Reading Reviews for A Peculiarity of Sorts
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lady_devil A Peculiarity of Sorts

7th March 2014:
Hello!

I want to begin by saying this was just a great story!

So adorable and cute, it leaves me in awe because it's Luna and Luna is one of my favourite characters. Even though she sounds so grown up in your story, she still is the same. :)

I defiantly think you kept Luna in character within the things she's interested in still. Like working for the Quibbler, that's a nice touch. Mentioning her mother was awesome; I always felt Luna would remember her mother this way in the wisdom she passed down onto her daughter while Luna was still a child.

Rolf! Surprised to see he was in the story, I thought it would just be about Luna. Their first meeting is so adorable. Especially with him knowing about the Quibbler, shares the same saying with her and actually booking his train the same day as her, so perfect!

Finally the ending was perfect; I love how you ended it. I would love to see more Luna and Rolf, hope you will continue writing them in the future!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lululuna A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Hi dear! :)

This was such a cute little story, and I loved reading about it. Luna is such a difficult character to portray but I think you wrote her brilliantly: she's compassionate, thoughtful, quirky and of course a little confusing. However, she also does seem more mature than in the books, which makes sense as some years have passed and she's grown up a bit. The quote from her mother was one of my favourite bits as well, and really fit perfectly with how I imagined her from the books. I would also think that Luna's mother would often be on her mind, so her presence in the story was lovely. When Rolf quoted the sentence back to her it was just so cute and fitting.

Also, I like how you chose the train as the place where they met, and I could really picture it in my mind. Wizards interacting with Muggles is always interesting to read and I think Luna would be one pureblood who would feel comfortable navigating among them. I enjoyed her confusion about Rolf being a wizard and looking at the Quibbler, it was a nice touch. :)

The mention of Neville was funny as well, but I liked how Rolf seemed to help Luna get over him, especially when she decides to spend time with him instead of going over to Neville's. It felt very natural, and I'd love to see more of him as a character, he just seems like such an interesting and wonderful character who just begs for more screen time! The last sentence really rounded the story off so well, making the end of the journey both an ending and a beginning for the future, and the perfect opening to a lovely life spent together collecting and examining strange creatures.

Great job with this adorable one-shot! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Courtney Dark A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
House Cup Review!

Aw, this story was so adorably cute and so much fun to read! I really, really enjoyed it, and I always love reading about Luna, although I get the feeling that she isn't written about that often (at least not as a main character) as she is so difficult to write successfully. But I think you did a great job!

First of all, I loved the descriptions at the start of the chapter about Luna's career. I can't say exactly why these stuck out for me so much, but I guess they just helped me paint this really clear picture in my mind of Luna's life after the war. I also loved the line: 'Given that these creatures were quite possibly non-existent, coupled with the fact that if they did, they were rumoured to be extremely violent, none of the higher-up reporters wanted to claim this mission. Therefore, it was offered to Luna' because that is just so Luna! Never fazed by anything, always up for a challenge! I think she would have to be one of my favourite characters.

I loved your Rolf, too. I can definitely imagine him being the type to read the Quibbler and it was so adorable when he booked a train ride at the exact same time as Luna, so he could see her again. I just wanted to hug both of them.

Nice work!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by HollyStone73 A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Yea another Luna story! I so love Luna and I think you did a super awesome job at portraying her. I also love that you made the Quibbler a more mainstream publication now that Voldemort is gone and everyone knows they were on the right track about things. (I always felt bad for her dad after the snatchers ruined his house and sent him to Azkaban.) Love that Rolf was just as...um...unique as Luna! LOL! I think she deserves someone as special as she is. I never liked the idea of her and Neville. Overall a great job on this. It was a fun little piece to read.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Beeezie A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Oh, yay! This is the first House Cup story I've reviewed that's focused on Luna, though I'm pretty sure it won't be the last, and I really enjoyed it.

Overall, you did a nice job with description in this piece; I could very clearly see the scene at the beginning in my head, and it was absolutely quintessential Luna. I did feel like that got a little weaker as the story went on, though; that's not a huge problem, because other things became more important, but because your description was so vibrant in the beginning of the vic, I found it a little jarring.

It really was only a little - the story was quite well-written and very readable. It had a nice pace to it, and I liked your focus.

I also liked your portrayal overall of Luna and Rolf. You did a really nice job with them. For Luna, I especially liked some of the things she did and said that were a little left and center and very Luna - preferring Muggle transport, for example. The references to canon were also terrific and inserted nicely, in particular the change in the Quibbler's status and Luna's memories of the Hogwarts Express.

Rolf was a bit less-developed, but since the story wasn't from his point of view and he only appeared in about half of it, that made sense. From what you showed, I could definitely see how he and Luna would get together and work well with each other!

The only other thing I might suggest has to do with your characterisation. Like I said, Luna's a hard character to get right, but you generally did a good job with her. However, I would have liked to see a little more of a dreamy quality to her thoughts.

I'm not saying that you should have written her as being perpetually in a fog, because I don't think that's true, but she felt a bit too straightforward and no-nonsense, which didn't really fit with some of the things she was actually doing - dancing through the rain, for example, or taking a train rather than traveling using magic.

Overall, though, this was a great story and a nice take on Luna and Rolf's first meeting, and I really enjoyed reading it.

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #6, by ohmymerlin A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Hello!

Aw, that was so sweet!

You've written Luna so well! You've gotten her characterisation perfectly! I loved her outfits that you described, they seemed so Luna it was unbelievable!

And the way you wrote Rolf and Luna conversing/flirting made me want to snuggle them tightly. I could just imagine the pair of them talking about all kinds of things!

And when Luna finished his sentence I just wanted to smush them together and cry at how perfect they were hahaha!

So obviously, I loved this story! It was extremely believable from start to finish (especially about Luna declining the job, she's a very fair person!) and it was written just so wonderfully.

10/10

- Kayla. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Roots in Water A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Hello there!

Oooh- a story about how Luna and Rolf came to be is always interesting, mostly because their characters are so interesting themselves.

I think that you did a great job with the description in this story. I could quite easily picture Luna skipping along in the rain, a dash of colour on the grey, grey day, just as I could also easily imagine Rolf's appearance. They'd be quite a pair, with their colourful and unusual clothing choices.

I liked how you wrote their interactions. It was quite cute to learn that Rolf had purposefully scheduled his return so that it would coincide with hers and it's fantastic that they both are interested in the same sort of creatures - those that don't exist.

However, even though your characterization was good, I felt that there was a little bit of Luna missing. While you got her physical oddities down pat, there's something about the way she talks that also makes her seem odd to those around her. She has a different way of talking - more abrupt, less cautious of what she's saying - that would be fantastic to see more of here. To me, she seemed slightly too logical and all put together during her first conversation with Rolf... But then again she could have simply changed a lot since the Battle of Hogwarts.

I did really like the flow of this story. Everything went together smoothly and there weren't any hiccups to take a reader out of the story.

As well, I also liked your conclusion. It did a great job of setting up the beginning of the their relationship while also giving the piece a sense of finality.

All in all, I enjoyed reading this one-shot. It was well done and a nice take on the theme of traveling. Great work! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by ginerva_molly_weasley A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
EK I love Luna and Rolf stories. Wow just wow. Simply just squeeing now.

I think this is one of the best Luna/Rolf stories I've read because of the simplicity of it. Their relationship appears almost natural here which I love as it doesn't appear to be forced. Their is a natural chemistry here that you've added in which is them both being wizards on the muggle transport so well done as I think this really entices the reader.

I also love the fact that she is still perfectly Luna in this story with all her eccentric ways. Her mismatch outfits and fixation on creatures who may or may not actually exist are the things we all love about her and we all know how hard it is to keep Luna in character so well done for that.

I find it interesting that you have her working in the Quibbler though as she doesn't seem the reporter type although she is a Ravenclaw although you do justify this with telling us about how she went on all the bizarre missions to places no-one has actually known.

When Rolf gets on the train I love how the chatter starts almost immediately. He knows who she is, she him so there is already that relationship there although they haven't met before. When he met her again after their first meeting I thought my heart would melt. It was lovely!

Well done
GinevraMollyPotter
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Hey!

This was so, so, so lovely!! I love Luna and I thought you did a great job on her characterisation here! There were so many aspects I really liked - her clothing, the fact that she was a Junior Reporter and didn't take over a higher position, and this sentence: "She was capable of making any situation a lot more interesting, if not also a lot stranger as well." I liked how believable and realistic you made the whole situation feel - I can totally imagine Luna riding a muggle train instead of apparating!

I had a feeling I might be seeing Rolf appear in this journey, so i was completely delighted when he did! I loved how quickly they seemed to connect! I was a bit uncertain to hear about Luna's 'crush' on Neville, but since she didn't seem to be focused too much on it made it more Luna-ish. I also really liked Luna's mother's advice about journeys, and how it all tied together with your ending sentences. So all in all, I really enjoyed reading this story! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #10, by SilentConfession A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
One thing I was impressed with was your inclusion of all these weird animals and creatures. So many times i've read people who make Luna more normal and ground her. Sometimes that works to an extent but I liked how you didn't really try that but just embraced her quirkiness and made it a major part of the story as well. It really helped get a picture of Luna and made her seem canon and wonderful. I've always had a soft spot for her and I think you captured that essence of Luna that i've always loved. The ability to just be without worrying about other people's expectations of normal. Also, Nargles taking her wellies? Brilliant.

I love train journey's too which made this one-shot very dear to me. You made that part of it really realistic and true to life. I liked how you tied the journey of life is like a train journey as well. It seemed very Lunaish as well to have this deep understanding of life. Which I think is great and realistic because it seems sometimes like that's true to life, the quirkiest people, the ones who don't shout out their opinions but rather travel through life doing their own thing have this really strong idea of what life means.

I loved the inclusion of Rolf and that they met this way. You can tell they hit it off and i've always thought that Rolf would have to be someone special to fall in love with someone like Luna and he must have some of her quirks in him as well. I can just imagine them searching for creatures the rest of the live together. Which is sweet. I really liked your nod to the war before, whether it was mentioning Neville's haunted face or the fact that she struggled like everyone else to get through.

The only thing I wish I saw more was more description of their surroundings. A bigger feeling of being in the place that they were in with them. It seemed very focussed on them and sometimes i found it hard to vision them in their surroundings.

Great job with this story! It was a lovely read!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Siriuslover177 A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Aw! This was just so cute.
I really enjoyed this. I loved how they met on the train, and they both agree that it doesn't matter how long it takes, it's the journey.
And than he changed his train ticket so they would be together again, that was just so sweet.
I really, really enjoyed this.
Great job!

~Sarah

 Report Review

Review #12, by DracoFerret11 A Peculiarity of Sorts

13th July 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from Ravenclaw on the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2013! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: How charming! I really think this was exceptionally sweet! I love Luna and Rolf, but I practically never read stories about them. I think you definitely did them justice! I love that they met on a train. Something about that is just so...Harry Potter, haha. Great job!

Characterization: You did amazingly portraying these two! I LOVE that you made Luna fond of trains. That just seems to fit her personality to a tee. And her people-watching and eccentricity and being a journalist for the Quibbler? All fantastic choices. You really showed her perfected. And I loved Rolf too! I can imagine him being just as eccentric as Luna and liking the same things and I can definitely see them being a great pair. I wish we'd met Rolf in canon! (Oh, and I loved the final line of the story! So cute!)

Descriptions: I liked that you described how Luna and Rolf looked and acted. I could even have done with more descriptions of the train and how it looked, felt, smelled, sounded, etc., but as is, the story is still wonderful.

Emotions: I like that you mentioned that Luna used to have feelings for Neville, but you kept this canon and had him marry Hannah. Fantastic! And I think you really showed your grasp of Luna's personality when you made her the non-jealous type. I wish I could even see you write her relationship with Rolf since I'm sure it would be amazing.

Interactions: I really liked the conversations between Luna and Rolf, but I was a little surprised that he said, "I'm a wizard" in public. Statute of Secrecy, much? I can see him being careless, though. I wish we could see their relationship in another story (hint, hint? :) ). You wrote this wonderfully.

I think you did a great job and really embraced the challenge. My compliments and good luck with the House Cup!

--Emily

 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan A Peculiarity of Sorts

12th July 2013:
This was such an adorable story :D I adore Luna, and it's always fun to read about her. She's perfectly in character, although she seems more mature (obviously, since this is seven years later). And I love how she continues to lose her shoes, in this case Nargles ran off with her Wellies, but it made me think that Luna's loss of her shoes in OotP was more of a lifelong thing than just that year, haha!

Rolf seems wonderful, and I love that he dresses as oddly as Luna and that's how she knew he would be awesome :D

I thought it was so cute that you mentioned Luna fancied Neville! I always kind of liked that ship, even though I love Luna/Rolf and Neville/Hannah more. Anyway. I really liked that addition.

Great job on this story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by MrsJaydeMalfoy A Peculiarity of Sorts

12th July 2013:
Aww! Yay for Luna/Rolf fluff!

Everything about these two is just perfect for each-other, from enjoying muggle train rides to searching for possibly non-existent magical creatures. And I thought mentioning Luna's former crush on Neville was a nice touch. It sort of helps the reader to accept the idea that those two aren't together, but they've both got someone and are very happy.

I think you did a nice job of sticking to Luna's quirkiness here, too! Describing how she can tell people's personalities and also describing her attire made her feel very in-character.

A great one-shot, dear! And I LOVE the title! :P

 Report Review

Review #15, by patronus_charm A Peculiarity of Sorts

12th July 2013:
Hi Taylor, I decided to come and check out your HC one-shot too! Surprisingly, I had never read a Luna/Rolf story before the HC but this is the second Iíve already come across!

I think one thing which really made this one-shot was the inclusion of all of Lunaís little quirks such as her wearing Wellies and having a multi-coloured umbrella. Though theyíre such minor things they really added so much to the story and created a great sense of realism and it enhanced her character nicely.

The nod towards the Luna/Neville ships was really great. Iíve always enjoyed that pairing so seeing it have a brief mention here was lovely. I liked her sort of confusion towards her feelings of jealously as it fitted nicely with her character, because I always imagined her to be a character which didnít always know how to deal with emotions related to love and whatnot.

Her using muggle transport, again, added to her quirky character and I loved the fact that she met Rolf there. It such a normal place for such a unique pair of people so that was lovely. Then the fact that they bonded over the Quibbler! I think the dash of humour with her trying to say she still liked Neville but couldnít deal with her emotions relating to him was great and made her oddly human for such a strange person.

The ending of this one-shot was truly adorable ♥ Only those two would find searching for Gulping Plimpies fun! It suggested the future of where their relationship was going in a nice, indirect way. Ooh I forgot to mention earlier so Iíll say it here, but the fact that you included all of the creatures was great because thatís such a vital part of her life but one that people often forget.

I really love this one-shot, Taylor. Great work!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #16, by HeyMrsPotter A Peculiarity of Sorts

12th July 2013:
This was so sweet! Luna was absolutely perfectly in character, and I love the personality you've created for Rolf. I like that you had him persue her because I don't think she would be the type to do that. I think a lot of people think Luna is loopy and nothing else and in fanfiction she can be portrayed as stupid but you really did her justice. Well done :)

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad that you liked the story! I agree, I never really saw Luna as actively pursuing anyone. I'm very happy you think I did her characterization justice, because it was what I was most concerned about. Thanks so much for the review!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #17, by AC_rules A Peculiarity of Sorts

12th July 2013:
Hello there ShadowRose!

This story was so lovely that I might have squeed a little bit. Honestly, I can't get my head around writing Luna and I'm in absolute awe of anyone who attempts it - she's so unique and luna-esque and I don't feel I have the qualifications, but this was a really lovely portrayal.

I especially loved this line here.

"But that was Luna Lovegood for you. She was capable of making any situation a lot more interesting, if not also a lot stranger as well."

I thought that was really cute and a nice way to describe Luna... and you definitely got her matter-of-fact oddness across, with the references to Neville. She reminded me a lot of film Luna actually, so really nice job.

And Rolf! Aw. The finishing each other sentences about the journey was just lovely and very very cute.

Really enjoyable entry! And I like the travel theme too.

Happy writing!

-AC

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so happy you think I did Luna's portrayal justice - I was a bit nervous about writing her, just because she is such an off-beat character. I'm glad you enjoyed this little one-shot!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login