Reading Reviews for The Homecoming of Rose Weasley
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Erised And what an adventure it was

24th July 2013:
Hi Gilly! I can't believe I hadn't left a review on this yet so here I am! :)

I thought that this was a very interesting way to simultaneously present Rose as a different characterisation from the norm as well as perfectly fitting in the theme of travel. It was great to Rose so vulnerable and frightened of seeing her own family, and as a reader you feel so sorry for her.

Her travels made me wish I was her! Haha. I loved the pretentiousness of her reading Plato and wishing somebody would ask her about it! It suits her perfectly ;) you made her travels come alive with the way you described them and I could imagine them as if I was there. It was the perfect little snapshot of her travels!

I thought the relationship between Charlie and Rose was really sweet too - it was clear that he cared for her as if she were his own daughter. It's great of you to choose Charlie as the 'favourite uncle' because he never gets enough love in stories and would definitely be the fun one in the family! As for the end with the emotional reunion, well that pulled at my heartstrings completely! It was just so lovely to see the family bonds overcome the fact that Rose had been gone. It was just such a great ending!

This is a great entry Gilly!

Jenny :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing Jenny!

I have to admit that some of Rose's characterstics are based on people I know/ myself (pretentious reading? pfft, not me)

Also, I'm familiar with the Homecoming terror having experienced it myself, so I'm glad you liked that part.

Charlie has always been my favourite Weasley so I really wanted to write him- I also felt like he'd understand the troubes Rose would have in going home.

Thanks so much for your review! :)

~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter And what an adventure it was

15th July 2013:
Hello!

I really like reading next m-gen stows, the beauty being that we can create our own characters with their own personalities. I liked the personality you created for rose here, with her sense of adventure, slight hint of stubbornness but undoubtedly a Weasley and a home-bird at heart. Spelling and grammar were good and I thought the ending was just perfect. I liked that you had obviously done your research for european landmarks too :) A lovely read!

Author's Response: Hi!
I'm also a huge next-gen fan! I love how Jo basically gave us a blank canvas to work with- it's pretty wonderful. I'm so glad you like Rose - she's based partly off of people I know (mainly my sister) so I feel like I know her really well. It's lovely to have my pet character noticed ;)
The european landmarks came mostly from my own experiences actually- the gelato place where she eats exists and is DELICIOUS :D
Thanks so much for your lovely review!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #3, by slytherinchica08 And what an adventure it was

13th July 2013:
Wow, I actually felt so much reading this piece! I felt her nervousness to finalyl be coming home. The fact that she was gone so long and unsure of how her family would feel about her now that she had been away from them for what probably felt like ages. I almost wanted to cry there at the end when she was crying with being so happy to finally be home and be back in her mothers arms again. I think this piece was absolutely wonderful because it not only touched on how much fun and exciting going out and traveling can be and all the things that you will do and see but it also had the deeper message of basically saying that there really is no place quite like home. Its nice to know that it doesn't matter how long its been since you have been home, or what you have or haven't done in the time since you left, just so long as you come back and remember your loved ones, they will always be there to welcome you back home and into their arms. I love how Charlie was the person she went to first to experience her reunion of going back home, someone who is also a little different and wanting to go father and do different things. I also love how you mention the differences between the seperate families that make up the Weasleys. Its something that we all know about but yet when you threw it out there like you did it really just hit me about how different they all are! I thought this was a great piece, I only noticed one small mistake, saying her instead of he at one point when taking about Charlie. But other than that this was perfect and such a sweet little piece to read! Great Job! And thank you for participating in the 2013 House Cup!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thank you for participating (I assume that's what the review is for) and thanks a ton for reviewing!

I wanted to turn the challenge around a bit by writing, not about the magic of travelling, but about the relief of coming home, because I feel like that's the only way to know how much travelling has affected you.
Thanks for your lovely review, I will definitely fix that mistake!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #4, by starryskies55 And what an adventure it was

13th July 2013:
aw this was beautiful!

I love the development of Rose, even in this short piece. She went from not feeling older and wiser, and to feeling like she'd had an adventure. The description of the places she went to and the things she did was brilliant, I loved the bit about reading Plato! All the different things were very clever and original.

I especially loved the little bit we saw about Charlie's character- this line "He, of all her family, knew what it was to run away. And he also knew how to come back home" says so much more than just that, it was very good, it developed mystery and empathy and it was very good.

As some CC, well, I would have liked to see a scene with Rose in a place, while she was travelling but thats because I enjoyed the piece so much that I wanted more!

Well done from a fellow Gryffie!

Author's Response: Thanks a ton! Gryffies for the win, eh?

I feel like Charlie is such an interesting character, who definitely has some unplumbed depths, so I'd love to write more of him.(who knows, maybe i'll write more Rose as well?)
Thanks again for the review. I'll see you when we win the cup, my friend ;)
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dark Whisper And what an adventure it was

13th July 2013:
Ah, this was really sweet. And honestly, it wrung true in going out to see the world, experiencing all kinds of things... and not finding your 'place in the universe.' I think many can relate. And I liked how she came back home with such a wonderful welcome. Very sweet. And I really liked reading her feelings of her uncle Charlie... the coolest. Who wouldn't love having a dragon trainer in the family? :P

Good job on this travel story,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yeah, I love to travel, but I feel like many people overrate it- seeing new things doesn't make you reach enlightenment xD
Yeah, Charlie is the coolest!
Thanks again!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan And what an adventure it was

13th July 2013:
Aw, this was cute! I really identified with Rose, wanting to travel and find her place in the world - especially as she's one of so many Weasleys, a family whose members have fought Voldemort and done great things, it was natural that Rose would want to find herself. I think Charlie would be the "cool" uncle too - how awesome would it be to have a dragon tamer for an uncle? ;) And of course the welcome she got when she returned to the Burrow was adorable, and so very Weasley. Altogether this was a really enjoyable read!!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words.
Charlie is the shiz, okay? Yep, he's my favourite Weasley for sure.
It took a while for me to envision that welcome, just because there are so many people to account for!
Thanks again!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #7, by DracoFerret11 And what an adventure it was

13th July 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from Ravenclaw on the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2013! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: Well, first off, I think this was a really cute idea. I might have liked to know why Rose ran away, but I definitely LOVE how she came back. It was so sweet and wonderful. It was really moving by the end of it all.

Oh, random thing--Great Line: "He, of all her family, knew what it was like to run away. And he also knew how to come back home." I really liked that. It was my favorite line for some reason. :)

Characterization: I think you definitely created a believable Rose. I like that she wasn't too sure what she'd experienced while away, but Charlie convinced her that it was an adventure. Charlie was so great! I definitely think he'd be the "cool uncle." Their relationship was really sweet. It made me smile.

Descriptions: I absolutely adored the details you added in about the different places that Rose visited. I could practically see them! It made me want to travel right here, right now. :)

Emotions: I think the most moving part of this story was that Rose realized she hadn't hugged her mother in two years. And that's a long time. When she finally got to, I felt like I was experiencing it with her. I had a moment like that with my mom and we'd only been apart for a few months. Oddly, though, when I imagined Rose hugging her mom, I thought of Molly instead of Hermione. Oops!

You did a great job with this challenge. I really enjoyed reading this. :) Good luck with the House Cup!

--Emily

Author's Response: Thanks Emily, for the awesome review and for wishing me luck. Good luck to your house as well- you guys are rocking this cup so far!

Thank you so, so much for all the feedback- I'm really glad you enjoyed it. The more reviews I read, the more I feel like I should write more Rose- about her life on her travels and such.I'm glad you think I did a thorough job already.

I also had an experience of coming home after a couple months away- hugging my parents was a big thing for me, so I hope I conveyed that well with Rose.

I think Molly would give the best hugs out of anyone- she's the perfect motherly figure for sure.

Thanks so much, again, for your fantastic review. Good luck in the cup!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #8, by KiwiOliver And what an adventure it was

13th July 2013:
Hey, here for the HC :)

What a lovely heart warming chapter, I know I can relate a lot to this because I did some traveling on my own recently and when I got back me and my mum were both in tears because we missed each-other :)

This one-shot was beautifully written and you've made me really want to know more about where Rose has been :) And why she needed her time alone, you have so much more I want! Haha, to go into review mode I must say your characters were perfect and I really loved how it was written, I might just take a sneak peak at some of your other work too once the HC is over :)

Overall: Top notch :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! (I'm still waiting for more Unforgettables, so you get on that and maybe I'll write more of Rose's travels. Deal? ;)

I also had that experience of coming home to my family after a long time away. I hope I got that feeling across, because it was pretty powerful.
Thanks again for your review! Good luck in the HC :D
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #9, by Debra20 And what an adventure it was

13th July 2013:
Welcome home Rose Weasley!

What a lovely, fluffy entry! It was such a sweet and heart-warming story, I couldn't help but smile all the way through. Your characterization of the Weasley family (including Rose) was perfect in my opinion. They are such gentle and loving people who would do anything for their family. I almost felt the need to reach my hand through the screen and soothe Rose, tell her that I'm sure she'll have an amazing welcoming. It felt unnatural to imagine any other kind of welcoming from the Weasleys.

I loved your take on the human body. And indeed, looking at how frail and fragile our bodies really are, it does resemble a mere container for the soul within. Which is sad because our spirits burn so bright sometimes that we feel we could do wonders, and yet we're constrained by our own physical limitations. Brilliant idea. I love it!

The reason Rose chose to explore the world makes so much sense. Just by making her travel in search for her place in the Universe fleshed out her character and gave her more depth than anything else you could've done in such a short one shot. It was a very human decision of her part. Being born in such a numerous family, I imagine it's not easy finding your own place or self-identity. I sometimes feel the need to escape my home as well, and I only have one other brother lol Very wise decision of your part!

Lovely, lovely piece!
Debra20

Author's Response: Welcome home indeed.
Thank you for your beautiful review. I got a bit of heartwarming myself when I saw this! :D

Yes, I can't imagine the Weasleys being dysfunctional and cold like they are in some people's head canons- i see them as far, far too warm and loving for that. -el shrug-

I admit, I took the idea of transport from Sherlock and spun it a bit, so I can't takeall credit for that, but thank you.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan And what an adventure it was

12th July 2013:
I've never read a story about a Weasley relative coming home after being away. I thought you managed to get across how homesick Rose was really well. I agree with her on the whole finding yourself thing. I never realt understood how that worked. Her life abroad sounded really fun, even if it did sound like she had some bad jobs.

I can't imagine being away from my parents for so long. I'd miss them a lot. Anyway, I really enjoyed this!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing!
Yeah, i don't think I could stand being away from my family for that long either. I don't know how she did it ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle And what an adventure it was

12th July 2013:
Hey!

Aww this was such a happy story that just made me smile! I really liked the story here, and Rose, Charlie's characterisation. I thought the idea of Rose taking some time off to go find herself and explore the world was very believable, and I really liked how she went to Charlie as he'd had a similar experience in leaving home and then returning home. The relationship and dialogue between Rose and Charlie was also very realistic and well written! Basically, I really enjoyed reading this - it was short and simple but very sweet.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reviewing (even though you're in Ravenclaw lol) Charlie has always been my favourite Weasley, so he's really a pleasure to write. Thanks again for the review!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #12, by typewriter And what an adventure it was

12th July 2013:
I enjoyed this, and for people who have gone abroad or left home of long periods (sometimes too long of periods) this story was very relatable. I remember going away for a few months and getting so nervously excited on the flight back to see my parents, because I was afraid they'd be angry I had left to begin with or that they would think I'd changed. It's amazing the emotions you go through when you miss home. By the way, I absolutely adored the line: "just with a few more pounds around the stomach and quite a lot fewer in her wallet." It was a fantastic play on words. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm really glad you enjoyed it and found it believable.I know personally that emotional roller coaster you get when you come home, so i'm glad you think i portrayed it well.
Teehee, yeah, that line was fun to write ;)
Thanks again!
~Gilly


 Report Review

Review #13, by navyfail And what an adventure it was

12th July 2013:
Hi! I'm Sama, here from the review-a-thon.

I'll be honest I was interested in this story because the title had Rose Weasley in it. I do love me some Nest Gen,lol.

I definitely do not regret clicking on this House Cup entry. Though it may be short, the theme of it was sweet and it was pretty heartfelt. Coming home is always a relief and I loved reading about how Rose cam home.

I really thought your definition of how it feels to have an adventure was perfect : "Well, you'll feel tired, weary and a little bit wise. You'll have seen new sights, done things you didn't know you were capable of, and you'll be very, very ready to go home."

The slight internal conflict that was present was a great touch. How she kept thinking to herself if she did the right thing and if she did have an adventure and how everybody would react was a very natural.

In conclusion, I enjoyed reading this very much. :)

~Sama

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review, Sama!
I'm so glad you enjoyed my teeny little story- it was a lot of fun to write. I'm so happy you liked my definition of adventure- it was tough to find the right words for that, actually.
Thanks so much for the review, again. And good luck reviewing all those entries ;)
~Gilly


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login