Reading Reviews for Chalk and Cheese
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LillyRoseanne Chalk and Cheese

28th October 2013:
Definitely well written and an interesting idea, not entirely sure it's my cup of tea though, but that said it was very good.

Good job!
LR
x

Author's Response: Thank you, I get that it won't be to everyone's tastes with it being a parody :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by BLONDEbehaviour Chalk and Cheese

21st October 2013:
Hello Dee!
This was a good read, I am thankful I laid my eyes on this one :D

Oh poor George, he can never catch a break can he? His poor brother's head has grow quite large due to all of these ranks, when all George wants to do is pass his grades well. Being a twin must be very annoying sometimes.

I thought for a second when Fred fainted that George had put a wordless Petrificus Totalus on him when his potion didn't work, but it was Fred pranking George with a fainting fancy!

And silly Lee, giving a hand to help, I think he should have got detention just like the twins did, as he was involved as well!

This has made me feel some sympathy for poor George, but was really well written. I liked it Dee!

Hope your doing well :D

Grace :)

Author's Response: Grace, I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to reply, there really is no excuse! This was such a lovely unexpected review :)

I really had so much fun writing this little one shot. It went against everything I know about the twins writing George as a prefect!

I'm really glad you liked it and I hope you're well too :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirl Chalk and Cheese

2nd September 2013:
Oh, that was such an interesting read! You know me and the twins (well, hopefully you know I love the twins) so I was immediately drawn to this story when I saw it featured them. And I knew it was going to be a parody of sorts, so I was prepared, but it WAS very weird to read a George so...so...un-Georgelike! hehehehe

Was it hard to write? To have only a Fred making jokes and not a George? And to write George surrounded by books and such? You did a really good job of thinking of excellent pranks! I have a hard time with that, which stinks when you're a twin writer, LOL. I loved the image of Madam Pince hauling George to the dormitory to get the books back.

Very fun twist on things! Sorry I'm slow with your review for the swap. Got caught up in baking and had to finish first. Tried to do both at once and I ended up filling the sugar jar full of salt on accident. Ooops.

Wonderful writing! Thanks for making me laugh!

Author's Response: Hello :)

I didn't know about you and the twins but I'm getting the impression you quite like them haha!

It was certainly weird to write but not as hard as I'd anticipated. I've avoided writing about the twins in terms of terms of them being main characters because I think it would be too difficult, I'm just not that funny ;)I'm glad you liked the pranks I thought of though!

Maybe your filling the sugar jar of salt could be a new twin prank idea for a story, have I inadvertantly inspired you?

Thanks so much for the swap and the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by LittleLionGirl Chalk and Cheese

6th August 2013:
Well HeyMrsPotter you never stop amazing me :) I like how George wasn't at all like he was written in the books and making Fred double the trouble :) brilliant thinking on George's part to make up a scheme- but even more so of Fred to make a counter-prank and scare his brother. This was well written and I quite enjoyed the prefect idea- seems like how they always are- switching to be the "other twin"
Loved it and keep more coming!
XOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Your reviews are always so sweet! This was really great for me to write, I do love a good parody and George as a bookworm was just too good to resist! Thanks for the swap :D xxx

 Report Review

Review #5, by randomwriter Chalk and Cheese

15th July 2013:
Hey! Here for the review swap :)
I saw that you got second place in the parody challenge, and had decided to read your story. This was a great excuse :)
Anyway, this was a very different story. It shows George in a completely different way, and though, under normal circumstance I would find it too hard to believe, in this case it works. I guess that's the magic of parodies. I found this pleasant and funny, and I did crack up in quite a few places. The way you've described George and reactions throughout are quite funny. I really like this story and thought it was very well written.
A great read :)

Author's Response: Hello :) thanks for the swap and well done for getting third place!

I would find it hard to believe too but like you said, it works in a parody. This is the second parody I've written and I've grown quite fond of them, maybe I'll write another :)

Thanks again for the swap and this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan Chalk and Cheese

14th July 2013:
LOL. This was a great read! I love parody stories :D It's odd to think about what Hogwarts would be like without the double act of the Weasley twins. So it was pretty funny to see George essentially as a male Hermione - a prefect, surrounded by books, and intent on adhering to rules. I think the best part was Percy being George's favourite brother. I also loved that George was really inept with pulling off pranks at the end. Fred must have had an absolute field day with two prefect badges to steal - Percy's and George's! This was a really fun read, and I enjoyed it! Great job!

Author's Response: Haha thank you very much! I had way more fun than I expected to writing this, though George (as you so rightly put it) being a male Hermione was a bit odd haha. Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Chalk and Cheese

6th July 2013:
Hello there Iím here with your review for the parody challenge, and I have to say Iím so glad that you requested to write about George Weasley as I really enjoyed this.

I really liked the introduction you gave for this story as it established what it was going to be about and eased the reader in in an interesting way. I always thought George was going to be the more studious one out of the two so I really loved seeing it here! I actually felt quite sorry for him that he wasnít allowed to study in peace and you built up his character really well.

The fact that George was admiring Percy was brilliant! I never thought I would see that happen, and mix that in with him hating Fred it was just great! It sort of made me view Fred in a different as it showed his was rather cruel to Percy all those years because I just accepted the abuse he gave him but now it was reversed and against George I was hating it and yelling abuse at Fred!

The climax to Fred trying out those sweets on the first years was built up really well. I thought all those pranks beforehand were just innocent things, but it showed some of Fredís Slytherin qualities with the prior planning. Bahaha Georgeís reaction to it really made me laugh! I can just picture it in my mind now and I canít help but crack up!

Georgeís whole plan about getting back at Fred was really great though I think the creepiest thing about it is that Snape was actually nice to George and let him use the dungeons, though it makes sense if heís a good student, I just couldnít get the fact that Snape was being nice out of my mind. Silly old Peeves had to go and ruin it all and I really did want to see what it had resulted in because I did want George to have his revenge.

McGonagall was great and the way she blustered around the twins made me laugh! I almost thought at the end this might be the end of Georgeís good ways and he would end up being a rebel like Fred, but Iím glad that he stayed the way he was! That was a really great entry and it made me laugh! Thanks for entering ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello! First off, thank you very much for this lovely review! I'm really glad you let me switch characters, I had a few ideas for Pansy but just couldn't get any of them to work and then this little plot struck me!

I think the great thing about parodies, particularly those that focus on a particular character, is that it gives great freedom when writing. I'm glad you liked George's character in this, I always imagined him to be the marginally more sensible of the two, the one that reigned Fred in so he seemed the better choice for this.

Introductions for me are always a nightmare, I tend to leave them until much later in my writing as I just never seem to get them right so it was lovely to read that you liked the intro for this :)

It's funny, I sort of didn't like Fred in this either, but you're absolutely right, when he was mean to Percy it was perfectly acceptable! I think it's because Percy isn't the most likeable character.

I tried to convey Snape as more not bothered than nice when it came to George using the dungeon, like he didn't care what George did as long as he didn't mess up the dungeon.

I wrote two versions of this where George did have his revenge but the ending just didn't quite feel right. As much as I wanted him to I'd like to think in this universe Fred would always outsmart George when it came to pranks :)

Thank you again for this lovely review, I'm really glad you liked it and thanks for hosting the challenge!


 Report Review

Review #8, by HufflePuff_Blitz Chalk and Cheese

6th July 2013:
Interesting take on Fred and George! It somehow seemed to fit them. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you :) this was really fun to write!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login