Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
344 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jess the Enthusiast The Secret on the Staircase

30th September 2014:
Poor Taurus :(

And oh my god that snake - definitely didn't see that coming! Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Teddy1993 The End

29th September 2014:
Perfect chapter to finish your first story. I'm so happy Tor got Terry out of Malfoy Manor and even more so that they are leaving together. This opens a lot of possibilities for the second story and I'm sure it will be just as amazing as your first one. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Teddy1993 The Prisoner

29th September 2014:
Ouch. Truly amazing chapter! I knew what was coming, but it still was incredibly exciting to read :) Great job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Teddy1993 The Monster

28th September 2014:
I didn't really expect Astoria to be suspended from Hogwarts. Not this early at least. I wonder how this will end. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Teddy1993 The Consequences

28th September 2014:
Another fantastic chapter. Well, as if I didn't hate the Carrows enough already... You just don't touch McGonagall.

It's good to see Astoria helping Ginny, Neville and Luna. I wonder if she might join the D.A. at some point. Although that should be pretty weird as a Slytherin.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Teddy1993 The Carrows

27th September 2014:
Amazing chapter! The detention was very well written. It gave me the chills :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jess the Enthusiast The Fragments

24th September 2014:
OH THANK GOD IT WAS JUST A BOGGART ugh you really had me I was so worried

Really great chapter!!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jess the Enthusiast The Ball at Malfoy Manor

24th September 2014:
NO OH MY GOD OH MY GOD NO

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jess the Enthusiast The House of Nott

24th September 2014:
Oh my god??? What a way to end a chapter haha

Really great job though! I'm guessing that Tor's patronus is some sort of bird, but I really want to know what it is exactly!! And if it's compatible with a mink! Also, the snowball fight at the end was really cute :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jess the Enthusiast The Other Side of London

24th September 2014:
Andromeda! Of COURSE! I don't know why I didn't think of her before, but she's the perfect person for Tor to talk to in a time like this. And I'm really hoping that Tor follows the same path.

We definitely saw a different side of Theo in this chapter! One that definitely makes him less desirable; I'm sad for him, though, because if he had the same guidance that Tor is receiving, he could be a really good person.

Great chapter! I hope Guinevere doesn't eat Lancelot!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jess the Enthusiast The Slug Club Party

24th September 2014:
I have a feeling that Theo likes Tor and that would have delighted me in the beginning of the story but now? Not so much. Hopefully Terry isn't /too/ hurt.

I'm really glad that Tor told Ginny about the attack plan; I know she was in a really awkward position, but she did the right thing, and I'm proud of her for that! Also, I can't seem to think of whose name Ginny could have possibly given Tor and it's bothering me haha. I guess I'll find out!

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jess the Enthusiast The Queen's Tale

24th September 2014:
If Tor ever casts a corporeal patronus and it compliments Terry's mink, I will quite possibly die of the cuteness. Just saying.

Really great chapter!! I thought it was really cool how you integrated magic into Anne Boleyn's story!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Teddy1993 The Beginning (Again)

24th September 2014:
A lot sure has changed in a year! Demetria back at Hogwarts... That can only mean trouble. Although it was to be expected now that Snape and the Carrows are in charge. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Teddy1993 The Fall of the Ministry

23rd September 2014:
It's clear to see that Astoria is becoming more repulsed by the fascist ideas that the Death Eaters stand for. Even if that includes her own father. It seems Yaxley is having less and less interest in his daughters and more in his own position within the Death Eaters and the new Ministry of Magic. This might just encourage Tor to turn her back on her own family.

The installation of the Muggleborn Registration Commission sure complicates things for the relationship between Tor and Terry. Another thing I hadn't thought about before. I'm interested to see where you take it from here.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Teddy1993 The Guests

23rd September 2014:
Absolutely terrific chapter. Once again you did a great job picturing the other side of the Death Eaters. You show that they really do have a human side, despite everything.

The news of the little Avery girl struck me as odd. However tough and hardened Moody may be, I just don't see him killing children. Hopefully, we'll find out more.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Jess the Enthusiast The Disguise

23rd September 2014:
Terry ugh Terry is so cute I can't even

Great job!

Author's Response: He really is! ♥ I'm loving how you're connecting with the characters and sharing in these reviews, it really is so lovely and helpful. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jess the Enthusiast The Prank

23rd September 2014:
Oh my god that prank was BRILLIANT!!

Great job!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked it!! :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Jess the Enthusiast The Visitor

23rd September 2014:
Really great chapter! I love the relationship between Tor and her father; I often find, when reading fics, that the Death Eater father is usually demeaning and abusive in some way or another. That usually bothers me because it suggests that prejudice people are inherently evil in all ways, whereas, in real life, you meet a really kind and seemingly good person who is bigoted. It's just something that I think adds a nice touch of realism to your story, as well as moral ambiguity, which I really enjoy.

I found your brief insight into Snape's mind to be very interesting. I've always wondered about his Slytherin friends, because, in the books, Sirius names Snape's gang of wannabe Death Eaters, but none of them come to his defense when the Marauders humiliate him after the DADA O.W.L. Lily, before their fallout, refers to the group as Snape's friends and he doesn't deny it, even condones their prejudice behavior. And he enters Hogwarts knowing a lot of dark magic and with some inkling of prejudices (exemplified by his behavior towards Petunia), but I often wonder how accepted he was among these boys. He was part of their group, but did they make fun of him? Did they respect him? Did they see him as a valuable member of their group? I really liked your take on the matter :)

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey again!!

I'm so pleased you like their relationship, and I definitely agree. But if Tor's father was awful, then she wouldn't be so loyal to him and loving for her family. And of course you're right, being prejudiced doesn't automatically make somebody a bad person and people can change and grow. I'm really glad you think it brings realism and confuses about which side Tor should take, and her love for her family and the naturalization of those morals is something she struggles without throughout.

That's a very good point! I imagine him as a bit of a loner until he started to show he could be more powerful. It's quite odd. Maybe they weren't necessarily around for that incident, or wanted to preserve their own dignity and see if Snape could get out of it on his own? I'm glad you liked my interpretation of it here! :D

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jess the Enthusiast The Lesson

23rd September 2014:
Okay so Terry is obviously a Ravenclaw for a reason; bringing Tor into the Muggle Studies class while they were learning about WWII was BRILLIANT, and while Tor hasn't been completely convinced, it's definitely giving her something to think about. And I think that's great! Hopefully she can be completely persuaded soon because otherwise I don't think this relationship will last in the long term. Although I know it's going to be hard with all of her outside influences.

Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hey!! Haha, I love how you can see how well Terry fits into Ravenclaw. He's quite cunning and clever, and he's good at seeing a bigger picture when other people couldn't.

I think if at this point Terry just shoved all these ideas and opinions at Tor, she would balk and run away. But by showing her ways of learning more perspectives and opening her mind, she's able to come to conclusions for herself. You're definitely right, Terry would not stand by and be with a prejudiced girl if he didn't see some good coming out of her.

Thanks so much for another great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Teddy1993 The Goodbye

23rd September 2014:
Great chapter. It is a bit worrying that Tor could invade Pyxis' mind that easily. I have a feeling something will happen to him now that he knows about Tor and Terry..

Author's Response: Hello!! Ahh, that is a very good observation. Of course, Tor knows Pyxis has something to hide, though for now he's under the radar of anybody who could use Legilimency against him. Of course, that could change if Tor isn't more careful. Thanks for the review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Teddy1993 The Dark

22nd September 2014:
I prefer Greenboot :)

Amazing chapter! It's always interesting to see events from the books through other eyes in these kind of stories and you handled that perfectly here. I didn't even think about what Dumbledore's death means for Tor before I read this... Maybe Dumbledore confided in someone else about her (Snape, perhaps?). At least Ginny can still vouch for her, but the question is how much she can do.

This story is absolutely incredible. The more I read, the more hooked I am. You are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: I like Greenboot too! :D Or maybe Bootgrass? Hmm.

Thanks!! :D I'm glad you like seeing Tor's perspective on canon events, it's one of the things which both helps to structure the story but also challenge it. Dumbledore's death represents the death of hope or protection for Tor, kind of like how it represents the end of childhood for Harry in the books. Ginny is limited as she is a kid and still considered as such by many adults, but she does change a lot in the coming months as well.

Wow, thank you, that is such amazing praise! ♥ I just don't know how to thank you!! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jess the Enthusiast The Theory

22nd September 2014:
I hope Terry's outburst means that he's going to make sure that Tor doesn't remain ignorant during their relationship! Because I really don't want him to act like it's okay that's she's so prejudice towards people like him - I'm glad that he isn't doing that so far!

Really great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey!! :) No, exactly - although he really likes her he wouldn't be hanging out with her if he didn't think she had potential to be more open-minded. Sometimes she does exhibit those ingrained prejudices, inevitably, but her morals are changing even if her actions don't show it yet. :) Thank you for another great review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jess the Enthusiast The Seer

22nd September 2014:
I have a bad feeling that this is going to be canon compilant so Terry is going to die and Tor is going to marry Draco and be the mother of Scorpius :(

I'm really glad that Terry and Tor are talking (and kissing!) again but I really want her to actually change in her prejudice and ideology. I don't want her to be another Snape where it's like "muggle-borns are an abomination and must be extermination...except for you. You're an exception." Because that's both gross and unhealthy. So I hope Terry doesn't tolerate her prejudice but rather helps her see where she's going wrong. And I hope she learns from him (and Ginny!) and this bigotry ends. Because otherwise she really is going to lose Terry and marry Draco and that makes me sad.

But really great chapter! I'm really enjoying this story :)

Author's Response: Hello!! Aww, thinking about the future makes me a little sad and nervous too. But there definitely will be some twists along the way and the future might not be quite what is expected even with canon. (that sounds so cryptic and unhelpful, haha).

Yes! I know exactly what you mean, and she isn't another Snape, I promise. :) I agree, his attitude is so unhealthy and weird and I think roots from him being emotionally stunted. Tor is getting to the point where she faces a conflict between her present morals and her past loyalties. For the moment, Terry and Tor are are sort of getting along in this weird limbo where they shut themselves away from the world and for the most part from those social responsibilities, and ignoring the issues at hand. But they both still have a lot of learning and development to do as well. :)

Thank you!! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jess the Enthusiast The Headmaster

22nd September 2014:
I hope Ginny and Tor continue to interact!! I really like the idea of not only Terry altering Tor's worldview, but Ginny as well.

Really great chapter!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like seeing Ginny here! It's quite interesting to tie them in together and I love writing Ginny, she's one of my favourite canon characters. :) Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jess the Enthusiast The Horror

21st September 2014:
OH NO. I WAS SO EXCITED THAT THEY KISSED BUT THEN...OH NO.

Author's Response: Aw, I know! :( I'm sorry! Plot twists and emotional moments at the ends of chapters are strangely quite prominent in this story now that I think of it. Thanks for the review my dear!! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>