Reading Reviews for Two Letters
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie Rite of Passage

11th July 2014:
Aw, this was a really cute little story! I almost never read Rose/Scorpius stories that aren't at least a little romantic in nature, so this was a really nice change of pace. I liked the reference to what Ron said when Rose and Scorpius started at Hogwarts, along with the implication that he's said the same thing many times since.

And I also liked the way you characterized both Rose and Scorpius. Scorpius's insecurity was really sweet - I felt bad for him that he was so unsure of the strength of their friendship before they talked that he was a little afraid of what would happen to their friendship if their marks were radically different. Rose, on the other hand, was really sure of herself and headstrong, and it might me smile. I thought that it was great that you avoided the stereotypical all Es/Os for either of them - with the marks they were talking about, they're certainly good students, but there's no danger of a Mary Sue kind of dynamic.

Great job. :)

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #2, by Panda Weasley  Rite of Passage

15th February 2014:
Oh I love this! I really liked your descriptions of Rose and Scorpius and all your words flow together so perfectly! I really enjoyed reading this and I thought it was very well done. Good job!
~Panda Weasley

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by! I'm glad that you enjoyed the story and liked my writing style. I don't often write lighter pieces like this, but it's fun to explore simpler themes sometimes, and I enjoyed writing it.

Thank you for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by blackballet Rite of Passage

12th August 2013:
Oh this was so adorable! I've never read them as just friends, and I think it was very sweet, and nicely done. I like how Scorpius was a bit insecure, and how Rose knew him so well.

Great one-shot, again

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I don't see a lot of Rose/Scorpius friendship stories either, which is why I was inspired to write this one. I'm glad you felt like the characterization worked well.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Rite of Passage

11th August 2013:
Hello from review tag!

Aw, this was really cute! They have such an adorable friendship :) I like that you built on the DH epilogue when Ron was telling Rose to beat Scorpius on all his exams, it seemed only natural that they'd have this competitive friendship!

I also really liked how both of them have kind of average marks on their exams - they just seem like such realistic people that way! There must have been so much pressure on both of them as well, given who their parents are.

This was a lovely story and I'm so glad I read it! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I see way too many hot and cold Rose/Scorpius stories and I wanted to play with the idea of them just being very good friends, with grades being a natural concern for someone of their age. It was definitely important that neither of them be academic superstars, just to add to the normalcy of it all.

Thanks for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #5, by ginerva_molly_weasley Rite of Passage

10th August 2013:
Hi here from review tag.

This story is absolutely wonderful Academia! I loved every part of it with the completely different aspect of Rose and Scorpius' relationship you showed here. When I clicked on this I expected the typical love story but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was just a friendship which was completely refreshing.

The beginning started off with a lot of intrigue for me as I wanted to see where you would go with it and to see why the focus was on the exam results and that made me want to keep on reading further. It made me smile that he opened them first and cheated because obviously he wouldn't have wanted to appear upset in front of Rose if he hadn't have done as well as expected so that was a nice touch.

There was also a lot of feeling you included here between reading out the OWL results which I really liked because it made it seem like a natural occurrence without it seeming like a list which was excellent.

I loved the relationship you showed here!

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: Hey, thanks so much for coming by!

Yeah, I also get sick of the plethora of Rose/Scorpius romances on the archive, so I decided to try to write them as just being good friends and see where I could go with it :)

I'm glad you liked my little details here, like Scorpius checking his results beforehand out of nervousness and the little history of his result exchanges with Rose after each year.

It's so great that the results reveal felt normal. I really worry that it's too dialogue heavy, because it sort of has to be, and that it would be confusing. Hopefully not :)

Thanks for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by StEpH_M Rite of Passage

17th July 2013:
This was so sweet, it's so cute how they are friends and come to the clearing every holiday to see each other. Like there own little ritual (which I gues it actually is). I like that they are actually friends in this, that they aren't fighting all the time, enemies, the whole romeo and juliet thing. It's nice to have them as just normal friends that have normal meetings and talk about exams like a muggle would with their best friend. It's a nice down to earth thought.

I must say, your writing is rather good and the flow was excillent. It did feel like the end was slightly rushed a bit but other than that, it was an excellent story :) Well Done.

Author's Response: Yeah, I did think of it like a friendly ritual they had. The whole Romeo/Juliet or love/hate cliche gets under my skin a lot, so I thought I'd explore the possibility of Rose and Scorpius just being friends. I also think a lot of fics where people are still students don't focus on school, so I pulled in the exam element to put Ron's comments from the epilogue to the test once and for all :)

Sorry you felt like the ending was rushed, but I'm glad you liked the rest of this drabble.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by randomwriter Rite of Passage

15th July 2013:
Hello there :)
REVIEW TAG!

This was a very sweet story. Innocent friendship, nothing more, nothing less. I really liked it as it felt like a very honest piece. It was quite well written too.

Just one tiny bit of CC. In some parts, it was difficult to figure out who was talking. I had to re-read the conversation a couple of times to really understand that.

All in a all, a really sweet story :) And I really liked how you ended it!

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by!

Yeah, the main inspiration for this was wanting to do a friendship piece in contrast to the many romantic Rose/Scorpius stories on the archive. I'm glad you felt like I did a good job with it!

Well, I kind of struggled with not wanting to inundate the reader with dialogue tags. I'm sure it was a little challenging to follow the trade-offs when grades were being discussed, but hopefully you can see where I'm coming from :)

Thanks again for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heaven Rite of Passage

15th June 2013:
Greetings from review tag!

Aww! This piece was so adorable! I could totally relate to how Scorpius was feeling. His thoughts and reactions were very relateable, and I felt like I really could be friends with him.

I haven't read anything you've written for a while, so this piece came as a pleasant surprise. I think I've mentioned this before, but I find your writing to be almost lyrical, yet still you manage to attain so much clarity! It's amazing, and a pleasure to read!

Awesome job, as usual!

Author's Response: Hello :)

Thanks, I'm glad you liked Scorpius and found him relatable! I think we can all identify with feeling awkward and fearful from time to time. It's also lovely to hear that the prose is good and you feel like it's all easy to understand.

Thanks for your very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #9, by UnluckyStar57 Rite of Passage

10th June 2013:
Hi! I'm here for the review battle at the forums, and also to leave you a review in return for the lovely one that you left me! :)

I loved the way that you described their hair--the way his was like straw and hers was like fire. It adds to the unlikelihood of their friendship because they are exact opposites. Even their hair clashes, for goodness' sake!

And yet, they're friends. I liked the easy dialogue between them, and it was a nice change to see that Rose isn't a perfect-grades-know-it-all. It made the friendship even more believable, because I think that if she were, they would have trouble getting along.

Scorose is a very common pairing, but with this story, I was glad to see that the comparison-of-grades didn't end in a passionate kiss. Friendship is good enough for the two of them, and they seem like they'll stay fast friends, even though family differences might dissuade them.

This story was very well-written. You've got a remarkable way with pairing up people to be platonic friends without having any sort of underlying motive. :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for stopping by :)

Yes, I viewed them to be opposites in several obvious ways but also to have some things in common, like their average grades. I think Hermione probably would have gotten on Harry and Ron's nerves too much with her perfectionism if she hadn't been so helpful to them in so many difficult situations, so I wanted Rose to seem a little bit more normal and neither her nor Scorpius to be carbon copies of their parents. Every teenager tries to find a way to distance themselves from their parents at some point, right?

Part of the point for me in writing this was to try out a Scorose friendship because I also feel like there are a lot of romantic versions already on the site and I wanted to do something different. I'm glad you liked it!

Thank you for your lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #10, by MadiMalfoy Rite of Passage

16th May 2013:
Ravenclaw review tag! :) This was a cute little one-shot! I love Rose-Scorpius stories, especially when they aren't all cliche and fluffy romance. The boundaries you set for them were get and nearly definable but it seems that Scorpius worried about their friendship a little more than Rose did. Anyways, great job! :) xx

Author's Response: Hi MM, and thanks for stopping by! I'm happy that you felt like this piece wasn't cliche and that you liked seeing Rose and Scorpius in a happy but less fluffy light. You're right that Scorpius did seem a little more worried about their friendship than Rose, but it's good that Rose was there to calm his fears, right?

Thanks for your lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #11, by charlottetrips Rite of Passage

10th May 2013:
I'm just glad to run across a Rose/Scorpius story that doesn't involve forbidden love! Of course, the fact that it's written by you makes this even better.

I enjoyed reading about the insecurities of Scorp, though it was such a minor one, I could feel how important it was to him. I think growing up in the kind of household we all assume he did makes these types of worries all the more real.

Rose's total unconcern just highlights the type of life she lives separate from Scorpius. She's comfortable enough to not even care about parents possibly separating them and knows that she'll always be able to have friendship.

This was just so nice to read.

xChar

Author's Response: Hello, stranger! Fancy seeing you here :)

I'm pleased that you liked seeing the differences between Rose and Scorpius. It was fun to play around with the fluff without the usual romantic tension between the two of them. I like to think that the differences in their personalities helped to bring them together in ways that Ron and Hermione never experienced with Draco in the series.

Thank you for this lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lululuna Rite of Passage

8th May 2013:
Hi there, here for your requested review!!

This was such a wonderful little tribute to friendship. I loved the characterization of Rose and Scorpius and their light bantering with each other. I think it's completely realistic and fresh that they would be just friends, and I loved how they planned to meet up in a neutral place where they aren't Weasley and Malfoy, but just two friends. It was clear how well they knew each other, like how Rose already knew that Scorpius had checked his results.

One thing I really enjoyed about your writing style was the use of small details to show characteristics of their personalities in their lives. For example, the description of Scorpius' expensive shoes and how he didn't care that they were dirty gave me such a powerful idea of what he was like, and just from his shoes! :P Also, the comparison of what their Christmases were like and the very different family dynamics was really subtle and well done.

I also appreciated how neither of them were perfect students and got a range of marks- it made them more likeable and believable as characters! I loved Rose's character as well, she seems really sassy and open. :)

One thing that confused me a little was why Scorpius thought Rose might not want to be his friend anymore once they got their OWL results. Maybe you could elaborate on it a bit more, like... hmm, maybe Scorp thought Rose would be angry and jealous if he did better? Or maybe she would decide he wasn't worth her time if he did poorly? Or, you could even change it around and have them receiving their NEWT results, and finding out if they got into their chosen career path and would be working together in the future. Just some ideas, anyway, since I found that part a little confusing!

Something I also would have liked to see would be more descriptions of their history as friends, even really brief mentions to work into their dialogue. Then again, part of the charm of your story is how it's short and sweet and a small moment in time, so feel free to disregard this comment! :)

Anyway, great job with this, and good on you for changing up the essence of Scorose! I really enjoyed this! :D

PS. Hm, it won't let me leave a review from my account despite being signed in. Strange. And now it's making me identify a flashing picture of Dumbledore! Technology, gotta love it! :)

Author's Response: Hello, thank you for coming by :)

It's great to hear that you got an easygoing and yet committed sense from reading about Rose and Scorpius's friendship. I based their banter on relationships I have with my own friends, and they're full of little moments where my friends easily predict my behavior.

Yeah, I try to sprinkle little details here and there so you aren't inundated with back story but you also get some sense of who the characters are. I also definitely tried to keep things realistic with their grades so neither of them were carbon copies of their parents.

I meant for this to be more like a drabble than a "real" story, so it is intended to be sort of simple and short. However, I can definitely see how adding in a few more smidgens of back story and elaborating more on how Scorpius expected Rose to react could add in that last little piece that's sort of missing here. I'll keep that in mind and try to go back and edit this piece a little when I have a chance. Thank you for mentioning those critiques!

Thanks for your fantastic review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #13, by HandofGlory Rite of Passage

8th May 2013:
Hi, finally got back to you on your requested review!

There were some parts of the story that felt like Scorpius and Rose were lovers, like when he was describing her hair and eyes, but for the most part I could tell that there was only a friendship. I'm just glad he didn't get her pregnant!

What really made the friendship just a friendship and not a lead up to romance was the ending. Scorpius was worried about exams being the end of his relationship with Rose. And then Rose comes and just ends his worries in just two sentences. It's quick, but it's not the cliche ScoRose pairing story. That's how you know that they are friends, and that abrupt ending solidified it.

I chuckled at quite a few moments. Rose hating Muggle Studies (I'm also glad that she's not a complete Hermione clone) and Scorpius beating her in potions were some of my favorites.

The plot wasn't boring at all, I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping over!

Yeah, I'm not a fan of teen pregnancy, so don't expect to get any of that from me. I'm glad that for the most part, it was clear that there were no romantic feelings between Rose and Scorpius.

Yeah, I wanted it to be clear that Scorpius was really bothered by his fear of Rose ending their friendship and Rose didn't think the marks were a big deal at all. Her easygoing nature helped smooth over his worries.

Happy to hear that the details weren't cliche either, and that the plot held your interest.

Thanks for your very kind review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #14, by ginnys twin Rite of Passage

4th May 2013:
Hello! Here for your requested review and review battle.

A liked this new take on things, and it was the complete opposite of a cliche. I loved Scorp's characterization, and I felt it was super believable. I would suggest addinf a bit more on WHY Rose would be mad, because so far there is very little of Rose's personality. Of course, if she's anything like her mum, we already now what she's like, but I would still suggest adding WHY. I particularly liked that little tidbit about Hugo being smart, because often people see Rose as the smart one. Anyway, enough of my rambling, overall, it was great and not cliche at all. See you soon
-Krissy

Author's Response: Thanks for stopping by!

It's great that this didn't seem cliche, because that was the entire point of writing it. I really meant for it just to be a little drabble rather than a complete story, but I can see how knowing more about why Rose isn't upset could add to the story, so I'll consider adding that in. Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshp Rite of Passage

4th May 2013:
Hey Amanda!

So I just decided to make a trip to your author's page (I swear I don't stalk you all the time, only when I am looking to read something fresh I check out your page xP) and lo and behold! You have a new story. So I was pleased and decided to look at it. And well it was worth it! (As always).

Okay I am going to stop rambling and get on with the main review.

I absolutely loved this little one-shot! I think we don't have enough friendship stories on the archives, so I was pleased to see you decided to write one, and managed to do it so well. The idea of Rose and Scorpius just being best friends and sharing their OWL results was really very sweet and made me smile. Their interaction had a very Harry-Hermione-ish feel to it (at least for me) so it was very friendship-central and I liked it.

Your portrayal of Scorpius and Rose was really cute and spot-on. The way you started off the story with how things usually were in the past, and how the OWL year was quite different, was realistic. For once we saw Hogwarts students actually behaving like students in a fanfic and that was awesome! (I hope that made sense). The way they exchanged their results was quite 'normal' if you know what I mean, so great job. I also loved the idea of Rose not being a carbon copy of her mother and not getting all Oustandings.

The concept of Rose's parents (or I should say specifically Ron) only allowing Rose to be friends with Scorpius so that she can keep an eye on him and do better than him was very interesting. I can see Ron doing that, not Hermione though - so you may want to say "your father" instead of "your parents" in Scorpius' dialogue, though of course that's my personal opinion. If you think Hermione would do it too, by all means keep it as it is =)

Coming back to the point, it was also very teenager-ish of Rose to say that no one 'lets' her do anything. I also found it sweet how Rose assured Scorpius that nothing would change their friendship.

All in all, this was a very nice little read and I really enjoyed it. It was definitely a fresh take on Rose and Scorpius, and again I must commend you on managing to write a friendship-centric story in an interesting and beautiful manner. Your stories never disappoint me as you always come up with something new, so great job as always!

Your fan,
AD/Angie
(AditiDraco95)

P.S. Just realised this review turned out way longer than intended, whoops, haha. Also, I shall respond to your lovely review on my story soon!

Author's Response: Hi Angie :)

It's great that you felt like my portrayal of Rose and Scorpius as friends and ordinary students was realistic. I agree that it would be silly to expect many children, even those in Hermione's family, to do quite so well as she did on exams. I imagined that Rose and Scorpius would both be too bright and too driven to fail, but I also didn't think they'd have the energy and discipline to study hard enough to pass all exams with perfect scores.

Well, I don't picture Scorpius knowing Rose's parents all that well, nor the other way around. So I would imagine that he would lump them in together in their intentions for Rose, rather than being able to parse out each individual's vision for Rose's future, unless he spent a lot of time getting to know them and watching them interact with her. He's also been told most of what he knows by his own parents, most likely, and I think he'd probably get a biased opinion of both Ron and Hermione from Draco and Astoria. So we know that Hermione probably wouldn't put those restrictions on her children, but Scorpius probably wouldn't, at least not as I see him here. Does that make sense?

Anyway, I'm very happy that you enjoyed this. Thank you for your fantastic review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFan Rite of Passage

4th May 2013:
That was really sweet! I loved the friendship between Rose and Scorpius, it seems so easy going and nice and most importantly, they're just friends.

I loved the dialogue between the two because it just flowed so well and you could tell that Rose and Scorpius were really close to each other by the way that they were around one another.

Anyway, I just liked everything about this one-shot.

Author's Response: Hi there! It's wonderful to hear that you liked watching Rose and Scorpius interact as friends and felt that their dialogue was realistic.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #17, by -BookDinosaur- Rite of Passage

4th May 2013:
-BookDinosaur- here with your requested review!

This was a really nice one-shot, pleasant and easy to read.

I love how you did indeed bust the cliche by portraying them as merely friends, not mortal enemies or Romeo and Juliet-esque lovers.

I think the best part of the story was the description-you didn't give paragraphs and paragraphs about what everything looked like, but I could see the house and the clearing very clearly in my mind. The tiny details you threw in for example, the 'cobblestone path lined with roses', really made the whole thing come to life in my mind.

Just one thing that didn't make sense to me-you said he 'received a letter in June detailing his exam marks from the previous term'. Shouldn't that be 'previous year'? From what I remember, Harry never got a letter for each term, although that may have changed during next gen time. Sorry if it feels like I'm nitpicking, I'm obsessed with keeping things canon is all. ;)

Overall, this was a really good one-shot and I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Hello, and thank you for stopping by :)

I'm pleased to hear that you felt like the story wasn't cliche (exactly the point!) and enjoyed the description. I meant for the piece to have a sort of light, airy, pseudo-elegant feel to it.

You're right about the term thing. I had always assumed 'term' and 'year' were synonymous in Britain, but a quick Google search told me I was wrong. So thank you for pointing that out so I could go correct it!

Thanks for your fabulous review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #18, by Solo Rite of Passage

4th May 2013:
This is so cute. Just a lovely, easy read. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #19, by patronus_charm Rite of Passage

3rd May 2013:
Ok I should be catching up on Post Scriptum, but I saw that you had a new one-shot and I couldn’t resist :P

You described Scorpius’ house really well and it was exactly how I imagined it to be. With the gardens, and the ornate French windows it was perfect. I think that’s one of the things which I love most about your work, with all the minute details you include into it, and it adds something really special to it.

I really liked how you made Luna a professor, it always makes me smile when I know what canon characters are currently up to. And their results weren’t bad! I mean, they weren’t up to Hermione’s standard but they were still good, Scorpius should be proud.

I really liked how they were being friends with one another because they wanted and nothing else. I think the sweetest part was when Rose was talking about how they could have some lessons together it was nice to see those two as just being friends and not hating each other or being madly in love. Though I can see that there is room for development it was a really lovely piece.

The only thing which seemed a little odd to me was this line ‘“We’re going to have to pick classes in August.”’ From what I remember from the Half Blood Prince, they picked their subjects on the day they got back, as Harry didn’t realise he could Potions. It may have changed by next gen time, but I thought it would be best to point it out :)

That was a really lovely one-shot, Amanda!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! Sorry if this response seems a bit belated; I've gotten caught up in the end of the semester and ended up behind on my responses.

I'm glad you liked Scorpius's house! I had this really serene garden pictured, with him enjoying a quiet, shady breakfast by himself.

Hah, well, I'm glad you mentioned that, because I actually meant for Rolf to be the professor, not Luna. Hope that isn't too much of a disappointment! I did correct the mistake. Yeah, I didn't want to give them perfect marks, because I figured a lot of students would have passed but maybe not done well enough to take every class at the N.E.W.T. level--and of course some would have failed.

The entire purpose of this story was to explore the idea of Scorpius and Rose just being friends with no hidden romantic undertones. It was really just a casual drabble I decided to write.

You're absolutely right, and so I went back and fixed that. Thanks for pointing it out :)

Thanks for your lovely review, Kiana!

-Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login