Reading Reviews for Johnny Lupin Goes to Hogwarts
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Nicole Swift Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

20th February 2014:
Oh my, I can only imagine the trouble following that boy around school. Well done. I liked seeing things from Johnny's point of view. I can just imagine the first days of class and the migraines all the teachers will have. It would be funny to read.

It was nice seeing Rose and family again. Feel a littel sorry that Scorpius never managed to get her to marry him, oh well. I am sure they still love each other very much. That is what counts.

Author's Response: I know, right? He has a field of trouble surrounding him. But he gets out of it with sheer charisma! He's a stinker - I'm glad you liked getting inside his head! Oh, the point of view of the professors would be hilarious.

Well, there's still time. Knowing Rose, she'll wait until she's 60. Scorpius is happy being with her, married or not. :)

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Anonymous Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

12th November 2013:
This is amazing! I love Johnny Lupin, but I would hate to have to deal with the little snot in person. Also, I noticed one thing, that I'm not sure if it is an error in calculation, or just Johnny being an unreliable narrator. Liam is described as being nearly 7, but Ramses is described as being 7, but wasn't Liam born before Ramses in Next Midnight? It's just a minor detail though, and this story is so good. I was nearly laughing out loud the entire time. I love how Johnny brags about defeating the serial killer in Midnight Run, and nobody believes him. I'm not sure if I could handle reading more than a one-shot in Johnny's point of view. He's just too... Johnny like. Anyway, this review has gotten really long, so I'll just say once more- awesome story!

Author's Response: It's probably an error in calculation, because you're right, Liam is about 6-7 months older than Ramses. I don't always have firm timelines for the Rose stories. I'll go back and fix it :)

I don't know that I could handle writing a longer story in Johnny's point of view! He's a bit exhausting, to be in his head. He's a stinker. Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Jen Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

13th October 2013:
WOW... I laughed constantly through this one-shot... What a little snot! hahahaha

Author's Response: He really is a little snot! I'm glad I could make you laugh ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

23rd September 2013:
... Johnny Lupin... there really are no words for precisely how conceited this child is... I mean, it took approximately zero time for him to gather a following of not just a few, but nearly all of that year's first-years. I mean... If you have it in you (because it seems exhausting), I would love love LOVE a novel/novella-length story for this kid.

Oh, side-note: I told my sister that Johnny Lupin is a definition of himself. She didn't believe me. I'm going to make her read this to prove it xD

Author's Response: He really is. Oh that boy. He can gather minions instantly. Dangerously charismatic, that's him. Writing him is exhausting, but I have to say, sometimes I think a short story about him as a teenager at school would be interesting.

He is a definition of himself. I always like to make Rose refer to him by his full name regularly because she thinks that way too. Johnny Lupin. Totally different category than the other Lupins. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ThestralPrincess Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

11th September 2013:
So funny, so much personality in him. I think i'd hate his guts if I was his teacher though... or a fellow student come to think of it. But reading about him I can't help but love him.

Author's Response: Oh I think Johnny would make me insane if I had to be around him. His poor teachers. His poor roommates! But he's so much fun to write. In small doses ;) Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Chat Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

27th July 2013:
Hilarious! I hope you continue it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheGoldenKneazle Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

17th July 2013:
Oh. My. Gosh. This was just... beyond amazing. I am feeling pretty speechless because, well, Johnny Lupin's always been such a unique character in the Midnight Run series, and being able to step inside his head for this has been completely freaking AWESOME (much like Johnny).

Seriously, the characterisation and phrasing and how he repeatedly calls everyone boring? Beyond brilliant, and I am so glad that I too can now be as awesome as Johnny Lupin.

Some of the funniest moments were definitely the wry comments - "nobody would wan to miss saying goodbye to you, Johnny" - and Remus' and his friend's reaction, it was just 1000% pure win and I am so, so glad that this is in existence because I was nearly crying with laughter all the way through. Plus, I loved the balance of crazy and 11-year-old mind and how they created the Johnny Lupin monster.

Thank you for bringing this beautiful, beautiful piece into existence!

Author's Response: Ahahaha... Oh Johnny, he's so crazy. Writing his perspective is sort of exhausting. He is just so very certain that he's awesome, he takes it for granted that everyone else recognizes it too, so he completely disregards when someone is sarcastic about him (**cough*Rose*cough**).

Well, in Johnny's eyes, everything is boring compared to him. hahaha... You can be part of his crowd of admirers. ;)

I think my favorite parts of this are Rose's snarkiness and Victoire laughing hysterically - and Johnny thinks his mom must be crying cause she'll miss him so very much. He's the king of egotists. So I'm glad you liked Rose's bits! Remus and his buddy shaking their heads at him and going "Wow" were some of my favorite to write. Poor Remus. haha

Thank you so much for the review! It really made me smile. I'm glad you have joined Johnny Lupin's army of minions.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Kate Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

2nd June 2013:
Very very cute story! I loved how you updated the devious little guy to an EXTREMELY confident 11-year-old. It'd be so fun to follow Johnny as he continues to grow up...I see a repeat of Grandad Remus's posse somewhere in the making... but Johnny in a slightly different role than his ancestor :) Thanks for the story!

Author's Response: Oh Johnny, he is full of confidence. Cast-iron ego on that boy! I do think it would be entertaining to write him finally being taken down a few (or a lot of) pegs by some girl. He would definitely be the ringleader of whatever group he's in. Johnny likes to have minions to adore him ;) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by phoebe_s Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

27th May 2013:
Johnny Lupin was always one of my favorite characters in the Midnight series, and I'm so glad we're getting a little spin-off from him. I'm not sure how long this will be, but I'm super excited for it! :D

Author's Response: It's a one-shot! Now I feel guilty for not continuing it. But it's meant to be a one-shot. I think writing Johnny for very long would be exhausting ;) He's definitely an interesting guy. (just ask him haha) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MissDominiqueLysander Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

30th April 2013:
LOLLOL! Johnny is absolutely hilarious! Sad to see Ramses has no siblings though :C

Author's Response: Ha, he's so crazy XD Gotta love him. No, I just can't see Rose doing it again. Not on purpose anyway. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by missdagane Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

29th April 2013:
OMG. So happy when I saw a one shot of the midnight series. Johnny Lupin rocks, and I loved to see more of my favourite couple and Ramses. Amazing

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad you liked it! Johnny's a hoot. He's so full of himself. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Georgia Weasley Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

22nd April 2013:
Oh. Dear. God. Johnny Lupin has come to Hogwarts in all his egocentric glory. There's no doubt why Dom was laughing until she cried. She'd finally seen the light at the end of the tunnel and Johnny was getting on a train to go AWAY. You depict his little eleven-year-old hubris to perfection, and including Rose and Scorpius was fantastic. I love how Johnny doesn't get everyone else's reactions to him, and he really doesn't care. He is a legend in his own mind. So fabulous. I loved it! Thank you so much for bringing a little more Johnny into our lives. :D ~GW

Author's Response: Mwahaha I was eagerly awaiting your reaction to this one. Being inside Johnny Lupin's head, age 11, is craziness. More crazy than being in Rose's head even! He's just so full of himself in that little boy way. Convinced of his own awesomeness. And things just work out for him. Instead of thinking he's a little berk, most of his new classmates think he's awesome. He just acquires minions everywhere he goes, and there's poor Remus in the background shaking his head in disbelief. And Johnny brushes off any reaction to him that's not admiration ;) Totally a legend in his own mind. Hahaha... Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by lia Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

17th April 2013:
Hah! It's so funny, I love it!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Debra20 Lupin. Johnny Lupin.

17th April 2013:
10/10. If I could rate it 100/100 I would! I never realized how much I missed your writing until I read this one shot. It was HILARIOUS. I loved it so, so much!!!

This story brings back a lot of my childhood memories. I used to bicker with my brother just like Johnny did with his sister Dora. He used to tease me a lot, with similar stuff to what happened in the scene between your characters (he used to steal chips from my plate when I wasn't looking, pull the chair from under me - not enough to fall over but enough to give me a fright - and others like this haha). I love him now despite all that, but boy did he make me cry :)))

I have no idea where to begin or how to begin this review to make any sense because all I have for you are words of praise! I'm beyond words at your perfect portrayal of family life. It's SO real and so visual you can just see them all bustling about preparing for school. They're beyond characters for me. They feel like real people. This is one of the things I admire most in authors, their capability to depict human events with depth, care and realism.

And OMG Johnny...JOHNNY! I haven't read "Midnight Run" but this one shot definitely made me want to, if only to see how other people think about Johnny haha. He is SO self-centred that I literally felt empathic shame for him LOL. There were times when I felt like shaking him in hopes to humble him a bit (good luck with that...) but most of the time I think I laughed. He's adorable in his obnoxious replies and thoughts. I don't know how I'd be able to cope with a kid that was like this non-stop, but he sure is amusing in fanfiction haha I can feel I wouldn't laugh that much if it were the case in real life :P

"Remus was always hogging the bathroom to do his hair, and this annoyed their sister Dora in particular, because she also liked to hog the bathroom to do her hair." - BEST...LINE...EVER! I was on the verge of tears by this point. You're so talented at humour!

Oh I loved it so much. I think I'm gonna add it to my favourites

Author's Response: Yay thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked this story!

I have a brother and we picked on each other a lot at that age too. Not really any more, we're both over 30 now so I suppose we're finally too old for that ;) It was fun to revisit though. Mine would put his finger right in your face and go, "I'm not touching you. I'm not touching you." until you screamed for him to stop and then he'd yell to my mother, "I wasn't even touching her!" Ugh brothers. haha

The Lupin family is always fun to write. I liked aging everyone a bit and adding in the future kids for this story, since in the Midnight Run stories it's a few years before this. The serial killer incident is in Just Another Midnight Run, when Johnny is three. And he's right, it actually did happen, though probably not quite the way he sees it in his mind. Johnny's extremely convinced of his own amazingness.

Writing from inside Johnny's head made me cackle a lot. He's just so very insane and egotistical. He's just so very sure of himself. Actually he's rather like Reid Akins from Unsinkable in some ways. Only even more self-assured, and less brilliant. Johnny's smart enough but he's no genius. Remus is the smart one ;) Poor guy, with Johnny for a little brother. I think Johnny in real life would be too much, but he's funny to read about!

Ahahaha... I picture Remus at the mirror putting hair potions in his hair and trying to get every strand perfect, while Dora bangs on the door wanting to put her hair in braids and complaining. Fortunately Dora will be off to Hogwarts by the time her sister hits that age, but when both Lupin girls are teenagers, summers should be fun. ;) Mwahaha. Six kids! They're as bad as Victoire's grandparents.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login