Reading Reviews for Black Ties
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheNamelessBoy Welcome Intrusions

14th September 2014:
Nice.
We've all dreamed about this. The books being true.
Curious to see how Muggleborns knowing everything will affect the Next Generation.

Have the Wizarding World read those books ?


But I wonder how much of the Canon you can follow? The squib surely couldn't have gotten all the details - she had to make some up. And even if she knew everything, I just can't believe she'd have written it without changing even a bit.

So quite a bit of the HP books have to be fiction.

A little A/N explaining the setting would've been better. Like:
Like how many Harry Potter books have been released?
How can Daniel be underage but still allowed to do magic? I mean, no adult (or 7th years) volunteered? (Daniel is described as 14 years old)
If only 1st book has been released, Patronus was introduced in 3rd book.

And if only Philosopher's Stone has been released, How come she has no questions about You-know-Who, and how the war ended?

 Report Review

Review #2, by luvinpadfoot About Bloody Time

19th April 2014:
Yay! I'm flailing so hard over this ending! Everyone's happy and Harriet's with James and Minty's with Shorky and it's all perfect and lovely! I actually had to go spend ten minutes flailing in the corner before I could calm down enough to write this. I don't even know what to say except that yay it was fantastic! I loved every minute and every word!

I definitely wasn't expecting the Elle twist at the end of the last chapter, or Harriet's near death. I mean the girl just got out of the Hospital Wing. She couldn't have even just a week of nice relaxing fun before almost dying again? I guess she can have all the relaxing she needs now with James. Perfect couple. Their chemistry, their banter. Ugh it's sickening and perfect and flail worthy.

Have I mentioned how much I love your writing style? It's not slow. You get to the action and the good parts and don't waste time on silly nonsense that doesn't matter. Every sentence you write has a purpose and I adore that. All the characters play important roles, just everything is flawless and wonderful.

And you're funny too! Gah I spent every other chapter either on the edge of my seat hoping no one was going to die or laughing my bum off. Honestly, it was just hysterical. Your comedy in here is brilliant, especially with Harriet but the others too.

Um my only critiques are stuff I've already mentioned. Small stuff mostly. Grammar, spacing, etc. I dunno, I'm not so helpful with the reviews. I do better at flailing.

I'm half hoping you have a sequel and half hoping you don't because sequel means the likelihood that Harriet will be miserable and nearly die again is rather high. Everything ended so perfectly here that I kinda don't want her to be miserable again, but you know. I dunno if I could resist a sequel. I blame you for the pain you've caused. :p

I love love love this story so much! It's fantastic and amazing and brilliant! You're such a wonderful writer! (sorry for all the review spam today. kinda. not really) :D

Author's Response: *squeels like a piglet* thankyouu so much!! Seriously I think you just inspired me to go and write a sequel. Gosh dang I think I might go do that write now! I had so much fun writing this too, once I had two imperfect but weirdly compatible characters in James and Harriet my imagination went nuts and I just brainstormed plots. Can't wait to do it all again for the sequel. It will be different in style with more perspectives but yeah.. Ah I'm so pumped now. :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by luvinpadfoot Claustrophobic

19th April 2014:
I'm glad James apologized. He really needed to, though I'm not sure I'm as forgiving as Harriet at the moment. The Map though, I wonder who she's going to see. Intrigue!

I think I'm as confused as they are right now. Is it a ghost? Or someone with the help of a ghost? Or Peeves? And I can't believe Fred just broke up with her! Their relationship didn't last very long, but there's always hope for the future. (Or James. No I haven't given up hope yet.)

Oh my gosh that's awful! Is she a vampire? I'm gobsmacked! (Sorry for the short review, I just really want to move on.)

Author's Response: Ah no your reviews are amazing thankyouu so much you made my week! So exciting to see your enjoying it, it makes me want to write more!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by luvinpadfoot Wrah Wraoh

19th April 2014:
Yay she found out! This is all so exciting. I wonder how Harry will react. I always kind of like it when Sirius has children. It's like a part of him lives on even though he obviously didn't. Harriet was rather impressive with that riddle too. She figured it out a heck of a lot faster than I did. I hope that just because they're telling people doesn't mean they'll get into any trouble with the stalker. I do keep wondering who it is.

The scene with Tabitha was really sweet! Aw it made me tear up a little. I can't believe she looks up to her big sister so much! I mean I can, but you know. I'm just really glad she told her.

I think you have a little habit of mixing up your and you're, but that's not really a big issue. Just something I noticed. Same with the spacing. It can still get a little funky at times. :)

Wow that was really cruel of James. I get that he's a little jealous or whatever, but still. He could have been a touch nicer to her. That was crossing the line.

Poor Godric! This whole chapter was really sad. Poor Al. Poor everyone. They all need hugs and to be stuck in happier lives with no murderous psychopathic stalkers. Speaking of which, I'm starting to get a little suspicious of Padill. There's something not right with her, I don't think. She just seemed weird. I dunno. I might be making stuff up because I want to know so bad.

I hope Fred doesn't play Harriet, like James said. I know it's a possibility, but she doesn't deserve that. Maybe Fred will prove to be nicer than that. I can hope at least. :)

Author's Response: Ah yes I know exactly what you mean about Sirius. I am currently entertaining a firm denial that his death is canon. And yes with the epiphany! I will never forget reading the chamber of secrets when harry and Ron read the passage about the basilisk and it all comes together. My ten or so year old mind was blown and I was kind of hoping for a similar sort of effect here. There is nothing worse in my opinion then sitting round waiting for a character to figure out something you got three chapters earlier.

Ah yes I love writing the sister scenes. I have a sister myself and although these days we are more like mint and Harriet, tabitha is still quite young meaning Harriet is still 'big sister' rather then just 'sister'. If I do write a sequel I plan to develop that relationship heaps more as Tabitha gets a bit older.

Ee sorry! I really should have paid more attention in year three. I do technically know the difference my brain just refuses to pick it up unless I'm concentrating . I plan on doing a big edit very soon though so I shall fix them up then. As for everything else ~no comment~ ;)



 Report Review

Review #5, by luvinpadfoot Welcome to Stares-Ville

19th April 2014:
Giving Harriet the boggart was a really Harry thing to do. I can just imagine canon Harry doing that. He's kind of like Lupin in that way, I think. I loved that scene so much. I guess I'm not really surprised that her boggart was her father, but I feel bad for her that James witnessed it. I wonder if that'll come back to haunt her some. After this chapter, I definitely ship her and James. I love them together.

Is Al gay? I can't believe he kissed her! I mean wow that was unexpected. I'm glad you're not doing a romance between them. I think that'd feel a little awkward. That line Harriet said, though. Oh my god. Don't be, Al its no biggy which team you bat for as long as your scoring. That is possibly one of my favorite lines in all of writing. It made me laugh so hard! It's just utter brilliance, really. I adore it!

This chapter was hilarious! I love your writing style. I kept laughing so hard the entire time. Probably not a great thing since everyone here's asleep, but oh well. I didn't see Harriet/Fred coming, though they do have a pretty awesome back and forth going there. I guess I can ship it, though I am still hoping for a little James romance to be thrown in. ;)

Still loving every minute! Can't wait until they do some more discovery with the stalker- and they won't get expelled over the plant, will they?

Author's Response: Yess ah thankyouu! It was so hard to stick to canon with Harry because everyone knows him so well I have to make sure I don't change jkr's wonderful character, and yes I did kind of like the idea of Harry teaching her about boggarts like lupin taught him. It also means a lot more to Harriet as he is kind of her hero in a way her father never was.

Ah! Thankyouu! Yep it was actually an accident at first but when I re-read it I was like 'YES accidental brilliance!'. I think Al is not entirely sure which team he is batting for at the moment but Harriet helps hiim to realise that while it seemed like this big scary secret thing to him, it actually did not so much as make Harriet blink she's just a little surprised but mostly like 'k sweet'. I thought her reaction helped say a bit about her character and personality too. But yes, in the sequel he's gay.

Sque so glad you thought it was funny ! It was really fun to write too!


 Report Review

Review #6, by luvinpadfoot Sorting It Out

19th April 2014:
You call them eleven two chapters ago, but aren't they fourteen now and in their fourth year? I thought you skipped ahead a couple of chapters back.

Anyway, I love all the ridiculous theories they have! I think I read a fic like that on the site, where Harry is in a mental ward and Hogwarts is really just his hallucination. I like that Mint seems nearly convinced of it, really brilliant! I'm kind of worried about the teachers now. Is it one of them? I assume the note ties into Harriet's family, but how? I'm starting to think Black Ties might relate back to the Black family, but I'm not sure yet...

Wizarding royalty, huh? That's impressive! I can't wait to find out more about her past and who her grandfather is. I'm still thinking Black maybe, even though there are Blackwells too. Is her mother still around? I wonder how she would take the news that they've maybe found her parents, at least one of them. And poor Harriet. I'm glad she's found her friends at Hogwarts and gets to go home with Albus over Christmas break! I'm really excited to see how you write Harry and Ginny. It's always really interesting to see them all grown up in fanfics.

More intrigue with the notes. I'm really adoring this story so far! I can't believe I'm almost half done with it! :)

The spacing is a little off sometimes. Not a big deal, but there are occasionally extra spaces or not enough.

Some more great chapters!

Author's Response: Oh yes, sorry about that, Harriet and her friends were originally actually all eleven the whole way through the story but it got a bit wierd with the stuff they were doing so I re wrote the whole thing. Also, fun fact, it used to all be in first person so if there are random 'I's and 'me's that is why. :/

Oh really? I haven't seen that one I actually got the idea for that one off a 'community' episode.

Also with the Blackwells they are actually on Harry potter wiki as wizarding royalty, so I didn't just completely make it up :)

Thanks for the review!! No spoilers ;)


 Report Review

Review #7, by luvinpadfoot The Diseptive, Perceptive and Disruptive

19th April 2014:
This got dark really fast. I'm so glad Mint is going to be okay, but that note's got me scared. I remember there was something about Harriet getting a stalker, is this it? I feel so bad for them, though. They're only kids. They should really go to a professor with that note, but I suppose they're all too headstrong for that. Gryffindors, you know. Hopefully nothing else bad will happen, but I'm doubting that a bit.

The last one was probably my favorite chapter so far! You write the action so well and I just love the chapter title. It's perfect!

This chapter was just really sad and I guess a little bittersweet too. You captured the tone perfectly. It felt kind of like an emotional roller coaster, but I think that worked well with what was happening and Harriet's personality. With all this talk about her home life, I can't help but wonder if it's gotten any better. She still has to go home over the summer, right? And how's Tabby doing?

I think after this chapter I kind of ship her with James a bit. Maybe I shouldn't, but they seem to have such wonderful chemistry! I can't wait to see what you've got planned next! I'm really adoring this story! (:

Author's Response: Eeep!! Omy goshh! Thank you so much for the reviews!! Ah yes it does get dark. I often get inspired by the style of what I'm reading and I had just started reading game of thrones when I wrote this so you may understand the effect that had.. 😕 Ah and the title thankyouuu I spent a long time staring at the screen trying to think of something clever 😎 no spoilers 😉 🚢🚢

 Report Review

Review #8, by luvinpadfoot To The Castle!

19th April 2014:
Back, finally! I really love these last two chapters! There were a few typos here and there and you should always split the paragraph when another person speaks, but other than that I didn't notice anything.

I'm so glad Tabby gets to go to Hogwarts too! Lue seems like a cool guy, even if he's not Hagrid. I guess Hagrid deserved some time off with his kid. Are Rose and the others going to be in this or are you not sticking with the canon next gen? I love it when people mess with the system. Makes the stories more interesting because you never know what to expect.

One thing I noticed is that your characters seem to swear an awful lot for eleven year olds. Perhaps this is just me, but I've never known any kids that young with such foul mouths. You might want to try saving that language for when they get a little older, but that's just a suggestion.

I love the inner narration with the Hat! Why does he think her mind is strangely familiar? Did she have a family member who was magical? Perhaps the strangely absent mother? I'm really excited to find out! I'm also really glad they all got Sorted into the same House.

Can't wait to continue on reading! These chapters were just as awesome as the first! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by luvinpadfoot Welcome Intrusions

18th April 2014:
Eep! I just found this and it's completed and already so good! Yay! Just wow it's fantastic! I can't believe you haven't got loads of reviews on this. Just wow.

I think my favorite part was the line about the HP world being too flawless. JKR's a squib. New head canon. Yep. Totally true.

I feel so bad for Harriet and Tabby! Poor things. I'm so glad they're getting the chance to escape and get out of the house. It really is like a dream come true. (And if this has a sad ending, I can tell you right now I'm going to bawl my eyes out.)

I like Daniel's character. A lot of people don't write Charlie with kids since it's not technically canon, but I've always kind of felt bad that he's all alone. Daniel seems really nice too, which I think Harriet needs.

I'd really really love to read the rest of it now, but sadly I haven't got the time today so I'll be coming back and leaving more reviews! Yay! :) I love this story so far!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by SoaringPatronus About Bloody Time

14th April 2014:
I can't believe you don't have more reviews! I read it in one sitting and found it entertaining. Good job! I look forward to seeing more stories!

Author's Response: Thanks a million! I have just decided to write a sequel so there will be more Harriet and co. quite soon :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by dtinch Unorthodox Introductions

2nd October 2013:
my connection messed up and i don't know if i gave your story the right rating of 10/10 or not so posting this to rate it correctly. it is a very good story so far and again please add more chapters.

Author's Response: Thankyou so much!! I am adding more chapters very soon (definitely by the end of the week) And this time I'll finish it. Sorry for the wait but i'm back to it now :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by dtinch Unorthodox Introductions

2nd October 2013:
This is a good story and a great idea putting the 7 books into your main characters hands even though she is waiting for #2 but i think you get what i mean by making J.K. a part of the world she wrote great idea her fighting the ministry to write the Harry potter books lol. good story

Author's Response: Thankyou very much and very sorry about the break. Hope you enjoy the rest!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login