Reading Reviews for Beat It
94 Reviews Found

Review #1, by James101 Semi-Final

12th November 2015:
Hahaha hahaha Whoop
That was amazing ☆☆☆☆☆☆
Something DID break... not his arm, but his hand.
Did not see that coming
I ship them so much!
So glad that Winston made a reappearance
Keep writing. It's amazing
★★★★★★ :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Esme Semi-Final

19th October 2015:
This is so good!

It's not everyday that an author kills of a character like James S Potter aha.

Well done!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LittleMissAutumn Semi-Final

12th October 2015:
You updated!! :D hehe and you didn't disappoint. I ship her and Jason so much, really I do.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Molly_Weasley Semi-Final

6th October 2015:
Yay! Thank you so much for updating. I love this story so much and think that it's so romantic. I can't wait to see what happens with Roxanne and Jason and when they go public. Roxanne is having a rough time though. I hope you update again soon!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by greenbirds Beat It

5th October 2015:
i love, luv, luurrvvee this so far. ive been meaning to read it for ages, as i adore quidditch fics, and it's exciting to find one taking place post-hogwarts- especially with a woman in the lead, rather than a potter boy as it is usually! and roxanne is really, really great. fiesty, exciting and such clear sexual tension already with jason turner.

looking forward to reading the rest!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Georgie Semi-Final

4th October 2015:
Yay! I was so glad for the update. Thanks for the great chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Livelaughlove5564 Semi-Final

4th October 2015:

 Report Review

Review #8, by Livelaughlove5564 Hugo

4th October 2015:
I am still sobbing about James.

 Report Review

Review #9, by madness Semi-Final

3rd October 2015:
Ahh Winston! Fab as always :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by gryffindorlion15 Semi-Final

3rd October 2015:
fantastic story, literally couldnt stop reading! please update soon xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella Hunter Beat It

24th September 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review, we had a swap a while ago and I think that we both almost forgot about it. Hahaha. I am here now though with some awesomeness! Whoo!

So, there are hardly any Roxanne Weasley stories on the archives. I find that to be a shame because there's so much you can do with her character but I think a lot of people don't like writing her just because they just can't stand George/Angelina. Hahaha. I personally love the pairing and it's my favorite but it's just really hard to find stories that feature their kids as main characters so I was really happy when you requested this for me to read!

I really love reading other author's interpretations of characters too. I love that your Roxanne is so spunky and dedicated to her team, I'm curious to know more about their rivalry with the Wasps too and I'm really excited to see them battle it out on the pitch at some point. Hehehe. I feel like I don't really grasp sports that well but you wrote this so nicely that I didn't have to worry about that and although this didn't rely heavily on terminology and whatever the heck some of that stuff means when I watch football, I really though it flowed very well. I thought that you handled the backgrounds of Roxanne's history with her team well and I hope that we learn more about her as the story goes on but for right now, this was a great introduction and I am really, really hoping that we see more of Jason. Violet as well, since she gives some hilarious little commentary. Jason seems like everything that I could possibly hate about smug guys but there's something about him that's intriguing too, I think that he has a lot of good wit to go along with Roxanne's no nonsense attitude so I'm eager to learn more about him. I do hope that they don't hurt one another during that practice though.hahaha.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #12, by Bec The Press Conference

21st September 2015:
Are you still writing this story?

Author's Response: I am! I promise!

 Report Review

Review #13, by RICH_AS_GRINGOTTS~Ł0000 The Press Conference

26th May 2015:
Yay they can finally start dating in public.if the match doesnt go wrong :-[
I dont remember Sian coming in your other stories about Abigail and James.I have to go read that again
Is Abigail going to come in this story?
Theres been so many references towards her.
Great chapter O:-)
Update soon please

Author's Response: Yep! It's an exciting day for all!

Sian is there :D *nods* And yes, Abigail is coming into this story, don't you worry!

Thank you so much! I am going to try and update as soon as I can.

 Report Review

Review #14, by James101 The Press Conference

26th May 2015:
This story is coming together so nicely
I loved the press conference and i cant wait for the upcoming match.maybe Roxanne will break Jasons arm again ;)
Cant wait for more chapters!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Roxanne does like to break Jasons arms, so it might happen? :P Somethings getting broken that's for sure!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Shadowkat Do you want to put a bet on that?

11th May 2015:
Scratch that, you already read my second chapter...but I'm reading more of this now.

Author's Response: Haha Thanks :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Shadowkat The morning after

11th May 2015:
I'm liking this so far, though I noticed some errors with this one. In a few places you missed some words, and in others you missed some punctuation. I would copy and paste those parts...but I'm kinda on my hidden device. I have to take my phone down by eight, and this is supposed to be broken. The acre is, at least, and it won't let me copy and paste some stuff. But it let's me read and review, so yay!

Thanks for the double review swap! Can't wait to hear what you think of my second chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for this review :D Ah, yes, I have a habit of writing and then just putting it online and being done with it haha I need to force myself to reread chapters a few times to check for things.

Thank you once again :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Shadowkat Beat It

11th May 2015:
Interesting start to say the least. I haven't read many quiddich related stories yet, but maybe I'll start!

This read smoothly, and had a really nice feel to it. It wasn't rushed or sloppy, not too descriptive but still painting a nice picture. Already we're getting a feel for personalities and sensing potential conflict. All in all, well done! Off to read the promised second chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you :D I really enjoyed writing this so I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I hope that you like the other chapters :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by bittersweetflames Beat It

11th May 2015:

Here for our swap! :)

Ok, ok… I love Quidditch-centric stories! They just scare me (to write) but I love them (to read). hehe

Anyway, I love how you set up this chapter. You gave us a lot of information without overwhelming us with too many names or facts. And you also set up the rest of the novel in a way that makes the reader not only want to know what happens next but also what's going to happen between Jason and Rozanne! :)

The interaction between Jason and Roxanne was so funny. It puts to mind, "the lady doth protest too much, methinks." She basically thinks that he's gorgeous but she goes out of her way to make it seem like she doesn't. I get the whole fact about the team rivalries. I THINK it's a blooming great idea! BAHAHAHA. -chuckles evilly-

Lastly, Violet seems like SUCH a cool person. :) Then again, she plays seeker and I always think that there's something about seekers.. They have this sort of aura and Violet definitely has it. :D

Can't wait to read more, hunny. Thanks for the swap! :)


Author's Response: CARLA!

I'm sorry I'm so late responding to this! I have no excuses at all!

They are scary to write haha, I decided to write this even though I struggle with Quidditch scenes... so yeah, it's been challenging :P

Oh Jason and Roxanne, I love them so much :D

Oh yes! I agree with you!

Oh Violet! I love her haha, I agree, there's always something with seekers.

Thank you so much hun!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Claire Evergreen Beat It

11th May 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap!

So ever since I read one fic with Roxanne as a main character, I have been in love with her and I already love your version of her! I love that you've thrown in more traditional "girly" things with a strong Beater. It's becoming much less common now to make the two mutually exclusive, but I still feel like I should point it out. Either way, I still love Roxanne. She seems like the kind of person who wouldn't take crap from anyone, but still has a softer side that will probably come out at some point.

Violet is fantastic. No matter who you are, you always need a friend like her. I'm already excited to see what happens with her as the story goes on. At least from this, she seems like she'll be a great friend to Roxanne and I already am in love with her (being a Seeker does help a bit too :P)

Not gonna lie, I was getting a bit of a Romeo and Juliet vibe from Roxanne and Jason, but I'm not sure how I feel about that. I don't care how attractive his body is, his personality absolutely sucks. He seems like the typical jerk whose Qudditch skills have gone to his head and Roxanne should most certainly run for the hills and never go near that even if they're the last two people on earth...yeah, I really don't like him, can you tell? :P

I'm all about a story about Qudditch with Roxanne as the main character, so you can be sure that I will be back!


Author's Response: Hey Claire!

I am so sorry about how late I am with responding to this, I have no excuses at all!

Aww yay! I am so glad that you love my version of her. Roxanne is a very girlie girl in my opinion, but is still an awesome Beater who shouldn't be trifled with! I'm glad that you like that :D Oh no, she wouldn't take crap from anyone.

Oh yes, we all need friends like Violet. Definitely.

Romeo and Juliet is strong with those two, even though Roxanne is fighting it, and you're right, his personality sucks haha he's going to get better, I swear :D

Thank you so much! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotter Beat It

11th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I absolutely loved this. I don't read many stories that focus on Roxanne, so I always think it's interesting to read the different ways that she's written. I love how you've characterized her. She's sassy and confident and knows what she wants. I also adore the fact that even though she's a professional Quidditch player, she's still really feminine and likes getting dressed up. I feel like a lot of stories that include female professional Quidditch players make sports and femininity mutually exclusive, so having the two come together in a character is really refreshing!
Violet was hilarious, too. I love the way she and Roxanne act together, and can tell that they're really good friends, even from just one chapter. I love her name, too!
Jason Turner is quite the flirt! But I agree with Roxanne; his pick-up lines were really bad. I think you've set up his and Roxanne's future interactions really well in this chapter. I wonder what will happen when they actually play each other in Quidditch?
This was an awesome opening! I think I'll have to come back to this soon to see what happens next! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Aww thank you :D I love writing Roxanne so much, so I am happy that you like her. Haha she really is.

I wanted to keep her feminine even though she's a Quidditcch player, so I'm happy that you like that I have :D

Oh Violet! She's one of my favourite people in this story :D

Jason is definitely my biggest favourite (Does that sentence even make sense?) I absolutely love writing him!

Thank you so much Cassie! :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by SincerelyFrance Cody McIntyre

10th May 2015:
Hi! I've been reading the Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy. So I was reading this chapter when..IT SAID THAT ABIGAIL AND JAMES HAVEN'T SPOKEN TO EACH OTHER IN YEARS?? I MEAN, I completely spoilt it for myself seeing as Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy isn't complete. I was so sure they'd at least keep in contact even thought she possibly moved to America for her comic book career. And WILLIAM?? Where has he gone?? Geez, this chapter gave me heart palpitations. I'm pretty sure my heart combusted out into epic proportions of insanity. Really. If you could find the time to reply back, could you please maybe explain to me a few things? I might go insane. (Oh and I absolutely love love love love your work!)

Author's Response: Awww thank you!! This is told from the opinion of Roxanne, so she assumes that James hasn't spoken to Abigail in a while. I can assure you that he sees her, and William is still around! Don't you worry!! I can explain anything you want! Send me a message on the forum or on here that's fine. Thank you so so much for reading and reviewing! I absolutely love love you!!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by LittleMissAutumn The Press Conference

5th May 2015:
Ahhh I just read your story and I love Roxanne and Jason together! Poor James though! I don't think he's dead. Like his friend said, he would know if something had happened and James had apologised to her when she was in the hospital. I think he faked his death so the bad guys could get caught. I can't wait to read the next chapter and see how Roxanne and Jason's relationship grows! They're so cute and their relationship is steamy...I approve. ;) hehe. And Winston stole my heart.

Update soon please! 10/10

Author's Response: YAY! I am so happy that you love Roxanne and Jason so much. I love writing them so much! Oh James! There are so many theories going around about him, and yours is quite a good one! Whether or not you're right... You'll have to keep reading. :P

There is more coming, and those two can't keep their hands off of each other at all!

I love Winston so much! I definitely want a dog like him myself. :D

Thank you so much! I shall update soon!

 Report Review

Review #23, by RICH_AS_GRINGOTTS~Ł0000 Never Can Say Goodbye

2nd May 2015:
This story is amazing.
Honestly i just read it all in 2 hours.

Author's Response: Thank you! Wow! That's a lot of reading! I'm so glad that you stuck with the story, the next chapter is up and more are coming!

o I like all of those names!
TeamJaxy sounds good! :D

More is coming soon! Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by TreacleTart Beat It

10th March 2015:
Hi alicia and anne,

A bit ago you and I swapped reviews. I read your prologue for The Unspeakables, but I felt bad because I didn't realize it was so short until I was about halfway through. In your author's notes you mentioned that it was linked to this story, so I thought I would check it out as well.

I really like the way you've written Roxanne Weasley. She has a bit of sassiness and cleverness to her. The way she handles Jason seemed very natural. The banter between them was just right.

I also like how you've built the dynamic for a Romeo and Juliet type story. Jason and Roxanne are on two opposing teams. Not only that, but their teams are bitter rivals. At even the hint of interest, Roxanne is quickly reminded not to get involved because of the team rivalry.

I do have a bit of a critique in regards to grammar.

In several cases you use "I'll" incorrectly. An example of this is "“Do you think that I’ll be sitting with them when there’s an attractive woman at the bar?” Jason asked with a smirk I think it should be “Do you think that I would be sitting with them….”

You have missing apostrophes. An example of this is "Roxanne gave a laugh at her friends comment," It should read “Friend’s comment”.

In this sentence you wrote "There wasn’t a week that went passed where Jason" It should be either “week that passed” or “week that went past”

You wrote "relationship between the two is going to be anything but a mistake" I think this should say "between you two"

You wrote "“I’m not denying that he’s not nice to look at” The double negatives make it sound as if she thinks he is unattractive. It should read "I'm not denying that he's nice to looks at."

You wrote "handle himself if one of them tried to start and argument or a fight with him" I think this was just a typo, but it should say "start AN argument"

Overall, I really enjoyed the start of this story and am just nitpicking at details. I think you have a well developed character and the potential for a very interesting story line.

I'm looking forward to reading more!


Author's Response: Aww you don't need to feel bad! But I love you for this review :D

Thank you, I love writing Roxanne a lot so to hear that you enjoyed reading her made me happy.

Oh Jason and Roxanne! They are kind of like Romeo and Juliet haha.

Thank you for pointing those out to me, I shall go back and change them. :D

Thank you once again for the amazing review! :D Sorry that it's taken me so long to reply *squishes*

 Report Review

Review #25, by james101 Never Can Say Goodbye

25th February 2015:
Whoa...2 chapters in 2 days.You have my congrats.

Moving on im fairly sure that james is not dead since William was adamant about it...Also because James is/was a powerful wizard since he's an unspeakable and therefore must have done the spell with William correctly even though they were in 7th year and drunk.

Jason was an absolutely brilliant guy for Roxanne;even Dominique seemed to think so.

The kids were all adorable sice half of them gave Jason a fistbump.So nice touch there...

I really do hate Leanne Walsh.Enough said on her?

It was incredible when at the end Albus and Fred repaired their broken relationship with a hug.Nice little bromance going on there.Hopefully there'll be more scenes on the 2 of them just hanging out instead of avoiding eachother.They are after all cousins.I can honestly say that I thought Albus would start yelling at Fred in front of Lee,the other kids and the rest of the family but it didn't really turn out that way,did it?

Overall it was a little sad with Roxanne,Lily,Harry,Ron and a few other people being upset but it was still brillaint...

NICE JOB (::) (::) ; D

Author's Response: Why thank you! :D

Ah, that is quite a theory! Whether or not you're right... :D

I love Jason and Roxanne so much, they're one of my favourite couples that I've written.

Thank you :D They're quite accepting of Jason straight away. It helps that he has Winston with him. No one can resist Winston.

I hate her too! She's not a nice person.

I hadn't planned on that at all. I planned on them just having a nod of greeting, or a barely there look of acknowledgment, and before I knew what was happening, they were hugging. I thought that there would be an argument too. So I'm glad that Albus didn't yell.

This was a hard chapter to write, so I'm glad that you liked it.

Thank you! I shall be writing more as soon as I can.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>