Reading Reviews for You Can Write The Book
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MagykNargle it's all in the details

5th March 2014:
Well, then. Thanks for making me just about cry!
Honestly, though, this was beautiful! You reviewed /my/ Colin one-shot at some point today, so I decided I'd check out your work! And Merlin, I was /not/ disappointed!

I love the way you described Colin in all his cheerful glory, and the passion he felt towards photography. It was truly spot-on! It's also brilliant how you included the bit about the basilisk and the effect it had on poor Colin. Just like a lot of people forget that he died in the war, lots of people also forget his role in the second book. But you didn't! And for that I commend you! :)

Anyway, brilliant job! I'll be sure to check out some of your other stories. ^.^

Thanks,
~MN

Author's Response: Hello! Aww, what a lovely surprise review! Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to read and review. ♥ And I'm sorry for the feels! Poor Colin. :(

I love the way you described him - "cheerful glory". That's him, completely. That's who Dennis sees, all the small, banal moments that make up Colin's life rather than the war hero that he's posthumously recognised for. And I'm glad you like the inclusion of the basilisk attack. CoS is the book in which Colin appeared most frequently, so I felt that I had to mention something about that in the fic.

Ah, Colin and Dennis - they're the forgotten brothers of the series. Everyone remembers the Weasley twins and mourns for them, but the Creeveys get significantly less attention, which is such a sad thing, seeing as they were just as brave, and they were Gryffindors as well.

Thank you so much for this lovely review, my dear! It has absolutely made my day!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #2, by Santa (of the secret kind) it's all in the details

17th December 2013:
Hi Teh, and Merry Christmas, I'm here with your secret Santa gift and couldn't resist reviewing some of your wonderful writing.

I loved this story from the first paragraph. I love that you used 'Mam' instead of Mum, because where I'm from (the North Pole obviously) we say that too :D

I love the description you use, it's something I've been envious of since the first time I read your writing. In the early chapters when you describe the photographs, I can see them perfectly in my head.The one of the beach was my favourite, I swear I could smell the sea air when I was reading it!

Through Dennis' eyes you've painted this completely wonderful other side to Colin, not a complete 'fangirl' as I like to call him, but a big brother, a son, and someone who can see beauty in everything. You've given him a personality that is all yours and yet fits with JKR's character perfectly.

The slight hint of comedy in this is excellent too, 'I did not want to write a bloody book' was completely unexpected and made me laugh out loud, something that is rare for me when reading fanfiction.

The transition from Colin coming home from his first year at Hogwarts and his death was brilliantly effective, I liked that it kept in keeping with the photography theme and the memories you chose were so descriptive even though they were short (seriously, how do you do it?) The one describing his death hit me like a ton of bricks and made me angry at JKR all over again for killing him!

It's not often I cry when reading fanfiction but this truly made me shed a tear, his parents' reactions and Dennis drinking sherry with Doris and the fact that he didn't go back to Hogwarts is just so sad :( (A total credit to your writing though!) Then I had just composed myself and you go and write about that last picture with the fireworks...you killed me Teh! The little hint about Dennis' lack of photography skills was a lovely addition though.

Anyway, in case you didn't already know, I loved this. It was happy and heartbreaking all at the same time, completely flawless writing.

Author's Response: Ooh, HELLO THERE, Santa! ♥

Aww, aww, thank you for this brilliant review gift! And thank you for choosing to read this little story of mine, which I wrote nearly a year ago now. It's making me feel all nostalgic for it, and wow, do I have so many Dennis Creevey companion oneshot plunnies to this piece! But I'll hold them off for now.

I'm glad you like the descriptive parts and the photograph structure of this story; it's what inspired me to start writing this piece in the first place. Bahaha, Dennis the fangirl! I love that. Oh no, more plunnies...

I'm so glad I was able to make you laugh and cry with this piece; it's about Colin's life more than it is about his death, and it's about those who survive (Dennis). Ugh Colin's death will bring out more tears in me. ..

And can I say how overjoyed I am at your comment about Dennis' lack of photography skills?!? I'm SO delighted that you picked that up; I think you're the only reviewer for this story so far (and there are quite a lot of reviews for this fic) who mentioned that. YES. ♥ Dennis and Colin both notice the details, the minutiae of life, but only Colin has the skill to capture it. A bit of skill, at least. Dennis just doesn't have it, nor does he even want to try.

THANK YOU for this smashing review, Santa! ♥ ♥ You've made my day!

teh


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cannons it's all in the details

26th October 2013:
*apparates in, wobbling slightly, struggling to regain balance*

O-M-G.

I've already read th...oh wait I forgot to say that I'm here with your 'I think I'm crazy review'...anyway, I've already read this and I was filled with awe afterwards. I never made the connection though that you wrote this though when you commented on my status.

You have the amazing talent of just drawing the reader in and engrossing them with your wonderful words. Anyone can put words after a word but you do it wonderfully and if the standard of your writing is the same of the first two pieces I have read I'm going to be so pleased! ( and envious!)

*paces from side to side, looking for the right words*

There were so many lines in this which made me smile. It was so smooth and easy to read and really quite sad.

'But there was a funny sort of glow in his eye and he put a hand on my shoulder and pressed me back down, saying, “Wait a moment. Mind if I get a shot of you?”'

I think that line ^ is a perfect reminder that even though a picture never lies, there's always more to it. I don't know if that was something you were getting at, but throughout this all I could think of was 'there's always more to a picture.'

*reaches for tissues*

I really like Colin and his death was so tragic and annoying, but heroic and I think every reader grew to love him. and this did him proud. He was smarter and braver then anyone ever gave him credit for, you show how smart he is with a camera, how his mind works.

Your writing is just incredible I know I keep saying it but it is. What is your secret ;) I loved the last line as well! I mean you told the basically all of it through a camera, so good.

It might take a while to get through all of your work, I want to leave proper reviews, rather then half-hearted ones so hope you don't mind.

Cannons!

*Turns on the spot and disapparates*

Author's Response: Awww, Cannons! Another lovely review from you! ♥

AND on one of my favourite pieces, too! I haven't written a story since 'you can write the book' that I've been as happy with; this fic really does have a special place in my heart, even though, if you think about it, nothing actually /happens/ in this story.

Colin and Dennis really have such a sad story, as sad as the Weasley twins. Colin's death is so sudden, and unfortunately, no further mention of him is given after that awful moment in the final battle. He's always been a bit of a funny, character - slightly on the ridiculous side, and not exactly the most popular of people in Hogwarts. With this fic, I wanted to explore not his heroic actions and foolhardy Gryffindor bravery etc., but his normal life - and all the tiny trivial details that come with it.

I'm glad you like that line! I think you're the first reviewer to point out that sentence, which is great, because it's quite deliberate. I put it in there to not only depict Colin's knack for capturing the simplest but sometimes inappropriate moments and making them, but also to show some nuance of the brothers' relationship with each other.

Well! I certainly don't know if the rest of my writing will be up to the standard of what you've read so far! :P But I hope you'll find the rest of my stories enjoyable. I do feel like my writing varies a great deal over my stories, stylistically as well as in terms of plot and character.

Thank you so much again for doing this! *hugs* ♥ Take your time going through my stories; honestly, your reviews really mean so much to me. Thanks again!

teh


 Report Review

Review #4, by HermioneeeGrangerrr it's all in the details

16th October 2013:
Great writing. I don't think I've ever read anything from the perspective of Colin Creevey's brother before.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to read :)

-teh


 Report Review

Review #5, by Indigo Seas it's all in the details

11th September 2013:
I just decided to flit by because I saw your post in the Squee Topic and was like, "I should read more of teh's stuff!" And I am SO GLAD I DID. Really, this is just a useless review because I'm just sort of scampering around, making grabby hands at various sentences. But really, your writing is fabulous. Your flow is amazing; I got half way through this before I even realized I had read that far. The characters are believable, the narrative is superb. Anyway, really, really strong stuff.

"And there’s half our Dad over there – the margin of the print slices clean through his face and so he’s one-eyed, quarter-nosed, with an unfinished smile." - THIS sentences is just... lovely. It was the first one that stopped me and made me really happy, for some reason.

I loved reading through the photographs, too, because I could feel everything you were describing. I guess that was the point, but it was done really well, and I didn't even notice that I was so immersed in the story until my iTunes stopped working and I was jarred out of that rapture that you get when you're reading really good stuff. Do you know what I mean?

"Snap. Me arriving at Hogwarts for the first time, with its turrets cutting upward into the sky in a crooked sequence of steps, the yellow windows burning in the stone." This just paints such a beautiful picture; it's perfect.

It feels like such a personal narrative, and you've constructed it just right. It's intimate but I don't feel uncomfortable reading it.

GAH. I could go on but I feel like I'm just rambling so I'll stop before I get totally nonsensical. Lovely, marvelous, wonderful, etc.

xx Rin

Author's Response: RIN!! ♥

Waahh, this is such a lovely and totes unexpected review! Thank you so much; I am not worthy!!! And it's NOT a useless review at all.

I'm so glad you picked this story to read; it's a story that I have a special fondness for, because I really enjoyed writing it, and showing things through Dennis' perspective. The Creeveys are such underwritten characters! And in the books, Colin was more of a ridiculous figure than anything, and we hardly hear anything about Dennis.

I'm glad you like some of the sentences! I enjoyed trying this structure out; it's clearly not an original idea - as mentioned in the disclaimer, I was influenced by a real life short story, and I was excited to try things out and consequently, this story was born. And I'm SO SO GLAd that you thought it flowed well! The snapshot structure could have been a bit jarring for some, especially since I jump around a lot, but I'm glad you found it easy to read!

FD;AKSDJASJ 'personal narrative' is pretty much an accurate description of this story. I wanted to avoid all that big, public "heroism" of the postwar situation - Colin would have been lauded a hero, definitely, but I don't know how many would have actually realised or been interested in what a simple, completely ordinary life he once led. Dennis, of course, knows all this, and I chose to show things in a different way (without all the big hero stuff) through his POV.

THANK YOU SO MUCH ONCE AGAIN, RIN ♥ ♥

And my goodness, i think it's definitely high time that I read more of your stuff! You yourself are such a brilliant, talented writer! *hugs*

teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by atellam it's all in the details

26th August 2013:
Beautifully written. I love your writing. You're so unbelievably gifted with words. You deserved your Dobby nominations. The quote from this story is just amazing. Wonderfully done.

- A. :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for this lovely surprise review! ♥ I'm so glad you chose to read and review this story; it's one of my personal favourites out of everything on my page. The Dobby nomination for this story was honestly so unexpected, and I'm still more than a little humbled that this simple story has achieved so much. I'll be happy no matter what the outcome is! Thank you so very much again! *hugs*

-teh


 Report Review

Review #7, by StellaRose it's all in the details

15th August 2013:
Aww...I really love this. It's so touching, so heartwarming. I feel like I really know and understand Dennis better after this! Thanks for writing this! I really enjoyed reading it :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely review! This was a wonderful surprise :D I'm glad you're able to see Dennis in a clearer way through this story; this was just my interpretation of his character, and I'm so glad you found it heartwarming.

Thank you so much again! ♡

-teh


 Report Review

Review #8, by ATLpaintingflowers it's all in the details

1st July 2013:
Tag!
I thought this story was really well thought out and executed. The transitions were really smooth, and the spelling and grammar was impeccable. I loved how you portrayed the characters, like Colin wasn't just this boy that went around taking pictures for no reason, it was so much more than that. Dennis had so much depth to his character it was amazing. The reactions of the parents and the people were really realistic, and I love how you described the feeling of grief, it was really relatable. I honestly think you out did yourself with this story. I kind of cried.
But anyways please keep on writing, because it's beautiful.

Author's Response: Hello! :D Thanks for your absolutely wonderful review, and apologies for taking so long to respond! I'm so glad you thought the transitions were smooth, despite the snapshot structure of this story. And I'm very happy to hear your comments on Dennis. Depth of character was precisely what I was hoping to achieve, especially with my use of first person. I wanted to make both brothers appear very normal and almost mundane average people (Colin is a bit of a ridiculous character in the series, and there's nothing much about Dennis). So it's really rewarding to hear that this piece was realistic and relatable. I'm sorry you cried! *hands over tissue*

Thank you for your wonderful review again!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #9, by Indie it's all in the details

8th June 2013:
Excellent, really beautiful. I could see it all. You're wonderful.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for your lovely words! ♥ And thanks for reading; I'm so happy you liked this ♥

teh


 Report Review

Review #10, by cypress it's all in the details

28th May 2013:
This is exquisite. Truly exquisite. I'm sorry for taking such a terribly long time to finally review the challenge entries, but I'm here now. I honestly have no critiques. This is, as I said, an exquisite piece of work. You do such an amazing job of drawing the reader's attention to the details that they normally wouldn't think they have to notice - the details that make the story come alive.

Your use of imagery is fantastic, the onomatopoeia poignant. I cried. I honestly cried the first time through. Thanks for this lovely work. It makes me want to read the original it's based off of. I'll be reading the rest of the entries soon and PMing the results soon. Thanks so much for entering. Apology again for the delay, and also for this flimsy review. But honestly, if I went through listing everything I liked, I'd never finish!

I like how you broke up the snippets in time and brought us along to the end. And the way you wrapped up with a focus in on Colin was just - wrenching. I don't know if that's helpful, really, but just keep doing what you're doing.

x cypress

Author's Response: Hello cypress! ♥

First, thanks so much for creating such a lovely challenge. I'm so extremely honoured and humbled by this review and your praise of it. This is a story that I've really enjoyed writing, probably enjoyed writing the most out of all the stories sitting on my page (maybe it's because I borrowed that line and a bit of the style from an existing story!).

What I wanted to do with this was write a sympathetic but imperfect portrayal of the Creevey brothers - Colin is the stronger presence in this story (IMO), despite his absence (both in life and in the photographs), and it's because Dennis foregrounds him, trails behind him, accepts the fact that he tags along/used to tag along. It is told through snippets, or snapshots, which are quite independent of each other, but when I put them together, I was hoping to achieve a sense of brokenness, possibly disjointedness (of things broken up and put back clumsily together - just like the Creevey family picking up the pieces after the tragedy). That final snapshot, the last scene which is set back in the past, was meant to be something hopeful for Dennis. I'm sure he will be fine!

akjshflj sorry for being so incoherent and rambly!

Anyway, thank you so so so much once again for this amazing review ♡ ♡ I'm sorry that you cried, and this is going to sound weird, but thank you for crying! For engaging with this story on such a deep level! You have no idea what it means to me that my writing can evoke such emotions in people ♥

teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by cypress it's all in the details

28th May 2013:
This is exquisite. Truly exquisite. I'm sorry for taking such a terribly long time to finally review the challenge entries, but I'm here now. I honestly have no critiques. This is, as I said, an exquisite piece of work. You do such an amazing job of drawing the reader's attention to the details that they normally wouldn't think they have to notice - the details that make the story come alive.

Your use of imagery is fantastic, the onomatopoeia poignant. I cried. I honestly cried the first time through. Thanks for this lovely work. It makes me want to read the original it's based off of. I'll be reading the rest of the entries soon and PMing the results soon. Thanks so much for entering. Apology again for the delay, and also for this flimsy review. But honestly, if I went through listing everything I liked, I'd never finish!

I like how you broke up the snippets in time and brought us along to the end. And the way you wrapped up with a focus in on Colin was just - wrenching. I don't know if that's helpful, really, but just keep doing what you're doing.

x cypress

Author's Response: Hello again! I've already responded to your other review! Thank you again ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan it's all in the details

24th May 2013:
Again, I am blown away by your writing. I love the way you told this story in photographs - it gives a kind of disjointed feel which naturally complements Dennis's emotions after his brother's death. I really enjoyed seeing something from Dennis's POV as well, considering how overlooked he is generally.

I love your attention to details and your descriptions. They are so vivid and it makes it so the whole story seems like a photograph. Wonderful job on this story! 10/10

Author's Response: HAII ♥ ♥

Poor Dennis :(

This is a story I really enjoyed writing :D Well, it's sad and all, but IMO it has a bit of hope in it, a bit of hope for Dennis. I think he'll get better...I think. And there are so few Dennis stories on this site! I guess the Creeveys were hardly the most popular of characters, and Colin and Dennis certainly don't compare to Fred and George :(

I'm glad you liked the detail! I was a little worried that I was going overboard with them, but these are the sorts of things that Dennis notices - he doesn't care much for them, to him they're just there, existing. It's Colin who would be struck by all these things, these silly irrelevant things and he'd get all excited about them. At least that was what I was trying to convey in this story...not sure if I succeeded :P

Thank you so much once again for all your wonderful reviews ♡

teh ♡♡♡

PS: I just noticed you joined the forums recently! Welcome ♡ And feel free to drop me a message or PM over there anytime!


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauder5 it's all in the details

6th May 2013:
Tag!

This story was INCREDIBLE! I absolutely loved everything about. It was so touching and heartbreaking. Dennis is such a minor character in the books and in fanfiction in genral, so it was really nice to get to read something from his POV. I think that you've portrayed his loss and his grief in such a beautiful way, and letting photography be the theme of the whole story makes perfect sense, and it works really well! Your description said that both of the Creevey brothers had an eye for details - well, so do you! Your descriptions are incredible and very vivid, and they really add a lot to the story!

All in all, this was very sad, very beautiful and very touching. I loved the ending, when he looks at this happy moment and sees Colin in the photo, even if he's just in the background. It's absolutely perfect. I loved this! Well done! :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Aww, I'm glad you liked this story so much :) Those are some really lovely compliments you dished out to me and I'm eating them up greedily and I think my ego is being overfed to obesity. Er...right, sorry. Anyway, I really enjoyed writing Dennis in this story, his painful meandering voice going round and round the memories, unearthing those photos of Colin, recapturing the tiniest and most useless of details. Which despite their insignificance, do actually mean a lot to him.

Eep, I'm really flattered to hear you say that I have an eye for detail ^.^ I'm glad you didn't find all that too overwhelming - these little sorts of things are quite important to Dennis but I was also a little worried that they might clog up the story too much...

Thanks for this lovely review! It's made me nice and happy :D

-teh


 Report Review

Review #14, by WeasleyTwins it's all in the details

18th April 2013:
Hello! I'm Shelby (aka WeasleyTwins). I'm getting back into the groove of reading and reviewing here at HPFF (I'm an older member who lurks in the shadows) - anyway, I kept seeing your name pop up here and there, so I thought I'd drop by and read and review one of your stories.

Oh. My. Holy. Harry. Potter.

I have to be honest when I say that I did NOT expect that. Who are you and where in the world do you get your talent? I was utterly astounded. I'm an avid reader in and outside of HPFF and thus rather picky. I like to read something worthwhile. Something with feeling or adventure, something that hits me. And oh my word, did you just send me into a spiral of emotions. I don't know whether to be awe-struck, jealous, depressed, or hopeful. I envy your abilities. How long have you been writing? Now that I'm done fangirling and acting a fool -

Your descriptions are to die for. I'd consider myself a critic of descriptions, in particular, in any story. I don't want to read an excess of nature and feelings and actions, I want cohesion, something that strikes me to the very marrow of my bones. By goodness, that's exactly what you've done - my English major sensibilities are all dancing around doing the mambo. Your descriptions are literally perfect - it isn't purple prose in the style of the Victorians nor is it the sparse, bland descriptions of many stories of the 21st century. Rather, it's these snapshots that you bring to life with your style and diction. There is no other way to describe it as other than striking - like a spear to the heart and in the moments before it reaches your chest, you see everything and feel everything with such clarity. I enjoyed the mixture of scenic and action descriptions coupled with the emotions related to the events of the moment. It was enthralling and I was utterly entranced.

I did notice one mistake - you seem to keep with canon, at least, that's the way it appears - however, when you first mention Doris, you describe her as "Muggle" which the boys wouldn't know about until Colin goes to Hogwarts. Perhaps I'm wrong, but I just thought I'd point that out! :)

I've read several oneshots about Colin, but never something quite this loving - you portray him so well and his characterization is so wonderful. It took everything I had not to cry. He's not this obsessed little boy, but an inquisition young man with a passion for capturing a moment that sometimes only a photograph can do. I applaud you for taking an alternate route than that of tradition Colin fanfics and giving him so life and purpose. Seeing Colin through Dennis's eyes is wonderful, just astounding. We only truly understand the magic of a friendship and relationship when that person is dead.

I also thoroughly enjoyed the beginning "and you can write the book" - the metaphor and theme is prevalent throughout the entire oneshot. Dennis is writing the book, not that of Harry, but of Colin, of a boy whose memory lies in the hundreds of photographs. Speaking of photographs, I thought that your description about them were amazing - Dennis spoke to the audience as if we could see the photographs, sitting in his living room as he reminiscences about his brother. That particular technique is ingenious and effective - it is the icing on the cake.

I'm not quite sure what else I can say. Usually I go on and on, but I'm so astounded by the talent you exhibit and the story itself. I'm so glad that I decided to stop by. I've found myself another story to add to my favorites (and an author to add to my favorites list!).

Splendidly done.

Shelby

Author's Response: So. I'm going to do my best to restrain myself and /not/ come off as a complete idiot A;OIUGHJASN;JDJ

HAI SHELBY ♥ I'm teh ^.^ I didn't know my name was popping up that often! But I'm a newer HPFF member, having joined the site last October. That's when I began writing fanfic seriously, I suppose.

And GAH this fabulous review. OK, where to begin. Aaaahhh I kinda secretly love it when someone compliments me on my description, because that does take some time to write and to think through. I understand what you mean when you said you don't like reading something about an "excess of nature and feelings and actions". It can quickly become purple prose and a little bit tedious if not done well. So I do try to make the descriptive bits in my stories as precise and as detailed as possible, and more importantly, relevant to the characterisation. But all that being said, this little fic of mine is not particularly well known for its descriptiveness, so I am a little surprised but grateful that you liked the descriptions!

Ooh, about mentioning Doris as a "Muggle" - you're quite right in thinking that the boys wouldn't be familiar with the word during that time. However, the entire story, is being narrated by Dennis, who's actually in a post-Hogwarts moment. So he's sort of looking back at the past and narrating bit by bit from the present. Which is why he tells some things but doesn't explain the rest. There actually is a sort of time frame in this piece :D Umm, apologies if that sounded a bit convoluted; it certainly is a lot easier writing it than explaining :P

Gaaah, I just loved how you described this story as "loving". My ego is honestly a hot air balloon right now and somebody needs to put a pin through me and bring me back to earth. But yes, Dennis ♥ The Creevey brothers are not characters I particularly cared about during the books, but they are the sort of people I like to write - a bit odd, a bit embarrassing and a bit silly at times. But I really did feel for Dennis when I began writing this. His voice was very clear in my head, and out of all the fics on my author page, this was one of the easiest to write; I didn't even plan it much.

Ahahaha, I'm not the first person to use this technique of speaking to the audience, and in fact, this story was greatly influenced by an OF short story I read a few years ago, as mentioned in the disclaimer :) That being said, I hope that I did put a bit of my own spin to it :D

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS FAWESOME FEXCELLENT SHMAZING REVIEW. And for favouriting alkjhp;fiaush. ♥ ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jchrissy it's all in the details

2nd April 2013:
REVIEW TAG! I'm so sorry for the wait to get this review! I had a client walk in right when I was starting my review. ugh.

I've been wanting to read more of your stuff for a while now, so review tag was a perfect reminder. And oh boy am I glad I chose this. This was such a heartbreaking but real one shot. There are things that will always make me sad no matter what. Like the Marauders death, Fred's death. but Colin's isn't one of them. I think it's incredibly sad and everything, but he's not one of those character I just instantly feel sad about reading a death story of theirs. So the fact that you broke me to pieces with this one shot means so much more.

I didn't get sad because his death makes me sad, it really doesn't do much other than make me go, awww... but I got sad because of how well you crafted this story. It's a perfect example of what a one-shot should be, and just tugs at every emotion I have. The way you told the story through other stories... through each photograph, was just outstanding.

Then on top of that, your ability to describe the photographs without feeling like you're describing them is just amazing. Focusing on things like the placement of his father in the pictures is just so creative.

I like that Doris came back! Dennis didn't know exactly why he wanted to go back to see the woman, he just wanted to and it felt like something he needed. But everything else around that section, his parents just deteriorating, his mother's inability to be around any of them... it was all just so painful.

You have a really amazing writing style, m'dear. This piece was awesome, and I'm so happy I read it.

Jami

Author's Response: Jami ♥

Aww, thanks for this too amazing review! And don't worry about the wait!

I know what you mean about Colin's death in the books. The Marauders and Fred...well those were well-loved characters, characters that JKR had gone into some detail to develop and then to have their lives cut short like that was just terribly tragic :( But Colin...Colin wasn't as well-developed. He was always this annoying kid and when he died I only felt a small twinge at how young he was but I didn't get too teary like I did over the others. At least not until I started writing this story through Dennis' POV :)

Ah, can't say how much it means to me that you loved the style :D I'm glad it works!

Thanks so much again for this absolutely lovely review, Jami!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #16, by onestop_hpfan18 it's all in the details

18th March 2013:
Hi Teh! living.free / Leslie here for the review exchange. I really enjoyed this and thought you captured the true extent of what it feels like being on the outside looking in while snapping pictures of what's happening before your eyes. A photographer really is the watcher, watching all these participants doing these things without actually participating in what they're doing himself.

Also, despite how little we know of Dennis, I though you provided just enough characterisation for us to really see what his character is like and how he felt about his brother. We already knew that Colin and Dennis were close based on the fact that they always seemed to spend their free time while at Hogwarts together so the fact that you wrote their relationship really shows that closeness that they had for one another. I also liked how you showed Dennis feeling isolated from everyone after Colin's death and you really did a great job showing his isolation with his recalling how he had felt taking that photo of the fireworks with his brother just barely in the shot, as if he was disconnected from everything and everyone else around him.

The only critique I have is from a sentence that was awkwardly worded: '...whenever anyone entered the room she was in she would throw up her arms...'. You don't need 'she was in,' so instead it would flow better as '...whenever anyone entered the room she would throw up her arms...'. Aside from that I didn't notice any other awkward sentences so I guess that just slipped by when you were editing. Anyway, excellent chapter, Teh, I really did enjoy it and will have to read more of your stories when I have more free time. (: 10/10

Author's Response: Hello there Leslie!

Thanks for your lovely review :) I'm so glad you enjoyed it; I'm quite happy with this little story myself. The Creevey brothers certainly are a sad story; they were such an odd, quirky and not exactly popular pair at Hogwarts. I'd even say that most people found them (especially Colin) pretty annoying :P

So for this fic I felt like giving both of them lives of their own, lives beyond their oddness, their silliness and everything. I don't know a whole lot about photography, but yes, I wanted there to be plenty of snapshots to capture the detail of life, to flesh out their missing lives a little bit more.

Thanks for pointing out that sentence! It certainly is clunky and I'll be fixing that :) Thank you once again for your review!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #17, by patronus_charm it's all in the details

17th February 2013:
Tag!

I’ve never read any Colin centered stories which seems a little odd, considering I have soft spot for him, so I was glad that I could read this story :)

I thought that you captured Collin’s delight with the camera, excellently! The way he observed every piece of it, and saw it a much finer detail than everyone else, showed that he was a true photographer, and loved his art.

I was just wondering whether in this story Colin’s Irish? As only the Irish tend to say Mam, and the rest say Mum. It’s not a criticism, just me wondering really, as in my head Collin was English.

I really loved how Colin wanted to capture everything, not just the perfect moments. I guess it showed that he knew life wasn’t perfect, and that there were always blemishes in it. This is sort of reflected in his death really, as it was cruel that he was taken at such a young age, but nothing’s perfect.

You have a knack for including little details, which make the story so much more special. I think it was most effective when Dennis was talking about how he could only remember snapshots. I think it was the fact that you included those details into his snap shot memories, made it somehow more poignant, and memorable. It shows that while you think you’re focusing on the bigger picture, it’s the little things which stick in your mind.

The way you dealt with Collin’s death brought tears to my eyes. Dennis seemed to be so blunt about it, and just the way he told Doris he was dead, and no further explanation. I thought it was great though, as it linked into the idea of Collin being a photographer, and his life ended as quickly, as photo is taken. The imagery you used to described his body, was so vivid, it will probably be stuck in my head all day, and make me cry!

I thought this was an amazing one-shot. It seemed to present so many new perspectives you never really think about. It also provoked so many emotions, I felt like I was on a rollercoaster throughout. I thought the choice of how to end it was great, as it was a relatively sorrowful one-shot, but you choose to end it when Collin was pure happiness. I thought it was good idea to do, as it showed that life isn’t just trials and tribulations, but happier moments to! A definite 10/10!

-Kiana :D

Author's Response: Hiya Kiana!

Goodness, thanks for such a detailed review :D Aww...you've given me so so many compliments. I'm a little lost for words here!

I'm so glad that you liked this story, that the details worked for you. There wasn't much of a plot; it's more of a snapshot...a moment in Dennis's life when he's looking at a bunch of old photos, and the story sort of moves through vertical time, er...sort of going deeper into the moment rather than forward...I know I'm probably not making sense here but it's 2am and bah! I'm getting incoherent.

I didn't want to use too much figurative language for the moment describing Colin's death - it's just supposed to be blunt and somewhat flat. And judging by your reaction and your comments, I think it might've sort of worked :)

Baha! I researched about the 'Mam' thing before I started writing...I know Seamus says "mam" but I didn't know anything about Colin. Somehow Google told me that Mam is used by people living in the north of the UK. So i just sort of thought, cool! The Creeveys are northerners! Well, you're probably right that they're actually English! I have never been to the UK or to Europe before :)

Anyway, thanks so much once again for this lovely review! It's completely made my night and I'm so glad you liked the story!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshp it's all in the details

12th February 2013:
Review Tag!

Wow, this was amazing! Your descriptions were so intense and brilliant, they totally captivated me throughout. And OMG Colin and Dennis!! I just want to hug the two of them! You wrote this so well, really, I cant be coherent while writing this review! The ending is just so amazing and powerful too!! Merlin, this was just beautiful! I enjoyed this a lot and I have so many feels right now! asdfghjkl;

Anyway, being a little coherent, I just wanted to say, I really loved this story. You wrote it wonderfully and I absolutely was enraptured while reading this amazing piece. You have portrayed Colin and Dennis really well, and in such a touching manner. The whole plot concept of taking pictures and such, was just expressed wonderfully. This flowed so smoothly too, and I was hooked. All in all, this is a masterpiece of writing!

Great job! 10/10

Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: aklsjdhljkafs

Yes, POOR COLIN AND DENNIS :(

Oh thanks for this absolutely wonderful review! Your reviews are always so full of lovely compliments that I get a bit overwhelmed sometimes :DDD *teary*

So happy you find the flow good :D So happy you liked this! Aah, I'm a bit incoherent myself...just...THANK YOU SO MUCH OMG.

♥ teh


 Report Review

Review #19, by SiriusLeigh it's all in the details

8th February 2013:
It was beautiful. Thank you.

Author's Response: No, thank YOU so much for reading and taking the time to review ♥ I'm so happy you enjoyed it.

-teh


 Report Review

Review #20, by ChaosWednesday it's all in the details

7th February 2013:
Tag!

Well, this was absolutely mind-blowing. What won me over was the end. This: "You’ll have to look a little closer to find him – but he’s there."

While I was releshing in you wonderful descriptions, something in the back of my mind was being all picky and kept nagging at me with "Where is this going? What are we seaching for in these memories?" And then that one sentence allowed everything to fall into place. We were looking for Collin, one of the most minor characters that, despite going practically unnoticed, still left a tiny yet meaningful rift in wizarding history.
I also loved how you concluded everything with fireworks. It reminded me of the ending of Blue Valentine - I don't know if you've seen the film, but the use of fireworks is very similar. There is something dangerous and exciting about lights exploding everywhere :P They symbolize both destruction and new beginnings, and are easily connected to war as well. It's a very subtle and clever analogy.

Another of my favourite moments was how you described the parents' reaction when they found out. It's a situation that not everyone has experienced personally but has seen overdone in literature and film so many times, it takes some effort to let the individuals still shine through their grief. The way they rocked back and forth, while awkward - and possibly because of it - was incredibly touching.

Let's see...Oh yes, and I loved this sentence: "And there’s half our Dad over there – the margin of the print slices cleanly through his face and so he’s one-eyed, quarter-nosed, and with an unfinished smile." That, besides evoking a very vivid image, was a neat way to foreshadow the tragedy to come.

That said, I just couldn't get over your use of the word "folks"...I know it's kind of nitpicky, but I just can't see it fitting with the rest of the narration.There is something provincial about it that stands out. I'm not British, so I really don't know how widespread the use of the word is, but - ugh, ok, it's up to you, really :P

A few more things I found a BIT les perfect than the rest of the story was, first, the abundace of details. On the one hand, they do create some vivid magery that I enjoyed very much, but they were also a bit distracting. This mostly occured in the sea-side scenes. This sentence, for example: "During our stay there we’d always stop at the local takeaway for fish and chips, which came parcelled in newspaper, oily blotches soaking through the print." It's wonderfully descriptive, but I didn't find that it added anything towards moving the story forward. I'm not even sure what it depends on, actually.For exampe, when reading about Doris, I thought the tea-bags were a perfect touch, but couldn't say the same for the description of her arms and her knitting. I suppose what unites the details I found superfluous is their lack of interaction value. The diner and the knitting say alot about the places and people they describe, but not much about the relationship of the narrator and other characters to them. I hope that makes sense! Keep in mind, this is the most minor bit of CC in the world and it's really not important at all :P

Also, I found that Collin's memory of his coma was a bit of a strange addition. Staring at cracks in the ceiling is sort of a cliché, in my reading experience. Also wouldn't he have been more focused on the people around him? He seemed to have an endless amount of curiosity and awareness of people and, considering the unusual circumstances of that year, there would have been people fussing over him constantly, right?

Don't pay much attention to my CC, it's really the most insignificant of details. it's just that when I read something that is nearly perfect, I become more aware of places where I, personally, could imagine improvement. This was a wonderful piece of writing and I hope to read more of your work!

Cheers!

Author's Response: Whiskey ♥

Ugh, sorry for taking twelve billion years to reply to your very lovely and incredibly detailed review! I have absolutely NO IDEA WHY you would give such a great review along with some very honest and thought-provoking concrit, only to end it all with saying "don't pay attention to my CC..." -_-

I need the CC and I can't thank you enough for it :D

This is a fic I didn't plan too much at all. I borrowed the starting line from another story and just began writing :) I'm glad you liked the ending; that was one of the easiest parts of the story to write because it just came so naturally to me.

It's so interesting to read your interpretation of the story. In my mind, as I was writing this, Dennis isn't actually searching for anything. He's just...feeling aimless and all, feels like he's stuck in some rubbish place and of course, his brother is dead and all. So he looks through his brother's stuff and photos without thinking he'll find much. But I like your interpretation of the fic! How Dennis might actually be searching actively for some hint of his brother, some fragment of him in the photos. It's a very logical interpretation, of course.

Glad you liked the way I showed the parents' grief. You're right about these sorts of things being overdone in films and books - there's always that danger of things become overly melodramatic. I'm so happy you thought I handled this well :)

As for the "folks" bit, I'm not British either :P I was intending for the Creeveys to be from the northern UK or somewhere...hence the way Dennis says "Mam". I don't know if people over there use the word "folks" or not :P I probably need the advice of some locals of that region!

Ah, yes the details. I know there are plenty of details, and not all of them relate well to each other. I did intend some of them to be random, things and images to leap around, like Dennis' attention is drawn to all sorts of the most trivial of all details. The Creevey brothers are indeed very observant, though Colin is fascinated by everything, Dennis just notices things with a certain distance and indifference (probably due to his present state). At least that's what I was trying to convey, don't know if I succeeded!

However, I do think you are right about the seaside scene. That bit is certainly out of proportion; it's much heavier on the detail and description compared to the other parts of the fic, and I have this nagging suspicion that it's because I was trying to fulfil the requirements of The Five Senses Challenge.

And yes, probably Colin's memory of being Petrified is a little out of place. I've always had the nagging suspicion that it wasn't supposed to be there, and I'm so glad you pointed this out :D You're a great detail-oriented reader! I will try to fix this bit a little. I don't think people would have really fussed a lot over him during his stint in the hospital wing. Colin was never a really popular kid :)

Thanks soso much for your review, Whiskey! It's been so helpful! And apologies once again for the huge delay in responding!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #21, by SilentConfession it's all in the details

6th February 2013:
AHHH!!! What are you doing to me? This is something i'm not sure i can put words to! BUT COLIN!! *squishes him and Dennis to pieces* I started loving his character in ToujoursPadfoot's story and this has just added to how cool the kid is.

Okay, i'm going to try and put some coherent thought to this review. I really like the style you wrote this in. It seems almost innocent to start out with. Like something you'd hear a child saying when he's trying to explain how something works. I think it just makes the emotions, the intensity of the piece stand out that much more because it just shows how young some of these students were and yet they had to fight.

I love the details you chose to share with us, whether it was the patterns and the colours on Doris' hands to the yellow bits after taking the pictures off. (that scene in particular was so emotionally charged, the way you use that 12+ word in that moment just seemed to really portray Dennis and how he was coping with all of it.)

I almost started crying when you talked about him being petrified because i honestly hadn't thought about what it would be like for them. I don't know why because it seems like it would be something you'd think of but I hadn't. I suppose it really helped see Colin in a different light. You see him as someone who's gone through something, who isn't just someone who obsesses over Harry but a real, living human being.

You characterization of them is great! Honestly, there are so many details in here that it's hard to pick out which ones i liked best but each one you included really helped portray them both in a really lovely way that gave them both so much flesh. Even though we never see Colin, we almost learn all about him through his photo's, these captured moments of time show who he was as a person.

I've really enjoyed reading this and I honestly don't have anything to critique with it! It's just a wonderfully constructed story that you should be very proud of.

Author's Response: Hello Zayne :D

My goodness, what is this amazing review you've given me!? THANK YOU :DDD And you don't know how incredibly happy I am to hear how this story has increased your love for poor Colin (and hopefully Dennis too!). And yes, gah! Loved Toujours Padfoot's 'Run' to pieces!

Oh, I'm so glad the style worked for you! I really wanted to capture Dennis' colloquial voice rather than have a more formal narration.

Hmmm...several reviewers (including you) have mentioned how they never thought about Colin's Petrification incident. It really does show, then, that he is quite an overlooked character both in the novels and in fanfiction! And yes, making him human (and showing him through the eyes of someone close to him - Dennis) is what I've really tried to do in this story.

All these little details, I think, make him more human and more real. I have this unpleasant feeling that after the final battle, Colin is hailed as a hero, put on a pedestal, everything...but people will never really know the real side of him - the side that makes him human. Hero is just not human enough for me :)

So yeah. That's what I tried to do. OK, my response is a little garbled! It's just that you gave me such an amazing review!

Thank you so very much once again! And I'm so so happy you enjoyed this :D

-teh


 Report Review

Review #22, by shinichi it's all in the details

3rd February 2013:
hey im sorry i saw all ur other reviews and they were so so long! but sorry i cant currently write such a long review but i wanna say that ur story's a fab!! omg purely purely fantastic and well written loved it :)

keep on writing stories...
shinichi

Author's Response: Hello! It's OK, you don't have to leave a long review! Just the fact that you've taken the time to read and leave a review is absolutely wonderful! Thank you so very much, and I'm so happy you enjoyed the story :)

-teh


 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsJaydeMalfoy it's all in the details

1st February 2013:
*Sobs*

Oh teh! Why would you do this?!? Why would you go and write something so sweet and sad and just completely PERFECT and make me cry?!?

Words can not even BEGIN to express how much I adore this. Everything about it is just absolutely perfect! I completely LOVE the way you describe each of the pictures in such detail. It really put me into the story and made me feel like I was looking down at the pictures with Dennis as he leafed through them. The way you did that really is just a touch of pure literary GENIUS.

I also really love how you described taking pictures. At one point there was "Snap", used as sort of a signal that you were jumping to different parts of Dennis' life, and then at the end there was the "Click" of the camera as Dennis took pictures for Colin.

And the ending! The ending is just so amazing! The reader already knows what happened to Colin, and you explained it earlier, but you didn't end it there. You ended it with Dennis talking about the time when he took pictures for Colin, and by showing Colin during a happy moment, and describing him in one of his beloved pictures. B.R.I.L.L.I.A.N.T!! Colin's end was a very sad one, but here you've added a sweet memory of him that makes the reader smile at the end (while also bawling like a baby). Just perfect!

There were no spelling or grammar mistakes, and the flow was incredible. You are Very, VERY talented, my dear! I am just in awe, and this is now in my favorites!! 10/10!

Author's Response: JAYDE ♥ YOUR REVIEW. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO WITH IT!!??!

Oh my goodness, this review made me tear up a little. All this wonderful praise you're giving me *sniffs* THANK YOU. Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. I'm so so happy you liked this; you've no idea how much it means to me when people appreciate my work and actually leave such amazing comments like these.

The details of the story are important, because I'm really trying to give the reader an idea of Colin as a real person with a real life. And real life is pretty much chock full with boring useless details! Well, Colin sees the beauty in these somehow. Yeah, he's a pretty strange kid :P So detail is indeed a very important part of this story, I think, and I'm so glad it worked for you :D

This is already going to be a sad story, but I can't just let it be full of sadness and grief all the way through :D I had to put in some moment in there, that would sort of slightly shift the mood of the story a little...and that's why you have that final moment of understanding with Dennis. Baha! See? Dennis will be OK...I think :D

THANK YOU SO MUCH JAYDE. THANK YOU for favouriting this AND your amazing review and EVERYTHING. *hugs*

-teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by CloakAuror9 it's all in the details

30th January 2013:
Uhm...wow. Just wow. This is amazing. I haven't read a lot of stories that involve the Creevey brothers but this has to be one of the best out of all of them. I don't even know what to say!

I haven't seen Colin being portrayed this way. Most of the stories I've read describe him as a hero and it's not that he's not a hero, but the term just gets a bit tiring (is that the word I'm looking for?) at times. I love when his dad says "And what is that to us?". That is just so true. They won't benefit from it in anyway because they don't even live in the Wizarding World, to them Colin was just their son who was taken away from them far too early. You describe Mr. and Mrs. Creevey's pain really well. I could just feel my heart breaking with them.

I love how you made the story seem like Dennis is talking and showing the photos taken by his brother to the readers. The line "Here are some of the photographs he took.." particularly stood out to me.

I love this! Every single bit of it! I thought you described everything so well and the way you told us the story through Colin's photos was absolutely fantastic! This has to go to my favourites list! ♥ Amazing job!

~Izzy

85th review out of 100

Author's Response: Hiya Izzy :D

THANK YOU MY GOODNESS THANK YOU. I'm so blown away by the praise and wonderful compliments you've given me. I'm having such a hard time responding to the reviews for this story. I get so overwhelmed when I read them again *sobs*

Yes, I know what you mean about Colin stories. He's so often put on a pedestal and hailed for his heroic sacrifices and all...but hero is just not human enough for me. So that's why you have all the details of the story. The small trivial details that, in this story, really make a person human, and which really show moments from a person's life.

I'm glad you felt for the Creeveys, especially Colin's parents. I wanted to show the entire family grieving, not just Dennis, and how such a tragedy can affect the relationships between surviving family members. It's quite hard, and there really isn't any form of closure for Mr. and Mrs. Creevey in this story. Maybe they'll be able to sit down and talk one day. Maybe they'll try to move on with their lives. They'll have to, eventually. I don't know :(

I'm not sure if this came through, but Colin is the brighter, more energetic and optimistic son, and he's the favourite child as well...at least for Mrs. Creevey.

Once again, thank you so much for your wonderful wonderful comments. And thank you for favouriting this, too! I'm just so grateful and so amazed and gah! THANK YOU ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #25, by Siriusly89 it's all in the details

30th January 2013:
Hi there! Siriusly89 finally here with your long awaited review! I'm so sorry about the long wait, but life got in the way of my hpff-ing!

Can I just say that I love this story, just for the fact that it is about COLIN AND DENNIS CREEVEY WHO ARE BASICALLY MY FAVOURITE MINOR CHARACTERS! :D

This was so sad! So so heartbreakingly sad! Almost made me cry in some parts!

The line' and your missing all the details' really got me! Because to be honest, I think that was the real reason Colin photographed everything and everyone, to see them in a different light and to capture every single last detail!

Dennis really describes himself as more pessimistic than Colin, even in the books Colin was unfathomably optimistic, nothing could really ever put him down.

Doris really made me choke up! She seems like such a lonely elderly lady, and I somehow think that Colin saw that, and maybe I'm reading too far into this, but just maybe his personal project was to, if only for a few weeks, give her some company.

Colin's desription of being petrified was really chilling! I always thought that when they were frozen like that, that all their senses kind of shut down, but now with this, Colin had to stare at the same spot in the ceiling for who knows how long!

I like how you told us subtely where they hid out during the war. At their Muggle aunts house, listening to the radio for some little scrap of news, Colin with his DA coin!

The piece on how Colins death effected (affected? not sure with one to use here!) the family really got me! The rocking, and his mother shutting herself off, and then his father not being able to sleep! Really got me. . . . Dennis working at the ice-cream parlour was a subtle, but really thought out choice! And then him going back to see Doris. To be honest, I think she would really be the only one who would understand what he is going through!

Now, the last paragraph isn't fair! It just isn't! I was all geared up for a sad ending, all prepared, and then you land a bittersweet moment on me! And I am now an emotional wreck!

This was just. . . . . wow. . . . . no words can describe it! Just, well done! Amazing job!

Author's Response: Hello there Siriusly!!! OK, I'm so sorry for taking such a long time to respond...but...your review...is just...gah...so amazing. *sniffs* I've been looking at it for many days now, along with the other unresponded reviews here :P feeling so overwhelmed. I get a bit incoherent sometimes, especially after someone gives me SO MUCH AMAZING PRAISE ♥

Oh I love the Creevey brothers, too! They're so overlooked in fanfiction, and in the series they're just shown as annoying little kids - often more irritating than helpful. I was really trying to portray them as humanly as possible! And I'm so happy that this story made you feel for them! Yeah, Colin is the more optimistic and energetic of the two, at least in this story! I had to find a way to differentiate the two from each other; in the books Dennis' characterisation is not really developed and he's generally seen as a younger version of Colin.

Ooh, I'm glad you like Doris' character as well! She was a tough one to write, and it took me quite some time getting her part right!

Yeah, i was trying to show how the entire Creevey family was affected by the tragedy :( I think their grief and the nature of the tragedy really changes their relationships with one another (Dennis and his folks, that is). Maybe they will get better soon. With time, I hope.

And the last paragraph, bahaha! It's already a sad story...I can't just let it be sad all the way through! There would be no hope, no lightness...I just wanted there to be that moment of understanding Dennis has, that happy moment he can hold on to! And I'm so sorry that it wrecked you emotionally. Here! *hands over a tissue*

Oh, I'm so glad the story worked for you! Thank you so much for your amazing review! *hugs*

-teh ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>