Reading Reviews for Resistance
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore Petunia Dursley

14th March 2014:
Ah, and I've reached the end of this short story collection - I've enjoyed reading it so much! Having Petunia as the final chapter was something that confused me at first, but after reading this chapter I'm convinced that it was the perfect choice. I've also been meaning to say in each review (but forgot, silly me) that I like the John Milton quotes at the beginning. They seem to fit well with what's going on with this story!

The news reports at the beginning of this chapter were quite shocking in a way, and really helped to give us a recap of what had happened over the course of the story. I liked the sneaky mention of Verity - is she actually going to become a journalist in Magpie? (This collection seems to be bringing together all your stories!)

When it moved to Petunia, I loved the fact that you started it with the line resembling the first book, because it just felt so normal. I can definitely imagine Dudley's kids being just as spoiled as him, and Petunia and Vernon choosing to spoil them and splash out loads of money on them. The poor things - they've not got much chance in life with a start like that!

I'm really pleased that Petunia decided to open the card, in the end. And the way that you wrote her taking it in, and all her thoughts as it happened, was just perfect. You got such a good grasp on her character, and I can't stop being impressed with the wide variety of people you're able to write about and yet make each one an individual.

I'd never thought before that Lily Potter would remind Petunia of her sister, but now it seems obvious. And I'm glad that she got some of her old self back here, the one who loved and cared for her sister no matter what!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 20/20

Author's Response: Hola! :)

Aw, I'm so happy you liked it, and I really appreciate you taking the time to come through it. I'm glad you liked Petunia, she was always going to be the last chapter. There was going to be a chapter in between Stan and Petunia which I think would have bridged the gap between them a little - it was going to be Rita Skeeter, but the chapter wouldn't come together and so I fit the newspaper articles in instead.

I'm glad you liked the Milton quotes too! :) As you might have noticed in certain other stories, I tend to be inspired by and use as headers whatever I'm studying at the time. It's quite funny, looking over them later. :) And PL seemed to fit this story quite well in an odd way.

I'm glad you liked the news reports, they helped summarize the story for me as well and tie all the characters together. And yes, Verity! :D All I can say is that this story is pretty much canon for both GFS and Magpie, so at some point, one day in the far away future, Verity will publish at least one article in the Daily Prophet. :P Ahh, I have so much work to do on that story... :(

I'm really glad you liked the line from the first book, it felt like the perfect way to segway into the Dursleys. I've been having this strange plunny to write a Dudley/Daughter of Dedalus Diggle story someday, but this was my first attempt ever to write the family. I know, poor kids... I felt that Petunia and Vernon would be almost worse with Dudley's kids than they were with him, in fact.

I'm glad she did as well! The relationship the Potters would have had with the Dursleys in the future is very interesting to me. Thank you, I'm really happy you liked how I wrote her! She's so nasty, and I wanted that to come across along with her vulnerability.

I'm glad you thought it was realistic! :) I felt that Petunia, being surrounded by all these boys for so many years, would connect with the little girl who shared her blood. Although I felt like most likely those moments were quite infrequent, it's nice to let her have a lovely moment.

Thanks so much for all these reviews, love! :D I loved receiving and responding to them! ♥



 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Stan Shunpike

14th March 2014:
Jenna, how do you keep managing to write such dark scenes? This one went from something quite calm (albeit sad and me feeling sorry for Stan) to something chaotic and terrible so quickly!

You managed to capture Stan's character really well, I thought. A very big well done to you for writing with his accent to better convey his voice - that must have been so hard to do and I'm really impressed with the effect of it, because it felt like Stan was actually speaking the words to me and because of that I felt so much more empathy for him.

I liked the fact that you also picked up on the fact he's slightly uneducated and because of that he found it harder than most usual protagonists might have to follow everything that was going on and to know what to expect for his future.

Ugh, Umbridge is so revolting, but of course she'd still have - somehow - managed to retain her power and her position in the Ministry and be prosecuting the Death Eaters with just as much vigour as she once prosecuted the Muggle-borns! It doesn't surprise me at all that she's there in the middle of this scene.

I felt so sorry for the boy, Henry, as he told his story and they thought about whether or not Stan had actually been a Death Eater. It was never truly clear in the books and I think it's quite easy to believe that he might have been, purely because he was so easily led and it might have been just as easy to recruit him as it was to Imperius him.

The ending was majorly chaotic and horrible, with everything just erupting. I really got the sense that all these tensions and troubles have been bubbling up for months and this was just breaking point. It was a good insight into what's going on in the rest of wizarding society at the same time as these moments, and the way that they're dealing with the world that's been left to them.

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 19/20

Author's Response: Hi again! :D

I have no idea! This was before I got into my really dark phase here too, so I'm pleased you liked it. I've quite enjoyed revisiting this story through your reviews. :) And yes, it did go downhill very fast... in my head canon, at least for GFS, the post-war world is still a very dark place, and this scene does show that.

I'm really happy you thought I wrote Stan well - I debated a little, but felt it was important to convey some of his voice through the narrative. Also, it helped me get into his head a little. I'm really relieved to hear it helped you connect with him!

Exactly! He was quite an interesting character to write as usually my narrators tend to be quite quick-witted and intelligent (and crazy, in some cases...) so he was very different.

I know! Somebody told me that Umbridge was sent to Azkaban, which makes sense, but in my head - at least at this point in the story - she's still sneaking her way around and lying to the right people and probably paying off the wrong ones. She's a great enemy to have and having her there was meant to show how unfair the prosecution is and how the world is still quite corrupt. Really, HP is no fun unless there are some evil Ministry officials lurking around and being corrupt and difficult.

I know, poor Henry! :( It's a horrible story. I wanted to leave whether Stan was Imperiused or not up for interpretation and let the reader decide. In my head, he was a bit of both. He actually comes into GFS at some point soon-ish so I'm quite looking forward to that.

I know! I'm really pleased you liked that scene, however. It was quite horrifying but reflected my idea of the chaotic times and how without Voldy, everyone is still turning on one another.

Thanks for the brilliant review! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Filius Flitwick

14th March 2014:
Oh... I'm struggling to find words for this chapter, really I am. This portrayal of Flitwick was so sweet and thoughtful that I just wanted to pick him up and give him a hug. Out of all the teachers that are focused on after the battle, I think that McGonagall is the one who receives the credit for caring for her students, so I love your decision to write Flitwick instead and show how the events have affected him.

The way that his thoughts kept coming back to Grace, the last body they'd found in the castle, was so moving. I think that image would really have stayed with him, haunted him, and it was a good illustration of the survivor's guilt that he must have felt after watching so many of his students and the people he had taught falling. The fact that he had to speak at funerals emphasises that, too.

I'm really, really hoping that this short story collection isn't the canon for TGfS right now, because I'm not sure I can cope. The detail about the centaur revolts and poor Firenze was really sad, but when you mentioned Anthony Goldstein and his best friend I just... no. Not allowed to happen, Jenna!

The fact that he dedicates a day to mourning each of the fallen was such a sweet idea, even if it's not necessarily the healthiest thing to do. Dedicating his efforts to rebuilding Hogwarts and teaching again must have helped though, and I love Hermione for trying to make things better for him!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 18/20

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, thank you! :) I'm so pleased you liked this. It was actually quite a tricky chapter to write as I was originally going to write about Filch, but when that just wasn't working out I spontaneously changed to Flitwick. I agree, I've rarely seen him written but he was lovely to imagine.

Yes! I felt that Grace and her death was kind of the emblem of all the suffering and pain that he had witnessed. He's sad about the other students as well, but she represents that pain in a visual way. I'm glad you thought it did a good job of survivor's guilt as well, that's what I was hoping for.

Ahh I know! I can't believe I wrote that, especially as I've grown more attached to Anthony since writing him in GfS. :( Until I wrote the Terry POV chapter I cared about him less for some reason. Ah well, we'll all just have to wait and see what happens, but it might not be what it seems... (this sounds so cryptic... really I'm just indecisive even about my own stories :P).

I agree, it really isn't very healthy and I think, hopefully, he would snap out of that eventually. I'm pleased you liked Hermione's appearance - it's one of the few times I've tried to write her but I was pleased with how she was supportive and kind to him.

Thanks for the wonderful review, on all these chapters! It's been quite fun hearing your thoughts and predictions for GfS! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Firenze

14th March 2014:
Oh my goodness, I was not expecting this when I saw that this chapter was going to be about Firenze! (Also, you got my 600th review a couple of reviews ago, but because I'm in a bit of a frenzy I didn't realise :P)

I really enjoyed reading this from Firenze's point of view. I honestly can't think that many people would have thought to write about him in the hours after the battle, even though the war has clearly affected him and the other centaurs too. (Give me some of your mind, I want to know how you come up with these things! :P).

I was so sad about the way the other centaurs reacted to him arriving back in the forest, especially Bane. I get the feeling that the majority of them would have been okay with his return if it hadn't been for what Bane said, but they do seem to follow him quite a lot and he's one angry centaur. Understandably angry, of course, but it's not Firenze's fault that they got involved with the war or that the war started in the first place.

Oh, the mentions of all those animals that had died was really touching. It's easy to forget them in light of the humans that were lost, but this chapter was a moving reminder.

Is that boy Theo? I think it might be Theo... no! What if the centaurs hurt him after all he's been through? But then again, I think there's probably more to his character for me to discover in TGfS, but even so...

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 17/20

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

Congratulations on hitting 600 reviews! :D That's so many, and within just over a year, and you leave such thoughtful and long reviews as well, so that's so impressive.

I'm pleased you liked hearing about Firenze! When I sat down to write this collection I had a list of characters to write about, and he was one of the first ones who popped into my head. I think the centaurs are so interesting and restless, and that they might cause some trouble AV (haha). I think part of his story came from wanting to use the centaurs as a plot point way in the future... :)

I agree! If it weren't for Bane and his slightly tyrannical leadership, I think the other centaurs were shaken up from the battle and would have been ready to forgive and forget. They are taking out the anger and fear out on Firenze, which isn't far, but I felt they would be quite upset and traumatized after the battle.

Aw, I'm glad you liked the animals! I imagined that Firenze would be especially attune to their sacrifice.

Hehe, it could be... :) Only one novel and a few chapters to go until we reach this point in Tor's story, and I'm quite excited for it.

Thanks for the lovely review, my dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Thanatos Nott

14th March 2014:
Hi again! I've wanted to read this for a while and though I'm not up-to-date with your other stories I thought this would be a great opportunity for it!

This was a great chapter for a short story collection! Of course, now I know that Pyxis will survive the war, but there was no mention of Theo so he could be one of those who was mentioned as being dead in TGfS... anyway. This was brilliant, really.

You captured Nott's character so well, I thought. I know that all we ever see of him in canon is a name, but I think that you showed two conflicting sides to his personality here and yet again succeeded in making the Death Eaters seem that little bit more human. I loved the fact that his first thought - the first thought that we see, anyway - was about his sons, and wanting to know where they are. That really shows how much he loves them and gives him that human side, stopping him from becoming a monster.

And yet, at the same time, he seems to completely lack remorse for what he's done. Which isn't surprising, given how soon after the end of the battle is, but I think that's really good to show in this story. He still doesn't care that he's killed people, not even when he's confronted with poor Andromeda, but that ties in well with the fact that we know he believed in and supported the Death Eater cause, and must have been willing to do what he did.

I also loved the AV - Apres Voldemort. If it was actually called that it would be really funny :P I want to know what happened to Theo, though!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 16/20

Author's Response: Hi Sian! :) You are so wonderful for spoiling me with all these reviews and reading this story, really. It's especially exciting since you've read GFS and Magpie so can spot all the little clues and spoilers. :P

Yes, Pyxis survives the battle. :) Part of the problem with writing this was that now I have to hold true to all these decisions I made last year... but Pyxis was always going to survive, I like him too much. :) Hehe.

I'm pleased you liked Nott! I've been writing him a lot in GFS lately and using this as backup for his character, and I'm pleased you like him. He has that dual identity of being a father and a Death Eater, and though he's not a monster he's far from being a hero.

And yes! I really don't think this story redeems him at all. And poor Andromeda... AH this reminded me of something in GFS that needs to come up soon! Thanks! :P

I'm glad you liked the AV! It helped to situate it, but seemed to suit the story as well.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by UnluckyStar57 Thanatos Nott

7th January 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the Twelfth Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing.

I love that you've devoted an entire short story collection to the immediate aftermath of the Battle of Hogwarts. It's not something that I see a whole lot, and this first chapter is incredibly interesting to me!

Thanatos Nott... What a great name. Thanatos is, after all, the Freudian term for the part of ourselves that longs to destroy. How fitting, then, that Thanatos Nott destroyed the Tonks family when he killed Ted Tonks. It is in his nature to kill and hurt--his very name indicates that!

It's also goodto have a Death Eater's perspective. Of course, after the Battle, what are you supposed to do with the members of the losing side? It makes sense to imprison them, and it's what they deserve. Their concern for their children is touching and it reveals that they are not so brainwashed by Voldemort's ideals that they feel no love or pain for their families. I thought that Thanatos' memory of Theodore was particularly touching. It is incredibly interesting that the son did not grow up to become his father.

Great first chapter! Happy Twelve Days of Reviewing! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm so glad you decided to review this story, I'd nearly forgotten about it! :P

I'm glad you liked the idea- it was actually for a challenge a while ago on the forums which was so much fun to work on. I'm really happy you liked it!

Yes, I felt that Thanatos was the perfect name for a death eater! I actually got the idea from a minor greek god of death, but the fact that it's a Freud term as well is really interesting and fits so well!

I felt that the darker side of things was quite interesting as well and the challenges would continue on after the battle. I'm gad you found his worrying about his children interesting and that they still have some depth. I felt that it was very tragic and complicated as well and I'm glad that came across.

Thank you very much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by handknittedsweaters Thanatos Nott

18th August 2013:
Hi there! It's lemonpeeps with your review you requested years and years ago. I got super wrapped up in summer and work and then forgetting didn't really help either but I have arrive and I hope I do you justice with this review.

Looking over what other people have said too I agree completely with your ability to dive into the death eaters head and just capture obsessiveness. Props to you!

Like you asked, it does make a great introduction to a short story, I feel tension and anger and grief and feeling emotions are great in writing. Your characterization is very well done I have more on that later in the review

Also you have a very well written beginning that makes the jump in very enjoyable. I really don't have that much critique to give you.

One small thing relating to characterization I really wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't been reading it so closely but did you mean to have Nott grow more human as the chapter progressed because I find that he is. I wouldn't say that that's a bad or a good thing but if he is suppose to then I would try to make that a little more obvious so it doesn't look like a mistake and if it's not its really cool and you should really make it a little more obvious so that it stands out just a little more.

I hope this is what you were looking for!

Good luck

ox,
lemonpeeps

Author's Response: Hello! :) That is perfectly alright, I'm just glad I got to read your amazing review!

I'm glad you thought I did well in diving into his head, and studying the motivations of what makes him an obsessive Death Eater. I'm glad you thought the beginning was strong enough, and that it worked as an introduction to the entire short story collection, even if all the chapters are rather different.

I did want to have him grow more relateable and human, and to kind of blur the lines between good and evil if that makes sense. He has done some horrible things, but he also has some admirable and relateable qualities, which is what I was going for! I'm happy you picked up on that, and will try to figure out a way to make it more prominent!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review, I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by ValWitch21 Petunia Dursley

28th June 2013:
I am absolutely mortified by the time it took to get back to this. *wears hat of shame*

Right, so having commented previously on the socio-political background of this story, I've got to say that I loved the inclusion of newspaper clippings at the beginning. It was an amazing way to tie all the loose ends together, and the fact that you kept characterisation perfect makes them even better. Umbridge is such a horrid woman, and obviously we know the motivation behind her hate of the centaurs. Also, front-runner for the Wizengamot Elections? How could people be so stupid?!

Ah. And then we switch to the Dursleys, who, admittedly, deserve their closure as well.

What I adored about your Petunia is how very canon she is. She's intensely dislikeable, of course, putting everything magical into a bracket she refuses to reopen, but at the same time I found her almost endearing, in the sense that she's nothing but an ageing woman overwhelmed by things she cannot understand.

ACK THE FEELS. THE FEELS OF LILY'S MENTION. (And of course I mean Lily the First, not Lily Junior)

Thank God I'm not typing this review at four in the morning or I would be sobbing my eyes out.

Evans in the quizzical tilt of her head. Evans in the softness of her hair. Evans in her thin face. Evans in her bright glow, emanating throughout the picture and warmly melting all that it touched.
She looks like me, Petunia thought to herself. Like us.


This quote reduced me to blob of emotions. Then add the fact that the dog is named Moony and you've got yourself an unpresentable Val.

NO. You did worse. You wrote about Petunia saving a little share for Lily. WAH. I'm sorry for how incoherent this is turning out to be but you are repeatedly stabbing at my poor feels.

Ah and this final section is what makes this chapter so perfect. You see, you could have had an emotional Petunia suddenly feeling forgiving, but no, you balanced her out with selfishness and bitterness and everything else that makes your Petunia the same as JK's.

Overall, this was an amazing story and I'm really happy you offered me a chance to read it!

Author's Response: Hi! :) No worries at all about the delay, this awesome review more than makes the wait worthwhile!

I'm so pleased to hear you liked the conclusion of the story and the continuation of the other stories. Hopefully it managed to tie the fragments of the different chapters together! I know, Umbridge really is awful, and I thought it would contribute to the unfairness and corruption of the story if she managed to claw her way out of being punished and back into power.

I'm very pleased you thought Petunia was canon and well-written! :) I wanted to make her as dislikable and typical as possible, but with a small hint of redemption. I love your description of her as being overwhelmed, and it seems exactly right. In many ways, I see Petunia as being very immature and out of control.

Haha, aw I'm happy to hear this brought the emotions! Thank you for quoting that section to me, I'm so pleased you enjoyed that bit. :) And the "Lily's share," it was a bit of a spontaneous addition but it's lovely that it was appreciated!

Really, Petunia fitting with JK's is such a wonderful compliment. I didn't think it likely that she would completely change from the selfish, horrible woman she is to Harry, and honestly she might be boring to write if she was. I'm so pleased you liked her. :)

Thank you for another wonderful review, and being so kind and supportive about this story! I loved reading your reviews and really appreciate how thoughtful they were! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by magnolia_magic Firenze

14th June 2013:
Hi! I'm back with your (very late) requested review. Thank you so much for coming by to re-request! I loved your first chapter, but this Firenze story is by far my favorite of the two :)

I love the mythical tone of Firenze's narration. I'm almost exclusively a Founders writer, and the style of a centaur's thoughts and dialogue remind me very fondly of that era. This chapter almost reads like a legend, or a folk tale. I especially love any part where you describe the stars. Those first two paragraphs...wow. Gorgeous :)

I do think this chapter contrasts a lot from the first in terms of style, so you're in no danger there. I can clearly distinguish Firenze's voice from Thanatos, who was much more bitter and less lyrical in his narration.

As far as content itself, I was riveted by this story! So intense and powerful! I was so hoping for a happy ending for Firenze, but with the darker tone of the overall piece, I wasn't too surprised at the outcome. And I found Firenze himself fascinating; you did a great job of showing what an enigma he is. He isn't a human, but at the same time he isn't quite a centaur anymore either. He thinks differently, he doesn't see his people in the same way after living among humans. I loved him, and I was so disappointed when Bane called for his death.

Bane's rage is almost theatrical, but at the same time I understand where he's coming from. That's the kind of "villain" that I love; the one you're conflicted about. You did an awesome job at creating two well-rounded characters in Firenze and Bane.

Okay, I'll stop gushing now! I absolutely loved this chapter...thank you so much for requesting it! Feel free to re-request any time, and PM me if you want to talk further. I'm a little slow, but I'm always happy to review your work!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hello! :) I didn't think it was late at all! :D

I'm so glad you liked this chapter, it really means a lot to me as I loved writing it and have grown very attached to Firenze! I'm so happy you commented on the style fitting the mythical centaur, and that it reads like a legend. That's such lovely praise, so thank you! :)

I'm also pleased the voices of the two characters were distinct, and Firenze seemed unique in his own right. For some reason these two chapters flowed really smoothly for me when writing them, and it was entertaining imagining two different sides of a conflict and the reactions to the battle.

I'm really happy you liked the content of the story, it's wonderful to hear! And sorry about the darker ending, but like you said it is a rather dark story overall! Ah, I love your comments on the portrayal of Firenze, as that's just how I see him: he's a sort of hybrid who both fits in and is rejected by both the centaur and human worlds.

I'm glad you mentioned Bane as well, and that his rage was believable if not entirely excusable! I see him as an individual who is both driven over the edge and going mad with power while taking advantage of his people's trauma.

Really, thank you so much for this amazingly lovely review! You are just too great, and getting your feedback on my story really means a lot to me and makes me happy. I'd love to re-request, and I'm excited to find out what you think of the next chapter! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by patronusflight14 Petunia Dursley

14th June 2013:
beautifully written, i loved the way you wrote from the povs of characters that jkr didnt use much!!

Author's Response: Hi! :) Thank you so much for your lovely words, I'm so happy you enjoyed the story and the differing perspectives! Thank you for leaving a review! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshp Petunia Dursley

10th June 2013:
Hey! Here for review tag again xD

Yay I am glad I got a chance to come back and finish this story =) It was truly a very interesting collection to read.

I loved how you chose Petunia Dursley as the last character of your collection. An interesting choice indeed. I think the way you incorporated the newspaper clippings to sort of bring closure to all the previous chapters/characters was brilliant, and then how you connected it with Petunia was superb. I loved the re-use of "Mr and Mrs Dursley of Number Four..." lines, it added a very realistic touch to the narrative.

Your portrayal of Petunia and her feelings towards Lily was also very believable, and very touching. I liked how you maintained her canon characterisation, like how she dreads the christmas card from the Potters, but added your personal touch to her by turning her into someone who still cares for her dead sister and misses her, and wants to keep a part of her (sort of).

I think it was very believable that Petunia would actually cut out little Lily from the picture and throw away the rest of the picture. The little detail of how the picture reacted (Harry looking puzzled and one of the boys crying) was really cute as well.

All in all, I really enjoyed this chapter. You wrote Petunia very well, ended the collection perfectly, and did a great job with the story over all. I loved reading this =)

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

I'm so glad to see you back, and it's wonderful to get your opinion and feedback on each chapter and the collection as a whole. I loved writing it!

For some reason, I couldn't imagine ending this story in any way but with the Dursleys, who kicked off the HP books! I enjoyed writing Petunia, though she just wouldn't work in first person like the other characters. It's good to hear the newspaper clippings worked out as well, and succeeded in tying the story together. Thank you for this feedback! :)

I'm also pleased you liked the characterization of Petunia, and her feelings towards both the Lilys. I thought that her actions in the memories in DH redeemed her and gave her a little more depth as a character, who would have loved and mourned her sister in her own way. It's also wonderful that you mentioned the figures in the picture, as that was a fun little detail to include.

Thank you so much for reviewing this whole story, I really appreciate your kind and thoughtful words! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshp Stan Shunpike

10th June 2013:
Hey! Here for tag.

Oh my, this was indeed so terrible (in a good way, if that makes sense). I liked your characterisation of Stan. I think it suited him, the way you expressed his thoughts. The whole thing was written in such a horrifying manner, especially the end, and I loved it. There were some amazing descriptions and awesome imagery. You really got across the terribleness of the situation so great work there. You also described Umbridge perfectly!

All in all, this was definitely a very interesting take on Stan's hearing and I really enjoyed it. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter, as it's the one I'm the most insecure about. I re-wrote it so many times before deciding to just post it! :P

I'm glad you liked Stan, and how his personality and voice was portrayed. It was a bit of an experiment, so I'm thrilled to get positive feedback. Hearing that the imagery was well done is just lovely as well! :)

Thank you for a lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshp Filius Flitwick

5th June 2013:
Hey! Here for review tag. I am glad I came over to read this chapter, I am enjoying your writing very much!

This chapter was indeed very well written. I think you expressed Flitwick's pain amazingly. The attachment he felt towards the children, the part about Grace, the part where he's visiting the graves of the fallen, and the ending of Hermione coming up to him was all so well done. My heart was literally clenching at reading this entire thing, it was oh so sad, and yet I liked how the ending was hopeful. Your descriptions were simply amazing and drew me in, and you had some beautiful imagery.

Apart from a few grammar errors here and there, this was perfect and I loved it. Great job!

10/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello again! :) Great to see you back at this story.

I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter, it seems to be most people's favourites out of the whole collection which is very lovely. I loved writing Flitwick and imagining how he would react to the situation. Hearing that your heart was clenching is just such wonderful praise! :)

Thank you so much for this very lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by HorseMad99 Firenze

28th May 2013:
Hi it's your requested reviewer!
I really liked the reference 'Mars is bright tonight' it makes it clear immediately that this story is being told from the point of view of a centaur even if a reader didn't see the chapter title.
The bit about the unicorn made me really sad especially 'it chose to fight in human wars, and it has paid the ultimate price' it really made it obvious why centaurs don't like to associate themselves with humans other than the fact that they are very proud.
It was also really sweet as well as sad that the people of the leaves stayed with the unicorn whilst it was dying and then put it out of it's misery to prevent it's suffering.
It was really sad that some of the centaurs died too, it showed that no one really escaped the battle unscathed.
'my people wounded for human pride, this last sanctuary of ours invaded by their death sticks and their greed' this really made me think that the whole war had no affect on the centaurs at all until the battle of Hogwarts where they were dragged in simply for the fact they lived near.
I really wanted to kill Bane when he said 'Thr traitor Firenze...the lover of humans, of obedience. What is your purpose in returning here? You are banned from these woods' It really annoyed me that Bane was too proud to forgive him. The centaurs lost enough people to be stubborn and lose another over a stupid argument.
'There is nothing more proud than a centaur, unless perhaps Hippogriff or a Malfoy' this worked really well because it injected a bit of humor into this very sad chapter.
I really want to know who the boy was or did you just write him without actually giving him a character/ name?
I think that is was really sad/ a real shame that Bane couldn't bury the hatchet and forgive Firenze.
This was an amazing chapter, it made me really sad because it is so well written and really moving. The flow and structure is perfect. I can not fault this!
100/10
Feel free to re-request.
Beth :)

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm glad you liked the little references to centaurs to set the scene, and enjoyed the story. I felt so sorry for the unicorn too, but it just showed how unfair the whole war was for everyone involved.

I know, Bane really is horrible, isn't he? Then again, he has been through a lot and I thought that the tension with the centaurs was building through the HP books, eventually it would implode on them. You're right, they should have stuck together and appreciated the centaurs living instead of fighting amongst themselves! :(

I'm glad you liked that little bit of humour! I thought it would be something Firenze would say, especially after being around humans for a while.

The boy is a character in my novel The Girl from Slytherin, but for the purposes of this story he could really be anyone who was in the wrong place at the wrong time and got caught in the centaurs' quarrels.

Thank you so much for this really thoughtful and lovely review, it was a real pleasure to read! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by ValWitch21 Stan Shunpike

26th May 2013:
This is reducing me to a pile of blubbering feels.

There was something about this chapter that really hit the nail on the head in terms of characterisation, be it Stan's or Umbridge's. To be honest, I always thought she' be one of those to be judged as well, rather than the one judging.

Another aspect of what I love about this story is the way you convey a sense of what's going on in Britain as well as what's happening to characters. Even though you never insist on it too much, the political and social fluctuating climate is omnipresent, and extremely well done.

I apologise for the shortness of this review, but my mum has just walked into my room again and scolded me because I have a big exam tomorrow, so I'll get to the final chapter of this tomorrow evening. If I forget, please, please remind me that I still owe you a review!

I can't wait to read chapter five, and I'm also very thankful I got to enjoy this (almost) in one go :)

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you enjoyed the characterization and the chapter, as it was certainly the most difficult to write. I kept going back and editing things before deciding to just post it and see what happened! I think that JKR said Umbridge went to Azkaban for her hate crimes, but I imagined that she would somehow maneuver and manipulate her way back into power. It just seemed like the kind of unfair thing this wizarding society would allow.

Speaking of that society, I'm happy you enjoyed the addition of the political context. The characters are small pieces of these events, but bigger things are happening around them and affecting everyone. It's wonderful to hear that is coming across well.

Oh no, good luck with your exams! :) No worries, I still owe you two reviews which shall be arriving shortly. Thank you so much for all your lovely and wonderful comments! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by ValWitch21 Filius Flitwick

26th May 2013:
Ah, more loveliness!

In one of my Next Gen stories, I see Flitwick as an old man a bit on the barmy side, but I think this chapter has changed my perception of him forever. There was something heart-breaking about the way he remembered everyone, particularly Severus. I don't think I've ever read a story where a member of the staff considers him to be their friend, and it made me sort of teary.

I'm a bit at loss for words with this story, so I'm going to move on to the next chapters before I start to babble, but this is amazing.

Also, side note, but I love the fact that Mrs Norris' tail reaches up to Flitwick's nose. Filch's appearance here slipped in perfectly, and I don't think I've ever enjoyed reading about him as much as I did here.

Which brings me to my next point: what I find so incredible about this is the way you humanise characters who were never given much space to flesh out. Everything is spot on, and most of what I read is quickly becoming my head cannon.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad this changed your idea of Flitwick, and that the story gave him some depth. I was originally going to write about Filch, but somehow Flitwick seemed like a more pensive character who would have been scarred by seeing the students he was supposed to protect killed. I'm glad you liked the addition of Snape as well, and I imagined that since they worked together for several years there would be some attachment. Also, Flitwick seems the type to feel guilty for hating and doubting Severus the last year of his life.

I'm so glad you liked Flitwick's characterization, and I really enjoyed imagining the space that he inhabits and what it must be like being that small. Thank you so much once again for this really lovely and thoughtful review! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by ValWitch21 Firenze

26th May 2013:
Good grief, you certainly know how to write your somber characters.

I most certainly was not expecting that ending, to say the least.

Bane seems mentally deranged to me. I don't know if that was the point, but his strive for supremacy reminded me of the Death Eaters, actually. Contrarily to Thanatos, I feel like nothing about Bane gives him a chance for redemption.

On the other hand, Firenze was amazing to read about. There is something very innocent, and at the same time not at all, about his approach to the other centaurs. I think the best word to describe him would be hopeful: he radiates hope, but without being deluded.

Moving on to chapter three -- I wonder who you'll greet me with this time!

Author's Response: Hello again! :) Yes, this collection is rather dark, isn't it? The last chapter is probably the most lighthearted, I think... well, relatively.

That's interesting that you didn't think Bane was redeeming, and I agree. I feel like centaurs, despite being very complex beings, have very neutral and uncomplicated emotions, with the exception of Firenze. So right now Bane is just fuelled by anger and hatred, and there isn't room in his drive for pity or forgiveness. But I loved how you compared Nott and Bane! :)

I'm glad you liked Firenze as well, I really wanted to do him justice and bring him to life. You're right, he's very hopeful that the others will see things the way he does, even though he sadly suspects that they won't.

Thank you for another amazing review! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by ValWitch21 Thanatos Nott

26th May 2013:
Hi Lululuna (had to recount the lu's in there)!

Wow. Just wow. The way you got into a Death Eater's head was stunning and flawless. The pace, the train of thought, the way he was persuaded to be fighting for something better... It was all eerily scary, but at the same time, I could understand why and how this man had been lured into fighting for what he believed was right.

What particularly struck me was the opposition between despise of his son for turning around, and at the same time deep love for him. I felt terribly sad when Theo rejected Thanatos and spat to the floor, despite the fact that Thanatos (love the name by the way, and how very fitting for a Death Eater to be named death) is someone who doesn't deserve that we be sorry for him.

Andromeda's inclusion was perfect too -- her anger is competely justified, even though I don't approve of her reaction. She reminded me of Bellatrix there.

A few tiny mistakes I spotted:

"Supporters of the Dark Lord," McGongall begins You forgot an a in her name.

Her eyes tensed into narrow slits, her wand pointed straight at my heart. "You. Are you Nott?"

Slowly, I nodded.
This is in past tense whereas the rest is in present tense.

Other than that, this first chapter was, like I said, flawless. The flow was particularly beautiful, in my opinion, and I can't wait to get to chapter 2!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so excited that you liked the story, and thought the writing style suited the characterization. It was surprisingly natural for me to write Thanatos, and I'm glad that the contrasts which define him came across.

Ah yes, I thought that name was just too perfect to pass up! I'm really happy you felt sorry for him, despite him being a rather awful person. He does have some redeeming qualities, like his love for his sons, and I wanted those to come across. I'm glad you liked Andromeda as well, and that you compared her to Bellatrix! :) I actually imagined an angry Bellatrix fuelled by love instead of cruelty when writing Andromeda.

Thank you for pointing those out, I shall go back and fix them! :) Thank you for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by hopelessDREAMS Filius Flitwick

23rd May 2013:
Hey there!

One thing I want to point out, is that Aguamenti is a more complex spell, usually done by sixth years and above. Eleven-year-old's only do simple spells like Alohomora, Wingardium Leviosa, Lumos, etc. So I'd be careful next time when assigning spells to students.

Otherwise I loved Flitwick's point of view very much. How he cared for those lost and was glad to see those that survived, return. My favorite part was the memorial for Hogwarts, I always imagined they have something to remember the fallen, so that's a relief.

Apart from that, it was well written and the emotion kept me going. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Hi! I guess symbolism trumped authenticity in this case, haha. Thanks for pointing that mistake out!

I'm glad you enjoyed Flitwick, I had a lot of fun writing him as he's such a great character. Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by HorseMad99 Thanatos Nott

23rd May 2013:
Hi it's your requested review
I'm sorry it has been so long, I have been so sorry.
Wow, that chapter was just amazing, it was really powerful and I like the idea that it was told from a completely different point of view and it gave a perspective of the other side of the story.
I really liked the quote 'the generation lost to the dark arts' its really chilling and scarily reminds me of 'the lost generation' who were the people alive around the time of the First World War, they were called 'lost' because so many people died which is really similar to what has happened because of the battle of Hogwarts.
I also really love the quote 'we had fought for a better world, for a society cleansed of sin, we were revolutionaries but we have fallen' this phrase in particular is really powerful because quite a lot of the death eaters were fighting for what they had thought was right which reminds me of Les Miserables, I really liked the idea that they were revolutionaries.
I thought it was really sweet that he was relieved that his sons would not be servants of the Dark Lord because he knew how much he had suffered despite the possibility that at first he thought he was fighting for a worthy cause.
The quote 'they will not toil or fear as I have feared' really makes me think about how emotionally scarred or insane most of the death eaters must have become because of all they have gone through.
I also really liked how Andromeda got her revenge, he lost her husband, daughter and son in law so she really deserved to get angry at someone for it and I'm really glad that you wrote wit so that she could, it makes me feel like I can put the character of Andromeda to bed now because despite not getting to fully get revenge she did at least get to let out some of her fury onto her husband's killer.
I also really like the idea that this story will be told from many different people's point of view at many different points after the Battle of Hogwarts. I really liked this chapter it was so good!
Feel free to re-request, 10/10
Beth :)

Author's Response: Hello! :) You didn't take long at all, and me putting in the wrong link certainly didn't help! Sorry about that again, btw! :)

I'm very excited that you liked this story! I enjoy writing opposing points of view, and Nott was an interesting character for me to explore. Hearing that the story was powerful is just lovely.

That's such an interesting comparison of the generations! I'm glad that line stood out for you, I liked it as well. It's so tragic that young people (and all people, really) were lost and lost their loved ones in this war.

I like to imagine the DE as thinking of themselves as the good guys. It's deluded, but justifies their awful actions. To himself, Nott is a revolutionary, while to others he's a villain. However, this doesn't mean he wants the same fate for his sons, especially since he's chosen the losing side. I'm so happy that contrast came across!

That's such a good point about the DE themselves being traumatized by what they've experienced and done. I'm so happy you read that message into it!

The Andromeda part was completely unplanned, but just felt right. I'm glad you liked it, and I hope I did her justice and gave her a sense of justice as well.

Thank you so much for this really lovely and kind review, and I hope you don't mind if I do re-request! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by hopelessDREAMS Firenze

22nd May 2013:
Hey there!

I'm afraid I don't have much to say on this chapter except that despite him going against the other centaurs, Firenze was trying to help the boy whom they captured, trying to spare his life. It showed that he would go through any lengths to help another creature out; human or otherwise and that shows great bravery.

Great chapter once again, keep it up!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked it, and thought that Firenze was brave. He's certainly a great and noble character, and I enjoyed writing him. Thank you for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by -BookDinosaur- Firenze

22nd May 2013:
-BookDinosaur- here with your requested review!

I really liked this little story-I feel like you really managed to get inside Firenze's mind and it felt like he was really telling us the story. Not only did you capture his voice, but you captured his centaur-ness as well, with the frequent references to the sky. I've never read anything from a centaur's POV, but you pulled it off brilliantly.

I feel like the emotions of the centaurs were very realistic-they wouldn't be coming out of a war with level heads and minds, and if it were me, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be able to think objectively either, so I think the whole 'rising up against the wizards' thing made sense.

And ahhh! The ending. WHY?! Well, since I want everything to turn out perfectly for Firenze, I am going to believe that he ran away very fast with the foal. (*lalala, I'm not listening to anyone who says otherwise lalala*)

Although if I put my emotions away, the ending does make sense :(. And I suppose it would have been unrealistic if Bane changed his mind. Boohoo.

Anyway, a brilliant chapter that I thoroughly enjoyed reading.

Author's Response: Hi! Good to see you back at this story!

I'm glad you liked it and that Firenze's character felt authentic. I really enjoyed writing him and imagining his thoughts, so hearing that he came across well is just wonderful to hear. I never thought I'd write anything from a centaur POV, but it came surprisingly smoothly! :)

I'm glad you thought the rebellion against the wizards made sense in the post-battle context. I wanted to show that not was all quite well, and that Voldy's fall would lead to more conflict in the wizarding world.

Haha oh no! You can maintain your own ending if you like! :) But I'm glad you thought it did fit well, emotions aside.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by magnolia_magic Thanatos Nott

20th May 2013:
Hi! magnolia_magic here with your requested review! I have to say, I don't read a lot of stories that focus on the Death Eaters, so this was a great chance for me to explore a new part of the HP universe. Thanks so much for requesting!

In answer to your question, yes, this definitely is original! I've never even thought about Thanatos Nott, let alone read a story from his point of view. And I think you'll find that a lot of readers are in the same situation. This kind of gives you free reign for his characterization, though, which gives you a lot to work with.

One element of Nott's character that I think you did really well is his underlying love for his kids. You don't shy away from his Death Eater evil-ness, which I think is appropriate (and some of his thoughts are so chilling and hateful--great job there). But then you'll have these oddly...sweet?...moments when he's thinking about Theodore. I love that you show us the opposing thoughts and emotions he holds; he definitely feels shame that his son betrayed the cause, and yet he's so relieved to see him free and safe. I just LOVED that awesome contrast :)

The moment when Theodore spits on the ground while he's looking at his father...gahh that was so sad! Because underneath all the politics and hate, it's so apparent that Thanatos would never want his son to have to suffer a Death Eater's fate. That moment kind of broke my heart, but it was also so beautiful to see a Death Eater show the self-sacrificing attitude of any other parent.

I really do think this works well as a stand-alone piece. You explain everything adequately enough that I never felt confused. And I love the style of Nott's narration! It's very lyrical and beautiful, but also so bitter. Great job there.

I really did love this! You did such a wonderful job, and I'd love to read more of your work! Feel free to re-request whenever you want :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so happy you liked the story, and that is was something fresh to read. I really like writing the DE and Slytherins, so this was really fun for me! :)

I really liked writing Nott, and I'm glad he came across well. You're right, I had a lot of freedom to invent his character and had a really clear picture of him in my mind. I'm so happy you liked the contrast between his evil and softer sides! The fact that while Nott was a loyal Death Eater but didn't want his sons to necessarily follow the same path was very important to his character for me!

Thank you so very much for this truly lovely review! I'll certainly be re-requesting, I'd love to know what you think of the next chapter! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by -BookDinosaur- Thanatos Nott

20th May 2013:
Hey! -BookDinosaur- here with your requested review! And no, I'm not sick of your writing. I love reading your writing. :P

I really liked this short story, I think that you portrayed Nott really well. You managed to give him a sense of loyalty and awe for Voldemort, (as opposed to just telling us he was loyal to and loved Voldemort, like most authours do) and he really believed that what he did was right, which was very realistic. Also, his conflicting feelings for his son was just so well written. I could really see him telling me the story, hear his voice in my ear, you just brought him to life in my mind.

I love that you are writing about a minor character, on the Dark side, during the aftermath of the fight. It's a really refreshing idea, and lots of authors have trouble developing a minor character with canon guidelines but their own personalities. I'm glad to say you've done that exactly right. ;D

As a companion piece to The Girl From Slytherin, I think it works really well, although it does give some spoilers... Generally, though, it complements The Girl From Slytherin really well.

All in all, a really great short story I really enjoyed reading.

Author's Response: Hi! Aw, you're too sweet! :)

I'm glad you liked this story and Nott, and that it seemed to "show" his personality and motivations. I'm glad you liked his conflicted feelings for his sons, since it really gives him some more humanity.

I really enjoyed writing him, and imagining how DE post-battle would feel. At the time of writing this, I had way too many conflicting ideas for the future of GfS, and felt like I needed to get them down! Even though this moment is really far away in GfS, it's great to hear that it complements it well!

Thank you so much for another awesome review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by adluvshp Firenze

20th May 2013:
Hey! here for review tag =)

Ah I am pleased I got a chance to come back and read this chapter of the story too!

I loved your portrayal of Firenze, and the way you narrated his thoughts was very realistic, and in line with canon. The whole scenario with the centaurs was very believable too, and quite sad. They were all very much in character. The ending made me gasp, I do hope Firenze was able to run away =(

All in all though, it was a great chapter! Your concept was brilliant and I enjoyed the way it was all written. I could connect with the narrative emotionally =)

Great work once again!
10/10
Cheers
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hi! Great to see you back! I'm glad you liked this chapter, I really enjoyed writing it as well. It's really great to hear you thought Firenze was well portrayed, and that the centaurs fit with what we know of them in canon. I was worried that I wouldn't get them right, but writing this warlike side of them was quite interesting. I'm glad you connected with it emotionally, that's always lovely to hear! :)

Thank you so much for another great review!! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>