Reading Reviews for Childhood Dreams
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lady_devil 13 Years

8th March 2014:
For the Blackout Battle!

I like this story a lot; it's just so cute and adorable to read about, I always liked Ginny, even though she doesn't get much attention in the series.

I especially like how you did half the story when she was a child and the rest when she was an adult and all in first person, giving insight to Ginny as a character more thoroughly.

Beginning with her 7 year old self, this has to be the sweet child written point of view who dreams big! The pretend wedding to Harry, so cute and well written that I could picture Ginny crushing on him before she meets him and when she does it grows stronger.

What I defiantly enjoyed the most about your story is including her family. They are all so in character and I am laughing so much! The twins, never a moment they are not up to something, even when they're at home.

Fast forward to her actual wedding day, love it completely, what she always wanted is coming true! I enjoyed the whole process from getting ready to the actual ceremony. The ending was perfect; it ended the same way you wrote when she was 7 and telling her mother

 Report Review

Review #2, by missclaire17 13 Years

19th July 2013:
SUCH. CUTE. FLUFF!
I really like how you did a part of it when Ginny was seven years old and then later when she is twenty years old. I loved seeing the similarities, like the very beginning of both parts and the end, when at first Ginny told her mum that she was going to marry Harry and at the very end she said she was married to Harry.

It's also a nice comparison because when you think about all that it took for Harry and Ginny to get there, I'm seriously just in awe at their relationship. All of the things that it took Harry and Ginny for them to finally be married at the end is seriously just so amazing because when Harry and Ginny finally WERE married, all I could think about is that there was nothing more that Ginny deserved than to see her seven year old dream come true.

Spectacular one-shot! (:

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad you liked it! I was definitely going for the parallelism between the ages, so I'm happy that you noticed those!

And yes, those two have such an amazing relationship, and I love knowing that little 7-year-old Ginny finally got her wish. :)

Thanks so much for reviewing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #3, by PitchBlue 13 Years

30th May 2013:
Hello,

This is brilliant. You've captured Ginny perfectly, even with 'tough' sides included! I particularly liked the sentence:

"But I was Ginny Weasley. I was stronger than that."

That was a nice touch. I also love how you incorporate different details from the books - like with Mr Weasley's car, and when Mrs Weasley says that Fred and George will never be professionals. That had me chuckling.

It had an overall good story flow to it, and the childhood memory gave it a nice touch. Loved it!

- PB

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you liked my portrayal of Ginny - I tried to stay as canon as possible. :)

I loved including those little book details. I was actually laughing to myself at times when I wrote them, actually.

I'm glad you liked this, and thanks for reviewing!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Katniss Evergreen 13 Years

14th April 2013:
It's a very sweet 1 shot. I loved it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you did! Thanks for the review! :)
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #5, by KeyWitch22422 13 Years

14th April 2013:
awww. i'm gushing all over my living room right now :')
great story with perfect writing :D
looking forward to more of your stories
Xxx

Author's Response: And I'm gushing all over this review... This is so flattering! Thanks so much for the review!
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #6, by RosieQueen 13 Years

13th April 2013:
Aw, so sweet! :D I love reading about young Ginny, it always makes me smile. (Which this one-shot definitely accomplished!) I loved how in the beginning I was slightly confused if I was reading the actual wedding, and then later I realized that it was just Ginny pretending. Absolutely adorable! Great job. :)

~Rosie

Author's Response: I love that this made you smile. :) Thanks for the review! :)
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #7, by Aurorofthelight 13 Years

13th April 2013:
Brilliant! Wonderful! Delightful! Amazing! Did I say Brilliant already?! The is was an absolute joy to read and I thank you for giving us this little gem! Hope to see more of your talent soon!

Author's Response: Oh wow, this is super flattering! I'm glad you like it!
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #8, by willow1 13 Years

13th April 2013:
aaww! so cute! very good, so cute!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #9, by aquabluez17 13 Years

24th March 2013:
Awww! That was soo cute.

I loved the way you showed the parallels with what Ginny said at the end (obviously that was on purpose).

Some CC's I noticed were “I love you, Mum[.]”

It should be a [,] not a [.] since you are continuing the sentence and not ending it right there.

Great work though! I really enjoyed reading this =)

Author's Response: Gah, grammar... I love it, but I still seem to make mistakes all the time. I'll go back and fix that up ASAP! Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it!
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #10, by tortoise 13 Years

23rd March 2013:
First off, I have to say that this was very cute and enjoyable to read. I never read fluff, but this genuinely put a smile on my face.

I loved the beginning scene where young Ginny pretends to be wed to Harry, especially when she throws the flowers into the air, that was adorable. It also ties in nicely to the end, with her living her fantasy.

It's well-written with no noticeable grammar errors, and I think this one-shot was overall very nice.

Author's Response: I'm glad it made you smile - that was the goal! And the whole paralleling thing was the whole idea of this one-shot, so I'm glad you picked up on it! This review just made me smile to myself, so thanks! :)
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #11, by megthechef43 13 Years

18th March 2013:
ShadowRose,

This was so cute and full of Fluff. I loved the thought that Ginny always loved Harry and wanted to marry him. My only thought was that she didn't meet him until she was 10. Seeing how Harry was famous though meant that plenty of children knew his name. Lol, I was convinced when I was 11 that I was going to marry Aaron Carter. LOL. that was because Nick Carter was too much older than me.

Great One-shot. We all need a little fluff in our lifes!

Megthechef43 aka Meg

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad you liked it! I think we all have those childhood crushes... I can't remember who mine was (it probably changed on a daily basis)!
-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charm 13 Years

10th March 2013:
Hello there I’m here with your requested review!

I liked your use of the description at the beginning of this chapter, as it was rather detailed so therefore, it created a vivid image in my head, and allowed me to perfectly envisage Ginny in my head.

I quite liked little Ginny, as it was nice to see her thoughts, as there aren’t really many stories which show anyone as a young child. You seemed to get a seven year old thoughts, and I can imagine my younger self getting along with her, and wanting to play pretend to.

One thing that did seem a little odd to me though, is the fact she knew details like the shape of his scar, and his middle name, if they had never met before see, and I doubt there would have been pictures of him, as he lived as a muggle, why would she know things like that.

Some lines did seem a little too mature for a seven year old though. For example ‘we all knew that was a lie’, it just seemed a little odd for a seven year old to think that, and Ginny used the word ‘mercilessly’, I don’t think I knew that word at seven. So perhaps if you re-read it, and made some of the sophisticated language, less sophisticated so it fitted her age more?

I liked the family dynamics though, as it seemed very Weasley esq, I think it was the banter between Fred and George about hiding Percy’s badge, and them arguing with their Mum made me laugh, as I can just imagine the rush and panic before the train, and those two just making it a whole lot worse!

You were inconsistent in capitalising the M of Mum, it’s nothing major, but it just looks nicer if it’s uniform.

I liked the canon facts which you included into this story such as Scabbers being old, Ginny not being able to play quidditch, and Bill being head boy, as it just made the story more believable and realistic by doing so.

I liked how you jumped from the past to the present, as it allowed the reader to see how much this wedding meant to Ginny, and how she had been anticipating it her entire life. I really liked the appearance of Audrey, as she seemed exactly how I imagined her to be, with her frantic energy, and the mention of Victoire made me aw.

I really liked the ending of it as it was really nice and fluffy, and seeing all the relatives wives and girlfriends was nice. I know Ginny said the ceremony passed in a blur, but it would have been nice to have a little more detail about it, such as noticing guests e.t.c. just to make you more aware of the wedding, as it was a little too quick for me.

Other than that I thought it was a lovely fluffy one-shot, and I really liked how you showed how much Harry meant to Ginny!

-Kiana!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for leaving such a detailed review! I love all the feedback! :)

I'm glad to know that I did well with the seven-year-old thoughts... It's been a while since I was that age, so thinking like it was a little challenging.

I never really thought about the whole "not-knowing-things-like-that," but now that you mention it, you're right: she probably wouldn't know his middle name... Although I think she might know about the scar, because Ron did in the first movie. I do want to fix the middle name.

I definitely will go back and fix some of her language: as I said, it's hard to think like a seven-year-old, so I kind of missed things like the word "mercilessly." But yeah, that's not exactly in a young child's vocabulary. :)

The family was fun to write, and I'm glad you thought it fit. I will go back and deal with that capitalization though!

I might go back in and add wedding details, because I think you're right: it would add a little more to the story. :)

Thanks for your review. I loved hearing your thoughts, and I'm definitely going to fix a few things! :)

-ShadowRose


 Report Review

Review #13, by resurrectionstone22 13 Years

5th March 2013:
Such a cute fanfiction - I just couldn't resist stopping by to tell how lovely this story is! I love the way you developed Ginny's character and the plot as a whole - you really did an amazing job! And your writting style is simply brilliant too! Keep up the great work! :)

Author's Response: Aw, yay! I'm glad you liked it! :)
-ShadowRose


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login