ch. 22 The trial of Dolores Umbridge

12th January 2014:
Jet,
I could hear her screeching all the way. I think her hunger for power and tight standards for that power is what finally took the rest of her mind. She certainly was delusional when she stated that if given the Kiss she would become a Dementor. I can just imagine her in her cell, lecturing a
non-existent class about the wonders and noble purpose of working in a proper Ministry. It's unfortunate that she probably will never acknowledge what she did was wrong. It fits with the attitude of the DE's.
Well Done,
FoM

Author's Response: I have actually started on a little work set in the afterlife. Harry and Dumbledore confront an unrepentant Tom Riddle. It allows me to grant some salvation to unhappy people like Petunia, who should not be condemned to spending eternity next to Vernon. I don't see any salvation for Dolores, however.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMolly Ch. 23 Romeo and Juliet elves, Oh my!

12th January 2014:
Jet,
Such is the price for modernization coming to the Magical World. It just can't happen overnight. The ever-evolving change is exciting to read. I do want to point 1 thing to you. Your other Beta had put a correction as to the spelling of butterbeer. The correction is between two sets of **, instead of parenthesis's. You might want to remove it. I can't wait for the next chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: I looked for both * and ( in this chapter and couldn't find them. I think it is corrected now. Beer not bear.

Most of the long story has the evolving freeing of house elves in it.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMolly Ch. 14 Harry in China for Potions, then Reorganizing the Ministry

12th January 2014:
Jet,
You never cease to surprise me. Things are changing all over the Magical World. It's about time. Must go to the next.
FoM

Author's Response: Harry and Hermione are not the only people trying to change the magical world. In this ever changing world with more and more intrusive technology some groups of magical people have to be trying to deal with it and not just hide. I have the North American and Chinese in the lead, with Switzerland and some of the European countries right behind.

I portray Britain as behind the times, partly due to Riddle and some very conservative wizards. There are other parts of the world even more behind the times, however.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly CH 13. Hermione meets Twinkie, and buys a house

12th January 2014:
Jet,
Oh my! The ever evolving change of the elves. I can just see Kreacher, his reaction to Twinkie was priceless. I think he was comfortable with a certain level of subversive, but Twinkie, is a bit of a bulldozer. What is ahead is going to be different than we've seen before.
FoM

Author's Response: In some ways you can sum up Kreacher when you realize that he mutters subversive under his breath, and then grins at Harry. I think he is enjoying being subversive. He really is the head of an ever growing number of elves, however, and he has to keep peace between the very conservative ones and the more liberal ones, which is not always easy.

Kreacher is mated to a very very conservative house elf, which causes its own problems.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMolly Ch 12 Harry buys Hermione a house elf

12th January 2014:
Jet,
I LOVE HARRIET! She is a real firestarter. I'd say by bringing together the two most outspoken elves together, you have found the two most qualified to start the revolt and the uplifting of all elves. It won't be easy or fast, but it will be right. I can see exciting things are about to happen.
FoM

Author's Response: As I am getting into the last two years of Bad Guys there are certainly more exciting and interesting things happening with the house elves. I hadn't really thought a lot about it, but Dobedo, although he doesn't talk like much of a revolutionary, should not be underestimated either. Kreacher and Dobedo have both had a lot of time talking to Harry and trying to understand him.

H**/Twinkie is the proverbial bull in a china shop.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMolly Ch. 11 “Into a New Millennium”

11th January 2014:
Jet,
There is so much in this chapter, that grabs my heart. I think as much as Donna has learned about mothering, I think she needs a session with Molly. Bill and Donna's parents on the other hand need a session with a mirror. I wonder if like the Mirror of Erised, there might be a Mirror of Truth?
FoM

Author's Response: Installed two big guards at the Soo locks today, and one more to go tomorrow. I have a little time to answer your most appreciated fan mail.

Donna's parents need something. I'm not sure what to do with them. As Donna's career winds down maybe I can work a little redemption in the story for them.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly Ch. 10 First Christmas at Grimmauld Place

11th January 2014:
Jet,
It's time for so many people to count their blessings. A lot of people might think Tabitha was a lucky little girl for being adopted. Donna and Bill are the 'lucky' ones. Tabitha will be the final piece that will make them a loving family. Harry needs to finally embrace his place in the family. He needs to stop feeling like a little kid looking in the window, and know he along with the family are the ones who make the window.
On to the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Bill Lionheart came first, and then his wife, Donna. I had no idea when I started writing the story what a prominent person Donna would become. In all honesty this Christmas story surprised me as much as any reader.

Harry is growing and learning how to be part of a loving family, but like anything it is a process. Yes, he has to stop feeling like all his good luck could go away at any moment.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMolly Ch 9 First String

11th January 2014:
Jet,
I never thought that even after getting rid of Riddle would stop all Dark Wizards. But how much more sinister is what is happening with now with the kidnappings. It's easy to understand the fear the families are going through, but Harry was right. They had to get the story out, if they wanted to keep the rest of the Magical world safe. What the kidnappers will do, who knows, but it can't be any worse than they already have done.
I must continue.
FoM
PS Sometime when you are retired you can fix the spelling mistakes. I see Delores has reared her ugly head, again.

Author's Response: I have gone back more times than I can count fixing things. At some point you just have to keep working on the story and do your best.
Thank you for the review. Bellatrix was portrayed as not only wicked but crazy, someone who loved to hurt people. I would expect nothing but horrors from her until they finally get rid of her.
No easy answers when it comes to the kidnappers, but I think Harry had to let the Wizarding community know what was going on.
Jet


 Report Review

Review #20, by dtinch Ch. 21 Ginny’s Head Injury and Hermione’s Promotion

20th December 2013:
good chapter and story keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thank you. I have posted a little contest story. I hope you like it as well.

The next chapter is closer to getting done, but it needed major work. My Beta reader and I are trying to keep the quality up.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #21, by dtinch Ch 20 Kreacher Reflects

16th December 2013:
good chapters Kreacher seems to be between a rock and a hard place.

Author's Response: I don't want you to get the idea that Kreacher is unhappy with his life. Most of it is pretty good. Having a sick baby, and then have it die, was obviously hard, but Kreacher has a lot less problem with Azalea just being there to help the elves or take care of one child than Azalea. But Kreacher knows Harry Potter, and he things mostly in English. Azalea thinks mostly in Elfish, and that limits her. She will end up satisfied with her life too.

Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #22, by UH60TI Ch 20 Kreacher Reflects

14th December 2013:
This is the shortest, but I think one of the most informative and thought provoking chapters you have written in either story.

I really like that you took the time and effort to explore the emotional and social side to house elf relationships with wizards. I also really like the way you are showing how Kreacher sees what Harry wants and is trying to hold to those orders.

I have truly enjoyed reading this story and it's predecessor and look forward to more in the future.

You are one of my favorite authors on this site.

Author's Response: Thank you!

I have a few shorter chapters coming.

Most of the both stories have been written from Harry's point of view. I do have a chapter at the start of my fourth story written from several other points of view, and I've just done a challenge story, not yet validated, written from an Original Character's point of view.

Kreacher sees what Harry wants. He is living in the Wizarding world, and spends most of his day thinking in English.

Azalea is thinking in Elfish. She cannot be just Azalea. In Elfish she is Azalea who is Kreacher's mate FOR THE PURPOSE OF HAVING CHILDREN TO SERVE THE POTTER HOUSEHOLD. There just are no words, no thoughts, in elfish for having a mate or doing anything unless it is in service to your master.

What do you do if you can no longer serve your master? It is an almost unbearable existence, like Winky. That's why no one can talk to Harry about it. There are just no words to convey the dilemma.

It's sad.

It will change, but not quickly nor easily.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #23, by FriendofMolly Ch. 19 The Death of Fletcher

9th December 2013:
Jet,
It was perfect. Fletcher was so very young and yet he meant so much for a lot of Magicals. The sorrow I feel for he and his parents is deep. I am stunned, but not really surprised, that Gwen and Gawain have the attitudes they do. It will take time, but I see a time when house elves are respected as the unique and equal beings they are, revered for their abilities, and treated with awareness, not an afterthought. But until then, I would love to meet Twinky.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you.

Gwen and Gawain are not bad people. They have just been raised in a culture where it never occurred to people that house elves ought to be treated as equals. The fact that house elves (mostly) did't complain, that it is not in their nature to complain, is one reason.

Twinky is a character. You would probably like knowing her, but working with her might be a challenge.

Thank you for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #24, by Cicero_daredevil Ch 17 Going Topless in France

2nd December 2013:
Love how the story is progressing on the sides wish a little more on captives and some movement there

Author's Response: I know Harry would too. He will eventually, but it is going to take time.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #25, by FriendofMolly Ch 17 Going Topless in France

29th November 2013:
Jet,
I see new experiences just keep cropping up for Harry. I often think about how he was brought up. He just keeps discovering more of the world that was denied him , while with the Dursleys. If you had given us a visual, I would think Harry would have blushed his first Weasley red. But it was lovely, seeing the relaxed and fun times they were all sharing.
Till the next,
FoM

Author's Response: I probably should have had Harry stammering a lot more. I get the impression that Wizarding Britain is pretty Victorian. Petunia strikes me as a real prude as well.

Ginny is pretty gutsy. I can't see her not doing as the French do, as long as it was a good, moral choice. Neither Fleur nor Ginny are really doing anything wrong or wicked. It's just a matter of different standards.

Jet


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>