Reading Reviews for Burning Bright
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissesWeasley123 Fading Fast

4th January 2014:
Hello again! Here for the 9th day of 12 Days. You seem to have quite a bit of stories podcasted!

Let me hug Regulus and never let go he's mine ♥ His last days were dark and it was crazy to see them. It's said you life flashes before your eyes and I suppose Reg knew, he knew he was going to die. It was so heartbreaking to see him evaluate his relationships, especially the one with Sirius in such detail. It was agonizing.

I loved the constant you used in this, the star, it's brightness. That kept on cropping up and was really clever every single time. I think it was most sad when you used it at the end, and the way your worded it as well. The star truly had fallen.

Regulus flawed and complex character was shown so well too. His feelings towards Bellatrix and the fear in him, to his resentment towards his frail relationship with Sirius. I felt bad because I knew he wanted things to be different, but at that point it was far too late. That was tough to swallow, and I felt terrible.

Fabulous writing as always!

Author's Response: Haha, that's thanks to Aditi offering to do them for me so I couldn't refuse :P

Well, I think we might have to fight over this because I think you'll find he's mine :P Gah, he's another character I just want to wrap up in cotton wool and never let go because the world was so cruel to him and it just wasn't fair. :(

I'm so glad that you liked the star theme, it was my first time trying to incorporate something like that into a story so I'm still really proud of it even though I should have been having a running theme well before that :P

I'm so glad that you felt that Regulus' complexities shone through because I think that's the reason why I love him so much because he desperately wanted something else but he just couldn't have it.

Thank you for such a fabulous review, Nadia!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #2, by Fairly Fairest Fairy of Fun Fading Fast

23rd December 2013:
Yay obscure character story! In case you haven't noticed, I really like obscure characters! :) Regulus is REALLY usually skimmed over, so I just HAD to take a look at this!

I've yet to read a story involving Regulus that wasn't sad and depressing. You made this angle work well though! It very closely mirrors your Pansy one-shot (which was a part of this gift #2) but varies enough that it's not just a carbon copy with different characters and a different central characteristic. Your style is obviously going to be similar, but not every story is the same by the same author.

Regulus's distraught over his involvement with the Death Eaters and Voldemort is so canon it almost hurts. The fact that you've written him as wanting to please his brother and end his life knowing he did his best and that SIrius knew that hit me right in the feels! All siblings ever want is the older sibling's approval. Even though his moral compass may not have been right at the time it really needed to be, he did his darn well best to try and fix it! Gahh, I'm going to stop now before I start crying over a fictional character (again). See you around! :)

Author's Response: Haha, I may have noticed but then I love them too, so it's cool! I adore Regulus, like in a massive way and want to marry so I could never skim him over!

I'm sorry about it not being happy, but he just screams angst which I love so yay for that! I didn't pick up the similarities as they were written about 6 months apart, but you are right! I'm glad that you found it differed enough though. :)

I'm sorry about making you hurt and suffer from feels, it's just all part of the process really! I'm really glad of the way you picked up on his and Sirius's relationship as it's so dear to me, because I do believe they did love each other deep down. Sorry for making you almost cry, Regulus does that a lot ;)

Thanks for a wonderful review, it really was awesome and I can't wait for the next present as they've all been great!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #3, by blackballet Fading Fast

4th August 2013:
This was so sad. I loved every bit of it, and I especially love your concept of Regulus seeming just a bit jealous of Sirius, but also adoring and admiring him. I have always thought Regulus was a character that needed more exploring, and I love reading things about him!

Thank you so much for writing this

Author's Response: Hearing that you loved every bit of it made me grin from ear to ear! I'm glad that you enjoyed the foucs on Regulus and Sirius' relationship as I always thought it was needed and great to explore! I love reading things about him too! Thank you so much for this amazing review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #4, by Bronykatnisshermionie Fading Fast

31st May 2013:
I nearly cried. This is amazing.

Author's Response: Aw thank you, I'm so glad that you liked it ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by Bobby Dazzler Fading Fast

9th May 2013:
Hey hun, how're you going? :) I am so sorry that this review request is so overdue!!! I've had seemingly endless computer problems so now that they're - hopefully! - all fixed, I was finally able to play catch up on reviews, yay! :)

Ok, going on your items you would like me to talk about :)

Did the star theme work? Yes, I think it did. It both was a play on words and told the story of how Regulus' life was deteriorating very cleverly, without telling us how he was fading away physically or what he looked like, but rather portrayed through the stars which were a lot easier to envision and it flowed nicely from start to finish. Clever writing technique :)

How was Regulus' characterisation? Look, we don't know much of him from the books, compared to Sirius or Bellatrix etc, so you've got more creative licence. Having said that, I think you did a great job, drawing influence from what we know of his canon character as well as what life from his POV would've been like by turning Sirius' views of him upside down. I think you did a good job, and it tied in nicely again with the star theme :)

Was his thoughts of Sirius ok? Yea, I think so too. It wasn't overplayed, it was genuine heartfelt emotion from someone who knew he was in trouble and likely eiether going to die or be killed by either the Death Eaters or the Order, or live a terrifying life in Azkaban which he probably wouldn't have survived anyway, so he was thinking of his brother who chose the better path and yea... I think it was fine, I know what you were trying to achieve and you did it :)

I enjoyed this one a lot, it was simplistic and short but said a lot, and had a lot of powerful imagery. Couldn't find any spelling/grammar mistakes either, even better! :) Very enjoyable love, feel free to request another, Bobby xx

Author's Response: Haha don't worry about it! I've requested some reviews and they're still 6 months so this quick :P

I'm glad that you found the star theme worked, as I wasn't entirely sure if over did it. I thought that it would reflect the situation well, so I'm glad that you liked it :)

Yeah I think the lack of knowledge about him from the books is the thing which worries me the most, as I didn't want to go OTT with him. I'm glad that canon influences worked too, as it was fun to intertwine to them.

Ooh thank god his thoughts about Sirius weren't overplayed. I have habit of getting carried away at times, and I wanted this to appear genuine. Yay you got what I was getting at, which is even greater :)

I think this is the first one-shot without any spelling or grammar mistakes, as I always seem to miss them. Thanks for this great review it was really useful :)

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #6, by Violet Gryfindor Fading Fast

8th May 2013:
Wow, this one-shot is an excellent study of Regulus's mind and heart as he comes to the end of his life. You capture the tragedy of Regulus's story, his sadness and despair as he tries - like really tries - to make those around him proud, to live up to their expectations. But those expectations are much too high. A lot of it is that he wasn't old enough to take on such a role - while I get the feeling in canon that Sirius developed early and was above average in ability, perhaps Regulus was the opposite, a late bloomer, someone who just needed more time to sort out who he was and, perhaps more importantly, who he wanted to become.

It's very much the story of being a teenager. That's one thing I think stands out about your portrayal of Regulus - his thoughts feel accurate, reflecting an adolescent's point of view. You take into account naivety and disillusionment with bits of rebellion. He's confused, trapped between pleasing his parents and striving to become like his brother, and it tears him apart. It's a story about change - Bella and Sirius becoming different people as they reached maturity - but Regulus can't make that same change. He can't choose sides, or rather he doesn't have the power to choose - he never sends those letters, he doesn't know how to act on his rebellious feelings. It fits with Regulus's story in canon, explaining why he turns to Kreacher as confidante and loyal friend. When he does act, it will be for Kreacher's sake, not his own.

Ugh, it's so sad! But beautifully written - it shows that you've taken great care with the words and syntax. There's nothing to critique here! It's great to see how far your writing has come in the last few months, and I look forward to reading more from you in the future. :D

Author's Response: Wow, I'm glad that you found it was great study I didn't intentionally go about trying to analyse him, I just wanted to show his last few days. I think that's the thing I find most tragic about Regulus, the way he tried to make everyone happy, but by doing that he made himself unhappy. I get that feeling too about Regulus, and I think that's probably due to him never taking his own intitiative until he decided to go against Voldemort which resulted in his death.

I'm glad that you felt his thoughts reflected those of a teenager. He really is a complex person, but a fascinating one at the same time so I had a lot of fun trying to figure out what must have been going through his mind at that time. I almost wish we could have seen what would have happened if Regulus reached maturity, but then that would take this alluring factor away from him which draws so many people to him.

I'm glad that you can see that my writing's improved. When I go back and read some of my older unedited work it really makes me cringe. But I have to give a big shout out to my amazing beta pixileanin who has helped me so much! Thank you for this fantastic review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #7, by thebakingravenclaw Fading Fast

4th May 2013:
Regulus has always been one of my favorite characters, and I think you did a wonderful job of portraying him in this piece. I always pictured him like this, someone too afraid to speak out, and I think you characterized him in just the right way. Anywho... Great piece :)

Author's Response: Regulus has always been one of my favourite characters too, so I'm so glad that you thought I pulled him off. It's so sad that he was never brave enough to speak out and had go that way, so I'm really glad that you thought this worked! Thanks for the great review :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauder5 Fading Fast

27th April 2013:
I love the theme of light and stars! It's both beautifully and poetically written, and very fitting considering the Black family tradition of naming the children after stars. It really adds a freshness to this story, and I really, really liked it.

I think that your portrayal of Regulus is perfect as well. He's one of those characters that you just want to reach out to and help, because he would really have been a good person, had it not been for his family's influence on him. It's just like you said it in this story: he just wasn't as strong as Sirius was, so he succumbed to them rather than fighting back. The part about him wanting to make Sirius Black was really sad and really beautiful. I wish Sirius could have known what his brother did before he died. If only Regulus had actually sent those letters to Sirius, things could have gone differently.

I absolutely loved this! It was perfect, in my opinion :)

Author's Response: Yes the theme of the stars was inspired by the Black family names so I'm glad that you liked it:D Eek it was poetic? I didn't realise that when writing it, but thank you anyway as I was always terrible at poetry!

I'm so glad that you liked my portrayal of Regulus, I think that's why I wrote this one-shot as I've always felt sorry for him, and he's so tragic and I hoped I conveyed that in this story.

I wish Sirius could have known about what his brother did too, as I think that would have made a big difference to the entire series. I really hope that Regulus did write those letters as I would like to think he tried to make it up it up with his brother, but I guess we'll never know :(

Thank you for this lovely review, it really brightened my day :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by ginnys twin Fading Fast

21st April 2013:
This is honestly the most poetic thing i have ever read. And this wasn't even a poem! I loved the metaphors and comparisons. They made this all the better.

Author's Response: Wow, I don't really know how to respond to this other than thank you for this awesomsauce review :D I've loved these reviews I've been getting from you and they really brighten my day :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #10, by rogue_bludger Fading Fast

20th April 2013:
Ravenclaw review tag!
Loved this. You describe regulus so well! Sirius has always been one of my favorite characters and I've always been curious about regulus. This story just describes them so well I absolutely love it.
~M

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you loved this, and that my description fitted Regulus! I've always been curious about Regulus too, so I guess that's why I wrote it :D Thanks for the review!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #11, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Fading Fast

19th April 2013:
Tag!! (It's about time I read something of yours anyway!! :P)

This was a very interesting and well-written piece, dear! It just sort of jumped out at me when I saw the title because one of my favorite bands has a song called "Burning Bright", which I really love.

I've read a couple of pieces that deal with Regulus' thoughts, but none so far have been quite this in-depth (at least that I can remember). And of course I absolutely LOVE the star analogy!

As I started reading, I was overcome by wondering "What would have happened if Sirius and Regulus had spoken? Would they have apologized, made up? Fought together to bring Voldemort down?" And then as I read on and Regulus actually thought about contacting Sirius for help, it made those thoughts/feelings even stronger. That I can remember, no other Regulus story has caused me to wonder about those things, so HUGE kudos to you for being able to get me in that mindset; it just goes to show how talented you are!

The plot, flow, pace, everything is great, and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors either. Great job dear, 10/10!!

Author's Response: Ooh hello there!

I'm so glad that you found his thoughts to be in depth, as I really wanted to get into them as I always wondered what he must have thought in those last few days of his life. And I'm so glad that you loved the star analogy too!

Haha I'm glad that you were overcome by wondering about what they may have done, as I was too. I was almost tempted to go completely AU and make them BFFs :P I hope that Regulus wanted to make it up with Sirius, so I'm glad that you wondering the same too!

Yay for no spelling or grammar errors! Thank you for this lovley review:D

-Kiana!


 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshp Fading Fast

19th April 2013:
Hey!!

I was just podcasting this story (just finished recording by the way), and I realised how awesome this story actually is! I absolutely loved your portrayal of Regulus. I think you showed his thoughts in his last moments very well. I really enjoyed reading this as well as recording it, and I hope my voice could do the angst and the pain and the darkness in this piece justice.

Great one-shot! 10/10

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey Aditi!

Ah, I can't wait to hear the podcast of it now :D I'm so glad that you loved my portrayal of Regulus and that you thought it was awesome, it means so much to me :D

I'm sure your podcast will be great, they always are! Thak you so much for reviewing this and doing the podcast, they both mean to much to me!

-Kiana :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by Toujours Padfoot Fading Fast

17th April 2013:
I think Regulus's death was one of the bitterest tragedies in the first wizarding war. He died with the Order thinking him a villain and the Death Eaters thinking him a coward, a runaway, or perhaps a victim of the Order. No one discovered how brave he truly was until so many years later.

I love the comparisons to stars - Sirius burned brightest and Regulus was kind of just there in the background, not as strong or beautiful. I also like the part where you said that after Sirius abandoned his family, Regulus was determined to keep the torch going:

He wanted to be the star which continued shining, even when the other one went out. Like the Star of Bethlehem, he would guide them to better times.

♥ Really love that.

He must have felt so conflicted when his views began to change. Bellatrix tried to make him feel cowardly when in truth all he felt was his conscience. You did a good job illustrating the horrors of the Death Eaters and what they did to innocent people. Seeing it through Regulus's eyes, and the crippling fear it causes, makes it quite real.

I would like to suggest that you omit a couple of 'burning bright' mentions. That phrase is a poignant one and in order for it to make a full impact, you should use it sparingly. Especially since it's the title as well.

I enjoyed reading this! I find the Black brothers mysterious and enigmatic and you conveyed that really well here. I felt badly for Regulus because he was so lost, so taken aback by his own actions, so full of regret and fear. It was the perfect way to describe a man who is barely older than a boy. We all make poor decisions when we're young and don't know the way of the world, especially with bad influences like Walburga and Orion. Regulus definitely did right in the end.

- Sarah

Author's Response: Hi Sarah, and thank you for reviewing this!

I think that's part of the reason why I chose to write this, as I agree too, that Regulus' death is probably the most tragic thing about the series, as Sirius never got to find out what his brother really did.

I'm glad that you liked the bit about the stars, as I really enjoyed writing it, and it is a great analogy for both of them! I like that line too :')

I'm glad that you liked the part about Bellatrix, as I wasn't too sure about it as it kind of veered away from the focus on the Black brothers.

I thought I may have overdone the 'burning brights' so I'll definitely go back and review those!

I'm so glad that you thought that I managed to convey the Black brothers' characteristics as they are pretty unique! Thank you for this lovely review and I definitely will review my use of Burning Bright!

-Kiana :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jchrissy Fading Fast

14th April 2013:
Hi Kiana!! Regulus is a really fascinating character to me, so I was really excited to see this!

I think the constant metaphor of the stars was so well done. Obviously it fits because of their names, but more than that you give it so much significance with the dimming of light in Regulus. It's usually set the opposite way, with Regulus being the bright star and Sirius being the dim one who could never compete, but seeing the opposite here with Regulus thinking of his brother as the brother one was very creative!

I love your idea of him wanting to make Sirius proud. I wish so much he'd have had the chance to find out his was his brother who risked his life, well, lost his life to get he Horcrux. It makes me so sad that Sirius died never knowing what Regulus did :(

I love the desperate tone you've created this entire piece in. It matches really well with what I would think Regulus would be feeling those last few days.

Regulus's thoughts about Bellatrix and about realizing that he wasn't taking the world to a brighter place, but a darker, was really eerie. I think seeing how Bella behaves through another's eyes is super fascinating. The section you have about him watching her eyes light up (or something similar) when she kills... oh wow. That was just awesome.

I think the pressure his family put on him to be the Black who helped restore the world would have really driven him to signing his life away to Voldemort. He just wanted to make everyone proud, and you highlight that so well in this one shot. But in the end the only person he wants to make proud is Sirius. Ahh you're drowning me in feels, here!

This was really beautiful, Kiana! ♥

Author's Response: Jami! This was a lovely surprise :D

I'm so glad that you liked the metaphor of the stars, as it seemed so fitting! I've never seen it done the other way round, but it seemed to make sense to do it this way, as Regulus did gradually fade from existence.

I agree about Sirius not knowing about what Regulus did, I think that's possible one of the most tragic things throughout the entire book. I really do hope that he wanted to make Sirius proud, as it would show he wasn't just a death eater.

I'm so glad that you liked the Bellatrix scene, as you write her so well! It just seemed to make sense that he would have looked up to her, and thought she was doing the right thing, and for the relisation to all come crumbling down.

I think the only person Regulus loved in the end was Sirius, so I'm so glad that you loved that part, as I found their relationship so interesting! I'm sorry I drowned you in feels!

Thank you for this wonderful review Jami!


 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore Fading Fast

12th April 2013:
Tag!

I've been wanting to come back and read some more of your stories since I followed you in the review tag last time, so I'm glad I got the chance to come back and read this one-shot!

I thought this was a really well-written portrayal of Regulus and the last days of his life. The contrasting themes of light and darkness and what they represent came through brilliantly here. I like the fact that everything isn't black and white; Regulus has been taught to believe that the side his family support are the 'light' while those who oppose them are the darkness. I liked how that tied in with the colour black as well.

The motif of stars was also really effective, especially since both Sirius and Regulus are named after stars. I enjoyed the way you used phrases like 'burning bright' to reflect the title, but also to show the differences in their characters and personalities. I particularly liked the last couple of sentences: 'He was conceding defeat. The flicker faded. The star had fallen.' It's a really bittersweet way to end the story and I thought it was a fantastic conclusion, bringing the story full circle from the beginning.

Another strength here was the fact that you really managed to get across the complexity of Regulus' character in a short piece. He was only young and was trying to do what he had been told, but realising that isn't what is right he wants to make his brother proud. I love the idea of Regulus writing letters to Sirius before he died. I think you really get across the conflicting emotions Regulus feels about his decision, and some of the reasons that prompted his change of heart. It makes me feel quite sad that he came to such an awful end without Sirius knowing that he had done his best to bring down Voldemort.

Overall, I thought this was a really lovely piece and I'm glad I had a chance to read something else you've written. I'll definitely be reading some of your other stories when I get some more time!

nott theodore :)

Author's Response: I just answered this review, and then my cat pressed back! I guess I get the fun of doing it again :P I'm glad that I didn't scare you away with that one-shot, as I was worried people may think I was weird making the ghoul to be like that!

I'm glad that you liked the contrast of light and dark, as Regulus was always one of those grey characters in my opinion, so I wanted to reflected, and the confusion he must have felt by being trapped in the middle of it all.

I loved the star motif too, and I have to send a big thank you out to JK for giving them those names! I just thought it fitted both of them so well, so it made sense to use it. I'm glad that you liked the last line, as I really loved it too.

I think the reason Regulus interests me so much, is like you said, he's so complex and young you never really knew what he really thought. I would like to think that he tried to make it up with Sirius, as it makes sense in my head, even if it makes the situation even more tragic.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed it, and I would love to know what you thought about my other stuff too!

-Kiana :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by _harrypottergeneration_ Fading Fast

10th April 2013:
I really liked it, it was very interesting :) another thing though, how did you upload your banner? I really want to do one for my story but I cant find anywhere that will allow me to upload one, thanks :D

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you liked it, and that you found it interesting :D As for banner things, you click on edit story, then in the summary there's a little picture thing, and you insert the URL of the banner. There's a better description on the dark arts, but I hoped this helped :)

Thanks for the review,

-Kiana :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by academica Fading Fast

7th April 2013:
Hi Kiana! I'm here for some review battlin'!

I liked how you emphasized the contrasts between Sirius's personality and Regulus's personality in this story, especially how Sirius always challenged people and Regulus just did as he was told and lived in fear. It seems to represent a learning experience from when they both lived in the same house; Sirius bucking the norms used to get him in trouble, and Regulus used to be rewarded for doing what his parents wanted, but now the roles are reversed.

I liked, too, how Regulus's attitude toward people in his life changed as he began to change his mind. I, too, figured that he and Bellatrix would have been somewhat close, and that she would have been intimidating as she grew closer to Voldemort and he drifted further away. I liked how he thought about reaching out to Sirius for help in his final days; it shows just how desperate he became.

This was a really nice foray into Regulus's character. Great work, Kiana :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

I'm glad that you liked the emphasis on their differing personalities, as I think that's what intrigues me most about them, as they both grew up with the same parents, and surroundings yet had such different and tragic lives.

I'm glad that you liked how his attitude changed as that seemed to make sense to me. His and Bellatrix's relationship always interested me too, so I was happy that I got to explore it a little here.

I'm glad that you liked it, and thanks for the review,

-Kiana :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by ScarletEye158 Fading Fast

5th April 2013:
Hey there! This was a very nicely written story :)

I can definitely relate to you about wondering what Regulus was thinking. That's the one thing I always think about when I hear Regulus' name and I always feel really bad for him :/

I'm really glad you added in the parts about Regulus wanting to make Sirius proud. Everyone has at least one person in their life who they want to make proud and I could definitely see Sirius being that person in Regulus' life. :')

I really loved that you compared both Sirius and Regulus to stars, since both of them were actually named after them. It was a really nice metaphor and I thought it was a very clever thing to do!

This was such a bitter sweet story and I'm really glad I read it. I feel so bad for Regulus, but I'm also really glad he started to change and he wanted to make his big brother proud :')

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

I'm glad that you could relate to him, and in a weird way I'm glad that you feel sorry for him, as I feel he's such a tragic character and deserves to be pitied.

I'm glad that you liked the bit about Sirius, I always found their relationship an interesting one, and I thought it would be somewhat realistic that he still felt some loyalty towards him.

Haha I wasn't too sure about the star thing, as a lot of people have already done it, but it was fun to include, so it's good that you liked it. Thank you for this lovely review,

-Kiana ;D


 Report Review

Review #19, by naflower05 Fading Fast

4th April 2013:
Good writing! Regulus is such an interesting character, I think you did a good job portraying him! =]

Author's Response: Yes Regulus is a very interesting character, and I suppose that's why I wrote it, as I've always loved him as he's story is so sad :( Thanks for the review,

-Kiana :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by ShadowRose Fading Fast

4th April 2013:
Hello there, I was just messing around on the forums, and I stumbled across this beauty!

I really love the repetition of your theme of light throughout, talking about how Sirius was bright where Regulus was not, and constantly representing strength as light, especially using the words "burning bright" and fading." The continuous motif really tied the whole thing together.

Speaking of the light thing, I like how Regulus continuously calls what most refer to as the "dark side," Voldemort's side, as "the side which shone light." It really shows how much influence the people Regulus spends time around influenced him.

I love that he wanted to make Sirius proud, and that you portrayed him as the weaker of the two, the one who bent to the will of others, rather than having him openly chose Voldemort's side.

He's a rather complex character, for just a one-shot, because you can clearly see the split mindset he possesses: he wants to please everybody around him, like Bellatrix and his parents, but also Sirius, who is on the completely opposite side of things.

I love how you tied in the astronomy to this, talking about Sirius not only being brighter in personality, but also in a more literal sense, referring to the Dog Star.

As for CC's, I don't really have any, other than the few little grammatical things I noticed, like "He was the good the one." I think that should be "He was the good one."

This was extremely well-written and very entertaining to read! Great job! :)

-ShadowRose

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad that you were messing around the forums as this review made my day :D

I can't express how glad I am that you liked the repetition, I was sitting here thinking god the readers are going to hate me, as it will be boring, so I'm glad that you liked it.

Yes I always found it interesting how each side viewed themselves as the good one, and it would be interesting to see what would have happened if they had won. It also shows how conflicted he must have been!

I didn't want Regulus to seem as if he purposefully choose that side, and that he just wanted to please people, and that he wanted to do everyone proud. I think that's the most tragic thing about him.

I'm glad that you liked the astronomy tie, it was fun to do! As for that error, I'll go and get rid of it and thanks for pointing it out :)

Thank you so much for the review,
-Kiana :D



 Report Review

Review #21, by TenthWeasley Fading Fast

3rd April 2013:
Hello, Kiana! :) You were last up in the review tag, and that fact coupled with the fact that you had a fairly new one-shot on your page makes me glad I saw it in time. I love stories about any of the Marauders or Regulus (which is, I suppose, why there's a lot of them on my page), and was pleased to see that your latest one-shot was just such a story!

I've read a couple of one-shots before that use the metaphor of stars in talking about Sirius and Regulus, and it always impresses me, thinking that HPFF writers are talented enough to use those names and dig into the history behind them to aid in their writing. I especially like how you tied in Sirius's strength -- for Sirius was, in my opinion, much stronger than his younger brother -- to the strength of Sirius the dog star. I don't know anything about the characteristics of the star/constellation Regulus, and you've made me want to go look them up now, just to align them with the Regulus you portrayed here!

I felt really bad for him throughout the course of the story. :( I think one of the things you best made clear was throughout everything, Regulus was a young -- didn't he die when he was eighteen? He hasn't had the time to strip away the moral fibers of his conscious, like so many of the other Death Eaters he surrounded himself with. Except Bellatrix, but she's just kind of crazy anyway. He's impressionable and scared, and I so wish he'd chosen differently. It's easy to see why he chose to join the ranks of the Death Eaters, especially knowing that he and Sirius always butted heads, and knowing that his parents disapproved of Sirius... but it makes you wonder.

I liked all the repetitions you used in this, too. Words like "burning bright" and "fading," which along with your title tied the whole thing together. And I especially liked the last line, a rather clever reversal of the falling star! And Regulus wrote Sirius letters! Just like my Sirius wrote posthumous letters to Regulus. ;)

Good job, Kiana! I'm glad I got the chance to read this; I enjoyed it very much. ♥ Hopefully I'll see you around soon!

Author's Response: Hey Rachel! I love the Marauders and Regulus too, and I have ton of one-shots half-written about them :P

Yes I know that several other people used that theme too, but it just works so well for them, and really shows their relationship. Canis Major is such a big constellation it fits Sirius so well. As for the Regulus star it is pretty big, but not as big as Sirius so I thought it would be cool to incorporate it ;D

I'm glad that you felt bad for him, as that was the aim of the story ;) I think it was the fact that he was so young and that he just died, and it's so tragic. A lot of people forget about him, so I wanted him to get some sympathy here!

Like you said, he wasn't hardened like the other Death Eaters, and that's probably what contributed to him dying so young. Yes it does make you wonder, and I hope if he and Sirius were closer, he may have not joined the Death Eaters.

I'm glad that you liked the repetition, and I thought it would tie in well with the star theme :P Haha yes I hoped that Regulus would try to contact Sirius, and letters seemed the most fitting!

Thanks for the great review Rachel, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it :D

-Kiana :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login