Reading Reviews for The Girl from Slytherin
  
349 Reviews Found

Review #1, by coleridgeandco The End

26th October 2014:
What can I say?
I just loved this story. Tor's character development, the splendid view you've given the readers of 'the other side of the medal', being Death Eaters with their family and friends... This is gold. The way Astoria went from bring the typical pureblood-mentality-filled Slytherin to a woman thinking for herself, to the point she can help Terry escape Malfoy Manor and abandoning her own family... Wow. Just wow. And I also loved all the scenes with Ginny; I really appreciated the fact that Tor's 'transformation' happened not only because of a boy, but also because of friendship and because she started actually seeing the bad in what her loved ones are doing. *bows*
The detention scene... perfect. Just perfect. I'm wordless (and impatient - how is the writing-10-chapters-before-uploading-the-sequel thing going?) admiring this lovely and truly addicting story - perfect Dobby.

 Report Review

Review #2, by coleridgeandco The Horror

26th October 2014:
I've wanted to post reviews of this fic forever and I don't know why I'm only doing it now...
Anyway
The name 'Hyperion' screams TRAGEDY!
Love this

 Report Review

Review #3, by coleridgeandco Prologue

26th October 2014:
I'm already loving this and I only just started reading it...

 Report Review

Review #4, by Frida The End

18th October 2014:
This story is soo amazing, i couldn't stop reading. I long for the next part!! /Frida from Sweden

 Report Review

Review #5, by Aakanksha The Theory

15th October 2014:
I dont know how to express this in words. I can relate to this in many ways, as I have been misunderstood too.It is a fabulous story, I hope you keep writing.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, thank you so much. This review really means so much to me and I'm so glad you liked the story. I promise that there is far more to come.

Thank you, lovely! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jess the Enthusiast The Secret on the Staircase

30th September 2014:
Poor Taurus :(

And oh my god that snake - definitely didn't see that coming! Great chapter!

Author's Response: Aw, I know! :( Taurus is in a tough situation considering his upbringing and Slytherin prejudices on top of coming to terms publicly with his identity.

Ahh, the snake!! So gross, right? Thanks so much for the great review!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Teddy1993 The End

29th September 2014:
Perfect chapter to finish your first story. I'm so happy Tor got Terry out of Malfoy Manor and even more so that they are leaving together. This opens a lot of possibilities for the second story and I'm sure it will be just as amazing as your first one. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!! Ahh, thank you!! I'm so glad you liked the last chapter and are excited for the new story - it's coming along slowly but surely and I'm having a lot of fun exploring all the new possibilities.

Thank you for being so amazing and supportive. Reading your thoughts on all the chapters has been really encouraging and motivating and lovely, and helped me so much with planning Book II as I got to revisit the old chapters. I really don't know how to thank you properly, but it means so much!! :) ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Teddy1993 The Prisoner

29th September 2014:
Ouch. Truly amazing chapter! I knew what was coming, but it still was incredibly exciting to read :) Great job!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you liked it! I was waiting for a long time to post this and was really nervous, so it means a lot to hear you liked it. Thank you!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Teddy1993 The Monster

28th September 2014:
I didn't really expect Astoria to be suspended from Hogwarts. Not this early at least. I wonder how this will end. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hehe, these last few chapters thrive on the unexpected. Thanks for the review!! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Teddy1993 The Consequences

28th September 2014:
Another fantastic chapter. Well, as if I didn't hate the Carrows enough already... You just don't touch McGonagall.

It's good to see Astoria helping Ginny, Neville and Luna. I wonder if she might join the D.A. at some point. Although that should be pretty weird as a Slytherin.

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Yeah, that was pretty awful - I really wanted the real, everyday horror of the Carrows to come through, so I'm glad it was effective. It would be really awkward as a Slytherin but Tor is breaking the moulds so you never know!! :D Thanks so much!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Teddy1993 The Carrows

27th September 2014:
Amazing chapter! The detention was very well written. It gave me the chills :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! :D I'm so excited you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Jess the Enthusiast The Fragments

24th September 2014:
OH THANK GOD IT WAS JUST A BOGGART ugh you really had me I was so worried

Really great chapter!!!

Author's Response: Yes!! Oh I could not do that to the readers at this point in the novel. Just a Boggart for now...

Thank you!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jess the Enthusiast The Ball at Malfoy Manor

24th September 2014:
NO OH MY GOD OH MY GOD NO

Author's Response: *evil author laugh* ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by Jess the Enthusiast The House of Nott

24th September 2014:
Oh my god??? What a way to end a chapter haha

Really great job though! I'm guessing that Tor's patronus is some sort of bird, but I really want to know what it is exactly!! And if it's compatible with a mink! Also, the snowball fight at the end was really cute :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the twist at the end, hehe. It's the sort of prediction which helps keep the story and the future grounded, though some of these decisions are so hard to make.

Thank you!! :D It is some sort of bird, and I promise to explain it...eventually. I'm glad you liked the snowball fight as well, it was a spontaneous addition but quite exciting to write! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jess the Enthusiast The Other Side of London

24th September 2014:
Andromeda! Of COURSE! I don't know why I didn't think of her before, but she's the perfect person for Tor to talk to in a time like this. And I'm really hoping that Tor follows the same path.

We definitely saw a different side of Theo in this chapter! One that definitely makes him less desirable; I'm sad for him, though, because if he had the same guidance that Tor is receiving, he could be a really good person.

Great chapter! I hope Guinevere doesn't eat Lancelot!

Author's Response: Yes!! Hehe, I was wondering if people would guess or not but she is perfect for Tor since they have so many shared experiences and backgrounds.

Theo has changed quite a bit, or maybe Tor's seeing his darker side. Perhaps both. He's one of those characters who really unravels a lot at the end of the story, but he could be a good person, you're right. The potential is there, just not the opportunity.

Thank you!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jess the Enthusiast The Slug Club Party

24th September 2014:
I have a feeling that Theo likes Tor and that would have delighted me in the beginning of the story but now? Not so much. Hopefully Terry isn't /too/ hurt.

I'm really glad that Tor told Ginny about the attack plan; I know she was in a really awkward position, but she did the right thing, and I'm proud of her for that! Also, I can't seem to think of whose name Ginny could have possibly given Tor and it's bothering me haha. I guess I'll find out!

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey!! :) Haha, I love how you've changed your mind about Theo, that's so awesome to hear you're connecting with the characters. Terry knows that the secret nature of their relationship means there is a divide between the public and the private but he definitely doesn't want to see the girl he likes with another guy.

She really was in an awkward decision, but I'm pleased you're happy she did the right thing. It's a real turning point for her. Thanks for another great review! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jess the Enthusiast The Queen's Tale

24th September 2014:
If Tor ever casts a corporeal patronus and it compliments Terry's mink, I will quite possibly die of the cuteness. Just saying.

Really great chapter!! I thought it was really cool how you integrated magic into Anne Boleyn's story!

Author's Response: Hehe, it would definitely be cute. Patronuses always have symbolism, so you never know!

I'm glad you liked the story - it was so fun to write since I love that era of history. Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Teddy1993 The Beginning (Again)

24th September 2014:
A lot sure has changed in a year! Demetria back at Hogwarts... That can only mean trouble. Although it was to be expected now that Snape and the Carrows are in charge. Great chapter!

Author's Response: It has! It was fun for me going back to the beginning and looking at Tor and how much she and Hogwarts have developed. This is a year for the Slytherins but Tor is going to struggle a little.

Thanks!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Teddy1993 The Fall of the Ministry

23rd September 2014:
It's clear to see that Astoria is becoming more repulsed by the fascist ideas that the Death Eaters stand for. Even if that includes her own father. It seems Yaxley is having less and less interest in his daughters and more in his own position within the Death Eaters and the new Ministry of Magic. This might just encourage Tor to turn her back on her own family.

The installation of the Muggleborn Registration Commission sure complicates things for the relationship between Tor and Terry. Another thing I hadn't thought about before. I'm interested to see where you take it from here.

Author's Response: Hi again!!

Yes, she definitely is and it doesn't help that Yaxley has a lot of stress on him right now so he's not thinking a lot about Tor. He's being caught up in his own ambition, but also his fears, and it's driving Tor away.

Yes, it certainly is especially since her dad is one of the people directly responsible for hunting down Muggleborns and administering punishment. It's a tough thing for her to handle, but at this point she's still nervous about how to assert her identity and sacrifice her family for her values.

Thanks for another wonderful review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Teddy1993 The Guests

23rd September 2014:
Absolutely terrific chapter. Once again you did a great job picturing the other side of the Death Eaters. You show that they really do have a human side, despite everything.

The news of the little Avery girl struck me as odd. However tough and hardened Moody may be, I just don't see him killing children. Hopefully, we'll find out more.

Author's Response: Hey!! :) I'm glad you liked the Death Eaters and their human side. Of course they would have these human moments of love and relief, which further confuses Tor because she is genuinely happy for her friends getting their dad back.

I didn't really imagine Moody killing a child either, so if he was responsible, it would have been an accident. However remember that this news is coming from the Death Eaters who would want to distort and demonize perceptions of the Order and the Aurors. Making the Order members like Moody into evil demons is part of the brainwashing they use to get kids like Tor to support the Death Eaters cause - that's how I imagined it, at least. They definitely want to use every reason possible to make Moody and the others seem like murderous monsters - propaganda and brainwashing is something that even Tor herself isn't aware happens to her.

Thanks so much for the great review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jess the Enthusiast The Disguise

23rd September 2014:
Terry ugh Terry is so cute I can't even

Great job!

Author's Response: He really is! ♥ I'm loving how you're connecting with the characters and sharing in these reviews, it really is so lovely and helpful. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jess the Enthusiast The Prank

23rd September 2014:
Oh my god that prank was BRILLIANT!!

Great job!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked it!! :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jess the Enthusiast The Visitor

23rd September 2014:
Really great chapter! I love the relationship between Tor and her father; I often find, when reading fics, that the Death Eater father is usually demeaning and abusive in some way or another. That usually bothers me because it suggests that prejudice people are inherently evil in all ways, whereas, in real life, you meet a really kind and seemingly good person who is bigoted. It's just something that I think adds a nice touch of realism to your story, as well as moral ambiguity, which I really enjoy.

I found your brief insight into Snape's mind to be very interesting. I've always wondered about his Slytherin friends, because, in the books, Sirius names Snape's gang of wannabe Death Eaters, but none of them come to his defense when the Marauders humiliate him after the DADA O.W.L. Lily, before their fallout, refers to the group as Snape's friends and he doesn't deny it, even condones their prejudice behavior. And he enters Hogwarts knowing a lot of dark magic and with some inkling of prejudices (exemplified by his behavior towards Petunia), but I often wonder how accepted he was among these boys. He was part of their group, but did they make fun of him? Did they respect him? Did they see him as a valuable member of their group? I really liked your take on the matter :)

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey again!!

I'm so pleased you like their relationship, and I definitely agree. But if Tor's father was awful, then she wouldn't be so loyal to him and loving for her family. And of course you're right, being prejudiced doesn't automatically make somebody a bad person and people can change and grow. I'm really glad you think it brings realism and confuses about which side Tor should take, and her love for her family and the naturalization of those morals is something she struggles without throughout.

That's a very good point! I imagine him as a bit of a loner until he started to show he could be more powerful. It's quite odd. Maybe they weren't necessarily around for that incident, or wanted to preserve their own dignity and see if Snape could get out of it on his own? I'm glad you liked my interpretation of it here! :D

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jess the Enthusiast The Lesson

23rd September 2014:
Okay so Terry is obviously a Ravenclaw for a reason; bringing Tor into the Muggle Studies class while they were learning about WWII was BRILLIANT, and while Tor hasn't been completely convinced, it's definitely giving her something to think about. And I think that's great! Hopefully she can be completely persuaded soon because otherwise I don't think this relationship will last in the long term. Although I know it's going to be hard with all of her outside influences.

Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hey!! Haha, I love how you can see how well Terry fits into Ravenclaw. He's quite cunning and clever, and he's good at seeing a bigger picture when other people couldn't.

I think if at this point Terry just shoved all these ideas and opinions at Tor, she would balk and run away. But by showing her ways of learning more perspectives and opening her mind, she's able to come to conclusions for herself. You're definitely right, Terry would not stand by and be with a prejudiced girl if he didn't see some good coming out of her.

Thanks so much for another great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Teddy1993 The Goodbye

23rd September 2014:
Great chapter. It is a bit worrying that Tor could invade Pyxis' mind that easily. I have a feeling something will happen to him now that he knows about Tor and Terry..

Author's Response: Hello!! Ahh, that is a very good observation. Of course, Tor knows Pyxis has something to hide, though for now he's under the radar of anybody who could use Legilimency against him. Of course, that could change if Tor isn't more careful. Thanks for the review!! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>