Reading Reviews for Careful What You Wish For
  
143 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybe An Antidote to Love

20th April 2014:
Yay! A new chapter! Happy Easter to me!

I am so glad Dani and Oliver are on speaking terms again. It was just too sad with them not talking. And I am SO RELIEVED that Dani finally plans to end things with Radley. Generally, things are going better for her - except my prediction is that the antidote will not work out as planned, and she'll end up having to use the last wish to undo the damage. How's that for a guess? Am I remotely close? Can't wait to see what you have up your sleeves! And what happens with Kat/Jack/Liam. Personally, I think Jack deserves better.

I am trying to start leaving more useful reviews, but I'm not an expert yet... So I will just say that you do a very good job with dialogue and, on a related note, with keeping each voice in character. I suspect I could tell who said what without any dialogue tags, which is pretty cool. One thing I would like to see a little more of in this story is description/imagery, but this isn't a major problem.

Can't wait for the next installment! :)
-MM

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan Christmas Surprises

8th April 2014:
Radley is getting on a level of creepy previously unknown to humanity. I'm actually quite interested to know how he found out where Dani lived. Did he follow her home or something? How does he know where she lives? I don't understand why Dani hasn't just dumped him by now. She clearly doesn't like Radley anymore, even she knows it.

On a different note, does this mean that the Dani/Oliver ship is going to be sailing soon or is that still going to be quite a while before it happens. It doent even matter to me because the two of them kissed and I've been waiting for that to happen for the longest of times. It'll be interesting to see where Dani and Oliver's relationship goes from here on out.

As always, I'm excited for Dani to get back to Hogwarts and for more of her adventures with the mirror!

Author's Response: Radley is a very creepy bloke. I wouldn't want to date him, that's for certain! I'm sure Radley has a number of techniques he employed to find out where Dani lives. Perhaps he went to the Ministry of Magic to find her address. Or disguised himself as a pot plant. Maybe he locked himself in her trunk. There are a whole world of possibilities!

The Dani/Oliver relationship is happening at last!

I hope to see you back soon! The next chapter is on its way!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Christmas Surprises

2nd April 2014:
AAA OMG DANI AND OLIVER!! Finally! Awkward Oliver is cute, actually :p ok,I'm interested to see what happens now, because Dani and Oliver are just going to be even more weird around each other now, and Kat will totally know what's up haha. And what's going to happen to Radley after Dani breaks up with him (that needs to happen soon)? He's still obsessed with her.. Haha that scene where he randomly showed up at her house was hilarious. This was an awesome chapter!

Author's Response: WOO! I was so excited to post this chapter, I'm happy you enjoyed it!

Awkward Oliver is very cute. I had a lot of fun writing this chapter! And yes, Radley and Dani really need to break up soon. Radley is just...creepy!

Thank you for another lovely review. You are seriously amazing!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Fan from Norway Christmas Surprises

1st April 2014:
I absolutely LOVED this chapter!

Author's Response: YAY! I'm so glad, I had a lot of fun writing it!

Hope to see you back soon! Thanks for the sweet reviews!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Fonzzx Christmas Surprises

31st March 2014:
DDASJDFASDA ALL THE FEELS!

Author's Response: YES! I WAS SO EXCITED TO POST THIS CHAPTER!

Thank you for reviewing, haha.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Fan from Norway A Warm Welcome

28th March 2014:
I must admit, I am normally not a big fan of changing POV's, but you made it work! I really enjoyed this chapter, and it was nice to get to know Angus a little better :)

Aww, I feel so sorry for Angus. Why can't Kat see that he really likes her? I really like Angus, he is always so nice and loyal to his friends.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! That's so nice to hear, as I'm always nervous about changing POV's, as I know it's not a lot of people's cup of tea.

I feel bad for Angus, too! He really is such a lovely person, I wish I knew someone like him!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Fan from Norway Kat's Secret

28th March 2014:
I absolutely love this story, and I'm so excited for the next chapters! Please, please, pleaaase update soon! :D

Finally we found out what Kat was up to! I did suspect it had something to do with a guy. It makes me a little sad thought, because I really like Jack! Hopefully she will figure it all out. But what I am even more excited about is Dani and Oliver! Why can't they just start dating? Why can't just Dani realize that she is madly in love with Oliver? And make a wish that Radley will stop being in love with her. I really do not like Radley and Beckett.

Oh, and I absolutely love Bran! I find him adorable!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much, I'm so glad you're enjoying it!

I really like Jack, too! He's so much cooler than Liam. And no, Radley and Beckett are certainly not my favourite people in the world!

Thank you so much for reviewing!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by LightLeviosa5443 Kat's Secret

25th March 2014:
Ah! I called it! Yay yay yay yay yay!!

I'm so proud of myself. I love how it was with someone way older than her in a skeezy place, too. That was so great. Kat should break up with both boys and take some time to herself. I feel so bad for Jack, he's going to be so heartbroken.

Ugh. Can Oliver and Dani just PLEASE get together now. Skip all of the other stuff! I want them to be an adorable couple! The way they fought was so cute. But side note - BRAN. OH MY MERLIN. That was so funny. A time machine. Lol. Silly boy.

I thought the scene between Dani and Kat, when Dani found Kat and then Kat started crying was so perfect. It was delightfully believable and such an awesome display of sibling closeness.

I really like where this story is going, and I can't wait to see where else you take it! I'm super excited for them to have christmas day and then go back to school. It's all going to be so wonderful!

Brilliant job, hon! Update soon!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Woo, well done you!

And the whole situation is pretty skeezy. I'm disappointed in Kat!

Oliver and Dani still don't realize how perfect they'd be together, the silly things! And i don't actually write about Bran that often but he's one of my favourites.

I'm glad you liked the scene between Kat and Dani, it was actually great to write!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LightLeviosa5443 A Warm Welcome

25th March 2014:
You're too cute, thanking me. You're welcome hon! You write the most amazing stories!!

I loved this chapter. I really liked how you put it in Angus' point of view, it was interesting, different, and a nice little change. I've been suspecting that Angus had a crush on someone, but I didn't think it was Kat! I can totally see it now.

I really hope that Kat breaks up with Jack soon, it's not fair to lead him along. We all know she's cheating on him (amiright or amiright?).

I really did love the look into Angus' mind in this chapter. Especially when he was thinking about Dani and then ran into her. It's interesting the way he doesn't want anyone to know how he feels about Kat, and the way he lies to cover it up.

I felt so bad when he was sitting with his parents too. You did a really good job of evoking emotions. I really wanted to just give Angus a hug and let him know that it'd be okay and not to let his parents get to him. I hate his dad.

What a wonderful chapter! On to the next one!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm so happy that you're enjoying this one! Your lovely reviews seriously always make me day, and I feel like I don't answer them frequently enough!

I'm really glad you liked the chapter from Angus' point of view, as I actually struggled quite a bit to write it! It was more difficult than I thought it would be!

I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan Kat's Secret

20th March 2014:
Finally we get to find out what Kat was doing this entire time. I mean, I had a bit of a guess but it was still a surprise to actually find out that she was cheating on Jack. I, unlike Dani, am not such a forgiving person. I'm not sure how Kat can be so uncertain about how things got so screwed up, she willingly attached her face to someone that was not her boyfriend how did she think this was going to go? And I don't know about Kat, but if she doesn't know what to do then why doesn't she just dump both guys so that no one gets hurt and then figures out what to do. That being said, why didn't she just break up with Jack after figuring out that this wasn't going to be a one-time mistake? She made the conscious decision to keep hurting Jack over and over again. If the places had been switched and it was Jack doing this, I would be equally angry.

So yeah, I'm not Kat's biggest fan right now as you can probably tell. On the other hand, Oliver has shown up so this is probably going to cause some stuff to go on between him and Dani, bad or good I don't know. I just get excited for any Dani/Oliver action that goes on to be perfectly honest.

Author's Response: Poor Jack :( He really is such a nice guy, he doesn't deserve to be cheated on! And Kat really does not make the best decisions, does she?

I'm not Kat's biggest fan right now either! But yay for Oliver! I totally agree with that!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFan A Warm Welcome

19th March 2014:
I've never been a big fan of POV switching in stories especially when it happens at random so I didn't know what to expect when I went into this. I actually really enjoyed this chapter. I enjoyed reading about Angus's family and his relationship with them. I found it actually very believable that Angus wouldn't get along with his father, I imagine that a lot of people in Angus's situation wouldn't get along with families that thought like his very well.

But anyway, awesome work on the chapter!

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, as I'm always uncertain about POV switches, too! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan Kat's Secret

12th March 2014:
Oh dear. Well, I guess it's not what I expected, since I didn't know what to expect haha, but I can't say I'm surprised. Kat.. oh no. No wonder she was upset about Dani asking questions, but really? Going behind Jack's back? No respect, Kat! :(

I wonder what this is going to do to Kat and Dani. At first I worried they'd just fight again but I think somewhere deep down, Kat is glad she doesn't have to shoulder this secret alone and has Dani to help... even though she's furious with Dani for stalking her in the first place.

Also, there was some offhand line in there about how easy it would be to be beautiful if you were famous, and I got a small suspicion Dani was going to wish to be famous :p

ooh, almost forgot - the christmas cookie baking scene was hilarious.

Anyway, great (and intense) chapter!

 Report Review

Review #13, by zeezee Of Quidditch and Quandaries

5th March 2014:
Ī love this chapter!! Especially the whole Hogsmeade scene.

It would be wonderful to read again a chapter or just some bits from Olivers point of view. Maybe even, what he thought about his date and this whole mess

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed it - and, as a matter of fact, I have some Oliver POV's coming up soon!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heaven The Dementor on the Train

19th February 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

How long has it been since I read this (or anything written by you, come to think of it)? Too long. I missed the triplets.

Dani really is obsessed with Quidditch isn't she? ... Much like Oliver. Am I seeing the beginnings of a match made in heaven? ;) I like how the triplets still get along quite well despite how different they seem in personality. That's often the case with siblings - prolonged proximity will do that to you - and I thought that was very realistic.

Ooh! A dementor! ow exciting! I keep forgetting that this story is actually set during PoA, but every time I realise it again, I get so excited because it's my favourite book in the series and I can't wait to see what things you do with it! So no pressure, or anything ;P

Anyway, I really enjoyed this chapter (despite how bad I felt for Penelope) and I hope that it won't take me so long to come back next time :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Nice to see you back!

This review is going to be extremely short because I need to get off this bed in approximately thirty seconds but THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE REVIEW! I'm glad you missed the triplets!

Ta ta for now!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #15, by CambAngst Brothers and Sisters

15th February 2014:
Hi, Courtney!

You have a really good introductory chapter here. You were able to introduce some of the players in your story and some basic information about them, all in a chapter that got the plot of the story rolling. I didn't feel like you were dumping excessive back story on me.

Triplets! Wow, I'm guessing that only happens at Hogwarts once every hundred years or so. I feel bad for their poor mother!

Daniella seems like a nice mix of different character archetypes. She's athletic and a bit snarky, but not completely tomboyish. She has very definite priorities which are different from her siblings. If I had to take a guess, she has a little... something for Oliver. I guess we'll have to wait and find out whether there's more there than just friendly rivalry.

Kat strikes me as a more traditional female character, with her slightly selfish nature and her more feminine traits. It's going to be really interesting to watch the two sisters interact.

Brandon seems like a bit of a slob and possibly a follower. I'm sure you're heading in a very different direction, but the first vibe I got was a little like Peter Pettigrew. You're wondering what this kid is doing in Gryffindor.

Ooh, so Dani has a sweet new broom... which her brother almost wrecked. I'm sure he wasn't actually that close to wrecking it, but in her eyes he probably was.

I noticed one little typo as I was reading: "His parent's are...Brandon Mason, what on earth are you doing?" -- Should be "parents are".

Alright, then, let the games begin! Nice job!

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm definitely glad you didn't think I was info dumping, because that always drives me crazy in a first chapter!

I love writing about twins and triplets, being a twin myself, and triplets have been really interesting to write about!

I really enjoy writing Kat and Dani - in many ways they are complete opposites, but they also have a lot of similarities.

Thanks for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #16, by my_voice_rising Brothers and Sisters

12th February 2014:
Hey there! This is the first story I've read on HPFF in months, and I just wanted to drop by and say how excited I am to get to chapter two. I love the dynamic between the MC and her siblings (triplets! So unique, I love it.) the banter between she and Oliver is refreshing. Teasing enough without the unfounded ZOMG I HATE OLIVER WOOD I HATE HIM.

Really nicely done! Can't wait to see where this goes.

Sarah

Author's Response: Hey! It's so nice to see you over here, and I definitely hope to see you back!

Yeah, I really get sick of I HATE HIM BUT I REALLY LOVE HIM relationships, and I wanted to change that up slightly.

Thanks for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfan A Warm Welcome

9th February 2014:
Aw :( poor Angus, his home life is pretty rough. I think it was great to include this though, and important to point out that not all pureblood prejudices are in Slytherin. Well, I suppose his father could have been a Slytherin. But he clearly isnt from one of the powerful pureblood families. Anyway, I feel bad for Angus, but good for him for standing up for himself!

I liked the back story how he met Kat as well, and howhe was terrified of her at first and then became friends and now he's in a confusing situation... I called it though! :p Aw. Dani is right though, Kat is a little too self obsessed to see that Angus likes her without him straightforwardly telling her, which I don't think he is likely to do, at least not yet.

I'm really wondering what's going on with Kat though. She seems very preoccupied and neither Angus nor Dani knows why so I have no clue yet haha. Who is she writing to?!

Eep, thank you for the special mention at the end, you absolutely deserve all the reviews as this story is fantastic! I only feel bad about leaving mediocre tablet-reviews recently when I wish I could leave better ones, but I'm travelling. Anyway, fantastic chapter!

Author's Response: Hey again!

I feel so bad for Angus! Kat is oblivious to his feelings and his homelife is, like you said, pretty rough! I definitely wanted to include a bit of that prejudice somewhere within this story, and thought Angus' family would be a great way to do it!

I'm glad you liked the back story with Kat! That was fun to come up with.

Thanks for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by MarieBlack A Warm Welcome

8th February 2014:
Lovely chapter! I had my suspicions about Angus and his feelings for Kat! I really do like it all from his point of view, I feel so bad for him and his family. Poor Angus, here's to hoping that he gets the girl. I think him and Kat would make a perfect match, and I'm eager to see him take a side when all of the "war-like" stuff starts happening. Lovely writing! I'm excited for more.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Aw, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Poor Angus:( I basically just feel so bad for him, he's so innocent!

Thanks for the sweet review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #19, by MadiMalfoy Dating Advice

4th February 2014:
Hi again! :)

Ah OLIVER!!! You scoundrel! I like the POV from Oliver-it's a nice change and gives us insight as to how he feels about everything and his life at Hogwarts. Yay, he's finally realizing his feelings for Dani! And Hogsmeade is next week so I hope you have it next chapter!!

Basically just so many good freaking developments that I can't wait to see how you use them! If you ever have anything specific you want me to look at in a chapter, just let me know! :)
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm really glad you liked the change in POV - it was definitely fun to write! I hope I did a good job being Oliver!

Thanks for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #20, by AlexFan The Second Wish

2nd February 2014:
I knew it! I knew this was going to happen! The minute that Radley got mentioned I just knew that he was going to be really annoying. I felt so bad for Dani and I was just reading the story, can you imagine how she must've felt watching Radley act ridiculous.

I have to say though, her friends think pretty lowly of Dani to assume that she slipped Radley a love potion. I mean, as unlikely as I would've found the situation had I not known about the mirror I wouldn't have immediately assumed that my best friend had drugged the poor boy.

I feel so bad for Oliver though, the poor boy got up the courage to ask Dani out on a date and it ended up not being a date at all. Dani didn't even notice that Oliver had a crush on her. Although on his part, being mean about the whole Radley thing probably wasn't going to win him any brownie points.

Author's Response: Hahaha, you are really good at predicting things, nice work! I would be so embarrassed if I was Dani!

Your comment about the love potion made me laugh. But hey, at least they thing she's smart enough to brew up a good potion!

Poor Oliver:( Dani is so oblivious! Why choose Radley over Oliver??

Courtney:)



 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFan Sibling Rivalry

30th January 2014:
Oh no, this cannot possibly end well for Dani. We know that obsessive love or love caused by a love potion are not the same things as actually feeling something for someone.

I have a feeling that Dani is going to realize just how much of a bad idea her wish really is. She might end up getting annoyed with Radley in the end just because she can't stand him. I mean, personally, I think the boy is going to be hanging around Dani constantly like a puppy and being all sappy. Not that us girls don't like that but I think that the fawning would get pretty old and annoying pretty fast.

That mirror was right, Dani definitely needs to beware of what she wishes for. As we saw, her last wish didn't exactly end with the best results. I hate to think about how her second wish might end up going.

Author's Response: Hey!

You are quite right, it most certainly can not, haha!

Wishing for love is never a good idea and usually Dani would be smart enough to realize that, but her emotions have clearly clouded her intellect!

Thanks for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #22, by QueenVine64 Of Quidditch and Quandaries

24th January 2014:
Awesome!!! Loving snarky Dani. I'm stumped as to how she'll fix this whole mess, which is brilliant. Ugh. Ugh. Oliver tension. Love all the different tension going on! Brilliant brilliant. Would love to see some more of Oliver of course, maybe another Angus/Dani convo?? Eagerly awaiting new chapters. :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for the review! And don't worry, more Angus and Oliver are definitely coming up!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Of Quidditch and Quandaries

24th January 2014:
I'm leaving a review on a tablet so apologies for any typos. But I wanted to leave a review.. even though i can't complain about the weather. I escaped the cold and I'm travelling in the southern hemisphere where its summer! :p But actually now, a review...

Finally! Dani talked to Kat. And finally, Dani realises Beckett isn't interesting. Finally some very welcome changes. Now she just has to figure out that Radley is boring. And she has to realise she likes Oliver :) Aw, poor Angus, he really likes Kat and no one has any idea. Oblivious-ness runs in the Mason family apparently. This was a great chapter and I'm hoping its only a matter of time before Dani comes to her senses and gets sick of Radley haha.

Author's Response: Hey there! All good, any review is a great review in my opinion! And I'm sorry it takes me such a long time to respond to them! I USED TO LIVE IN THE SOUTHERN HEMISPHERE! But then I stupidly decided to move to a very cold part of the US - sob!

Dani has made some very good decisions in this chapter, I think! And yes, she definitely needs to work out how boring Radley are that Oliver is perfect for her, haha!

Thanks for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #24, by LightLeviosa5443 Of Quidditch and Quandaries

23rd January 2014:
Ah!!!

THIS CHAPTER IS UP AND I'M SO EXCITED (in case speaking in all caps didn't tip you off to my excitement...)

I love this story, so much! Because Dani doesn't like Radley and she knows that now, and she likes Oliver, and she's jealous he's snogging another girl. I can't wait to see how the next chapter goes. I hope she uses the mirror to break up with Radley or something. How would that work, actually? I guess I'll have to keep reading to find out.

I hate Oliver's girlfriend. I'm so glad Kat and Dani made up though, that was such a cute scene. It was believable and sisterly and funny and ridiculous. As was Dani being nervous before the quidditch match, I loved her friends moral support and how she talked herself through the beginning of the match. I'm glad she didn't botch the match because she was so focused on Oliver.

I know this review made absolutely no sense because I just went back and re-read it and was like what did I just say? But I really loved this chapter and I couldn't help but gush, it was very gush-worthy. I can't wait for Chapter 16.

xoxo Sarah

P.S. I hate the weather right now. Snow storms are awful. Though I did go sledding down the street in the middle of the storm so my friend and I could get ice cream.

Author's Response: Hey!

Ugh, I'm sorry I'm such a slacker when it comes to replying to reviews! But please know that I read every one as soon as I get it, and appreciate them all so much! You are seriously amazing!

Yeah, Dani has definitely seen that Radley is not the person she thought he was!

Kat and Dani definitely had to make up! They were causing quite a bit of drama!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! And yes, the weather right now is awful. Especially when the bus is late, grrr!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by academica Brothers and Sisters

22nd January 2014:
Hey Courtney, here for Review Tag!

Fun fact - I did not know they had Pop-Tarts in England. But there you go! :)

I like your characterization of the family, particularly Dani, Kat and Bran. They seem very realistic in how they argue back and forth and get on each other's nerves. I liked how the action didn't feel over the top or too dramatic. It had a nice, very "everyday" feel to it.

I also liked how you tied this scene kind of effortlessly into the main series, what with the mention of Harry and the inclusion of Oliver. We don't hear a whole lot about that particular class of students (their year, I mean) and it's cool that you decided to focus your story on them.

I did notice a couple of places where you either forgot punctuation or used the wrong kind, but nothing too noticeable or detrimental to the flow.

Nice work!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey there!

I believe they do have Pop-Tarts in England, although they are a lot more expensive than in the US, haha.

We know three characters from that particularly year, and I really wanted to write a story which included them all, especially because Oliver and Percy are two of my favourite characters!

Thanks for the review!

Courtney:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>