Reading Reviews for Confronting Temptation
  
427 Reviews Found

Review #1, by WICELA The Longest Night

15th September 2014:
When will the next book be released? I like it really much, I've red your two books in like four days. Your books are so much better than school, you know :P

Author's Response: Hopefully sometime this week depending on the validation wait. Writing these stories is so much better than school. So glad that you liked my stories and I hope that you like 3 just as much. Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Paddlewaddle The Longest Night

10th September 2014:
That felt like the longest night of my life just reading word for word in anticipation of what was to come next because honestly I did not expect it to end with Scorpius' insecurities being laid out and Rose finally seeing that these insecurities may never go away (for now). Now I don't know what to think or expect for their relationship (its so drama filled but I trust that they can get through this because I truly believe that they do belong with each other) but I can't wait for part 3! :D

Author's Response: Yeah, Originally I had those two chapter combined together in one chapter and different ending set, but it was too long for me. Yeah about midway through the story after they got married I realized that Scorpius had lost his edge, his story. He had gotten what he wanted and now he was only there to be a shoulder to cry or involvedin cute moments for Rose and I hated it because he has more character. So when I decided to do the third installment I knew I had to make Scorpius have a plot because I wasn't about to do just a pregnancey story, over my dead body would I have done that. So I went back and began reading parts of FT to see if I could find something and the one thing that always stook out was that Scorpius was willing to fight and Rose wasnt. In a way it almost read as thought Scorpius loved her more than she did, which isn't true, but still. So thats how this issue came about, because I wanted it to be something real and meaningful and I wanted it to be something that might actually better them in the long run. They do have a bit of a long road ahead of them but they have been through worse... sort of. Thank you so much for the review and for reading, I am so glad that you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Bexis Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

9th September 2014:
I have to agree with another reviewer, Harry is more at fault for Ron leaving. I went back and looked and there is zero hint that Ron was going to leave before Harry said that. Nothing. No mention of leaving, no attempt to pack anything, no evidence what so ever. Honestly I was surprised because I had sort of just accepted that Ron was completely at fault. But nothing in the text of the books suggests in any way that Ron was even thinking of leaving.

Brilliant fic, and really awesome that I learned something new about the HP world after so many years.

Author's Response: Jeez, this is one of those moments that I wish I had my books with me at school. I agree with you partially. Eevn J.K. has said that Ron left on his on and that he needed to leave in order to mature as a character because he was the last to do that. It does not have to be directly said that he was packing or talking about leaving, its all in his actions and Harry's thoughts. There are signs of Ron being uncomfortable on the trip, like when Hermione is making food and he says to her something about how it's not like his mums. Also he was very short with Harry and Hermione occasionally. (all signs of homesickness). At one point Harry even walks in on Hermione and Ron talking and they go quiet and he just knows that they were talking about how they thought he had a plan for what they were doing. Your right I don't think Ron was dileberatly thinking that he was going to leave, I'm sure that it didn't even cross his mind, but I think the comfort of home certainly was, and that is mentioned in the books. His need to constantly worry about his family. Regaurdless of the reason why he left I honestly believe that both Ron and Harry are at fault. Harry got angry and told him to go, and Ron threw a tantrum and left. If Ron is not at fault then why did he not just go outside and blow off some steam and then come back later? They were both being very immature in the situation and in my opinion you never leave your friends, and Ron came to that conclusion too because he came back. I'm not a hundred percent sure because I can't remember but I think Ron was already looking for them befor he even used the deluminator. He even says that he was given the deluminator because dumbledore knew he would be the one to lose his way, once again i'm not sure if that was in the book, but I know it was in the movies and J.K. Had to give script approval on all of the movies and if you watch interviews with her she deffiently told the directors when something was wrong, so some part of her had to agree.
Anywyas thanks for the review and glad that you liked the fic. Thats just my opionion on the matter.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Avanell 2 The Longest Night

6th September 2014:
Oh, wow! another cliffhanger story leading to another epic story! Brilliant! RON HAS TO MAKE IT!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading, glad that you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Houdini Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

3rd September 2014:
Actually in Deathly Hallows Ron didn't get it wrong. He didn't even consider leaving until Harry screamed at him to leave. Despite fandom myths Harry is more at fault for Ron leaving than Ron was.

Author's Response: I disagree, I think Ron already had one foot out the door before ever yelled at him. Harry yelling at him (in my opinion) was Ron's get out of jail free card. He could leave and not be blamed for doing it. That was just how I read it. But thank you for your opinion.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Arcoiris The Longest Night

3rd September 2014:
Wow, that is so intense, but very, very good. Poor Rose. I completely understand her pain. Oh no, she found the letters rather than him telling her! I'm glad that she went right to the real issue of trust relating to her walking in the past. I totally get what she is saying about only being seventeen but I also understand what he is saying about being the one left behind and that pain lingers in more hidden ways (and then manifests as letter-stealing). How will they work through this? There are strong issues to deal with on both sides. Maybe they need to see a counselor?
I remember testing my best friend once to see if she would leave me if I became really obnoxious. I'm blessed to say that she did not and we had a good, healthy, tearful conversation, out of which we became much stronger friends.
I look forward to more if your story. (Boy, validation for chapters takes forever on this site!!!)

Author's Response: It was a bit hard not crossing that boundary with Rose being extremely angry with Scorpius about the letters and making that apart of the issue, because it was, but in the end it wasn't the important one. I think they both have valid points Rose was young and scared, and Scorpius is insecure. The next story is going to focus a lot on their relationship, and forgiving and understanding each other. Just because they have issues doesn't mean that they fall out of love.
Unfortunately it is going to take a bit more than a good, healthy, tearful conversation, to resolve this issue. Yeah validation has been taking a while. Oh well.
Thank you for the review and for reading.


 Report Review

Review #7, by kaeliebear The Longest Night

3rd September 2014:
Love it! I can't wait for the next story! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you, I will.

 Report Review

Review #8, by pikachewbites The Longest Night

3rd September 2014:
Wow, what an ending! You really know how to end at a cliffhanger. I enjoyed the whole story & looking forward to the next installment!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. The first chapter of Expecting will be up soon. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by rose_me The Longest Night

3rd September 2014:
You cannot make this last chapter!!!

Author's Response: It's the last chapter, but with another book so... Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Binding Oath Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

2nd September 2014:
This is just like the time Ron nearly died from Draco's poison except that time people weren't blaming him for something that wasn't his fault. Rose is a horrible daughter, truly horrible. Even worse was Hermione threat to divorce him, Ron should have left her right then when she tried to blackmail him into doing what she wanted. I feel bad for Ron in this fic but the other characters are kind of tools.

Author's Response: Well Ron shouldn't have tried to make Rose choose. They are all a little bit at fault. As for Hermione, it is one thing to love your husband, it is another to love your kids, kids win out usually. Hermione if effected by all of this and she is the one who really has no say in what happens. She threatened to divorce him after months of argue, and she regretted it the instant that she said it, but is it so wrong that she wanted her Ron and her daughter to be on better terms? Is it so wrong for her to want Rose to be more involved in her life? It's her daughter, her flesh and blood that she gave birth too and took care of for years. She did what she thought was needed. Anyways I don't agree with your opinion, I love Ron, but he is at fault, that being said he is trying to make up for it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Arcoiris Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

29th August 2014:
Very good chapter. I liked the interaction with Lexie, definitely awkward but I think they came out slightly better for it. I agree about Ron. Now it seems like Rose is learning good lessons of forgiveness towards your husband from her mom. Where was Scorpius in this chapter?

One correction, it should be "couldn't care less." Saying you could care less, is the opposite of what you mean, I think.

Author's Response: It's funny that you pointed out the couldn't care less, because Could care less actually is right. To say that you could care less means that you could actually care less than you do and Rose really does care less. To say you couldn't care less mean that you do care, because you are saying I could not care less than I do. I'm taking this weird grammar class right now and that was like the very first topic that my professor discussed, about how we talk in contradictions all the time.
Now, yes the Lexie Rose moment was really something that was needed. Yes Rose is learning a lesson in forgiveness but that still doesn't change that Scorpius doesn't trust her. She can forgive him for the letters but him not trusting her is completely another issue. Scorpius just didn't fit in. He is in the next chapter (which is up for validation). Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #12, by CaramelDiamant Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

24th August 2014:
Hi,

I'm so happy you brought some family time in along. It's nice to see Hugo again and I think you did really well with the Lexie part! I felt with her at the awkward encounter of Rose standing in her/ Hugos apartment. Although there is still so much to say between them, I feel like they've come to a bit of an understanding. I really thought you would put some hints of Rose's preggo state in but I guess we have to wait for the allover reaction till next time :) Cheers

Author's Response: Yeah I fell like Lexie does have a whole story of her own, and its unfortunate that I don't get to show you guys all of it, but I do try to show what I can. Glad you thought it was awkward enough, but it wouldn't have been right if it felt comfortable. There is an understanding, but Lexie didn't say that she wasn't still in love with Scorpius, and I think Rose caught on to that. I put one little hint when Rose was holding the baby, but really this chapter was cut in half and the end where all the hints really were, got pushed into the beginning of the next chapter. Anyways the Thank you, again, for your reviews and you wont have to wait long for the end.

 Report Review

Review #13, by CaramelDiamant Odd Predictions

24th August 2014:
Hello there,

I really tried to wait for the over-next chapter to be uploaded to read it all in one go but I just couldn't! I love the way Scorpius reacted to the crying part in teambuilding, both of them actually. It fits really well into character for him and rose. They are both so dry-humored - same for the predicted pregnancy! I do love that! But on the other hand it bothers me so much that Scorpius holds the letters a secret from Rose! How can he do that if their whole realationship depends on chosing? And now your cliffhanger...- Rose is going to find out! Aaaah...so glad I can read it the next minute ;) Anyway i just wanted to say that i really enjoyed this chapter because of the way you let your characters act. It just fits! Big thanks to you!

Author's Response: Hi, So sorry it took me so long to respond, I have had a busy week. Well the last chapter is awaiting validation so it shouldn't be long. I feel that it fits well for both him and Carla. Scorpius isn't in his right mind at the moment he is scared and when someone is scared of feels threatened they do weird things. Thank you so much for the reviews and for reading.

 Report Review

Review #14, by kayleefrank Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

17th August 2014:
I understand why Scorpius hid the letters, in fact I would probably do the same thing, but it is totally going to bite him in the rear. I love these stories and I can't wait for the next chapter! Hurry please.

Author's Response: I will be adding the next chapter to the queue this weekend. As for Scorpius I think he is justified but I also think he is too far over his head, he only meant to do this for like one or two letters, but once it started he couldn't stop because then he would have to admit that he had been hiding them to begin with. Yes, Rose isn't going to happy with him.
Thank you so much for the review and for reading.


 Report Review

Review #15, by dracodarlingxx Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

17th August 2014:
you moved twice?! woah.
and an emergency appendectomy? hope you're okay now xx my friend got appendicitis while he was on holiday in spain and his dad had to go to spain to bring him back, in a wheelchair, in a whole lot of pain, for an emergency appendectomy, so i hope to god yours wasn't as bad xx
lexi? me no like lexi. lexi was not nice to rosie though i can obviously understand why, and what she said about being in love with hugo at the end made up for her rudeness just a tiny bit :)
shock at hermione's confession that she knew about scorpius! but then, hermione does know everything, i shouldn't have been surprised o.O
lovin Rose getting the info out of Healer Marshall and thanks for the reassurance that Rose won't break it off with Scor.
great chapter, please update soon xx
p.s. i love you for bringing harry into the chapter. he was awesome.

Author's Response: Yeah, dumb dormitory rules. Just because me and my roommate wanted a new apartment because we were under the impression that our old one was haunted, they made us move out for two weeks and then move back in with freshmen. It was dumb.
My procedure wasn’t bad, the doctors were able to use the less invasive method and I was home the next day.
I knew that I had to have a Lexie and Rose scene. There was no way that they were going to be able to avoid each other forever. I think Lexie has some issues with Rose, I mean essentially Rose is living the life that Lexie was meant to have. But I think Lexie is adjusting well to the way things turned out. The fact that she is able to feel anything for Hugo is remarkable, because Scorpius really messed with her heart.
Just because Rose isn’t going to divorce Scorpius, doesn’t mean that this is going to be an argument that they have and then it gets smoothed over in a chapter. What Scorpius is doing shows a serious lack in trust in Rose and that isn’t going to settle well with her.
So glad you liked the chapter and Harry. Thank you so much for the review and I will be adding the next chapter to the queue this weekend.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Avanell 2 Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

14th August 2014:
My cousin had your situation in the last two weeks as well...happy recovery and hugs to you! Awesome update, hope he recovers and somehow we finally learn about the letters! Loved Rose meeting the ex! Brilliant update as always. Just need more :D

Author's Response: Yeah it is not fun. Oh the letters will be revealed in the next chapter, along with Rose's reaction. Lexie and Rose needed a scene together, I mean they are going to be apart of each others lives, so there is really no way around them having any interaction. Chapter 29 is almost done. Thanks for the get well wishes the review.

 Report Review

Review #17, by rose_me Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

11th August 2014:
A lovely chapter ! Hermoine n rose's convo is so perfect ! Last chapter remaining ? OMG ! I cannot imagine !

Author's Response: Glad that you liked it. That conversation took me four days to write so I hope it was perfect. I know only one chapter left, I am so excited. But hey at least there is a third story. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #18, by pikachewbites Off White Walls and Apartment Bedrooms

11th August 2014:
I'm sorry to hear about your surgery & I hope you're feeling better now!

Yeah, Ron tends to over-react & sometimes make bad decisions but his heart is always at the right place & eventually he owns up to his mistakes. That's why I love his character so much, he's flawed but he's a good guy nevertheless.

I think you've done well with Hermione. The scene of her with Rose is sweet & was much needed.

I can't believe this story is coming to an end! I love it so much!

Author's Response: Yeah it sucked, but the catch up after the surgery is what held me and my writing up.
I fear that I may have over villainized Ron. He is my favorite character out of the trio and I always felt that he would over react especially with his children.
I'm glad you think I got Hermione. I agree that scene is much needed and I have been trying to get it in for so many chapters, but it could just never work.
Where one thing ends another begins. Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Tam Odd Predictions

31st July 2014:
when will you be posting an update?

Author's Response: I am working on it as fast as I can, and I am almost done. I am seriously hoping to put it in the queue tomorrow. This week has just been nuts. I have moved and had two finals so not a lot of writing time. Sorry for the wait

 Report Review

Review #20, by Franklin Odd Predictions

20th July 2014:
I think we are going to get a mirror image of Hermione in the infirmary after Draco poisoned Ron in HBP as Rose is going to get to St. Mungo's and realize how wrong she's been about her dad.

Author's Response: I didn't think of it as a mirror image, but Hermione will be worried. It would be wrong if she wasn't. But as for Rose realizing that she has been wrong, I'm not sure that that is going to happen, unfortunately in the situation Ron is more in the wrong in her opinion. She doesn't know that he has been writing her so she honestly thinks that he wants nothing to do with her. So she isn't going to be in the mind set to think she is wrong. And really is she wrong? All she wants is Ron's acceptance, something which he has been pretty stubborn on in the past. So yeah Rose is going to have a lot of thoughts but her apologizing to Ron is definitely not going to be an immediate thought. Anyways thank you for the prediction and the review.

 Report Review

Review #21, by S Odd Predictions

19th July 2014:
When might the next chapter be coming?

Author's Response: Sometime this week. Trying to finish the next chapter tomorrow and then it just depends on the validation wait.

 Report Review

Review #22, by dracodarlingxx Odd Predictions

6th July 2014:
GODAMMIT I KNEW SHE WAS PREGNANT!!!
AND OMG SHE'S GOING TO SEE HER DAD! WHO'S GOING TO ASK ABOUT THE LETTERS! AND SHE'LL BREAK INTO SCOR'S LOCKED DESK DRAWER AND FIND ALL THE LETTERS! AND CRY! OR BE ANGRY! THIS IS BAD. VERY BAD.
argh.
so this linda chick's a real seer, yeah? which means that bowlky is going to die soon (!) in a grey building with a window (:'))
ron's been a bit of an idiot, but i hope he doesn't die.
and maybe we'll see harry at the hopsital (hopefully not hurt too), 'cos i do want to see harry :D
but i do love this chapter, and Rose was so cute when she was ill, and Scor was just cute in general :*
please update soon xx
p.s. i loved the bit where Rose told Scor where his clean socks were, like a typical married couple :)

Author's Response: I will say that she is going to see her dad, but he probably isn't going to do much talking, that is unless I change my mind while writing the chapter, which has been known to happen occasionally. As for her reaction I will say that neither of those will be her first reaction. Obviously she is going to mad, which she has a right to be, but him keeping letters isn't going to be what makes her angry.
As for Linda, I took a Professor Trelawney approach, she cant sometimes be right, but she is sort of a joke.
Ron's a bit of an idiot, but at the same time I always son Ron as a character who has always realized his mistakes eventually. Like when he quit talking to Harry in HPGOF because he was jealous that Harry's name was chosen, and when he left in HPDH, he came back and pulled Harry from the water. He is flawed but loyal, and that's why he has always been my favorite of the three. I just feel that with his daughter he is a bit more over protective, and I think he has a right to be upset about her marrying Scorpius because Ron only ever saw the outcomes of Rose & Scors fights, he never saw them together, and he has never seen Scor as anything but a guy who has physically and magically hurt his daughter, which is his flaw.
I hadn't planned on Harry being there, but I don't know why because he is Ron's best friend, so... thanks for bringing that to mind.
The scene with Rose sick was something that came to mind a while back, I never intended to use it because it wasn't plot moving, but then when I decided to cut the 2nd book short and expand it the last arc into a 3rd, I realized with what I had mapped out it could work as maybe hinting at symptom for something you mentioned above, but not entirely confirm. Im going to try to have an update sometime next week. I want to finish ch. 11 for Twelve first and send to my beta before I start writing ch. 28 & 29, of confronting. Anyways thank you for reviewing, made my day. Also glad you liked the socks because they are a typical married couple.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Avanell 2 Odd Predictions

6th July 2014:
Wow! Two issues for Rose to deal with...although I thought she might find the letters or something to indicate so, by accident since Scorp isn't home. Great update! Loved the seer and the bonding retreat, lol. I think Rose's description was a bit better though, lol. team building exercises :D Excellent update!

Author's Response: Yes, Rose is about to hit a standstill in her perfectly mapped out life. Scorpius still isn't going to be home for a while, so she could still come across them. Rose is very bitter about her experience during her bonding retreat, lets just say that Matt can be overly enthusiastic and it didn't end too well for them. Thank you for reading and reviewing, glad that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #24, by AlexFan Odd Predictions

27th June 2014:
Scorpius is right, his hoarding of all these letters is getting absolutely ridiculous at this point. He needs to tell Rose, look at the news that Hugo just gave Rose! If he'd actually given the letters to Rose then Hugo probably wouldn't have had to go to Rose's apartment and force her to go to St. Mungo's because she would already know because of the letters. You know, probably.

And I have a feeling that Rose is going to find out about those missed letters and she's probably not going to be too happy with Scorpius for keeping them from her. And as much as I can understand why Scorpius won't give her the letters, it's not his place at all to decide who his wife can and can't get letters from no matter who they come from and whether or not he likes the person that's sending them.

Author's Response: I don't think he expected it to taken so far. He was probably under the impression that since he took the first one then the second letter would mention the first one. He is well aware that he has no right to hide the letters, but he is also scared and not thinking in his right mind. I will say that Ron's illness isn't in the letters, regardless if his illness is something that has just happened or if it is a condition he has known about for a while he wouldn't have mentioned it because he would want Rose to only forgive him because she thought he was dying. He would want her to make that decision based on how she felt. She is going to find the letters, but I will say anger is not going to be her first reaction. She will get angry but it wont be entirely because of the letters it will be a little bit about something else. If it was anyone else from Rose's family, like her mother, Scorpius would be hesitant to give Rose the letters but he would do it. It's the fact that it was Ron and the last time Ron sent a letter to Rose, she had broken up with him, Scorpius is slightly scared of Ron, even though he stands up for himself the few times he is around Ron. It doesn't make his decision correct but that is his reasoning. Anyways, as always, thank you for the review. I always look forward to yours.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Arcoiris Odd Predictions

24th June 2014:
Liked very much. Supremely nervousness about the increasingly massive secret Scorpius is keeping from her, but I do totally understand his thinking! I know Rose will eventually, too. But she's got a temper that's gonna come first, I'm guessing. Yikes!

Author's Response: Although Rose has a temper it isn't going to be her first reaction. I will say that Rose has grown up a bit over the past few months so she will probably be a bit more understanding in his reasoning. Meaning she will give him a chance to explain before she starts to yell. Thank you for the review and for reading.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>