95 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Flower n Prongs Chapter I

19th April 2015:
Hello! I am here to leave a review tag review.

I have a history degree, but I admit I know next to nothing about 10th century Britain so if there are glaring mistakes in this for the time period, they have gone right over my head. One thing I did notice was that you used names that are more old-fashioned, such as Maeve and Cadoc, so even if they were not commonly in use at that time or in that area they feel like they fit in with the others.

So far, I am enjoying your characterizations of all four founders. The fact that you had Rowena making a lot of witty comments and making sure you did not just show her as "smart" was a nice thing for her character. Having Helga having recently moved would be a bit unrealistic if she was a Muggle, but who is to say that a witch and wizard could not move around as much as they pleased? The discussion between the two women about brooms was amusing, knowing how big brooms would become later.

The fact that you have given Salazar a reason to have disliked Muggles to begin with and now being interested in a Muggle is a very interesting twist! Seeing that relationship fail/go downhill (I am assuming) will certainly have a big impact on his future. As for Godric Gryffindor, having him armed with his sword and appearing brash was very similar to how I pictured him.

I enjoyed reading this, even though I am usually not as drawn to Founders fics. I will delve on further in the future. =)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shadowkat Chapter III

5th April 2015:
One thing, didn't it say in the books that you had to know where to go and what the destination looks like before apperation?

Author's Response: Yes, you're right, I think it did. They were able to get there the first time because Laurence knew where the place was, and for students arriving later (with their parents) the location would be described well enough for Apparition to work, at least how I imagined it. Hope that clears it up for you! Thanks for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Shadowkat Chapter II

5th April 2015:
Interesting chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Shadowkat Chapter I

5th April 2015:
Hey, I was looking back over the reviews I've had and saw yours. I decided to check out your profile, and am very glad I did. I love the Founders, but it's so hard to find good stories for them. I actually just started writing one myself, so maybe this will give me some ideas about the time period. (No copying, promise.)

One thing that's always bugged me, however, is that in stories like this they always have muggles knowing them. Honestly, I'd think they'd do there best to hide, try and pass themselves off as muggle to keep safe. Maybe that's just me though.

The writing is really good, though another thing that I've always wondered is how any of them were childhood friends. Didn't the books say they came from four separate countries? I'd think it would have to be some pretty big, possibly dark, spontaneous strings of events to bring them all together. Again, really like it. :)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm very glad you decided to check out this story too :) The Founders era is such an interesting time period, it's kind of a shame there aren't more fics set then, so it's great that you're writing one too!

I see what you mean about Muggles, though everyone has their own interpretations of the time period and this is mine. Personally, I thought it made sense that they knew Muggles, since this takes place 600 or 700 years before the Statute of Secrecy, and even about 300 years before witch burnings, so I thought that over time magical folk withdrew from Muggles, and didn't necessarily start out already segregated. There was nothing they had to really keep safe from yet (except foreign colonizers - the same issues faced by muggles.) But as I said, I'm sure there are many various ways to interpret Founders era society! :)

I'm so glad you like the writing - thank you! As for the four different areas they came from, I guess I took a few liberties with that in terms of how long they lived in those places, but I did try to keep to that idea (and relied on the hp lexicon for the really picky facts) - so:, Gryffindor from wild moor (West Country, i.e. where Godric's Hollow is), Slytherin from fen (also England, but in the east) Ravenclaw from glen (Scotland) and Hufflepuff from 'valley broad' (Wales) though in my interpretation, Helga moved from Wales to Scotland before the start of the narration, and Salazar no longer lives in his childhood home either. So Godric and Salazar, both born in England, became friends early on, and Helga and Rowena became friends when Helga moved to Scotland from Wales (probably as a teenager).

Wow, INFODUMP of all the inner workings of my brain for this story. Sorry that was waaay more than you asked for :p Anyway, there you have it. :p

Thanks so much for giving this story a read and for your lovely review! I appreciate it so much!


 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 Chapter III

26th March 2015:
Hello again. I’m back with my third review out of 4.

Firstly, I did not find this chapter dull at all. It was actually very interesting. We all know they built the castle, but we don’t really know how it came to be. And I’ve always wondered about how they did it, because the school is enormous. And how did they come up with everything – like the changing staircases? And you gave an answer to that.

I love Helga! And it’s not just because she’s the founder of our house, but because of the way she’s portrayed in your story. I like that she’s the warm, friendly and social one, who’s responsible for getting people to help build the school as well as getting students to attend. And it fits so perfectly with what she’d later want from the student in her house – to be welcoming, including and friendly.

And I like that she loves cooking and basically taking care of everyone around here. I just imagine she’d be like a ‘mum’ for her student – doing her best to make everyone’s having a good time and yeah… taking care of them. In a way, she kind of reminds me of Molly Weasley, because they’re both hardworking women, and they’re both have a warmth and welcoming heart.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that I loved the story of how they came up with the name of the school. I’ve always wondered why it’s named Hogwarts, cause that seems like a kind of random name. So I liked that they discussed it, and had a reason for naming it Hogwarts.

I also liked the sorting – that it just started with them having the students that already knew them, and Helga therefore got the most because she’s more known in the community. So she does ‘take the lot’, but not in the way you’d initially think.

The friendship between Salazar and Helga was also nice to see, but I definitely want to see more Rowena/Salazar. I’m sorry but Maeve just got to go, because I’m shipping those two and she’s kind of in the way of their happy ending.

What I’ve found very interesting so far in the story is actually the portrayal of Salazar. He does not seem like the ‘bad guy’ that history’s made him out to be. And he’s interested in a muggle, and we all know he’ll later come to hate muggles and muggle-borns. So I’m really interested to see what will make him change his mind. I wonder if Rowena had something to do with it… or maybe it’s Maeve.

Anyway, as you can probably tell I liked the chapter. I think – like you say – it’s very necessary to include, because building Hogwarts is what they’ll later be known for. And you answer a lot of questions we readers may have had from reading the books – like how they came up with the moving stairs or the name of the school. So yeah, I still very much like the story

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8 Chapter II

26th March 2015:
Hi again, Kristin.

Wow. I wanted more Godric and I certainly got it. This was amazing. Your talent blows me away.

I love Godric, and he’s also very much like I imagine he would be. He’s just this caring, fair guy that wants to what’s right. I don’t know if it’s because I love GoT, but Godric always reminds me so much of Ned Stark. I imagine they’d look the same, and they’re both men of honor. And I love both of them, so yeah...

Anyway, I think Godric/Laudine is very interesting. I love that they have different views on things. Godric wants to fight fair and do what’s honorable, but Laudine just wants to save people and not die doing it. And I think she’s believes that is the honorable thing to do – to save as many lives as you can, no matter how you do it. So it all comes down to different views on what’s honorable and right. And I think these differences are what make them such a good couple. They even each other out.

And I love that they defend the muggles, because that’s what they (well, Godric anyway) will be known for later. And I kind of love that you start the story at a time when muggles and wizards co-exist, but then things go awry because of the Vikings (don’t they just ruin everything?). And that’s when they end up making a school, so the young wizards and witches can learn magic without being scared of muggles hurting them for it.

Rowena’s intelligence really shines through in this chapter, even more so than in the last. And that is kind of strange, since this chapter is more from Godrics POV. But yeah, I liked seeing how smart she is. And you can already tell why she would end up having the intelligent kids in in her house.

And I love the Rowena/Godric friendship. They too are very different. Godric doesn’t really want to give up fighting for muggles and wizards co-existing, even though it’s clear they’re heading in that direction either way. While Rowena sees the bigger picture – she sees that at some point wizards and muggles are not going to be able to co-exist with both knowing of the other. And then they kind of even each other out, because neither one of them is completely right or wrong. And it’s the combination of their ways of thinking that results in the idea of Hogwarts. And I really like them co-working, it was great to see.

Anyway, I can tell you’ve done lots of research for this story. I’m kind of a history geek, and Vikings are really my specialty because of where they originate. And so far I haven’t noticed anything off, so you’ve clearly done a good job in researching the tenth century England.

And I still love the story by the way. Now that they have gotten the idea of Hogwarts, I wonder what will happen next. And I can’t wait to see more Salazar and Helga.

Good job. 10/10

Oh, and please ignore my terrible English. I’m sleepy right now.

 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8 Chapter I

26th March 2015:
Hello Kristin. I wasn’t around when you guys had the review hot seat. And I’m close to my 4-year anniversary on HPFF, so I’ve decided to leave 4 reviews for each person that participated in the hot seat to show how grateful I am for you guys being around. And now it’s your turn to get reviews.

I want to start by saying that this is the first founders story that I’ve read in a long time. And I’ve seen a lot of people praise your founders stories on the forums, so I figured I’d give it a shot. And I’m really looking forward to reading it.

I like Rowena. I think she’s very much like I imagined she would be, but I’m really interested to see more of her intelligence. You can kind of see it when she’s talking about the Redwalds invisible castle/defense strategy, but I think it will be more visible as the story progresses.

And I’m really interested in seeing more Salazar/Rowena. It is not the first match I’d think of, but I don’t hate it. I definitely think there’s something there. And what’s interesting is that ambition and knowledge are really connected as well, cause you can’t really reach your goals without knowledge (in most cases at least). And that’s also why a lot of Claws could just as easily be Slytherins and the other way around. And the fact that those qualities are so close-knitted, could also explain why Rowena and Salazar would fall in love with each other. So yeah, I think I like this pairing.

And I like Helga as well. She’s also like I imagine she would be – a warm, outgoing and friendly woman. And I loved how Rowena explained her friendship with Helga. Because yes, they are polar opposites, but that’s why they are so good friends.

I didn’t really see much of Godric in this chapter, so I’m looking forward to learning more about him. But I loved that he and Salazar are best friends, and that he has muggle friends. That’s very believable considering what he’ll later be and believe in.

Anyway, I think you did a good job in bringing out their different personalities, and you can already kind of see how Hogwarts came to be. So I’m really interested to see where this story will be going, and whether Rowena will submit to the pressure of marrying or not (I don’t think she will)

And lastly I just have to say… VIKINGS!!! I have to admit the Norwegian in me is very happy to see them in a story, even if I probably shouldn’t be too proud of them being from my country (well, Denmark really, but close enough. Norway also had its own vikings, but they’re not in your story). But seriously, I think it was great that you mentioned them, because I don’t think wizards would be oblivious to what was going in the muggle world. And Vikings were really a problem for the British people in tenth century, so I’m glad you mentioned them.

Good job. I loved the story, and I can’t wait to read more of it.

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin Chapter VIII

22nd January 2015:
Oh my darling Kristin!
Thanks to you for this lovely story!!!
This ending was just so sad... But it's the way things were supposed to go, so...
I loved your including of Peeves in here :)
And I also think the choice of Helga's POV was perfect for the closing. Her empathy and her friendship give just the right perspective to the loss of Salazar first and Rowena next.
It's consoling to know that Hogwarts will, indeed, overlive them.
Thank you so much once again and all my love!
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara! Thank you so much for your kind comments, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! Gah, I know the end was sad, but that was what I had to work with from canon! Besides the fact that I can't seem to write a fic without killing off at least half of the characters :p

So glad you liked Peeves :D I thought this chapter needed something light and amusing to balance out the bleakness of all the other events that happened here.

Thank you, it means a lot that you liked the choice of POVs and that Helga's perspective worked well for a closing.

That's exactly what I was hoping for with that last line, that in spite of how sadly their story ends, their dream does come true as Hogwarts lasts at least a thousand years past them! :)

Thank you so much for all your support on this story! You are such an incredible reviewer. ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VIII

21st January 2015:
Dyaaa! Tears! That is so sad. After all this time Godtic and Helga are the only founders to show for it! The historical notes proves what kind of author you are; one that does research before throwing things down on paper. and the time it took to finish shows the mastery and dedication to this short story. So glad I found it. Touching, realistic, and interesting.

By the way, all these reviews are thanks for not missing a day of our Hot Seat Reviews.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Seriously, five reviews on this from you today was like the best present ever! ♥ Thank you!

Gah, I'm sorry about the sad. I'm kind of incapable of writing happy endings. I am so glad you were touched by this story and found it realistic and interesting, those are such wonderful compliments. And I'm glad you found this story too! It's been a pleasure reading your reviews. Thank you so much ♡


 Report Review

Review #10, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VII

21st January 2015:
That last line: brilliant! Oh perhaps it took you a year and a half to write but from my perspective it was worth it! I love the way you're developing these characters as the years go along and Hogwarts itself is evolving into something more like was we know today (you know, "know")

Beautiful work that speaks for itself.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Ooh, thank you, I'm glad you liked the last line, I was quite proud of that one ;) The year and a half was because I suddenly took a hiatus in the middle of writing the story and then it was difficult to get back into it after so long :-/ but I'm glad it didn't seem like a clunky transition or anything. Thank you so much, I'm thrilled that you like the way the characters and Hogwarts are evolving.



 Report Review

Review #11, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VI

21st January 2015:
I realize this is mostly filler, but although it wasn't exciting, it was interesting. I kind of like how you have Helena, though she does seem to be revealing personal facts about herself quickly. I guess if she was really frustrated she might be more inclined to say things.

I love how much thought you put into this.
--Georgina

Author's Response: You're spoiling me with all these reviews today! Thank you so much! ♥

It was kind of fillery, but I thought it was important to show Hogwarts running smoothly, after years of struggles and before everything all goes downhill.

As for Helena, there was a 17-year gap between the previous chapter and this one, so I was hoping to show that she's close with Godric (and the other founders) so it's not like she's revealing a hugely surprising thing, just putting a voice to things Godric has noticed for a while as her teacher. But you're absolutely right - her frustration would contribute a lot to her sharing those things.

Thank you so much - there really was a lot of planning, and especially research, and so your last comment means a lot to me. :)

Thanks for your wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter V

21st January 2015:
Whoa, I cannot believe you put Laudine in Slytherin! Not that I don't understand why you did it, but it was still unexpected. Also, I kind of like the way you made the hat, to me it seemed just a tad more matter-of-fact than sassy, though there was definitely some sass in there. It's hard not to think of a hat like that as having at least a little bit of sass. I feel horrible for Rowena, she doesn't seem quite enamored by her fiancé.

Love this chapter.
--Georgina

Author's Response: :D Hehe. Laudine was totes a Slytherin type. I like the idea of how 'typical' Gryffindor and Slytherin traits balance each other out, which is very much how Godric and Laudine interact, and she puts more practical things ahead of being noble. Ooh, I'm glad you liked the hat! That scene was a lot of fun to write, as everything was just getting so serious and I need to write silly things apparently. Rowena... yeah, she puts logic ahead of her own feelings, so the only one she's tricking is herself. At least he is somewhat of an intellectual match for her, which to her is probably more important anyway! ;)

Thank you so much for your review! I'm thrilled you are enjoying the story ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter IV

21st January 2015:
Again, love this chapter. It's so cool to hear how the school-making process worked after one year. I also like hearing about the medieval views of muggles and wizards about each other. Then Salazar's heartbreak! That was so horrible, but had to happen to harden his heart to make him run out later.

Another lovely read!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Georgina! Hi and thanks so much for stopping by this story again! I'm so glad you liked the process of figuring out how to run the school, as well as the muggle and wizard dynamic. Poor Salazar. He does go through a lot in this story :(

Thanks so much for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Hogwarts27 Chapter VIII

20th January 2015:
Hi, I came running to read this when I saw your post in the finished stories thread. This is a wonderful last chapter, superbly written, and a real joy to read.

I enjoyed the arrival of Peeves, which made a nice bridge for the reader, reminding us that some things from the early days of Hogwarts continue absolutely unchanged into the present day Hogwarts we know. I also enjoyed the short sentimental moment between Helga and Godric when they notice each other's gray hair and remark that they've become old, or perhaps prematurely old, through all the chaos of running the school.

And I felt a real sense of loss when Salazar left, because of your earlier backstory, and the touching way you dealt with it in this chapter. And what a dramatic and fitting way to end this story with the ghosts, so that everything tied in with canon.

Thanks for writing - and finishing - this lovely story. And congratulations! A finished story is always an accomplishment. I've enjoyed every bit of the journey it took me on. Your writing style just grabbed me so that I could lose myself in the story-telling with every single chapter. Thank you very much for the reading adventure.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for coming to read this - it means so much to me that you pounced on it just as soon as it was posted! I'm so, so glad you liked it!

Haha, you know what, Peeves was not even originally intended to be in the story at all, until the idea popped into my head as I was partway through writing this chapter. In the end I'm glad I did, because the rest of the chapter is pretty heavy with stuff like death and betrayal and more death. And yes it does kind of link Founders-era Hogwarts with present day, as a few things never changed! That's a lovely way to think of it! I'm glad you liked that moment with Helga and Godric as well - despite all the huge changes on a grand scale that happened here, I felt like the little scenes of mundane things are a nice balance. :)

I'm glad that resonated with you, when Salazar left - that's definitely what I was going for, to not really have either side be entirely to blame. As angry as they were with him at the time, I felt that having Salazar leave would be devastating to them after so long of working together. So glad you liked the bit about the ghosts as well, and that you thought it fit into canon! That is so great to hear :)

Thank YOU so much for reading this, and for the congratulations! It truly is a great feeling to have it completed, and having support from wonderful reviewers like you made it just that much more enjoyable to write. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the story so much, and thank you for your amazing support. ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by StarFeather Chapter V

15th January 2015:
What Gryffindore's wife fought with Vikings made me imagine Ginny who fought Death Eaters in her fourth year with Harry, and I remembered somewhere I had seen a photo of Viking's grave or something related to them in England.

And Sorting Hat's birth, the way you described about it , it was really brilliant. Its ironical personality, rudeness against Ravenclaw and Gryffindor made me smile.

And you weaved Rowena's feeling for Salazar and jealousy toward his wife well, that led us to read more, what would happen next between Salazar and Rowena?

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for coming back and reading on, it means a lot to me! :)

I really liked writing Godric's wife. She's the type of lady who does what she has to do, which is tough with a lot of Vikings invading the country as there were during this time period.

Haha, so glad you liked the Sorting Hat! I really don't know how it ended up so sassy. Despite this not being a humourous fic, silly stuff tends to end up in my stories when I least expect it haha.

Thank you, I'm glad to hear you liked the storyline with Rowena and Salazar. Definitely a lot left unsaid with those two.

Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by StarFeather Chapter IV

14th January 2015:
Hi : ) I came back to read your tale about the Hogwarts Founders. HPFF forums reminded me of your story.

I like your setting up the personality of Salazar, how he had hate feeling against Muggles, showing an incident related to snakes. The expression about snake language J.K.Rowling created the world, but you did good job which made me imagine the scene vividly.

I'm looking forward to reading Gryffindor parts next.

Ravenclaw didn't give in, good for her.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad you liked the setup for Salazar and that he seemed realistic. I thought that given Salazar's connection to snakes this would make sense, especially considering that snakes would probably be viewed as evil by any religious people of the time. I'm glad you were able to imagine the scene vividly, thank you!

So glad you liked this and I hope you enjoy Ravenclaw and Gryffindor next :) Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter III

2nd January 2015:
I really like how you have them trying to learn the ropes of Hogwarts; the ideas for the layout, the secret passageways (love their history!), the house-elves, the common rooms, all the details make it a great read despite the lack of excitement. Eustace with a dragon, is that a nod to CS Lewis' Voyage of the Dawn Treader? If not, that is an unusual coincidence, this kid's personality even seems a bit like that Eustace.

Anyway, love the story. Keep it up!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hey again Georgina! Thank you, I'm really glad you're enjoying the process of how Hogwarts was constructed and all the things that needed work in the beginning - I think this was actually my favourite chapter to write!
Eustace, yeah it was a bit of a coincidence as I had a list of old-fashioned names that I was going to whenever I needed a new character, and that name happened to be next on the list at that point - but I saw the connection immediately and it was too good not to keep it that way! XD Haha, I'm glad you caught that :p

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by magnolia_magic Chapter II

2nd January 2015:
Hi Kristin! Here for your hot seat day, and can I just say that it does my heart good to be catching up with Divided after all this time :) I love your take on this era and these characters!

This chapter had so much going on, and I love your exploration of the dynamic between wizards and Muggles. I've never really seen anyone portray it this way, from the very beginning of the fallout, so this was super interesting for me to read. I LOVED the battle sequence, everything about it, especially Godric's insistence on fighting fair with the Muggles and doing things the honorable way. And the way you've handled the decline in relations between wizards and Muggles is just so great. Neither group is vilified; instead, it happens as a series of emotional decisions that lead to misunderstandings. Of course, we know that things will eventually fester to the point that wizards go into hiding. I love seeing the beginning of that process, the very first hints of fear starting to creep in. Great job handling a very complex situation!

I can tell how much thought you've put into the political climate of the time, and that you've done some research about which groups of Muggles would be fighting each other. That is something I just completely avoid when I write Founders, mainly out of laziness, so I really admire the fact that you've taken the historical background of things into account. Those Vikings. They kind of caused trouble for everyone, I guess *shakes head*. At least Godric and Laudine were there to lend a hand and help drive them out for the time being.

You've done a seriously wonderful job with Godric in this chapter. His voice is just so true to what I imagine Godric to be like, and it was a joy to read. He is clearly a caring soul who wants to do the right things, and I can just feel how important his honor is to him. Laudine seems like a great partner for him because of the way her mind works in contrast to his; she seems more practical and realistic, while Godric sometimes overlooks important details. The scene with Laudine convincing him to use protective spells was a prime example. They are such a power couple, I love it!

Rowena continues to be feisty and great, and I can't wait to see how Hogwarts eventually gets off the ground. And I'm excited for Helga and Salazar to appear again! Great chapter, Kristin, and I hope to make time to read on very soon :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi Maggie! This was such a lovely review and I'm sorry for taking so long to respond to it! Gah, thank you, it means so much that you like my interpretation of the Founders, because you're one of the best Founders writers on the site so that means a lot to me!

I really like writing about political/society issues so it was really interesting to incorporate the relations between wizards and Muggles in this as given the time period they would likely keep the same company sometimes. I figured Godric would be the one to try and be as noble as possible in a fight, even if it was stupid to do so :p Thanks, I am so glad you like the way the decline between wizards and Muggles occurs - exactly, it's no one's fault, just a series of unfortunate circumstances. I'm thrilled that you like the way I handled it!

You're right, there was a lot of history research involved haha. I actually loved doing the research for this, I just find the era really interesting! I'm so glad you appreciate the political climate in this.

Ah, thank you so much, I'm thrilled that my portrayal of Godric is like what you imagined for him. I'm glad you like Laudine as well - she is definitely a lot more practical, kind of prevents Godric from having too much of a noble/hero complex haha

Hogwarts gets off the ground in the next chapter, which was my favourite to write and I hope you like it! Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful review!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lululuna Chapter VII

1st January 2015:
Hi Kristin!! :D So excited to see this was updated!

I think you did a really great job here showing Salazar's descent into hatred and bitterness. It felt very authentic how he went from sort of an emotional resentment which, when triggered by his grief, turned into all-out manic hatred. At the same time, after the deaths he still preserves his image by hiding his hate and biding his time, and I think that trait is really emblematic of the ways that Slytherins can be sneaky in tucking away different parts of their lives and really succeeding through secrecy. As the founder of a whole house of people who exhibit and are even socialized to have certain traits, I think you've done an amazing job in creating a character who is both archetypal and yet absolutely unique and three-dimensional.

I feel like Salazar here is honestly become mad, or is so possessed by grief that he is mad in his single-mindedness. It's a little terrifying to read about actually because in a way, even though I know better, I could relate to his anger in wanting revenge because he's so heartbroken. I think it's a very human emotion we all border on sometimes, but he's enabled by his power and authority as well as his skills in secrecy.

It was interesting reading about his logic in deciding on the Basilisk, and I did giggle a moment at the image of Salazar crouching down and encouraging a toad to sit on a chicken egg and getting all excited when a little snake comes out. It's an amusing image for some reason.

As usual, the attention to historical detail here is so impressive. Including the stocks was so brilliant while also showing the general ignorance of people of the time. I felt really sad for Elaine and Morgan, they were innocent and reasonable people and deserved better, poor things. It was interesting to think to that even though people died young in those days all the time, the grief of the loss is still as poignant as ever. :(

Amazing chapter, Kristin! I'm excited for the next one! ♥

Author's Response: Eeep! It was so exciting to see this lovely review from you!! ♥

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so thrilled that you liked the portrayal of Salazar here and his descent into hatred/bitterness/madness, and that it felt authentic. It means so much to me that you see him as unique and three-dimensional here, and that you appreciate his tucking away his feelings in secret to present an image to the others.

I think there is an element of madness in him, yeah. And yes I'm so glad you said that about relating to him - that is exactly what I was hoping for - to explain his descent, not making excuses for him, but just to put people in his shoes for a bit as his grief and anger are very real, even if his coping mechanisms are flawed. So I'm really glad you could understand him in this, even though he was becoming fixated on his hatred.

Ahaha, that is a hilarious image to think of and I'm glad you shared it with me :D

Thank you! Your compliment about historical detail is so wonderful especially because I know you are particular about this sort of thing as well, what with all of your historical details in Play the Devil! :) I did feel bad killing off those two, but considering the era, as you mentioned, people dying young was pretty common. Not that that would have made it any easier. :(

I'm so glad you're excited for the last chapter! I can tell you already that it will definitely be up on or before the 20th of January, because that marks exactly two years from when I began writing this fic, and I have a weird obsession with numbers lining up perfectly like that :p

Thanks so much for your review, Jenna! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by mymischiefmanaged Chapter II

27th December 2014:
Hiya, here for our swap :)

I've been looking forward to coming back to this story, and this chapter definitely didn't disappoint.

I don't always think changes in point of view work, but it's definitely effective here. The four founders give you a nice structure to your shifts in POV, and I was definitely keen to hear more from Gryffindor after chapter one. You've very effectively managed to give Gryffindor's point of view a different tone to Ravenclaw's, which shows that the POV shift is a good idea.

The idea of nobility is very interesting in this chapter. I like how Gryffindor's views on what is noble in battle differ to the views of his wife, and I like even more that he ends up listening to her. He's showing that trait we see so often in the members of his house - trying too hard to be brave so that it reaches the point of foolish - and she keeps him grounded. I like their relationship a lot.

It's interesting how you have the witches going into battle with the wizards. Are muggle women fighting alongside the muggle men? I would assume not, given the era, so it might be interesting to see how the muggles respond to having magical women fighting with them? Just a thought.

The idea of Rowena's parents letting Godric in immediately because they assumed he was a suitor made me laugh. You've kept them very in character with what we saw in the first chapter, and I like that Godric just goes along with it because it's convenient.

Rowena's intelligence and wisdom really comes through in this chapter, more than in the first I think, which is interesting given that we're seeing her through somebody else's eyes. She clearly has a different perspective to Godric. He's thinking about the short term and about what he can do to help individuals. She sees the big picture and wants to work out a long term solution. It's obvious that their different mindsets will help them work well together, and I like that you've shown how both their skills combine to lead to the idea of Hogwarts.

I like how Gryffindor's teaching the children inspires the idea of setting up a school, but I think it potentially happened a little bit quickly here. It might be nice to extend that conversation a little, or to have an initial conversation in which they plan to start teaching, followed by a later decision to officially start a school? It's not something you have to change. It definitely works well how you have it, and it's very convincing that Ravenclaw would come up with the idea in these circumstances, but it does feel like it moves a little fast.

Overall, this was a really fantastic chapter. You've raised some interesting ideas (different house qualities shown in the individuals, muggle/wizard relations before the statute of secrecy, different dynamics in marriage), and I'm looking forward to seeing where you take this story.

Thanks for the swap and for the excuse to read more of your wonderful work!

Emma xx

Author's Response: You know, I often feel the same way about POV changes :p This story was my first attempt at switching perspectives (and actually my first try at third person, as well). With the Founders it seemed to make sense, as they are all so vastly different but had the same goal, so I ended up really enjoying the switches. I'm glad you felt a different tone in Godric's narration than in Rowena's, as well!

That is exactly what I was trying to point out about Godric, the way he sometimes tries to be too noble and it borders on foolhardy, so I'm glad you liked that and the dynamics of his relationship with his wife.

You know, I was surprised by what I found in my research about early medieval warfare. Both Vikings and Anglo-Saxons had female warriors, and although women were uncommon compared to men in battle, they were not unheard of. (of course, this changed by a few hundred years later.) But yeah - totally didn't know that either until I did the research for this story so that was really cool!

Haha, I'm glad that scene with Rowena's parents was amusing! :)

It's wonderful to hear that Rowena's intelligence shines through in this chapter. I think because Godric sees this as something that stands out about her, it's more evident in his narration, whereas for Rowena it's just always been part of who she is. (if that makes sense? haha)

You're right, it does move a little fast there. I'm sure I'll go back to edit at some point and I'll keep your ideas in mind! :)

I am so glad that you are enjoying the story so far and that you're pointing out all these themes. Thank you for the swap and such a wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by Hogwarts27 Chapter VII

24th December 2014:
Hi, I've been away from this website site since midsummer, but I was so glad to see another chapter of this story when I came back. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Your writing and story-telling continues to be interesting and engaging, and I really appreciated all the descriptive details you included. They really help to bring the settings and scenes to life. You've woven the Salazar back-story to make perfect sense with Canon. I can actually sympathize with Slytherin in this story. This was a great read. Thank you so much for continuing, and I will look forward to more.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so excited to see that you came back for this chapter, as I know it took me forever to update :p Thank you so much, it is really wonderful to hear that the writing is engaging and brings the story to life - ah, that's such a kind compliment! ♥ I am so glad you like the writing and the details. Poor Salazar - I really put him through the worst in this chapter, but it had to be something big to get him to go so far off the deep end as we know he did eventually. :-/ But it means a lot to me that you felt his story makes sense and that you could sympathise with him!

There is one more chapter to go, which I hope to finish before the end of the year :)

You are the best! Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Felpata Lupin Chapter VII

20th December 2014:
Hey, Kristin!
I'm so excited that you've resumed the writing of this! :)
This was so sad...
I obviously can't agree with Slytherin's ideas and decisions, but after everything that has occurred to him... Who could possibly really blame him?
Poor Elaine and Morgan... When they didn't come back I immediatly feared the worst... And I was right, even if not in the way I imagined... Their long agony was maybe worse that having them die straight away...
Can't wait for what's next! Update soon!
Lots of love, as always!
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hi! Ahh, thank you so much for reviewing - this is the first feedback I've had on this chapter - and as it's the first chapter I've written on this story in SO long, I wasn't sure how it would be received or if people were still reading haha. So this is really good to hear. :)

I know, I really felt horrible for Salazar in this chapter as I made all these terrible things happen to him, but as he started out so normal in the beginning of the story, it had to be a succession of serious things for him to turn into the person who left a homicidal reptile in the school. And yes, what happened to his family was awful, but probably not too uncommon back then. Besides.. you've read enough of my work by now to know that I don't write happy endings :p

There is only one more chapter, which I'm hoping to have up by the end of the year! So with any luck it shouldn't be too long a wait. :) Thanks so much for your review and your continued support of this story, it means so much to me. ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter II

17th December 2014:
I meant to review earlier when I reviewed the first time, but ran out of time. I'm just going to say one thing: Laudine. She is totally Godric's wife. There are few ladies who would just be like 'okay, let's go kick Vikings' buttocks' and put on their helmet. She does. Awesome.

--Georgina

Author's Response: :D Hi again Georgina! Ahaha, I'm so glad to see you back here, and that you like Laudine. I couldn't see Godric's wife being any other way, besides I couldn't resist writing a refined yet Viking-butt-kicking lady even in the tenth century. XD Thanks so much for your review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by mymischiefmanaged Chapter I

15th December 2014:
Hello! Here for our review swap :)

I don't usually read founders so this has been refreshing. Having not read other stories set in this era I don't know how similar yours is, but it seems to take an original perspective on what the founders were like, and I like that you've started with them young rather than the older, wiser figures we tend to think of in the books.

Rowena's already set up to be an interesting character, and I like the arranged marriage plot. I wonder if you might be able to fit in her intelligence a little earlier on? Maybe by showing her internally critiquing Redwald's defence strategies? Something to make it clear how she becomes the founder of Ravenclaw House.

Redwald is well developed and provides some humour. The idea of muggles trying to attack wizards without realising they have magic is an interesting one that fits in well to the time, and your reference to who's king places us firmly in the 10th century which is a useful reminder.

Salazar is intriguing, and you've set up a lot of room for his character to develop into one we'll recognise. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens with him, and to knowing how the love story pans out.

Helga's also well developed as a character, and I think seems closer to how we'd imagine her to be than the others do (that's not a criticism - it's only chapter one so there's lots of time to learn more about them). I'm a little unsure by her being married though. Is Hufflepuff now her husband's surname? Or has she not changed her name? Not changing her name with marriage would be strange for the time period, but Hufflepuff house needs to be named after her rather than somebody else. It's only a little thing but it might be worth thinking about if you haven't already.

I would have liked to see more of Gryffindor but what you've done with him so far is great. His friendship with Slytherin is well set up and fits in with canon. And that reference to Slytherin's muggle love interest is definitely interesting...

Overall, really good first chapter. I didn't spot any typing/grammar mistakes and it flows well. Maybe I'll start reading some founders stories :)

Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hi there! I love Founders era, and I'm so glad you decided to check out this story especially as you haven't read much Founders before.

I am glad you like the introduction of Rowena. You're right in that her intelligence doesn't seem to be in full show here, as you pointed out earlier she is young (I think still 19 in this chapter), and although she shows her logical side in pointing out the issue with Redwald's invisibility trick, most of her cleverness is focused on getting out of the party. At least that's what I was hoping to show :-/ I'll go back and have a look at it though.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed reading about Redwald, and that you appreciated the historical references and thought the story suited the time period, thanks!

I'm glad you like Helga and that she seems to be how you imagined her. As for the surname. That's a tricky question because as far as I can tell, historically no one even had surnames until about two centuries after this story takes place. But since the Founders all have surnames it was interesting to work in. I'm going to say that her husband doesn't have a surname, or that he took Helga's surname, though really I left it vague so that people can come to whatever conclusion they want :p

The story is told from a rotating POV and the second chapter is told from Godric's perspective, so there is definitely more about him! I'm glad you find Slytherin's story interesting and think it fits in with canon overall, that's great to hear.

Thanks so much for your review and for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter I

13th December 2014:
I love this story! Your characters are very much the way I would imagine them to be. I love the mention of mead and was slightly surprised that Helga liked broomstick spells.

I plan to return to this story when I'm not falling asleep as I type.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hi Georgina! I'm so glad that the characters are the way you imagined - I tried to stick with the little of them we know from canon and from the Sorting Hat and made up the rest, so this is really great to hear! Yeah, yeah I imagine Helga had a good sense of fun! :P

Haha aww, get some sleep! Thanks for your review! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>