Reading Reviews for Young and Beautiful
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Young and Beautiful

7th March 2014:
Blackout Battle 8/15

I always enjoy Bill/Fleur stories and I think you really portrayed their relationship beautifully here.
It was sweet how Fleur was insecure about her beauty. It is only normal in females to feel that after all.
The interaction with Bill was also very nicely done.
The song you used to represent the story was also a perfect choice. It really fitted with the theme.
The ending of the story was especially touching and sweet and I just loved it.
I also liked how you kept Fleur's accent in this authentic, not absent and not overdone. It made the dialogue more believable.
The descriptions were also nice and I especially liked how Fleur noticed that Bill liked and remembered Fleur for more than her looks.

All in all, great job and I really had a nice time reading this =)

-AD
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Maelody Young and Beautiful

2nd March 2014:
Aw, this is such an adorable story! I love this pair, but so rarely do I see it in a view like this! Where Fleur worries about being not beautiful with someone to grow old with her and love her. It's so fitting though, considering what happened to poor Bill, and she still loves him regardless! :)

Roger Davis is a jerk! I didn't think anything of her and Roger when they went to the dance, so it's cool that you delved into that part of her life, too. And how she wondered who Bill's brother was was cool. You even brought the sadness of Cedric's death back without making the whole thing stand out! Great job on that! :)

I don't think I ever thought about the possibility of the pair meeting at work like that. At least, not with her working there. In fact, I'm one of those vain people who never saw Fleur past her beauty and inability to save her sister and get through the maze. That is, until she met Bill did I start liking her more. Thank you for making me look further into her character!

You've done an amazing job on characterization here! I honestly always saw Bill as quite the gentleman (something Ron, at such a young age at the time, must not have picked up! haha). So him falling for her the way he did was just too cute! Going to see her with no other reason than to just say hi! :3

Awesome job! I really enjoyed it, and it was absolutely adorable! I think your quote fit perfectly, so best of luck to you on your challenge!

~Mae

5/5 Reviews on a Gryffindor Story for Slytherin vs. Gryffindor bingo blackout

 Report Review

Review #3, by Chazzie Young and Beautiful

2nd March 2014:
Hey there!
I've never really thought about how Fleur would feel about her beauty. I've felt some admiration for her since the end of the 6th book when we realise she isn't as completely shallow as she appears. But it's really interesting! I felt sorry for her, something that has never happened before. I liked her meeting with Bill, as it didn't seem forced at all. The ending is really sweet, and well written.
Chazzie (Review 3/10 for the Slytherin/Gryffindor Blackout)

 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Young and Beautiful

1st March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

I love the song you had as inspiration, it fit in so well, not just because it was for the Gatsby Challenge (a book I also love, and the movie was good, too).

I think what made me love it so much was that you used Bill and Fleur and that your plot is something simple and something a lot of girls probably think about, and is something that I imagine Fleur would wonder a lot, at least once she was out of school. And I love that Bill didn't see only her looks, this was something I'd definitely see happening between them. You've made me love them a little more than I already did.

I really enjoyed this.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #5, by silverashes Young and Beautiful

11th August 2013:
Stop it...oh my gosh. This was phenomenal! I adore the song Young and Beautiful to an infinite extent, and this story represented the song wonderfully. I really liked the way you went into depth on Fleur's character. She is so much more than a beautiful, stuck-up character (which she comes across as sometimes in the books). Fleur has such a complex issue, and you covered that beautifully!

The last part made me tear up a little! Her wish came true, and I adore the way you ended it. Amazing, amazing!

xx Rachel

Author's Response: Hello! I love the song too, and it just glued this idea into my brain!

I really loved writing Fleur this way, because I feel like people don't touch on the negative aspect of beauty. I'm glad you liked the ending - I felt like she definitely deserved her wish! :)

Thanks for the review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #6, by LittleLionGirl Young and Beautiful

25th July 2013:
This is an amazing one-shot. Your line fit perfectly into the story too- it seems like Bill loved Fleur like Jay loved Daisy. I am happy to see he is a proper gentleman as well. Molly Weasley taught him well :)
XOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the story! I do like the comparison between Bill and Fleur and Jay and Daisy. And yes, his mother did teach him well. :) Thanks so much for the review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #7, by missclaire17 Young and Beautiful

19th July 2013:
I love that Lana del Ray's song inspired you to write this one-shot because oddly enough, as I was hearing it, Bill and Fleur were the first thing that popped into my mind. Not only does it work well for Fleur, but it also relates to Bill when Fleur got angry at Mrs. Weasley because she had said that Fleur wouldn't want to marry Bill because he was no longer handsome.

Fleur having insecurities was definitely new to read about because in all of the Bill/Fleur stories I've read, none of them really manage to portray too much of Fleur's insecurities about her looks. It's nice to see that she does have things she doesn't like about it, even if it's not because she wants to look prettier.

I really do love Bill and Fleur; he looks past her good looks, and she loves him for who he is even if he isn't handsome. There are just so many things about them that I love, and I'm glad that I read this one-shot!

Wonderful job writing this! (:

Author's Response: Oh wow, I never thought of that moment, but now that you mention it, that scene goes really well with this song as well!

I really wanted a more insecure version of Fleur, because I felt that it went with the song more. I'm glad to see that someone like it, though!

Thank you so much for reviewing - I'm glad you liked it!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Calypso  Young and Beautiful

16th July 2013:
Hello! I'm here from the forums to review your challenge entry :) And I must say that the beginning grabbed me straight away!

First off, I really liked the way you worked the song into this story, and the link with the Great Gatsby film's soundtrack- it was really neat! And the lyrics do work perfectly with Fleur, and the way she's perceived. It's a tough subject, but a very real one that you tackle here, about the way people treat Fleur because of her looks, but you manage it really well. I like the part where Fleur/you point out the fact that her appearance is really the least impressive thing about her, being basically down to genetics! You also made this work really well in the story...

It's such an interesting thought that Fleur decided to work at Gringotts to escape human stereotypes, and makes perfect sense with the character you've created for her.

The way you established Fleur's attitude to her appearance was good, because then when Bill appeared, it was really obvious why she fell for him. It was cute that she actually remembered Ron asking her out before the Yule Ball, but I get why she preferred Bill! He was so lovely, I wanted to give him a big hug, haha. I liked how you described the small things that showed how much he really cared about her.
I was also impressed with your use of the quote- it's written in a fairly old-fashioned manner, but it fitted into the narrative linguistically as well as plot-wise.

And ohmygoodness that end bit was so sweet! I was aww-ing all over the place. I loved the last line, and the way it summed up her faith in him and how he hadn't let her down... There were a couple of typos in this that you might want to check through for- they did interrupt the flow a little bit.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this! It was quite a different take on Fleur, and I thought that you captured her proud, slightly aloof voice pretty much perfectly! Great work, and I'll be posting the results soon!

-Bethany

Author's Response: Hello, I'm so so sorry for how late this reply is!

I really love this song, and it made me think of someone who wants to be seen for something more than just her looks - and Fleur came to mind almost immediately after that!

Yes, I love Bill - he's so sweet and gentleman-ly. I'm glad the quote fit in well; that was a bit of a concern based on the style differences!

I'm glad you liked the ending - and AHH I will go fix those typos ASAP.

Thanks so much for reviewing, and I'm so happy you liked this!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyL8 Young and Beautiful

14th July 2013:
This was so beautiful.

I actually view Fleur quite different now

I love how she sees her beauty as a curse, not a blessing. It's like she hates being beautiful, because everything else comes second to that. That's what people remember her by.

And my favourite line is: "Would anyone still want to love me when I wasnít young and beautiful?" It's just so well-spoken. It shows that even she, the beautiful Fleur, is insecure at times.

And you know what, I actually think I view all pretty people differently now. I have always thought of being beautiful as a blessing, something we'd all wish to have but only a few fortunate ones get. But now I see it a bit diffently thanks to your story.

But most of all, I loved the ending. I love how Fleur and Bill are still so in love after so many years (lol, that rhymed).

In short, I just loved the whole story. Good Job!

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

 Report Review

Review #10, by justonemorefic Young and Beautiful

14th July 2013:
I've come to really love Fleur after the books, and I wish I appreciated her more as a champion while I read the series. Your opening endears us to her quickly, and I think there's something very honest about it, like she's tired and she just wants to spill out her thoughts. I think there are some times that sound a little awkward, either from some unevenness in her voice or grammatical errors ("if the prospects of a real relationship entered the scene, they were gone before I can blink." -> prospect, I could blink), but otherwise I get a good feel of what she's like.

Aah, I love that Bill remembers her for being a Triwizard Champion! And then brings up Harry hehee, he's so up to date with Hogwarts happenings. I would've liked to see more small scenes with them in the middle. I think the bits about Fleur's appearance could be tied in better during the dance scene - maybe described in a different way. Right now I'm only reminded at the end of that scene. Though I understand it's for a challenge, I think this oneshot could work well focusing more on their romance, too, and not just Fleur's looks!

It was good to read about Fleur again! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney Dark Young and Beautiful

14th July 2013:
Hey there!

I really enjoyed this one-shot! Thinking about it, I've actually never really read anything about Bill and Fleur before, let alone their first proper date so this was a first time experience for me, and I really enjoyed it!

I loved the way you wrote this, especially how it ended with a more elderly Bill and Fleur at Shell Cottage and still very much in love - I think it really tied the whole thing together!

Both Fleur and Bill's characterizations were great, and I think you mastered Fleur's accent, so nice work! I also liked how you brought the Triwizard Tournament into it - how you showed us that Fleur and Bill had a prior connection, and had only just realised it.

Nice job!

Courtney:)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login