Reading Reviews for Clash
  
285 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane Rupture

23rd November 2014:
Hmm, the title of this chapter sounds ominous.

Oooh, there's a nasty side to Albus here.

And I like the rumours you mention some people coming up with about why he seems to want her around. It makes sense people would start rumours about a guy who seems fairly unlikable.

And Slughorn's still at Hogwarts? Admittedly, he is in the first story of my next gen series too.

And I half-laughed at a immortal creature being on the verge of dying out. Very ironic all right.

You've created a pretty savage world here in many ways - magical creatures dying out, Rose's family dying, her imprisonment. Rather different than how the world of the next generation would usually be portrayed.

And gosh, it's hardly surprising things ended for her as they did - losing her parents, her brother dying, living with a family falling apart. Poor, poor Rose.

And poor Lily. I get the impression she's struggling to cope with the loss of a father, her mother's alcoholism and possibly her brother's cruelty. And who could blame her?

That part where Albus asks if she really knows what he's capable of is creepy. I really wonder what made Albus the man he is. His cruelty and lack of empathy is so extreme.

And yet, you then show a degree of softness in how he reacts to Rose and promises not to hurt her.

I wonder what she did that was so bad it could lead to a 15 year old facing time in Azkaban, despite the fact it saved somebody's life. Hmm, from what she's implying to Hugo, it sounds like it could have had some horrific side effects. And I guess that is indicated. The wizarding world may be corrupt, but even Hagrid only got expelled when they thought he KILLED somebody and was only lucky not to have killed many more. I know they thought it was an accident and just Hagrid's love of monsters, but it still indicates a degree of leniency for kids.

Sorry about the delay getting to this, by the way. I was insanely busy for a couple of weeks.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MsCalypso Explore

23rd November 2014:
Hello, I stumbled upon this gem yesterday by what can only be described as sheer accident. I don't regret it.
This truly is one of the darker stories I've read, with two protagonists with whom you have no choice but to sympathize and dislike at the same time.
I have enjoyed reading it immensly and I sure hope you get the chance to update soon.

While I get that mystery is a big part of the plot, and you do manage to pull it off in quite an extraordinary way, I do hope that we get some more revelations. I suppose they all come at their own pace, but you leave me almost begging for more. Be careful that they don't stump the story. Up until now it has worked though, so I must congratulate you.

While I didn't like Albus much as a character in the beginning, (he felt too much described, not alive, you kept insisting how smart and manipulative he was, but it didn't feel that way) has progressed into that by now. He really does feel like he is thinking on an entirely different level than the rest of the world, with all the following consequences. One can only imagine what he would have been if only Harry didn't have this still mystery plan with his son (I'm really curious and still a bit miffed that I haven't learned more about that yet, but alright)

Rose on the other hand, is a hero in her own right. Very likeable and it's SHE who makes Albus likeable to us, your readers. It's really ingenious and I like it a lot. It has a creepy vibe to it, their relationship. She feels like she is trying to keep her head above water, while doing things that she knows are wrong, but doing them anyways because she must have her answers. If Albus hadn't been around, she would have probably been one the the smartests witches of her generation, just like her mother.

I really do like how you keep jumping between past, present and future. As a reader, you almost forget that you already know that it is going to end badly because of all the mr. Walker parts, yet you wish it wouldn't, when you read all of their adventures. It's a tricky feeling, but I like it. You really are a good writer, pulling this off.

I honestly couldn't stop reading and now that I have reached the end, i'm not sure what I'm going to do with the leftover part of my Sunday.
I'll be waiting for more.
- M

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ella Descend

19th November 2014:
I am absolutely IN LOVE with your story. The way you portray Albus and Rose's relationship is BRILLIANT. The plot is stunning. The writing riveting. I literally couldn't stop reading. Keep up the awesomeness!

 Report Review

Review #4, by anon Descend

15th November 2014:
DUDE YOU BETTER UPDATE SOON
YOU BETTER

 Report Review

Review #5, by Kristi Descend

3rd November 2014:
This story is so mind numbingly amazing I don't know how I will make it waiting chapter by chapter.
Please keep going, you are amazing and this story is amazing and I may need a thesaurus to continue telling you how BLOODY FANTASTIC this story is!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much for those kind words! I will definitely keep going! Next chapter's almost done :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by fatamorgana Explore

2nd November 2014:
"That's what people do, don't they?" This is so Sherlock, their chemistry is a bit like sherlock's and Watson's only darker, more brutal a bit like a in Hemlock Grove. I love this story so much and I dread what's coming next. And you are genius that's it. And I don't want to read next one because then it means I will have to wait for the update...

Author's Response: Haha yes I can see Albus and Rose as those two, in some alternate parallel England. Though I doubt Albus would be very much interested in /solving/ crime...

You are right to dread what's coming hehe. Don't worry, a new chapter is going to be out shortly so go ahead and read the next one if you want! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Aakanksha Descend

1st November 2014:
Please, please, please update! I am absolutely addicted to this novel. It is the best next gen I've ever read till now. I certainly pray that you get the Dobby's. You definitely deserve it. Please keep writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the high praise! The next chapter is coming out soon, don't worry :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Kristi Rattle

31st October 2014:
Amazing. So well written.
Love the story line.
Incredible.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Descend

30th October 2014:
Oh my goodness Shez! Update soon, how dare you leave us hanging here!

Author's Response: I will, I will! It's coming soon, I promise :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by fatamorgana Freeze

27th October 2014:
I am so hooked on this story, just started today (and this is my first review ever!!!) I wanted to mention that just yesterday and today I watched all of The Dark Knight movies, so when I came across this story, it felt like a paralleled extension to it, so dark and ominous, love it! And your quote from The Dark Knight made me squeal and I had to share my emotions here, sorry for the rumbling, I will keep reading on as I love the depth you create to every character and the elaborate story line. Amazing job!

 Report Review

Review #11, by knottedwool Descend

26th October 2014:
Hey,

I don't normally review on fics because I don't have a HPFF account and I don't actually have much time to write lengthy reviews (haha, says the person who read this while writing her history essay). I do think you deserve way, way more reviews and reads than you're currently getting because as I was catching up with the story - just the level of thought and effort and pure quality of writing that has gone into this is absolutely amazing. Since I'm not writing a review for each chapter and for not reading this fanfic sooner than I could have, I will attempt to write an incredibly long review which hopefully will convey everything I feel about this story.

I pretty much choose the fics that I read from the stated pairings shown and to a slightly larger extent, the summary. I love scorose so,so much and despite the noticeably lack of a romantic relationship between them, I'm not too bothered by it because of the amazing relationship between Albus and Rose and Albus and Scorpius. I really like the way you use other characters rather than just say that Albus and Rose aren't in any sort of romantic relationship and I'm sure everyone prefers their relationship as it is. Their fights and subtle affection adds to the fic, but the way you write their feelings actually try to convey the intricacy of a familial/friendly relationship just shows writing skills. And the fact that Ive enjoyed Albus/Rose parts more than Scorpius/Rose also proves it.

I think part of the reason why I like that relationship more is not just because Rose and Albus play a dominant part in your story line, it's just because Albus is an amazing, amazing character to read about. I'm a bit partial to those twisted, broken, brilliant characters in stories and despite his clear cut cold nature, I could actually see his character development through actions and events in your story. I haven't felt bored whilst reading about him, just his personality and the way he interacts with others, mainly Rose and Scorpius. The reader can definitely feel what those two can, the fact that despite knowing just how he can be, he's unpredictable and ruthless. I also love the level of detail you've managed to capture from the books and use with him and the rest of the characters, the plot line with the Resurrection Stone, Time Turner dust, my favourite is definitely Albus's heron/wandless magic idea, all of it sounds incredibly intelligent and well planned.

I also really, really love the way that despite Albus's superiority complex and his natural brilliance, the other characters aren't left too far on the sidelines. I would have thought since this is fic focuses on Albus and Rose, Scorpius would have definitely been left aside. And even when you have, it's understandable and everything flows at a reasonable pace. Also despite him being much less in loop than the other two, he's not made explicitly into a lackey or a submissive character, or too much so that he's disliked by readers. I really like how you've made Scorpius's character and that he still has a strong voice despite Albus's authority. His interest with Rose and Albus's nature also has kept me on my toes, it's just a blast to read.

The originality of the fic also surprised me. I don't think I've read a Harry Potter portrayed like this, especially in a next gen scorose fan fiction. That's why next gen is a brilliant era to write about, there's nothing that can especially be counted as au. Harry turning out like this is unlikely, but a possibility was always there, and the fact that Albus is the way he is because of a particular backstory makes it more real and believable.

But yes since characters are beginning to run out, I would probably say that I don't think Albus would care that much about Hugo's well being whether he's beaten up or not. He would still go and meet the leader of the Ordine Corvis and I feel as if Rose would have a stronger incentive to maybe even go with him.

Definitely looking forward to the darker chapters in this story, all the plot lines and arcs have been pretty seamless, none have bored or confused me (i'm intrigued by that not human thing which I'm sure has a bigger part in all this later on, possibly with Albus). I've only spotted a couple of typos and insignificant grammar errors. I do have a question though. I was wondering why Albus didn't react very much when Ginny snapped his wand. For someone who prizes magic and holds it in the upmost regard, just the small reaction felt odd to me.

Anyway, I hope you carry on and complete this story, it's been a real joy to read so far and I'll be sure to stick with this and see it to the end (the scorose lover in me just wants to see more of it and see what becomes of them) because writing like this is just needs to be read and appreciated.

Thanks for writing and hope you update soon!

-knottedwool

 Report Review

Review #12, by hedwig_pie Kill

26th October 2014:
he's a murderer!
im so conflicted right now...

 Report Review

Review #13, by hedwig_pie Reverse

26th October 2014:
WHAT IS THIS MYSTERIOUS DISSAPEARANCE?! why would the golden trio leave their entire families? oh merlin, this is great. but i really hope you have a good reason for their dissapearance!

Author's Response: There will be! Thanks for reviewing XD

 Report Review

Review #14, by jfsdfs Sink

25th October 2014:
wow. that was intense. albus is so unlike his father

 Report Review

Review #15, by hedwig_pie Rupture

25th October 2014:
the head is a bit intense, isn't he? why is he doing this to rose? im so confused, but your writing is so good and the plot is so exciting i have to keep going

 Report Review

Review #16, by hedwig_pie Him

25th October 2014:
BUT HARRY WOULD NEVER DO THAT IM SO CONFUSED BUT YOU WRITE SO WELL AND I LOVE HOW DRAMATIC AND DIFFERENT THIS STORY IS

Author's Response: THANK YOU FOR THE REVIEW YOU'LL JUST HAVE TO SEE WHAT BECOMES OF HARRY NO PUNCTUATION WHOOHOOO

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hedwig_pie Her

25th October 2014:
OMG THIS IS WEIRD. BUT GOOD WEIRD. amazing weird. i actually have no idea what is happening and I'm so eager to find out. great first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #18, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Her

23rd October 2014:
I really love this story so far, and I'm drawing some definite Full-Metal Alchemist vibes :) You really know how to pique someone's interest by giving away just the right amount. On to the next chapter.

-Meena

 Report Review

Review #19, by Queen of Nerds Descend

22nd October 2014:
I love the twisted psychological element of this story and I think you do a brilliant job writing Albus. Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Romoine Descend

22nd October 2014:
Love love your story..you are a brilliant storyteller.Keep up the awesome work and hope we get new chapter soon.
I just want to know whether there would be any romance between Al and Rose ? So far I could understand that Albus is Obsessive about Rose.I love Rose with scorp too but am guiltily shipping Albus and Rose :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Elyssia Descend

20th October 2014:
Loved this chapter, and yes, wouldn't mind another 10k word one, as soon as I finished it I already wanted more! It's amazing how far the UK has fallen in such a short time, and to such extremes. I wish I could say that level of inhumanity is impossible but evil people will always take control if they are given half the chance. I can't wait to see what you do next with the story, please update soon :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Romoine Rattle

20th October 2014:
Hey I love your storytelling..I couldn't help but see a lot of similarities between tom riddle and Albus.Are the similarities intentional ?

 Report Review

Review #23, by Midnight spark Descend

16th October 2014:
Ah... no, no, no. Hugo.

That's what I had been muttering this whole time. This is was the best chapter yet, darkness-wise(?). Oh no, those people went too far! Hugo is just a little boy! And my mouth flew open at Al's use of Killing Curse- I still see him as the playful boy other fics show him as, maybe that's why I'm so intrigued by your novel.

And welcome! I'm so glad you won. Clash and you definitely deserved this!

Great chapter! Just update faster, this felt like years to me! And after I knew that this was validated, it took me more than a week to actually read it. That week was a torture.

Good job!
Sana

 Report Review

Review #24, by LilyFlower Descend

14th October 2014:
Omg I just love this story so much and how well written it is. I am so glad to have found this story and hope you keep up the good work xD

 Report Review

Review #25, by Pia Descend

13th October 2014:
Hi!

Thank Merlin that the chapter is finally up! It was a good way to improve my monday morning! :)

So I liked seeing things from Draco's prespective, you nailed is characterization IMO.
The hole Astoria/Scorpius/high five house elves was hillarious!! As well as the "befriending a Potter is still better than dating a Weasley" line! Draco should know better haha!

The boys conversation about Rose was interesting... I tottally understand Scorpius confusion, he is realising Albus is not the guy he used to be, not exactly and that may not be a good thing for Scorpius at all, especially regarding Rose.
I'm wondering if when Albus said that Rose had a bigger role to fill than being Scorpius girlfriend, he actually meant that or if he is just trying to find a reason to make his attachment to her understandable.

Oh! And Albus can do wandless magic when he is high on heroin! How convenient! Haha! Can't wait to see his evolution!

Now I can see why Hugo's rescue is going to be a pivotal moment for them, Rose left her morals aside for the first time (not counting Hugo's ressurection) and morals are one of those things that making exceptions doesn't bring good results... and Albus found the perfect excuse to satisfy his bloodlust, whithout shame (he is saving is cousin) but he is actualling enjoying himself a bit too much, isn't he? haha! ;)

The big question now is Why the Corvis guys wanted to bait Albus and Rose?
It is a test to see how good they are? Or they just underestimated them?
Either way, I can't wait to find out!

P.S: The jackets scene was beautiful, those boys can be such gentleman sometimes! ;)

P.S 2: Thanks for thanking me, you really don't need it though, you are the one who is making me a favour by writting this amazing story!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>