Reading Reviews for Out Of the Ruins
  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DraconisScarlet3792 Unintentional Catharsis

1st March 2014:
The common sense advise is good for all of us to remember. The conflicted emotions from the main chatacters are developing well. I like the main protagonist being a character that has had no development, but a backstory that fits in well.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumpelstiltskin Speculative Solitude

6th February 2014:
Oops, I missed this update.

Yeah, I'd imagine if there was no record of where Mr. and Mrs. Granger had found Hermione, or of her birth parents, then it would be almost impossible to find them. I'll still be rooting for her! Go 'Mione, go! Understandably, Harry's a little unnerved by that...poor Harry! I can definitely see why Hermione is curious, however.

Pull-ups are tough, I've never been all that fantastic at them. My record is 6 :D. I'm sure Harry will be able to do more than I can, eventually. Yeah, the physical exertion must be relieving some of his mental/emotional stress (always works for me, anyway). That, of course, is fantastic because he is under a *ton* of stress.

Look at Alexis, doing a little bit of threatening so that she can try to help Harry. They so had this planned :D, which I find highly amusing. I can imagine them conspiring about the situation, deciding that Snape should block the doorway :D.

Oh...with the love and then the feels that Harry's having! Then the lovely Snape and Harry moment! *Sniffles* Aw!

Awesome chapter!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lady Asphodel Speculative Solitude

15th January 2014:
Omg, this chapter almost made me cry! :')

The overwhelming guilt from Harry was purely tangible in your writing, so kudos to you for that.

And the mystery of Hermione's parents continues. I look forward to what she'll find... if she does that is. ;)

I loved how you brought Ginny, Andromeda, and Ted into this. Especially how Harry feeling emotional turmoil over Ted's deceased parents. :)

And the ending of this chapter! Oh gosh! You just tug at my heartstrings. ♥

Oooh please update soon! I want to know what happens next. :D



- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #4, by Wildmoon Speculative Solitude

12th January 2014:
Ok, I haven't even read the whole chapter, and I need to make a comment.

I *ADORE* your treatment of PTSD. It really is marvelous. In one of JKR's interviews she said that what intrigued her was how people get past the crap that happens to them. You are showing exactly that, the decent into the darkness and confusion that PTSD entails.

Bravo, bravo, bravo. Well done.

Now if you'll excuse me, I need to go read the rest of your work.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Wildmoon Smouldering Dangers

12th January 2014:
Interesting turn of events! I like Alexis as a character, her determination, her frustration, she's very real in that, and easy to relate to.

Harry's sudden prophetic visions are interesting, I am most curious to see where you go with it.

One correction, it is a bubblehead charm, not bobblehead. A bobblehead is those silly little toys that sit on the dashboard of your car with the head on a spring. :-)

Great story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kate Smouldering Dangers

4th January 2014:
Just stumbled across this piece of fanfiction after finishing the last Harry Potter book and I'm dying for the next chapter. Exeptionally well-written. Setting all details in place. Thank you. This was the rightest potion for my wounded soul, everything the heart could wish for.

Accepting Lexi was as easy as breathing.

Author's Response: I am positively beaming right now! Your review really touched me. I actually started writing this story because I was feeling much like you described upon completing Deathly Hallows so I am SUPER glad that you found it and are enjoying it. I have TONS more ideas that I am working on and hope you continue to read and enjoy! I try to update pretty regularly.

Thanks again for the awesome review! You definitely made my day!! :)

Laura


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lady Asphodel Smouldering Dangers

26th December 2013:
Marvelous! Very marvelous! :D


I'm having a flash back feeling of when Harry witnessed Mr. Weasley getting attacked by Voldemort's snake. XP



Wonder how many DE's where behind it and which ones. :D

You made me fall more in love with this story that I can impossibly image. :P


Look forward to the next chapter! :D



- Asphodel

Author's Response: (Evil Laugh Noise) Read on my dear. (Twisting Evil Mustache)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Your Secret Santa Beyond The Veil

25th December 2013:
Mistress Hollystone has presented Dobby with a story! Dobby loves stories almost as much as socks, miss. And Dobby loves socks very much indeed!

Dobby is AMAZED, Mistress HollyStone, by the brilliance of this idea. Dobby has read many stories, but has never seen one in which Severus Snape returns from death. Dobby likes this idea very much, miss, and is excited to see what will happen!

Oh! If you will excuse me, miss, Dobby has some work to do in the kitchens! Dobby is helping to prepare Christmas dinner! But Mistress HollyStoneís story seems like an excellent Christmas tale. Dobby will have to read on, for certain, miss!

Have a Very Harry Christmas!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumpelstiltskin Smouldering Dangers

19th December 2013:
Ah, now I understand the dream...

Uhm...I hope somebody's going to save Severus. *closes eyes* Actually, no, I shouldn't close my eyes; I wont know what happens if I do!

Oh, thank goodness. Now he's just got to figure out a way to get OUT of the burning building.

-_- I know Harry just wants to help, but he probably shouldn't have gone inside the burning building!

Lexi's reaction was so sweet. I loved it. Severus' following reaction made me smile as well, it was fantastic characterization.

Harry's attachment to Severus is unbelievably lovely. It gives me some serious fuzzy-feelings.

This chapter was absolutely jam-packed with action-y moments and emotional scenes...it was freaking awesome! Furthermore, I am all CAUGHT UP! Hooray! *confetti* Now I'll be able to review by the update instead of trying to play catch-up :D.

I love this story so much!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yea for catching up. But that means the cliff hangers will be harder to tolerate! LOL! (I am speaking out of experience since I am always super impatient when waiting for new chapter of stories I like!) But...I am currently pretty obsessed with writing this AND I am off from classes for a bit, so I will hopefully have updates quickly!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Rumpelstiltskin Impassioned Concerns

19th December 2013:
That's right, Alexis! Talk some sense into Severus...or at least try to. That's a difficult situation in itself :).

Oh conflicts. Well, nobody ever said that Severus Snape was an easy man to get along with, did they?

I'm happy to see the friendly teasing and conversation between Harry, Ron, Hermione and Ginny. It seems like there's just so much despair in this post-war world, that it's nice to have a bit of a reprieve with some good friends.

I hope that, eventually, Hermione will make a little bit of leeway in finding her birth parents!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Silly Snape...I don't know if he will ever be easy to deal with. But I think that is why we all love him! :)

And you will be happy to know...I have just had an awesome epiphany as to how Hermione will be able to proceed in her investigation. Keep an eye out for upcoming chapters! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Rumpelstiltskin Compassionate Safeguards

19th December 2013:
Despite all of the chaos and excitement occurring, its almost a relief to see a pseudo-family breakfast. It's a bit odd to witness, but flows perfectly into the plot that I nearly missed the fact that they're all having breakfast together :).

The relationships building here are fabulous. I love the roles these characters (especially concerning Severus and Alexis) are taking on!

Then of course, you give me some serious feels, like at the end of this chapter.

Fantastic!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yea for feels!! It's kinda getting to that point in the story where the feels can come more naturally. (I hope.) :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumpelstiltskin Forenoon Musings

19th December 2013:
I haven't been here in forever and I'm sorry and I'm a terrible Rumpel and so on and so fourth. :(

I agree with Ginny, but don't blame Hermione for wanting to meet her birth parents.

Poor George :(. I'd imagine that he's been having trouble coping too. That's the only problem with post-war stories; they're so sad! But I love them, so... :)

Can we use the microwave...that lightened things up a bit.

And then, of course, Severus is super endearing with his guardianship-ness :D...it gives me the warm fuzzy feelings every time!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: I definitely can agree with Hermione wanting to know who her birth parents are despite her having such great adoptive parents. I think it would be most unlike Hermione to not want to solve this mystery and get some answers.

True that post-war stories are sad, but things do not stay that way. Which is probably why I needed to write this story. Having so much experience dealing with real life military soldiers and trying to help them overcome their combat trauma I think it is important to see the kind of suffering that comes from wars fought. BUT...I have also seen SO many people overcome some amazingly difficult things and emerged stronger on the other side very much like those in the HP world that we have all come to know and love. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rumpelstiltskin Rescue Me

27th November 2013:
Oh...that's so sweet! It's really heartwarming! I love how Severus is with Harry.

And Alexis is fantastic too. The emotion sensing creates some really interesting interactions.

Love this chapter, I want to put it in my pocket and carry it around with me for when I want to squee. :)

-Rumpel

Author's Response: This made me giggle!! Feel free to carry it around with you wherever you want!! LOL!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumpelstiltskin Scared Senseless

27th November 2013:
Run Harry! I think that all of those people crowding him might even be a bit more frightening than Death Eaters.

Uh-oh, it seems that Harry is in a bit of a pickle (you'll have to excuse me, I seem to be in a very odd mood today). Hopefully somebody will help him soon, ideally without getting trapped in the same manner.

So this chapter was particularly suspenseful...I wonder how they will get him out of there.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Ahhh right?! I was channeling my inner fear of people writing that scene. I think that would be what my boggart would be (a scary crowd of people closing in on me...!)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rumpelstiltskin Buried Paperwork

27th November 2013:
Ha! Sorry, I couldn't help but laugh at the way Neville's gran described everything that happened at Hogwarts before and during the battle..."funny business" oh boy :D! That's awesome...oh Neville's gran.

Have I mentioned that I love the way you write Severus' character? He's just so...Snape-like (yay for canon)! I think I'm repeating myself, but I just can't help but squee a little every time he makes an appearance.

You also did a fantastic job with Ginny's emotions. Her torn feelings and that beautiful description of her pain and guilt was really, really great. (I'm of course obsessing over it and feeling a little jealous :p).

And Hermione was what? I didn't see that coming.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Heh...I figured I had to throw a wrench into things and shake them up a bit! LOL! Hope it didn't mess things up to much for ya! HaHa!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Rumpelstiltskin Occupational Callings

27th November 2013:
Oh I haven't reviewed here in forever! I'm so sorry! Bad Rumpel.

Aw, I love Harry and Ginny :). It's just like Harry to think that she would feel any sort of animosity towards him.

It is really fantastic that the minister would waive the NEWT requirements for Harry; he is obviously qualified for the job. And Neville, too. I adore Neville, he's awesome and it's nice to see a little recognition thrown his way.

That's certainly a spooky, angst-y way to end a chapter. I loved it!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: No "Bad Rumpel"s allowed here! LOL!



 Report Review

Review #17, by Lady Asphodel Impassioned Concerns

20th November 2013:
I came to read this as soon as you posted that you updated this!!!


You're story just keeps getting interesting and interesting by the chapter! :D

That moment between Alexis, Severus, and Harry was fantastic! Especially Severus guilt that he can't let, poor soul! :3

And the scene with the golden quadruple is very nice!

I so look forward to seeing who Hermione's parents truly are! If you do reveal who they are that is. Will they be your OC or canon characters from HP? :)


You did wonderfully weaving in a mystery along with the characters trying to pick up from where they left off! ^_^


I truly look forward to reading the next part!



- Asphodel

Author's Response: Thanks!! I am almost 90% sure of who I will be making her real parents. Of course I may get some awesome epiphany and decide to change it up laters...who knows! :)

I'm glad you liked this chapter. I was kinda stuck on it and was worried that it would be kinda stagnant in comparison to other ones.

I will hopefully have another chapter posted soon!!
Thanks again!
HUGS!
Laura


 Report Review

Review #18, by Rumpelstiltskin Literary Discoveries

14th November 2013:
I love how very difficult Severus is being XD! It makes me laugh.

Aha! We finally learn a bit of Alexis' past. Poor Alexis, it wasn't the happiest background story ever, was it? But if her past had been light and fluffy then it wouldn't have been very interesting anyways :).

Author's Response: LOL! I just can't see Snape being anything but as difficult as possible. I think that would just make him some much less lovable! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Rumpelstiltskin Domesticated Harmony

14th November 2013:
And back!

I hate it when I can't remember my dreams.

It is sweet that Alexis rant to Harry's assistance when she thought that he was in trouble. I think I'm beginning to see Alexis and Severus take on some parental roles towards Harry. I like it :).

Aww! Harry trying to talk to Ginny is really priceless. The conversations hopped between sweet and sad, creating a really awesome emotion.

I have the fuzzies now :D!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hee Hee...I like that you picked up on the quasi-parental roles! I think as you read on you'll see more of that in both subtle and more outward ways. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Rumpelstiltskin Unexpected Answers

9th November 2013:
Aha! My question has been answered. That is an intriguing concept and it makes for some great self-conflict in the story.

"Why are you being so nice to me now?" Oh Harry :). Severus' answer was perfect to keep him in cannon.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Tee Hee...I literally giggled out loud writing that part! I think Snape without his snippiness just would not be the same! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Rumpelstiltskin The Truth Hurts

9th November 2013:
You tell him Alexis! I really like her empathetical ability. It almost enables a deeper understanding of the characters.

So, THAT was interesting. I'm very curious to see why Harry has had a bodily displacement so that he thought he was Remus during the battle. I'm also very curious to see MORE of that. That's very exciting.

Moving along :)!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yea...I kinda like to use Alexis for that kinda confront your feelings kinda role. Making people face what they try to hide from. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Rumpelstiltskin A Table for Three

8th November 2013:
I see that you are still involving the war's more physical aftermath as a subplot. Thank you! I had expected that there would be some significant damage done to the castle and I think it is important to fuse some of that into the story. That's especially true given your setting. So...good job!! :) Gold stars! I have the feeling that a less skilled writer might exclude some of this information, making their story less realistic. Not you though :)!

I really am enjoying the development of character relationships. They are believable and any time absolutely anything sweet occurs I emit an audible "aww"!

Snape and Harry's relationship is especially sweet with the idea of guardianship. The line "You canít possibly have thought that you would not be welcomed to join us for meals" was a lovely indicator of both Harry's discomfort and unsureness as well as Severus' concern. I loved it! Uhm, more gold stars!

Also, I'm very intrigued to see where Alexis and Severus' relationship is headed. But, as she will be working at Hogwarts, I expect that I will see more of her soon!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: "I have the feeling that a less skilled writer might exclude some of this information, making their story less realistic." - Hugs...Just hugs...I don't know what else to say! LOL!

You make me happy with such wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Rumpelstiltskin Comfort Foods

8th November 2013:
I'm back and extremely sorry that it has been so long since my last visit!

Oh, I see what you did there (with the title and the clearly uncomfortable dinner). Very clever!

The chapter almost acted as a comic relief while still maintaining some of the darker tones of the story. It was quite lovely!

Onwards!
-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hee Hee! I'm glad you picked up on the lighter tone that I was going for on this one. And so glad you noticed the title & liked it.I swear sometimes I feel like I spend more time trying to figure out a chapter title than I do writing the actual chapter. LOL!

Hugs!
Laura


 Report Review

Review #24, by toomanycurls Late Night Visitor

7th November 2013:
Hi! Doing another review tag!!

You've done an excellent job with how Harry would feel after the end of the battle. He's still processing so much grief and heartache - all of which comes across very strong.

I'm glad you walked through how he convinced Prof. McGonagall of Snape's innocence. It is quite a harrowing tale, I'm not surprised she cried afterwards.

I really love the Healer who is working on Snape. Her coldness when she reminded Snape that they knew each other was wonderful. I'm curious if she's related to Molly with her last name. It's interesting to see a contrite Snape full of regrets.

I liked that Kingsley had a hard time believing Snape was really a spy (well against them). I'm interested to learn more about why Snape doesn't want to be headmaster. I do think McGonagall will do a great job at it though.

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review! I really wanted to show everyone's discomfort and grief after everything was said and done and I think a lot of that with Kingsley (whom I have always imagined to be overwhelmed with a kind of shock that so many people turned and could not be trusted, making him that much more grateful when he learns about Severus. If that makes sense.)
Anyways...Thanks again! Hope you keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #25, by toomanycurls Beyond The Veil

7th November 2013:
Hi! I'm doing the review tag!!

I really like the premise for this story! The scene where Lily is coaxing Snape out of his dead stupor is really heart warming. I loved how Snape realized that Harry tried to help him in the end - I'm sure that will be important later.

Based on Lily's awareness of on-goings after her death, it makes sense that she'd be at peace with and understanding of how Snape worked before and after her death. I am surprised there wasn't mention of Snape being a jerk to Harry throughout school.

I am so glad Harry made a point of letting others see Snape's memories and having them know he was a hero. I'm surprised but happy that McGonagall is back on his side without resentment.

This looks like a really interesting story!

-Rose

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I kind of wanted to keep things positive between Lily & Severus, but I tried to convey that she was aware of everything, but forgave him for it. (Not sure how well that came across though...)

Thanks again!
Laura


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>