Reading Reviews for The Missing Painting
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mimi Chapter 15

5th October 2014:
That was such a lovely and original story! I loved it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ChinaDoll Chapter 15

30th July 2013:
I read this last night and now I'm re-reading it, in case I missed anything before I review.

Fist off; I really like how you start with the house not being used to the drunk cheer that is Draco, being egged on by 'Painting Hermione'. The part that I feel is odd is where you enter his parents room, you mention it's their bed room but you don't say their sitting up in bed. (at some point you put something in there but it isn't until Narcissa gets up.) So while I was reading I made my own conclusions and had them sitting in a small area with chairs. (maybe by a fire) In their room but not in their bed. The way you described some of the things Lucius doing, sounded weird when I had them in chairs so I didn't get a good Idea until it says she got up from their bed. This is an easy fix, just need to add a word or to so your readers know what your talking about.

The other point I have is soon after she leaves the room, 'Winky' the house elf, which in number four book is given cloths by her old master, then go's to work at the school with Dobby. Now the way you write her it doesn't really sound like the 'Winky' from the book. If she's your own then that's fine, but I think you should state this. Or if she is the 'Winky' from the book, that fine as well. Just keep us in the loop.

When I got to chapter four; I really enjoyed the Krum family, but I wish you at least introduced his older children. Not all of them I realize there are eleven in all but a few names and such make it just enough fun with out droning on and on.

I was very pleased with the fact in general that you married him off, instead of him mooning over Hermione.

When reading I don't like affair plot lines anyway, but I just can't see Hermione ever doing such a thing no matter how lonely she is, the first time is one thing, she didn't know he was married. And this is not the worst I've ever seen either, I'm just adding this as a side note. I don't think it's very in character for her. And on top of it if she was really interested she could have any single man she wanted, the FedEx guy was into her.

I'm sure the '(Break)' things where useful at the time, but I wish you had edited them out once you started to write again.

I felt the back and forth trying to find the right cloths a little Cliche but I suppose it's all in good fun. I was glad though that once you got them together it was sweet and loving, instead of overly sappy. (If anyone thinks this is sappy, I have a book for them to read, then they'll know what I mean.)

I'm not sure how I felt about the 'magical pregnancy' because that's the only thing it could be. Food cravings don't start that fast. So anything I might have to say on that point would be shot down by the 'Magical pregnancy' I must admit this is the first fan fic I've read with that plot point though.

I was with Draco on this one, Hermione should have named the kitten something different...

Overall it's a charming story one that I intend to keep in my read list. I felt it was a little rushed at a few points but I think that's just me. Because I read it in one sitting, instead every time you updated.

Thank you for writing I'm giving you a 8/10 rating.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review. I am glad that it was memorable enough for you to sit down and write some criticisms and imagine how things should have gone, and even give me a rating...how thoughtful.

Story and plot points aside...and you didn't comment on the ones that I struggled with, so I guess they slipped through...The (Break) is in there because there are a lot of FF sites that don't easily accept things like * (this comment box won't even let me enter more than one star) or dashes to indicate that there is a break in the story. They aren't really chapters, more of a place that you, dear reader, need to take a breath and get ready for a scene change.

I guess if I was inclined to write a 700 page novel, I could get you from scene to scene seamlessly, but alas, I have a life.

Thanks for reading and giving me your feedback.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mrs_H Chapter 15

10th July 2013:
Very well written story. One of the best "return to the Wizarding World" stories I've seen. Fast pace, good writing, and excellent dialogue. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: That's very kind, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #4, by bookworm530 Chapter 14

21st May 2013:
Cute chapter.I can't believe there is only one left!

Author's Response: Thanks! It is in validation now, so we're essentially done!

 Report Review

Review #5, by themadhatter Chapter 14

20th May 2013:
Great story so far. I feel it's a little rough around the edges but time and revisions help. Personally I would have gone a little bit more emotional on the part of Ginny especially when Hermione returned. Do not stop writing. I'm not very good at giving constructive criticism (I always feel like it looks condescending) but I do like the story.

Author's Response: The key for me was to keep it from going on forever. Sure, the reactions of Ginny and Hermione could have gone on for chapters. I didn't want that, as it's not Ginny's story, so I console myself in saying that they will reconnect as time goes on.

Also, condescending implies all kinds of emotional attachments between the two of us, so no, I don't look at it that way, you are entitled to your opinion. I like my little story enough to not get hung up on people's reviews. Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #6, by bookworm530 Chapter 13

19th May 2013:
Yeah! I am so glad that Hermione has had a happy welcome so far.can't wait until the scene at the Burrow! And when will Draco find out about the baby? Update soon!!!

Author's Response: Should get validated soon, and then just one left after that. I like the Burrow chapter and how everything goes with Ron.

 Report Review

Review #7, by megthechef43 Chapter 13

17th May 2013:
Rusty,

That was a big curve ball you threw us with Narcissa. I was wondering how it would play out in this chapter but I guess we will have to wait for Draco's reaction. Yeah!! Hermione is finally back in touch with her true self. I can't believe she could deny magic for that long because her knowledge of magic is quite extensive. Anyway, I think it is great that she is welcomed back into society with open arms from everyone. I find it weird that George called Hermione "Granger", normally only people who disliked her called her that. She was almost apart of his family at one point so I think it threw me off just a little. Reunion time in the next chapter!! I can't wait for everyone's reactions, including Draco's.

Until next time!!

Meg

Author's Response: I think George was rightfully ticked after she left them all. She was like family, so that is what he said...in my head at least. Just put the next chapter in for validation...we are fast approaching the end! Next chapter is dinner at the Burrow.

 Report Review

Review #8, by bookworm530 Chapter 12

12th May 2013:
This fic is just too cute.super excited that Draco and Hermione are together. I wonder how Draco will react after he finds out about the baby...or should I say babies? Update soon!

Author's Response: Keep reading, there are a few twists left.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Greenfaery Chapter 12

12th May 2013:
I love this story! Please keep at it as I really want to see what happens.

Author's Response: Thank you, The next chapter is in for validation.

 Report Review

Review #10, by AppreciativeReader Chapter 11

9th May 2013:
WOW. The chapter was worth all the wait.

Currently I just cannot express how powerful the chapter was.

Excellent writing.

Author's Response: Thanks! I had to edit it a few times to get it past the censors, so sorry for the wait. I guess there was just too much "below the waist" content. I ended up removing everything that would make it PG-13, and I was afraid that dulled the impact. glad that you still liked it. The next one is in now, and hopefully will be up much faster since it is nudity-free!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Kacie Chapter 10

2nd May 2013:
Ugh its awesome!! I love the connection between Hermione and Draco. It's just so cute! Update soon please, I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Next chapter is waiting for validation!

 Report Review

Review #12, by bookworm530 Chapter 10

1st May 2013:
Very sweet...can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #13, by pottermaster97 Chapter 10

1st May 2013:
Love it! you are so amazing can't wait for more

Author's Response: No, you are amazing, thanks for reading.

 Report Review

Review #14, by pottermaster97 Chapter 9

26th April 2013:
this story is so good can't wait for more xxx

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #15, by AppreciativeReader Chapter 8

20th April 2013:
Wonderful chapter.

Its a unusual Dramoine story, so far we have seen lots of characters and I love what you have done in portraying them. This is the first ever story in which Hermoine's father is portrayed more than a father in background.

Can't wait to see how the story unfolds.

Love it.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by pottermaster97 Chapter 8

20th April 2013:
love this story can't wait for more xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by pottermaster97 Chapter 6

16th April 2013:
love it can't wait for more xx

Author's Response: Thanks. I have several chapters complete and they are just going through the queue.

 Report Review

Review #18, by bookworm530 Chapter 6

15th April 2013:
I hope they can get Draco and Hermione together!!! There is nothing love can't heal

Author's Response: Keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #19, by pottermaster97 Chapter 5

12th April 2013:
love it can't wait to read more x

Author's Response: Great! Chapter 6 is posted now and 7 is in the queue.

 Report Review

Review #20, by kidsy89 Chapter 5

9th April 2013:
So i really love this story and I can't wait to find out what happens between Draco and Hermione!! plus can I just say how much I LOVE Narcissa and Lucius! They may seem ooc from the books but I absolutely love the dynamic of their relationship you created! It's awesome...can't wait til you update again!

Author's Response: Thanks. I agree that they are OOC from the books, but I like to imagine that they softened a bit after the war, and they are quite decent people now. Next chapter is already in the queue.

 Report Review

Review #21, by bananasareamazing Chapter 4

7th April 2013:
oh pls update! I love this story so far!!! It loks really good!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Just waiting for the next one to validate...

 Report Review

Review #22, by bookworm530 Chapter 4

5th April 2013:
That was an odd place to leave of the chapter, hmmm.interested to see what happens, update soon!!!

Author's Response: Hmmm, maybe the next one picks up in a place you like.

 Report Review

Review #23, by bookworm530 Chapter 3

28th March 2013:
So do Hermione and Draco have a past or not? She seemed to still hate him...interesting that she chose to be unplottable. Update soon!!!

Author's Response: You are going to have to keep reading. Just posted the next chapter and am waiting for validation...

 Report Review

Review #24, by bookworm530 Chapter 2

25th March 2013:
Oh wow, so it isn;t the real Hermione...I didn;t see that coming. Did Hermione and Draco fall in love and then split up? Is that why he wants a painting of her? Update soon!

Author's Response: I just finished chapter 10, and am waiting for them to approve chapter 3...it takes a while.

 Report Review

Review #25, by megthechef43 Chapter 2

25th March 2013:
Rusty Weasley,

I understand now. The first chpater was confusing at best but this chapter has cleared things up and I understand the story. It was a great bit of mystery carrying through. I can wait to read about Narcissa's journey and how Draco fell for HErmione.

I'll be reading on...

Meg

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad it got sorted out. I tried to make that first chapter a little mysterious...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>