Reading Reviews for Clash
  
269 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hedwig_pie Her

25th October 2014:
OMG THIS IS WEIRD. BUT GOOD WEIRD. amazing weird. i actually have no idea what is happening and I'm so eager to find out. great first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Her

23rd October 2014:
I really love this story so far, and I'm drawing some definite Full-Metal Alchemist vibes :) You really know how to pique someone's interest by giving away just the right amount. On to the next chapter.

-Meena

 Report Review

Review #3, by Queen of Nerds Descend

22nd October 2014:
I love the twisted psychological element of this story and I think you do a brilliant job writing Albus. Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Romoine Descend

22nd October 2014:
Love love your story..you are a brilliant storyteller.Keep up the awesome work and hope we get new chapter soon.
I just want to know whether there would be any romance between Al and Rose ? So far I could understand that Albus is Obsessive about Rose.I love Rose with scorp too but am guiltily shipping Albus and Rose :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Elyssia Descend

20th October 2014:
Loved this chapter, and yes, wouldn't mind another 10k word one, as soon as I finished it I already wanted more! It's amazing how far the UK has fallen in such a short time, and to such extremes. I wish I could say that level of inhumanity is impossible but evil people will always take control if they are given half the chance. I can't wait to see what you do next with the story, please update soon :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Romoine Rattle

20th October 2014:
Hey I love your storytelling..I couldn't help but see a lot of similarities between tom riddle and Albus.Are the similarities intentional ?

 Report Review

Review #7, by Midnight spark Descend

16th October 2014:
Ah... no, no, no. Hugo.

That's what I had been muttering this whole time. This is was the best chapter yet, darkness-wise(?). Oh no, those people went too far! Hugo is just a little boy! And my mouth flew open at Al's use of Killing Curse- I still see him as the playful boy other fics show him as, maybe that's why I'm so intrigued by your novel.

And welcome! I'm so glad you won. Clash and you definitely deserved this!

Great chapter! Just update faster, this felt like years to me! And after I knew that this was validated, it took me more than a week to actually read it. That week was a torture.

Good job!
Sana

 Report Review

Review #8, by LilyFlower Descend

14th October 2014:
Omg I just love this story so much and how well written it is. I am so glad to have found this story and hope you keep up the good work xD

 Report Review

Review #9, by Pia Descend

13th October 2014:
Hi!

Thank Merlin that the chapter is finally up! It was a good way to improve my monday morning! :)

So I liked seeing things from Draco's prespective, you nailed is characterization IMO.
The hole Astoria/Scorpius/high five house elves was hillarious!! As well as the "befriending a Potter is still better than dating a Weasley" line! Draco should know better haha!

The boys conversation about Rose was interesting... I tottally understand Scorpius confusion, he is realising Albus is not the guy he used to be, not exactly and that may not be a good thing for Scorpius at all, especially regarding Rose.
I'm wondering if when Albus said that Rose had a bigger role to fill than being Scorpius girlfriend, he actually meant that or if he is just trying to find a reason to make his attachment to her understandable.

Oh! And Albus can do wandless magic when he is high on heroin! How convenient! Haha! Can't wait to see his evolution!

Now I can see why Hugo's rescue is going to be a pivotal moment for them, Rose left her morals aside for the first time (not counting Hugo's ressurection) and morals are one of those things that making exceptions doesn't bring good results... and Albus found the perfect excuse to satisfy his bloodlust, whithout shame (he is saving is cousin) but he is actualling enjoying himself a bit too much, isn't he? haha! ;)

The big question now is Why the Corvis guys wanted to bait Albus and Rose?
It is a test to see how good they are? Or they just underestimated them?
Either way, I can't wait to find out!

P.S: The jackets scene was beautiful, those boys can be such gentleman sometimes! ;)

P.S 2: Thanks for thanking me, you really don't need it though, you are the one who is making me a favour by writting this amazing story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by insertofafanboy Descend

13th October 2014:
Oh my gosh, I could never ever get enough of you writing! Seriously, this is probably my favourite story on this site! I love it! Rose, Al and Scorp, they're all such distinctive and original characters, and their relationships with one another!

To be honest, I have no clue in hell where this story is going to end ou, and I'm really quite anxious to see how you put an end to everything.

You have an incredible talent with your writing. It's so fluent, and you can literally picture everything that you write down.

Well, I can't wait to read my Scorose. And I just, I love Al. Even though he's pretty dark and morbid, I don't know Al just, I just love him. He's pretty obsessive with Rose, and I'm trying to figure out whether or not he actually loves her.does he? It's a bit confusing. And I'm glad they found Hugo! I hope he actually makes it out alive, he's a beautiful character!

Anyway, congratulations on you Dobby Award! You defiently deserve it. Keep up the great work! Loving it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Roisin Descend

13th October 2014:
Hello!

Yay, after so much nitpicking and crossings out, here I am to actually talk about the substance of this chapter!

I really loved Draco's pov at the beginning. It was a really clever voice to use to introduce the climate at the time (also, the edits were all great - I feel like a got a lot more information out of this chapter). It was also smart to show Scorpius', like, happy family. It kind of puts Albus and Rose back into perspective. And the thing about the house elves was really, really poignant (that Draco almost loved them, that they were happy and had agency), considering he'd grown up seeing Dobby get abused. It was subtle, and not overplayed, and accomplished a lot. Plus, there was this cognitive dissonance about Draco I really liked, how his positive qualities (genuine respect for, and empathy, with Harry; seeming regret that the reforms stopped) seemed like the were leaking out, and his negative qualities (saying 'mudblood'/'filthy Potter-loving generation') seemed more like affectations.

I also loved Scorpius' voice in the next section. He has a sort of refreshing wit and cavalierness you always bring in at the right times. I loved the 'f- sh- up" and "demanding ahole" bits a lot! And the whole conversation about Rose was really brilliantly loaded. And then "muggles are clever, aren't they" kind of DESTROYED me. So great!

I can't exactly explain why, but Albus' heroin use is just such a powerful image, and sort of haunting. Also, him and Scorp were super Homes/Watson there!

The scene at Gringott's and then St. Mungo's was also excellent. The pacing worked really well, and the visual details were really nice. Also, I loved 'flame-ravaged.' AND 'LITERAL BOY-WHO-LIVED!'

'she picked up her wounded ego and slipped away' - also loved that.

Guh! And the thing about Albus transfiguring an apple into *something* before it bursts is REALLY unsettling!

'Murderous men. Weeping women. Beaten boys. Grimy girls' - let me commend you on the least whimsical alliteration I've ever seen! And just all of the language in the Little Norton section is tremendous. (It kind of reminds me of Slab City, actually. I mean, Slab City has folk artists and hippies who give it a cute quirkiness, but it also has a really terrible dark streak, and some super nightmarish aspects).

And something I was thinking about - Rose can be very sort of *obedient* to Albus. I think a lot of that has to do with all of that really grueling and abusing training she got from the Head. I mean, she /used/ to stand up to Albus. Anyway, I just want to commend you on the subtlety of the evolution of that.

And I really like the additions to the "proffering jackets" scene! Definitely a big water drip - Rose starting to think the Head has the right idea (especially after Draco's POV earlier). And then Albus making sure she got his jacket.

'Did you think I would hurt you? When youve proven so useful to me?' OUCH. Also, I'm trying to figure out what, specifically, that !shattering! thing Scorpius figured out was!

'their leafy wings brandished' - another line I really like. Just a nice/unexpected adjective and verb choice.

And I loved what you added about Rose, and her enjoying the thrill of attacking people alongside Albus.

All and all, I think this chapter set up a lot of tensions, and introduced a lot of issues, and I can definitely see how its building to some really major stuff. Gah! I hate how HPFF is so serialized! If this were a physical book, this is not a chapter I would have stopped after! Can't wait til the next!

I developed a pretty shattering fan-theory reading this, namely, OH GOD IS HUGO GONNA DIEEE??? All of this stuff has happened because Rose wanted to protect him, and here, we see her selling out her morals for him. If he ended up dying anyway, GUH! (Obv I don't actually expect you to reply to this with spoilers).

And THANK YOU SO MUCH for your kind shout out in the A/N!

 Report Review

Review #12, by insomnia Explore

12th October 2014:
Good i can have a sleep now but naa, still waiting for next update. This simply a work of art

 Report Review

Review #13, by greenphantomme Explore

6th October 2014:
This story just gets more interesting! So much is happening and the relationships between people are so dynamic and descriptive. Also delightful to give this review some delicious alliteration! I really want to know what happens next, so enjoy college and in those sparse and brief moments of free time I hope chapters slowly get written :) Also, (just because I'm curious) how many chapters are you anticipating this story to be - or how long if you don't write story plans? Is this like a quarter of the way through - half? Less?

Cheers and happy writing/studying!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MargaretLane Him

6th October 2014:
Hmm, it seems as if Harry wants Albus to be prepared for future Dark Lords. Four seems young to be told stuff like that, but I am guessing Harry has his reasons.

And now I have sympathy for Albus too, with the stuff about nightmares haunting him.

It's only seeing your portrayal of Albus and Rose as being at loggerheads with each other that I realise how often they are portrayed as best friends. I've done so myself. It's interesting to see such a different portrayal of their relationship.

And YIKES, Albus is starting to sound a little like Riddle with his comments about how teachers were easy to manipulate.

I think the way you write this story in flashbacks really does work, as Rose and Albus are clearly very different people from those they are usually shown to be. And of course, they barely appear in canon, so these characterisations are quite possible. But I think it adds interest to the story to see them as such unexpected characters and then work back to show how two people raised by the parents we knew they had would turn out that way. Focusing on specific moments that led to them becoming the people they eventually did seems more effective than doing it chronologically might be.

Their parents were killed? Poor, poor Rose. To lose her parents and almost her brother.

I really wonder what happened to kill the trio.

And she and Albus WERE friends her, despite the divisions between them. I can't blame her for wanting to save her brother.

And I find the comment in the previous chapter about how she'll understand how people could reject an orphan when she has her own kids. I would have thought it would more be the opposite - that once one had kids of their own, they would find it more difficult to imagine people rejecting children for any reason whatsoever, let alone something that isn't even the child's fault.

But then again, that guy may have said that for effect and not because it's what he really believes.

 Report Review

Review #15, by MargaretLane Her

6th October 2014:
OK, I really didn't expect this beginning. Rose in prison, the last witch in the world. I really wonder what is going on here and how all magical people have been wiped out. Does this mean Harry, Hermione, Ron and all Rose's cousins are dead?

I'm not halfway through the first chapter and already I have questions. That has to be good.

You've written "this did not stop me from lates nights". I presume you mean "late nights."

OK, we're a long time into the future, if there was a war between the magical world and the Muggle one fifty years ago. So that may explain how so many of the canon characters would be dead.

So she was orphaned by the age of 15 and her brother died too. Poor, poor Rose.

I still don't fully understand what is going on here. Obviously she got in trouble with her own people as a teen, after her family died, then it sounds as if war broke out between the magical and Muggle populations, possibly her fault in some way and most of the magical population died or went into hiding or something and she was arrested by Muggles. Whatever has happened, it looks like she's had a really tough time.

I'm guessing this Head is going to be the villain or A villain anyway. He seems frightening.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Shinicha Him

2nd October 2014:
I really cannot understand what became of Harry ... I obviously don't know much yet, but for what reason did he torment persons on a regular basis ... what did he train Albus for, and who is reading his memories out of the pensieve. It couldn't be Rose, she seems to not know all the details the Pensieve apparently holds. But can Muggles use them? (as in Walter)

I think what happened to Albus is really horrible. I have difficulty to grasp his character, no matter how it was shaped by his past. I can't wait to get to know him better so that I will maybe understand him a little bit better. I'm also dying of curiosity as to why he would want to know to bring people back from the dead. It couldn't be "Tommy"? He doesn't seem to care for this kind of thing, although his mentions of Malfoy as a "pureblood friend" was somewhat worrying. So much confusion.
I also cannot wait to see what happens with Scorpius. Rose blamed some of Al's development on him, after all. Too strange.

Needless to say, this chapter was breathtaking and amazing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Shinicha Her

2nd October 2014:
Wow, that was a hard-to-digest first chapter. I think your writing is amazing - I especially enjoyed the imagined dialogues - it sets the mood right from the start. Your characters have so much personality already from so little interaction, which is really stunning.

And then the story. There are so many questions for now that I think I won't ask one of them - the story will tell me eventually. Im am intrigued by the fact that Rose did not admit to the statement, that there was no more magic in the world. I'm horrified by the thought that the characters I am yet to meet (like Albus) will be dead at some point in this story. I am infinitely curious about the mentioned war, and about what happened to Ron and Hermione. I'm also pretty amazed by the thoughts on magic and the desciption of the spell. So woah. Conclusion: Overwhelming and exciting.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Sam Explore

25th September 2014:
This is an awesomely wicked story can't wait for the next update

Author's Response: Thanks! It's coming up soon!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella Hunter Her

15th September 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with our swap! I have heard through the grapevine that is the archives that this story is pretty fantastic and I have to say that no one lied to me. Hahahaha.

So, I was completely blown away while I was reading this and I've never seen a story like this on the forums before. I think that its very original and unique, I was pretty much hooked from the first paragraph and the rest was just a whirlwind of awesome.

Firstly, I am amazed that you actually created a villain out of Rose Weasley. THat's something that I've never seen before and I'm really curious about how she became this woman and also what happened to her family and the Wizarding world in general. If you had gone into more detail about just Rose and how she became like this, I wouldn't have minded at all but there's a whole other story going on.

What I really liked was your take on magic and science, they're two things that work together so well but I rarely ever see. I think that you wrote it so well that its hard to imagine it not being fact and it actually makes a lot of sense.

Both magic and science can give and take life away and I found that fascinating. It was an interesting parallel I think, since Rose used her own magic to help her brother and ended up being put on trial. The same thing could be done for using illegal drugs in the Muggle world so I like what you did there. That scene in particular was really emotional and powerful, it had me at the edge of my seat but not nearly as much as the trial itself.

Rose knows what she did was right and even though it was going to have her thrown in Azkaban, she accepted her fate. I'm surprised that no one showed up to support her and I think that you've written the Weasley family a lot differently than what I've seen so far. I can't wait to learn more, especially about how her parents died. :(

Now, Vincent is giving me the creeps. I sense that he's a very ambitious man, the sort who would do anything to get what they wanted and I'm a bit scared of what he'll end up doing to Rose. I don't like the idea of him "training" her either, it makes me cringe. He seems very complicated, cultured and very sly, I'm interested in learning more about him.

Welp, I couldn't find a thing wrong with this chapter and I'm sure that you've gotten plenty of compliments already. I'm just happy that we ended up swapping today, hope to see you around again!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #20, by Stan Explore

14th September 2014:
Amazing story - easily the best next gen story ever written . The suspense and mystery is amazingly portrayed and the characterizations of the main characters is amazing.Reading this story you can actually feel the darkness reaching out for you . Most of the next gen fics are incredibly bland and "The one big happy Weasley Family" theme sometimes makes me want to pull my hair off - but your characters - especially Albus , Rose and Scorpius - are so well depicted that for the first time since reading Deathly Hallows , I don't curse the blandness of its epilogue. The relationship between Rose and Al ( and Scorp somewhere in between ) is easily the best thing about this story . The slightly incestuous background of their relationship is fascinating .

There are so many questions at this point - Is Harry alive ? why is he so OOC ? Why have he and the rest of the trio raised Rose and Al the way they have ? Was Harry aware that he was potentially creating another Dark Lord? What was Rose's price for saving Hugo? Who is the Man-in-the-Shack who isn't really a man ? What are the aims of the animagus society and why do they want Al ? Why was Scorpius Malfoy deemed Thw War ? How does Al die ? How does scorpius die ? So many questions , I hope you provide satisfactory answers to all of them .

The story is mostly flawless , though a few problems remain . Firstly , you did not really show the transition from Al , the lone and bullied Slytherin to Albus Potter , the Ice Price who ruled Slytherin house with an iron fist.Surely , befriending Scorpius did not make all the difference ? Also you misspell the Cruciatus and Imperius as Cruciatis and imperious respectively . Not a huge error , but slightly irritating . Plus , I am not sure what the situation in the future is ? Rose is the only witch alive , does that mean the other magical folk are dead ? Or does it mean that magic no longer exists in the new world , and only Rose somehow managed to retain her powers? I hope you make it clear . Now for some future speculation ( sorry , can't resist ) , is Rose really here only to be executed? Is she going to escape or just camly accept death ? I hope its not the latter , it would make for an unsatisfactory ending . May be she allowed herself to be captured to obtain an item hidden away by by the muggles - a Horcrux of Albus perhaps ? Nah , now its just wishful thinking. I can't believe you kill off Al so early though, its a shame - he is my favourite character - a monster who is yet a human - something JKR tried to create in Voldemort (through Dumbledore's memories) but could never quite manage. His death should be heartbreaking and beautiful - I hope you do it justice.

Before I wrap up the longest review I've ever written , one final question - why not post this story on a few other sites as well , most notably fanfiction . net , which has a bigger and wider audience than HPFF ? I only ask because I feel this story deserves a lot more reviews and reads than it has , and I almost missed this masterpiece because HPFF is not a site I really frequent. Either way , I hope you update real soon . Two months wait between chapters is TORTURE . Please , for the love of God , don't abandon this story , or I will curse your name as long as I live for leaving such a great piece of fiction unfinished.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for the awesome and insightful review, and don't worry, the next update is in the queue!

The relationship between the trio is definitely my favorite part of the story as well, and yes, there is a certain /pseudo-romantic/ undertone to R and A. There is some very dark and complex psychology at work there, and I'm very careful and deliberate with how I play it.


Yes, yes, YES all those questions will be addressed in and are PIVOTAL to the story! Very, very good job keeping up with it all :)

"the transition from Al , the lone and bullied Slytherin to Albus Potter , the Ice Price who ruled Slytherin house with an iron fist." We will get background on this. I didn't stick it in the earlier chapters because there was already so much going on. I wanted to move the plot along. But the transition WILL come up again and be incorporated in a very relevant way.

I have so many scenes written for this story that often don't make the final /cut/. Within the story's frame (and the overarching HP mystery), it's almost impossible to expand on every character detail. But be sure to bring up anything else you think I've neglected or are interested in seeing!

Yes, thank you for catching my mistakes! Most of the chapters need to be edited for those things.

Old!Rose is DELIBERATELY vague about that part. Again, good job catching that. We'll definitely see it come up in the story.

Good speculation haha. You'll just have to see ;)

Albus is my favorite character too. By all means, I intend to do him justice.

I'm honored by such an outstanding review. Wow. Thank you so much. Sorry about the slow updates--school's kind of hectic right now. And don't worry, I have no intentions of abandoning this story.

-shez :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Sweety crazed Explore

13th September 2014:
Hey!!...m dying to knw d reasons!!!..not only Mr.walker Evn m frustrated as I can't piece them together!!..I feel lyk m in walker's place whn I read this !!..myth just proved m crazy abt knowing this suspense mixed surprise continuation of this story!!..anyways m in luv with this story n I badly wanna keep reading!!..pls do continue soon!!..u r doing an amazing job of writing!!..

Author's Response: Thanks! The next chapter is coming really soon and we'll get to the end eventually haha. I promise all will make sense :) Thanks for reviewing and hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Roisin Fear

28th August 2014:
Hello, back to review this chapter!

I am INFINITELY curious about what inappropriate content you took out!

I loved the conference at the beginning with the various wizarding leaders--there was almost a level of satire to it. And seeing things from the Head's perspective was awesome (Kingsley as a "relic," "too diplomatic.") Kingsley is pretty much a FLAWLESS person in canon, and so I liked that you introduced an alt-POV of him (yet, from a pretty awful characters, therefore keeping Kingsley basically intact).

"China will not allow this madness to escalade" (LIKE THE CADILLAC???)--"escalate"

And just, UGH--so many people mess with/manipulate Rose in this story (ok, just Albus and the Head). "She learned fast and held high tolerance for his brutality." There are so many heartwrenchinly cruel lines from the Head in this passage--you narrow in on his perspective with marvelous focus.

And I'm so excited to see the interplay between James and Albus! We've always seen Al as this impossibly brilliant and infinitely cold mind--but then James refers to him as "bratty."

"Albus was difficult to keep to keep up with"--too many "to keep"s

"the fears turned to real entities and had to be dealt with accordingly"--this is such an interesting concept, and you end up bringing a brilliant resolution to it. (There's a cruelty to creating these things in the first place, only to put them down).

"figure out their path as he['d] done in the Forest."

Also, totally superficially, Other!Albus reminds me a bit of the Hermione double that emerged from the Locket in DH (she was "more beautiful and more terrible", and Other!Albus: "all the right spaces on his handsome face. The effect was horrific.")

"[a] wall of fire manifested in front of them"--this might be an opportunity to swap out the word choice for "manifested." Only because you use it elsewhere so nicely, whereas here, a number of things could work. (exploded, erupted, emerged, materialized, ignited, blazed).

This sentence: "Boys and girls were not supposed to kiss like this, in graveyards and with so much darkness." Just amazing. That passage is so harrowing, and you managed to step it up with the ironic contrast of that phrasing. Just brilliant.

OK, so now my big epic response to that whole scene: I'd assumed, for a while, that something terrible might happen between Albus and Rose--there were just too many "interlaced fingers" and snuggling to not expect it. And I suspected a few things; that it would be terrible and terrifying, and that Albus would start it. But I had NOT expected was for you to manage both of those things, and I would be left *with more sympathy for Albus than I'd originally had,* and some *real genuine/innocent sweetness and intimacy between Albus and Rose.* By creating The Other, you let this situation we'd all been anxiously suspecting MANIFEST, but in a radically different way. That Albus' greatest fear is himself more terrible--that means something, and it means something *good.* That's the kind of thing that gives me hope for him. And by making Albus/Rose happen in a magical and ninliteral way, you also got to examine it with wisdom and clarity. "Fears are fears. Not fantasies." That was just perfect. And then "Her words, they took from him a sigh of relief." 'Took from him' was a really original and fresh way of phrasing that.

I really hadn't expected that a chapter where AN Albus would assault Rose would also be the chapter where I felt the most sympathy for him--and then you would instantly stretch the limits of that newfound sympathy.

"he normally did not [give?] opponents a chance to attack."

Oh man, the part about the Other breaking Rose's bones: just GAH. You manage to give Albus humanity in the ugliest ways, and it's genius. "He wanted to break her bones but then he decided he didn't like it after all; REDEMPTION."

"It was a fascinating psychological experiment, for his rate of bull* would decrease the closer he drew to death." LOVED.

And the way you write Albus' train of thought in this chapter, so disjointed and rambling and nonlinear, was really masterful!

"An eye for an eye. A bone for a bone. Or twenty." This scene is just so horrific and so terrifying. Albus' sheer sadism is repulsive and wonderfully written. AH! It could have been heroic--facing his fear, avenging what the Other did to Rose.. but NOPE. Also, the line "smooching cousins" was smart too, because it returns our perspective of Albus to big-brotherly, rather than incestual.

"It happened like this: you faced your fears... Until your fears feared you." I JUST CAN'T, SHEZ, THIS IS TOO GOOD.

Then Rose being disgusted by him. That was just so wonderfully complex and well paced. I was GLAD that she was upset by it, and then there's a real tenderness to the scene of him carrying her after she calms down.. BUT, there's also something disturbing about it. Albus kind of manipulates her when she's very fragile and upset, and she's just this exhausted young girl who's VERY SCARED and has EVERY RIGHT to be, and these very clever men (him, the Head). know exactly how to twist her into doing what they want. Albus coaxes weakness out of her to make her compliant, so that he can keep her.

But then it still is kind of sweet... It's both.

HOW DO YOU DO THIS?

 Report Review

Review #23, by Allison Explore

19th August 2014:
Great chapter!! Love your use of language -- so, so much.

I'm kind of worried that the Head/Aurors' investigation of the Crows will implicate Albus in some way... :( I feel so protective of him, even though he's *supposed* to be the one that can handle himself most efficiently, the greatest wizard ever...

Hehe, everything seems in line to collide and I'm so excited! The stone of magic is such an incredible concept. I've always wondered where magic in HP came from (since in other fantasy stories, the source and impact of magic usage is such a big thing) so I'm happy you're addressing it.

When Rose wonders about being Albus' exception -- those thoughts resonated so directly with mine. Of course, Albus is the way he is and he wouldn't be half as enchanting any other way, but a part of me really hopes that she is his exception. The improved Felix Felicis and Albus' moment of doubt really warmed my heart -- you are remarkably talented with that, you know. As dark and complex as this story is, those small moments between the characters have a way of being so touching. :)

Hugo's abduction -- ooh, intriguing! I've forgotten a little about him, but I like the relationship he has with Scorpius. To me, he's always been more like Rose's son, whereas Albus fills the brother role. Sigh. I know I shouldn't love Albus as much as I do, but... it's so hard. :x He's so horribly fascinating... Hehe, so at first, I thought Albus' attempted hexing of Scorpius was more of a display of jealousy / not wanting to share Rose, but maybe it could be just him showing off a "big brother" side? In his own way. Hmm, I don't know. Maybe I'm just too pro Albus being a secretly not-so-bad-or-creepy guy. And really, I don't think he's that bad at all -- just a complex person in a time where everything came together to make him the worst possible version of himself. But maybe that's just wishful thinking, lol.

Loved the ending with Mr Walker -- it makes everything all the more real. So, I was thinking: perhaps Scorpius "is" the war because of the change his romantic inclinations elicited in Rose? I feel like Albus is the dark, Scorpius is the light, and Rose is caught in between, unsure of which way to go. Rose seems intrinsically wired to lean more towards the dark, towards Albus (though maybe it's just from a lifetime of his influence), but she definitely is the more morally principled, compared to Albus, that is, so veering towards Scorpius is very possible. That, I'm sure, wouldn't make for a very happy Albus, but could that cause a war of sorts? Could a world war threatening to destroy humanity and magic really be instigated by one young man's inability to "let go" of the only person he feels has truly "loved" him? Gosh, that sounds kind of romantic, haha -- but actually, I think because it's platonic love, the whole idea, in this situation, becomes even more heartbreaking -- and heartwarming. Of course, it's 4AM and I'm just speculating wildly and rambling by now. Still though, I want to say that I love how this story doesn't focus on romantic love (at least at this point) as its driving force -- there are arguably stronger forces than that, and I love, love, love (lol) that you seem to have stuck with that so far. "Scorpius Malfoy is the war" ... hmm, those are my current thoughts, for now! I suppose, I could also look at it in terms of how much Scorpius means to Albus, and if Rose "taking" him would cause any reverberating impact, but I haven't gotten the feeling that Albus cares that much for Scorpius, so... yeah, we'll see!

God, wow. I'm kind of embarrassed of the length of this review, but I haven't gotten this excited in a story in so long. Everything is written and explained so realistically and confidently -- I love it and believe it easily, hehe. So, I'm looking forward to the next update, and hope you have fun with college!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh this is a beautiful review – I’m absolutely stunned. DON’T EVER BE EMBARRASED FOR RAMBLING. Seriously. This just made my week 

I absolutely agree that are stronger forms of love than romantic love—forms that are equally, if not more, heart-throbbing. I like to think Clash is heart-throbbing even without a gratuitous amount of romance. If I’m completely honest, Clash was born due to me getting sick of almost- every young adult novel/fanfic centering around romance. I wanted to challenge the cliché. You’ll notice that while there IS romance in Clash, it’s kept in the background, whereas the big, reoccurring themes – the fear vs. expectation, life vs. death, ambition vs. call to morality—it’s all centers around a very complex, very deep family relationship. I’ll even say that the HEART and SOUL of Clash is the relationship between Rose and Albus. It twists and fluctuates and shifts mood and temperature almost violently – and it’s all very intentional on my part, because Clash – at its most fundamental – is the exploration of a broken, distorted family. Hmm. It sounds a bit sad when I put it like that.

I won’t give spoilers, but I hope you know I really enjoyed your ‘wild speculations’ haha. And I thought they were perfectly valid guesses!

I’m glad you enjoyed the felix felicis part – it’s one of my favorites too!

Al, Rose, and Scorpius share a very interesting dynamic – but the conflict isn’t exactly having to choose between the dark/wrong/Al vs. light/right/Scorp. Al and Scorp were ‘mates’ long before Scorp started fancying Rose, and now that they’re all together, it’s a bit strange (for them all haha). You’ll see what I mean by that in upcoming chapters ;)

Thank you so much for one of the most passionate, BEST reviews I’ve gotten! Readers like you are why I keep writing haha. And I think we hold very similar views when it comes to the importance of nonromantic love ;)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Roisin Explore

19th August 2014:
OH MY GOD THIS CHAPTER!

I wondered about Mr. Walker, since he didn't crop up at the beginning, and really, way to put him at the end! There are so many strands to this story--the crow people, that frikken guy in the shack (I nearly forgot about him!). I'm so excited to see how they all weave together.

So I took notes while reading, and I'll try to piece them into a coherent review (one note reads simply "sparring/feminism"):

-"warm scarfs"--should be scarves. SORRY.

-"Now it was nothing more than testament to a faded childhood"--this was a delightfully meta way to described the ruined Burrow, because it's like OUR CHILDHOODS, YOU KNOW. BECAUSE GROWING UP POTTER. Lovely!

-"While Albus rummage[d] through"

-"Your perception of love has grown very... distorted." HAH, look who's talking, Albus "What's Up With My Cousin" Potter.

-Maybe the dragon tamed her. This concept has come up before, and I loved this exchange. It's really atrocious the way that Albus sort of fantasized as her being this weak person, while he's always outwardly pressing her to improve. Because it's not really *improvement* he's trying to accomplish--he just likes bending her.

-"Niceties from Albus were usually like holiday decorations: planned, obvious, and purely aesthetic." Such a great analogy!

-Now, as for the word "manifest." Recently, it's only come up in terms of "manifest of magic," so it's fine to repeat the word, but there was a time some chapters back when that word got used a lot. It's a great word, and individually speaking, I liked the choice. But I'd go back and look into it, because sometimes it was once per paragraph. I'll try and point it out when I get to there whilst back-reviewing.

-"facial scar running across his face" is a wee redundant.

-I LOVE KOVY. Haven't mentioned that yet, but it's nice that Rose has a Normal Human Being in her life, outside of Hugo. AH, HUGO ABDUCTED, NO.

-'He eyed her doubtfully but said nothing, instead nodded. Looked away. Sipped his tea.' This was brilliant. It could have been a much less lovely bit, but separating it with periods like that was really nice. Also, the humanity of that exchange--another little moment of Autistic!Albus. Alsoalso, SO FELIX FELICIS IS GONNA COME UPPP? I'm immediately gonna throw out a fan theory: ScoRose happens, Incest!Albus gets stroppy, felix felicis is somehow involved, then MEGA WAR.

-As for "the sun" being the manifest of magic--I loved that idea, even if it isn't the case. Dave Eggars wrote a short story (from the perspective of a dog), and at the end "it turns out the sun is god." Anyway, I loved the real science that you used in this chapter to augment the magical discussion (conservation of energy/etc). Roses diagram of photosynthesis-->magic was delightful.

-"he simply known where to go." should be "he'd simply known" or "he simply knew"

-"The words evoke[d] three seconds."

-"And if Rose she thought he," remove "Rose" or "she." PS, I love how it's a running thing that you don't subject-intro Rose and Albus by name at times when authors would, simply saying "she" and "he." It's a really nice device, and sort of sets them APART and reminds us how IMPORTANT they are, and hints at future RIVALRY.

-"Because Once Upon a F-ing Time, those ideals had worked." I loved this sentence. It kind of sums up a lot of the tone/concepts of this piece. All of the Potter Canon joy and humanism is gone here, and this is the meta-fanfic adult sequel--and the rules have changed.

-"inwardly wondering whether it was in bad taste to make that joke." Ohoho, rumblings of indecency. Then again, the subconscious pact not to mention the Boggart shows a lot of innocence to their relationship.

-"was no long[er] relevant."

-"then at last that he learned to see." A great nod to the classics (the "seer" archetype is sightless, because The Light that illuminates and gives The Sight, blinds to the natural world!) Not that he's *literally* blind, but I liked the homage.

-And here we go: "sparring/feminism." I *could* have a lot of *feelings* of a *feminist* nature about Albus being consistently *better* than Rose--but I don't. Because she's better, where it matters. And as for the technical stuff, she's REALLY good--he's just preternatural. I love that you were able to do that. And also, where he excels is in his "ballerina grace," whereas she's "brutish." So yeah, hardly gonna call "gender" here!

-"I had wonder[ed] when and where shed picked the habit."

-And Scorpius/Rose. I'm loving Scorpius more and more, and like I said about Albus/Rose lacking *genuine desire*--ScoRose have it. It does a great job of helping me-the-reader stabilize my impressions of Albus/Rose by offering contrast.

-AH, HUGO NO! I LOVE THE HUGO!

This story is just sososososososo great! I really can't even begin to fathom how you did it! The way the prose varies between rich and rough, the complexity of the plot and characters, the many unique literary devices, it all SHINES.

Now I am going to fret around, waiting for the next update. Please rerequest whenevs! I still have all those back-chapters, and that BOGGART to tackle :)

xoxo
Roisin

 Report Review

Review #25, by Roisin Grieve

19th August 2014:
I'm going to do this chapter before I do the next, just to get back into the flow of things/remember where we left off.

First off, just GAH. That opening was really beautifully written. One picky little note though "on it were dead bodies." I think this line is supposed to be striking and blunt--and it's almost there, but it needs *some* sort of tweak. ("Upon it: corpses rot." or something). You've actually used passive voice a few times in this story, but I've always really enjoyed the effect on it. Sometimes, things just work better written passively (you usually do it in a "form following content" kind of way, and Rose is often a passive player in her life) :)

And then another nitpick: "contemplating his fathers path as he now it." Sorry? Either there's a missing word, or you used "now" instead of "knew."

BUT OTHERWISE, I really liked Albus' Holmesian deducing. The bracketed thoughts were a great device!

And then the nod about Harry being "a Gryffindor" and "self-sacrificing." So far, Harry has been really OOC seeming, so it's definitely a nice mystery twist to suggest that he's not entirely different. I HAVE NO GUESSES AS TO WHAT IS GOING ON!

Another device here, was the capitalization of things like "Earnest Words" and that--I loved that. Also, and this is something I have LOTS TO SAY ON, but for this chapter and the last, Albus becomes a little more sympathetic. Almost because he seems kind of *autistic.* He comes off nearly evil at a lot of points, and definitely sociopathic most of the time, but at this stage in the story, *straight up autistic* comes into play a little bit. He doesn't understand people, and it begins to frustrate him. The fact that he *wants* to behave like a human being, but *can't;* it's the wanting that redeems him.

Oh man--Albus/Rose stuff. A lot of that I'll discuss when I get to the previous chapter, because I know EXACTLY what I want to say about it. (Sorry these reviews are getting so out of order).

"She called him a cruel bastard but with like a sigh of relief." I'm not sure about "with like." I'm sure the valley girl is accidental, though :)

And I LOVE the way you did child!Albus' voice and POV. Brilliant! And again, it's almost more striking to see harry IN character--because the questions! In that scene, he was *very* in character.

I really, really liked that Albus uses muggle... devices, BUT, they seemed odd choices. Stimulants are a FAR cry away from calming potions. Opiates and barbiturates are much more in line. Then again, the thought of him nursing a glass pipe is terrifying, and I liked it. Maybe start off the list with more likely choices (smack), and then introduce the stimulants later?

"According to Hugo, they had a bit of a bromance." I love how casual and modern this line is, against the majorly angsty passages that preceded it. I just love Hugo :)

But I'm not sure about "quarantine" as a word choice in this story for the situation. I study infectious diseases a lot in college, and quarantine really only gets used for that (the etymology is pretty consistent). No better phrasing comes to mind, but maybe look into the Iron Curtain era (like, scan the wikipedia page), and a better word will surely materialize.

Another brilliant thing in this story, is the shifting focalizations. A lot of readers on here have said, in various threads, how changing POVs can get confusing, and here you vary focus so rapidly, but it's *always* clear who you're speaking through. "Literally most soul crushing thing ever"--Scorpius. You don't add quotes, and you don't italicize, but you don't really need to. Your characters are so distinct, that their voices come across very easily. NICE ONE.

Question, though: it's a little confusing where Rose *lives.* She appears to sleep at her house, where Albus is staying, but we never saw her move in. And it doesn't seem like the Head would have allowed that.

Not sure about this, either: "The tape of memories.." A) they're wizards and B) this story takes place in the 2020s--even muggle kids wouldn't know what 'tapes' were, probably.

"The thunderous roar of the storm followed up with a flash of lightning, illuminating his features for a split second, which had instantly grown cold." I've said it before, but there's just enough "gothic novel" to this story--I love it.

An overall note: you continue to write Rose really realistically, but in totally abnormal situations. And yet, she still seems *young,* which is great. You've shown how these things have influenced her, and it would be really easy to write her as an adult. Instead, you managed something much trickier, and wrote a teenager who was still a teenager, but changed. BRAVO.

And as per Rose/Albus--again, I'll get to this when I review the Boggart!Albus chapter, but I'd be a fool to miss all those "chaste kisses" and long hugs. THAT SAID, if there was /real pulsing desire/ well, they would have noticed during one of their snugglefests. I stand by my original analysis: "mixed up." These two are so twisted, I think they've lost sight of what is and isn't appropriate. They treat each other almost as lovers, but GENUINE desire isn't present. Neither is clear what they want from the other, and the truth is, what they want, they can't find in each other. Ultimately, I think they lack proper guidance, and proper families, and both are starved for love and affection.

(and I'm kind of, but not really, but a little bit, but really not, just kind of guiltily, *shipping them*)

OK YUSSS LET'S DO THE NEXT CHAPTER

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>