Reading Reviews for The Wandering One
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Chazzie England

30th September 2014:
Hi Lu! It's Chazzie here for our Slytherin Review Swap :)
What a brilliant story. I can't wait to read the final chapter when it is posted. Seriously, you have capture Victoire's wanderlust perfectly and also kindled it within me. I love travelling, but this? It makes me want to go and see everything that the Earth has to offer. I loved that you included stories and myths of days long past, and that you wove them so wonderfully into the plot. In particular, the soldiers were lovely. They just felt so real. I now wish they were, in a way, so that I could go visit them and make them feel just a little less lonely. Sam was adorable, and exactly how I (very stereotypically) imagine Canadians. To be fair, I only know one Canadian family where I live, and they all have personalities very similar to Sam. Anyway. Sidetracking. The owls at the beginning were funny, I can see that happening just from Bill's nature. He's very cool and relaxed, but as soon as his little girl disappears from his sight? He needs to know that she is alright. Constantly. I think it's quite endearing that he obviously cares so much for his children.
I really can't think of any constructive criticisms. It was amazing!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!! :)

Ahh, you are just too lovely!! I can't believe you read the whole story through, I'm so glad you liked this story.

I'm so glad you liked Victoire and her wanderlust and it made you want keep traveling as well - that's exactly how I feel every time I work on this. :) It was so fun writing the different stories and tying in the magical world to the Muggle one.

I loved writing the soldiers, and I'm glad you pointed them out. I felt so sad for them and how stagnant and lonely their existences were. :(

I'm glad you like Sam, he is quite stereotypically Canadian but in a good way, hehe. I'm Canadian and have met a lot of traveling Canadians so he's mostly modelled after a medley of them.

Hehe, I'm glad you laughed at Bill. It's so true, he's protective, though he does understand her need to travel. Her parents definitely just missed her as well, and wanted to know every little thing that was going on.

Thank you so much, Lottie, for this really lovely review!! :D ♥



 Report Review

Review #2, by Shinicha Flanders Fields

21st September 2014:
I really enjoy your short stories so far, it makes me want to travel, too! The way you mix wizarding history with Muggle history and fit in small stories is really great. It has a certain tranquility to it.

I also love Victoire; I somehow never quite warmed up to the Delacours, but your Victoire makes up for it. The way she appreciates different experiences and her compassion for the giant and the ghosts...

Sam is a funny character; at first I thought he would be more of a cynic (the way he snorted into his black coffee when Alexander hit on Victoire...) but he's more of an artsy-calm guy. Very hipster, haha. I bet he'll like Berlin!

I hope you don't mind me correcting your German, it would be "Hallo" or "Guten Tag mein Name ist Victoire" (I don't think Grub is a word, I have no idea where Google Translate takes it from)
Also "Sie sprechen Deutsch, huebsche junge Dame" (ziemlich is more like "pretty much" and saying "young lady" seems more fitting for a man his age) ;)

Looking forward to the next chapters and cities!

Author's Response: Hello!! :)

Ahh, thank you!! This review was so lovely to receive. I'm so glad you like the traveling stories and it's exciting to hear that it's inspiring you to travel as well. This story has been so lovely for me to work on and I love how you used the word "tranquility" - I definitely know what you mean, though I'm not sure how to express it.

Thank you! :D I'm so glad you like my Victoire. I never was a big fan of that family until I started writing her, and now they're one of my favourite Weasley families. I felt that since she was the eldest cousin and Bill's daughter, she would have both that responsible and compassionate quality while also a thirst for adventure.

Sam is quite hipster, haha! I love how you picked up on that. He's pretty laid back as well, and cynical in a quiet way, but he and Victoire get along quite well since they have so much in common.

Thank you!! :) That's so helpful, Google Translate is so confusing haha. I'll fix that right away.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, it really made my day receiving it and made me so happy in responding just now. ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon England

20th September 2014:
Since I've never experienced it myself it was interesting to read Victoire's experience re-acclimating to her family and "normal" life in England.

Naturally it was not quite as exciting or interesting as the other chapters have been, but I liked it nonetheless and it had a very appropriate "comfortable" feeling as Victoire experienced it.

I did notice these things..."bushy eye-browed" and "relegated" rather than "delegated" up top perhaps?

I can't believe you're almost to the last chapter! It's unbelievable! A great finish is coming to a great story I think and I can't wait to read it once it comes up!

Author's Response: Hi again!! :)

While this chapter isn't at exciting, it weirdly helped me understand Victoire better because of where she comes from and how it feels to return home. For me at least, returning home has always been so exciting for a short time and almost as invigorating as arriving in a new location, and I wanted to capture that excitement. :)

I'll go and check those out!! :)

Ahh, I know! I'm pretty surprised myself. I'm working on the last chapter, it's going to be a long one because of all the material to cover but it's a lot of fun to work on. Thanks so much for all your kind reviews and amazing support!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon Santorini

20th September 2014:
Hello again! I'm bouncing around like something of a mad man these days between work and writing and reviewing and everything. I promise I'll eventually catch up to the end of Sevenfold like I promised, but I couldn't pass up an opportunity to read more of this!

First things first, I noticed this odd phrase: "...a large, open area open..." double "opens", but that was the only thing really. Now on to the good stuff!

I loved the scene with the sanctuary for magical animals! What a superb idea! And Valena was entertaining, calling them babies, especially alongside Sam going so ashen. I wonder if Victoire's scarred him for life...

I also liked the seriousness with which you handled Victoire's worries about things with Sam and his still slightly fearful and tepid reaction to the magical world. I thought that was all authentic when you could have so easily fallen into the trap of making everything hunky-dory.

The next chapter with going back to England should be an interesting take and I'm excited to see what happens! Catch you there!

Author's Response: Hey Kevin! :) Ah, I definitely feel that, and don't worry about reviewing Sevenfold - it's not going anywhere any time soon! :D

I'll go and fix that! :) Thanks for pointing that out!

I'm glad you liked the sanctuary! It was so fun to imagine and to research the animals that might be in Greece - because of all the mythology there were tons of options. Haha, Valena was inspired by a Greek tourguide I met when I was there, she was so welcoming and warm and funny. Sam might have some nightmares after, though he's slowly warming up to all of these new things being thrown at him. Somehow I wonder if it would be more shocking to discover the magical world as an adult, rather than as an eleven-year old Muggleborn who has always known there was something special about them. In that way, Sam has even more to understand and adjust to than a kid going to Hogwarts for the first time.

I'm glad you found it realistic and that they were acting according to character. While this story isn't really relationship-driven, the growing relationship between Sam and Victoire was something which grew up and surprised me along with surprising them, so I'm pleased it feels natural.

Thanks so much for the great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan Santorini

5th August 2014:
Hey Jenna!

Santorini sounds absolutely wonderful, I want to visit there some day and hopefully enjoy it as much as Victoire did.

I giggled when Sam apologized to the rude tourist who cut in front of him. He's so right though, Canadians apologize for just about everything. I've lost count of the amount of times that people have walked into me and I apologized to them. You think that it's not something that you'll start doing but trust me, it becomes a habit after some time to just apologize for everything.

When Victoire does visit Sam for the Quidditch World Cup, he should definitely take her to see Niagara Falls because it's absolutely beautiful. They could take the ferry down to the falls and she could take pictures, or they could go behind the falls.

She should listen to Sam about the stray cats because he's right, they can be very vicious. And it's not just the cats, the dogs can be feral too, I remember visiting family in Albania and seeing stray dogs literally everywhere and my parents would put themselves in front of me in case they were vicious.

The magical animal sanctuary sounded absolutely brilliant. If magic was real I would've been pumped to go and see something like that. I love how Victoire is, for the most part, totally unsurprised by what she saw (except for the Chimera) while Sam sounds like he's about ready to pass out. I would love to see how well Valena and Hagrid would get along if they ever met up, they could be pen pals or something.

VICTOIRE SAW A HIPPOCAMPUS IS THIS FORESHADOWING? AM I SMELLING FORESHADOWING OR WAS THAT A COINCIDENCE?

Author's Response: Hey hey!! :) Sorry for taking this long to respond to your awesome review!!

I would definitely recommend visiting there if you're in the area. It's just beautiful, and as soon as I visited there I knew I had to add it into Victoire's story. Such a romantic place for her and Sam to really develop as a couple too.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the Canadian stereotypes. :P it is so true, I don't know why we do it but it does make me appreciate Canadians even more for how polite and nice we are. ♥

Yes!! They will be in that area, and might pay a visit to the falls. :) I love your ideas and it's definitely the sort of natural wonder which Canada has to offer but Victoire hasn't appreciated as much in her European travels. I'm still working on that chapter, it's coming along slowly but surely and I'm excited for you to read it. :)

Very true! It's so sad about the stray animals though, they're scavengers and are feral for sure. Victoire is a little too Gryffindor for her own good sometimes.

I'm so glad you liked the animal sanctuary! :) I was trying to think of what to put in Greece to link to the magical world and this fit perfectly. Hehe, poor Sam. Valena and Hagrid are definitely peas in a pod, I can imagine Hagrid wanting to smuggle back some of the animals in the sanctuary to bring back to Hogwarts as well. :P

Everything is foreshadowing... hehehe.

Thanks so much for the brilliant review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan Rome

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review!

Oh my God my heart was pounding, swear to God my heart was pounding! I can totally understand what Victoire meant about never thinking that she would be a victim of harassment. It's what we all think until we actually experience it. I'm just so glad that nothing worse came of it and that she got to the hostel safely. When she insisted on going by herself I was practically shrieking "DONT DO IT!" because it wasn't safe and I didn't something like what did to happen to Victoire.

And I especially loved how Sam was so supportive of her and didn't try to give her the "not all men," message that is the immediate response when girls ever vocally express feelings like the one that Victoire had.

Well what are the chances that the final is going to be in Canada, huh *eyebrow waggling* but yeah, Sam is right. I'd be just as surprised as him because Canada is really only good at winter sports (and even then we still get beat by other countries, it's just sad). Seriously, please just get Sam to go to the Quidditch final, that would be beautiful.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again!!

Eep, I'm so glad you found that scene powerful even if it was quite frightening and upsetting. Yes, exactly - she's been pretty fearless her whole life and having an incident like this, even one that ended up okay, is just terrifying. I'm so glad you liked how supportive Sam was, one of the things Victoire likes about him is that he is very empathetic.

Hehe, definitely a pretty slim chance, you can blame me for rigging the final this year. :P I imagined Canada being in the final as a bit of an anomaly since you know how we don't do that well. Hehe, I can't wait to finish writing and post that chapter!!

Thanks so much again!! You really are awesome, you know that? :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Venice

8th July 2014:
Thank you so much for all of your reviews and now I'm going to return the favour!
House Cup 2014 review!

It was so great to see things from Sam's point of view this time, because we already know that he's got a bit of a thing for Victoire but it was great to actually see his thoughts on her.

When you mentioned that Victoire kept looking at the lions all over the city I thought it might've been because they moved or something and Sam just hadn't noticed.

I'm actually really happy that Sam found out about magic and you certainly came up with a creative way for him to find out. I also really loved Pippo and learning about how he had to live. It was interesting to think about how house-elves got treated in other parts of the world. I never even thought about they fact that they would be treated even worse than the ones living in England!

I would pay money to read about Victoire taking Sam to the Quidditch World Cup and just watching his reaction to the game. I'm pretty sure that the poor guy would pee himself or something! Is Victoire ever going to tell him that she's part-Veela? I would love to see her explain that to him and watch Sam's reaction to finding out about that.

And my favourite bit had to be the part where Victoire turned the water into wine because I was actually thinking Jesus when she did the trick and then Sam voiced my thoughts and I couldn't help but laugh.

Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi Grace!! :)

I'm glad you liked seeing Sam's point of view. I didn't really plan it but it felt really natural to show his perspective for a bit. He's quite thoughtful and fun to write.

I think the lions could have been moving, but Sam just was never told. :P I also imagined the house elves flitting among them. Sam's a bit of an unreliable narrator in this case, it was fun to write how clueless he was.

Yay! I'm glad you liked Pippo and how Sam found out. I quite liked writing about the house elf rights and imagining how they were treated across Europe.

Hahaha!! Well, it is coming up. :P Ah that's a really good idea about the Veela heritage, I might have to tie that in. Sam's so funny, I feel like he'd be half impressed and half weirded out.

Haha I love how you thought of the Jesus thing! I wish I could turn water into wine, there would be quite a lot of profit in that. :P

Thanks so much for the awesome review!! Both reviews were just so lovely to receive. ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by TidalDragon Rome

6th July 2014:
Hello hello!

So starting this chapter turning toward Victoire's thoughts about Sam was nice a place I thought and it was nice to see that despite the injection of that element, Victoire kept her characterization about her. I think it's a challenge sometimes when you write POSITIVE romantic content (as opposed to angst) to keep the spirit of a more independent, fierier character present sometimes, but you did a good job with that, and broke it up well with focusing on the city and the bits about magic that she was sharing with Sam.

Since you've invited the feedback, I will say that at least initially, the amount of content that came forth from Victoire about the creepy guy in the street seemed a bit much. First, what surprised me is how she would speak at such length to a male character about it. Obviously, I'm a guy myself, so I don't really know, but I would just imagine even given that she doesn't really have anybody else there with her, she would not be so open about her feelings about everything with a male character - even Sam. Second, it did feel slightly monologue-y in the early going. I think the scene and addressing the subject matter was perfectly appropriate and the scene and most of the aftermath very well done, but in the early going, it did feel (at least to an extent) like what you essentially revealed in the A/N, a bit of a broken barrier in the story where Victoire became a voice for statements/arguments you as the author wanted to make. Don't get me wrong, Victoire is certainly an outspoken character and I don't think it's out-of-bounds to think that she'd speak freely on these issues, but perhaps the length of the speech early on without much exchange was what made me feel that way. I don't know. Not very helpful I suppose, but it was just a reaction I had. After those near-monologues though I think it developed nicely and naturally and the arguments she advanced are certainly ones I agree with. It's beyond sad that there's even still a debate about it in our day and age, but unfortunately it seems equality and mutual respect is an ongoing struggle, especially for certain individuals who have been raised or socialized to hold certain distorted viewpoints.

I did notice a few typos in this chapter, no biggie, but if you are the type to go back later and clean up, I figured I'd let you know. Before what I will dub the "streetside sicko scene", you had mentioned that Victoire and Sam would be going out with Australians. For the most part you stayed consistent with this, but at one point you called them the Americans (if I'm not misreading it). Also at the end, you used "hers" again instead of "his" when they kissed.

Looking forward to reading more of your story! It truly is excellent!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello again!! :)

I'm glad you liked Victoire's thoughts about Sam and how she kept her character. A big part of Sam and Vic's bond is the fact that they are travelling together: I'm not sure if they would ever have connected in the same way if they weren't in that situation and shared that passion. It's a lot of fun to write their interactions within the setting of other cities and exploring rather than them just hanging out.

That makes a lot of sense, thanks for pointing it out! I'll see if I can cut down the talking about it that Victoire does. My justification for it is that the whole scenario is pretty much exactly what happened to me (not in Rome though) and as I was traveling with a guy friend at the time we just talked about it for ages and I made him listen to my ranting, so it was inspired by that, but I can see that it's a bit much in writing. I agree - this is an issue I'm quite passionate about and it's important to talk about it in writing and through strong and relatable characters in my opinion. :)

Thanks so much again, TD! I really appreciate hearing all your thoughts on this, they're always so helpful. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon Venice

6th July 2014:
Howdy! Saw this had been updated (twice - shame on me), but I suppose it's perfect timing!

This chapter was a bit different, starting with the opening from Sam's perspective. Obviously you had a lot of ground you wanted to cover here - their reunion, Sam's feelings, Venice, setting up the whole house elf sequence, and ultimately revealing the existence of magic to Sam via Victoire. A heavy plate!

From Sam's perspective at the start, I thought you treated him a bit more literally, telling us about how he viewed Victoire (the old "just looks" vs. holistic approach that people always seem to debate), rather than letting it play out in the manner of their reunion. Given your strengths with developing Victoire's (and Sam's earlier) character it seemed a bit odd to me. You did mix in the bits about his friends and his reactions to their commentary, but it still felt a bit out of place with your prior approach. Perhaps it was a calculated decision given that you were going to have Sam in observation mode (with a little bit of wondering about his feelings) in the meat of the chapter. Shrug. Just something that stood out.

That said, I thought the rest of the chapter was really well done. Not only did you capture the kind of benign awkwardness of two fresh friends reuniting after spending time apart, but you also peppered in plenty of the delightful, detailed observations that I always enjoy so much - for example, paying particular attention to Victoire's features even when it's just breadcrumbs falling down.

That dovetailed nicely with how observant Sam really is as well - he noticed Victoire's distraction with the lions (if not the source) and also the constant checking for her wand and the always-full water bottle.

You also set up the house elf situation well too. I thought them posing like the children with masks and the underlying reasons (wizarding law that was , on its face, supposed to help them) proved well-executed and ended up giving a believable reason for Victoire to get "caught" as a witch, rather than leaving it (if that's where we're headed) for some emotional outpouring of her "true self" (which for me always comes off a bit ehh).

Sam's reaction was nice in that he was freaked out a bit (like I imagine someone would be), but that he didn't FREAK OUT (if that makes sense) because he remembered Victoire is his friend and thought of her as a friend first and a witch later.

Well done again, and I'll see you in the next chapter!

And even though you know I would've been back anyway...

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hola!

I feel like I just have to preface all my review responses with this but I'm sorry for the delay in responding! The weeks since the House Cup have just been crazy.

Yes, I'm not sure why but beginning the chapter from Sam's perspective just felt right. We hadn't really heard from him yet and his feelings about Victoire since he's a little shy, and I felt I should take advantage with writing the story in third person and the shift in POV it allows.

I felt that since Sam is a boy and is attracted to Victoire, her looks would play some part in his interest in her, inevitably. Stereotypically boys are more conscious of that physical attraction than girls and even though Sam does enjoy her company he's still definitely into her appearance. :P Hmm, I'll have a look at that and see if I can fix it up! I've been pretty lazy with doing any major editing on these chapters, as you can probably tell. :P

I really liked writing the little details and writing about Victoire through Sam's eyes! It was especially interesting writing about him noticing her noticing magical things and the dramatic irony that provided.

I'm pleased you liked the house elf situation! It was a spontaneous addition but it felt that since Victoire had gotten so used to hiding her magical identity that she wouldn't just let it spill out without some sort of catalyst. Also, I don't think Sam would believe her immediately if he didn't see some sort of proof. And yes, I think Sam's a bit like me in that when he finds out she's a witch, he thinks it's pretty awesome!! :) He's an accepting guy as well and observant and likes to learn so it fit well.

Thanks so much for the awesome review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by bester_jester Romania

8th April 2014:
It's amazing how much I dislike Teddy. I think because of my own experiences with being held back by someone, his (not real!) personality really grates on me.

It's just a story it's just a story it's just a story haha

Really great chapter. I liked that you incorporated the dragon activists into the story, and that something is obviously about to happen there.

I'm also really glad that Victoire and Teddy finally got everything out in the open. Hopefully she can go and meet up with Sam now!

Thanks for the update :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Haha! Sorry, I just loved this review so much because that's how I felt about Teddy as well. He was sort of inspired by certain ex-boyfriends of mine and I think the irritation just seeped through, so it's so great to hear that you could sympathize with that. :P

Thank you! This chapter was actually kind of hard to write since I've never been to Romania or to a dragon reserve, but I really enjoyed working on it.

I'm so excited to get working on the next chapter - I've had it planned for ages and can't wait to share it. :D We've seen the last of Teddy here... at least for now.

Thank you so much for the brilliant review, I really loved reading your thoughts on this chapter! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFan Romania

4th April 2014:
Aw yes, chapter five! I loved the tone of this chapter, it was so soothing and quiet, there wasn't a lot of action to get the blood pumping but there was enough going on to keep it interesting and great!

It's so great that you wrote about the dragon reserve because it's another thing that's mentioned in the series but it was never really gone through. It was so interesting to see the way that you pictured the sanctuary and how it functioned. I hadn't actually thought about the fact that there would be dragon rights activists but it does make sense. Just like there are animal rights activists, there're going to be dragons.

Although to be fair, if dragons weren't kept in sanctuary's, can you imagine the amount of chaos and towns lit on fire because of dragons.

In other news, I'm glad that Teddy and Victoire have finally talked it out and cleared the air. At least the two of them know where they stand with each other. I will say this about Teddy though, he's an extremely insecure person and I think he needs to work on that before he decides to date someone. You can't be with someone if you don't trust the person. But, even though Teddy is extremely insecure, at some point I just stopped pitying him. He was getting extremely clingy and as sorry as I felt for him, I was more annoyed with how desperate he was to hang onto Victoire.

Victoire didn't need to apologize for not wanting to be with Teddy. She doesn't owe Teddy anything and she most certainly doesn't need to apologize for how she feels. If Teddy had decided to be bitter about her decision, then that would've been his problem. Victoire didn't do anything wrong except try and make her life better. I'm just going to leave it at that otherwise I'm going to end up going on a feminist rant and that's not the point of the review.

Anyway, another brilliant chapter and I look forward to the next one!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

This chapter was a nice little break from the excitement of always being on the move. I'm glad you found it interesting - I felt it tied up some loose ends which had been building up since the first chapter and really needed to be addressed.

I find the dragon reserve really fascinating, though I didn't have very much to compare it to. It's quite interesting how they would hide all those dragons. :P I thought the activists were a little goofy in a way since like you said dragons are probably safer and happier in the sanctuaries, except when they get called to Triwizard tournament duty I suppose. :P I almost had one of the activists dying while Victoire and everyone were at the sanctuary but decided that was a little too much tragedy for this story.

Good! I really love hearing people's opinions on Teddy here, and if Victoire was fair to him or not. Having dated insecure people before, I think I channeled some of my annoyance for that onto Teddy's character, and you've understood him perfectly. I think this would be a very different story if it were from Teddy's POV, but I'm glad you find Victoire's reaction realistic and how she knows that Teddy will be better off in the long run without clinging on to her.

You're right! Honestly, I think she did the nicer thing by being honest with him and not leading him on - ripping off the bandaid and all of that.

Thanks so much for the amazing review! I really love hearing your thoughts on this! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by TidalDragon Romania

30th March 2014:
Hello again! After I finished my pending reviews and got caught up on some of my own writing I was psyched to see an update to this story!

I liked all the little tidbits in this chapter about how things work differently in different ministries/countries and particularly the little note about apparition. I had never considered that those things might affect the process (though it certainly makes sense - and perhaps explains the difficulty in long-distance apparition)!

As for your question, was Victoire too harsh? I don't know. I can understand where she's coming from and I can definitely understand her need to "shut the door" given the lengths Teddy has gone to.

At the same time, despite how Teddy's words sounded, I do feel for the guy. Victoire seems to have this viscerally negative reaction to the concerns and fears he had, which in mind are totally legitimate. Part of me feels like Teddy kind of did himself in by being honest enough to admit them, instead of pretending (so as not to sound creepy) that the fears don't exist. Victoire takes (in my mind) a very uncompromising approach about it - almost demanding respect for an important part of herself while refusing to respect a fundamental part of Teddy, despite a pre-existing long-term relationship. But hey, maybe I'm just being a guy, taking the guy's side. ..shrug.

Anyway, I thought regardless that you handled that aspect of the chapter well and I'm looking forward to seeing how this story keeps evolving!

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm so happy to see you back!

I'm really pleased you liked those explanations as I find them so interesting. The wizards have everything so easy, and I can't resist making things like Apparition a little more difficult for them.

I really liked reading your reactions to the conversation with Teddy! I was hoping readers might be a little conflicted and be able to see both sides - yes, Teddy is annoying her, but Victoire isn't giving him much of a chance. I agree, she's not trying to accept him for who she is - I imagined her as being just very over the situation and not wanting to deal with the problems, while he's clinging on to what they had. I didn't even mean to spend this much time on their relationship, but once he decided to show up in Prague it was hard to avoid. :P

Thanks so much for following this story and for the brilliant review. I'm quite excited about the next chapter and hope to post it soon! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan Prague

25th March 2014:
Yes, Prague was wonderful! As soon as Victoire mentioned the fact that her parents had all of a sudden changed her hotel plans I just knew Teddy was going to show up! I KNEW IT I KNEW IT! I was just sitting here thinking, "TEDDY WHAT DID YOU DO?!"

It was a nice surprise though having Dom show up as well, she kept things from getting too awkward. I loved getting all of this new information on Prague and reading about some folklore and learning history. That's one of the things that makes this so great, not only is the story enjoyable to read, you get to learn new stuff as well. Brilliant job on this!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Yay! I loved writing Prague and how lovely it is there. Haha I love how you predicted Teddy would show up, hehehe. He was quite nice in this chapter but there could be some drama approaching.

Yes! I really wanted Dominique especially to be there, she's so funny and silly. I'm so glad you find you're learning from this as well, that's really cool! :) I love writing all the history on the cities where Victoire visits so it's really awesome that you're enjoying it.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by TidalDragon Prague

12th March 2014:
Well! Teddy's return was certainly an interesting wrinkle and Dominique seems like a perfectly pesky little sister. I liked the bit where she found the shows boring at first, but then recommended them to the boy she met. It seems very age-appropriate and fitting.

I also continue to be blown away by the level of detail you provide about the locations and the history! You must be an incredible student of European cities, very well-traveled, or both!

I really like your writing style, pace, and balance of dialogue, inner monologue, and description. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Haha, yes, I've enjoyed seeing people's reactions when Teddy appears! I quite like writing Dominique, she's so playful and a good contrast to Victoire. She also brings out a more mature, yet slightly irritable side to Victoire which I like exploring. Dominique is quite young as well and I wanted to show that.

Thank you! :) Most of the places I've written about so far in this story are places I visited last year, so I've been using that as inspiration. Prague was one of the cities I really knew I had to write about - it's amazing!

Thank you so much for all the wonderful reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by TidalDragon Flanders Fields

12th March 2014:
After reading your first two chapters, I felt like I had to keep following this story because of how well you write - the places, the characters, the story - I'm not normally one for such effusive praise, but I think it's great.

For me, one of the most powerful segments was the bit about Teddy. I was pretty skeptical about how quickly she had moved on in the last chapter, but you shut me up here. A big part of my job and one of my hobbies (aside from writing) is crafting language that creates a powerful image. In terms of that I don't think it gets much better than "...he was brilliant, but he would hold her back, keep her smiling from within a cage built with metal wrought from a place of love." AMAZING.

I also thought you did a spectacular job with the ghost scene. The thought and effort you put into the back-story for this setting was exceptional and it played out perfectly in this simultaneously enjoyable, but painful scene.

You also just keep on with the impressive characterization of Victoire as this imperfect, but independent and intellectual wanderer. It's truly special.

This is one of few Next-Gen stories I've ever read, but I think your writing and unique plot has made this a favorite for sure.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you like this! I'm really honoured. This story is very fun to write, and knowing that somebody is enjoying it is very encouraging.

I'm pleased you liked the explanation about Teddy as well. In my mind, Victoire is so preoccupied with traveling and having fun that she's left a lot of her old life behind, emotionally... and Teddy is part of that. I'm really glad you liked the metaphor as well, and how it explained the situation. Thank you! :D

The ghost scene was tough to write, but I felt it was an important lesson for Victoire to learn. She is very interested in the past, and this story puts her in the position to learn about the past - both the positives and negatives.

It's great to know you like Victoire as well. She's a great character to write, and quite quirky but also relatable for me.

Thank you so much! :) I've loved getting your reviews on this, and it really is encouraging me to get writing on the next chapter. I really appreciate this! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by MissesWeasley123 Prague

7th March 2014:
Things just got reaaal. Haha :P But seriously whaaat, THEY REACHED THEY REACHED! That is so weird. And awkward. And dmn, Tedyd is such a clingy boyfriend. And I'd just like to add, that that was really original, because we often see clingy girlfriends, but never do we see clingy boyfriends, and we saw that so yay, uniqueness! :P

I just travelled to India, and I know you've travelled everywhere, so I wnated to ask -- have you been to Prague? I was almost shocked when Vic said she didn't like Amsterdam because now, while I only have been to the airport :P it was still beautiful! (the airport, that is :P fail, I know)

And I'd also like to say, that I like how Vic calls Dominique, "Nique". It very different, and really awesome. I found the bit on, "Dommy" really funny. And Teddy's so annoying, honestly.

SAN AND VICTOIRE FOREVAAAR!!!

And the ending, the ending! That was hilarious. Ahh, I really hope Charlie and Gabrielle work out ;) How cool would it be for Vic and Sam to go to their wedding together... ;)

Anyway, excellent chapter Jenna!

Blackout 2/15

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

Hehe, I was so excited to see how people might respond to this. I know! Ah, Victoire handles it well because she is quite laid back and genuinely doesn't want to hurt anybody's feelings, but I would have personally been furious if this happened. I'm glad you like the originality of a clingy boyfriend as well! It actually feels a little refreshing to write this sort of relationship.

Yes I have been to Prague! :D It's the best place. I went to Amsterdam but had a kind of bad time there, mostly due to being ill to be fair, and I felt it was right to not make Victoire adore every single place she visits. :P But it is a beautiful place and I thought the city was amazing, I just didn't see much of it when visiting, whereas Prague was just instant love.

I'm glad you like Nique as well! "Dom" just sounds like such a hum-drum name, quite literally, if you know what I mean. Like "Gong," or "Dumb" or something. I feel like it would also translate a little strangely to a French accent.

Sam and Vic forever! ♥ I've loved getting reviews that ship these two. I was honestly going to keep them as friends with some fancying going on but the reviews encouraged me to put hints of a possible romance in the story as well. :)

Hahaha, I'm glad you liked it! Poor Charlie...

Thanks so much for the excellent review, Nadia! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by MissesWeasley123 Flanders Fields

7th March 2014:
What two updates misses what.

Anyway, wow. This chapter was amazing! Whenever I read your updates to this, I never know which one's my favourite y'know. I really enjoyed this one, and the "Twit Twit" and I forget what you called the Internet, but that made me laugh so hard Jenna! It was golden, to be honest.

I've never really liked Victoire and Teddy as a couple so I love how you bash it in this fic. I totally agree, teddy comes off a bit possessive, you showed that really well in the letter and I also think the first person makes him seem really really annoying. Maybe not entirely possessive but definitely clingy. I think he has a girly quality him! :P

I love the Canadian bits to this, like "Flanders Field". That was really sweet. Sam just has such a beautiful personality, and the bit about football in the very beginning was so cute! And when Victoire was like, "It wasn't popular in my school" OF COURSE it wasn't and that was super awesome but honestly, Twit Twit took the show away it was brilliant.

Great work!

- Nadia
Blackout 1/15

Author's Response: Hi Nadia! :) Hehe, yes, I've been trying to update once a month *collapses of exhaustion* :P

Thank you! :D I know what you mean, and I'm very happy you liked this chapter. Haha Twit Twit, honestly that's how I sort of feel about certain social media sites along with Victoire, so I'm pleased you appreciated them!

Hehe, poor Teddy. :P I don't know why I hate him so much in this story, but he annoys me. He is a little clingy, and definitely girly! He's the sensitive one in the relationship which is traditionally reserved for the girl to be, I suppose.

Yay Canada! :D I'm glad you like our nation's one representative in my fanfiction, Sam, as well. He's such a gem, and I really like writing him and Victoire's friend/crush relationship with him.

Thanks so much for the awesome review! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by TidalDragon Paris

6th March 2014:
Hello again!

You seriously have a gift with writing accented characters and their speech patterns! It must take an amazing amount of care to get the writing down and the patterns just right, not to mention the actual French that you included in this chapter!

I like how you are keeping Victoire moving and structuring the chapters around each new place she visits. I think it matches up really well with the wanderlust theme and it keeps the setting fresh as well.

I do wonder about how quickly Victoire seems to be moving on from Teddy. It seems that after two years together, even at their age, she would not have her affections turned so quickly, even after at their age. I was glad she seemed to feel a bit guilty about it, as I thought that made sense, but I do hope she'll keep journeying on for herself and not get too caught up with the opportunities for "exotic" companions hailing from different places she visits during her journey.

Regardless of that aspect, I'm enjoying reading your writing - your descriptions and distinctive characters are great. I don't know how you come up with them so quickly, but long may it continue!

Author's Response: Hello again! :)

Thank you! I'm really pleased to hear that. I think it helps that I studied Fleur's speech a little and also imagined speaking with people whom I've encountered in the past. I quite liked including all the different speech patterns!

I'm glad you like the way each chapter changes to another location as well. It keeps the plot moving, and gives me the chance to reminisce on some of my favourite places in Europe without lingering for too long in any one location.

That's a good point - I think Victoire is very much inspired by my own personality to be honest, but most people don't move on so quickly. Also, because this story is more segmented there is quite a bit of time happening in between each chapter. Yes, she does feel a little bad, which I think makes sense, and Teddy isn't entirely out of her life yet. She's certainly more interested in traveling and adventures than boys, and always will be. :)

I'm glad you like it, thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by TidalDragon Northern Ireland

6th March 2014:
Howdy!

I really enjoyed the characters you laid out in the story, from Victoire herself to Condescending Alexander to the Irish giant. I don't know a whole heap about the Irish, but it also seemed that you did a really good job getting his speech patterns consistent and therefore believable.

I thought it was interesting how you portrayed Teddy as well, having he and Victoire broken up after their turn in the DH epilogue, but it came across as believable, and even though we didn't see much of them as a couple in your story, even a bit sad.

While I also liked that Victoire seemed to be absorbed in every facet of the experience she was having, with her mind darting from here to there and then around elsewhere as she started off on her journey, I found it a bit jarring at points due to the formatting. I don't know if you left it that way because you wanted it to tell us something about her natural personality or if you just don't like using them, but I thought using the horizontal rule lines could be helpful at points because there is a lot of text on the page. Just a thought.

Looking forward to reading more of this!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you liked the characters! They were a lot of fun to bring to life, and writing Alexander was very amusing because he was so insufferable. I'm pleased the speech patterns seemed authentic as well, I was winging it a little but glad with how it turned out.

Yes! There will be more about them as the story progresses. :P Teddy didn't fit well into the plot at this point, even though it's not much of a romance story. I'm pleased you found it a little sad as well!

That's a really good point - I'll go back and edit the chapter at some point and look to break up the text a little. It is a very long chapter with lots of ideas which could be quite jarring. It's funny, usually I'm kind of the opposite and use too many line breaks, so this is very helpful feedback to get! :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by bester_jester Prague

5th March 2014:
Amazing story! It's a really interesting way to give insight into the second generation without using the same formula everyone else uses.

I love your Victoire! And Sam seems so lovely. I'm holding out for the scene in which she tells him she's an witch!

The little wizarding twists you put on real events/places in history are so well done. You've got a really great imagination.

Okay time to stop rambling. Really love this story, can't wait for more, thanks for making me want to travel more!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ahh, thank you so much! :) It's really lovely to hear you're enjoying the story, and finding it original.

I'm pleased you like Victoire and Sam, I've grown quite attached to them and their antics and chemistry are very fun. Haha yes, well we'll have to see how that goes over... :P

Thank you! One of my favourite things about the HP world is the way the magical world would intersect with Muggles, and this story gives me the chance to experiment with that.

Hehe, I'm glad this makes you want to travel more! :) I feel the same way when working on it, I have to admit. Thank you so much for the amazing review, it really made my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFan Flanders Fields

20th February 2014:
Okay first of all, woohoo you posted another chapter! Second of all WOOHOO VICTOIRE KISSED SAM MY SHIP IS COMING TRUE THIS IS CANON PEOPLE THIS IS CANON! I'm so excited to see what happens between the two of them from now on.

I do agree with Victoire though and the letter that Teddy sent her. You'd think that he would mention something about her personality but all he's focused on in that entire letter was how gorgeous Victoire was. She's definitely better off with Sam (WOOHOO THEYRE TOGETHER!)

It's so awesome that Victoire got to visit Flander's Fields though, I hear about it every year for Remembrance Day but it was lovely to read descriptions about what it looked like and such. You definitely seem to be doing your homework on travel sites with this story.

I love how everywhere that Victoire travels she runs into something or someone new and talks to them and gains more knowledge from them. I actually feel like I'm traveling with her while reading this story. If school was as interesting as Victoire's travel adventures I would love it so much more.

I absolutely loved this chapter and I'm excited for the next one! Awesome job on this!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Ahh first of all can I just say how excited this review made me? Thank you so much!

They kissed! :) They were always going to, really. I have some sneaky plans for the next couple of chapters so I'm really excited to see what you think! :)

Yes! Okay, I'm really glad you thought her reaction was realistic. I got so annoyed just writing it so that definitely came through to Victoire - Sam is a lot less sappy and a lot more fun than Teddy at the moment!

I'm glad you liked Flanders Fields as well! I really loved writing about it and thought it would be quite interesting to see the ghosts there. I went there last summer which was the inspiration for this chapter - well, minus the ghosts and magic and such. :P It's wonderful to hear it felt authentic.

This story is so fun to write for that very fact, imagining what a traveling witch might see as she travels. I agree, I wish school was this exciting! :) I'm really glad you like it, this story helps me remember that feeling of traveling again and really makes me happy. :)

Thanks so much for the brilliant review! :D I really love hearing your thoughts. The next chapter should be up in the next week or so! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by MissesWeasley123 Paris

28th November 2013:
Ah, Jenna! I'm so excited that you decided to turn this into a short story! Now that NaNo's over, I expect more updates! And I know I **should** be reading tGfS, but this story ♥

I'm loving all these Sam and Victoire moments ♥ So cute. I adored how this was set in Paris, the city of love. It seemed very fitting for the two of them. It was way too cute. My heart broke a little at the beginning when Vic said that she dreaded the thought of Sam having a crush on her. That crushed me.

And he's Canadian. Tell me where he lives I want to know (in a completely non stalkerish way... or maybe I am being creepy but I want to know still so tell me pls)

I loved Gabrielle. I found her character very eccentric and fun, she was great. I loved the french you added in too, because for once I could understand a language being used in a chapter! Sometimes when stuff like German comes on and I'm all sad because I don't know what was said until the very end :(

And she's with Charlie! That was such a nice touch. As always, I loved all the Canadian references. The snowfall bit was priceless. Especially considering the snow here... grrr...

And that last line! So.. much.. sugar.. can't.. handle... help. meeeh...

Great work as always!

Author's Response: Hola! Ah, yay, I'm excited that you're excited! And yes, I promise that I will return my attention to this story at some point in the near future. :P This story is kind of therapeutic in that it reminds me of traveling so it's a lot of fun to work on!

I'm glad you liked Paris and the little romance brewing! It's funny, I wasn't really sure if I wanted them to cross the friend line or not, but readers seem to be responding to them as a couple which is interesting. :) Victoire is just nervous and doesn't want to ruin their friendship, but well, we'll see what happens!

Haha, not stalkerish at all! :P I imagined him living in Ontario, near the Quebec border. He definitely took French in school and has seen a lot of snow on a regular basis. :)

I loved Gabrielle too! I imagined her as being a lot like Fleur, but a little less haughty and a little more silly. Ah, I totally know what you mean about having a language we can understand! I enjoyed putting in the French and Gabby's accent was fun to write as well.

Haha yeah, I figured the Charlie thing would be a little confusing for poor Victoire. And now she has to tell her mother... uh oh. Yes! I love including Canada in stories when I get a chance, and I'm glad you could sympathize with this with the snow. Yeck.

Thanks so much for this brilliant review! It was so great to get a review on this chapter, I really appreciate it my dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by AlexFan Paris

10th November 2013:
I'm back! And I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed my last review which was full of gushing and nothing else.

First of all, let me just say, Sam and Victire. We need to come up with a ship name for them. Maybe Sictoire or Vam. Seriously though, those two are so cute together and I love how they get along so well and just click with each other.

And I also like how you didn't make Victoire this stuck up person who thinks she's better than everyone like in most fanfiction. I actually really like this version of Victoire, she's relatable and she's got more depth to her than any other Victoire that I've ever read and I applaud you on that.

I also love your descriptions of Paris, it felt like I was actually there and now I actually want to go to Paris even more than before.

Gabrielle sounds like buckets of fun, I wouldn't mind hanging around her while in Paris. And goodness, I never imagined her getting together with Charlie but hey, it doesn't matter to me.

But yeah, let's have lots of Sam and Victoire in this story! And just out of curiosity, will Victoire ever tell Sam that she's a witch or will it just stay a secret for this entire story?

Author's Response: Hi again! Hey, I'm definitely not complaining about the gushing. I'm so happy you came back because this is the first review I've gotten on this chapter and I loved writing it, so getting some feedback really means a lot. :)

Your shipping of Sam and Victoire is awesome. I like Vam personally, it really has a nice ring to it. I think you're right, I've written so many complicated relationships in other stories and these two are just comfortable and happy around each other, and that dynamic is a lot of fun.

I'm also really happy you like my Victoire here, and think she's original! I think evil Barbie Vic is a great antagonist in some stories, but she wouldn't make a very interesting protaganist, and I also think that being raised by Bill and Fleur and being the eldest of the clan there wouldn't be much time for being too self-centered.

Yay, I'm so happy I got a bit of the feeling of Paris across! It's a lovely city and I would definitely recommend going there (Victoire would too, in fact!). Something I really want to get across in this story is the feel of certain locations and cities and really re-create them here.

I loved writing Gabrielle, she really is crazy here but I love it. I thought a mention of a Charlie/Gabrielle moment would be silly and quite uncomfortable for Victoire, though I'm not sure if it would go any farther. :P

Hmm, good question! I guess you'll have to wait for the next chapters to find out... though I would actually have to write them soon... hmmm.

Thanks so much again for this awesome review and for supporting this story! :D It really made my day and I greatly appreciate your feedback!


 Report Review

Review #24, by AlexFan Northern Ireland

9th November 2013:
Eeek! I love this so much you don't even know! I've found myself yet another story to read up on!

I love how you started off the story by giving background information Victoire. I'm usually not a big fan of that because I feel like I'm getting shoved all of this stuff at me and I don't know what to do with it but it worked this time. It really helped me get to know Victoire and what kind of a person she was probably like.

I could totally relate to her as well. I love traveling so any chance to go some place is great for me! I can understand her desire to want to see the world and experience everything.

As soon as you mentioned Condescending Alex, I knew that he was just going to get on my nerves. From the very first line of dialogue that he had, I already knew that I'd probably wan to push him down a hill and then run away.

I like Silent Sam more than Condescending Alex and he wasn't even speaking for the majority of this chapter! Speaking of which, as much as I am a Teddy/Victoire shipper, I like her with Sam right now (I SHIP IT LIKE FEDEX) but I wouldn't mind if they stayed friends either.

I don't care what the relationship status with Victoire and Silent Sam is, as long as he's here, I'm good.

But yeah, I just really enjoyed this and I'm looking forward to the rest of it.

Author's Response: Hi! Aw, thank you so much! I haven't had a new review on this story in ages and this review was great in re-igniting my interest in it. :) I'm so glad you liked it!

I know what you mean about not liking long descriptions of background information, but I'm really glad you liked it here. I felt like with a next generation character it's important to establish them as seperate form the stereotypical portrayal of that character and I really loved coming up with Vic's backstory.

I'm happy this story reminded you of your love for traveling and you could relate to her! I love writing about traveling in this story, it's so much fun.

I love how most reviewers on this story have expressed such instant hate for Condescending Alex and that they know someone exactly like that, so I'm really happy I captured one of those awful characters everybody loves to hate! I'm glad you liked Sam better and that you ship them - yay!!! Mission accomplished. Sam does survive into the next chapter at least, I will tell you that. :)

Thanks so much for this awesome review!! It really made my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by MissesWeasley123 Northern Ireland

21st August 2013:
Review tag! Sorry this took a while, I had to eat breakfast...

Yes, I'm so happy to snag you! Sian is always going on how she loves everything you write! Anyways, on with the review :D

Victoire Weasley. Man, I seem to be reading her a lot these days. But this one was just so, different! No Teddy cliches at least ;P

The intro. I mean, how interesting could it get? Immediately you started off with telling us that she gets suspended upside down by the giant. It was very captivating!

Dominque. Victoire hated her, and you made me hate her too. Eurgh: That just about sums up my feelings for her.

I like the little things in this. The giant, the Candian dude (hehe I'm a Canadian too so, represent!), and Condescending Alexander. They all were such strong characters, and I think you pulled them off well as an author. :)

All in all Lululuna, you did a great job, and I know this was for the HC, and you incorporated the theme of travel amazingly!

Nadia :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, Sian, that is so nice! :) I'm so glad you got a chance to drop by as well, so that I got to receive your lovely review!

Haha, I actually had the idea for the story before choosing the Weasley I was going to write about, and Victoire just felt like a perfect fit. In many of the fan fictions I've read she's portrayed as being shallow or mean, and I wanted to give her a different spin. I'm glad you thought the Teddy cliches were avoided as well! :)

Ah, I'm glad you liked the intro! The story and plot of meeting Finn was so much fun to write, so I'm very pleased you enjoyed it.

Haha, I imagined Dominique as being the typical annoying little sister who Victoire clashes with: she was a great deal of fun to come up with and write, however! She would be pretty annoying to have as a sister!

Hooray for another Canadian! I knew I couldn't write a travelling story without at least one American and Canadian making an appearance, we are everywhere after all! I'm glad you liked the minor characters, they were all based on people I know and I had a very specific idea of them in my head, so very glad that came across.

Thank you so much for leaving this amazing review! :) It was so lovely to receive, you are awesome! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>