Reading Reviews for Solid Marble Eyes
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Celestialbattlefield august 16, 1972

24th August 2013:
That was awesome
. : )
U relly depicted narcissa nd her life on such a thpight provoking way . I totally love her whenshe freaks out..
Nice to no she can b caught off guard
Aah lucius nd narcissa .. Who knew they cud b soo romantic
.sigh.

Author's Response: I'm glad you hear you liked it; thank you so much for this review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Celestialbattlefield august 16, 1972

24th August 2013:
That was awesome
. : )
U relly depicted narcissa nd her life on such a thpight provoking way . I totally love her whenshe freaks out..
Nice to no she can b caught off guard
Aah lucius nd narcissa .. Who knew they cud b soo romantic
.sigh.

Author's Response: I'm glad you hear you liked it; thank you so much for this review! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Mnemosyne december 29, 1971

6th August 2013:
I must admit, this is the first Narcissa/Lucius story I'm reading. Not that I don't like them as characters, I just never felt the urge to read about them. Now, after reading your story, I feel not only tempted, but almost fascinated. Like I'm fascinated with your writing!

The way you describe this subtle tension between them is delicious. You don't push it, don't force it, just simply weave tenuous threads. And yet you manage to keep their main characteristic traits. It's a good portrayal, without crystallizing or making it stereotypical. The dynamic between Narcissa and her mother is strong, but not overdone. A great balance between authoritative and obedient, without making it an awful artificial and broken relation.

Moreover, language of your descriptions is almost breathtaking. You use words, like a painter uses colors. A perfect, balances poetry, but not too ethereal.

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm december 29, 1971

4th August 2013:
If I thought the last chapter was amazing, I was blown away by this one!

Your description here was just superb! From describing the snow, the flower shop and then catching her sister and Ted in the alleyway each scene was vividly painted before me. Tie that in with Narcissaís lovely narration and thoughts it makes for excellent reading. Another note on the narration, itís so easy to follow and I get such an insight into her character and thatís something I rarely come across. ♥

Narcissaís thoughts about Muggles were really fitting. The right amount of disdain without it bordering on loathing. For her age, it was entirely appropriate. I liked the little humour you introduced about them too with her thoughts when she was paying for the flowers as it made her more real and less of a robot.

Another thing about her characterisation in this chapter which was really great was the introduction of her rebel side. Even if it was only a silent rebellion about which season was the better one it still made me feel as if the true Narcissa was shining through and with the events of the end of the chapter itís making me wonder what sheís going to do in regards to them.

The scene with Ted and Andromeda was wonderful. Iíve always loved those two just as much as Iíve loved Lucius and Narcissa mainly because it makes me wonder which pair was happier in the end and whether one coupleís form of love was truer than the others and it was shown perfectly here. The reckless freedom of Ted and Andromeda with contemplating running away for love probably put Narcissaís own feelings in regards to Lucius into question and I canít wait to see how itís followed up.

Another amazing chapter and I canít wait for the next! ♥

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm august 16, 1972

4th August 2013:
I saw you pop up in the review tag and I couldnít resist reading more of your lovely work!

You set the scene of a pureblood family perfectly! From people forced to sit inside, practise the piano and ask permission to go outside it created the rigid environment I would expect to see in the Black family. Iíve never really read many stories about Narcissa in her youth before, but I thought the way you portrayed it here was really amazing.

I loved Narcissaís characterisation! You caught the air of obedience I would expect her to have from her upbringing, but then there was still something down there, some innocence and a little rebellion which was really lovely to see. That related back to what she did for Draco in some respects and to see the link in her characterisation was really great.

Even though it was only a small scene with the mother I loved the dynamic you created between them. I really canít wait to see more of Narcissaís interactions with her family because you write them in such an interesting way I just want more and more.

On a minor note, I really like the short length of the chapter. It gave a freshness to and as this is a short story collection it really works well in showing snippets of her life and how she met and fell in love with Lucius.

The ambiguity in regards to the meeting with Lucius was really great. The way he caught her eye and then the reserved dialogue really kept the suspense going. Due to the formality he used when speaking of her father I can only presume that heís going to want to marry her, and, if thatís the case, you developed really well by keeping in with the tradition.

This is being added to my favourites straight away and I canít wait to read the next chapter! ♥

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #6, by rozen_maiden december 29, 1971

29th July 2013:
This was so lovely to read. I hope you continue. I felt absolutely captivated by Narcissa's personality in your story.
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by navyfail december 29, 1971

23rd July 2013:
I really liked this chapter. You could see how Narcissa felt about Muggles and their ways. Not only did you mention how she felt towards them but you also added in her reactions to little things like Muggle currency, tools, and other. How she was raised to behave and act became clearer in this chapter.

Again, I love your descriptions and your imagery. Those metaphors are perfectly written and explained. "The secret was now shoved under the carpet of her tongue, sticking out from the floorboards."

That last scene with Andromeda and Ted was lovely. They remind me of their older selves in the Harry Potter books. I notice that Andromeda calls her 'Cissa' while Bellatrix call her 'Cissy.' I wonder why is that. Maybe because Tonk's mother is nicer while Bella is harsher and teases a lot.

Update soon and I hope Narcissa doesn't let out the secret.
~Sama

Author's Response: I put all the Muggle details in there to show all the pureblood, elitist values she was raised with, and I'm glad it came through and you noticed it! I wanted Narcissa to have her own personality and feel somewhat trapped in this pureblood world, but there was also the part of her that supports those views, because that's just how she was brought up.

Yes, I was definitely trying to foreshadow a bit of how their older selves would be. I agree, Andromeda is a lot nicer than Bellatrix and has a lot more affection for her sister, while Bellatrix likes to tease. I think you've given me inspiration to add a bit more about the Cissa/Cissy thing later in the story!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Sama; I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by CharlieDay august 16, 1972

9th July 2013:
Hello! I'm here for the review battle!

Okay you know I adore your writing so so much from the last thing and omg this was absolutely fantastic too! You are just so so so so so talented it's not even fair.

I really liked that Narcissa played the piano because I play the piano so like I have something in common with her already (okay so maybe she's a pureblood witch and she's, um, fictional but we both play the piano and that totally counts).

The dialogue is fantastic and the description is beautiful. You manage to use adjectives without being clunky or heavy-handed, which is a rare skill to have. The metaphors which you use are also great, which again is nice because heavy-handedness in that area seems all too common.

Your characterisation was great in all areas, and it was interesting to see some romance between Lucius and Narcissa, because in the books we only really see them in a Draco-focused environment.

I don't have a huge amount else to say, this being quite short, but I'd love to read some more of it as you write to a really high standard!

Charlie
xx

Author's Response: omg, I'm really not, but I'm glad at least someone thinks I am! :D

I play the piano, too! I love finding that I have something in common with a character, even if they're only fictional.

I'm thrilled you like the dialogue, description, and characterization! Those were the things I was worried about while writing it. Lucius and Narcissa was a really interesting relationship to write, because in the books, there isn't that much information to go by.

Thank you for this lovely review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by navyfail august 16, 1972

9th July 2013:
Hi, I'm Sama. Here from the Ravenclaw Review battle.
I always wondered how Narcissa was like when she was younger. If she was always listening to others or did she have a mind of her own? In this story you gave her a mind of her own. One that I want to read about.

"Trapped, like a delicate bird in a gilded cage, a beautiful ice princess in this never-melting, never-ending coldness. " I really like how you add figurative language at the right times. The simile shows a great comparison. I can tell what she feels at that moment. :D

"If Mother could see her now, she'd faint dead away on the carefully trimmed grass." I love how you add touches of humor into the story. How she acts towards Lucius is very cute. I hope to see more of him since I am thinking of continuing to read this story.

Great chapter. Update soon.

~Sama(blue)

Author's Response: Hi, Sama!

Narcissa is a very interesting character to me, especially as a young girl, because in the books, she seems more cold and prejudiced, but there's also the side of her that saved Harry's life and lied to Voldemort out of love for her son.

I always can't help but add just a little humor to my stories :P I'm glad you liked the story, thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by CutiePie august 16, 1972

4th April 2013:
Please keep on writing and complete it ASAP!

Author's Response: I'll update as soon as I can! Thank you for your review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login