Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
281 Reviews Found

Review #1, by mrsdeanthomas421 The End

1st September 2014:
Thank you so much for such a brilliant, original story. I love Tor/Terry with all my heart and I cannot wait to see where their new journey together takes them! This is genuinely one of my favorite hpff stories of all time and you deserve so much recognition for your ability to craft such a well though out, intriging story. Keep up the good work!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Drummergirlred The End

26th August 2014:
I stumbled on this story maybe a month or so ago after a long break from reading fan fiction. I do think it's one of the most interesting concepts I've read for HP fan fiction. I've really enjoyed reading it and look forward to the second installment.
I love when a writer is able to take AU and incorporate the cannon aspects to where I begin to question if 'this is what really happened.' I suspect that Tor will end up with Draco as cannon dictates and though I love her with Terry I'm more excited to read how Draco and Tor come together. Of course maybe that isn't going to happen and I'll just stay happy with Tor/ Terry.
Really great job.

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore The End

25th August 2014:
JENNA! ♥ ♥ ♥

Ah, I can't believe that you've actually finished this story and even though I was really apprehensive of what was going to happen in this last chapter, I'm so happy for you! Congratulations - this really is a massive achievement! Such a long novel and such a brilliant one too. I think we should be saying thank you for sharing it with us! ♥

Okay, so when I saw that this chapter was up and you'd marked the story complete I was really, really nervous. After the way you ended the last chapter I've been having nightmares that you were going to break my heart by killing Terry off at the last minute or something and I couldn't keep my eyes off the page (screen) as I read this to find out what was happening. I care so much about these characters now and hopefully that helps you feel that you've done a fantastic job on this story!

I felt so sorry for Tor at the beginning of this chapter! I could really feel her desperation and how much she wanted to be able to save Terry but she's in such a dangerous position already here and she had to try and do that without arousing any suspicion about why she was trying to save this boy from Hogwarts that she supposedly doesn't recognise or know at all. It's so difficult for her, especially when I remember that she's only just turned sixteen and she has to face all of this!

Draco was so horrible and blunt with her at the beginning of the chapter, just completely refusing to help her at all. To be honest, I can understand why he wouldn't help and just tried to forget about what was happening. I do feel sorry for him in a way because he's in a difficult position as well, especially since he's marked out as a Death Eater and is so scared of what people could do to him if he does something wrong. I kind of wanted to shout at him because if he'd voluntarily helped Tor to help Terry escape then that would have been something that really helped to redeem him, but I can understand why he didn't.

Gah, Tor's parents are so horrible! I feel so angry with them when I think of how unfair they've been to put her in the situation she's in now, where she can't confide anything in them and feels like she's not able to love the boy she wants to because of what they expect. And they don't seem to care about her that much either, just being happy to get Tor out of their hair - surely their daughter should be more important than this awful war? Oops, going to try to stop ranting at fictional characters... :P

Tor is so brave, though! I was really proud of her and seeing the way that she's grown and developed in this story. A year or so ago, she'd never have dreamed of disobeying her parents in such a serious way or of putting her life on the line for someone else in something that's so serious and deadly. Her character development through this story is really brilliant and she's already grown up so much - I'm excited to see how she continues to grow and change in the next two novels! I really love the way that you write Tor in this story and she's completely become my head canon!

I really liked Tor's plan to get Terry out of Malfoy Manor! I think that's another aspect that helps to show how much she's matured, as a year ago I don't think she'd have been able to come up with a plan like that so quickly. It's great of her to prepare and try and get all of those things that Terry needs to go on the run with, and nobody actually seems to notice anything, so she does well there. But all the way through this chapter I was just on tenterhooks and really worried that somebody was going to find her and realise what she was doing!

I know that I shouldn't condone the use of the Imperius Curse but to be honest I'm really glad that it did work this time and she's been able to do what she has to do to get Terry out of Malfoy Manor. It shows how desperate she is though that she's prepared to curse Draco and risk him finding out what her relationship with Terry is. I really liked the way you wrote the effects of the Imperius Curse and the connection between Tor's mind and Draco's, and the way that she was able to control him. She's definitely got a lot of power for that sort of magic but at least she's using it for good here.

Argh, when Christian Haynes appeared in the gardens I got so worried! It was so clever of Tor to get Terry to disguise himself as Draco, just so they could get out of the house without people suspecting anything, but I'm really worried about what's going to happen. At least they were able to get out without being stopped, but I have a feeling that Draco could get into a lot of trouble if they realise that he kind of allowed them to escape.

But yay, they got away! I'm so happy that Terry's not dead that I'd be grinning no matter what happened, I think, but it's brilliant to see Tor taking that stand. I loved the moments between them when he was trying to protect her at first from Draco realising anything about them, and then all the kisses. Plus the fact that Terry only got captured by the Snatchers because he was trying to make sure that Tor was okay is just so sweet and adorable and he's lovely and amazing! ♥

So Tor and Terry are going on the run together! She's so brave to do something like that but I can see that they kind of have to - now that they know she's a blood traitor and on the run with Terry, it's going to be so dangerous for the two of them and I'm worried about how they'll survive but still kind of excited to read more about the two of them together and what's going to happen (although it won't be easy for their relationship either, because we saw how much of a strain being on the run put on the trio's friendship).

This was an amazing last chapter to a brilliant novel, Jenna! You've not only finished it really well but set up for the next novel - I'm already intrigued about The Devil's Road! Thank you! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan The End

25th August 2014:
Jenna! Eeeep it's the last chapter! I was essentially glued to the page the entire time, my heart pounding. The suspense! I was so terrified she wouldn't be able to get Terry out in time, or that someone would catch them, or really any number of bad things that could have happened.

Brilliant way to get Terry out! I was so relieved when it all worked out, and the scene when Terry and Tor were reunited was just the sweetest thing ever. Gah, and now they're on the run together and it's the end of the story! She's a blood traitor and he's an escaped fugitive! They're like magical outlaws and it's only October, so they have a long time to go until things are safe again and askdhfaj so many feels. I'm so glad there's a lot more to this story because then I don't have to say goodbye to these characters yet, they're like friends to me now! I will keep an eye out for The Devil's Road and if somehow I miss it, then send me a PM so I can smother it with love and raving reviews.

So ahhh, congrats on finishing your first novel! That's such an amazing accomplishment and I'm so proud of you! :D Your writing style is so fantastic and even though it was great at the beginning, your writing has improved astronomically throughout the course of the story, which is so lovely as it really complements how Tor grows up and matures in the story as well. You're incredibly talented and your characters and plot are written with such insight and care, I really admire that. Please keep writing forever.

Love,
Kristin

 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy1993 The Death Eater's Daughter

24th August 2014:
Nice chapter. It was good to read a bit more about Astoria and her family. And indeed, Death Eaters are people too. As J.K. Rowling said, the only character that is truly evil is Voldemort..

 Report Review

Review #6, by Teddy1993 The Association of Slytherin Students

17th August 2014:
Your're right that not much has happened at this point in the story, but it's only the fourth chapter after all. I'm sure there's plenty to come, as you have already uploaded so many chapters. The story seems to be very promising to me, having read this first few chapters and I think you chose a very interesting main character. Great work so far!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Teddy1993 The Slytherin Boys

17th August 2014:
I like how you don't picture all Slytherins as bullies or gits, despite their different believes from the main characters we know from the books. How Pyxis treated his house elf, for instance. Very nice chapter.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Teddy1993 The Beginning

16th August 2014:
Great chapter. I think it will be interesting to see everything from the Slytherin point of view. Especially because you seem to be sticking to the events of the books for now. Very nicely written!

Author's Response: Hi again!

I love writing from the Slytherin point of view, and events from canon definitely weave in and out of the storyline. Thanks so much for the lovely reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 Prologue

16th August 2014:
A promising start to what seems to be an interesting story. Your writing in this first chapter was very good. I'm curious to where you'll take this.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thanks so much! I'm so glad you like it so far! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore The Prisoner

16th August 2014:
JENNA NO I CANNOT DEAL WITH THIS.

Wah, I can't believe that I've caught up only to be left on a cliffhanger like this and now I'm absolutely terrified and struggling to form a coherent review because what are you doing to me with this story! Although I will try my best because this was an amazing chapter and it deserves a semi-coherent review!

I felt so sorry for Tor in this chapter! I thought you did a brilliant job of capturing the sort of boredom and neglect she's feeling at home when her parents are basically treating her as a nuisance. It must be so horrible to be cut off from all of her friends at home and not even know whether or not she's going to hear back from them. And she doesn't even know whether or not she's going to get a tutor soon, so there's a lot of uncertainty about minor things in her life, without even coming to the issue of Terry. And they seem to blame her for what they had to do about the Snatchers who were at Malfoy Manor too, which feels unfair.

Selena really didn't seem to care much about the fact that Tor was feeling upset and lonely - it isn't fair the way that she favours Daphne so much. And now that Yaxley's so stressed and worried about what's going on with the Death Eaters, it's only natural she feels abandoned a bit. But at least they seem to have bought the story that she was writing to Taurus rather than Terry or a Ravenclaw that they've heard about. So their secret seems a bit safer for now, until the ending!

The fact that someone was trying to break into the wards... I wonder if it was actually Terry, trying to get to Tor? If so, it makes me even more worried that he's got a reason to come and try and find her other than maybe just wanting to see her, and that might be the reason that he turns up at Malfoy Manor too...

I wanted to shout at her parents for getting rid of her to Malfoy Manor, and on her birthday too! And Draco started off being horrible but it was nice to see the scene with the two of them and the way that he tried to warn her to some extent of what she should expect. It's a real worry and possibility that they might try and induct Tor to the Death Eaters now and I hope they don't, because she's so young and it would be absolutely awful to see her forced into doing something like that. But the chance to see the scene between them, and the way that Draco was kind of looking out for her, was sweet. It was really interesting to see his opinions on the way that Draco thinks they attract new members to the Death Eater ranks too, and the fact that he'd share it with Tor shows that he does trust her - at least, I think it does.

Oh my goodness, I can't believe that final scene! Even though I've read it before right back at the beginning of this story, a whole forty chapters ago, it was still terrifying. Even more so, I think, because we know now how sweet Terry is but also how much he means to Tor. It was petrifying to read the interrogation and see it again through Tor's eyes now that we know all that's happened between them - my heart was actually racing. I'm so, so worried for them now and I can understand why Tor would deny knowing him, because in a way I think they would be more dangerous if they knew about the relationship there was between them - they'd blame him for polluting her thoughts, or something like that. It's so scary to think that they might be found out and I'm just hoping that Terry and Tor will manage to get through this unharmed.

I'm so nervous for the next chapter but looking forward to it as well. I just really hope that Terry doesn't die or something awful like that because I want to see more of the two of them together and I'm not ready for something so terrible to happen! I know that there's going to be at least two deaths in the next six months or so, and I'm just so nervous. But this was a brilliant chapter and I'm looking forward to the next one now that I've finally caught up on this too, although it is with a bit of trepidation!

(Also it's a bit late but I just wanted to say congratulations for getting so far with this story and having written something so brilliant!)

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodore The Monster

16th August 2014:
Hi again, Jenna!

Oh wow, after the way the last chapter ended saying that things were going to get even worse I was wondering how they possibly could, but you managed to write events that were simply terrifying to read. I was so scared for Tor all the way through this chapter! In the back of my mind I know that she's going to survive because it's a trilogy and she's going to marry Draco, but at the same time I get nervous that things are just going to go badly for her, and if not for her then those around her. I'm also really conscious of the prediction that two of the people she loves are going to die in this war, and we're approaching the end of the year too...

The incident with the manticore was absolutely chilling! I don't know how you managed to conjure up such a scary image in my mind but the animal sounding terrifying and horrible and I can't believe that it's allowed to be in the halls of Hogwarts, patrolling for rule breakers to turn them over to the teachers. And if the appearance of the animal, and its smell, weren't enough, it started speaking and everything that it said was just so creepy and horrible that I felt goosebumps!

I'm not surprised that Tor experienced one of those explosions of innate magic that are meant to protect witches and wizards, but I'm so scared for her! I love the way you explained the way that magic works though, and that it can protect young witches and wizards from incidents and accidents that would easily hurt a Muggle child - that ties in really well with canon. But Tor's got a broken leg or something and she's unconscious in the corridor with Terry's letter - you know how to make me scared!

I really enjoyed reading the scene in the hospital wing too, even if I was worried for Tor all the way through it and horrified at what the staff were doing to her. The fact that she wanted to see Daphne there, even though they've not been on the best of terms recently, made perfect sense, because siblings really are some of the only people that you never need to care about appearances with and there's a comfort in their presence which is hard to explain. It's clear that even though they don't always get on well, Tor really does love her family.

I'm glad that it was Snape who came to the hospital wing to see her rather than the Carrows, because not only would they have been crowing in a victory over her, but I feel like they'd have tried to inflict more injuries too. Even so, Snape was so harsh with her, although I suspect that it may be because of orders that he's received from others outside of Hogwarts and he has to go along with them to appear like someone who's true and loyal to the Death Eater cause. Her mother was horrible in the way she didn't seem to care for protecting her daughter, though! The only good thing that seemed to happen there was that Tor hadn't directly written to Terry, since she was able to pass it off as a letter to Taurus, who at least is a Slytherin and pureblood. But her mum did mention that there have been all sorts of rumours about her daughter and that's making me really worried for what's going to happen when Terry comes back into the story!

I didn't expect Draco to be the one to escort Tor home to Malfoy Manor but at least it wasn't one of the bigger Death Eaters who probably wouldn't have cared that much about Tor's feelings or not scaring her or anything. I liked the fact that she had a sort of send-off committee, too, and that Ginny cared enough to try and tell her to keep fighting. And the Nott boys ♥

I thought the scene between Yaxley and Tor in the Malfoy garden was great. You made Yaxley seem so human in that scene, because he's so worried about his family. He's disappointed in the way that Tor's been defying the Carrows and isn't going along with everything he's taught her, especially since she always seemed to be his favourite daughter, but even so, he really cares about her and loves her and doesn't want her to get hurt. He's in a bit of a precarious position, since favour with Voldemort is always difficult to maintain - if Tor starts misbehaving so obviously as well as her grandmother having gone into hiding, then things could become really difficult for their family.

Just when I thought things couldn't get any worse after Tor having the encounter with the manticore and being sent home from Hogwarts for lessons with a private tutor (and I'm dreading to see who that tutor's going to be, especially if it's someone appointed by the Ministry), she manages to walk into a room full of Snatchers who don't seem to care much about the fact that her father's Orpheus Yaxley. Tor's got a real talent for walking into situations like this one (which is definitely not a good thing) and I was so worried about what they were going to do to her. When Yaxley came in and defended his daughter so violently, I could understand why he'd done it, and it proves how much he loves Tor, but at the same time it shows how cruel he can be, as those are his automatic reactions. And then that last line about Nagini coming to the room is just chilling and horrible to think of!

Actually, I'm scared to press the next chapter button right now because I know the next chapter contains the scene that we glimpsed in the prologue. So the Snatchers that are here at Malfoy Manor have probably brought Terry here and that's why Tor's been taken there, because they suspect something about the two of them... Oh no. I can't believe that we're here already, and it really doesn't seem like over a year since I first started reading this story!

Ah, okay, plucking up some Gryffindor courage and carrying on...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore The Consequences

16th August 2014:
Hi again!

Oh no, that last line of this chapter has me apprehensive about pressing the 'next chapter' button, even while I'm writing this review. I don't want to see things get even worse!

Ugh, I hate the way that Carrow is now deliberately but slyly persecuting Astoria as well as the other students just because she stood up to her and dared to challenge her authority. It definitely wasn't a great idea to make an enemy of her in the very first week of term, although the progression of the lessons seems very believable and realistic and it just makes me even angrier that someone like that could have been allowed to teach in a school and have authority over students! She's so terrible and sadistic, and seems to take so much pleasure from hurting the students and making their life hell. At the beginning of this story I'd have thought that Tor would have some measure of protection because she's in Slytherin, but after defying the Carrows there's not much chance of that.

I really liked the way that you included what's happening in the Defence Against the Dark Arts lessons, as well. It's really terrible and I can imagine the rumours racing around the school so quickly, and I think that Theo's attitude is understandable, and one that a lot of people would share. It's all about surviving for them now, and while they should be concentrating on their exams they've got to face a regime like this one.

I felt so sorry for Tor, having to deal with the aftermath of what Carrow made her do to Michael and worrying that Michael would think she didn't care about it. I'm really glad that Anthony came and reassured her about it, because I didn't think Michael was the sort of person to hold a grudge when she obviously didn't want to hurt him. At least he's keeping under the radar now but I really like the way that all the little acts of defiance and resistance are growing and mounting up to the extent that the Carrows are having to intensify their already dreadful punishments. It just shows that there's a spirit there which they're not able to break.

The scene with Anthony and Tor was great, too, and I like the fact that their friendship with Terry is enough to make them trust Tor as well. It's great that he's decided to become more open about who he is and his decisions, but I get the feeling there are certain people who might make use of that if they get the chance. But from that scene I'm even more worried than I was before about Terry, because if nobody's heard of him then I have no idea what could have happened to him before he gets to the scene in the prologue...

It was kind of uncomfortable to read about the way all the other students in Slytherin are turning on Draco now that he's back at school, as well as pupils from other houses. I felt sorry for Draco there, actually, but I can understand it. All of them are suffering so much, even if they're the sorts of people enjoying it, there's a lot of tension and pressure, and the easiest way to release that is to take it out on a target like Draco.

It was really sweet of Tor to go after Draco, though, and I can see little moments like that possibly helping to found their later relationship. Even if he did turn round and attack Peakes with as much gusto as Peakes attacked him, which wasn't great, and the ominous warning about what he's doing when he goes home for the weekends. I'm wondering about what that is and how it could affect Tor...


It's quite worrying for Tor, especially, who's always believed in how powerful her parents are, that they're not able to do anything to stop the Carrows carrying out their torture in the school. I feel like that might prompt her even more to turn towards the students who are resisting and take matters into her own hands, trying to protect herself and others if her parents aren't able to.

Ooh, I didn't realise that Tor would be so involved in canon events like this one! I really enjoyed reading about Ginny again in this chapter and the way that she trusts Tor, making it enough for the others to trust her as well, even though Neville's still suspicious of her being a Slytherin. It was brave of Tor to make the decision to lead Carrow and Demetria away from the office though, especially as it put her so much at risk! But I'm just grateful she did because if she hadn't then Ginny and the others would probably have been found by Carrow rather than Snape and I suspect the punishment wouldn't be anywhere near as mild as the one they received from Snape.

And now I'm really nervous about what's going to happen next...

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore The Carrows

16th August 2014:
Hello lovely!

Oh my goodness, this was such an awful chapter! (Not awful because of the writing but just because the content was quite horrifying, I'd never say that your writing was awful :P).

Okay, so with a chapter entitled 'The Carrows', I knew that it wasn't going to be very happy, and with Demetria being back as well I knew that things would start to get worse for Tor. But things in this chapter seemed to be so truly dreadful for her that I'm kind of so shocked it's hard trying to work out what to say about this. Nevertheless, I love the way that you've written it, because while all of these things are absolutely horrible, they seem so true to character for both of the Carrow siblings and for the sort of regime we know from canon that they established at Hogwarts during this year.

I'm in two minds about Tor deciding to stand up to Alecto Carrow in the Muggle Studies class, to be honest. One part of me is proud of her for making a stand like that and for doing something so brave and different from anything that she'd have done when this novel first started, but then at the same time it makes me worried, because to mark herself out like that in the first week of the year is not a great idea. Her father's protection as a Death Eater can only go so far!

All the same, I thought that the idea of researching their own family trees in the Muggle Studies class fit really well with the sort of order the Carrows wanted to establish in the school, and the way they wanted to promote the pureblood supremacy ideals. It was great to see that Demelza was standing up to her as well, and that there are people prepared to do that sort of thing right from the beginning, although there hasn't been much mention of a real organised resistance yet. Even though the approach that Tor took when she challenged Carrow was quite mean and made it seem like she was asserting the pureblood ideals, it was great to see the character development there. She's grown so much and doesn't care that much what other people think of her now, particularly her housemates, although I think that might not be the wisest decision because they could make her life very difficult in the next year!

Ah, so Draco is back. Even though there's no hint of a romance between them at this point in time, I do really enjoy reading the scenes between Draco and Astoria, seeing that they know each other and knowing that one day they'll end up married.

Sometimes I just remember that Tor is only fifteen (well, sixteen soon, I suppose) and realise just how much she has to deal with. All of the students in this castle at this point are just children, really, and they shouldn't have to face such awful decisions which aren't really a decision at all. I feel so sorry for her!

Oh my goodness, the last scene really shocked me! I know that Carrow's evil but I didn't imagine she'd do something like this to Astoria, especially not in the first week of term! I thought when Michael was joining her for the detention that it wouldn't be so bad, but it was way worse than I could have thought. Ugh, trust Carrow to come up with a way to punish Tor for defying her, even though she knows she's not able to do much because Yaxley's her father. But I just felt so sorry for Tor, because she thinks she's strong but can't resist that sort of curse, which is no wonder, since she's so young and rather naive. But Demetria (or someone) has told Carrow about her relationship with Terry and I'm just so worried for her!

I feel like the next chapter is going to be difficult for Tor, coming to terms with whatever she's been forced to do to Michael but at the same time knowing that her father would probably have been proud of her for doing it. She's stuck in such an awful situation! I get the feeling that an incident like this one might lead to her taking a side more openly, which I'm not sure is going to be any less dangerous for her, but I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodore The Beginning (Again)

16th August 2014:
Hello, lovely!

I loved the way that you described the Dursleys' house at the beginning of this chapter - it's just deteriorated so much already from the state it was left in and I bet if Petunia saw it now she'd hate it (although I'm sure she'd also object to dark wizards in her home, ready to kill her, so I'm sure it's the lesser of two evils in the grand scheme of things).

I could imagine the scenes in Diagon Alley so vividly in this chapter. Of course the Yaxley-Greengrasses and the Notts would be completely at ease when there are people worried for their lives rushing about them. It's so typical of the Death Eaters and even though I've said that Tor seems to understand the implications of what's going on more than Pyxis does, I thinks she's still been very sheltered from what the Death Eaters are doing. They're so young and really they have no idea about what's going on at this point in the world around them, and Tor's hope that Terry's going to be okay seems quite naive, in a way.

Oh dear, I'm really worried that Tor's starting to make her father suspect things about her loyalties, although he hasn't said anything all summer and I'd have thought he would do if he knew something about her. I'm not sure, but I think it's just the tension of reading this story and knowing that two of the people that Tor loves will die in the next year and that nobody is likely to get through this war without being damaged by it.

When I started reading the scene on the station, I suddenly realised that Demetria Avery might have been the one to come back and be made Slytherin prefect, and when she did come back and Tor saw her at the end of the chapter, I knew it couldn't be good. Demetria knows things about Tor, and I think with all the pressure that's piling on them it could just be a matter of time before she cracks.

The Ravenclaws were so nice to her! Well, except for Padma but I can understand that in a way because it must be nice to have some form of retaliation against the people who represent the Death Eaters, although it's not going to help the cause of house unity in the future. When they explained what had been happening to the Muggle-borns I felt so sorry for Tor because she's so sheltered at home and clearly had no idea of the sort of danger that Terry was in, but I think the worry about him, especially if he doesn't reply to her messages in the notebook, is going to contribute even more to her stress.

I'm so proud of Michael for standing up to Daphne straight away! I really liked that scene, because it showed that it's not just Ginny and Neville who plant the seeds of resistance and bring all the others in to join them, but that they're also determined to rebel and not stand for that sort of treatment. I can understand Daphne's point of view as well though and why she was trying to be so strong in front of Christian Haynes. I suspect that with that start, Slytherin will be the only house with positive house points this year...

Also this is a bit of a tangent but seeing Christian Haynes here and being reminded of who he is has made me extremely suspicious of him in Magpie and I'm worried now about the person that he's put Verity in touch with too...

Tor's right though, I've always wondered if the driver of the Hogwarts Express does something other than drive for the students!

It was great of Pyxis to cover for Tor when they were talking about Taurus, although I thought I'd definitely see him back since I thought this year it was compulsory for all students to attend Hogwarts. Phin was there, though, and a lot of the Slytherins did seem far too happy about the presence of Snape and the Carrows on the teaching staff.

I honestly feel like there's so much pressure on Tor at this point that she isn't far from breaking, especially with the reappearance of Demetria in her dormitory. Pyxis was there to cover for her at dinner, but he's under a lot of stress too and I'm getting really worried about what might happen!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore The Fall of the Ministry

16th August 2014:
Hello, darling!

Aw, the opening of this chapter with the letter to Tor from Terry was so sweet! He seems to be living such a normal and happy life at home and I'm glad that he's been able to get away from the darkness that's surrounding the wizarding world at the moment, even if he's kept informed of it to some extent. I'm glad that he's able to have some nice times but the line about returning to Hogwarts in September and explaining things to Tor then was so sad, because he won't be able to do that and he doesn't know it yet!

The contrast between Terry's letter and the atmosphere in Tor's house is really strong, and I thought it was really effective. They're still trying to enjoy their summer but a lot of their thoughts are focused on what the Death Eaters are doing. I feel so sorry for Tor, that she feels she might have been the one to give away Charity Burbage to the Death Eaters and might have caused her death! She couldn't have known that she'd be the one to do that, and I feel so sorry for her and Pyxis too, who clearly hasn't realised the full extent of things at this point, since he was shocked about what happened. I'm getting more worried about Yaxley finding out, though, about Tor, because while her feelings of distance for him are growing and that's understandable, he's sure to notice that something is wrong. There are a few different moments in this chapter when he notices her behaviour might be a bit suspicious and I'm worried about what could happen because of that.

I thought you wrote Yaxley's glee and happiness at the thought of the recognition he'd get for putting the Imperius Curse on Thicknesse was really great, and so in character. At the meeting in the books we clearly see that he's wanting to impress Voldemort and get rewarded for that, but it doesn't happen and that made me a bit happier :P

The scene when Tor and Pyxis were listening in to their fathers' conversation was really interesting. I love the way that you work in the canon events, but the way that they were talking about them, particularly Moody's death, was just awful. It was even worse when they realised that they were being listened to, because now I think Yaxley might start getting suspicious of Tor. She's lucky that she's able to control her own mind, but I worry that with the way she's beginning to feel about her parents, she might give herself away even so. Pyxis is a worry too, because I can understand how he feels. It's awful to know that your mind is so easy to access for other people, even though you don't intend it to be, and especially when you've got secrets to keep. I think Tor might be a bit out of order asking to perform a memory charm on him, though, because she needs to remember what the effects of her attempt to do that on Terry were. I can understand it, but she needs to stop telling him things! What if Terry's exposed because Yaxley tries Tor's mind and then settles on Pyxis as an easier target?

The magic of that book that they'd found from Hogwarts is wonderful! I love the idea of something like that existing because it's just so magical and fits so well with that world, but I hate the idea of it being used to have a record of every witch and wizard in the country when they're planning on using it for finding Muggle-borns. I just hope that Tor manages to warn Terry and stop him from being found before it's too late.

The ending section was really interesting too. I hadn't even thought about who'd be the Head Boy and Girl during the Carrows' regime, but it makes sense that they'd choose the son and daughter of a Death Eater. I do wonder why Tor wasn't chosen to be prefect along with Pyxis, though, when her father's so important; does someone else suspect something about her?

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by nott theodore The Guests

16th August 2014:
Hello again!

I could tell from the chapter summary that this chapter was going to be an important one as far as canon events are concerned, and this is clearly the real beginning of the Ministry takeover. You wrote everything here so well (not that your writing is ever anything but brilliant) and I loved the way that you mingled all the canon events with the characters that we've grown to know really well.

I'd actually never really thought before about Voldemort and the Death Eaters making use of other houses but the Malfoys', but it makes sense that they would because everything couldn't have been based there. It was quite chilling to know that something was approaching and I really felt sorry for Tor, Daphne, Theo and Pyxis, who really are still children. It's so scary for them to know that something - or someone - is coming to the house that they're in but not be allowed to know who it is or what they're doing. Even with the advantages they feel it gives them, with the protection of their parents, it's difficult for them to face something like that.

It's only tiny, but I liked the way that Astoria's mother could repel her attempts at Leglimency really easily. So much of the concentration in the earlier chapters was on Yaxley, and how powerful Tor's father was, but it's clear that her mother's powerful too.

I really enjoyed reading the scene in the bedroom with the four of them on some sort of sleepover. It was nice to see that they could have moments of happiness and enjoyment for a while, even with everything that's going on around them.

I hadn't expected the house to be used for the freed prisoners, but I thought that was a great way of incorporating the event into the story! I've never really thought about how it must have been done before but someone must have gone to release all of the Death Eaters. Pyxis's reunion with his father was really sweet, though, and I can see how much they love each other. But it's difficult, like Tor now realises, to reconcile the two different people that each of these men seem to be - the loving father and the Death Eater. I wonder, when it comes to it, which they'll choose to be.

Ugh, Fenrir Greyback is so creepy and horrible and you wrote him really well! Even though I don't like what Yaxley is doing, at least he's got the power to protect his daughter from someone like Greyback at the moment.

With the Death Eaters having escaped from Azkaban, I could tell that things were going to move a lot more quickly now towards the takeover of the Ministry. But the raid on Avery's home is horrible, particularly as poor little Alexandrina Avery was killed! Events like that can help to explain some of the attitude towards the Order too, because the Death Eaters consider their cause to be right and their friends are being killed for it. It just shows that there are never truly winners in a war like this.

I loved seeing Yaxley go and take matters into his own hands, so to speak. I can imagine that all the events leading up to this point have made him more determined than ever to act and you wrote the scene with Thicknesse really well! It's all going to get much darker from here, though...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodore The Goodbye

16th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

Ah, the queue is opening soon and I'm trying to get through as much of this story as I can before that happens so that I can catch up before you update it!

This was quite a sad and melancholic chapter, but I thought the tone of it fit the events that took place really well. The world is changing for them now, and all of them have realised that with Dumbledore having died. But they can't know that they won't all be coming back in September, and that the Death Eaters will have taken over the Ministry during summer and everything is going to be so much worse.

I loved the way that you wrote Tor and Terry's goodbye in the first section of this chapter. It was understated but I thought it fit the two of them really well. It's sad that they couldn't have a proper goodbye at the end of the year because it was so dangerous for them, but in a way maybe it's better for them to have the hope that they'll be together again in September at school, even if they won't be since Terry's Muggle born. And they have the notebooks, which I hope will help them through!

I love the fact that you're showing the war having an effect on the Slytherins as well. They might have parents on the side of the Death Eaters and feel more confident about their chances because of that, but I honestly can't believe that they wouldn't be scared about what was going to happen to their family and friends in the next few months, because it's so clear that things are changing.

I never would have guessed that Pyxis was the one to put the snake in Tor's bed! I'm wondering how he managed to get it there but I can understand why he did it, when he explained. It's sweet of him to care so much about her and I'm really hoping that he's going to be able to keep her secret from others. And it was nice to see a bit more hope and happiness for the Slytherins, even if it was just passing, when Taurus agreed to go and play games with them in the compartment and it was almost the way they'd been at the beginning of the year, although of course everything has changed now.

I really liked the last scene too, and 'The Goodbye' was such a fitting title for the chapter. I feel so sad for Tor and Terry, not knowing when they'll see each other again, and I'm dreading that it's going to be in December when the prologue scene takes place! But that last line of the chapter has me really worried because it made it sound like her father has spotted that she's got feelings for Terry and that doesn't seem likely to end well...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodore The Dark

15th August 2014:
Hi again, love!

Oh my goodness! I know that I probably should have expected something like this when I saw the chapter title but I didn't think that things would deteriorate so quickly and turn so dark! I feel so sad now!

I really like the way that you manage to move the narrative along in this story by using the canon events and placing Tor within them, because it really helps the pacing since we already know the sort of time of year that this happened. It makes sense that the spin on the Harry and Draco duel would appear differently in the Slytherin common room, especially with Pansy Parkinson milking it for all she's worth. It was great to see the talk between Pyxis and Theo as well, because I've kind of missed the Nott boys. I think that Pyxis is probably even more reluctant than Theo to get involved in everything, especially now that he knows that Tor could be caught between sides. That's what I'd like to think, anyway - at least, he didn't seem happy with Theo and Theo's clearly nervous and scared about what's coming. I can only hope that since Draco will be back at school the following year, Theo will be too, but I can't help remembering the line that two of them would be dead, and now I'm more worried than ever!

It was lovely to see some more light and happiness in this chapter, though! I have the feeling that it's going to be the last of it we see for quite a while. It was great to see the way that Tor was happy for Ginny and she's changed her mind so much that she's more appreciative of the love that she can see than anything else. I really like the friendship that there is between Tor and Ginny and even though it's going to be really difficult, I'm hoping that they manage to stay friends through the next year at Hogwarts, as I imagine that it would really help Tor. Maybe she'll even be part of the resistance that the DA are leading...

Aw, when Tor told Terry that she was going to work for Dumbledore and do her best to protect them all, the scene was absolutely adorable! You write their relationship so well and I just kind of wanted to stop reading there because I knew that something was going to happen soon that would stop them from getting their happy ending. It's so heartbreaking to see them because they really deserve to be happy, especially when Tor's prepared to risk so much to protect them and their relationship, but it's just not possible and that's so sad.

I loved the way that Tor addressed the reader directly (a little like Jane Eyre, actually) because that just changed the tone of the whole chapter, it was so ominous. When she said that I realised that you'd included all of the clues already but I hadn't been picking up on them till that moment.

I thought the way that you kind of predicted the ending of the chapter but then went into a scene which was relatively happy in comparison was really effective. The contrast shows just how much there is to be lost from what they've got already. And it's really interesting to see it from another perspective. I can't help but be a bit relieved that the Ravenclaw boys didn't answer the call on the DA coins, because it would have been so dangerous for them. I can understand that they wouldn't have realised that it was actually necessary too, from the way they were laughing and joking about it.

Aw, all the cuteness between Tor and Terry was so adorable and just made me smile so much! I really wish it could have continued for a little longer, but I can't help but think it's actually really good that Terry didn't walk Tor back to the Slytherin common room, as they'd doubtless have been caught then if he had!

Ugh, the scene with Greyback was so chilling! You wrote the confusion and chaos of that scene so brilliantly and it was really scary to watch as Tor encountered the Death Eaters without them actually realising who she was. I'm really glad that Draco spoke up for her, because it takes a lot to do and I can't imagine him not standing up to stop something happening there - especially when we know that Tor and Draco will marry eventually. But it was so terrifying to read as Tor thought she might get hurt by them, until they realised who her father was. In a way, it's good that she still had that sort of protection because if not, I'm sure Greyback wouldn't have had any qualms about hurting her.

I thought the final part of the chapter, when Tor rushed into the common room and confirmed what was happening, was great. It makes sense that the other students started realising that something was happening in the castle, but that they were so scared they chose to avoid it and not to get involved. Pyxis was really quick thinking to disarm Tor before she could leave as well, and I'm glad that he managed to do it without giving away her secret! I'm hoping that he'll continue to protect her secret about Terry for as long as possible, but I'm getting so apprehensive now that I know the prologue scene is coming up so fast.

Oh dear, that last line in this chapter! It was so poignant and upsetting because there'd been so much hope earlier on and it was really nice to think that Tor and Terry might have a chance to live happily, but then Dumbledore is killed and there's no chance for her to escape from her family the way that she wanted to. I'll be back for some more soon, but I've not got many characters left so I'm going to finish this now :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by nott theodore The Decision

15th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

Ah, so now I know where I'd heard the name Margaret Macauley before, and I'm kind of glad that I have seen it in this story because I was starting to worry that I'd been imagining things. So now this has given me a better idea of what Penelope might have been involved with, but that's a different story so I'm going to focus on this chapter instead :P

It was really nice to see that Tor had been writing to Andromeda again, now that she and Terry are back together. It's going to make things a little bit easier to have someone like that for her to talk to, and I like the idea that Andromeda and Ted had their own difficulties too, because that makes them seem more realistic and then it will be reassuring for Tor because those sorts of relationships can continue and survive (except I feel like Tor and Terry's won't last forever because she's going to marry Draco at some point...)

I'm really not sure about Pyxis and his knowledge of Tor's secret now. I didn't think that she'd be able to lie her way out of it when he confronted her directly because he does know her really well. But at the same time I'm kind of worried about whether or not he might spill her secret at some point, even if he doesn't intend to. It's really quite scary to think that he knows that he'll be recruited into the Death Eaters in the future, and that both Tor and Daphne will be asked to join as well. I can understand the anger that they feel towards their parents for putting them in that situation, particularly now that Tor has started to realise that she doesn't want to be a part of the mentality of pureblood supremacy. Pyxis hasn't reached that, because he hasn't had the chance to become more open-minded, I think, but he might have the potential too - he also (hopefully) won't be recruited because the war's going to be over in a little more than a year and I'm hoping he'll still be considered too young then. I just hope that he will be able to protect Tor's secret and that he won't put her friends and family at risk, as well as Terry. The fact that Tor says he's become more distant since he found out makes me worry, though.

I love the details from canon that you manage to incorporate in this and all your stories! It was great to see Tor as the girl who had to give Harry a note and the way that she used Leglimency to find out what was wrong with those girls. I'm assuming that they're the ones whose brother was attacked by Greyback which we hear about in the book? It's so sad but I love the way that we're getting to see lots of glimpses of different aspects of the war.

Aw, I liked the way that you introduced Cadmus Scamander with the other Ravenclaw boys, just because it was cute to see someone who might be related to Rolf! And I really liked seeing Michael and Anthony with Terry too, they're fun to read!

The conversation with Dumbledore was brilliantly written! Dumbledore's such a difficult character to write and you did such a good job of him, especially with his speech because he seemed really in character. The only minor detail there is that I think Tor would be more likely to call him 'Professor' or 'Sir' than Dumbledore, to his face at least. You really captured how desperate she was about her situation and I think it's actually really brave of her to volunteer to spy on the Death Eaters and work for Dumbledore as long as she can make sure her family are protected as well. For someone who's just fifteen it's amazing to do something so selfless and I can only hope that it does actually help in the future - although as Dumbledore's going to die in a few months, and he won't be able to protect them for that long. I'm just getting so nervous now that it's getting closer to the end of the novel, especially since we're approaching the scene from the prologue!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan The Prisoner

15th August 2014:
Oh wow we're back to the beginning. I'm terrified for what is coming next, because I know Tor doesn't end up with Terry eventually, and so I'm scared you're going to have him killed off at any moment.

The strain of Yaxley's job and position in the Death Eaters and maintaining his good name is clearly getting to be too much for him as he and Selena are both treating Tor as merely a nuisance. They want to protect her for her own good, but at the moment I think their primary motivations are selfish reasons, so they can control what of the war she is exposed to.

Excellent chapter! I have a feeling it's quite near the end now and the suspense is like extra intense now as it's been there since the beginning for this part. Keep up the great work!

 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan The Monster

15th August 2014:
Wow, your description of Manticores is super creepy and with its protruding head and three sets of teeth I imagine it looking like the alien from Alien. Omg scary.

ALSO OMG EVEN SCARIER THAT SHE IS UNCONSCIOUS IN A HALLWAY WITH THE MANTICORE/ALIEN AND A BROKEN LEG AND HAS THE LETTER TO TERRY WITH HER. AH NO THIS IS BAD

Wow, that scene was so intense, the one where she got suspended and her mother didn't stand up for her. I'm glad she still has those bonds of solidarity with the DA (though she doesn't know about them exactly) as she leaves, with Ginny silently urging her to keep going.

Well, I had thought that was intense, but the scene at Malfoy Manor was even more so! Aah! I can't believe that happened. Also I really like the way you highlight Astoria's relationship with her faher in this chapter: he is disappointed in her for not turning out how he wanted her to be and for having a stubborn, opinionated mind of her own, but he cares about her more than anything. So complex in the grey areas of good and bad and that's one of the things I love most about this story.

And since I've been away so long, there is another chapter waiting for me, which i'm going to read immediately! So, until next time!

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore The Future

14th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

Aw, it was so lovely to see Tor and Terry together in this chapter, especially at the beginning when they were relatively carefree and hidden, so they could just enjoy being together rather than worrying about everyone else noticing them. It's really nice to see that Tor's becoming more accepting of the person that she's now become, as well, and knows that she doesn't want to take part in either side of the war. It's actually quite refreshing to see that; there's been so much character development for her since this story began but at the same time it's quite unusual to find characters in fanfiction who didn't support one side or the other during the war, and just did what they could to survive, as I think that would have made up a large portion of the magical population. (Okay, now I'm rambling. Oops.)

It's also really good to see that Terry and Tor are starting to talk more about important things; to some extent, at the beginning of their relationship, I feel a little like Terry, being the older one, spent a lot of time telling her and showing her new things and Tor didn't get as much of a chance for her own views to come through as now. Of course, that probably had a lot to do with the fact she was hiding all the family secrets from him :P So it's good to see that they are discussing things like this now, and I think it'll mean that Tor becomes more aware of just what the Death Eaters are doing. It's good to see her become more confident as well, although I'm a bit worried that the way she seems not to care at times if people see them together is a bit risky, because it could lead to people finding out about them and maybe put Terry in danger (I'm aware of how we're approaching the prologue in these later chapters now and I'm scared about what's going to put him there).

I really enjoyed the scene in the library. It's good that Tor and Terry might be able to spend some time together in public under the cover of the tuition, although I don't think it'll hold for long. Michael and Anthony are really fun and I like the friendship between the three boys. It's great the way that you wrote their discussion about Taurus, and the comparison between Muggle and magical attitudes and laws towards homosexuality. I did spot a typo in that part though - Terry says that his cousin (she) wants him to go with him... Also, as a tiny (picky) detail; they talk about having Muggle officiants for gay marriages but since this is set during the 90s, civil partnership and gay marriage laws still hadn't come into being in the UK. Only a tiny inaccuracy, though!

Oh dear. Pyxis has seen Tor with the three Ravenclaws and I have a feeling that this won't be good... he knows her well enough to realise that there's something going on, I think. Either he'll keep it quiet for her, or let it slip and then something really bad might happen.

It was great to get a glimpse of what the Death Eaters are planning at this point too, because it's been a while since we left Tor's head and found out about her father's actions. It was kind of creepy to see the way that they must have been planning this takeover for months, since in the books it feels kind of sudden. It was really well written, though, and now I'm just a bit anxious about what's to come!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore The Greenhouse

14th August 2014:
Hi Jenna!

The opening of this chapter was great! I really love the way that you weave all the canon details that we have from this time and then place Tor right in the heart of them all, since she's able to view things in a different way and it's really interesting to see events like these from a different perspective. Obviously she knows that Draco Malfoy is a Death Eater but she doesn't know what his mission is, so it makes sense that Snape doesn't want her listening in on his conversation with Draco. I thought you captured both Snape and Draco well in that section, particularly with the dialogue; it worked well to show the strained relationship between the two of them at this point.

I thought the scene in the library was great! It made me laugh that Terry has now convinced everyone there that he's being paid to tutor Tor because in a way she probably deserves something like that after what she's done to him (or what she tried to do, anyway), but it might also work as a cover excuse for them being seen together in the future. I'm glad that he's willing to meet up with her though and try and sort things out!

Like the very opening scene in the chapter, I loved the way that you included Ginny coming to find Hermione in the library here! It's another of those things that could so easily have happened, and inserting Tor into all of this makes the story seem even more believable!

Amaris is starting to act quite horribly to Tor at the moment, and I feel sorry for her. Although saying that Amaris is becoming one of those girls who spends all her time with her boyfriend rather than her friends might be a bit unfair when I think about how much time Tor spent with Terry when they were first together, and she has abandoned her own friends to some extent. Even with her and Terry back together now, I think she's going to have to make the effort to spend more time with the Nott boys and Taurus if she wants things to seem normal!

The scene in the greenhouse was so cute, though, and I loved reading it! I think that it just seemed to flow really well and the dialogue was natural and believable; Terry is absolutely lovely! I think it made sense the way that he forgave her and even apologised for his own behaviour - I'm interested to see what the outcome of Dumbledore knowing about Tor is, though!

And yay, they're back together! There were so many cute lines in that scene that I kind of want to quote them back to you but I'm not going to because it would use the rest of my characters. I loved seeing Tonks there though, even though it meant that Terry got hurt! I'm sure he's going to be okay because he's still got to survive to the scene we see in the prologue, so I'm hoping that he'll be mended soon and he and Tor will get to spend some more time together. They're a lovely couple!

I've also just seen that the most recent chapter you posted of this story is the penultimate one in the novel, so I'm now going to be reading and reviewing whenever I have the time to try and catch up before you post the last chapter of this! (Hint: update something else before this and I might have more chance :P)

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore The Knowledge

12th August 2014:
Hi Jenna! So I'm massively behind on so many of your stories right now and I really want to try and catch up, so for now I'm going to try and read as much of them as I can! I've missed reading about Tor and Terry and I don't think that I even realised how much I did until I came back to this story. (Also, how on earth have you made it to over forty chapters already? That's insane but amazing - well done!)

I really felt sorry for Tor in this chapter! After the way that the last one ended I really didn't know what would happen next or what to expect from it, but it was sad to see her suffering so much. She's changed such a lot since the beginning of this story when she was so confident and proud of being a Slytherin, because now she's the outcast and suffering from the sort of problems that brings. It's a big change for her and it makes me wonder if the Tor that we see in the prologue of this story is one who is still an outcast of sorts, or if she's one who has somehow persuaded the others that she's seen the error of her ways and has returned to her former Slytherin pride. I suspect that with the Carrows joining the school next year, she's going to have to do a good job to convince them of where her loyalties really lie.

It was really interesting to see all the different ways that what she's done is affecting Tor here, not only in the way that she's treated by her housemates and her friends, and what's happening with them (I'm quite worried about Taurus at this point, actually!), but it's affecting every part of her life, including her grades and schoolwork. I think it's going to make her realise more how much Terry really means to her, and if the same sort of situation arises again, then I wonder if she'll act differently because of it.

I was glad to see that Pyxis and Theo are sticking by her to some extent, though! The Nott boys are good to her in this story, even if Theo is being groomed to become a Death Eater like Draco.

Even though she was suffering a lot from what had happened between her and Terry, it was good to see Tor deciding to do something under her own steam and not just letting the others win as they try and isolate her. The scene between Tor and Draco was really interesting to read as well, because I could sense a sort of companionship beginning to grow between them, and obviously they'll marry eventually, so it made me wonder if the two of them will gradually become better friends while they're at school and then go on to get together. At the moment I don't really want to think of that though because I love Tor and Terry together too much!

One of my favourite bits in this chapter was the way that you wrote Michael and Anthony so the reader knew their connection to Terry existed but Tor hadn't worked it out. I love the way you portray the two of them, and they're good friends for Terry too!

Aw yay that ending! I felt so sorry for Tor all the way through this chapter that it was great to get some sort of light at the end of it, and the hint that there might be a chance for her and Terry again in the future. He's just so sweet and lovely and she is really lucky to have someone like him! Especially when he says that he remembers everything, which means that her spell didn't work but also that he knows what she tried to do to him. If he can forgive her then after knowing that then he really is special!

Great chapter, Jenna! I'll be back soon!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by BookDinosaur The Slytherin Boys

3rd August 2014:
So after a long and healthy break from reviewing I'm back again to pester/plague/annoy you with more gushy reviews because don't think I forgot. I did not forget. *nod*

Ergh, I almost wish that you didn't write so well because these Slytherins are perfectly in line with the books as in they're nasty and Death-Eater-to-be's and support Voldemort but you've done such a good job fleshing them out that they've become so much more human in my eyes than they were in the series when they were pretty flat and a Nazi allegory. And now I just like them and wish I didn't cause they're nasty but you've put me into a spot here, Jenna. :( I don't want to love them but I have to.

I really love how the two sisters are very different from one another and yet at the same time they both embody different Slytherin traits; while Daphne is cold and icy and remote, Tor's definitely cunning and knows how and when to suck up when she feels it would suit her. It's just interesting to see how there are quite a range of people in one house and they're definitely not all the same despite being in that one house. I hope that made some sense. :P

The tone of the story is somehow pretty light still, and that's actually really suitable since these Slytherin kids wouldn't really be feeling the proper effects of the war would they? I mean, none of the Hogwarts students are in direct danger but the other houses always fear for their family and friends who aren't in the protection of Hogwarts' walls; Tor kind of narrates all this carelessly because she doesn't know the full extent of the damage that's happening, and it's both interesting and vaguely horrible to be reading about such terrible times so lightly.

Haha, I love the shenanigans that they get up to in the dorms. ♥ It's so sweet to see them get to be kids and play tricks on one another, even if it's only for a bit. And I loved Selby as well, it's nice to know that some house-elves genuinely like their posts (unless Selby has been commanded to be happy... O.O ). :)

Ooh, so this is how it starts, hmm? I feel like Draco's trying to form some sort of anti-DA with this whole meeting thing, it'll be interesting to see how that works out. And somehow I found it funny that Astoria blamed Daphne for being "so very Slytherin" but then later exhibits completely expected/almost stereotypical Slytherin behaviour towards Professr Slughorn. ;)

Last things last, I think you wrapped this chapter up beautifully. I did laugh out loud at the poor stoned Puffs and I can definitely see some Snakes doing that to unsuspecting Badgers.

This was a great chapter, Jenna! There was definitely a lot of buildup but I do think it was necessary and you didn't make it boring at all, it was a pleasure to (re)read! ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>