Reading Reviews for Of Dragons and Daring
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GryffindorSeeker4 Welcome to Romania

8th September 2013:
I love the Rolf/Luna ship, too. Plus, dragons are always interesting. I strongly encourage you to continue this someday!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! I agree that Rolf/Luna is a cute ship and just really under-utilized. It was really fun and different for me to do an action/adventure story and play with dragons as a theme to bring Rolf and Luna together.

I do hope to continue the story one day, when I find time and inspiration to do so.

Thanks for another fabulous review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #2, by SilentConfession Welcome to Romania

24th July 2013:
Hey Amanda! I'm here for the TGS review swap!

I really enjoyed this story and love that you made it about dragons and Charlie's work! There is so few stories about Charlie that when I get to read him i'm always so excited. He's such an excellent character. I like some of the things you introduced about him as well. The way he talked about the dragons or the eggs just made him seem like he was in love with his job and lived for it. It was a great detail to include.

I like that this was a Luna/Rolf. I've always liked them as a pair and it's really great that you've had them get introduced this way. It works with their personalities and their histories (at least, Luna's). She's an odd ball and I can see her getting very interested in naturalism and herbs, plants. Even her desire to get into Carnivorous plants added to her characterization. Can't imagine too many people being massively into that to be honest.

The details you include here about the magical world make it seem broader and wilder. I suppose I don't read enough ff where jobs about research or wild creatures enough but this story made it seem like the options after Hogwarts were limitless rather than being stuck to Ministry work.

You interpretation of Luna is interesting. She seemed quiet normal and less loony. I realize this can be explained away as she is older, she's gone through a war which is bound to change someone, and it's told from her perspective so perhaps she doesn't realize how she comes off to the world. However it did make me feel like I was reading a different character at times and it might have helped to ground her in canon if there were even a small mention of some of her outward quirks. Like how she reacts to things, her body movements, or conversation. Generally though she is believable and I wouldn't say i'm turned off by her characterization at all. There were a few things that helped me see her like her odd though of a good singing voice and her interest in plants. It helped me to connect with her anyway :) .

I really enjoyed reading this though! It's a great story and i loved reading all about the dragons!! Great job Amanda!

Author's Response: Hey Zayne, thanks for coming by! Just so you know, I am going to try to get over to your story in the next few days. I'm excited to read a Peter story--been really interested in Peter lately, actually--and just haven't found the time.

I agree that Charlie is an intriguing character and I was surprised to find how much I enjoyed writing him. (Weasleys are something else that has been quite trendy for my muse lately.) It was my first try, so I'm happy to hear that you felt like his personality was right and that you enjoyed getting to observe him in his "natural environment."

It's great to hear that you liked seeing Luna and Rolf here, too. They're another part of canon that I feel like is mostly unexplored but is also really very interesting. I've always got research on the brain as a grad student and so thinking about this part of their lives was easy for me--and it was fun to put a magical spin on it! I agree that Luna didn't feel quite quirky enough, and I think that'll be one of my main foci if I decide to continue this into a longer work (which it feels very much like I might someday). I am pleased that you picked up on some of the more subtle quirks I included.

I think you're definitely right about fanfiction not covering many professions after Hogwarts. I've written a couple of stories now that focus on the working world and I find the possibilities absolutely limitless, and also fun to envision.

Thanks again for your wonderful review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 Welcome to Romania

19th July 2013:
Hi! I'm here with that review you requested quite a while ago... I'm sorry it's taken me some time to actually sit down and write your review!

I really love this idea of Luna and Rolf meeting as a result of research. It's a fantastic way for two magical creature-loving people such as themselves to meet, and I think that you wrote their meeting excellently! I am also a fan of the Luna/Rolf ship, and because it doesn't get as much attention as I think it should, I get really excited when I come across them. :)

I definitely think that you should continue this as a short story or even a novel. It seems as though there are lots of places you could take this, and I really want to see where it can go! So, whenever you find the time and the inspiration, PLEASE do consider writing a few more chapters, if only to satisfy your poor readers' curiosities. :)

You mentioned in your request that you were a little unsure about Luna's characterization. Well, I'm here to tell you that you shouldn't worry about it! Luna does seem a little less "loony" than she did at Hogwarts, but there are factors to consider: 1) That you're actually telling the story from Luna's perspective, getting inside her head, where she might not completely realize that she's as ethereal and strange (and totally awesome!) as everyone else sees her. 2) This story seems to take place several years out of Hogwarts, and who knows what may have happened by then?! There was the Battle of Hogwarts, which might have given Luna a sense of reality, and then life in the Wizarding World as a young adult might have given her a more grounded perspective.

So, to your worries, doubts, and fears, I say, "Be gone!" If you feel that you need to add a bit more strangeness to Luna's character, then go right ahead. If not, then just write her how YOU see her. It's actually quite refreshing to see a fanfiction version of Luna never mention the Crumple-Horned Snorkacks within the first few paragraphs! :D

As always, beautiful writing, style, description, dialogue, et cetera! You're brilliant. :)

May your pen never run out of ink!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for coming by!

I think Luna/Rolf is a really cute and under-written ship, so it was fun to explore them here. I'm in the post-grad phase of my education, too, so research was automatically on the brain :)

I do think I'll continue this at some point, never fear. It's not really my priority at this time, but keep an eye out for updates.

Your comments made me feel better about Luna's characterization, so thank you! Several reviewers have pointed out that she's more mature due to not being at Hogwarts anymore, but you're the first (I think) to suggest that the difference in characterization could be part of me operating from within her mind. I do think I could work a couple more quirks in if I continue this, but for now, it's comforting to know that she still feels right.

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by ScarletEye158 Welcome to Romania

13th July 2013:
Hi! This was a really sweet one-shot and I really loved how you used the travel theme but then were able to make this a story that you could read without having that requirement to it! it was really good! :D

I haven't read a Luna fic in a long time, but I thought this one was really good! I never thought much about the schooling after Hogwarts she would have to go through to become a naturalist and I really liked your take on it :)

I loved how you characterized everyone in this story, too. Luna, Rolf and Charlie were all so interesting and all clearly loved animals/nature and I would definitely love to be around them (I'm an animal freak too :P)

I think this would be a really cool story to continue with as you could do so much with it, and I really like how you established that Luna secretly likes Rolf already :) It would be really interesting and cool to see their relationship blossom!

Your descriptions and flow throughout the story were really nice and I wasn't lost or confused at all! It was a nice, fluffy, easy story to read and those are definitely my favorites :)

There was one part where I think you might've had a typo, but that can be easily fixed :)

""My grandfather was the really famous one, but he died when I was twelve, so my father decided to just teach me what he'd learned from my grandfather instead. It was a rather reading-intensive shadowing experience," Newt added"

I think you meant to write "Rolf added"? Newt would be his grandfathers name :P

Other than that, I thought that this was a really lovely read and I'm really glad I got to read and review it! Nice job, and I love your name by the way! ;)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by!

It's great that you liked my characterization and enjoyed seeing what Luna and Rolf would have to go through to become naturalists or magizoologists. I'm in the post-grad phase of my education now so it was dear to my heart.

This story was really fun to write and I can see myself continuing it sometime in the future. I've never written an adventure story and I'm so glad I got this plot bunny :)

Oh, thanks for pointing that out. I was trying to figure out when Newt passed away and I suppose my brain got a little mixed up there. I'll make a note to go back and edit it.

Thank you for your fantastic review!

-Amanda (hah, same name! Awesome!)


 Report Review

Review #5, by BookDinosaur Welcome to Romania

13th July 2013:
Hello Amanda! -BookDinosaur- here with your requested review. I'm so sorry for the lateness, I've been travelling. I always seem to get to your requests late! :-/

Anyway, so I love how you characterised Luna. She's not as quirky as in the books, but that makes sense, seeing as how she's all grown up now! I'm so glad you went with the milder approach - there are so many stories which make her come across as plain ridiculous, which she's blatantly not. She's just a little odd. ;) Of course, Luna is a favourite character of mine, so I'm probably a bit biased. :)

I also really like dragons, and to see you blend two favourites of mine in such a skilled way was amazing. I loved your imagery of the dragons and the Breeding Centre, that was just a pleasure to read and I think my favourite part of this one-shot. I could really visualise it in my mind, so well done to you there.

I also really enjoyed seeing Charlie in his work enviroment, obviously where he's most comfortable despite the danger. You managed to get us to understand how passionate and good at his job he was without telling us or making it too blatant.

The Luna/Rolf ship, in my opinion, is one of the hardest to write, as Luna is so difficult and Rolf virtually unknown, but I think you've done a great job of it here and just hinted to us about the eventual romance really well, without telling us 'they're meant to be and one day they'll marry' or something equally heavy-handed. Subtlety seems to be a strong suit of yours, so again, well done there!

This was a really sweet one-shot, and I can really see how it could become a short story. My only CC for you would be to make Luna a little more quirky - we saw hints of it in the 'good voice for singing' comment, that made me snuff a laugh, but all in all she seems a bit too mellowed down. Still, don't take this too seriously, I'm sure I could never have written Luna as well as you have here!

Anyway, this was a really great one-shot, and I really enjoyed reading and reviewing it, Amanda!

Author's Response: Hey, no worries! Thanks for coming by!

I was concerned about trying to get Luna's quirkiness across, and I agree that I could add a little more to that, especially if I continue this. I'm happy that you didn't feel like she was over the line into ridiculousness, though.

It was my first time exploring Luna/Rolf as well as Charlie, and folding them all into an adventure story was interesting and fun. I enjoyed imagining what the dragon reserve would be like and what kinds of things Luna and Rolf would do on their work placement.

Yeah, I like to think I'm subtle :) I'm happy that you felt like all the elements were balanced here and nothing was too blatant.

Thanks for your very kind review, as always!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by ginerva_molly_weasley Welcome to Romania

13th July 2013:
Oooh Luna and Rolf is interesting as Luna is a really hard character to get right and Rolf is just one of the unknowns so there's not a lot we have to work on already.

I think what you showed about Luna here was her receptiveness to observation. She observed a lot as a teenager at Hogwarts, more than many people gave her credit for so I love the fact that you've given her a placement in Dragon Observation as it seems very fitting to both her character and her temperament.

One thing which I found a little odd here was the idea that Charlie and Luna were so formal with one another. I didn't like that at all as they had met before of course at Bill and Fleur's wedding and they would have been around one another for many of the funerals after the war so I feel that they would have had some sort of existing relationship even though it could be completely platonic so the formalities at the beginning didn't sit completely right with me.

I loved the descriptions of the dragons! They are one of the most fantastic creatures in this universe and they should be written about much more than they are so I do love how this was completely centred on dragons. I almost forgot I was reading about a placement. I was simply enthrawled at many of the concepts here. One thing I would have liked you to maybe emphasise a little more would have been the size f the place as when you compared it to London Zoo I felt the place was a little downsized and downscaled to the magnitude it would have been to hold so many dragons.

Also the Luna and Rolf meeting was very cute and I loved the line break and the change of scene between Charlie introducing him and then Luna actually meeting him.

Well done here!

GinevraMollyPotter- Slytherin

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks for stopping by!

Yeah, I think Luna did spend a lot of other time watching others. It must have been necessary, in part, because she was a little socially awkward and maybe needed help monitoring cues to figure out how to respond. Obviously she didn't always choose the popular pull, but that's why we love her :)

Well, I thought of it in terms of their relative positions. Luna is a student and much younger than Charlie, who is her new boss. She's in an unfamiliar place where she doesn't quite know the rules, and she never came across as being particularly rude in canon. So to me, it makes sense that she'd err on the side of caution and be very professional here. I think first day jitters could also play a role. Even if she and Charlie met here and there at events, they probably wouldn't know each other but so well at this point, or so I think.

It's great that you enjoyed reading about the dragons! I was hoping they'd intrigue readers. I didn't really mean that the whole place was the size of the London Zoo; obviously you would need bigger cages and more open ground for creatures like dragons to live there. I didn't really say this, but I also think that there would be other dragon facilities in a few other countries, but of course none of them are quite as famous as Charlie's facility. With that reference, I was really thinking about the way the monkey house at zoos I have visited is set up, with the open center and large glass cages lining the room's sides.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by PolyJuice_ Welcome to Romania

13th July 2013:
So every time I go through the thread to see what the next story is I internally squee and go "ohh, I've read loads by this author!" and frankly, I'm not sure why I'm still surprised. I've yet to meet an author on the forums who I've disliked their writing. Anyway. That has virtually nothing to do specifically with you, I just needed to say it. xD

Of course you're in with that group, I've loved your unique writing since I first read you.

Luna/Rolf? Aweh. I just love the way she talks to herself. You wrote her just as how she was in my headcanon before the movies. :3 Every quirk just made her more /my/ Luna. You couldn't have done it better. c: The way Rolf and Luna met was just so..squee worthy, too!

So, it's currently 2 am and I'm sleepy and fangirling over all these fab stories, so I'm not very coherent at the moment, so if my thoughts are jumbled I'm sorry, I blame it on your awesome. c;

Liz

House Cup ~ 2013 ~ Slytherin

Author's Response: Well, what a compliment! Thank you! :)

I'm so glad you liked my Luna. Readers seem sort of divided on her so far but I'll definitely try to work in more quirk if I take the plot further. I agree, Luna/Rolf is really cute.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by ohmymerlin Welcome to Romania

13th July 2013:
Hello!

This was an adorable one-shot, I love Luna and Rolf as a pairing, they just seem perfect together and you've pulled this off very well!

I loved the way you wrote Luna's feelings when she first met Rolf, you wrote it really well!

Although I do have one bit of confusion. It's just this part here:

"My grandfather was the really famous one, but he died when I was twelve, so my father decided to just teach me what he'd learned from my grandfather instead. It was a rather reading-intensive shadowing experience," {Newt} added.

Is that meant to be Rolf? Or was that a new character. Forgive me if it was a different character and I completely missed it! I'm just a tiny bit confused. :p

Anyway, this was a really nice, fluffy one-shot. Good job!

- Kayla. :)

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by :)

I'm happy that you liked seeing Luna and Rolf's first meeting and the way I described Luna's interpretation of the little crush she was feeling.

Yeah, I was trying to figure out when Newt passed when writing that paragraph and I think my unconsciousness slipped in the wrong name. Oops! I'll go back and edit it later, so thanks for pointing that out for me.

Thank you for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #9, by HollyStone73 Welcome to Romania

13th July 2013:
I loved this! Super cute! I love how well thought out everything was. This details about the dragon breeding and the specifics about the breeding center and the dragons were awesome. It was refreshing to read about a new environment and setting and get a little more insight into life outside of Hogwarts.

I have always had a soft spot for Luna and wondered how she would have met Rolf. I love how she jumped in to the rescue when he burned his hand! The way you working the two of them in together without overdoing it and overwhelming the story with it was awesome.

Another masterpiece! Super great job!

Author's Response: Hi there, thanks for coming by!

I love including (hopefully) interesting details in my work, so I'm glad you appreciated that and didn't feel like all the imagery and dialogue bogged the plot down too much. I'm in the post grad phase of my life and it was interesting to try to figure out what Luna would need to do between Hogwarts and the career we know she eventually ends up in.

It's also lovely that you liked how I put Luna and Rolf together. I tried not to force a love-at-first-sight sort of feeling but instead wanted to make their meeting seem realistic.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #10, by missclaire17 Welcome to Romania

13th July 2013:
I loved how Luna and Rolf got to see so many of the dragons that Charlie showed them! Not to mention, seeing familiar names in a completely different setting than Hogwarts and England is always nice. I love the way how you introduced how Luna and Rolf met because they're seriously a couple that I don't think people notice as much as they should. The bits when Luna had those butterflies about Rolf was so cute! Awesome job writing this story! The ending was perfect too, no less, leaving it on such a high note.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by!

This was really a cool opportunity for me because I got to play with new characters in an adventurous new setting, all of which was totally unknown to me and yet really exciting and ripe. I had a ton of fun and I'm definitely considering expanding this into a short story. Hopefully you'll pop back over if I do :)

Thanks for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #11, by ShadowRose Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
Hi there!

Awkward confession: I actually read this a few days ago but didn't review because I'm a rather lazy person. But hey, the House Cup has given me an excuse to write a lot of reviews, so I'm back again!

I really love how you've characterized Luna here. There are so many little elements you've added - like her packing a hammock to see dragons, mistaking that lovey-dovey feeling for having too much to drink, and the fact that her first thought upon meeting Rolf involved his singing voice - that help give Luna her very distinctive characterization - I feel like she's one of the hardest characters to write about from her own POV, just because she's such an off-the-wall person that it's difficult to manufacture that kind of randomness, but you do a really excellent job with it.

I love that not only are Luna and Rolf in this story, but Charlie is as well. We don't see much of Charlie in the series, but he seems like he'd be a really fun character, and you portray that here. He definitely knows what he's doing, but he's still got that Weasley sense of humour going on as well.

I love the detail you go into regarding the dragons - instead of just focusing on Luna and Rolf's interaction, you also draw attention to all the awesome things going on with the dragons as well. It weaves in really nicely with the Luna/Rolf storyline, and just makes it that much more enjoyable to read.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading and reviewing this! Great job! :)

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hey, I've been here for a couple years and I still feel like, "Oh! Really?!" when people say that they've read something of mine but just haven't been by to review. I'm glad the House Cup gave you a chance to do so because I love getting feedback from reviewers!

Luna was really tough. I tried to play up some subtle quirks without going overboard on it. I could see adding a few more if I expand this. It's great that you noticed the few little quirks I included and felt like they fit Luna well.

Charlie is really fun and I loved writing him because he clearly just has a blast at his job. The Weasleys seem to have the best careers out of nearly everyone in the wizarding world!

I'm a big fan of details and imagery and the setting was just really fun for me to explore, and I'm pleased that you liked exploring it, too.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #12, by Siriuslover177 Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
That was super cute! I really enjoyed that.
And the idea of them being able to take classes after school, that is a very good idea.
Also the idea of her meeting Rolf there, that was a really nice touch, because it is never mentioned how they met.
Really nice(:

~Sarah

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for coming by!

I'm a grad student now so the notion of post-grad education for advanced wizarding careers just felt natural for me. I definitely had fun trying to figure out what that would look like. I'm happy that you liked seeing Luna and Rolf meet and felt that the setting was realistic.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyEPotter Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
Hi! Here for the House Cup review!

This is a very cute story about Luna and Rolf meeting! It makes sense that they would meet while studying creatures in their natural habitats. And to see how the Dragon sanctuary is set up was a nice addition. I also liked how Luna didn't remember the spell to protect her eyes but knew a healing spell for Rolf's hand.

Great story!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for coming by!

I'm glad Luna and Rolf's meeting made sense and that you liked how Luna wasn't Hermione-smart here. It was really fun to imagine the sanctuary and everything that would be part of Luna and Rolf's duties there.

Thanks for your sweet review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #14, by Courtney Dark Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
Hey there! So...this is my review for the House Cup! Woo! Yeah, I suck at introductions.

I thought this was a really cool idea, and Luna is always an interesting character to read about. I've attempted writing her a couple of times and have always found it extremely difficult, so I think you did a really great job! She still seemed very Luna-ish (as in from her Hogwarts days) yet you could definitely tell that she'd grown up a lot.

Actually, your characterization of all your characters was fantastic, and I like that you included a canon character as minor as Alicia.

I've never read a Luna/Rolf story before, so this was a first time experience for me, and I loved your portrayal of Rolf! He seemed so sweet and cuddly and absolutely perfect for Luna!

This was a really cool, fun one-shot to read, and I think you incorporated travel really well. Nice work!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for stopping by :)

Luna is definitely one of the harder characters for me to write, but I like her because she's light even when difficult and dark things are happening. I tried to play up her quirks in a subtle way and could see adding a few more if I decided to expand this into a short story.

Rolf was fun to explore, especially since I didn't have any parameters, unlike with Luna!

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #15, by LittleLionGirl Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
Wow Amanda. I have to say that was an original place for Luna to meet Rolf and I really enjoyed it. The pairing seems to just start and I think that is good as others can rush it a bit. The twins were adorable but the names are so close!
XOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Hey, I'm glad you enjoyed the story! I thought it would be sort of cute for Luna to encounter a pair of twins before going on to have her own. I'm a strong believer in not rushing a pairing and I'm glad that you felt the same way here! Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #16, by Siriusgirl Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
Oh! Rolf and Luna, I love them even if we know nothing about them, Rolf would definitely appreciate Luna's curiosity and open mindedness. Love this storY!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed watching Luna and Rolf's relationship unfold in this quick little story. Thanks again :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #17, by Athene Goodstrength Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
Boogying on over from the HC party!

Well, this was just wonderful. I've never read any Luna/Rolf before, and I enjoyed this so much. Your characterisation of Luna is just beautiful - she really feels like the Luna we know and love. Eccentric, endearing, a little awkward (although not really aware of it!). There were so many little touches that contributed to her Luna-ness:

- Her excitement, and wanting to stay up playing with the children.
- Talking to herself out loud (so cute).
- Packing a hammock in case she fancies a nap (hahaha!)
- Describing an initial attraction as a warm, sick feeling, as if she's drunk too much Butterbeer. SO adorable.
- Her observation that Rolf probably has a nice singing voice.

I feel like you know these characters and this world so very well. Your language is perfect, and somewhat reminiscent of JKR's prose (the gentle humour, the ease with which you enter this world). For example, I really enjoyed the words from the book she'd bought, and also her mother's words.

Charlie was great too! I'm a huge Weasley fan (a ginger nut?) and he felt so right to me... his line about something being dangerous and therefore quite fun was perfect, and the way he talks about the baby dragons made me melt a little... he clearly considers them his own babies!

Author's Response: Hey!

Oh, I'm so glad you liked my subtle nods to Luna's quirkiness! It seems like I went a little too subtle at points, but it was hard for me to really get a grasp on who Luna was and this was my best attempt within the time constraint.

I always really loved JKR's prose. I could get lost in her writing and her world so easily and it's so comforting to return to it even now. Writing the excerpt from the dragon breeding textbook was my favorite part of this chapter.

Hey, who isn't a Weasley fan? I had never really thought about exploring Charlie but it was fun having him lead Luna and Rolf about on their tour. Yeah, I think he would really love the dragons and have a blast working with them.

Sorry the rest of your review got cut off, but this was truly lovely. Thank you so much!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #18, by purplepotter77 Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
I'm purplepotter775 on the forums from Ravenclaw, here for the House Cup!

Luna/Rolf is one of my favorite pairings, and I love how they're written here! The concept of them going to Romania to work under Charlie Weasley is super creative; I'd never thought of that before, but I think it would make a ton of sense. I love the idea of her going there for foreign work placement, not necessarily to have a career with dragons, and then meeting Rolf in that way.

The way you characterized Luna here was lovely, too. It wasn't that far from canon, and yet, you still showed how she's matured since the war and since she graduated while still maintaining her signature Luna-ness.

Your description was perfect. It didn't distract the readers from what was happening from the story, and it really helped me picture what was going on. I loved the excerpt from the dragon book and the part where when Luna sees the dragons, it reminds her of when her mother and father took her to the zoo. You made that part very touching without lingering too long on it.

I also love the end and Rolf inviting Luna for dinner! Great job with this story! :D

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for coming by!

Yeah, several people have said that they don't see Luna working with dragons full-time but that it makes sense for her to get some experience while working towards her ultimate career. I'm glad the story seems plausible :)

It's lovely to hear that Luna feels in-character. I think I'd have to add a little more quirk if I decided to continue this, but I was worried that I didn't do a good enough job of subtly hinting at her weirdness.

I'm happy that you liked the description, too. I tried to make the world easy to picture but not beat people over the head with every little thing. It was difficult to create an entire dragon sanctuary but also fun to imagine it all!

Thanks for your lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #19, by Roots in Water Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
Hello Amanda! It's been a few months since I've had the time to leave a review but the House Cup has really kick-started my return to HPFF.

I enjoyed reading this one-shot. Not only is Luna always an amusing character to read, but dragons (and the dragon sanctuary) are interesting as well. And you managed to combine both wonderfully here!

I think that you came up with a great reason for Luna to be at the dragon sanctuary. After all, I don't think that it would be the sort of place she'd typically seek as a job, but as a work placement on her path to becoming a carnivorous plant studier it makes perfect sense.

Seeing Charlie Weasley in his element was also a great pleasure. It's nice to see just how much he enjoys his job - it's too bad more people don't have that same passion for their work (even if he is just a fictional character).

This was also very interesting because it was Luna's first meeting with Rolf. I definitely think that it's a plausible way for them to meet, especially since I've always assumed that they're interested in the same sorts of creatures/careers. I also liked how you introduced the possibility of their future relationship. Luna's reaction to his smile (and the feelings of contentment that follow the slightly sick feeling) coupled with Rolf's smile after she declared dragons to be beautiful definitely shows their potential without hitting readers over the head with it.

I also really liked the glimpse you've given us of post-secondary education in the Wizarding world - it sounds remarkably similar to post-secondary education in the Muggle world. :)

All in all, I enjoyed reading this one-shot and I can definitely see its potential as a short-story. Although your conclusion was great, the one-shot definitely did a great job of getting across the idea of a new beginning - so much so that I'm really interested to see where their story goes from there. Great work! :D

Author's Response: Hey, happy to hear from you again! (By the way, hope we get to continue our swap soon! I'd love to get back to Wilted Flower!)

I didn't really look around before writing this, but I'd be surprised if this is the first time someone's combined Luna/Rolf and dragons, or at least Charlie. They just seem to go together really well and it was fun to work on this. What better reason to explore new characters and adventurous new plot lines than the House Cup?

I didn't intend for this to be a head-over-heels love story, just a way for Luna and Rolf to get to know one another while working toward their respective careers, like you said. I'm happy that it came across as plausible to you. It was fun trying to imagine what post-grad education would look like for wizards and witches, and I won't deny that it was inspired in part by my current experience as a graduate student :)

I'm leaning towards continuing this, so it'll be interesting to see where the story goes from here. Thanks for your lovely review, Claire!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #20, by HeyMrsPotter Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
I love love love LOVE Luna stories so was super excited to read this :D I really liked all of the little details in this; the extract from the book, the advanced courses Luna had taken, the fact that her placement was with Charlie. I had a little fangirl moment when Rolf was mentioned, I've never read any stories of how they met!
I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors and the story flowed brilliantly. If you continue this I'd definitely read on, drop me a message on the forums if you do!

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm big on including interesting details in my work and this story was no exception, so I'm pleased that came across for you and was enjoyable. It was fun to explore new characters and try out an exciting plot line. I'll have to pop by your review thread if I decide to continue it, which I'm thinking I just might :)

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Welcome to Romania

12th July 2013:
This is a really interesting and exciting piece, dear! There's the excitement of seeing the dragons and their babies, there's the excitement of Luna and Rolf's first day at work, and there's also excitement of Luna's obvious infatuation with Rolf. There's just so much awesome going on all at once!

I really loved your portrayal/description of the baby dragons! I could almost see them scrambling across the paddocks after the metal ball; so cute!

I also really liked Luna's description of what she feels when she looks at Rolf. I'm unsure if Luna had a crush on anyone at Hogwarts, but it definitely makes sense to me that she wouldn't know where that feeling was coming from!

Overall, just a really cute one-shot! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I definitely did try to make this exciting, so I'm glad that came across! Writing an adventurous story is a new thing for me but it was really fun.

It would be pretty awesome to work with baby dragons, despite the inherent dangers there!

It's great that you felt like Luna's feelings toward Rolf were realistic. We know that she married a bit later in life than the others and I imagined that maybe she would be kind of a "late bloomer" when it came to romantic relationships, beyond maybe tiny crushes.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan Welcome to Romania

11th July 2013:
Hello, here with your requested review!

You mentioned your characterisation of Luna as an area of concern, but I think it's actually great. She isn't as quirky as the Luna from the books, but since she's so much older in this story, it makes sense that she would have changed a little. Despite her being a little less weird, she's still very Luna. When she thinks about how Rolf would have a nice singing voice - sixteen year old Luna would probably have said that out loud, but 27 year old Luna just thinks it.

That might be something to add if you decide to go back and edit this later. I think that as Luna grew up, she may have stopped saying odd and slightly uncomfortable observations, but she'd still think them. So it could add a lot to the story to have more of Luna's candid thoughts about things.

Also, I'd just like to add that I loved the excerpt from the dragon textbook. It had the same tone of quirkiness that seems to be a part of everything in the wizarding world (I especially loved the sentence about baby dragons being like humans in that they're adorable until they launch something nasty at your face!)

Lastly, this would be great as a short story. I love Luna and Rolf and I think there's a lot more story to tell about both of them and about the dragons! I'd love to continue reading. But it works as a one-shot as well! :)

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by!

I'm happy that you felt like Luna seemed like herself as an adult with the subtle quirks, and I agree that I could add more on that front if I chose to continue this into a short story or edit it. The wheels are already turning in my head in that regard, so we'll see what happens.

I loved writing that excerpt from the textbook, and I tried to capture the tone from the books. I could see including other excepts, again, if I choose to turn this into a short story.

Thanks for your very kind review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #23, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne Welcome to Romania

10th July 2013:
Yay! I adore Rolf/Luna ( well, really just anything with Luna).
Characterizing Luna is probably one of the hardest things out there for a HPFF writer, so I salute you for taking her on. usually, I see Luna as being over-done as far as quirkiness goes, but you didn't do that at all. It seems realistic to me that as she grows older, Luna would mature a bit, and maybe tone down the eccentricities. I think you might be able to add a little more quirkiness to her character though, if you were so inclined. Maybe an aside about obscure dragon mythology, or perhaps odd protective clothing.

You mentioned that you might continue this story (which I think is a fantastic idea), so maybe a few more oddities could emerge in chapters to come. I do like her little remark here, it seems very Luna: 'Sounds like the sort to have a good singing voice, she observed'.

I absolutely loved the passage from the book (nice nod to canon with the titles :) and your Charlie was wonderful. (I actually included him in my own House Cup entry, he's probably my favourite Weasley).

I love how you made Luna an intelligent character. It drives me mad when people portray her as quirky and ditzy- no, she's a Ravenclaw, she's inquisitive and intelligent, so thank you for showing that!

I also like all the little details in here- dragon names, the eggs, capers with a side of dragon trainers and the like. Your writing flows really well, it was a really enjoyable story and I think it would do well as a multi-chap.
I hope you write more, as I'd love to read it!
~Gilly (from DumbledoresArmyOfOne's Review thread)

Author's Response: Ugh, she was so hard to write, and I agree that I needed to find a few more places to insert some quirks in order to really get her down. I'm happy to hear that you felt like her characterization made sense given her maturity and that you noticed my few subtle attempts at quirk, like the comment about Rolf seeming the type to be a decent singer.

I do think the story is asking to be continued and perhaps that will allow me more opportunities to get into the nitty gritty of Luna's character. It's great that you also feel like more chapters would be beneficial :)

Yeah, I tend to pull from canon a lot, particularly in my writing over the past year. I prefer to use canon characters and ideas, so that's obviously where the books came from. I'm glad you liked my Charlie and the book passage--that was all mine and it was so fun.

I have trouble imagining Luna as being ditzy, and I agree that it's silly to conclude that quirkiness and intelligence can't coexist. Hopefully I made Ravenclaw proud with this story :)

Thanks for your very lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #24, by charlottetrips Welcome to Romania

9th July 2013:
Yes! Luna/Rolf! Love those two.

Your Luna has matured here, but hasn't lost the innocence that I've found I love about her. That she doesn't recognize that she's like-liking a boy is adorable. Rolf here seems grounded but just right for her.

Your description of Romania and the Dragon Reserve was amazing! I really took to the extra tidbits of the magical world you introduced and just the overall feel of a sprawling and thriving Dragon breeding business. I liked how to be full fledged in the chosen career of Luna, she needed to do this. I don't know why but I liked the hint of real world issues that we have to go through to get qualified in our careers. Usually people brush that over in HP world but it only made it more real to me.

Really overall cute, Amanda :)

Author's Response: Hi, lovely!

I'm so glad the characterization worked for you. I was worried about it because my Luna and Rolf are a bit older and I couldn't seem to capture that quintessential Luna quirkiness very well. I did my best to play it up in subtle ways and I'm happy those jumped out at you.

I think the fact that I'm in the post-grad phase of my education now was part of my inspiration for this piece, and I could relate to a lot of the excitement and nervousness that I wrote into Luna's character. It was neat to think about an academic career being translated into its sort of magical equivalent, including an internship experience of sorts. It's great that all of that filled out the story.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #25, by WitnesstoitAll Welcome to Romania

8th July 2013:
Ahhh!! You know I love Luna/Rolf and this was no exception. This was adorable! I loved the sort of naivety that Luna still has, even as an adult, when it comes to boys and feelings and all things normal. The fact that she didn't recognize the bubbly sort of feeling she felt looking at Rolf was really sweet. I love how much detail you put into this, too. I could almost see the Dragon reserve. And Charlie! I'll never pass up an opportunity to read about that man. He's definitely one of my favorite Weasleys (even though I may say that about all of them depending on the day of the week ;) ).

Great one-shot and thanks for writing for Ravenclaw!!

Author's Response: Mel!

Yeah, I tried to play up a subtle, more mature version of Luna's quirks in her reactions to Rolf. I pictured her perception of love as being definitively comforting but not quite known, and thus described in a sort of childish way.

It was really fun to imagine what the training for people in Luna/Rolf's line of work would be (especially those dissertation-esque topics) and what it would be like to work with Charlie on the dragon reserve. Speaking of Charlie, I've never really thought to write about him before but he was really interesting as well.

Thanks for your very kind review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>