Reading Reviews for The New Pride of Portree
  
153 Reviews Found

Review #1, by stargirl100 Widdershins

27th July 2014:
Question-who is Rose married to ? Cause you mentioned that Ron and Bill were competitive with the grandchildren near the beginning of this story. Also, Molly is so great. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by coolgf Widdershins

27th July 2014:
Great chapter. When do we see the whole family together ? At least throw in some James and Albus thanks.

 Report Review

Review #3, by s.w Widdershins

26th July 2014:
I honestly love this story! I was sceptical reading it at first because the description said it didn't have any other characters other than Molly and OC but this story is truly well written, featuring heaps of known characters like Dominique, Roxanne, Ginny, Percy, Lucy, Harry, Audrey, Ron etc. I love this story so much, and it appears on the search page as a newly updated story which is good because I really don't want you to leave this story! Please keep writing xoxoxo Love the character developments too especially with Fitz! And Molly realises her feeings for him omg love it. Xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by AdinaPuff Widdershins

26th July 2014:
Hello, hello!

So I stumbled upon this amazing novel you have going here by chance, and I have to say I am so happy that I did. It is absolutely amazing! I love your characters! Molly is just phenomenal. She's so real! And I love Fitz. What a unique character you've brought to life there. He's a real person to me. I feel as though I've met him myself. I just love him! And of course, I'm loving the team. Jinks especially though. He's just absolutely hilarious. You should make another story about him to tie into this world you have going. Or do you already have one? I have yet to stalk your authors page. But in one of your A/N's you said there was a Roxanne one? I cannot wait to read that one soon! I'm dying!

Well, update soon! I'm off to learn about Roxanne and Perry :D

Cheers!

-Leigh

 Report Review

Review #5, by Leonore Widdershins

26th July 2014:
Hi! Dropping by with another classic Leo-review (nonsensical rambling and all)

I LOVE the superstitions bit in the middle, and the comparison to 'The Scottish Play'.

Ooh, awkward parents/Fitz stuff!

Poor Fitz. Practically the first thing anyone mentions to him is his shoulder. And he screwed up in front of Molly's family.

Yay, Prides! Haha, Jinks and "Chariots of Fire". Definitely a good move on Fitz's part, showing them those films. And they get on so amazingly, with their inside jokes and friendly insults.

Great press interview technique - "please don't print that" "don't print that" "or that". If it was anyone but Ginny...

Yes! Don't let Rakes get away with it. Though if he hadn't cursed Fitz then Fitz and Molly probably wouldn't have ended up as coach and captain...

Fitz + Molly = :D

I think you're the only author who's made me really care about the romantic side of the story. I guess this one works for me because their relationship is pretty complicated - injury, manager, temper, OCD, being coach and captain, worrying about the team, and of course the parents. It actually seems realistic, which is something I hardly ever feel.

By the way, I'm jealous of them getting to spend so much time on Skye. I went camping a few years ago, just for a couple of days, and it is the loveliest place. It may have helped that in out week going round Scotland, we had the best weather for those days, but even ignoring that it's lovely.

Yeah, it genuinely does rain a lot in Scotland. Not all the time, but a lot. And they get a lot of snow in winter. Though there are many days when it's beautifully sunny, there are also many with atrocious visibility due to light rain/mist.

And Brits do talk about the weather a lot. It's not just a cliche. I am living proof (and I'm not the only one obsessed with it, either) :)

~ Leo xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan Magpies and Mistakes

26th July 2014:
That was painful to read. It must've been painful for Molly and the team to lose the game so spectacularly but it was painful hearing about it from the readers perspective. It was obvious that they weren't going to do well (unless a miracle happened or someone drank Felix Felicis) but I didn't think that it would be that bad.

And of course they blamed Molly, why wouldn't they blame Molly, she was their captain after all but at the same time it doesn't make much sense either because she's only had the title for a few days and Fitz is their coach. If he'd pulled it together sooner they might've had more practice time. In the end though, it was everyone's fault because they didn't have enough training time and the players were at fault for not playing as they were supposed to.

(ON A SIDE NOTE YES MOLLY AND FITZ KISSED HAPPY DANCING OVER HERE).

I'm going to take a wild guess that things aren't going to be going really smoothly after this?

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Drills and Defense

26th July 2014:
I'm so happy that Molly got Captain! I mean, I had an idea that she probably would but it's still nice to see that she actually got the spot! I love her strategy for getting Jink to actually work instead of just taking a nap on his broom. This girl knows how everyone works and to get things done. Molly is my baby, it's only five chapters into the story and she's already become my baby.

Thank God that Fitz finally managed to smarten up! I was wondering when he was going to figure out that he needed to step it up a notch. I was so impressed with him swallowing his pride and admitting that he needed help with the drills, that is a big step for him. I know how difficult it can be to admit that you're wrong and to ask someone who knows better than you for help.

As for whether he and Molly have a chance, HECK YES! She didn't exactly say no to his question but she didn't say yes either. Fitz has a chance with her as long as he stops acting like a jerk and apologizes for treating her so badly. But if they did break up, I feel like Molly would probably have an easier time of keeping it professional than Fitz because she has a lot more control over her emtions (and Fitz would have a harder time because his LACK of control over his anger).

Has Fitz considered seeing a therapist or getting some anger management?

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan Flight and Family

26th July 2014:
Percy has certainly changed from the person that he used to be when he was younger. I don't think I've ever seen him this affectionate with anyone before ever. The idea of him doting on anything is really weird to me but I guess children change a person. I love seeing the softer side of him around his daughters and how much of an interest he takes in their life. It's so sweet how much he cares and loves his granddaughter and wants to hold her and play with her.

I hope Audrey doesn't take to nagging Molly about the fact that she's not married even though she's close to thirty. It's not like there's anything wrong with it and I'm pretty sure Molly would rather get married to someone that she really loved instead of getting married to someone just because. I can see Molly getting married but then on the other hand, I kind of can't.

I love how Molly didn't beat around the bush with the whole attraction thing. I'm so used to seeing characters denying their feelings and calling themselves crazy for who they're attracted to but I like how Molly just admits it to herself and moves on. "I like the man but he's useless at what he does." I wouldn't expect any other reaction from her.

I knew that the Healer was a Weasley (red hair has now come to be Weasley to me) and I started guessing which one it was (I was wrong).

 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan The Dreaded Ex

25th July 2014:
I was right! I do smell a ship about to take off! Obviously Molly and Fitz have issues they need to work through and they have to learn how to play nice with each other but I can just picture the two of them dating and it involves a lot of arguments about ridiculous things that everyone uses as entertainment.

Mariah sounds irritating but besides imitating what I imagine to be sour lemon face and severe eye twitching, I can't really get annoyed with her because it's not like she's being extremely vicious or anything. That being said she does sound childish what with trying to push Riordan's buttons.

I admire how Molly handled the situation, she is definitely one smart cookie. If I was in her spot I wouldn't have been half as courteous as her, there would've just been death threats but that's the difference between Molly and I.

YES THIS IS SO GOOD I'M ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER!

 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan The New Lineup

24th July 2014:
Molly may have a mohawk that's brightly coloured but her colour coordinated clothes scream Percy Weasley to me. I love how even though she's really punk you can still see a little bit of family resemblence on her.

I can see why Molly is so unimpressed with Fitzroy. I get that he's he's nervous and he doesn't want to work with a bunch of newbies but come on, he needs to start pulling it together if he's going to make them a top notch team. I'm surprised that the man isn't a Gryffindor because he has an awful lot of pride standing between him and that colour coded schedule of hers that would probably help him out to be honest.

If he's going to work with Molly then Fitzroy is going to have to pick up his game because she's the daughter of Percy Weasley and we all know what Percy's like. I have a feeling that Molly is going to accidentally end up controlling the practices because she's going to be irritated with the way that Fitzroy runs things.

And on a side note, I smell a ship growing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by missdagane Underdogs

23rd July 2014:
Roxanne is pregnant :-) Another baby in the Weasley clan. Love, love, love the chapter, and the fic in general. Hope Molly will share her feelings very soon.

 Report Review

Review #12, by missdagane Let Us Break A Few Heads

23rd July 2014:
First of all, I'm very sorry because I didn't review in a while. Your fic is amazing. I can't believe Rake was the responsible for Fitz's injury and because of Mariah... And thank you for Ron and Ropse's cameo, it totally makes my day!!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan The Harpy With the Mohawk

23rd July 2014:
I've been hearing quite a bit about this story and it sounded really interesting so of course I'm going to be stopping by (and I'll be reviewing as I go so that I don't forget anything).

From the moment that you mentioned leather and mohawk I knew that Molly was probably going to be metal as fudge. I love how she's completely confident with her appearance and knows that it's not the most important thing as a Quidditch player.

This Meghan woman sounds like she plays a tough game. I mean, it's a little insane to fire half your team and their reserves but it sounds like she knows exactly what she's doing and what she's in for. Molly sounds like a great option for captain of the team actually, with that school record of hers she really is suited for positions of leadership.

Riordan is being a little too harsh, there's plenty of Quidditch talent out there but it's just sitting on the bench. Of course he thinks that just because it's a reserve player that they're going to be no good but he can't really judge since you don't often get to see reserve players play. And besides, it's not like the Pride of Portree could do any worse with these new players, the old team was almost as bad as the Chudley Cannons for chrissakes!

I'm obviously going to have to read the Midnight Run trilogy because otherwise I just won't feel right but other than that, I'm excited to read the rest of this story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Audrey Underdogs

22nd July 2014:
How is it that you get these chapters out so quickly? Simply brilliant! Love your work :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell Underdogs

19th July 2014:
Yay! New chapter! Is it just me, or are updates picking up speed? It feels that way, at any rate, and I am LOVING it.

So, first, I enjoyed the exchange between Molly & Roxanne. It’s good for her to admit her feelings. She’s started with her family, and now moved on to telling her closest friends, which seems like a positive step. Like, maybe she’s gearing up to tell the truth to Fitz. Baby steps and all that.

Of course, there IS the question of who’s going to admit that they love the other first?

One thing I like about this story, in general, is that the actions of both main characters make sense. Like, so much of the time when you get multiple POVs, even when I can see a character’s *reason* for doing something, I’m driven mad by how simple it would be for all the problems to be solved if both parties just looked beyond their nose. But that isn’t the case here.

Fitz has had a really horrible experience with his romantic relationships. I mean, Mariah really hurt him. Cheating is always hard to forgive, but the way she did things? It was just awful. And now he’s been a bit of a grouch, what with losing the sport he loved, his wife, and the head-splittingly painful shoulder injury, and for a while he was obviously bitter. He picked up on that, and now he believes himself to be unloveable. And really, his accusation that Molly just wanted to fix him? It wasn’t true, but I could understand why he drew that conclusion.

As for Molly--oh, I feel her pain. Or the pain she doesn’t know that she has? Ugh! What I mean is, she tries so hard to make sure it looks like she isn’t hurt, but the problem is that it MAKES IT LOOK LIKE SHE ISN’T HURT, which makes Fitz think that she never cared. And I can totally be like that. My first urge is usually to hide how really strong emotions affect me, so I totally sympathize. But, as in this case, it can really be a problem.

The thing is, both of their responses make sense, and I can’t blame either of them for it. So now I must just patiently wait, watching them snatch looks at each other--adorably--over popcorn and crazed teammates, until someone SAYS OR DOES SOMETHING, finally, and we can clear this all up.

In the meantime, the tension is very well executed. I am dying for them to work this out, but I’m not wanting to skip ahead. It’s not miserable, and you do a wonderful job of balancing the genuine pain of broken hearts with funny, upbeat moments. I enjoy every update, and it never gets to the point of, “Oh, this is all so depressing, I wish I could just fast forward to the good part,” because it’s *full* of good parts. That’s a really awesome skill! I’m so impressed, and I hope that, one day, I can pull off that balance as excellently as you do.

Also? I loved the Chariots of Fire, bit. I also like how the guys reacted to it the exact same way half my class did when we watched it in high school. It was charming. : )

Thanks for another great update!

Favorite Quote:

“Give it a go, and if you don't like it, you never have to have a feeling again.”



--Penny

 Report Review

Review #16, by coolgf Underdogs

19th July 2014:
This is great, team unity and Fitz getting the team together for once finally. I like that we get to see Ginny and Harry in the future maybe. Molly will step up in the future with Fitz she is that type. :) can't wait for more.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Penelope Inkwell Let Us Break A Few Heads

14th July 2014:
OH MY GOSH!

I can’t believe that it was Mariah’s ex-lover who Cursed Fitz.

...actually, I take that back. I can totally believe it.

Honestly, I’m just so glad to get that mystery solved. And while I usually don’t approve of bar brawls, I’m really just happy Fitz got in a few good punches. I mean, the man ruined his life. He got off lucky, all things considered. Fitz never has a great hold on his temper, and he’s been twice as grouchy since breaking things off with Molly. And then this guy comes along and brags about having slept with his wife and ended his career? He’s lucky the wands weren’t brought out, the way I see it. I mean, I don’t know that I see Fitz as the world’s best dueler, but he’d certainly have a great amount of righteous anger to fuel his fight.

Ron cameo! And Rose. Why *was* Rose covered in treacle, for that matter? Anyway, good to see them, and good of Ron to keep quiet about Fitz’s predicament. The Perks of being a Weasley--clearly it’s not a bad gig if you can get it.

Ack! Fitz...Molly. Uuugh! Something has gotta give here. This is just painful.

Favorite Quotes:

“What happened to you?”

“Shaving accident?” Fitz suggested.

“I thought we were going with 'ambushed by pirates',” Jinks stage-whispered.

“He was fighting off a troll,” Zara volunteered.

Fitz nodded judiciously at that. “Somewhat accurate,” he admitted.



Bahahaha!

Well written and engaging as always! Thanks for the chapter : D

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #18, by ThestralPrincess Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Aw, such a fantastic chapter. Loved the family interactions. Loved Fitz and Molly as I always do. :) Love the Rose appearance with treacle. Looking forward to next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by coolgf Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Sweet ! Ron and Rose in this chapter. So cool and I so love Molly. She is so cool.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by evil little devil Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Oh my gosh, Rose! I am so happy you gave her a cameo, I was laughing so much imagining what how she managed to get herself into this particularly crazy scenario.
Poor Fitz. I can't believe that guy hexed him! All because Mariah wouldn't leave him quick enough. I would tell you more of my thoughts on him, but I'm not entirely sure how to compress them into a 12+ review :P
I am incredibly jealous of your ability to write quidditch matches. You do it so well! With just enough detail to make it interesting and draw me in, but not so much that it reads like a sports commentary. I'm very happy they beat the Falcons, a team that violent doesn't deserve to win.
This was such an action packed chapter, so much happened! It was very exciting to read :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Leonore Let Us Break A Few Heads

12th July 2014:
I thought I'd finally let you know that I'm reading and loving this story. I found it during diadem voting, then a few days later opened about ten tabs with different chapters to read while stuck waiting in a place with no internet. It definitely kept me from getting bored!

OK, I read this chapter and went to watch a bit of the World Cup third-place play-offs before reviewing and found myself just sitting there watching and thinking "Falcons" every time the Brazilians fouled (which was a lot, even in just half an hour). Although unlike the Prides, the Dutch seem to be pretty good at keeping their play clean (I may be biased, being 1/4 Dutch...). Anyway, going off on a slight tangent. I like tangents. *Insert dumb mathematical ramble here*

Yay, Molly and Fitz! Ignore managers and ex-wives and all of that. This fic has the perfect balance of romance and other stuff. Just romance really isn't my thing, but there's so much backstory and other factors and complications and their relationship is more than just "she is so beautiful and I gaze into her eyes and feel something stir inside me and we are soulmates" but all of the arguments and her kind of looking after him and worrying about him and then feeling guilty because the manager says no relationships in the team and trying to keep it secret and... *list gets out of hand* And then all the training and match details, not blow-by-blow accounts because that would get boring but all of the key events and bits of information like drills and archive footage and fouls and seeker search patterns and stuff. But yeah, action and drama and angst and Molly's OCD as well as well as the romance. And technical details! I LOVE technical details! (Like all of the medical stuff.)

Just like any muggle professional sports team, with the management and coaching and the healer team. And the ice baths and painkillers and everything. I love the way they've got the team drinking culture, going to the pub and having too much and all that. They're not perfect, they don't sacrifice everything to play on the team, they're people who happen to love Quidditch, be amazing at it, and do it for a career.

Urgh, I hate Rakes. It's one thing for it to be some random member of the public... OK, that would be horrendous too, to attack just because their team was being beaten. But he was already in the wrong being with Fitz's wife and then he convinces himself he's being wronged in some way - or just curses Fitz because he's used to getting his own way, or just wants an excuse. Whatever, it's horrible.

Good old Ron. He scared Fitz a bit talking about the Cannons, but he doesn't really hold a grudge. (To be honest if he held a grudge against every player who played against and beat the Cannons he'd have a lot of grudges). And he lets Molly know about the fight so she can come pick him up, knowing it's not worth a scandal.

Now I want to know why Rose and the random guy are covered in treacle. There has to be a story in that...

Yay, the Prides won! *doesn't actually dance round room celebrating because that would be a bit weird and my family might notice, especially as it's past 11pm* I like Hugo. That's all I'm going to say about him. All your characters are amazing. OK a couple are amazingly unpleasant, but they're all nice and complicated and like real people.

I hope you like long inane rambly reviews with lots of tangents. I am in that mood. And I'm making it long because this review partly covers my love of the whole story so far not just this chapter.

OK, I have no idea how much of that consists of my random comments and how much is actually relevant to, well, anything. Shall I stop talking (typing) now? ;)

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by Veritaserum27 The Dreaded Ex

12th July 2014:
Hi hi!

Oooo! Great ending. There is chemistry. Lots of chemistry. I love Molly's neurotic tendencies. They border, but do not quite cross the line of mental illness. Haha! She navigated Mariah well. That could've gotten really ugly - although I have a feeling that you have more in store for us regarding that one. I feel bad that Fitz is so uncomfortable in his new job. He needs to experience some success so that he can gain his confidence. He seems to want to do really well, and he is definitely putting for a concerted effort - with the new training schedule and getting Preece to practice and all that. He seems like a pretty decent guy. I can't wait to read more!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by Veritaserum27 The New Lineup

12th July 2014:
Hello, hello!

Wow. Molly sure does like her color coding, doesn't she? She seems to be a bit neurotic - what with getting to practice so early, starting the team on drills without the coach and coming up with her own training schedule. I'm afraid her ambition is going to get her into trouble. Nobody likes a know-it-all. I was curious about this line referring to Roxie: Well, possibly married. There had been a wedding on a beach, but whether or not there had been a marriage license seemed an entirely different question.. Was that part of another story? It sounds pretty funny. I'll have to read it. I am very suspicious about Fitz's injury. It seems like there might be a bit of mystery brewing. Someone REALLY didn't want him to play and I'm wondering if that person is going to come back when they find out he is the head coach of The Pride of Portree. On to the next chapter!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by Veritaserum27 The Harpy With the Mohawk

12th July 2014:
Hello!

I thought I would give this a go. I thoroughly enjoyed this first chapter. I like your version of Molly - intelligent, clever and "stylish." She's confident, but not arrogant (at least it doesn't seem so from this first chapter). Usually Molly is portrayed as intelligent, but super-annoying so this is refreshing. It looks like you've set the stage for some interesting conflict between Fitz and what I am assuming is his ex-girlfriend. In addition, there are a lot of new personalities coming together in a highly-charged slightly stressful situation. Makes for a good story and a lot of drama. I can't wait to see the purple mowhawk - or maybe Molly will adopt a totally different hairstyle for the Harpies!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by TidalDragon The New Lineup

12th July 2014:
Hello again!

Ahh the clash begins! I had a sense that Molly's determination to succeed was going to collide with Fitz's fixation on proving himself. The good part is I thought the clash was realistic, taking place in their heads at the moment. I'm interested to see if the pair can learn together and to find out what happens with the captaincy - will he deny Molly that because of their budding differences?

While developing all that, I thought you did a great job depicting the attitudes and lackadaisical approach that individuals at a bottom-dwelling club might actually take. I think it's realistic based on the anecdotes you here about teams in our sports when they're not doing well. I used to have an old boss who pounded the saying "speed of the leader, speed of the pack" into our heads though, so I'm hoping that between Molly, Zara, and Fitz - they can get this ship straightened out.

I think my favorite part of the story so far is how authentic it feels. Honestly, it reads quite like a real book so far! Kudos on that!

See you next chapter!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>