Reading Reviews for Recipe for Disaster
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HEG A Recipe for Disaster

11th December 2014:
Awww!! Such a cute, well written one-shot.

I love how you've turned such a short, simple plot into a magnificent story. Dobby is one of my all time favourite Harry Potter characters so it was good to find him at the centre of attention in this one-shot. I also like Dumbledore's friendly and rather strange personality shining through here like a bright light. I gave an internal laugh when McGonagall realised that it was Dumbledore causing all the trouble. And Dobby! Dobby! You captured his personality perfectly here in such a short snippet of writing. Everytime he said something, I could picture it perfectly in my head :). How did you come up with the idea for this? There are no spelling, grammar or punctuation mistakes as far as I am aware so great job! This was had a lovely fluency to it which made it a pleasure to read. If I could have one thing that would make this better, I would definitely ask for more *hint, hint*. I would go as far to say that this is one of my all time favourites on the archives!

Well done!

Missy

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pretense Of Perfection A Recipe for Disaster

15th July 2014:
Hello there!!

What a pleasure this was to read. I love anything about dear old Minnie, and this was no exception. You did brilliantly with your characterization, and I literally laughed out loud at a few points. Dobby and the house elves spoke perfectly, I always have trouble with that myself, but you made it look so easy. I can totally see him and Dumbledore making taffy at three a.m.

I noticed one or two spelling/grammar errors, but nothing huge. Everything else was spot on, and this was literally a joy to read. Good look for your SOTM nomination in the CR.

-- Fae

Author's Response: Why thank you! I can't believe the surge in interest this little story has had recently. It's crazy, but I won't say no. LOL.

I'm really glad I could make you laugh. That was the point of the story after all. And I'm relieved you felt the house elves sounded okay. Writing house elves is HARD. Believe me, it wasn't as easy as you claim it looks, hehehe.

I do need to apparently edit this little story. Several people have pointed out a few typos I missed. Will hopefully be going that in the next little while.

Thanks again for a wonderful review! You left me grinning.

- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #3, by CambAngst A Recipe for Disaster

13th July 2014:
Farmgirl! How on earth did I never see this before? Just goes to show you easy it is to miss things. Then I saw it nominated for Story of the Month and I knew right where I was headed.

The premise of this is nothing short of hilarious. Poor McGonagall! If she's not struggling to manage her unruly, mischievous students, she's struggling to manage her adventurous, sweet-toothed boss. I loved the panic that the elves brought to the start of the story and I loved the way that you very gradually built up Minerva's head of steam. For a short piece, the pacing of this was brilliant. You did such a good job of interspersing her thoughts, letting her anger grow and focus. Excellent work.

And the visual of Dumbledore and Dobby cooking taffy was off the hook. I can see it all so easily, the twinkle of barely restrained glee in Dumbledore's eyes and the earnest joy on Dobby's face as he helps with something that he doesn't understand in the slightest. One of the talented illustrators of the Potter fandom should seriously take this up.

I noticed one tiny typos as I was reading:

The topics those Muggles think off to write books on! -- think of

Awesome, awesome job! This brightened my day!

Author's Response: *Shrugs* I have no idea how you didn't see it. I really thought you had read everything of mine. But I was totally excited to see a new review from you so I'm glad you missed it until now! And Story of the Month? Me? WOW! Guess I should really go poke my head back into the Common Room and come out of hiding.

Writing this was really fun, even though my muse got derailed in the middle and it took me a year to get back to it. I love when I can write Dumbledore being quirky and a bit silly instead of all serious as he got toward the end. And Dobby is always a hoot.

I've developed a real fondness for McGonagall and it was so much fun to push her to the limit of her patience here. LOL. She really is the only responsible adult around sometimes, isn't she.

That would be amazing to see a picture of this! I'd draw it myself but it would look like a pile of sticks... But I am so very glad you liked the picture I tried to paint in the story.

There are apparently quite a few typos in this, though. I had several pointed out to me this weekend. Looks like I will be doing a careful edit of this story soon. Thanks for catching them though.

Thanks for a review that brightened my day! As always, you are the best.

- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #4, by randomwriter A Recipe for Disaster

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello :) Remind me WHY I haven't read this before, please? I apologise for what will be a rather short review, with not much detail, but I am attempting to be speedy and review as much as possible, so please forgive me.

Anyway, back on to WHY I haven't read this before! I'm favouriting this story and coming back whenever I need a quick laughing! First of all, lovely idea! I would never have imagined this sort of thing, but now that I think about it, I can't not imagine this sort of thing happening.

Your characterisations were spot on. McGonagall is not an easy character to write. But you managed to get her perfectly! Her demeanor, her actions, her thoughts and her speech, were all definitely entirely her. I love how she automatically assumed it was the work of the twins. Dumbldore was also in character. Eccentric, with an irrational love for sugary sweets. Muggle taffy! Hahaha :D I find it cool that he went to a muggle library and picked up a recipe book, brought it back to Hogwarts and decided to experiment, at three in the morning! The house elves too were perfect. Dobby was written well, as were the other elves. I find that often, people overdo the House Elf speech patterns, but yours was perfect. This is exactly as it should be.

As for CC, I found two typos.
1) The topics those Muggles think off to write books on! It should say 'of', not 'off'.
2)she found her mouth gapping open again with absolutely no words to fill it with this time. 'gaping', not 'gapping'.

Apart from this, I absolutely loved your story! The ending was so funny! McGonagall being rendered speechless, after being covered with taffy! And just lieterally everything about this was amazing! The last line was a perfect ending to a great story! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by DracoFerret11 A Recipe for Disaster

10th July 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2014! :D So, let's go over things:

Grammar/Spelling: The only error that I caught was near the end where you wrote, "her mouth gapping open" instead of "gaping open."

Plot: What an adorable story idea! I loved it. The image of Dumbledore and Dobby cooking together is so cute, and you did a great job capturing the mood of the whole scenario. Well done!

Characterization: Great job with Minerva. She really seemed to be spot-on in her characterization. She was stern and fed up and really just lovely. As for Dobby and Dumbledore: perfect! Dumbledore was so goofy and eccentric. I loved it.

Descriptions: I could really see that scene in the kitchen with Dumbledore dressed in such silly attire and all the elves in fear for their lives. It was almost like a movie playing out in my mind. Good job!

This was very sweet and funny, and I'm glad that I read it. Well done and good luck to Gryffindor in the House Cup!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review, Educational Decree #7)

 Report Review

Review #6, by MyMyMiss A Recipe for Disaster

15th March 2014:
forty two years and she's calling in sick? gosh she really did love her job :P lol

Well another brilliant story! The descriptions of the Kitchen being a mess and Albus being awake at 3am and Minerva was incredible!

The characterization's especially of Minerva and her aggression was perfect. The pace and flow were great throughout the entire story, you didn't falter or drag things on, and stop abruptly with something and leave us clueless, everything was answered and it was nice to see that!

I love how she instantly thought it was the twins!! that was priceless, typical Fred and George get the blame for all mishap and misfortune and they would indeed ruin a kitchen ! lol not to mention the level of sarcasm you wrote in this story, was awesome! lol

~MMM

-Blackout review battle 13/20

Author's Response: Yeah, she probably deserve a day off after that long, don't you think?

I'm so glad you liked this! It really was a fun story to write, and I don't know why it took me so very long to finish it. I had a lot of fun describing the events that were happening at 3 AM. hehehehe

I love the twins, so I HAD to throw them in there somewhere, especially since I usually am writing about them, so I knew people would assume it anyway. Call it a red herring if you will, but it made the surprise all the more exciting.

Thanks for reading! Glad it gave you a good laugh.


 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp A Recipe for Disaster

7th March 2014:
Blackout Battle 13/15

Haha this was awesome. I enjoyed your portrayal of McGonagall immensely. I think this was very much in line with her canon self.
I also found it amusing that Dumbledore and Dobby were making taffy in the kitchen. Imagining the sight of the two of them in matching aprons was absolutely hilarious.
When the taffy exploded, I almost laughed out loud. Poor McGonagall. I also found the last sentence very amusing that she was finally planning to take a sick leave.
Honestly, I could actually see this happening in canon too - Dumbledore is just that eccentric and with Dobby at his side, I could just imagine the havoc, with poor Minerva having to deal with it all. The condition of the other house elves was awesome too, they just knew nothing good could come out of this and the two would destroy their poor kitchen haha.

Great job!
-AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey! I'm only, you know, almost 6 months late responding. I've decided that I am incapable of doing this in a timely manner. So sorry!

I'm really glad you liked this little fic, though. It was fun to write and I enjoyed having a chance to use McGonagall in an unexpected way. It's comforting to know that you felt she was pretty canon! She can be a hard one to write!

When I started this, I knew everyone would expect me to use the twins, and I really wanted to throw that expectation off. When it hit me to use Dumbledore and Dobby instead I knew it was perfect. I'm really glad you enjoyed the duo as well. And you know them...there HAD to be matching aprons if they were involved.

Thanks so much for reading and I'm honored that you enjoyed it enough to laugh out loud. This review was so much fun to get back in March, and a treat to re-read now as I replied to it. Thanks again!
- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan A Recipe for Disaster

2nd September 2013:
Hahahaha! Oh this was great!! You write McGonagall so well and this was no exception. I was so sure in the beginning it was going to be the Weasley twins wreaking havoc in the kitchen (which would have been pretty fantastic, given how excellently you write the twins!) but then DUMBLEDORE. IN AN APRON. And Dobby too, with a matching one! So great. I actually had no trouble visualising that in my head because it didn't seem that unrealistic for those two, haha. They're both very weird characters and a midnight taffy-making experiment really seemed like something they might do.

Dumbledore nonchalantly tasting the taffy after it exploded... of course. McGonagall counting backward in Latin. The other house elves sensing that this is all a bad idea the whole time. The characters are PERFECT in here and this was a really enjoyable read!!

Author's Response: Hehehe, so you read it, huh? After my mix-up from the PM. LOL.

Glad you liked it! I am trying to learn to write McGonagall (we'll see if that still holds after people read the next chapter of Ashes). She was fun to write here, though. It was a little too much fun to write her grumpy.

I knew people would assume I was writing the twins - why I put that line in there. And it WOULD have been fun to write them in such a situation, but I just knew it had to be Dumbledore and Dobby.

Yes, Dumbledore in an apron - I think once Minerva calmed down she wished she'd had a camera. hehehehe. And sh, don't tell them they're weird - they'll get a complex and need therapy.

Thanks so much for such a fun review for the swap! Yours is coming today, I promise.

You are awesome!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Athene Goodstrength A Recipe for Disaster

25th August 2013:
Hahahaha, oh my. This was absolutely not what I was expecting (I guess it wasn't quite what Minerva was expecting either!), but I love it. So sweet, and so funny. What I like most about this little one-shot is that while some might see it as bordering on parody, it's actually quite in keeping with the silly, eccentric, wonderful Dumbledore I know and love. That side of him is often forgotten in fics, due to all of the secrets and manipulation :P The teddy-bear clips made me laugh. I think that probably is where we step into parody!

The enthusiasm and complete madness of both Dumbledore and Dobby make them ideal partners for such an escapade.

The imagery in this was great, and your grasp of dialogue is excellent too. I really, really liked the little touches that you managed to include in such a small story - Dumbledore showing respect to Dobby by calling him 'master Dobby', and McGonagall counting backwards *in Latin*.

This was really sweet (Ahaha!) and very enjoyable.

Thanks for the 'swap' ;)

Athene xoxo

Author's Response: I'm kind of flattered that it wasn't what you were expecting. :) I was going for the element of surprise. Guess it worked!

I am glad you liked it though, after you found out it wasn't what you thought! I love remembering Dumbledore's eccentric, playful side. It's what drew me to him as a character in the first place. Here is this man, one of the most powerful wizards ever, and he uses the names of candy for his secret passwords?

As for the teddy-bear clips, you're right, they were probably pushing it a bit. But, I just like to imagine they were a gift from some sweet little first year. Hehehehe

I always thought Dobby and Dumbledore would make great pals. They both love to try things. So, that's where this fic was born from.

Ah, thank you so very much for such nice compliments! It was a really fun story to write.

And thank you for the unexpected "swap" as well. This was great! I hope life is going a little better for you now.

- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheGirlWithTheLaughingFace A Recipe for Disaster

24th August 2013:
Omg the way you wrote this I can just imagine Minerva running to the kitchen expecting to bust the Weasley twins and stopping in shock when she sees Dobby and Albus. Just picturing Dobby, Albus and Minerva has me covered in taffy has my laughing so hard tears are streaming down my face. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It was really fun to write, and I love that people were surprised it was Dumbledore and Dobby in the kitchen. I was trying for that. And to make people laugh. Very glad it did both for you!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heaven A Recipe for Disaster

15th August 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

Oh, my goodness! I picked this one because it reminded me a little of that television show Madeline, where the poor teacher/nun would often have to get up in the middle of the night and sing that song in a very worried tone. This was so wonderful!

I really loved the way you showed McGonagall. It seemed like a very realistic reaction, being woken up in the middle of the night and assuming the Weasley twins were up to mischief, only to find the Headmaster and a sort-of deranged house-elf making a mess at three in the morning.

One thing that really caught my eye was the way you wrote the house elves' dialogue. I always have trouble getting a handle on their syntax, but I absolutely adored the way you did it! It was amazing!]

I'll just say this one more time, in case you missed it, but this story really was amazing and funny! Well done!

Author's Response: *Huge grin*

Wow, this tag game goes fast! Cool!

And I'm so glad you thought it was funny! It was a blast to write, and so different from the usual stuff I do. Not that I don't do humor, just different characters than I usually use.

But I've decided I like writing McGonagall. She's been turning up a lot more in my stories lately. And I just couldn't resist that nod to the twins.

Writing house-elves is HARD. I'm glad you liked how I did it because it was really, really hard and I finally said, whatever, this will have to do.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! Great fun!


 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleLionGirl A Recipe for Disaster

25th July 2013:
Hahahahah! This one shot was the best! I have never read something so amazingly fluffy! Dobby and Dumbledore making taffy? Taffy of all things... Just ineradicable! Poor Minerva though...
XOXOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Glad I could make you laugh! That was the whole point of this silly little story! And yes, taffy. Odd, I know, but so are Dumbledore and Dobby, hehehehehe.

Two reviews for the price of one! You spoiled me! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Akussa A Recipe for Disaster

17th July 2013:
That was brilliant!!!

First, I would like to say that I'm in awe at your writting style. The quality of your vocabulary is amazing and refreshing! It makes things come to life even more because you are using the perfect word for the precise things you want to talk about and I really enjoyed that.

Second, the idea in itself was just hilarious. I love how you managed to make Minerva so much in character and, in so little words, manage to explain how she is that way and why. Then, the complete opposite of having Dumbledore and Dobby working together excitedly to make taffy? That was really surprising and had me laughing out loud, just imagining the scene!

Congrats on a great little story that put a little sunlight in my heart; I was having a bad day but this cheered me up quite a bit!

Author's Response: Thank you! It really was fun to write, even if I missed the deadline for the challenge it was supposed to be for.

And your compliments about my writing style have left me blushing. Thank you so very much! I don't quite know what to say. It's not like I memorize the dictionary or anything... I guess I just read a lot.

I really had fun with the idea. I love Dumbledore, and I love how strong and powerful he is in the magical world, but I also love that there is this whimsical side to him, and it was fun to explore that. And I imagine poor Professor McGonagall sometimes feels like she's stuck with TOO many children because of it. So, that was fun to show a little bit.

Glad I could give you a laugh today! Hope the rest of your day gets better. Keep smiling!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Pheonix Potioneer A Recipe for Disaster

28th April 2013:
This is the funniest thing EVER! Thanks for lightening my mood! My mood usually goes with whatever story I happen to be reading, so thanks so much!!!

Poor McGonagall. Woken up at three in the morning by the house elves, only to find Dumbledore and Dobby making treats. I really do feel sorry for her.

This totally sounds like the type of thing Dumbledore would do. He does like muggle sweets.

Thanks so much for making me laugh!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! And sorry I'm slow responding to this great review!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it and it made you smile! That was my intent, but sometimes I wonder if I've done it all right.

It was so much fun to use McGonagall, and put her out of her element. It's hard to imagine her not being able to handle anything, so this was really fun.

And I love Dumbledore and his odd quirks. What makes him such a fun character.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Debra20 A Recipe for Disaster

5th March 2013:
Hey there!

I haven't laughed this loud at a fanfiction story since forever. It's so hilarious and brilliantly written that you just can't resist it's charm. You were amazing in conveying such a comedic scene in less than 1000, words while keeping all the characters SO in character. I mean we're talking about Dumbledore and Minerva here. I don't know about Mc'Gonagall but I am sure that Dumledore is udner the classification of "one of the hardest characters to write". His speech, his mannerisms, all were his own and it was a true delight to read him. Now you made me want to eat something sweet haha

The idea behind of the story is to die for. I just can't imagine being in McGonagall's shoes when she opened the kitchen door and stumbling upon that scene. Genius I tell ya! :)))

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for the fun review! I am so excited that the story actually made you laugh out loud! It's such a tiny little thing, as stories go, and I wasn't really sure if anyone else would find it funny or not. Nice to know someone shares my sense of humor!

I actually love writing Dumbledore. He was one of my favorite characters. So child-like and unasuming, completely genuine. And then, when he needs to, he shows exactly who he is and why you shouldn't mess with him - all while offering you lemon drops. It is a great honor, though, to have you say I did him justice! That makes me blush!

Thank you so much for reading and for your kind review! Made my day!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jet LaBarge A Recipe for Disaster

24th January 2013:
I'm glad you are back! I have been looking for a new story from you. Keep writing.

Oh, the story is very funny too.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's good to be back!

I'm having some technical issues (my flashdrive with all my stories died) so it may be a bit before I start updated unfinished fics again, but I'm working on it! It's nice to know I still have readers out there!

Thanks! It was fun to write!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Alopex A Recipe for Disaster

18th January 2013:
Wow! This is exactly the sort of thing I hoped my challenge would produce! If you had finished it at the time, it definitely would have been prize-worthy. This was a delightfully funny, endearing story.

I love that you chose two unexpected (for me) characters. I really enjoy more unusual characters myself for writing, and I was hoping someone would pick someone unusual for the challenge--I even made suggestions in my opening post, as far as I remember. :P Anyway, nice choice using Dumbledore and Dobby together. Either one alone could have been amusing, but together, they complemented one another nicely.

Dobby already is a little goofy and comical all on his own. Dumbledore can sometimes be very stern and competent, but he definitely has something of a silly, childish streak that comes out sometimes. I can just imagine him wandering down to the kitchens to try out this extraordinary experiment, and then Dobby is intrigued and bold enough to join in.

Naturally, Minerva was the perfect choice to serve as a contrast to the situation. I got a kick out of the way she automatically assumed it was the twins (nice way to get them an almost-cameo, by the way :P ) causing the problems, but then couldn't deliver her blistering lecture as planned.

You know what I was thinking when I read about the oozing, sticky pots, and then later after the explosion? Thank goodness they have magic to clean that up! I suppose the poor house elves may have to contribute a bit of elbow grease, but imagine cleaning that up without magic! What a nightmare.

I loved the last line, by the way, about Minerva deciding to Owl in sick. Haha.

I did spot one typo: "trialed off" instead of "trailed off."

Author's Response: Thank you! I was hoping you would like it! I wish my muse would have cooperated and got it done on time, but oh well. At least I finally finished it, and you liked it. That’s better than any prize. :D

I know I tend to be rather predictable in who I choose to write for, so every once in a while I like to try and surprise people by picking unique characters to write for. Very glad it worked here! Writing Dobby and Dumbledore was surprisingly easy…McGonagall, she turned out to be rather hard. I’ve always kinda felt that Dumbledore had a soft spot for Dobby, considering he let him stay at Hogwarts and humored his wanting to be paid. I just thought they might make a good pair.

I love Dumbledore’s goofy side. I feel bad that we got less of that as the books got more serious, although I suppose that’s rightly so. But his little quirks are one of the things I loved most about this magical world JKR created for us. And school where the headmaster was willing to cancel final exams as a treat, and where students could encounter three-headed dogs and have it marked up to receiving a complete education.

You caught my twin almost-cameo. I just can’t seem to help myself, LOL. And it was a really good lecture she had ready! So good, I might have to let her save it and actually use it in some other story. Hehehehe.

Yes, magic, so nice to clean up. Although, knowing Dumbledore, he might insist on cleaning it up the Muggle way, just to complete the experience…

And thank you for the spot on the typo! I will get that fixed. This is what happens when you don’t run things by your beta before you post.

Thanks again for giving me the idea, and for such a wonderful review!



 Report Review

Review #18, by theelderwand A Recipe for Disaster

12th January 2013:
Farmgirl! So awesome to see u writing again. This was priceless. I was so ready for Fred and George. But Dumbles works so much better. Excellent twist. Loved McG's reaction especially when the inevitable explosion came! Brilliant work. You have not lost your touch!

Eldy

P.s. welcome back little sis

Author's Response: BRO!!!

Thanks so much! It's great to be writing again!

Every once in a while, I can write about someone other than the twins you know, LOL. And you know me. I have a soft spot for Dumbledore, especially in those moments when he gets to be a little wacky and child-like.

Thank you so much for reading! Maybe, when I get all those files you sent me sorted out, I'll have more Healing to send you to look at.


 Report Review

Review #19, by jillybeans A Recipe for Disaster

12th January 2013:
i like it. i wasn't expecting it to be dobby and dumbledore making a mess-- much less making taffy! its very creative and original!

Author's Response: Thank you! It was so much fun to write, even if it did take me ages. And I'm glad the few little plot twists caught you by surprise! Makes me grin.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by 11whimsy A Recipe for Disaster

11th January 2013:
This was SUPERCALIFRADULISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS!
haha. anyways, I loved it. it was concise, witty and cleverly written-- something really hard to do! I was smiling the entire time while reading it. Everything was spot-on. this story is like a little gem of sunshine nestled into the site. Nice work!

Author's Response: WOW! Amazing spelling ability there! And a great review to boot! Thanks so much!

I'm smiling as I read this review, so I guess we're even.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login