Reading Reviews for 19 years
  
1,540 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RupertsPheonix Year 6: Romania

5th March 2015:
Another strong chapter! I love that you used this opportunity to explain hey Charlie doesn't have the married-with-kids ending that the other Weasleys have. Creative and neat to think of him trusting Ron with that first!

Eagerly awaiting your next update!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #2, by Violet Potter 434 Year 6: Romania

5th March 2015:
yay!
still think Ginny's pregnant or will be soon if this is a head injury which I hope not cause I love ginny
brilliant writing
when's next chapter out cause Im still really impatient
from me
xxx

 Report Review

Review #3, by alexaemd123 Year 6: Romania

5th March 2015:
I love this story so much! You seriously have no idea! Anyways, first and foremost, I still think Ginny is pregnant! She can't have a head injury! She just can't! And I love Charlie! I am so glad he told Ron! I'm so glad that Ron was so supporting! :) plus Hermione and Ron are too adorable! I seriously can't wait for the next chapter! PLEASE PLEASE CONTINUE SOON! :)))

 Report Review

Review #4, by horcruxxx Year 1: The brothers

5th March 2015:
This is going to be a short review, so forgive me for that.

I just wanted to say how impressed I am with your ability to pick up those minor pieces from the books, or even parts that weren't part of it, and combine them into your story as important plots. I'm referring to the Lestrange brothers revanging Bellatrix. I don't think I would ever think of that, given that they are not the main characters in the books and there are many other Deatheaters who would want to have their revenge. Nice job!

Monika

 Report Review

Review #5, by horcruxxx Year 1: Christmas at the Burrow

5th March 2015:
First of all let me just say that your story is amazing so far! So fun and pleasant to read :)

And this chapter is my favorite. Everything in it is perfect - from the gifts that I can tell are really thought through, to those moments when they remember their loved ones who died in a battle.

I appreciate that you left out action in this chapter and let your characters just enjoy Christmas and each other :) They deserved it, I'd say.

Monika

 Report Review

Review #6, by Freddie Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
An interesting pitch. I just thought JK didn't put time into developing Charlie's character.

 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMolly Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
marauder5,
That was a very interesting turn as far as Charlie. I don't know much about Asexuality, so it's a possibility. I took what JK said was that Dragons were Charlie's passion, in that he cares more about dragons, and spends 90% of his time with or studying dragons. Charlie likes people, he just doesn't have time for them. But your explanation certainly can be what Charlie's makeup is. I'm afraid for Ginny. Perhaps what ever is wrong can be healed.
FoM
PS Shame on Harry for leaving Ginny all by herself.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Maisie Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
Brilliant as always, love the way you always find ways to keep the story interesting!

 Report Review

Review #9, by ambadador Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
Wow this chapter really took a different turn. So i guess Ginny aint preggers after all. phew! I hate being right about my predictions it ruins the surprise, so thank goodness :))) Also good thinking with the head injury thing, I really didnt expect that.

Im so glad that you decided to make Charlie asexual. I mean thats what I interpreted him to be as well. I can kinda relate cos im an aromantic. So I'm glad that there's a representation of that in your story. But heres a question though, Charlie is still capable.of liking or loving another person right? its just that sex makes him uncomfortable and it never really appealed to him. Is that right? Cos as an aromantic, I dont mean to be graphic or anything, I still enjoy doing IT its just that I have no romantic connection with the person or with anyone. So yea i just needed some clarification.

Fingers crossed I do hope that the head injury doesnt cause any permanent damge on Ginny. I like the little detour in Romania for Ron and Hermiones story. I do think they needed to have some sort of peaceful getaway. Great job with the plot twists in this chapter. :DD

Oh and I will totes donate just so I can still read more FF. Just in case the site gets pulled out, which hopefully doesnt happen, are you going to transfer your story to another website? Like if ever something unfortunate happens to the site. If yes, then which site would you transfer it to?

 Report Review

Review #10, by Aurorofthelight Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
After another loud whackaroo on the brilliance meter gong, I am happy to report that my ear plugs are working beautifully! This was a nice little chapter! I'm hoping that Ginny is about to find out that little James Sirius is on the way! Ron and Hermoine seemed to really be enjoying their visit to Romania! Interesting tack making Charlie asexual...would have figured it'd be Percy! Wish it was warm and dry here.currently 24 degrees out with freezing rain, sleet and snow combo - YUK! Come on Spring! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

 Report Review

Review #11, by snsantana Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
Great chapter!
Always enjoy reading your stories.

Remember that they are British.
The expressions you used on this chapter made them sound American.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Corned Bee Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
The Ron/Charlie parts were quite interesting and I loved the bit about Ginny making adjustments career wise. I also like how you try to stick to canon, well with everything but Draco. With Draco you completely ignore canon facts and substitute your feelings for them, but this fangirling aside you do try to stick somewhat to canon.

In a way you've written a very polarized story. Most of your readers love the H/G and hate the R/Hr which is a feat in and of itself. I've found if I skip any mention of Hermione I enjoy the story a great deal.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Bluewolf80 Year 6: Romania

4th March 2015:
I think it's great. If Dumbledore can be gay then why can't Charlie be asexual?
Here's hoping that Ginny is just pregnant and not seriously hurt!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Michael Year 1: The first day

3rd March 2015:
Hey, this is the same Michael that left the "monster review" earlier. I'm going to log my thoughts on each chapter by being as specific as possible - partly for my own benefit as a writer, but also because I enjoy your story. I'd love to help you improve in the edits you may make.

So from the beginning, everything is perfect up until Harry singles out Ginny as the source of his guilt. While it may hurt Harry MORE to see Ginny in pain than the other Weasleys, you cannot ignore he is very close to all of them. Their grief as a family - a family that had taken him in as if he were another Weasley child when he was alone - probably pains Harry greatly. You understand his undeserving nature. Harry would definitely feel guilty, but because he thinks he caused the whole family to suffer by not finishing Voldemort sooner, not just Ginny. Perhaps it wouldn't be bad to mention how Ginny's pain especially made him feel sick to his stomach.

I love the idea of bringing Andromeda into the scene, but why is she really there? I didn't catch this until my second read, so it's not too big. But really it is nice to have solid continuity. I kind of figured McGonnagall had notified Andromeda because Lupin and Tonks were a a part of the Order.

Next, you make the mistake of letting a side-character act as the voice of reason. Dennis Creevey, who is still a kid, would definitely not mention how you have to expect casualties in a war when his older brother died. He would probably be a wreck. I DO like what he says to Harry, though - about how he can see why Colin always saw Harry as a hero. And the sad smile was a nice touch.

Onto the speech. McGonnogall's little introduction seemed almost sly and underhanded to me. Not at all the McGonnogall I know haha. Something about opening with "My friends." right after a war feels like a shady political move in an attempt to seize power. And "We cannot fully rejoice the victory when we look around and see its price" is a great line for a post-war power-grab speech, again. The problem is not that it's a bad line, but it's too good to be believable in this spontaneous speech scene. The same goes for Harry's final line, but I love everything else he says. I think it would be perfectly fine if he awkwardly finished with "And we will rebuild Hogwarts again." Maybe include some filler "Er-" or "Um-" to really show his awkward side. This is tricky because you have to reveal Harry's sincerity, but veil it with his awkwardness (because, let's face it, he is awkward at times, right?). And as a side note, I feel as if the magical voice amplification is unnecessary. You said the castle was dead silent from the lack of paintings, and I doubt a grieving crowd would be very tumultuous. Also, I just like the idea of a spontaneous, magic-free speech. The magic in this scene comes from what is said and the sincerity of it, not the magical microphone. (But here I'm nitpicking).

The whole scene with Ginny and Harry alone was way too strong, in my opinion. Keep in mind they are teenagers. I like the idea that Ginny was shattered when she saw "dead" Harry, but that doesn't solidify anything between them. Teenage relationships will always be unpredictable and they probably know it.

I'm glad to see Neville, but I don't like how he only cares about his grandmother's approval at this point. I think that was more a part of his insecure childhood, with the embarrassment of his insane parents and all. In year 7, I think he has matured to where he doesn't live for his grandmother's approval. He just acts from the heart, and his grandmother approves. There's also got to be some degree of self-pride. Even though he's far from arrogant, Neville has fought for far more than himself throughout his entire seventh year. After being shy and ridiculed for so long, he deserves more than to lapdog for his grandmother's kind words.

I love to see this other side of Percy, but the details are a bit fuzzy. When exactly did this occur? I don't have much feedback to give here, I'm just left curious for more.

The George-Ginny scene is pretty good all-round. I really like how you added how special the twins are to Ginny. It really makes the relationship come alive. The whole thing is very believable.

On the whole, I find you're very good at conveying your thoughts through description - through the narrator, let's say. And your control over the characters is strongest when they're described rather than speaking. If you can bring that same control into their dialogue, you're golden. The biggest problem with your dialogue writing is that you prioritize the story over the character. The character has no obligation to the plotline and is completely oblivious to it. Keep character motives and emotions in mind when writing dialogue, then try and fit what you need to say around that character mold.

Well, I certainly learned a lot simply by explaining what I felt from reading, so I hope it helps you at least half as much, haha. And this time I had a computer handy. It took me less than a half hour to type this. :P

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins Year 6: Fred

2nd March 2015:
Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful.
Also -- what's up with Ginny's magic? I have a few guesses, but I'm not sure if any of them are valid.
Guess I'll have to wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much. I am so glad you thought so!

Ginny's magic is definitely acting weird. You'll understand why soon enough!

Thank you for still reading this, and for taking the time to review x


 Report Review

Review #16, by Michael Year 6: Fred

2nd March 2015:
Hi, this is going to be my overall feedback/impressions from your story as a whole, so prepare for a monster review! And I kind of left some rude reviews early saying something about senseless drama, if I remember correctly; I have to apologize for that, and I hope I can make it up to you. My only excuse is that I read the first 20 or so chapters in 1 day (and wrote those reviews in a sleepy stupor around 2AM) in epic procrastination.

To preface, you should know that it's been a while since I've read. I've only just caught up on the last 8 chapters, but I'll give my best shot at a review.

So first, the things I didn't like (we'll end on a good note): obviously, based off of my earlier review, you can tell I wasn't a huge fan of the drama. I'm a petty straight-forward guy, so drama and romance pieces typically aren't my thing. They're both very hard to pull off convincingly. I think you tend to slightly overdo it sometimes, but it's a very hard balance. Take that lightly and always question "Is this realistic? Would I ever say or hear this?"

Next is something very difficult to accomplish - theme. I respect the fact that you so loyally stick to canon (it's my preference, actually), but it also limits your writing. For example, everyone knows that Ginny becomes a seeker, Harry/Ron become aurors, etc. So you are only left to show what we expect to see. Because of this your writing is reduced to almost just a "feel good" story, which is a shame considering the level of your writing. To add more depth to your work, poke at some universal theme. For instance, Harry's life has always been dictated by his tie to Voldemort. Harry is a hero afterall. Surely he'll come to to miss the adventure. How does life after Voldemort suggest something about how people deal with a sense of loss? Now this isn't a good example because Harry become an Auror, which probably satisfies his need for adventure, but you get the idea. Good luck to you if you ever attempt to tackle a theme and still maintain an exciting plot while sticking to canon.

On to the things I like about your writing: firstly I had no clue that English is not your first language. Heck, you're a better writer than most native English speakers. Your adjectives and descriptions in general (analogies, metaphors, etc.) are spot on. And you usually have a strong handle on the characters; I've only noticed a couple of times that someone is out of character, and it's usually in the romantic scenes (which again, are very difficult to pull off with any bit of realism). One example that stands out to me is Hermione running across the street without looking both ways because she's so desperately in love with Ron. While it sounds nice, she would never lose her cool and be so careless. And I'm sorry to include some criticism in the "good" section, but I think the fact they this bad example stands out is truly a testament to your realistic portrayal of the characters. Finally, to wrap up the review, your ability to convey a complex emotion or situation (believably) is superb. The image of Harry a heartbroken wreck with purple, ringed eyes after losing Ginny is powerful, to say the least. Your sad scenes (Fred's funeral) always have me tearing up, and I'm not overly emotional. There are others, but I forget benjoyed it's late by me.

I suppose overall I've really enjoyed your writing, and I like forward to more. I hope you take this feedback with the knowledge that it's all meant to be helpful and not antagonizing. I'm actually in the process of rereading this fic because I've got a bit more time now. So if you want more specifics I can leave review on each chapter. Let me know if that would help or if I would just be wasting my time. :P

Thanks for writing!

(Whole review on mobile because I'm insane. Please ignore inevitable typos).

Author's Response: Wow, talk about monster review, haha. I have to agree that you are a little insane for typing all of this on your mobile. But I appreciate it SO much. Seriously. Thank you!!

As for those early review, there's no need to apologize. I appreciate it, but I realize that not everyone are that fussed about the whole romance/drama thing, and I'm still glad you shared your opinion.

I'll definitely keep those tips in mind when I write drama, though. It's a really good idea to ask myself those questions when I write, and I'll let you know that I am planning on going back to edit those earlier chapters (that had the most drama, I think). I'm not entirely happy with a lot of the earlier parts and that's a great thing to keep in mind when I do get around to edit them. So thank you so much for saying that!

I really appreciate what you had to say about theme as well. I understand what you're saying about this being stuff that everyone already knows, and it is difficult to get around it. I do add as many new bits as I can, the latest being Hermione's mother and a new one coming in the next chapter that I can't reveal yet. But it's definitely something I will keep in mind and another great advice.

I'm so glad you thought my English was good - to be fair, I've just returned home after living in an English speaking country for a year, but I started this story way before that, and it still means a lot to me. I'm so, so happy you like my writing. Thank you so much for all your kind words. I'll definitely take note about characterization in romantic scenes. It is difficult because I think romance makes people do stuff they don't normally do. Well, that's what it does for me, anyway, and a lot of people I know. But that's a good point about Hermione running across the street - I guess I imagined she was just really, really upset at the time, but maybe it's still a little out of character. I'm really glad you pointed it out, not just that scene but as a general thing to work on. Hearing that you think I've managed to convey a lot of emotions is really, really amazing for me. I guess that's one of the main goals when you write something, whatever it is, so that really goes mean a lot to me.

I'm glad you've enjoyed this overall, and don't worry at all about this being antagonizing - it's one of the best, most thoughtful reviews I've ever received, and I'm seriously going to take notes from it! I appreciate it so much, probably way more than you know. I realize that this must have taken you a while (especially since you typed it on your phone!!!) but let me just say you did not waste your time. I don't think I can thank you enough. And if you feel you have time to review some other chapters I am going to be super grateful. Really. I wish I could explain how much I appreciate this.

Thank you xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by Dipti Thakur Year 6: Fred

1st March 2015:
Its been so amazing
Eagerly waiting for next chapter

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so happy you think so! The next chapter is finally in the queue x

 Report Review

Review #18, by Violet Potter 434 Year 6: Fred

27th February 2015:
OMG I love this whole story, I've read the first chapter but I couldn't remember what your story was called when my laptop crashed and only found it again a few hours ago so just read the whole thing in 6 hours only stopping twice (when my mum got home and for tea)!
I love this story and think its amazing
you are such a good writer I swear I cried constantly for the last few chapters with sadness then with happiness (my mums had cancer a few times and I'm still hoping she'll live until I'm married and had kids and I'm an old lady - I secretly hop she'll live till she's 120 or something how ever unreasonable that may be)
am I right to believe James the 2nd will be the next baby on scene?
ay was amazing keep writing cause I love this story and I don't want to have spent this long reading a story I'll ever find and end to
from me xx

Author's Response: That makes me so happy! I'm so glad you managed to find this story again, and I can't believe you read it all that fast. That's amazing!

Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope with all my heart that your mother lives to be 120 too. And mine. Unreasonable or not, I think most of us feel that way about our parents, so I totally understand.

As for James, we'll see about him. I don't think GInny's ready to give up on Quidditch just yet.

Don't worry, I'll definitely keep writing, and we've got a LONG way to go until this story is over. Thank you so much for reading and for this lovely review, I really appreciate it xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by N Year 6: Fred

26th February 2015:
oh god the feels, the tears. what an absolutely beautiful chapter. so funny and so poignant all at once.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much. I'm so happy that it touched you, thank you for those kind words x

 Report Review

Review #20, by puddingisevil Year 6: Fred

26th February 2015:
Eagerly anticipating the next chapter as I put off studying for midterms...

Author's Response: Well, it's finally in the queue! I hope it doesn't distract you too much from studying though x

 Report Review

Review #21, by Eddie Hall Year 2: Being Harry Potter's girlfriend

24th February 2015:
Great story line. Will be finishing it to the very end. Top 10, easily. And that's just so far.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so happy you're enjoying the story so far. Thank you so much for reading it and for this review. I'm keeping my fingers crossed you'll like the rest of it as well x

 Report Review

Review #22, by ANN Year 6: Fred

24th February 2015:
Very moving chapter. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it x

 Report Review

Review #23, by Snorcacks Dance Year 4: Winter

24th February 2015:
That is very sad. I don't care for Hermione at all and though I do ship R/Hr I don't in this fic. But still its crushing to hear such news and her pain will be indescribable.

Author's Response: Yes it's very sad indeed. Again, I'm sorry you feel that way about Hermione.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Snorcacks Dance Year 4: Duplicity

24th February 2015:
I miss canon Hermione with her strong sense of right and wrong and her unwillingness to tolerate people who hurt Ron and Harry. her continually making excuses for Death Eaters reminds me of Minister Fudge.

Author's Response: I think that's an unfair comparison but you're entitled to your opinion, of course.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Snorcacks Dance Year 4: The first of September

24th February 2015:
Its good to see one of the relationships operating healthy. Good for harry and Ginny.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this x

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>