Reading Reviews for Run, Won-Won, Run!
  
7 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rainpixie The Perils of Romance

21st April 2013:
Hahah! This is too funny! "Can't take me seriously while Lavender is liking me" *wipes tear off mirth from eye* I bet this story was as much fun to write as it was to read.

Author's Response: It was such a blast to write! I adore Ron and Lavender is pretty hilarious, too. They had some fun moments together. ^ ^

 Report Review

Review #2, by Remus The Perils of Romance

6th March 2013:
Heya! I saw Dan recommending this fic some time ago and now with the Gryffindor v Slytherin thing going on...I've taken this as an opportunity to come read it!

I usually read and review at the same time. However, with Ron being one of my favorite characters in the series, I felt immediately sucked into the story and didn't review as I usually do.

His monologue about how amazingly good looking he is and his trouble with Lav-Lav is done amazingly well. You had me rolling my eyes along with Hermione and laughing with Harry about poor Ron's predicament. What I like about the way you wrote this was how well you painted the picture in my head without over explaining things. Writing in first POV is difficult and some people over-do details so its always nice to see when an author seems to get it right.

Lavender is a piece of work though. She was a bit crazy in the books...you managed to make her insane and a bit stalker-ish. Seriously, I had an image of crazy Lav-Lav hoovering outside the Gryffindor's boy dormitory, just watching Ron sleeping or talking to Harry. All while wearing a creepy smile.

Harry tells me not to discourage her because it amuses him to watch.---That has got to be one of my favorite lines. Because as horrible as Harry's life was, he still enjoyed school...thanks to moments like these.

Ron felt so in character. Of course he has a big head about the whole Lavender thing, but he's still denying his feelings for Hermione. He even gets a bit jealous about Harry and Hermione and he doesn't even know it.

Anyway! This was an amazing one-shot! Thanks for the laugh!!! I'm adding this to my faves now! :)

--Rosie

Author's Response: Hi, Rosie!

Lavender and her creepy smile was a blast to write. I almost always write in third person, so it surprised me when I sat down to write this and it ended up being in first; but there's something about first person that lets you inside the character's head more than other POVs do. Ron's thoughts kept flicking to Hermione, even when he wasn't totally sure why, which I enjoyed doing because Romione is my absolute favorite HP ship.

I'm so happy you thought Ron was in character! Things got a bit absurd in this one-shot, with Lavender trying to lick his hand and Ron strutting around, so I had to remind myself to reel it back quite often.

Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #3, by TenthWeasley The Perils of Romance

1st February 2013:
My 600th review! As long as no dastardly no-good so-and-so deletes any stories I've reviewed in the time it takes me to type this out, because I've been looking forward to reading this all week. And even through that, I did not even anticipate how much I would seriously enjoy this! Trufax: There is nothing you cannot write.

This is absolutely hilarious, this story. ♥ You've brought the brilliantly funny Ron from canon here while still keeping him amazingly in form, and that's not always an easy thing to do -- a lot of people either overdo it or make him broody and angst-ridden. And some of the lines in here! You need to write more stories like this, in running commentary, because it suits your writing style extremely well. I will be pestering you about this. And Lavender was so wonderfully insane! Which is ironic, because I wrote about literally-insane Lavender only a week ago, and here she's licking his hand and wrapping her legs around him and I am dying right now. I hope no one is listening because I have giggling hiccups.

Honestly, I think my favorite part was Harry and Hermione's reactions, though, because HELLO CANON. (Headcanon -- Moaning Myrtle had traversed through the pipes into the boy's toilet and was trying to drown Harry so he'd die and haunt alongside her.)

I think I've said this a lot now, but this really is one of my favorite one-shots you've ever written. :D Please, please write more like this!! ♥

Author's Response: OR AT LEAST IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IF SOMEONE HADN'T DELETED ONE OF THEIR REVIEWS. And yes, I checked that later to make sure I was still 600th. And I am still miffed. -__-

Running commentary comes out more quickly than any other style I write, because I can just type whatever pops into my head whenever I've put my character hat on. Ron in particular is very easy for me. RON AND I ARE KINDRED SPIRITS.

Two different insane Lavenders! And now, looking back, I'm laughing to myself once again at how our different styles shine through just in our Lavender characterizations alone. Yours was a dark, calculating, twisted murder plot, and mine was a slapstick nutter trying to lick Ron's hand and following him into the bathroom. Either way, crazy Lavender is the best kind of Lavender. Except in Godric's Hollow she's really not very crazy, she's actually quite normal. But that's what Cormac's for, anyway.

Myrtle was totes there.

If I ever get the plunnies for it, I certainly will write more like this! ♥ THANK YOU FOR READING AND REVIEWING, U DA BEST.


 Report Review

Review #4, by shadowcat2 The Perils of Romance

28th January 2013:
You just made my day. :D

Author's Response: Awesome! Happy to oblige. :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by MissMdsty The Perils of Romance

28th January 2013:
Oh my God! I have tears running down my face from all the laughter. I can't believe this, it was brilliant!

What's really, really funny about it is that it's not a parody. This is Ron, he thinks these things, he's random and offensive without knowing it and in 6th year he did think the world of himself.

The interactions between him and Lav-Lav were absolutely amazing. The legs around him, the licking his hand, him breaking her nose. That's pure comedy right there and I loved every moment of it!

My favorite quote, that I think sums up teenager Ron is It is harder than I anticipated to be a beautiful person. Well, I had entire paragraphs of favorite quotes but this is just... genius! (I'd use Ron's signature line but I'm not sure if I'm allowed in reviews ^.^)

I won't comment on your grammar or spelling, you are flawless as usual! Excellent story!

Ral

Author's Response: Eee, yay! That really makes my day. ^ ^

Ron can get away with saying anything, basically, because he totally does not do it on purpose. He NEVER thinks before he speaks, and even when he does he just shrugs and doesn't know what the big deal is. There were times when he was stupid and full of himself, strutting around, but you've got to love him anyway because he's Ron, and Ron is the best.

Thank you so much for reading and for your lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst The Perils of Romance

28th January 2013:
Hi, there! First off, I wanted to say thank you for organizing such a great challenge. I enjoyed it immensely!

This story was brilliant. I laughed non-stop as I was reading it, which isn't the most dignified thing to do when you're sitting at work. But it was worth it. I feel like my day is already off to a great start.

I apologize in advance; this is probably going to wind up being one of those reviews where I spend an awful lot of time copying and pasting my favorite lines and gushing about them. This isn't because I'm too lazy to properly deconstruct and analyze your work -- well, at least that's not the main reason... -- it's because I think you did such an amazing job of capturing Ron's inner voice in all its hilarious brilliance. At every turn, you put this spin on the events that sounds exactly like Ron Weasley. He's a little full of himself, coming on too strong to begin with, and then retreating toward Harry and especially Hermione when he realizes that he's in way over his head. This story was a perfect reflection of the way I remember Ron from the time of the Gryffindor-Slytherin Quidditch match in HBP until the Battle of the Astronomy Tower.

Only Ron could generalize one girl's intense, borderline-creepy obsession into believing that he's a girl magnet. Even as he glories in his newfound "science-y" revelation, it seems like it's Hermione's standards that he's subconsciously measuring himself against, which was a very realistic touch. And the little mental dig at her for not being able to do Potions better than the Half-Blood Prince was really clever!

Demand for my lips is higher than ever. They constantly taste like cherry lip gloss and I donít even have to apply it to myself. It just gets that way naturally from another personís mouth putting it on me. A girlís mouth. Because I snogged her. And thatís how the transfer of lip gloss happened. -- Genius, from start to finish!

I love the gradual way that Ron's thoughts descend from the heights of "I'm god-like" to the depths of "Oh, god, what have I done?" You start to show us the cracks in his magnificent edifice from nearly the beginning, and then we get to watch them grow. You did a good job with describing Lavender's little love notes and Ron's frustration with trying to open them and keep up with them all. As a guy, I can readily attest that I never really "got" the way that those worked.

She kind of reminds me of a mime when she does all this arm-waving. Harry tells me not to discourage her because it amuses him to watch. - One of my favorite things you've done is the way that Harry isn't letting him off easily. In fact, Harry seems to be having a ball. Good on him. He owes Ron after the whole Triwizard Tournament debacle.

Neville found it and while he insists he didnít touch it, his ears were red for an hour so I knew right away what had happened. - Poor Neville. Our little boy is growing up too fast!

I love the panic Lavender's advances send Ron into. The whole scene just cascades from one funny moment to the next. Ron, desperately scrawling his name to look busy, Hermione viciously selling him out, Lavender trying to do god-knows-what with her feet around Ron's waist and Harry loving every second of his best mate's torment. The role reversal as Ron feels objectified and violated was just brilliant!

The temperature of the room has gone up at least five degrees, so I know that Lavender must be doing something bad. Itís because of the indescribable glower Hermione has on her face that I turn around. Am I wrong to think that Hermione probably got very close to hexing, cursing and/or punching Lavender at some point during Ron's relationship with her? Because Hermione did have a little bit of a violent side to her, at least in my opinion. Draco found this out the hard way.

Hermione is making sounds like a dying elephant. Harry has excused himself to the loo. I wish I could crawl under my desk and die but I canít because Lavenderís hiding under my desk right now, pulling one of my socks off. She touches my knee in a weird spot and I accidentally kick her Ė I did not mean to do that! Sheís got a Ė oh, God. Her nose is bleeding. I mumble some nonsense at it with my wand but I think that made it worse. - Bahahaha! This is the paragraph where I just lost it. My coworkers think I'm so strange sometimes...

She follows him into the bathroom! Wow, the girl is beyond shameless. And then this: I start to imagine kissing Hermione and Lavender pulls away, gasping for air. ďWow!Ē she exclaims. ďAre you trying to swallow me?Ē Oh, I love it! Small hints of where his heart really lies...

And then he runs back to the classroom and Hermione sends him right back to reality by selling him out again! She has so much spirit, even when she's so upset. Or maybe it's because she's so upset. Either way, I adore her in this. I get the feeling that she probably never lost an argument to Ron in all the years they were married, and it isn't just because she's brilliant. She has enough ammunition to last a lifetime.

Harryís told me countless times that he canít take me seriously when Lavenderís licking me while Iím trying to talk to him. - I have to say, I can see Harry's point there. I do love the way that Ron is constantly trying to retreat back into his "safe zone", aka Harry and Hermione. And the way you ended it, with Ron finding that the whole day was salvaged by the little smile that Hermione lets slip and the slightly distracted way she's going about her schoolwork, was really beautiful. You stayed so true to him throughout...

Sarah, this was magnificent! I feel honored and privileged to have been the recipient of this gift. You took a silly idea that had been hanging out in the back of my head for a while and turned it into something really, really special. Thank you!

Author's Response: I really suck at responding to reviews in a swift manner. -hangs head-

I'm so thrilled you liked this! Challenges of any sort are really appealing to me, so the idea of handing out one-shots as prizes was an exciting way to see how I can interpret someone else's idea for a story. I was especially excited to write from Ron's perspective. I've only written him one other time, in third-person narrative, and was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I can identify a lot with Ron because we have similar personalities, so it was fairly easy to get inside his head.

Confession: I totally did the whole confusing note-folding thing back in the day. I couldn't remember how to do it now if I tried, but the way I shaped those things was practically origami.

I would be surprised if Hermione /didn't/ secretly hex Lavender at some point in time. After all, she did share a dormitory with her. Hermione's clever enough to be able to cause her all sorts of problems without anyone being any the wiser. It's the simple, vindictive triumphs like pouring stinksap into shampoo or turning Ice Mice into real mice that would be gratifying enough to placate Hermione's bitterness but still mild enough to fly under the radar. (I think that revenge tactics are biologically instilled in females. At any given moment we can think of 100 ways to get back at someone who has wronged us.)

Ron's true feelings showing through were so much fun for me to write. I'm not sure he was even totally aware of these feelings. His thoughts just kept gravitating to Hermione, both positive and negative. Romione is my absolute favorite ship in all of Potterverse, so I couldn't resist the little bit of Romione poking through throughout. :P

Thank you, once again, for participating in my challenge and for giving me the opportunity to write such a fun plunny of yours!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Expelliarmus26 The Perils of Romance

28th January 2013:
I love Ron's rambling internal monologue. Fun story!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! Glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login