Reading Reviews for The Unveiling
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rae Ella The Unveiling

4th March 2014:
That was breathtakingly beautifuly sad.

Author's Response: Rae Ella,
Well, I'm not sure how you found this story, but I thank you for reading and leaving such a beautiful comment. This one was sad, indeed. And really, that is most of what I write; sad (but usually with a little hope at the end). Sometimes, this storyline happens in real life... the part where you can harbor a deep love for someone for years... who happens to live their entire lives with someone else. Thanks so much for your lovely comment.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #2, by Violet The Unveiling

15th December 2013:
I enjoyed this story very much. To be honest it made me cry a little. You wrote a very beautiful very compelling story. I incidentally happened to be listening to I'm Yours by Jason Mraz while I read your story and I think the song goes well with this story.

Author's Response: Violet,

Ah, thank you so very much for reviewing this very sad story. I tend to write "sad."

You cried? Awe... *sends tissue.* That really means a lot to me as a writer. It is not easy to put to words the sadness and emotions that I'm trying to portray. So, thank you for telling me that. :)

"I'm Yours" is such a sweet song. Thanks for mentioning it. And thanks so much for the lovely review. Your review really warms my heart.

Thank you, sincerely...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #3, by Kacie The Unveiling

20th August 2013:
It was so very sad, but nice!

Author's Response: Kacie,
Oh, thank you very much for reviewing. You are right, it was very sad, indeed. Just writing it brought me to a few tears in thinking of how they could only be together for such a short time.

Thank you sincerely for leaving a comment.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #4, by confusedlover The Unveiling

16th June 2013:
very lovely.

this was unique and beautiful and overall a very sweet and simple story. i really enjoyed this read and you did a wonderful job writing this. keep up the fantastic work!

Author's Response: confusedlover,

Thank you so much for your review of this story. This one made me cry when I wrote it. Just having Draco have these feelings for Hermione after so long, just seemed so sad and quite bittersweet. I'm really happy that you liked it.

Thanks so much for your kind comments. I appreciate them more than I can express.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #5, by KeeganH The Unveiling

9th June 2013:
Wow! I needed a giant box of tissues to finish that story! It was absolutely amazing and the words had so much feeling!!

Author's Response: KeeganH,

Awe... you cried? Well, don't feel bad, because I cried writing it. I bawled thinking about how sad it would be to live your entire life loving someone, but not able to have him until the end. So sad. So heart-breaking.

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review and for telling me how much you were touched. My stories tend to bring tears to people. I enjoy reading and writing sad stories that make me "feel something." You know?

Thanks again. *sends tissues*
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #6, by Harveyboy The Unveiling

6th June 2013:
Loved it so much...so imaginative and original...it was very sad but happy in the end...Draco and hermione RIP...

Author's Response: Harveyboy,

Well, thank you so much for finding my stories and reviewing so much! Thank you from my heart. I shall respond to all of them as soon as I have time.

I understand what you mean by this story being sad, but having a happy ending. These two finally get to be together.

Your comments are lovely and much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #7, by potterprincess07 The Unveiling

24th May 2013:
This was beautiful! It made me cry, but it was also happy because of the love they shared. Bravo!

Author's Response: potterprincess07,

Oh, thank you so very much for giving this story a chance. Awe, it made you cry? *sends tissues*

You are so right about it being sad, but happy because of their love. Really, love can last years and years, even though two people are not together. It can and does remain strong through it all... through everything, love can endure.

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #8, by epikhippo The Unveiling

21st May 2013:
OH MY GOODNESS THIS IS BEAUTIFUL...

Author's Response: epikhippo,

Oh, thank you so very much for your kinds words for this story. I enjoyed writing Draco in this. I think his character stayed true in his speech, being bitter of society's interference, and in finally telling the world the truth, however sad it was.

Your all-caps warmed my heart and made me smile. Thank you sincerely,

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #9, by mary_ducks The Unveiling

20th May 2013:
very beautiful and the ending was indeed sad i think you captured a perfect ending for this story

Author's Response: It looks like your post doubled somehow.
Anyway, thank you so much for your kind words. See below for my response... :)

Thanks,
Sherry


 Report Review

Review #10, by mary_ducks The Unveiling

20th May 2013:
very beautiful and the ending was indeed sad i think you captured a perfect ending for this story

Author's Response: mary ducks,

Oh, thank you so much. I've had some mixed reviews about this story. I think that there is some irony in that he died peacefully, not during a war or in a fight with former Death Eaters or Aurors... just peace and nearly on his own terms (he did need to tell the truth first).

I thought having him ask the same question she asked him long ago would be reflective and really show how much he was still insecure after all those years. "Do you... still love me?" ;(

Thank you so much for commenting on my story. It is very much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #11, by a fan The Unveiling

20th May 2013:
I read your story twice now...and I still cryed my
eyes out..

Author's Response: A fan,
Oh, you are so sweet. I actually edited a typo, which is why it is up again. I wrote 'her' instead of 'him' and it needed to be corrected. :)

Thank you so much for re-visiting and commenting about your reaction. It warms my heart to know that my stories can affect people emotionally. It is a true compliment.

My heart thanks you.
Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #12, by MadiMalfoy The Unveiling

16th May 2013:
Such a beautiful story! :') But such a sad one as well. I can't even describe how good this was, my brain simply isn't working! I'm speechless at the depth of the meaning of this piece and it really made me look inside myself a little bit. This story can be taken in so many different ways that it could change people's lives. Phenomenal writing, as always; your skill and ease with which you write amazes me! Beautiful one-shot. xx

Author's Response: MadiMalfoy,
Wow. Your words truly amaze me. You are correct in saying that this story can be taken several different ways. There are certain themes in it that were purposefully placed. Since you mentioned it, I hope you don't mind if I elaborate.

First, is Draco's scolding of people who glorify war: War, however I do believe is at times unavoidable and necessary, is hell and tragedy. It leaves in its horrific aftermath widows, orphans, unimaginable pain, and ruin, despite amazing heroics and the human side of helping save the lives of those involved as well as the innocent. In HP, they were kids forced into life or death situations that none of them wanted. Harry would agree with him on this.

Draco's scolding of those who judge: People in general are quick to judge a person by their actions, even though they will never really know how they would react given the same situation or circumstances. Even in the real world, people are damned and shunned for their mistakes and poor choices even when deeply remorseful... regardless if it happens in the global public, at work or school, or in the privacy of our homes. It is still humiliating and degrading to be held in such low-life regard. When we are made to feel like nothing, people tend to start believing it and succumb to an existence that defines them as such.

Draco's scolding of influence and interference: He mentioned, "God forbid we upset anyone." The magical public, her friends, and family all expected her to marry Ron. And, his family expected a Pureblood daughter-in-law. Loved ones mean well, but ultimately, people need to make their own decisions without the world's influence and intereference. I also should mention that his scolding was a subtle jab to those who claim to "hate" Dramione. I find negative opinions of my favorite ship nauseating and wanted to pay homage to my feelings on the subject. Yes, Hermione can have another love interest and it can be Draco Malfoy.

Draco's readiness to die: In our youth, in general, we do not think about death so much and most certainly want to live forever. But if you've ever worked with the elderly, you would soon find that some are ready to go Home. When your parents, siblings, friends, and sometimes even children pass, people begin to want to be where they are. It is truly eye-opening. Draco was in that place, the last, everyone gone, and this is why he was finally ready to let go of life and be at peace.

Draco's Faith: In my story, Draco is a believer in God and has faith in life beyond the grave, as do I. Instead of being bitter, he thanked God for every minute he was given with her and thought his 37 days as a divine gift.

Draco's unfailing love over time: Yes, we can have feelings of love for someone that can last an entire lifetime, even if separated and living apart for decades. Ask any divorcee who didn't want a divorce or someone who lost a spouse all too soon. Draco's love had not diminished over time. And even though their time was short, it is his calculated patience in giving to others for her sake... for years... in the hopes that one day should he ever get a fleeting chance, that he would not bring her shame... that to me, is the true tragedy in this story. That kind of love breaks my heart. When you love somebody that much... ;(

There are many themes placed in my story and I cannot thank you enough for your beautiful kind words. To read that you felt so deeply about it boggles my mind and shocks me, but at the same time leaves me feeling so blessed.

From my heart, thank you...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lostmyheart The Unveiling

9th May 2013:
so beautiful! I liked how different it was from others :)

10/10

Author's Response: Lostmyheart,

Oh, thank you so much for finding this story.
You give me wonderful compliments and a very generous 10/10. :)

I had this story in my head for a long while and was finally able to write it all out.

Draco still loving Hermione after all those years just made my heart sad. I'm hopeless with these two. They can be written many thousands of wonderful ways and it can be difficult to truly be 'different.'

Thanks so much for your review,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #14, by a fan The Unveiling

24th April 2013:
what a tear jerker...I cryed throughout..

Author's Response: a fan,

Oh, dear... *sends tissue*

This one was very sad, indeed. Draco loved her for a century, but she was only allowed to be his for little more than a month. :'( Not nearly long enough.

And finally, her true name unfolds on their anniversary. So sad.

Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot to me. *hugs*

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshp The Unveiling

21st April 2013:
Hey! Here to review your entry for my challenge.

Wow, what a beautiful piece of writing. I really liked your portrayal of Draco and Hermione, and of their eternal love. It was so fairytale-ish and I enjoyed it. The way you set this years into the future, with Draco the last living man of his era, and unveiling the statue of Hermione and revealing to everyone that they got married in her final days - it was all very innovative and interesting. I liked your writing style, descriptions and use of vocabulary as well. I especially liked the ending, it was so heart-wrenching yet peaceful in a way.

You did a great job writing this. I loved it! Thank you for participating in my challenge. The results will be out in a few days/weeks. Whether you win or not, you should know that this was a very beautiful and well-written piece of work.

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: AD,

Hello, there. Thanks so much for your inspiring challenge. It got me to finally write out this story that had been in my head for quite a long time.

It it sort of fairytale-ish, but still very sad that he could only have her for such a short time.

Thank you so much for your compliments on the storyline and style. Someone commented on my "writing style" long ago and I thought... gosh, I didn't even know that I had one. Shows how much I know. :)

And yes, now that you mention it, it was rather peaceful in the end. He was the last and was ready to go with her.

Well, thank you again for your challenge and especially for finishing it. So many start them and never follow through and that can really knock the wind out of writers, you know? So thanks so much for that. Win or not, I'm just happy that you are seeing it to finish.

Thanks again for your lovely review. Much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #16, by Elleinad The Unveiling

8th April 2013:
Gosh. Loved the unusual perspective at the beginning. Didn't like you calling him Lord Malfoy. Care to explain that? I'm not sure what it was but this had a unrealistic feel to it. Also the snitch should only open to Harry's touch. Flesh memory remember? It was pretty good but definitely not your best. Urg. I can't think anymore. I liked it but I need to go cry now. See you again.

Author's Response: Elleinad,

Well, thank you so much for your review of this one-shot.

Lord Malfoy? Well, I only did that because he is quite old in this stage of his life and Lords and Ladies are titles used in England and so with his status, funds, and property, I thought it fitting. That is all. It is meant more of a respect thing than anything.

And yes, the snitch... I know about the flesh memory and all, but I kinda took 'poetic license' to bend the rules a bit so that he could see her in the end. Perhaps I should've had Harry put inside somthing else, but I still liked Dumbledore's brilliance in that it opened at the close and not just to have it to use whenever he wanted so that he would'nt have gone mad. Anyway, it isn't canon exactly, so it is right that you say it isn't realistic. Sorry about that.

And you are right, it is not one of my best. But it was written for the sad ending challenge and I think the most important piece is that even though he wanted her all his life, he was only able to have her for a few days. :( Sad, indeed.

Thanks so much for your review. Much appreciated as always.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #17, by Lily The Unveiling

7th April 2013:
I loved this story. Plot, flow, originality, grammar, eloquence of language - it has it all. It was even successful in making me cry.
However, there is one element that is painfully out of character and frankly depressing: your insistent use of 'God'.
Allow me to beg you to desist. You could either follow JKR and replace it with 'Merlin' or you could omit it completely. It's more than jarring and ruins your piece.
I don't want to argue religion with you or anyone else, but I would greatly appreciate it not being shoved in my face.
Thank you for reading.

Author's Response: Lily,
Thank you for your many lovely compliments and for admitting that you cried while reading this. It is a very sad story and I appreciate your comments about it. That was very nice of you to say all of those things.

However, JKR has never replaced God with Merlin. She mentions Merlin as a Slytherin, not a wizard god. This is something that happens in fanfiction, not in JKR's 7 books.

This has actually been extensively researched and well documented in a blog on the HPFF Forum by the Archive Admin to clear up any questions on the subject of religion in the Harry Potter series. It is very insightful and comprehensive with cited page numbers.

You suggest changing my story to accommodate your non-belief. This is something that I am not willing to do in any of my stories.

It was never my intention to shove religion in your face. I simply wrote Draco as a believer and do not think this is out of character at all. He says "God" and "My God" in canon and his mother mentions Easter.

I could not imagine life without God and it is my choice to believe and incorporate that belief in my stories, as JKR did with hers.

Thanks for commenting,
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #18, by NyeThomas The Unveiling

2nd April 2013:
That was so beautiful, I can't stop the tears from falling!!!

Author's Response: NyeThomas,

Awe... thank you. It is a compliment that you really felt for these two. How sad that he was only able to be with her for so few days, but love her for a century? ;(

I had tears while writing it that could not be helped. It is a very sad love story, indeed.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read it and leave a review. It is much appreciated.

*sends tissue to help*
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #19, by Cynthia The Unveiling

2nd April 2013:
A MASTERPIECE.

You, you, you Dark Whisper, did it again!!

How am I supposed to read any another story now?

You are a genius. THANK YOU VERY, VERY MUCH !!!

Still crying... Cynthia.

Author's Response: Cynthia,

Wow, thank you for your compliment.

I had the idea for this for quite some time and when the Sad Ending Challenge came up, I just had to write it out. I admit, I cried while writing, as it would be so sad in real life if it actually happened.

Thank you so much for taking the time to Read and Review. *sends a tissue so that you can keep reading other stories* :)

Thank you so much,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #20, by a fan The Unveiling

2nd April 2013:
oh my...boy did i cry.you put everything in this story...good job.

Author's Response: a fan,

Oh goodness, you really did cry? Well, I have to admit, I cried writing it because if something like that were to really happen, I would cry for days. *uses up all the tissues*

And thank you so much for being 'a fan.' It is so very sweet. Thank you.

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #21, by Lyssa The Unveiling

2nd April 2013:
What a beautiful and sad love story!! Nice job!

Author's Response: Lyssa,

Oh, thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I had this idea long ago and when the sad ending challenge came up, I just had to go ahead and write it all out.

Thanks so much for your review.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login