Reading Reviews for Memory Lane
  
353 Reviews Found

Review #1, by IWroteTheMaraudersMap Torture

27th February 2014:
This Chapter For Me Was The Best Of Them! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

LOVE your username by the way :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by ilovseshy Epilogue.

26th February 2014:
Wonderful, wonderful story. I was craving a good Dramione and this hit the spot. Read it in one sitting because it was so addicting and well thought out. Not too cliche like many of its kind. Beautiful portrayal and use of memories. I'm glad you took the time to write this!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's such a compliment when people tell me that they read this in one sitting. I'm really happy you enjoyed it :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by awesomepotter Epilogue.

21st February 2014:
No! It can't be over,it simply can't! As with other people, I read this story in one go, in an hour, would you believe it? I know I'm absolutely useless at giving reviews, I never give any actual specific advice or praise, just babble sycophantically about how amazing your writing is, but I can't help it when, compared to the one attempt I've posted, your writing is amazing! I absolutely loved your story and I was so sad when it ended, but I do love a good happy ending! I'm sorry I didn't review any others chapters but I simply couldn't take the time to stop because I just had to keep reading. I hope that's an acceptable excuse :)
Anyway, as I said, this was amazing and I'm just off to read your other works, and maybe all of the HPFF archive before the end of the month...
Love, awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: It still amazes me that so many people read this all in one go, and actually enjoy it! And feel free to continue to babble, your babbling is so kind :D One review like this to let me know you enjoyed the story is enough for me :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I really hope you enjoy the rest of my stories, and the many others on HPFF!

Dee x


 Report Review

Review #4, by annaconda88 Murder and the Manor

7th February 2014:
Absolutely heartbreaking. Your writing is wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you :D I hope you enjoy the rest of the story

 Report Review

Review #5, by annaconda88 Memories in the Manor

7th February 2014:
Great great great idea.thumbs up!!!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by annaconda88 Mudbloods again

7th February 2014:
Good story! But.. What should "Leutchten" mean? Is this a word you made up?
German is my mother tongue so I was just wondering...

Author's Response: Thank you! It was just a word I made up for their Wizengamot, I don't speak any German at all :(

 Report Review

Review #7, by firefly910 Epilogue.

2nd February 2014:
Dee! This story was lovely from beginning to end!

The wedding was just so perfect. The way Hermione is so happy and Draco is beaming at her as he walks down the aisle is perfect.

A lot of people don't like Dramione at all or if they do, don't like Dramione's that end happy because they sometimes believe they could never actually end up together. Although I do tend to write quite depressing stories when it comes to Dramione, I love reading happily ever after stories.

Ugh. I just loved the idea of the memories to bring them together. It allowed them to see each other objectively which meant their growing relationship wasn't just them getting drunk/deciding they loved each other from nowhere. The back story with Evelina was a perfect way to humanise Draco and allow his sensitive side to come through. And Lucy, I loved Lucy!

Brilliant story!!

Author's Response: I'm sad you've finished this story Callie!

I couldn't agree more about Dramione's, I really prefer the happy ending ones :)I've read so many stories where Draco and Hermione get together as a result of alcohol or they just suddenly decide they love each other, neither are particularly realistic. I wanted something that hadn't been done before and that was a little bit 'magical' and this was it. I also wanted something big to happen to Draco to explain his change of heart in life. Lucy was just an added fun bonus for me to write.

I cant express how greatful I am that you reviewed every chapter and that each one was so lovely. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by firefly910 Damned Unspeakables

2nd February 2014:
*squishes the fluff*

Is it weird that the second part of this chapter really reminded me of a Friends episode? Love the fact that Harry and Ron are bonding with Draco over Quidditch, it's just such an organic thing for them to find common ground over.

I know there's an epilogue but I do love how this chapter wraps up the memories and leaves Draco and Hermione embarking on their relationship. And also the fact that they aren't acting overly soppy with each other and declaring their undying love for one another. It's a very realistic representation of a relationship that is just starting out.

I don't want this story to end!

Author's Response: Yay for the fluff! And not at all, if it reminds you of a Friends episode I take that as a compliment, I love Friends :D Boys bonding over sports is so cliche but I really couldn't imagine those three being any different.

I could never imagine Draco and Hermione being immediately soppy with each other after having been through so much, I'm happy you agree :)

I didn't want it to end either, I'm still suffering the withdrawal symptoms :(


 Report Review

Review #9, by firefly910 Cimitero

2nd February 2014:
So I am back to finish the story. University has basically taken over my life, but I am giving myself this evening off!!

Great chapter. Finding Evelina's grave fits Hermione's character so well. There's a little reflection of the scene in DH where she visits Lily and James's grave with Harry. She just knows how to act in those situations. I mean come on it can't have been easy for her to take Draco to the grave of his first love, props to her for doing it.


I just love how you've developed Draco's character in this story. The way he is acting with Hermione doesn't seem at all out of character now that you've given him this back story with Evelina. I think it works because you still have him saying that Hermione shouldn't be with him. Even if it is for a different reason than usual, it keeps that hint of his old character in there.

Not long til the end now!

Author's Response: CALLIE!! *squishes* Where have you been?! I hope you had a nice christmas and new year, I can't believe it's been that long since we spoke! I'm thrilled you came back to finish this, it's always nice to get new reviews on it even though it's completed.

The two going to Evelina's grave was something I debated over a lot and it was never in my original plan for the story, I'm so happy you think it fits with Hermione's character.

I worried so much about Draco seeming OOC in the earlier chapters before we find out about her but I always wrote him as I imagined he would act having been through that with her, I'm glad it makes sense for you now :)

Thank you for coming back!


 Report Review

Review #10, by BLONDEbehaviour A Day in Diagon Alley

22nd January 2014:
Hi Dee!

Please turn a blind to he horrific lateness of this review. my life has been...crazy, an I'm sorry it has been so delayed. But I'm here now!

This is probably my favourite chapter by far! Showing this girl around a new world really would've struck a chord with Hermione, and I think you did a great job in establishing that in Hermione's character. I also think you have done a great job with the family itself, with being both excited, but also fearful that they were being duped the entire time or something. I know I would be in the exact same situation if I was them!

Now I wanna go to Hogwarts..

Anyway.. carrying on :P

The part where Draco spoke about Hermione's contribution to the death of prejudice in the WIzarding world maaay have have made my heart melt. I think you did a really good job though in having Draco explain it in way that was still Draco, and not making him a mushy Draco character but more making him just explain facts, but in a more tender way. It was good, and shows that the walls are being slowly knocked down.. yay hehe.

Have to comment on the Gringotts remark, that was a fantastic part, made me giggle! (have i mentioned i think this is my fave chapter? :P)

In regards to cc, I don't think I really have any that are super important, just a couple of suggestions.
In regards to Jane and her family, I think it could be possible if you have them asking more questions, even if it was funny ones that made Hermione and Draco awkward, or even some extra questions or description about Diagon Alley. Like I said, not needed, but could help add a little more to the chapter if you were interested. I also think it could work in well with Hermione, and her thoughts on when she first learnt she was a witch, and how the first experiences may have been different and such.

Like I said, not needed at all, but little ideas that would work great if you were wanting to slow down the chapter or add some more detail and description into the chapter itself :)


I'm really enjoying this story of yours Dee, Can't wait to see what comes next!!

I really am sorry about the late review once more, I hope its not a problem!

Grace xx :)

Author's Response: Grace, when you leave reviews as nice as this how could it possibly be a problem? I'd wait a year for them :D

I had SO much fun writing this chapter, and its my second favourite of all of them (you haven't reached number 1 yet)

Draco's speech was one of the trickier things to write, I tried to get his feelings across but not be totally out of character, I'm so happy you agree with that.

Your suggestion about Janes family makes a lot of sense, I'm slowly editing the chapters in this so will take that on board for this one.

Thank you so much for the help and the lovely comments, and please don't sorry about getting around to reviews quickly, real life comes first sadly!

Dee xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lostmyheart Epilogue.

19th January 2014:
Ah brilliant ending to your fantastic story!
Your story was absolutely addictive and amazing to read, and to have an ending like that makes it so much better! I have read so many stories where the ending often is weird and awkward. You certainly managed to keep it interesting and fitting, especially with the 'four years' after wedding!

Loved your story, very much.
Goodbye for now!

Love
- A

Author's Response: I'm sad you've finished as it means no more lovely reviews :p

The ending was something I deliberated over for a long time, I couldn't decide between a long gap before the epilogue, like the 19 years later, or a shorter one like this. I was pretty happy with this one so it's always nice to know others agree.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read the story and for all of your kind words :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lostmyheart Coffee and a Confession

19th January 2014:
I'm very grateful that I saw your story so many times (as others favorites and while searching for stories. But I always wanted to read shorter stories because I felt I certainly didn't have the time to read a story of 23 chapters. But after seeing it like 20 times I thought 'okay, why not? Since it seems like it's everybodys favorite'

I do not regret that decision!
Here I am, reading a chapter and thinking 'just this one, then I have to clean up the kitchen'... when I'm finished I need to read the next, again telling myself 'just one more' and it goes on and on and on!

Not only do you send them to different memories of their past but you also make them relevant! Which is very important, and I like how you make her girlfriends tease her with her friendship with Draco.
I've experienced many times that affection or attraction isn't always something we notice ourselves, so I think you displayed it quite truthfully and that she suddenly doubts their situation and herself.

Anyway, now I really need to clean up my kitchen!
I'll read on tonight!

Love,
- A

Author's Response: This is such a lovely review! I'm SO glad that you kept seeing my story and that you decided to read it and even more that you liked it!

I'm super sorry for distracting you from your kitchen cleaning, but I'm thrilled that you were :D Thank you so much for another lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by littlemissmb Epilogue.

17th January 2014:
Wow. I just... wow. I just read that entire story in one sitting and loved every minute of it. Thank you for such a good read :) very well written great character development i cant wait to read your other stories keep up yhe great work

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so pleased you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lostmyheart Bad timing, a bedroom and a bathroom

17th January 2014:
How this story is developing is almost mind-blowing.
Mind-blowing as in 'I did NOT expect that to happen'.
Your writing skills are amazing as well - the way you described Hermione when she was in the shower and felt the pull and tried to grab for her dressing gown? Perfect! I could totally imgaine the scene :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think so! I wanted it to be unpredictable :) thank you so much :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lostmyheart Mudbloods again

17th January 2014:
Exciting! Can't wait to read the rest :)
Very creative with the rooms and what you did with it; being a memory they enter.
It is quite fun that Harry and Draco become friends because of the Quidditch match they arrange, as sport is always seen as a "unisex language" (if you know what I mean) but anyway, I'm off to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I know exactly what you mean, it's probably the only thing those two have in common :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Mystery Pnix Epilogue.

16th January 2014:
Amazing. Absolutely amazing

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Lostmyheart Bad Dates, Hangovers and a Nightmare.

13th January 2014:
Hilarious! Fantastic start for your story :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoy the rest :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by MissesWeasley123 Defeat and Dinner

1st January 2014:
Aha! Dee, here for the 12 Days of Reviewing challenge! This story ♥ I knew I hadn't read and reviewed all the chapters.. so why not do one now? :D I shall forever remember I was #300 on this, and #1. :D

Lucy is one of those unforgettable characters that everyone loves. I laughed just as hard at this the second time:

"So...the bum, we don't like him?" Lucy finally spoke after watching Hermione for several minutes. -- absolutely brilliant.

Your characterizations are worth envy. You are so good at them. The way you write Draco is flawless, and TEACH MEEE. ;) Ron was great too. He seems like he would be really easy to write, but I've tried doing a Ron centered fic, and it's impossible to get into his head.

You write so good Dee, honestly. You really have a way at writing emotions and showing such wonderful stories. They all tie together in a very amazing way and it's breathtaking.

Excellent work, as always.

Author's Response: You were number one on this! That feels like a lifetime ago doesn't it?

Lucy is my favourite OC, not that I've written a lot, but even if I wrote 100 more she would still be at the top.

Characterisation is something I'm really picky on and it's always in the back of my mind when I'm writing. I've deleted whole chapters in the past because one line has been out of character. Whenever someone tells me that I get them right it completely makes my day, especially with Draco because he's so complex. Ron is a character I'd love to have at the front of a multi chapter fic, I wrote a one shot with him a while back and it was difficult but really fun. I'll attempt it one day, I'm sure!

Thank you AGAIN!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Crescent Moon  Epilogue.

28th December 2013:
I loved this story!
I have to admit that Dramiones are my guilty pleasure as I'm normally strictly canon so this was really good and enjoyable. Really well written. I can't wait to read more of your work.

Author's Response: I'm exactly the same :D I'm really glad you liked it, thank you for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Shea potter Epilogue.

26th December 2013:
I have read a lot of Draco and hermione stories and this one was the best I read just wanted to say thank you

Author's Response: Wow, the best? Thank YOU, so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by dramione_ftw_4ever Epilogue.

22nd December 2013:
So - I read this today. The whole thing. In one day. It was really a good story. There's a few things I wish I could have seen though.
1- I wish that I could have seen more terrible memories of Hermione's past. Like when she obligated her parents- even though she told Draco, I wish he had seen it. I feel like as soon as Hermione had a bad story to tell, you rushed too much. I think you should have taken your time with it. I know you wanted to get to the romance bit of the story, but you kept Hermione on a pedestal for too long, and then tore her down to the same level as Draco too quickly. While Draco and Hermione saw Draco's bad memories, Draco had the thought that Hermione had the perfect upbringing. But then she gets tortured and Tim hates her, and BAM - she's no longer on a pedestal. I feel like that doesn't justify anything. I think that I would have made that "perfect Christmas" of Hermione's different. I would have made her parents argue - showing that her life wasn't perfect. That her parent's weren't perfect. I feel like you partly forgot that Hermione is human too, and two terrible memories doesn't equal to a lifetime of pain. I think you forgot that a bit. Beautifully crafted memories mind you, I just wish there had been more sad one's on Hermione's part. We usually heard about good one's on her part. We only really got two bad ones, and one embarrassing one. Whereas all of Draco's memories were sad in some way. Which leads me to my second point.
2- Draco must have had some good times in his childhood right? Why didn't you show any of them? They were all marred in some way. Evelina made him happy - and she gets hit by a car. He has Christmas - and doesn't talk to his parents. Perhaps he had a fun day lounging around the lake with Blaise and Crabbe and Goyle? What if there was a time while he was travelling that he made a friend at the bar he worked with in France? Or what if he was with Evelina just curled up on the couch? Perhaps he was just being a kid looking at frogs near the Malfoy Manor? Basically, Draco was sorely lacking in happy times. All things were marred by sadness, loneliness, or pain. Or all three. Draco didn't have that dissappointing of a childhood. He was rich, he had friends, and he enjoyed himself. Sure, he didn't like himself after he grew up, but Hermione was never shown Draco as JUST A BOY. Her emotions grew from pitying and understanding where his prejudices came from. They didn't come from fully understanding who he was as a person. She can't truly love Draco unless she knows about the good times too. The good times are just as important as the bad times. I just wish those had been in there for Draco.
and finally.
3 - The epilogue. Though I loved the wedding, why couldn't you show me their life in the far future? When they are forty and have three kids and are still somehow in love? People get divorced all the time. Showing a wedding and a year later doesn't tell me that they will be together forever. Not at all. Why not show their kids going off to college/moving out and them waving them off and tearing up the way doting parents do (or at least the ones in stories)?
The story was amazing, and beautiful. I wouldn't have read the whole thing in one day if I didn't think it was. It was truly original, the idea with the memories? That was a really cool twist that I enjoyed immensely. But The thing is I feel you left your characters a little too two-dimensional. Why not make them a fully-fledged person? You had the best opportunity to do that rounding out with memories and what one's (and how many) you wrote about. With writing Draco with only sad stories, you made him a pitiful character who's main redeeming quality was a terrible upbringing. And with your choice of having happy memories for Hermione meant that she was a Mary-Jane almost. She didn't have insecurities about herself much. She didn't have many demons, and she could always help others. Why didn't she have depth to her?
Amazing story though I must say. It made me smile, and it was a great fluff piece, I just want to give you tips on how you can make your story and characters more realistic. More believable. That's what makes a fictional story stay with a person. How relatable it is, and how believable it is. How realistic it feels. If you can make this magical world feel realistic, as if it is hiding just behind that brick wall, then you have done an amazing job. If you can make me believe that those characters exist - that the people in that story are the people I know, that maybe my friends have secrets as big as Draco's, then you have done amazing as well.
Great work, but I think you have the potential to do even better. So I challenge you, look at your characters and ask while writing them "Can I see myself knowing this person? Do they seem real to me?"
You're already amazing. But I think you can do better. I loved the story! It was really really good! I read it all, and I really hope you take some of my advice - and if you don't it doesn't bother me. I just really think you can do even better - heck, even get published.
Your prose is beautiful, and your style is immaculate. I can only dream of being as good as you one day. You are amazing, and so is this story. Keep it up. (:
-Haylenie :D

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me a little while to respond to this, I've not had access to my laptop and I couldn't respond to your review properly on my tablet.

With the memories that I chose, I wanted to emphasise how different their lives had been up until the war. They were my headcanon really, I always imagined that Hermione had a good and happy upbringing. The glimpses that we have of Hermione's parents in the books show that they were always supportive of her, plus have had a relationship lasting at least eleven years, I simply didn't envisage them as a couple who would argue on christmas day. I did try to include more difficult times for her in her break up with Tim and how he treated her, and then her being tortured by Bellatrix. I agree there are a million more memories I could have included but I really didn't want the story to be repetitive in them going to a memory every chapter for thirty chapters.

Draco's memories weren't all negative, granted most of them were but he made some big mistakes in his life. His christmas wasn't miserable according to him, but it was written more from Hermione's perspective and it was very different to hers. I imagine Draco being given a bag of Galleons at eleven years old and then spending the day with his school friends away from adults would have been a good day for him ;) The story with Evelina has a lot of happy memories, too many to write about, which is why I'm writing it as a seperate story. I wanted a valid reason for his change of heart when it came to muggle borns and if he had stayed with her and she had lived then I wouldn't have a story for him and Draco.

The epilogue was written only a year later because I wanted it to be different to the epilogue I'd written on my other Draco/Hermione story which showed them at christmas, married with two children. I agree it doesn't guarantee the reader they woulod stay together forever but neither does one 19 years later sending kids off to Hogwarts, who is to say JKR's Harry and Ginny didn't get divorced a year after they sent Albus off for his first year at school?

I am sorry that you felt the characters were two dimensional and reading that you thought Hermione was almost a Mary Jane is an awful feeling. Having said that, the fact that you read this in one day and all of the lovely compliments in this review are really flattering,I'm by no means good enough to be a published author but I do enjoy writing stories and it's always lovely to hear when someone enjoys them, so thank you so much for that and for taking the time to write such an in depth review, all reviews are appreciated but I love the long ones that have a lot of thought in them like this one :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by S. A. S Coffee and a Confession

9th December 2013:
oh my god. that was the best chapter yet!!! absolutely amazing!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by emily Festive Flirting

4th December 2013:
i really like this. I wish this could be made into an actual book.

Author's Response: That would be amazing, I wish that too! Glad you like it, and thank you for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Camron Lankford Coffee and a Confession

4th December 2013:
Wow, You are an amazing writer

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rhiannon Epilogue.

25th November 2013:
Loved your story! Soo cute. You're an amazing author and I look forward to reading more of your work.

The only constructive criticism I have for you is that the beginning is a bit slow.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you liked it :) I'm currently editing the story so will take that on board :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>