88 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felpata Lupin Chapter VIII

22nd January 2015:
Oh my darling Kristin!
Thanks to you for this lovely story!!!
This ending was just so sad... But it's the way things were supposed to go, so...
I loved your including of Peeves in here :)
And I also think the choice of Helga's POV was perfect for the closing. Her empathy and her friendship give just the right perspective to the loss of Salazar first and Rowena next.
It's consoling to know that Hogwarts will, indeed, overlive them.
Thank you so much once again and all my love!
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi Chiara! Thank you so much for your kind comments, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! Gah, I know the end was sad, but that was what I had to work with from canon! Besides the fact that I can't seem to write a fic without killing off at least half of the characters :p

So glad you liked Peeves :D I thought this chapter needed something light and amusing to balance out the bleakness of all the other events that happened here.

Thank you, it means a lot that you liked the choice of POVs and that Helga's perspective worked well for a closing.

That's exactly what I was hoping for with that last line, that in spite of how sadly their story ends, their dream does come true as Hogwarts lasts at least a thousand years past them! :)

Thank you so much for all your support on this story! You are such an incredible reviewer. ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VIII

21st January 2015:
Dyaaa! Tears! That is so sad. After all this time Godtic and Helga are the only founders to show for it! The historical notes proves what kind of author you are; one that does research before throwing things down on paper. and the time it took to finish shows the mastery and dedication to this short story. So glad I found it. Touching, realistic, and interesting.

By the way, all these reviews are thanks for not missing a day of our Hot Seat Reviews.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Seriously, five reviews on this from you today was like the best present ever! ♥ Thank you!

Gah, I'm sorry about the sad. I'm kind of incapable of writing happy endings. I am so glad you were touched by this story and found it realistic and interesting, those are such wonderful compliments. And I'm glad you found this story too! It's been a pleasure reading your reviews. Thank you so much ♡


 Report Review

Review #3, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VII

21st January 2015:
That last line: brilliant! Oh perhaps it took you a year and a half to write but from my perspective it was worth it! I love the way you're developing these characters as the years go along and Hogwarts itself is evolving into something more like was we know today (you know, "know")

Beautiful work that speaks for itself.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Ooh, thank you, I'm glad you liked the last line, I was quite proud of that one ;) The year and a half was because I suddenly took a hiatus in the middle of writing the story and then it was difficult to get back into it after so long :-/ but I'm glad it didn't seem like a clunky transition or anything. Thank you so much, I'm thrilled that you like the way the characters and Hogwarts are evolving.



 Report Review

Review #4, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter VI

21st January 2015:
I realize this is mostly filler, but although it wasn't exciting, it was interesting. I kind of like how you have Helena, though she does seem to be revealing personal facts about herself quickly. I guess if she was really frustrated she might be more inclined to say things.

I love how much thought you put into this.
--Georgina

Author's Response: You're spoiling me with all these reviews today! Thank you so much! ♥

It was kind of fillery, but I thought it was important to show Hogwarts running smoothly, after years of struggles and before everything all goes downhill.

As for Helena, there was a 17-year gap between the previous chapter and this one, so I was hoping to show that she's close with Godric (and the other founders) so it's not like she's revealing a hugely surprising thing, just putting a voice to things Godric has noticed for a while as her teacher. But you're absolutely right - her frustration would contribute a lot to her sharing those things.

Thank you so much - there really was a lot of planning, and especially research, and so your last comment means a lot to me. :)

Thanks for your wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter V

21st January 2015:
Whoa, I cannot believe you put Laudine in Slytherin! Not that I don't understand why you did it, but it was still unexpected. Also, I kind of like the way you made the hat, to me it seemed just a tad more matter-of-fact than sassy, though there was definitely some sass in there. It's hard not to think of a hat like that as having at least a little bit of sass. I feel horrible for Rowena, she doesn't seem quite enamored by her fiancÚ.

Love this chapter.
--Georgina

Author's Response: :D Hehe. Laudine was totes a Slytherin type. I like the idea of how 'typical' Gryffindor and Slytherin traits balance each other out, which is very much how Godric and Laudine interact, and she puts more practical things ahead of being noble. Ooh, I'm glad you liked the hat! That scene was a lot of fun to write, as everything was just getting so serious and I need to write silly things apparently. Rowena... yeah, she puts logic ahead of her own feelings, so the only one she's tricking is herself. At least he is somewhat of an intellectual match for her, which to her is probably more important anyway! ;)

Thank you so much for your review! I'm thrilled you are enjoying the story ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter IV

21st January 2015:
Again, love this chapter. It's so cool to hear how the school-making process worked after one year. I also like hearing about the medieval views of muggles and wizards about each other. Then Salazar's heartbreak! That was so horrible, but had to happen to harden his heart to make him run out later.

Another lovely read!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Georgina! Hi and thanks so much for stopping by this story again! I'm so glad you liked the process of figuring out how to run the school, as well as the muggle and wizard dynamic. Poor Salazar. He does go through a lot in this story :(

Thanks so much for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hogwarts27 Chapter VIII

20th January 2015:
Hi, I came running to read this when I saw your post in the finished stories thread. This is a wonderful last chapter, superbly written, and a real joy to read.

I enjoyed the arrival of Peeves, which made a nice bridge for the reader, reminding us that some things from the early days of Hogwarts continue absolutely unchanged into the present day Hogwarts we know. I also enjoyed the short sentimental moment between Helga and Godric when they notice each other's gray hair and remark that they've become old, or perhaps prematurely old, through all the chaos of running the school.

And I felt a real sense of loss when Salazar left, because of your earlier backstory, and the touching way you dealt with it in this chapter. And what a dramatic and fitting way to end this story with the ghosts, so that everything tied in with canon.

Thanks for writing - and finishing - this lovely story. And congratulations! A finished story is always an accomplishment. I've enjoyed every bit of the journey it took me on. Your writing style just grabbed me so that I could lose myself in the story-telling with every single chapter. Thank you very much for the reading adventure.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for coming to read this - it means so much to me that you pounced on it just as soon as it was posted! I'm so, so glad you liked it!

Haha, you know what, Peeves was not even originally intended to be in the story at all, until the idea popped into my head as I was partway through writing this chapter. In the end I'm glad I did, because the rest of the chapter is pretty heavy with stuff like death and betrayal and more death. And yes it does kind of link Founders-era Hogwarts with present day, as a few things never changed! That's a lovely way to think of it! I'm glad you liked that moment with Helga and Godric as well - despite all the huge changes on a grand scale that happened here, I felt like the little scenes of mundane things are a nice balance. :)

I'm glad that resonated with you, when Salazar left - that's definitely what I was going for, to not really have either side be entirely to blame. As angry as they were with him at the time, I felt that having Salazar leave would be devastating to them after so long of working together. So glad you liked the bit about the ghosts as well, and that you thought it fit into canon! That is so great to hear :)

Thank YOU so much for reading this, and for the congratulations! It truly is a great feeling to have it completed, and having support from wonderful reviewers like you made it just that much more enjoyable to write. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the story so much, and thank you for your amazing support. ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by StarFeather Chapter V

15th January 2015:
What Gryffindore's wife fought with Vikings made me imagine Ginny who fought Death Eaters in her fourth year with Harry, and I remembered somewhere I had seen a photo of Viking's grave or something related to them in England.

And Sorting Hat's birth, the way you described about it , it was really brilliant. Its ironical personality, rudeness against Ravenclaw and Gryffindor made me smile.

And you weaved Rowena's feeling for Salazar and jealousy toward his wife well, that led us to read more, what would happen next between Salazar and Rowena?

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for coming back and reading on, it means a lot to me! :)

I really liked writing Godric's wife. She's the type of lady who does what she has to do, which is tough with a lot of Vikings invading the country as there were during this time period.

Haha, so glad you liked the Sorting Hat! I really don't know how it ended up so sassy. Despite this not being a humourous fic, silly stuff tends to end up in my stories when I least expect it haha.

Thank you, I'm glad to hear you liked the storyline with Rowena and Salazar. Definitely a lot left unsaid with those two.

Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by StarFeather Chapter IV

14th January 2015:
Hi : ) I came back to read your tale about the Hogwarts Founders. HPFF forums reminded me of your story.

I like your setting up the personality of Salazar, how he had hate feeling against Muggles, showing an incident related to snakes. The expression about snake language J.K.Rowling created the world, but you did good job which made me imagine the scene vividly.

I'm looking forward to reading Gryffindor parts next.

Ravenclaw didn't give in, good for her.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad you liked the setup for Salazar and that he seemed realistic. I thought that given Salazar's connection to snakes this would make sense, especially considering that snakes would probably be viewed as evil by any religious people of the time. I'm glad you were able to imagine the scene vividly, thank you!

So glad you liked this and I hope you enjoy Ravenclaw and Gryffindor next :) Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter III

2nd January 2015:
I really like how you have them trying to learn the ropes of Hogwarts; the ideas for the layout, the secret passageways (love their history!), the house-elves, the common rooms, all the details make it a great read despite the lack of excitement. Eustace with a dragon, is that a nod to CS Lewis' Voyage of the Dawn Treader? If not, that is an unusual coincidence, this kid's personality even seems a bit like that Eustace.

Anyway, love the story. Keep it up!
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hey again Georgina! Thank you, I'm really glad you're enjoying the process of how Hogwarts was constructed and all the things that needed work in the beginning - I think this was actually my favourite chapter to write!
Eustace, yeah it was a bit of a coincidence as I had a list of old-fashioned names that I was going to whenever I needed a new character, and that name happened to be next on the list at that point - but I saw the connection immediately and it was too good not to keep it that way! XD Haha, I'm glad you caught that :p

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by magnolia_magic Chapter II

2nd January 2015:
Hi Kristin! Here for your hot seat day, and can I just say that it does my heart good to be catching up with Divided after all this time :) I love your take on this era and these characters!

This chapter had so much going on, and I love your exploration of the dynamic between wizards and Muggles. I've never really seen anyone portray it this way, from the very beginning of the fallout, so this was super interesting for me to read. I LOVED the battle sequence, everything about it, especially Godric's insistence on fighting fair with the Muggles and doing things the honorable way. And the way you've handled the decline in relations between wizards and Muggles is just so great. Neither group is vilified; instead, it happens as a series of emotional decisions that lead to misunderstandings. Of course, we know that things will eventually fester to the point that wizards go into hiding. I love seeing the beginning of that process, the very first hints of fear starting to creep in. Great job handling a very complex situation!

I can tell how much thought you've put into the political climate of the time, and that you've done some research about which groups of Muggles would be fighting each other. That is something I just completely avoid when I write Founders, mainly out of laziness, so I really admire the fact that you've taken the historical background of things into account. Those Vikings. They kind of caused trouble for everyone, I guess *shakes head*. At least Godric and Laudine were there to lend a hand and help drive them out for the time being.

You've done a seriously wonderful job with Godric in this chapter. His voice is just so true to what I imagine Godric to be like, and it was a joy to read. He is clearly a caring soul who wants to do the right things, and I can just feel how important his honor is to him. Laudine seems like a great partner for him because of the way her mind works in contrast to his; she seems more practical and realistic, while Godric sometimes overlooks important details. The scene with Laudine convincing him to use protective spells was a prime example. They are such a power couple, I love it!

Rowena continues to be feisty and great, and I can't wait to see how Hogwarts eventually gets off the ground. And I'm excited for Helga and Salazar to appear again! Great chapter, Kristin, and I hope to make time to read on very soon :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi Maggie! This was such a lovely review and I'm sorry for taking so long to respond to it! Gah, thank you, it means so much that you like my interpretation of the Founders, because you're one of the best Founders writers on the site so that means a lot to me!

I really like writing about political/society issues so it was really interesting to incorporate the relations between wizards and Muggles in this as given the time period they would likely keep the same company sometimes. I figured Godric would be the one to try and be as noble as possible in a fight, even if it was stupid to do so :p Thanks, I am so glad you like the way the decline between wizards and Muggles occurs - exactly, it's no one's fault, just a series of unfortunate circumstances. I'm thrilled that you like the way I handled it!

You're right, there was a lot of history research involved haha. I actually loved doing the research for this, I just find the era really interesting! I'm so glad you appreciate the political climate in this.

Ah, thank you so much, I'm thrilled that my portrayal of Godric is like what you imagined for him. I'm glad you like Laudine as well - she is definitely a lot more practical, kind of prevents Godric from having too much of a noble/hero complex haha

Hogwarts gets off the ground in the next chapter, which was my favourite to write and I hope you like it! Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful review!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lululuna Chapter VII

1st January 2015:
Hi Kristin!! :D So excited to see this was updated!

I think you did a really great job here showing Salazar's descent into hatred and bitterness. It felt very authentic how he went from sort of an emotional resentment which, when triggered by his grief, turned into all-out manic hatred. At the same time, after the deaths he still preserves his image by hiding his hate and biding his time, and I think that trait is really emblematic of the ways that Slytherins can be sneaky in tucking away different parts of their lives and really succeeding through secrecy. As the founder of a whole house of people who exhibit and are even socialized to have certain traits, I think you've done an amazing job in creating a character who is both archetypal and yet absolutely unique and three-dimensional.

I feel like Salazar here is honestly become mad, or is so possessed by grief that he is mad in his single-mindedness. It's a little terrifying to read about actually because in a way, even though I know better, I could relate to his anger in wanting revenge because he's so heartbroken. I think it's a very human emotion we all border on sometimes, but he's enabled by his power and authority as well as his skills in secrecy.

It was interesting reading about his logic in deciding on the Basilisk, and I did giggle a moment at the image of Salazar crouching down and encouraging a toad to sit on a chicken egg and getting all excited when a little snake comes out. It's an amusing image for some reason.

As usual, the attention to historical detail here is so impressive. Including the stocks was so brilliant while also showing the general ignorance of people of the time. I felt really sad for Elaine and Morgan, they were innocent and reasonable people and deserved better, poor things. It was interesting to think to that even though people died young in those days all the time, the grief of the loss is still as poignant as ever. :(

Amazing chapter, Kristin! I'm excited for the next one! ♥

Author's Response: Eeep! It was so exciting to see this lovely review from you!! ♥

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so thrilled that you liked the portrayal of Salazar here and his descent into hatred/bitterness/madness, and that it felt authentic. It means so much to me that you see him as unique and three-dimensional here, and that you appreciate his tucking away his feelings in secret to present an image to the others.

I think there is an element of madness in him, yeah. And yes I'm so glad you said that about relating to him - that is exactly what I was hoping for - to explain his descent, not making excuses for him, but just to put people in his shoes for a bit as his grief and anger are very real, even if his coping mechanisms are flawed. So I'm really glad you could understand him in this, even though he was becoming fixated on his hatred.

Ahaha, that is a hilarious image to think of and I'm glad you shared it with me :D

Thank you! Your compliment about historical detail is so wonderful especially because I know you are particular about this sort of thing as well, what with all of your historical details in Play the Devil! :) I did feel bad killing off those two, but considering the era, as you mentioned, people dying young was pretty common. Not that that would have made it any easier. :(

I'm so glad you're excited for the last chapter! I can tell you already that it will definitely be up on or before the 20th of January, because that marks exactly two years from when I began writing this fic, and I have a weird obsession with numbers lining up perfectly like that :p

Thanks so much for your review, Jenna! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by mymischiefmanaged Chapter II

27th December 2014:
Hiya, here for our swap :)

I've been looking forward to coming back to this story, and this chapter definitely didn't disappoint.

I don't always think changes in point of view work, but it's definitely effective here. The four founders give you a nice structure to your shifts in POV, and I was definitely keen to hear more from Gryffindor after chapter one. You've very effectively managed to give Gryffindor's point of view a different tone to Ravenclaw's, which shows that the POV shift is a good idea.

The idea of nobility is very interesting in this chapter. I like how Gryffindor's views on what is noble in battle differ to the views of his wife, and I like even more that he ends up listening to her. He's showing that trait we see so often in the members of his house - trying too hard to be brave so that it reaches the point of foolish - and she keeps him grounded. I like their relationship a lot.

It's interesting how you have the witches going into battle with the wizards. Are muggle women fighting alongside the muggle men? I would assume not, given the era, so it might be interesting to see how the muggles respond to having magical women fighting with them? Just a thought.

The idea of Rowena's parents letting Godric in immediately because they assumed he was a suitor made me laugh. You've kept them very in character with what we saw in the first chapter, and I like that Godric just goes along with it because it's convenient.

Rowena's intelligence and wisdom really comes through in this chapter, more than in the first I think, which is interesting given that we're seeing her through somebody else's eyes. She clearly has a different perspective to Godric. He's thinking about the short term and about what he can do to help individuals. She sees the big picture and wants to work out a long term solution. It's obvious that their different mindsets will help them work well together, and I like that you've shown how both their skills combine to lead to the idea of Hogwarts.

I like how Gryffindor's teaching the children inspires the idea of setting up a school, but I think it potentially happened a little bit quickly here. It might be nice to extend that conversation a little, or to have an initial conversation in which they plan to start teaching, followed by a later decision to officially start a school? It's not something you have to change. It definitely works well how you have it, and it's very convincing that Ravenclaw would come up with the idea in these circumstances, but it does feel like it moves a little fast.

Overall, this was a really fantastic chapter. You've raised some interesting ideas (different house qualities shown in the individuals, muggle/wizard relations before the statute of secrecy, different dynamics in marriage), and I'm looking forward to seeing where you take this story.

Thanks for the swap and for the excuse to read more of your wonderful work!

Emma xx

Author's Response: You know, I often feel the same way about POV changes :p This story was my first attempt at switching perspectives (and actually my first try at third person, as well). With the Founders it seemed to make sense, as they are all so vastly different but had the same goal, so I ended up really enjoying the switches. I'm glad you felt a different tone in Godric's narration than in Rowena's, as well!

That is exactly what I was trying to point out about Godric, the way he sometimes tries to be too noble and it borders on foolhardy, so I'm glad you liked that and the dynamics of his relationship with his wife.

You know, I was surprised by what I found in my research about early medieval warfare. Both Vikings and Anglo-Saxons had female warriors, and although women were uncommon compared to men in battle, they were not unheard of. (of course, this changed by a few hundred years later.) But yeah - totally didn't know that either until I did the research for this story so that was really cool!

Haha, I'm glad that scene with Rowena's parents was amusing! :)

It's wonderful to hear that Rowena's intelligence shines through in this chapter. I think because Godric sees this as something that stands out about her, it's more evident in his narration, whereas for Rowena it's just always been part of who she is. (if that makes sense? haha)

You're right, it does move a little fast there. I'm sure I'll go back to edit at some point and I'll keep your ideas in mind! :)

I am so glad that you are enjoying the story so far and that you're pointing out all these themes. Thank you for the swap and such a wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Hogwarts27 Chapter VII

24th December 2014:
Hi, I've been away from this website site since midsummer, but I was so glad to see another chapter of this story when I came back. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Your writing and story-telling continues to be interesting and engaging, and I really appreciated all the descriptive details you included. They really help to bring the settings and scenes to life. You've woven the Salazar back-story to make perfect sense with Canon. I can actually sympathize with Slytherin in this story. This was a great read. Thank you so much for continuing, and I will look forward to more.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so excited to see that you came back for this chapter, as I know it took me forever to update :p Thank you so much, it is really wonderful to hear that the writing is engaging and brings the story to life - ah, that's such a kind compliment! ♥ I am so glad you like the writing and the details. Poor Salazar - I really put him through the worst in this chapter, but it had to be something big to get him to go so far off the deep end as we know he did eventually. :-/ But it means a lot to me that you felt his story makes sense and that you could sympathise with him!

There is one more chapter to go, which I hope to finish before the end of the year :)

You are the best! Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Felpata Lupin Chapter VII

20th December 2014:
Hey, Kristin!
I'm so excited that you've resumed the writing of this! :)
This was so sad...
I obviously can't agree with Slytherin's ideas and decisions, but after everything that has occurred to him... Who could possibly really blame him?
Poor Elaine and Morgan... When they didn't come back I immediatly feared the worst... And I was right, even if not in the way I imagined... Their long agony was maybe worse that having them die straight away...
Can't wait for what's next! Update soon!
Lots of love, as always!
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hi! Ahh, thank you so much for reviewing - this is the first feedback I've had on this chapter - and as it's the first chapter I've written on this story in SO long, I wasn't sure how it would be received or if people were still reading haha. So this is really good to hear. :)

I know, I really felt horrible for Salazar in this chapter as I made all these terrible things happen to him, but as he started out so normal in the beginning of the story, it had to be a succession of serious things for him to turn into the person who left a homicidal reptile in the school. And yes, what happened to his family was awful, but probably not too uncommon back then. Besides.. you've read enough of my work by now to know that I don't write happy endings :p

There is only one more chapter, which I'm hoping to have up by the end of the year! So with any luck it shouldn't be too long a wait. :) Thanks so much for your review and your continued support of this story, it means so much to me. ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter II

17th December 2014:
I meant to review earlier when I reviewed the first time, but ran out of time. I'm just going to say one thing: Laudine. She is totally Godric's wife. There are few ladies who would just be like 'okay, let's go kick Vikings' buttocks' and put on their helmet. She does. Awesome.

--Georgina

Author's Response: :D Hi again Georgina! Ahaha, I'm so glad to see you back here, and that you like Laudine. I couldn't see Godric's wife being any other way, besides I couldn't resist writing a refined yet Viking-butt-kicking lady even in the tenth century. XD Thanks so much for your review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by mymischiefmanaged Chapter I

15th December 2014:
Hello! Here for our review swap :)

I don't usually read founders so this has been refreshing. Having not read other stories set in this era I don't know how similar yours is, but it seems to take an original perspective on what the founders were like, and I like that you've started with them young rather than the older, wiser figures we tend to think of in the books.

Rowena's already set up to be an interesting character, and I like the arranged marriage plot. I wonder if you might be able to fit in her intelligence a little earlier on? Maybe by showing her internally critiquing Redwald's defence strategies? Something to make it clear how she becomes the founder of Ravenclaw House.

Redwald is well developed and provides some humour. The idea of muggles trying to attack wizards without realising they have magic is an interesting one that fits in well to the time, and your reference to who's king places us firmly in the 10th century which is a useful reminder.

Salazar is intriguing, and you've set up a lot of room for his character to develop into one we'll recognise. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens with him, and to knowing how the love story pans out.

Helga's also well developed as a character, and I think seems closer to how we'd imagine her to be than the others do (that's not a criticism - it's only chapter one so there's lots of time to learn more about them). I'm a little unsure by her being married though. Is Hufflepuff now her husband's surname? Or has she not changed her name? Not changing her name with marriage would be strange for the time period, but Hufflepuff house needs to be named after her rather than somebody else. It's only a little thing but it might be worth thinking about if you haven't already.

I would have liked to see more of Gryffindor but what you've done with him so far is great. His friendship with Slytherin is well set up and fits in with canon. And that reference to Slytherin's muggle love interest is definitely interesting...

Overall, really good first chapter. I didn't spot any typing/grammar mistakes and it flows well. Maybe I'll start reading some founders stories :)

Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hi there! I love Founders era, and I'm so glad you decided to check out this story especially as you haven't read much Founders before.

I am glad you like the introduction of Rowena. You're right in that her intelligence doesn't seem to be in full show here, as you pointed out earlier she is young (I think still 19 in this chapter), and although she shows her logical side in pointing out the issue with Redwald's invisibility trick, most of her cleverness is focused on getting out of the party. At least that's what I was hoping to show :-/ I'll go back and have a look at it though.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed reading about Redwald, and that you appreciated the historical references and thought the story suited the time period, thanks!

I'm glad you like Helga and that she seems to be how you imagined her. As for the surname. That's a tricky question because as far as I can tell, historically no one even had surnames until about two centuries after this story takes place. But since the Founders all have surnames it was interesting to work in. I'm going to say that her husband doesn't have a surname, or that he took Helga's surname, though really I left it vague so that people can come to whatever conclusion they want :p

The story is told from a rotating POV and the second chapter is told from Godric's perspective, so there is definitely more about him! I'm glad you find Slytherin's story interesting and think it fits in with canon overall, that's great to hear.

Thanks so much for your review and for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter I

13th December 2014:
I love this story! Your characters are very much the way I would imagine them to be. I love the mention of mead and was slightly surprised that Helga liked broomstick spells.

I plan to return to this story when I'm not falling asleep as I type.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hi Georgina! I'm so glad that the characters are the way you imagined - I tried to stick with the little of them we know from canon and from the Sorting Hat and made up the rest, so this is really great to hear! Yeah, yeah I imagine Helga had a good sense of fun! :P

Haha aww, get some sleep! Thanks for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Chazzie Chapter VI

10th November 2014:
Hi there!
This is pretty amazing so far. I love the way you have characterised everyone, and made them seem perfectly cannon. Rowena was rather regal in her mannerisms, and I like the idea of her being the one to suggest the moving staircases. Her daughter knowing that Rowena isn't truly happy and not wanting to grow up like her was a perfect touch of foreshadowing. Godric is loud and funny, noble and righteous. He always seems to strive to do what he feels has the best possible outcome, or is the right thing to do. Helga was sweet as pie, I loved the way she mothers everyone. I know she must feel horrible whenever someone is upset and she feels she could have prevented it. She really is the peacemaker here. Salazar, oh poor Salazar. You gave a brilliant reason for his mistrust of muggles and muggle borns, and I'm so sad he had to go through that. Yet at the same time he is still strong and brilliant, although it would be nice to see him with a little more ambition.
Your word choice was lovely, and brought a older feel to the story. Very excellent. I like your authors note to, as I happen to live in Scotland so it made me grin upon realising that people wouldn't know that. Alba is the Gaelic word for Scotland, and so is used even nowadays, although mostly in the Highlands and Islands :)
Great story, can't wait to read the rest!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie! Thank you so much - I am really glad to hear that the portrayal of the founders matches canon! I wanted to have the values of their house match the most visible components of their personalities - the strengths as well as faults. Poor Salazar indeed. I think his ambition shows up a lot more in the next chapter as we are about to delve into his POV again.
Thanks for your comments on the word choice as well, I am thrilled that it gave the story an older feel. Glad you appreciated that authors note ;)
I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying the story! Thanks so much for your wonderful review!!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Felpata Lupin Chapter VI

7th September 2014:
Hi Kristin!
Me again!
This is the first time I read a Founders' story (don't really know why...)
I think you're doing a great work in describing their different characters and backgrounds.
I really love the alternations of POVs (I think my favourite might be Rowena, but the other three are great too).
I also loved the details about the building of the school (the part about Slytherin's headquarter missing the door made me laugh...) and the creation of the Sorting Hat!
Interesting how Slytherin developed his dislike towards Muggle and Muggleborns. I suspected his romance with Maeve might end bad and that might lead him to those beliefs, but I didn't imagine the cause would be him being a Parselmouth...
I loved how we get to know the Founders' children in this chapter. You did a great work with them all, especially Helena.
It was fun to see the kid version of the Bloody Baron too!
Brilliant job, as usual! Keep it up!
Hugs,
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hi again Chiara! Wow, it's like you live on my author page. Not that I mind, of course! :p I'm really flattered that you keep coming back to read my stories! I hadn't thought about this particular fic for a long time, but your review is reminding me how much I want to finish up writing it!

I am so thrilled that you like the alternating POV's! This story was my first try at a rotating viewpoint - and with third person narration in general - so I am really glad that it works and that you like that feature of the story. I really love writing Rowena, because I think she notices a lot but kind of lives in her head, and she has this kind of tragic unrequited love going on which for some reason was one of my favourite things to write :p

The details of how the school came to be built was pretty fun to write too. There's so much quirkiness in Rowling's world and I just expanded on it for the building of the castle and how rooms got to be the way they were - glad you liked the Slytherin common room's lack of a door!

I'm glad you liked the development of Salazar's prejudices. There is more to come about that, the next chapter is from his POV (as soon as I get around to writing the rest of it!) And thanks, it's wonderful to hear that you liked Helena and the young Baron :) There's not a huge amount of canon info to work with for this time period, so I'm adding in whatever I can that fits!

Thanks so much for your review and for being amazing!



 Report Review

Review #21, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Chapter I

26th July 2014:
Yes yes yes. One of the best Founders eras I've read in a long time. Great. I love Rowena's personaliy: she isn't a perfect ice lady, and she can't always get everything she wants by exporting her massive intellect (hem hem Salazar). I'm definitely going to keep reading.

Meena

Author's Response: Meena! ♥ Thank you so much! Ah, that is such a wonderful compliment! I am thrilled that you've enjoyed it thus far and that you like Rowena's personality. It means a lot to me :)

And wow, I haven't worked on this story in ages. This was a good reminder for me to do so... :P


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hogwarts27 Chapter VI

2nd May 2014:
I enjoyed the way Hogsmeade was introduced, and mentioned Hengist. And I laughed at Creaothceann - it has a way to go before it turns into quidditch, doesn't it? The name sounds rather prehistoric.

It was nice to see Helena Ravenclaw make an appearance here, and the way you portray her makes sense with canon. I enjoyed the antics of the kids and the teachers talking about how to control them. This was a very enjoyable light read. And thanks for info in the author's note. I didn't know that about Scotland.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I think you're the first person to remark on the creating of Hogsmeade, I'm glad you liked it! Creaothceann has a long way to go, yes. :P

I'm glad you liked the portrayal of Helena here, as well as the rest of the kids! Helena will be making an appearance in later chapters as well... (which I really do need to finish writing because it's been embarrassingly long since I updated this story, so thanks for reminding me.)

Thanks for all your amazing reviews on this story, I appreciate it so much!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Hogwarts27 Chapter V

2nd May 2014:
I like the way you got the spouses of the founders involved as teachers, and how you continue to incorporate founders' possessions into the story - Godric's hat - so natural how you introduced this. The humor was delightful when the hat started to talk! That was my favorite scene! I'm glad Salazar finally moved on to find another woman he loved. But whether Rowena's making a good choice remains to be seen.

Author's Response: Thank you! It seemed like they really needed to be involved, after all the founders could hardly ignore their spouses when they got so involved in getting Hogwarts to work, so their spouses did too :p I'm glad you liked the hat! That was a completely unplanned scene but I'm so happy to hear that you liked it! Yes, there's some odd reasons for their choices, but we shall see...

 Report Review

Review #24, by Hogwarts27 Chapter IV

1st May 2014:
Another lovely chapter and a thoroughly enjoyable read! I'm glad you showed how Salazar got to be the way he was in canon. I also meant to mention in my earlier reviews that I really like the names you've picked for some of your characters - the nice old-fashioned sounding ones.

There were a couple of small things I noticed as I've been reading, but please don't take it as criticism - it's just an observation.

One of the things I loved about Chapter 1 was the old-fashioned wording in the narrative and dialogue. But since then, you've sometimes lapsed into more casual story-telling with modern language slipping into the narrative and dialog - LOL, I'm sure they didn't use expressions like 'that's great' or dark stuff' in medieval times. Then other times you get back into the old-fashioned word flow again, which really adds to the charm of the story. Not that it's a big deal. It certainly doesn't get in the way. I'm just pointing it out.

And one other little thing about the historic era - and no I'm not a history expert, but I noticed this anyway. When Maeve sneaks off to be with Salazar, she thinks to herself there's nothing her father can really do about it anyway. But that's probably not accurate for medieval times when men had all the power and women had virtually no rights. A medieval wife or daughter who disobeyed would likely have been harshly disciplined by a husband or father who discovered it, so I don't think Maeve would have disobeyed him so lightly. The Church also had a lot of power in medieval times, so a woman probably wouldn't risk doing anything that would be considered immoral like running off alone with a boy. I'm sure daughters were strictly chaperoned and never left alone with a young man. After all, it would ruin a young woman's chance of marriage if she didn't conduct herself properly around men, or was suspected not to be chaste. And even a suitor would likely refuse to marry a girl if she conducted herself too freely with him. No girl in those days would want to risk that, because marriage was essential to women, as they didn't work to support themselves and depended on their husbands to provide. So young couples wouldn't have been running off alone together in those days, certainly not muggles. Anyway, it's just something I noticed and happened to think about when I read those parts. Again, not a big deal. Just an observation.

I liked the part with Salazar and the snake. If there was anything demonic suspected, medieval folks would have steered away, so it was believable that Maeve would reject him even when they'd been trying so hard to reconcile their differences. On the other hand, anything connected with magic was considered the devil's work in those days, so muggles probably wouldn't have associated with anyone suspected of being a witch or wizard the way they do in this story - oops, just thought of that, but it doesn't really matter. I'm enjoying this story a lot!

Author's Response: Hi there! Wow, what a thorough review! I'm glad you've liked Salazar's POV, and the names of the minor characters.

I'm not surprised you pointed out the dialogue, I know that's my weak point in writing this story, it just doesn't come very naturally to me. Wow did I really say "dark stuff"? *facepalm* yep I'm definitely going to have to re-read through this whole thing and edit like all the dialogue haha.

Ok, as for the historic stuff: I love that you went into such detail about this, because I enjoy talking about it :P I did do a fair bit of research about women in the tenth century actually, and this is what I deduced: Christianity had not gained a foothold everywhere by the 900's, and I think medieval Christianity was a main reason for the lack of women's power in society. Before that was a lot of paganism, and women had a bit more freedom then - and so the Church wasn't quite as powerful as it would have been, say, two hundred years later. I think in the time period of this story there was equal influence from the church and from the traditional ways. You're probably right about Maeve being inappropriate to disobey her father and run off with Salazar - church or not, she'd be quite disrespectful to do that.

And about magic in those days... witch burnings did not start until the 14th century or so, and even then weren't bad until the 17th century when they really took off, so I figured that before that, things were a little calmer.

...And I'm going to stop before this begins to sound like a dissertation. If you want any more historical and social debate though, totally send me a PM on the forums :D But thank you so much for this review! I really appreciate that you took the time to point those things out, and I'm glad you are still enjoying the story! ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by Hogwarts27 Chapter III

1st May 2014:
I didn't find the building of the castle a dull read - it was actually comforting to see it go up wall by wall in my imagination. After all, they're building the castle that I, as a reader of the books, have come to love spending time in. It was an interesting detail that a few giants were also helping with this. I laughed at Godric getting lost in the castle and making his own passages - that was a very clever idea for how they got there. And I also enjoyed reading how all the other founders put their own personal touches on the castle. Because this is in the past, the reader knows perfectly well how Hogwarts will work, while the founders are still trying to figure it out. But it was interesting to see them struggle with details that are so well-tuned and good functioning in the Hogwarts we know.

Author's Response: Oh good :) I know the pacing was a bit slow there, but I'm really glad it's interesting enough to sustain the slow pace. I actually loved coming up with how the castle was built. I think Hogwarts has so much going on and it couldn't possibly have run so smoothly when they were just starting out. And yeah, giants! For some reason it seemed to fit, like there was probably something in between then and the present that made the giants stop associating with wizards, but I didn't feel it had always been that way.

Thank you so much for your review and I hope you you continue to enjoy the story!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>