Reading Reviews for Soul Searching
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jsummd Less Sleep, More Nightmares

6th January 2014:
I am pretty new to fanfics, just started reading them. I had no idea there were all these dramione fics! Anyways after reading a bunch I wanted to tell you that I love yours the best! I love that is in Draco's POV and how slow you're building their relationship. Looking forward to your next chapter!

Author's Response: Well, then, welcome to HPFF! :) I'm so happy you're enjoying my story! It didn't occur to me to pair Draco and Hermione until I read a few here. The idea intrigued me, so I began writing this. The next chapter is in the works, so hopefully I can finish and upload it before school consumes my life again. ;)

 Report Review

Review #2, by 10Luna11 A Return Home

29th October 2013:
I really enjoy reading your story. I like and appreciate the way you describe the characters, that's why they stay realistic to me. I also really enjoyed reading the scene with Dumbledore. In my oppinion he would have really acted like this.

Hope you add a new chapter soon cause I really look forward to it :)))

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it! I will try to add another chapter sometime within the next week or two, but I'm at a conference this week and midterms will greet me when I get back, so it may be a few days yet. I do have the next chapter started though - Quidditch tryouts!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Trix A Return Home

15th October 2013:
Hey, I love the story so far! Even though I just want Draco and Hermione to start falling in love already, I appreciate that you're not rushing it like other stories. It makes it really believable. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I know these past few chapters have had very little, if any, of Hermione, but I'm planning for her to have a larger role later in the next chapter. I am trying to make this a "little by little" process, because that is how it would have to be for them. But I am definitely looking forward to the time they are falling in love! I've already got a couple of great ideas (well, in my opinion) and I can't wait to finally get to them!

 Report Review

Review #4, by SlytherinHeiress Intraspection

14th October 2013:
I really enjoyed this first chapter and am extremely thrilled to keep reading. Thanks to writers like you I can keep the Draco/Hermione relationship alive :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it! I hope the rest of the story lives up to your expectations. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by HermioneeeGrangerrr A Letter from Home

28th September 2013:
I definitely think they stayed true to their characters though Draco might have been a bit less happy that his father was back. I think it works quite well. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thank you! That makes sense - thinking about it again, I realize Draco's not really a publicly emotional person. And he and Lucius probably had more of the stoic father-son relationship, given what we see of each of those characters. (But still loved each other.) And in this story, Lucius has only been in prison for a few months, which really isn't that bad. (Yeah, I know in canon he wasn't imprisoned at all, but I realized that after I already wrote the first chapter.) And it might be a bit soon for Draco to actually go hug Hermione voluntarily, despite his emotions. It was cute and fun to write, but maybe not quite yet. This'll definitely have to undergo another round of editing once I get more of it done. But thank you for your input! It is really useful!

 Report Review

Review #6, by sarah A Letter from Home

27th September 2013:
i thought his overjoyed reaction to hermione was cute and yes you stick to their characters very well. i have said to other dramione authors i hate when all a sudden hermione becomes appealing to draco and visa versa because that would never happen, it wont be an instantaneous thing when it does happen given their past and personalities it will be a slow progression into a romance. you do a fine job at sticking to their characters and not diving straight into a romance i like it! update soon

Author's Response: Thank you! It took me a while to figure out how they'd react - I figure Hermione would try to be polite and be happy for him, but given her history with Lucius, she really wouldn't be too thrilled about it. And Draco seems like a pretty perceptive guy (he wouldn't have been so good at dishing out such well-placed insults without being able to figure out what makes a person tick), so he would catch on to that. I also had a whole set of dialogue where they discuss the role of the Malfoys in the war, but it didn't seem to fit very well here. That'll come later. For now, I just wanted to focus on showing that the Malfoys do love each other like a normal family with no history of abuse. (That as well seemed a bit odd to me.)

 Report Review

Review #7, by HermioneeeGrangerrr Painful Truths

26th September 2013:
Yep definitely a great week. I was wondering how Malfoy would know the spell Mufliato I thought only Harry and company knew because of the potions textbook in the sixth year.

Author's Response: Ah. That is a very good point. I could probably stretch it such that Draco learned it from Snape when Snape used it to muffle their discussions, but Snape never seemed to have used it as Harry was always eavesdropping. I'll eventually just rewrite the last few sentences without the spell, as it wasn't really critical to the story. Thanks for catching that!

 Report Review

Review #8, by HermioneeeGrangerrr Evelyn and Co.

16th September 2013:
Good writing. I liked the eat slugs reference but I feel sorry for Draco.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing! Yeah, the poor guy just needs a hug. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem like he will get one next chapter either. Hopefully at some point, he will!

 Report Review

Review #9, by HermioneeeGrangerrr Lydia

10th September 2013:
Good writing and portrayal of Draco Malfoy. Lydia seems like a nice person. It seems like she just might make the Slytherin quiditch team . : )

Author's Response: Thank you for your reviews! I just uploaded the next chapter earlier today, so it should be only 2-3 days before you can read it. I can't wait to see what happens at tryouts on Friday - I'm curious as well about Lydia's decision to try out or Draco's to let her on the team though she's only a first year. And could she even beat out the other candidates? :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by HermioneeeGrangerrr Captain

10th September 2013:
Good writing. : ) I like your portrayal of Draco Malfoy. I want to say Malfoy. Hehe. When I checked to see if any of the stories I was reading had been validated it was like yes I haven't read two of the chapters for this story yet. Can't wait for the next chapter to come out!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you have been enjoying my story. :) It should be interesting to see what Draco does as Head Boy and Quidditch Captain. We know he abused (and then neglected) his power as Prefect, but that was before the war. What about now, after the war?

 Report Review

Review #11, by sarah Lydia

8th September 2013:
good chapter. update soon

Author's Response: Thank you! I just uploaded the next chapter to be validated. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by HermioneeeGrangerrr Chicken Drumsticks

3rd September 2013:
Definitely plenty more opportunities. Good writing. : )

Author's Response: Thank you for all of your reviews! It's always good to know that people enjoy reading this as much as I enjoy writing it. I already have the next chapter in validation, and I hope you like it as well. :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by HermioneeeGrangerrr A New Year Begins

3rd September 2013:
Good portrayal of the characters. : ) Nice fanfic so far.

Author's Response: Thank you! Let me know if you think Draco and Hermione do anything that seems out of character. I want to make their relationship develop in a realistic manner - not too fast, not too slow.

 Report Review

Review #14, by HermioneeeGrangerrr Intraspection

3rd September 2013:
Appointing Draco head boy seems like something Dumbledore might have done. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm thinking there might be a chapter in which Draco ends up confronting McGonagall concerning his appointment as Head Boy and we can find out why he was chosen, given his rather questionable track record.

 Report Review

Review #15, by sarah Chicken Drumsticks

2nd September 2013:
good chapter i still like the slow buildup to a friendship and romance ypur portrayal of the characters is pretty accurate

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm hoping to keep Draco and Hermione in character as best I can, while still heading toward a romantic ending. Only time (and more chapters) will tell whether I succeed or not. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by sarah A New Year Begins

2nd September 2013:
i lile this story so far it fits both characters very well i dont like dramione stories where the author is quick to get to the romance i believe with these two characters it would take time. nicely done

Author's Response: Thank you! I think each of them has been through quite a lot the past few years, so it's definitely going to take some time for them to heal from the war. And old habits and prejudices die hard, which means their relationship will develop slowly and roughly. At least, that's what I'm going to try and do. The next chapter has been in revalidation for a couple days, so it should be up any day now. (Hopefully today!)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ashley Ayoub A New Year Begins

21st August 2013:
oh please update please please please

Author's Response: Haha, I'm working on it! :) I'm glad you like it! This week has just been a little crazy with work and the GRE coming up Saturday, but I do plan on getting another chapter submitted this week.

 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotter A New Year Begins

19th August 2013:
Back again :) Another great chapter. I loved that you took the time to write a sorting hat song, most people gloss over it so I like that you made the effort. Again I love how you're writing Draco, he's very in character and I'm looking forward to how you write Hermione. I personally think its great you're taking time to develop the characters instead of having Draco see Hermione for the first time and notice that she's now got curves in all the right places etc, too many Draco/Hermione stories do that! Brilliant job, I'll be adding this to my favourites :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) As a matter of fact, this story was actually inspired by those sorts of D/H stories - they just didn't quite sound right to me. One or both just seemed to go completely out of character or the first paragraph would summarize how the characters changed after the war and skip to the "good stuff." I think that if they were to ever have a chance in "real life," it would be a much longer, more complicated story, and it would definitely need more focus on the character development after the war. Therefore, more will be coming! As you may have noticed, they have a long way to go... ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotter Intraspection

19th August 2013:
Hello! I think you're off to a really great start with this. I really like your characterisation of Draco so far, it's very realistic! Looking forward to reading the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope to stay true to their characters as much as possible while still letting them evolve and allow the story to progress. Feel free to let me know if you think something strikes you as odd.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login