Reading Reviews for Derwent Demented
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Caroline Derwent Demented

1st July 2013:
Loved it! I read the girl from slytherin (amazing!!!) too, and I've finally understood the lone dementor with the red apple reference when they all visit azkaban :D

10/10

Author's Response: Hi! :) I'm so happy you liked both GfS and Derwent, and understood the reference. The next chapter of Tor should be arriving in the next couple of weeks! Thank you so much for stopping to leave such a lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Derwent Demented

28th June 2013:
Aw, this was really cute! I never thought that would be a word I'd use to describe anything relating to Dementors, which in my opinion are one of the creepiest, scariest things in the Potterverse, but there you have it. I adore the back story you've given Derwent, and how you can even tell what he was like as a person. It's a neat explanation you've provided for what happens to a person who gets the Dementor's Kiss, too. We never heard anything from Barty Crouch Jr after GoF and I always wondered what happened to him!

I love that you chose something as simple and innocent as gardening to be Derwent's hobby. Cultivating a garden is practically the opposite to Dementors' taking away happiness, which creates a nice parallel. And I love that Derwent is a fan of bad puns. It made him so much more human! And how even Dementors still worry about their children. Poor Derwent. :(

Also, I love that Bellatrix Lestrange's happiest memory is kissing Voldemort's feet LOL.

This was a great read, and very refreshing, it's so original. Nicely done :)

Author's Response: Hi! Glad to see you venturing off the GfS path and checking out this little story of mine! :D

This was such a random idea but I really loved writing it and imagining the character of Derwent and giving Dementors a little life. I made up a lot of what happens to a person after being Kissed, but hoped to show how Derwent retained some of his personality and hopes even in soulless Dementor form. It's a little hopeless, but fun to write, and I liked giving Barty Jr. some closure as well.

I'm glad you liked gardening as being Derwent's main identity, and appreciated the contrast! I know, I feel so bad for Derwent too, but perhaps he still has hope. :) And yes, that doesn't say much about what brings Bellatrix happiness, does it? :P

I'm glad you liked this silly story and thought it was original, that's such lovely praise. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Derwent Demented

1st June 2013:
Hi darling! Here for the review tag.

As ever, I loved this story. It's so unique to read something from a Dementor's perspective, so I think you've done brilliantly here to find something so original to write. Dementors are always portrayed as such soulless creatures in the books so it's actually really enjoyable to read something from their perspective, especially when you add so much depth to them.

I loved the background story you created for Derwent and his family; it provided a real contrast to the life they now lead and the horrible atmosphere of Azkaban. Something else I thought was really clever was the use of the surname Diggle - it's nice to think that Dedalus might be one of his descendants!

The idea that the recipients of the Dementor's Kiss go on to become Dementors themselves is really interesting, and I thought you used the little we know about them very effectively in this one-shot. The jokes Derwent was making were really funny - I can definitely imagine his children groaning at them and begging him not to tell them in public.

I felt so sorry for Derwent here. It's really adorable that he wants to find his family again and I thought you got the balance between sadness and humour just right. I hope he does find them!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hola! :)

I'm glad you liked this story, it was just this fun little idea I wrote one rainy afternoon! :P I had so much fun giving a soulsucking Dementor some personality, and coming up with Dementor lore and Derwent's story, so I'm glad you enjoyed!

Ah, I'm glad you liked the Diggle reference! Poor Derwent doesn't even know how much time has passed, but I imagined Dedalus being Derwent's great-grandson myself.

I think I based Derwent's jokes on my dad, he's just like that as well! I did wonder how Dementors became they way they are, and the zombie-like effect seemed to fit. I'm glad you feel sorry for poor Derwent, and I hope he finds his family too! :)

Thank you so much for this lovely review my dear! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by HeyMrsPotter Derwent Demented

15th May 2013:
Hello! Here from the forums for your requested review. I always love reading your work :)

I've never read a story from a Dementors perspective before, it's a very original and unique idea and it really made me laugh! I loved his terrible jokes, particularly the Dementor ones and the part about Dementors being swept out to sea, just brilliant!
I think this had a perfect balance of humour and sadness, the part where he explained his family life was heart-breaking; feeling sorry for a Dementor is a very odd feeling. I'd never imagined that they had once been human but it makes perfect sense.
Your descriptions are flawless, as usual! You wrote the atmosphere of Azkaban perfectly and the inmates and their memories were lovely additions to the story.
His quest to find his family is actually adorable! I really hope he eventually did-poor Derwent!
Thank you for requesting this review, it's always an absolute pleasure to read your writing :)

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked this story, and thought it was original. It was this strange idea that popped into my head one day and I knew I just had to write Derwent. I'm glad you liked the jokes as well, and that you felt sorry for him, strange as it is to empathize with a Dementor. It was so fun to imagine the little details that make up the history and daily life of a Dementor. Thank you so much for this lovely review, it makes me so happy that you enjoyed the story!! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshp Derwent Demented

14th May 2013:
Hey!

Here for review tag!

I definitely enjoyed this one-shot! It was a very unique plot idea. I have never come across a story from a Dementor's POV before! I liked the concept of the souls of the people that get kissed turning into dementors, that's something i never thought of before but now it seems plausible!

I liked your main character, and liked reading him, and I hope he finds his family! He should be able to xD The narrative was clear and flowed smoothly, and made for a light fun read.

The alliterations were a little too much at times, like some sentences were a little too long-winded to read, but apart from that, this was pretty awesome and I liked it very much.

Great job!
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this fun little story of mine. It's a little strange, but was a real pleasure to write, especially the details that went into creating new Dementors.

I'm glad you liked Derwent as well! His voice was rather unexpected for me but still a lot of fun. I think he'll be able to find his family too! :)

Thank you for pointing out those CCs, they are very helpful! I do tend to play around with words a bit too much sometimes, haha. :P

Thank you for a lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Illuminate Derwent Demented

2nd May 2013:
Hi! Review Tag!

I've never ever read a story in the point of view of a Dementor before! This must have gievn you a lot of free-reign in terms of how they think, move, feel, how they become Dementors in the first place.

This oneshot is so imaginitive! I didn't know that being Kissed by a Dementor made you one yourself, but it makes so much sense. I like how you describe Kissing a human as a "harvest," it makes it sound more creepy, and how they can feed on memories quite literally.

You made Derwent's prose seem quite cheerful in a way, but as he remembers his family and his life it becomes desperately sad. I really feel for all of them, especially poor Duggle who's lost his whole family.

I really want to know what happens next xD It's very sad, but very well written. Good job!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked the story. I had so much fun imagining what it would be like to be a Dementor and coming up with the cheerful but lonely character of Derwent. It's great to hear you thought it was both funny and sad, as that's what I was hoping to convey.

Aw, poor Duggle, I feel so sad for him too! It would almost have been worse for him to see his family turned into Dementors in a way.

Thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by HandofGlory Derwent Demented

1st May 2013:
Review Tag!

Wow, a Dementor's POV! Never saw that before! And one with a sense of humor, despite all the gloominess that is associated with these creatures.

It is also sad, after Derwent sucks in the memories of Barty Crouch Jr, that he now gets his memories back as well and is wondering where his family is. I wonder how a Dementor really distinguishes one from another.

Funny how all of there names begin with the letter "D." How coincidental.

Good funny, yet sad story.

Author's Response: Hello! I had a lot of fun imagining Derwent's character, his strange sense of humour and his memories. I'm glad you thought it was both funny and sad, as that's exactly what I was going for! :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan Derwent Demented

26th April 2013:
Well, this is certainly something new and different. I really enjoyed this, who knew that Dementor's could make puns or had a sense of humor!

I got a confused when I got to the part where I was reading about when Derwent was human but then I remembered that Dementors were created from misery and sadness and everything cleared up. That was actually a pretty clever idea though. I never thought of the Dementor's as being human before they became what they were.

Anyway, awesome job on this!

Author's Response: Hello, I'm glad you enjoyed this!! I had a lot of fun imagining what was going on in those spooky hooded heads. Yeah, I kind of drew off the line from HP that said when Dementors kiss someone, they "reduce you to something like itself... soulless and evil," so I decided to interpret that as creating new Dementors. Not that my Derwent is exactly evil, though!! :P

Thank you for your kind review!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heaven Derwent Demented

26th April 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

When I read the summary, I thought this was going to be a super emotional read, but then I start reading this, and I'm like, "This is pretty funny!" and then I get to the end, and I feel like crying. If the idea was to put your reader through an emotional rollercoaster, you succeeded!

This was actually a really lovely read. Derwent was wonderful as the narrator. He seems to have accepted his lot in life, and I like how in the end, he wants to connect with his past, and find his family.

I really love the Dementor lore that you've built up here, too. We don't know that much about Dementors, but your interpretation of them is delightful! I really liked your attention to detail, here.

And honestly, I reckon Derwent will find his family. He does have eternity, after all.

Author's Response: Hola! I'm glad you liked the story, and that it took you on an emotional roller coaster! This story was just one of those goofy, funny ones to write but I definitely wanted there to be some longing and emotion in there as well.

So happy to hear that you liked Derwent- he was such a pleasure to come up with. The Dementor lore was fun too: I love picturing them as having some form of political systems and history.

I think he'll find his family, too! :) Thank you for such a lovely review!!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by GingeredTea Derwent Demented

15th April 2013:
First of all, I thought this was an amazingly unique story. I found myself laughing and frowning with the underlining sadness throughout the one-shot. I reached the end and wished there was more! This is one of those stories that I scratch my head and wonder how in the world someone thought it up - but it is so cool. :)

Author's Response: It's so great to hear that you enjoyed the story and thought it was unique!! Also, it's good to hear that the balance between goofiness and sadness came across. I'm not even sure how I came up with it, but it was a lot of fun to write :P Thank you for your review!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by CherryBoom Derwent Demented

15th April 2013:
Hi! I noticed that you and the next writer after you in the tag had both reviewed me, leaving you you without a review. So count this as compensation. =)

I really liked the idea of this one-shot. It was one of the most original fan fics I've read, and I wouldn't mind reading more about Derwent and his quest for finding his family. I do hope he will find them.

The wholesome backstory with gardening and happy family compared to his present state and being stuck in Azkaban was a really nice contrast. The ending where he tried to offer an apple to another dementor and then glided away still clutching it, was very visual scene. I could really imagine it in my eyes.

Excellent story. Maybe you could write more about Derwent? And of course, I'm very much interested in why dementors attacked his family. =)

Author's Response: That is so nice of you, thank you for thinking of me!! :P It's great to hear that you liked this one-shot, and that you thought it was an original POV. The idea just kind of came to me, and I thought it would be really fun to write!

I'm glad that you enjoyed the contrasts with Derwent's past life and his current one as a Dementor. I'm not sure why I picked him out as being a gardener, but it just seemed to strangely fit. Also good to hear that the scene with the apple was effective.

I haven't decided yet if I'm going to leave this as a one-shot or continue it-I really liked writing it but haven't quite re-discovered the muse for this story! But your feedback is very encouraging. :)

Thank you so much for the review, I really loved it!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Carolynn Derwent Demented

14th April 2013:
I'm here with your requested review!

I really like it! The fact that it's in a Dementor Point-of-view is great, I've never read a story like that before!

I really like the line 'I might be Derwent Dementor, but I will not be Derwent Defeated.' That is a very powerful line. Good writing!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed the story and the dementor's point of view, it was very fun to write! :) Also good to hear that you liked the line. I enjoyed playing around with the language and with the letter "D", haha. Thanks for the review!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by yerawizard27 Derwent Demented

6th April 2013:
I have to say I really enjoyed this! It's such an unusual idea, to have a story told from the POV of a dementor. I'd never even considered it before, but you've pulled it off beautifully. I love the way even though it's told from a dementor's POV, it isn't heavy or depressing at all. In fact, I was snorting to myself over the jokes at the beginning.

I love that you took a shot with some thing that not a lot of people would try. It definitely paid off! Well done :)

Author's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed the story!! :) I had a lot of fun writing it and imagining what it would be like to actually be a dementor, much less one as pensive as dear old Derwent. Also happy you appreciated the jokes :P Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, your kind review is very appreciated!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by HallowsAndHorcruxes Derwent Demented

18th March 2013:
This is such a unique story and I loved it. All those little corny jokes at the beginning I loved as that's just my sense of humor. This is also written really well as it isn't a hard or heavy chapter but you still learn so much about Derwent and his past! I found it to be a very clear and insightful first chapter, which is good as it always people to decided whether it would be a story that they would be interested in reading!

All points for having all you character (not including the cannons mentioned) names beginning with D! While some people may not like it, I certainly did as it gives the story a nice little quirk to it and will give people something to remember it by. Also I must say I am liking Derwent's character very much and I am hoping that he does at least find one of his family members! Can wait to read more of this story!

~Hallows!

Author's Response: Hello, I'm glad you enjoyed the story and the corny jokes! Thank you so much for your kind comments, it's very encouraging :) I had a lot of fun writing this story and am happy that showed through in the writing!! Thanks so much for reviewing!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Peaches and Knives Derwent Demented

17th March 2013:
Wow, this is so new and creative, I am DEFINITELY interested. Derwent seems quirky and lovable; I never thought that I would enjoy the POV of a Dementor, let alone feel so much hope for one to find it's family! Excellent idea, and brilliantly executed! Keep updating, please!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked Derwent and his story!!! He was so much fun to write, Dementors could be seriously misunderstood creatures for all we know!! This was written as a one-shot but I'm pretty attached to Derwent and want to see him find his family, so maybe his story will continue, we'll see!!! :) Thank you so much for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by AHeat Derwent Demented

14th March 2013:
LOVED this! What a new perspective!
I really enjoyed your writing, too. You definitely have a voice, one I intend to keep reading :)
Keep it up!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked Derwent and his story!!! I loved this review, thank you for your kind comments :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by rogue_bludger Derwent Demented

13th March 2013:
i really enjoyed this! i never thought about how dementors were created..they seem somewhat zombie like in your story (which makes a lot of sense). either way though, this was fun to read, and i do feel bad for Derwent. Here's to hoping he finds his family!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, I'm so happy you liked it! I liked the idea of Dementors having back stories and personalities, and have become rather attached to Derwent haha. I hope he finds his family too :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login