Reading Reviews for Dirty Blood
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bethanex Prejudice

18th December 2014:
Beautifully written, and your characters are not overdone (as often happens with marauder tics), and your summary really does pull viewers in.

 Report Review

Review #2, by BellatrixLover3 Stuck

12th August 2014:
I love the story, but I'd like for you to post more chapters. If you're not going to write more, please change the status to abandoned. I give this 10/10.

Author's Response: Sorry it's taking so long, but I promise I will not abandon this story. The majority of it has been written already, just needs editing and an ending. It's been much longer since the last chapter was up (life, you knowm getting in the way!) but Chapter 14 should be up soon :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jilly~~ Dignity

6th August 2014:
OMG I LOVE this chapter so so much! It's so romantic

 Report Review

Review #4, by Spirit Of Fire Getting Your Bearings

21st July 2014:
I started your story earlier this evening and had every intention of reading through everything you had posted tonight, but it's now three in the morning and I just don't think I have it in me, so rather than one review at the end, I wanted to leave you one here and then another when I'm up to date.

First off, I just have to point out how confused I am by your lack of reviews. It's a great story and everyone loves a Marauders tale, I can't believe you're not getting more recognition for it. Just how things go sometimes, I suppose?

Even though there hasn't been a TON of it so far, I really love your Lily/Snape interactions. Obviously their relationship has been broken beyond repair at this point, but you snuck in some of Severus' lingering feelings with his warning in the Three Broomsticks, while keeping true to his brooding jerk persona. Obviously this is James and Lily's story, but I hope we get to see some more interaction between the two of them throughout.

As for the Marauders themselves, I think you nailed the fun, "cool guy" part of the group that lives on and that Sirius and Remus tell Harry al about eventually. My only real suggestion when it comes to those four mainly centers around James and Sirius, who I feel should be just a little more...combative, I guess? towards the Dark Arts. Sirius pretty much already threw all his families beliefs back at them at this point and I don't really see James taking Lily getting cursed every day lying down, I have to think those two at least would've taken some action against Slytherin at some point. But other than that, I think Remus is coming off perfectly as his somewhat reluctantly teenage boy self and I have to say, I'm really, really glad your Pettigrew isn't just a walking sight gag. It gets old seeing three Marauders and then Peter, who they all secretly hate and who just blunders around like an idiot every chapter. He was legitimately part of their gang, and I'm glad you show that side of him.

Anyway, I guess that's about all I have for right now, but I really look forward to getting up to chapter 13 tomorrow. It's a great read and I hope to see some more chapters soon,

9/10 for me,

Spirit of Fire

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! There will be more Lily/Snape action coming up. It's just such a fascinating relationship, how he kept loving her his whole life. It's hard to keep in, because at this point in Lily's life, she is very wrapped up in her new love with James and dealing with the darkness of the wizarding world, so I don't think at this point they would have much occassion to interact, being on complete opposite sides of the line. But there definitely will be more.

And I understand your feelings on James and Sirius being more combative against the Dark Arts. The main reason that isn't included in this story so far is because it's a story about Lily, in her point of view, and I don't think she knew too much of what was going on with him vs. the Slytherins/Death Eaters. She gets a glimpse now and then. He is not the type to take things lying down. I want to focus on Lily's experiences, how she reacts to things, even if she is missing some of the finer points in the Marauder's revenge schemes. Plus they're a little older now, out of school and not really able to pull the kind of pranks they used to. Don't worry though, I promise not to avoid them altogether haha :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by pattybuns_hpf Leap of Faith

27th July 2013:
A leap of faith indeed! Oh, Lily, it was bound to happen that you'd be the one asking instead.

That was a breath of fresh air and different, by the way. I usually find it so cliche when it's Lily asking James out, but from the way you were going about this story, I rather liked it. Good on James for finally giving Lily the confidence of doing it herself. It really was what she needed.

Also, I very much liked how you made their relationship, not so necessarily only about their fancy for each other but also the social issues it caused on the minority who witnessed their exchange. And it was not just Snape that Lily worried about there, but also the whole of the Slytherins.

Oh yeah, the one thing that bothered me in this chapter was that you made Mary MacDonald a pure-blood when in canon she's a muggle-born. However, it's not thoroughly so bothering because I also find it interesting. So, why the change?

Anyways, on to the next chapter I go now. :)
-Patty

 Report Review

Review #6, by pattybuns_hpf Assumptions

26th July 2013:
I did not expect that kiss. I mean, yes, I was predicting it would happen, but not quite there. Oh well, it was bound to happen. I very am curious on how they'll get on from that. I do hope Lily will see that James really does care despite her being a muggle-born.

Again, I very much like how you're making the issue of blood statuses really significant in the relationship of James and Lily and Lily with the whole of the wizarding world. It feels so much like the olden days where noble high society were the important people while those of little wealth were tossed aside. Oh my, this is going good.

So, anyway, on I go to the next chapter!

-Patty.

 Report Review

Review #7, by pattybuns_hpf Respect

26th July 2013:
I very much like how you're incorporating the issue of blood statuses into the story. I rather liked reading Lily's worries and understandings about it. It is an issue that is sometimes exaggerated or not mentioned at all in other fanfics I've read. From what I am reading in this chapter, it's real and an issue that cannot be ignored because it is happening.

Curious as always, on to the next chapter I go. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. I really wanted to focus the story on blood, because sometimes it gets completely ignored. And I think the bigger picture of how messed up the society was, really makes the whole thing more tragic.

 Report Review

Review #8, by pattybuns_hpf Prejudice

26th July 2013:
You've got a good start of a fantastic story going on here. I am very curious to where it leads. So here I go on to the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #9, by AccioTeddyLupin Assumptions

8th July 2013:
way to end a chapter.

bravo. bravo.

can't wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Corinna Assumptions

23rd June 2013:
SOOO GOOD wright more!

 Report Review

Review #11, by BBWotter Prejudice

16th June 2013:
This is great! I really really like it, and I want to read more now! I hope you put up another chapter up soon :) xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login