Reading Reviews for The New Pride of Portree
  
248 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GeekAttack An Off Day

25th July 2015:
Amazing work! I love quidditch fics and this was so interesting and delicious to read! I love Molly and Fitz- great character work. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by bittersweetflames Flight and Family

20th June 2015:
Yays, next chapter! I am NOT sorry. This story is just giving me a lot of opportunities to smile. I mean, I am already planning on rereading it and I haven't even finished it. So, ok. Meghan McCormack. I've read her in the first two chapters, of course, but I want to take this opportunity to talk about her. She really strikes me as a smart and shrewd woman who knows her business. She is not without her kindness though and that is why, even just as a supporting character, you have really managed to make her completely 3-dimensional. Thought I should mention that (and add in a thank you. Because, really, thank you.)
HAHAHA. OMG. And OF COURSE, a Weasley is the Healer. And Hugo! GOD, I love your Hugo. And, of course, Fitz is right.. There must be HUNDREDS of Weasleys. At least, in their small insular world it must certainly seem so. The way you talk about his injuries, I just feel so much more for him - he seems to be in so much pain and that must have been the most awful thing to have happened to him. I cannot imagine just losing something you're so passionate about in one fell swoop and having to live with a constant daily painful reminder of it.
I think their confrontation on the pitch is just perfect. Molly, while seemingly the type to do things with the fullest extent of her abilities would have an introspective side as well.
OK, awww.. I loved the family dinner. You really managed to capture a lovely family scene that was not without its little flaws but it was so homely and warm. I love the thing about Lucy and Hilarion (note to self: read story about Lucy and Hilarion) and when she came to the conclusion that the only way to get the team up to snuff was to basically do things without letting him know. If I'd been Fitz I'd be royally annoyed but as a woman rooting for Molly? You go, girl!

(And I'm sure he's still plenty attracted to her, anyways.)


Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #3, by bittersweetflames The Dreaded Ex

20th June 2015:
Yay, back for more! You've probably heard this over and over but your story is just very very addicting. It's not hard to keep reading and keep reading and realise you're still awake at 5 in the morning. But, ok. This is funny. The thought that a coach would have to steel himself to attend a practice.. It just strikes me as funny and then OF COURSE Mariah Waldman. I'd forgotten the intrigue I'd felt when I'd read the end of Chapter 1 and you'd mentioned her. And OMG, yes. they were married, weren't they? At the very least, it seems they did NOT part in amicable terms. (and, ok, read forward. Divorced. Yes, married it seems. GO CARLA!)
Anyway, I loved the way Fitz is just so awkward at the whole speech thing. He's not really motivating them to do any better and he's barely teaching them what to do in order to function as a team. You have me questioning at this point how on earth they're going to ACTUALLY play a game.
Then the Molly part.. I love how Molly is basically thinking as Fitz was in that they need to 'fix' Mariah Waldman. And, of course, she's a genius. Suggesting alcohol is basically a foolproof way to get people to like you immediately. And, of course, the way she handled the ex-wife was just perfect. Just that right hint of
mean and condescending and practical. God, I am loving Molly more and more.
I also loved, at the end, how you had Fitz show up and confront her about the party. When he mentioned the bit about not having anything else to do. Why, that's just the most painful thing. Poor man. This is his last resort and, really, you start rooting for him..

Oh, and of course I HAD to mention the sexual tension... -wiggles eyebrows- Just the right amount. I can't wait to see how they act on it. :)

Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #4, by bittersweetflames The New Lineup

20th June 2015:
I didn't say this in my first review (because I had so many other things to say. lol) but I absolutely LOVE the way you have Molly dress (and fix her hair, obviously). She's just so cool and she obviously doesn't care what other people think of her. I mean, she's fit, she's fab and she's definitely no wallflower. You just manage to endear her to us without her being a sweet, overly saccharine type. I love that. Okay, so I love that we start off with a scene with Roxanne. In this scene all the questions we had from last chapter was answered: Why would she go for the Portrees and leave the Harpies? Will she take that risk? Is she the type who likes challenges instead of the safe? And, of course, these are all things Roxanne basically asks her. Of course, I have no idea who Hilarion is and how he and Lucy got together but it doesn't matter because you got the point across... They're conversation is just so natural that you can see these two cousins really do love and care for each other very much. And, haha, I love that Molly is basically an obsessive compulsive organiser. I feel that. SO HARD.
Okay, so Fitz is really interesting to me. Since he's an OC we don't even have a background to work with (unlike Molly, who's father and extended family we know) so I love the way you're developing him. And then there's Jinks. Goodie, he's hilarious. I love that he'd still be asleep one HOUR after he was supposed to report to practice. I don't know how he could handle that..I get twitchy even when I'm just a minute late.
And finally.. CONFLICT! Hahahaha... Fitz is basically CLUELESS at the whole coaching gig and you can just see that Molly is itching to help him (and, yes, Micromanage) but I guess they've both gotta learn how things go. I can't wait to see it! Brilliant. I don't need to say it twice.


Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #5, by bittersweetflames The Harpy With the Mohawk

20th June 2015:
Shame on me. Haven't read and reviewed this. Although I always meant to.

Molly! Molly! Molly! She's one of those next-gen characters that I haven't really thought a lot about but you have managed, just in this chapter alone, to make me love her. She's fun, she's engaging, she's smart and she's talented but she's not without her flaws and failures. Which is why, hello, I really enjoyed this. You managed to characterise Molly really fast and I could not wait to see more of what would happen to her. That she's being scouted to be the new Keeper of a different team made me think. She's probably thirsting for the challenge but she really wants to keep her loyalty where she's at. That I would think I understand her so well is to your strength as a writer so thank you. Then there's Riordan. Riordan is just so interesting. He seems so temperamental and angry and, oooh! I just CANNOT wait to see what happens next. I can feel that he would have a difficult time with Molly and vice versa but I bet it would be a truly engaging read. Although I really could not blame him for being angry. A rising star that had his star sunk AND not learning anything from an old coach that was nothing short of incompetent? He's probably feeling whole bucketloads of panic along with that anger.
And then there's Mariah Walden. Intrigue. Who's Mariah Walden? The way you wrote it made me feel as though she's someone that used to be part of Riordan's life. I cannot wait for it.

Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #6, by BellaLestrange87 Epilogue

19th May 2015:
Hello! Apparently I'm one of those people who leave one review at the end of the entire novel. I'm also on my phone, so please ignore any typos.

This whole story was awesome. I loved the bickering between everybody, especially the team banter. A lot of the jokes your characters said made me laugh out loud (and I can't give you any specific examples because there were too many).

Molly and Fitz have a wonderful, realistic relationship. I love how even though they're dating (and then married) they still bicker with each other. I like the way they came together, too - worrying about what the other person thinks.

Considering I've read all of your next-gen novels + Unsinkable, I feel bad that this is the first review I've left you (and probably shorter than usual, too).

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #7, by slytherinchica08 Drills and Defense

17th May 2015:
My enjoyment of this story continues. The last bit in particular was my favorite what with them both sort of admitting their feelings for each other, or at least fitz wondering if there ever might be a chance for the two of them. I really like how he is finally willing to listen to Molly about different drills they might do and other coaching ideas like watching old matches to get ideas.

The flow of the story has been really nice so far and I never notice how long a chapter actually is. Instead I'm sucked into the chapter and before I know it, the end of the chapter has come. I very much look forward to reading more.

~Slytherinchica08

 Report Review

Review #8, by slytherinchica08 Flight and Family

17th May 2015:
Another fantastic chapter. Your description is really beautiful and you do an absolutely great job of switching between point of views, it's really seamless. The characterizations are also really well done and I've enjoyed each new person youve introduced us to. I think Hugo is great and love that he wants to research more about fitz and the spell damage, it gives me hope for him that maybe he will be able to fly again like he used to. I also loved the sister interactions between Molly and Lucy. It was really sweet and was something that I could see two sisters who know and love each other very much doing. I also loved that molly admitted her attraction of fitz to her sister. This was a great chapter and I can't wait to read the next.

~Slytherinchica08

 Report Review

Review #9, by slytherinchica08 The Dreaded Ex

3rd May 2015:
Ah Mariah Waldman, that's the name that I was trying to think of last chapter! I'm so glad you mentioned that right away in the beginning or I would probably have gone insane trying to remember the name by myself. Ah see, I thought that there was some kind of entanglement between the two (Fitz and Mariah that is) but to be honest, I only thought that things went as far as dating but didn't realize that they had actually been married and are now divorced... that definitely makes things rather interesting between the two.

I thought that the chapter was very enjoyable and I love how the characters are developing. It was nice to see Molly interacting with her other teammates and see how she handles them and how her personality changes a bit. She is very funny though, what with color coding everything including her liquor bottles. And I thought that the ending was a nice sweet little touch. It was very enjoyable to see a rather sweet interaction between Fitz and Molly and the slight butterflies that are already beginning for her. I'm very much interested to see where the rest of this story will go! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #10, by slytherinchica08 The New Lineup

3rd May 2015:
I love how much the characterizations are really shining through in this chapter. You can really tell that Molly much prefers to have things all in line for her, everything planned out and just as it should be. Where as Fitz is much more a take things as they come, bitter personality. Of course, he definitely has reason to be bitter considering the one thing that he really loved and enjoyed doing was taken from him.

I definitely find myself sympathizing with both of them, Molly in that Fitz really seems to just kind of shove her by the side feeling like she is just trying to step on her toes when really she just wants to help devise the best plans for a winning team. And I also understand why Fitz feels the way he feels. He wants to prove himself as well and doesn't want someone to come along and do his job for him.

I'm very much interested to see where this story will go and how these characters who were thrown together with half the amount of training time will be able to pull through the season. It will also be very interesting to see how things will progress between our two main characters and how they will be able to put aside the bitterness that they both hold for each other at the moment. And it also seems like there is going to be another wild card in this story as well, in the shape of one of the reserve players.

Anyways, this was another great chapter and I really enjoyed it. I'll be along to read and review the next chapter soonish!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #11, by hg2000 An Off Day

2nd May 2015:
I like seeing Meghan with this guy. What's the deal there ?

 Report Review

Review #12, by slytherinchica08 The Harpy With the Mohawk

30th April 2015:
Figured I would start off my reviewing challenge right by finally coming by sand reading this story. And boy am I glad I did. I had completely forgotten just how much I enjoy your characterization! Each person that you introduce is completely fresh compared to what we are normally presented with and I think it's absolutely wonderful. I also really loved how we got a look into more then one persons view, I think that it really adds to the story and helps me understand the characters much better. I thought this first chapter was really well done and did a great job of settng up the story. It gave me enough information to feel comfortable with the world you were presenting as well as leaving many open questions that I want answered and making me interested to read more of the story to find out. I feel like this review is rather rubbish but as I'm about to fall asleep I figure I'll leave it here. Great chapter!

~Slytherinchica08

 Report Review

Review #13, by The Basilisk The Harpy With the Mohawk

24th March 2015:
Hello WTM! It'ss the Basilisssk.

I absolutely love this story, goodness me! You're a wonderful writer and if I could scoop up your writing talent and run off with it I definitely would. Alas, that's not an option. Instead I'll just read your work. :P

One of the things I love about your writing is that everything is so well rounded. You know the saying "jack of all trades, master of none"? I'd call you more of a "jack of all trades, master of all", haha. From the way you have a nice mix between humour and angst, while still making everything believable; to the way your characters develop in a real way, letting us get to know them and empathise with them to the point where it seems like every one is a MC and we want a story for all of them, and it emulates real life where you are constantly aware that each and every person has an important backstory, even if we don't know it; to the way the words just flow, making for light, easy reading. (Holy heck that was a long sentence.)

You are, without question, one of my favourite authors on the site.

(Molly and her mohawk, oh my gosh. I can just imagine it now! I'm only giggling a little...)

(I've decided to post 44 reviews over the next little while. Each one of them has a character at the bottom. If you can find all 44 reviews (not all are out yet, so keep your eyes peeled) and rearrange the letters into a quote from Harry Potter and PM it to WriteYourHeartOut on the forums you could win a donation to HPFF in your name! There's a topic in the Off Topic Section if you want to collaborate your efforts!

Anyway, I'm very glad to have gotten the chance to read thisss, ssso thank you for the amazing read.
The Basilisk

W

 Report Review

Review #14, by Shinicha The Harpy With the Mohawk

27th November 2014:
Great! I love stories that are set in one universe :) I'm sorry to keep my reviews short - your stories are perfect anyway, so I hope it suffices to say: love it!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by RupertsPheonix Epilogue

2nd November 2014:
Aaaah! What a perfect close to a great fic! I have so enjoyed reading this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed the story :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Pasty Epilogue

26th October 2014:
Fantastic - I think this has been my favourite story of yours so far. Looking forward to reading what you write next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by knitting_goddess Epilogue

23rd October 2014:
SQUE!!!

Yeah, I'll leave it at that. You're a wonderful and talented writer, and your stories always draws me in completely, please never stop writing :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you very much! I really appreciate the kind review :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by reviewghost Epilogue

20th October 2014:
I think this is my first time reviewing this story. This is the first of your stories I stumbled upon. It had 8 chapters at the time. Since then, I have read all of your stories (at least I think I have), and I love them all. Of course, I didn't realize that this was a continuation of a universe until I read your other stories, but I really enjoyed reading them and discovering more about the world you write about. You have the best Molly/Arthur story I've read, one of the best Rose/Scorpius, etc. You also wrote some of the first fan fiction in general I ever read. I guess I just want to say that I loved your stories and I've been with this one for a while, but I kind of rambled. Sorry, I do that. Anyway, your work means a lot to me (and this review is coming from someone who doesn't really review) and I wanted to say that. I have had a lot of fun with Rose and Molly and Lucy and Roxanne and everyone your write about. You know what? I revise my statement. I really just wanted to say thank you, for writing your stories and introducing me into this, the continuation of Harry Potter. So, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #19, by ThestralPrincess Epilogue

19th October 2014:
aw, love the ending. :D Also love the mention of Johnny Lupin :) Looking forward to see what you write next!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by PetrificusTotalus Flight and Family

19th October 2014:
Only time for a quick review before I read the next chapter! Loving this so far, excited to read on! :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I hope you enjoy the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Snuffles Epilogue

19th October 2014:
I meant babies 7 and 8 (in Done).
BTW. Please give us another story. You got me addicted
Xoxoxoxoxo

Author's Response: I'll try to get another story out soon! I've got one half-written from Scorpius's POV, hoping to have that done by Thanksgiving. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Snuffles Epilogue

19th October 2014:
This was so cute! Your characters sound so real. I can't picture the Wealey family in any other way than the way you write them.
Just a little doubt: I didn't really get you time line in this story. I read all of them (more than once, I have to confess - chuckles) and if in this story Victoire has only five kids, where exactly does it fits (time wise ). Because she is going to babies 6 and 7 isn't she? Xoxoxoxo

Author's Response: Ah, I must admit, my timelines in Next Gen are a little fuzzy. I make a bit of effort at having it all fall into line, but don't be surprised if it doesn't always match up. Whoops. It started that way in JAMR because Rose was so vague about things like how old the Lupin kids are or how long she and Scorpius have been together, and then I had to nail down exact dates after and it just. Well. It's timeline-ish.

I'm glad you like the story and my version of the Weasleys! Victoire goes to babies 6, then 7 and 8. Because she and Teddy are crazy people lol. Thanks so much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #23, by coolgf Epilogue

19th October 2014:
Omg. This is so cute. Now on to James, Albus, Lily and Hugo. Thank you. You can do it, more please.

Author's Response: I've got an idea I want to write that would be a lot on Lily and Hugo. Hopefully will start writing it in earnest soon! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by beatergirl21 Epilogue

18th October 2014:
I adored this whole story, the ending was lovely! It was fantastic all the way through and I can't wait to read whatever you do next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate the review and kind words :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by knitting_goddess Leverage

17th October 2014:
Oh my deary me, I've got this really nice warm fuzzy feeling in my tummy! :D I just seriously hope they don't mess this up, please don't make them mess this up... Happy endings for everyone!!

Author's Response: I do love a happy ending! I'm glad you liked the chapter :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>