Reading Reviews for Clash
375 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Priyanjana Fall (part 2)

16th June 2015:
Sigh. For what it's worth, you're an inspiration. Beautiful work. When can we expect the next chapter?

Author's Response: Thank you :3 Next chapter should be up within the next two weeks!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Holzer Fall (part 2)

3rd June 2015:
Wow you are really creating a masterpiece here.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the high praise!

 Report Review

Review #3, by padfootandmoony Fall (part 2)

3rd June 2015:
Oh. My. Goodness. My mouth is literally hanging open right now.
You are a genius! I never would have suspected Rose had turned Hugo into a horcrux, and I gasped when we found that out! Also, seriously what was Harry thinking with Albus though? I'm excited to find out the meaning behind the training sessions!
A completely and utterly brilliant chapter as usual, you are so incredibly talented and this story is beyond amazing.
So excited to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I'm glad you're enjoying and it's all coming up, don't worry! This chapter was really difficult to write so I'm glad it was cohesive.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Queen of Nerds Fall (part 2)

2nd June 2015:
This was brilliant! This story always is, but this chapter especially (bonus points for having a legitimately well thought out explanation for Hugo's resurrection). I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! This chapter has been a long time coming hehe

 Report Review

Review #5, by Allison Fall (part 2)

1st June 2015:
(Part 2 of my review)

The final scene also fascinated me. Are both the normal and italicized text the thoughts of the same person? The man who's not a man?

And who's weakness was that he was human? Tom or Albus? Or maybe everyone? Lol.

And does this mean that Harry is definitely alive then?! And if so, WTH HARRY. WHAT ARE YOU DOING.

The part that hurts me most is the end. What happened with Albus? Is he alive by magical means? The fact that the "abyss gazed back" (in Albus' eyes?) scares me, because even though I know it's inevitable, I want so badly for him to retain his humanity. I need him to, and I know he won't... ugh, I'm fighting a losing battle. :( I hope Albus remains the same Albus that Rose loves.

And wow, I'm kind of embarrassed by the length of this review. In short, I loved (and hated! because the feels, omg) this chapter. I'm eager for the next update but also dreading finding out what happens next. Please don’t torture us too much.

Thank you for writing, truly. :)

- Allison

Author's Response: (For some reason the formatting gets messed up when I copy text from word doc, so SORRY about the weird 'A's in my other review response.)


Harry is never 'definitely' anything. We don't discuss Harry in absolutes in this story, haha. WE'LL SEE.


 Report Review

Review #6, by phoebe_s Fall (part 2)

1st June 2015:
So for the past two days I have been devouring this story. It's been so long since I've read a fantastically writeen dark fanfic that has mystery and crazy sh*t going down.

Where do I even begin?

I started reading this fic because Scorose was one of the pairings, but I'm sticking with it because of the plot. And Scorose isn't even really a factor in the story, so you know I'm not reading this for them.

I love HP fics that play around with the Trio as adults. I've read many, many interpretations but yours is one of my favorites. Actually, a few years ago there was a fic that played around with the idea that Harry wasn't how we knew him as an adult and Rose became the youngest auror at 16 and her parents were dead and she had to look after Hugo (slightly similar in that aspect to your story). I was so fascinated with this concept and though that author didn't finish that plot, I was so happy to find your story, even though it was much, much darker.

And you've done SUCH an amazing job with the plot so far. The only think I would worry about if I were you is if it were dragging or not. Which isn't a problem so far because these chapters are pretty long but I've never had the urge to skip anything because I felt like the story was moving too slowly (which I have done in the past with really lengthy fics).

As for your characterization. It's brilliant. It's fascinating and dark and horrifying, but so, so addicting. This is a characterization I have NEVER seen before for the second generation. Once, I read a fic of when Lily Potter was on the opposite side of a war from the rest of her family, but she saw the light at the end.

There is no light at the end for these characters.

Which is kind of awesome.

These characters are so complex and it's very, very hard for me to categorize them. Rose, I understand. Her morals are all over the place, but in all honestly I can still see Ron and Hermione in her. She's twisted and f*cked up and her relationship with Albus is unbelievably toxic, but she's still good inside. She's still a hero, I think. A dark one maybe, but a kind of... dark knight, if you will. I sympathize with her and I feel for her and her fate saddens me.

Scorpius is a babe and I love him. I want him to be happy. Preferably with Rose (as I am a shameless and hardcore Scorose shipper) and he has his flaws, but he's the best of of the three of them, I think. He's loyal to a fault and he really, really loves Albus and Rose (at least as a friend) and it hurts my heart that he does so much for Albus and Albus doesn't give two sh*ts.

Ah, Albus. The most complex character I think I've ever read in a fanfic. I wish I could just straight up hate him, or label him a monster. And he is, like 95% of the time. But at the same time, it's not really his fault. I mean he makes his own choices and he has a brain in which he uses to make said choices, but he was made to be this way. And it's sick and horrifying and I just... really, really pity him. I don't know how I feel about Albus really. I don't like him. I don't think I hate him. But he's addicting. And you've done a fantastic job with him.

Question time- Do Albus and Rose have romantic feelings for each other? Because THIS LINE MAN:

"If fear was the thing keeping them apart… "

I know you've made it kind of clear that Rose and Albus view each other as siblings, but then they don't and they have this weird close relationship that Scorpius even questions if Albus is the reason Rose keeps turning him down. I honestly kind of want Rose to just tell Scorpius he just doesn't have a chance so he can move on and be happy.

Anyway, I also think they are far too comfortable touching like that without there being something... there, you know? When Rose comforts Albus, it kind of reminds me of someone comforting their lover or whatever. With Rose and Hugo, they're very affectionate but you can feel their sibling relationship, but with Albus and Rose it feels like something more (he get so incredibly jealous of Scorpius, it's not even funny). And it kills me that I don't know what it is.

Are we supposed to be confused???

More questions- Will Scorpius and Rose ever actually get together? Does Albus care about Scorpius?

I think I have more questions, but I can't remember them. Also, I understand if you can't answer all of them BUT I'd like a little more clarification on the whole Albus/Rose dynamic BECAUSE IT'S REALLY CONFUSING.

Okay so the last topic I want to briefly hit are the Golden Trio themselves.

I was very upset when it turned out that Ron and Hermione were really dead. I think I always knew they were, but that scene was just heart breaking.

This plot that the golden three planned all of this or something is fascinating. I will say that for Harry at least (we don't know too much on how involved Romione was with everything, though I'm sure that will come to light some time) if we're talking canon Harry, I don't buy any of the abuse. I don't think Harry would ever abuse his children, least of all torture them to build them up or whatever BUT you've done something very cool and unique with his character (not that torture is cool, but writing wise).

I wouldn't call it AU, because this isn't an alternate universe. You're playing with these characters and putting them in your world, and you've done a great job. I firmly believe that not just Harry, but the golden three would never harm their children, ever but this whole plot has my mind whirling about what made Harry do what he did. What made Romione stand by him (although that's not much of a shock). I can't wait to see what you have in store for the ending!

Super long review, but I'm just so unbelievably impressed with your writing and plot and it's just REALLY AWESOME and I can't wait for the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Hello!

I saw this review and jumped on immediately to respond to it. That fic from a few years ago that you're talking about? Uncharted? I AM THAT AUTHOR AND THIS IS THAT FIC. I went on a haitus for a few years and then came back and reworked the concept around a darker, much more intricate plot. I needed to hone my writing and plotting skills before I felt comfortable posting for a while, so I dabbled in some OF. From what I remember, Uncharted wasn't very popular, so it's really surprising to find someone that liked it!

Ok, let's talk about your questions.

//Are we supposed to be confused???//

Short answer? YES.

I try to avoid analyzing my characters outside the fic itself; it ruins reader immersion and the whole figuring-it-out-for-yourself, so I'll just say this -

(now, long answer)

Clash REVELS in it's ambiguity. Anything that feels off or wrong about the fic is MEANT to feel so. There are instances where Rose and Al act as siblings and then there are instances that are meant to make you wonder; OMG, just what the heck is going on??? That scene when he kisses her neck or she holds his face - should you be unsettled and creeped out? Oh, MOST DEFINITELY. In fact I would think you were skimming if you hadn’t picked up on it.

Interestingly enough, I get guilty shippers all the time as well.

Clash doesn't tell you how to feel about characters or relationships, rather tries to give a brutally honest and nonjudgmental view of things. The nature of Rose and Albus' relationship IS, without a doubt, messed up, and that dysfunctionality doesn’t have to be explicitly stated; it comes off more than often in their interactions. The scenes that affirm their sibling-ness? They're written from THEIR perspectives, which calls into question just how (un)reliable they are. There’s some very dark psychology at work there.

In other words, your instincts telling you that something's off are RIGHT.

Clash wasn’t really written for shipping purposes, nor was it concocted with a specific relationship endgoal, nor does it seek to idealize any particular couple. In fact, just before posting this chapter, I removed the romance tag from the summary because I knew just how misleading it would be for readers that come in expecting a, cough, fluffy ScoRose and get handed something that's difficult, gritty, and much more nuanced.

In summary, I'd say there's been a lot of trauma for both characters and that there are a lot of *confused* and *mixed up* feelings that maybe aren't very well realized. By either party really. You’ll just have to see what becomes of it.

//Will Scorpius and Rose ever actually get together? Does Albus care about Scorpius?//

You don't actually think I'd answer these in a review, do you? ;) I'll just say that anything's possible, and we have a LONG way to go, so feelings definitely have a chance of changing. Though, one thing I will point out is that when Scorpius fell down, Albus DID go after him. It’s a small line, not drawn out or anything dramatic, but it’s certainly there. So make of it what you will.

As for Harry, Ron, and Hermione, you'll just have to see. NO WAY am I giving any spoilers there.

Thanks for such a detailed and intelligent review, phoebe. Hope my response is somewhat worthy :p

 Report Review

Review #7, by cherry_pop94 Fall (part 2)

31st May 2015:
Hugo is Rose's horcrux... that's absolutely brilliant. To use magic that we all recognize as something that is so inherently evil... and then to use it as the ultimate love sacrifice... it's brilliant. But does that mean Hugo can never die? Because that's another kind of lifelong pain in itself. I suppose Rose can never die either, but she'd her piece of soul out of Hugo to live and that would kill him I assume. Gah! There's just so much happening here!

And this chapter was just something else. I magical bombing, the Order of the Crows, the man who is not a man... Rose's journey into death! This is the darkest fanfic I've ever read. And I absolutely adore these blurred lines between good and bad. Unlike in Harry Potter, no one's a hero here. Albus, Rose, even Scorpius, none of them are the noble heroes Hermione, Harry, and Ron were. But the last bit! With the man who is not a man talking about Harry raising his sick son like the Dark Lord... I can't wait to see what you mean by it! I mean, I obviously realized before the similarities between Albus and Tom Riddle, but was he sick as a child? And we still aren't sure what possessed Harry to become such a radically different person. I don't believe that it was just stress and mental illness following the war. He, along with Hermione and Ron, must have seen something... something that would make them turn their children into these people...

I'm so excited for the next chapter. This was honestly incredible and the glimpse into death... AH! I love this!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Manda95 Fall (part 2)

31st May 2015:
This is possibly the darkest fanfic I have read on this website so far. I am so loving every inch of it. Your writing is amazing. I feel chills when reading this. I'm so excited to see where this goes. I wish there were more updates, but I understand that you have other things going on. Love it. Keep writing :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'll try to make faster updates this summer, promise :p

 Report Review

Review #9, by Pia Fall (part 2)

30th May 2015:
Yeah!! A new chapter!! Thank you!!! :D

A horcrux? To quote Albus: “that was… genius" of you. It makes perfect sense. I always knew that there was a problem with Rose's soul; I wish I had thought about a horcrux sooner!

And Rose! What that hell did she do? She brought that creature with her? I guess she is going to really, really regret bringing Hugo back! Poor girl, her story is like a Greek tragedy‼

Albus and Rose’s relationship is so sadomasochistic, it hurts haha! I also feel sorry for Scorpius, I don’t know if Rose is doing that intentionally but she is playing him hard. Maybe she is trying to convince herself that she actually loves him but it seems to me that the boy she really loves has a darker hair. ;)

Can’t wait to see what happens with Albus now! I might get it wrong but did Cygnus imply that Albus was not fully human because of something that Harry did to him!? That’s brutal!

Write the next chapter as fast as you can please‼

 Report Review

Review #10, by Mia (again) Fall (part 2)

30th May 2015:
Sorry- I just wanted to post another review somewhat correcting my previous one. I said Albus was 'virtually incapable of empathy' but perhaps that's too much of a one dimensional view of him- he does have TINY amount of feeling in him...he comes back to save Rose doesn't he? Puts his life before hers, to fight them wizards though it's still unclear why he stayed? maybe partly because it's seems as though he doesn't care for death and he's got a sort of obsession for it doesn't he? Constantly asking Rose what it's like...experiencing it through Hugo's memories. But at the end of the day, he is an insensitive prck.

Anyway sorry for rambling, Albus is so complex...always provoking questions and whatnot, i'm surprised you can discern what's going on his head! (I jest, you were the one who created this version of him haha)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Mia Fall (part 2)

30th May 2015:
Ack! This chapter was epic, I am amazed by the sheer terror of the scene you created (If only i could have an inch of your writing ability- consider original fic, I would read it for sure) and my god I hope Albus isn't really dead- I know he does eventually right? Despite the fact that he is amoral, his thought process, apathy and cold behavior is strangely alluring in the sense that his character is addictive to read about- though yes- he is without a doubt certifiably insane. His P.O.V is also my favorite. As Scorpius said however 'Are you even human?'- though Albus is virtually incapable of empathy he is still perfectly capable of making human mistakes.

Poor Scorpius, he seemed really affected by that dead deer, I do wonder how he would have reacted to that killing spree Albus went on (arghh what was it...chapter 9 or 10??)

And that Horcrux thing with Hugo? Ingenious and I suppose the question many of us will be thinking is, 'Indeed, what was Harry thinking?'

 Report Review

Review #12, by Nadiaxx Fall (part 2)

30th May 2015:
Omg you updated! Agh this is so freaking good like idk even know what's happening most of the time because the plot is so well threaded in the story so I have to sit down with my friends (coz we're massive nerds who love this fic) and ask them what they think is going on and just agh
This is my favourite chapter yet
I love the Harry side of the story and albus is like bae idk why but I just love him
Omg I'm still so psyched that you updated!!
Lots of love xoxoxoxox

Author's Response: Hey, it's AWESOME that you and your friends discuss this fic! Glad you're enjoying and hope Clash continues to entertain. Thank you for this review :3

 Report Review

Review #13, by fghAt Burn

21st May 2015:
Stories are just words some might say
But I cannot thank you enough for yours
I have had such a shitty few months but reading these words as mundane as that sounds has sprouted inspiration in me and for the first time for such a long time I feel like I have something to work towards
I cannot thank you enough for putting a smile on my face and motivating my life again
You should b extremely proud of yourself and this story

Author's Response: Wow, I'm honored that my story can do that for you and I hope that I can continue to entertain and inspire. I absolutely believe that words have the ability to inspire. Comments like these are what validate my writing. Wow, this just made my day.

 Report Review

Review #14, by DancingDarcy Rescue

21st May 2015:
Each chapter gets me more and more obsessed every day!
You have such a creative mind
Truly epic fanfiction with such a dark plot line
So excited to see where this goes from now

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Hope I can continue to entertain!

 Report Review

Review #15, by aloisa_gunnel Fall (part 1)

20th May 2015:
Just wanted to let you know that Ive binge-read your story in just a few days, I couldnt put it down... so now youll have to bare with me demanding another chapter -but its just so good!! You characterize Al and Rose and Scorpius and Hugo and the Head and -wow. The relationship between Rose and Albus is fascinating and so exciting to read, each of their inner conflicts seem so logic after all that they have been through... and both of them are surrounded by a certain air of mystery, so many stories and deep ends you have yet to explore...
I just wish you could format your stories better, I know that its a lot of work but it would just add on professionalty and it would make it more clear what youre trying to convey, which phrases you want to accentuate. But whatever, its your story and you can do with it whatever you want, Ill keep reading it and be sad when you kill off Albus and the rest of all magic -or maybe its just all a trick and there will be some kind of happy ending? Maybe even of those good-bad endings, one of the bittersweet ones with an open door?
end of rant, addios

Author's Response: Don't worry, I know about the formatting bit. I'm currently doing a mass edit to bring all the chapters up to the same quality. Mind, will prob take me a while.

At any rate, glad you're enjoying! The relationship bw R and A is my favorite to write! Hope they continue to fascinate you.

As for the ending, you'll just have to see ;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFan Fall (part 1)

14th May 2015:
I'm finally all caught up! I'm so excited to see where this goes and what happens in the next chapter. One of my favourite bits are the parts where we get a glimpse into Harry and Albus's relationship and precisely how twisted and unhealthy it was. I wonder if Harry truly thought that he was somehow helping his son and preparing him with everything that he put him through. Yes Albus is absolutely brilliant in almost everything but he's so emotionally constipated. (Also I'm still trying to come to terms with the fact that the Harry in this story was cheating on Ginny, unless I'm reading into this wrong.)

Albus claims that he doesn't want Rose's affection and he puts so much effort into pushing her away from him and yet he threatens any boy that so much as blinks her way, even Scorpius, his friend. I wonder how the relationship between Albus and Rose will change as the story goes on they have a family relationship that I've never seen in fics before.

 Report Review

Review #17, by AlexFan Rescue

13th May 2015:
But seriously tho this is probably the nicest Albus has been and Albus will ever be. He reminds me of Sheldon Cooper in the way that he's blunt about everything and the way that he puts logic and reasoning above everything else. Although he's probably much more attractive than Sheldon.

Out of everyone that Hugo could possibly grow close to I never really pictured Albus being one of them. But I suppose it makes sense. Albus treats Hugo the opposite of how everyone else treats him, Albus doesn't have time to coddle Hugo and I guess Hugo appreciates that.

You've gotta admire Scorpius's nerve with asking Rose out. Of course he means but he's also probs saying it to lighten the mood although if I had to take a wild guess I'd say Rose wasn't really in the mood for cheering up (how do I figure these things out I know super observant). I love how Hugo has jumped on the board the Scorpius/Rose ship.

I'm generally very had at putting clues together to be honest with you so even if you've made something really obvious I probably haven't picked up on it BUT IM EXCITED TO SEE WHERE THE STORY HEADS FROM NOW ON!

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFan Descend

12th May 2015:
I’ve been meaning to catch up on this story for so long and I’m finally getting around to it now! I have to actually prepare myself for what’s going to happen because you can’t just go into this story without doing some breathing exercises or something.

Your characterization of Draco is pretty spot on. You can see that he cares about Draco but there’s still that holier-than-thou air about him when he thinks about the things that he’s seen and heard because of his job at the Ministry. Even with everything that Draco went through as a teenager, I don’t think the Malfoy in him would’ve ever left.

“Draco didn’t throw a fit as large one would expect him to throw” So that means that Draco still threw a fit (I would actually pay money to see how that might’ve gone). I wonder what it must be like living in the Malfoy household, Scorpius’s family sounds like something off of a comedy.

I forget that Albus actually cares about Rose, in his own twisted, unhealthy way so whenever he defends it’s always a little surprising considering how poorly he treats her. Moving on from that, ALBUS POTTER IS ON A WHOLE OTHER LEVEL OH MY GOD. He just kind of sits around and goes “hmm today let’s figure out how to do magic without a wand,” like who does that who does he think he is.

Rose is a really strong character, I mean, she gets pushed around a lot by Albus but so does everyone else but she’s a really strong character. She’s made it through everything with her brother and finding her parent's bodies and yet she still manages to keep going. But now that her brother has disappeared I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t want to get in the way of Rose Weasley. When it comes to her brother there is literally nothing that will stop Rose from keeping him safe.

I’m so excited to keep reading (and now I have to go and tell literally everyone I know about how good this is).

 Report Review

Review #19, by Diana62 Fall (part 1)

12th May 2015:
This story gives me Immense pleasure in the saddest points of my life
Your are so talented

Author's Response: That is the highest praise I've ever received. Thank you. I'm glad that my story can do that for you.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Tina Fall (part 1)

11th May 2015:
This was an absolutely amazing chapter/ entire story. I love how all of your characters are so three dimensional, and their storyline is beyond enticing- I couldn't stop reading! Thank you so much for writing this, I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you're enjoying and hope I can continue to entertain!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Nia Fall (part 1)

8th May 2015:
So freaking awesome! I love love love albus... and rose, come to think of it, and scorpius and hugo... the ending of this chapter is so perfect that it almost makes me not mind that the chapter is ending. Seriously this is so intriguing and amazingly well-written, I almost feel like I'm there... somehow you have both emotion and plot at once which I rarely see. Anyways thank you for writing and please update soon!

Author's Response: I love Albus too, incidentally, even with all the stunts he pulls. I'm glad you liked the ending -I spent a long time going and forth trying to decide if I wanted it to end on such a vulnerable note. But it fits in vein w Albus' development.

I'm glad you're enjoying and hope I can continue to intrigue you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Pansies Him

27th April 2015:
Is harry abusive, did the war change him? I wonder this plot like with harry is by far the most interesting complex thing I've read on this sight
Thoroughly blown away by your talent!

Author's Response: WE'LL FIND OUT ;)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Nakshara Him

27th April 2015:
Okay so how have you managed to write a chapter even better than the first?
Like this whole intriguing dark relationship Albus has with his father is so intense
I feel it in my bones man!!
Really really really impressed by your ability of writing
How much I wonder would I pay to be you!!
I really really love this!
Amazing second chapter cant wait to read the third ill be sure to review

Author's Response: Haha, pay to be me? This fic is pretty hard to write at times so maybe I'll take you up on the offer :p Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Nakshara Her

27th April 2015:
Wow what a ground breaking first chapter
I am so intrigued and fascinated man
This is genuinely the stuff of real book shelves?
If this was a novel i would buy it without a doubt
My friends pushed me into reading this and all I can say is that I cannot describe the glee im feeling as I watch them pine for a chapter 22 and im Here with another 20 chapters to go
It is a beautiful feeling
I have so many exciting theories!
You genuinely are so gifted I wish had this kind of talent!
Your a true inspiration for me to write something of my own
Thank you so much
Loads of love i hope to see you in another review!

Author's Response: Hooray for pushy friends who tell you read things! Glad you and your buddies are enjoying and thank you so much for the compliments. What an ego boost lol.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Dirty Diana Fall (part 1)

26th April 2015:
Dumbledore the cheeky old man oh that made me chuckle
Interesting chapter im eager to read more!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad to hear it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>