Reading Reviews for The Scientific Method
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by navyfail Part One

18th July 2013:
Forever...wow that is really sweet and cute(and it actually happens). Amy and Alice and cunning...letting Lily suffer and all that. But then if I were them I would have done the same thing, lol.

James reaction to what she said was umm...romantic? Though a little unexpected. At first I thought he would scream in happiness or smirk at her and say something like, "I knew one day you would come around." But snog her? Wow. I feel bad that the whole student body saw it though. Poor Lily. Yet she did enjoy it like I knew she would. And then this line :

"You're madly in love with me? Shame you didn't tell me sooner -- we've got years of snogging to make up for." *gulp* Lily is in a trap. A huge trap. A trap of snogging James Potter and she is going to enjoy it, isn't she?

The plot is definitely thickening and the characters are starting to grow on me. They seem very in-character to what J.K. Rowling implied in the books.

Great chapter once again. Update soon.
~Sama

 Report Review

Review #2, by navyfail Prologe: A Bet

18th July 2013:
The title drew me into this story. 'The Scientific Method' sounds so nerdy. And when you add nerdy facts, emotions, and teenagers to a story...you have got the whole deal.

Reading your author's note in the beginning I know what you are talking about. I have read An Abundance of Katherines of John Green. I like how she already has the formula and now she has to test it. You put a twist on the idea of the formula of love. Purely brilliant.

"But it was for science!" Wow, what a great argument. ;)

Lily's characterization is great! She isn't rash but sweet and clever. She also reminds me of a mad scientist but in a good way. I can't wait to meet the Marauder she has to catch. Hopefully that will be soon.

~Sama
(now on to the next chapter...)

 Report Review

Review #3, by heartjily4ever Part One

27th May 2013:
I really like this story, Your plot is amazing, and I really can't wait to find out what happens next. I was surprised with the way Lily confessed her love to James, but it worked. Update soon please

 Report Review

Review #4, by oldnumberseven  Part One

25th March 2013:
i was going to copy and paste all the quotes that literally made me laugh out loud but then i realized i wanted to quote most the chapter. i haven't laughed that hard while reading before, honestly. so bravo!

i really really can't wait until the next chapter. i'm hooked!

 Report Review

Review #5, by oldnumberseven  Prologe: A Bet

25th March 2013:
oh. my. god.

your lily evans is absolutely perfect. she's exactly how i see her being before she started dated james. very scientific and rational. of course, when she falls in love and finally dates him, she becomes the opposite of that. so i'm interested to see how you develop her feelings towards him :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by magnifique11 Part One

17th February 2013:
I adore this story. It's so cute, and funny, and a brand new take on the old story. Seriously, 10 out of 10 stars, it's fabulous and I can't wait to read more. :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Courtney Dark Prologe: A Bet

31st January 2013:
Tag!

How have a not visited your author page before now?? You have some really interesting looking stuff on it-I've never been a big fan of Dramione, but yours look very interesting and completely out of the norm, so I might have to come back here some time! Anyway, onto the chapter at hand.

I really like the idea of this story-I don't think I've really seen anything like it before, and I'm interested to see how this whole scientific method plays out-I'm guessing things will get very interesting!

I like that you have already begun to develop your central characters personalities-Lily especially seems like she's going to be a great character.

Nice job!
Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #8, by That_One_Hazel_Tear Part One

27th January 2013:
You need to write more, I'm dying here! Love it so far. Please keep going with it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Aphoride Part One

22nd January 2013:
Hey there, I'm back again with the second review! :) So happy to read this chapter - again, barely any noticeable mistakes (a typo somewhere, but I forgot - sorry!) and the flow is, again, excellent. Seriously, there isn't really anything that you could improve in this - it's fabulous.

And Lily... bahaha... I know I shouldn't laugh, but she did kind of ask for it, in a way. She knew it was coming all along and she really should have predicted that James was likely to react like that, you know? I mean, it's James, lol. Speaking of him, I thought he was brilliant - just watch out of making him too perfect, you know? You talk about how his marks were only just behind hers in excellence, etc. and it's a little in danger of heading into Gary Stu territory. I know it's James/Lily, so there's always a certain element of that, but it's just something to be aware of. That being said, I love how you characterise him - you mentioned him 'hanging Snape on a tree' which made me laugh (seriously, I'm glad I'm alone. I would have looked weird), and mention fart jokes and throwing food at people. You made him pretty teenage-boy-ish, which so often people forget to include. I love how you have her friends not being perfect as well, being somewhat vicious and malicious, even if they don't really mean it like that. Again, it's so true to life about some friendships and it's an element which is never really included in fanfiction, which makes this even more original ;)

The only thing I did notice which was wrong was that you said Armando Dippet was Headmaster - he was actually dead/retired at this point (at any rate, definitely not Headmaster) because Dumbledore became Headmaster before Remus arrives at Hogwarts ;) Pretty easy to change, though, so don't worry about it! The only other thing - I just remembered! - that I wasn't sure about was the 'crowd' wolf-whistling at James and Lily. I'm just not sure that that many people would be that interested in the two of them getting together, however publicised her rejections of him have been in the background of this, you know? Maybe a few students would wolf-whistle, but I don't think that many would stand and watch or be that interested... it just doesn't fit with my experiences of school at all, but, hey, it's more of a personal preference than anything, so again don't worry about it ;) I just thought I'd mention it since I thought it was a bit odd.

I'm really curious as to how the other Marauders are going to fit into this (don't forget Peter, of course! He's not 'evil' yet, as far as canon goes) - how Sirius and Remus and Peter will react to Lily hanging around them (because presumably she will) and what will happen about her friends not telling her the results of the equation. I like how you told us the results at the beginning as well, without leaving it to the end. We all knew what it was going to be, generally speaking, so it's great that you haven't tried to create suspense where there isn't really any and have instead gone for a different route. It's going to make this so much more interesting!

I really enjoyed reading this story and I hope you don't think any comments I made were too harsh - I really just wanted to give you my opinion on it, so please just take it as that and nothing else! :) You're really off to a brilliant start with this story, such a good idea and a nice, smooth style. Really enjoyed it!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by Aphoride Prologe: A Bet

22nd January 2013:
Hey there, I've just popped over for the exchange on TGS! First off, I have to say that I love the whole premise of this story. Creating an equation she believes can predict love is such a canon-Lily-Evans-esque thing to do, you know? It fits in so well with what we know of her personality. Plus, it's an original idea and an unique way to go about getting James and Lily together - the idea that it was all because of a bet and an equation scribbled on a piece of parchment.

I love your characterisation of Lily and her friends as well. Although I'm really not a fan of having her be schoolfriends with Alice (and thereby Frank by association) simply because I don't think they would have been in the same year - or relatively close until they were both in the Order - that doesn't really matter that much simply because you've created her friends so easily and they seem pretty realistic, which is always so great to see. I'm really looking forward to see how you develop both girls, though - there are quite a few 'stock friends for Lily', if you know what I mean, in fanfiction and since you've started with such a wonderful idea, I'm curious to see if you're going to go down a similar vein with her friends and make them your own as well. I hope so, it would really bring this story completely into its own and make it brilliant.

The only thing I could find was that there were a couple place where you had left out a couple of spaces between words and punctuations and such things. It didn't throw the pace or anything of this off, but it might be something to think about if you go through and edit this.

The whole science-is-foreign-to-wizards inclusion was lovely, as well. It's so true that even to someone like Sirius or Arthur Weasley the idea of things like Chemistry and Physics would be completely alien to them. That being said, I'm not too sure that Maths would be completely alien, since there is mention in the books about equations and suchlike things being taught, and you don't make it completely clear whether or not they do know what Maths is - I was a bit confused about that point.

Anyway, honestly, they were just little things which I picked up on. The premise of this is so good - really, it's amazing - and I'm so curious as to what is going to happen further down the line, particularly when James and the Marauders get involved. I'm guessing not a smooth ride, yes? No? Don't tell me! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by Faith100z Part One

19th January 2013:
Brilliant chapter! I really love your writing, you're really talented! I adore this story already, it's a new spin on James/Lily.

I especially loved the part where Lily despairs over how James doesn't reach his potential, it felt like a really accurate insight into his personality and stuff.

Really good characterization, and I didn't see any spelling mistakes at all. Awesome job! 10/10! :)

- Faith

 Report Review

Review #12, by jamesandlily_forever Part One

19th January 2013:
Haha I love that the numbers go on forever, and how they aren't going to tell her because it is hilarious! Brilliant idea!

 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan Part One

18th January 2013:
There are a couple of grammar mistakes here and there but it's not that big of a deal. And now I'll be freaking out over the chapter.

Oh my God, yes, it happened! She finally asked him out! I just want to hug James now even though he was being cocky.

I loved the ending of the chapter. There are not enough words to describe how much I love it! Anyway, I'll be patiently waiting for the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #14, by patronus_charm Part One

18th January 2013:
Woo! I'm glad I saw your status update in the forum as I really do love this story so far! And I get the first review - double woo! N'aw poor Lily proved wrong, I guess there isn't an equation for love, again I love this Lily she's so funny! Kiana :) x

 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFan Prologe: A Bet

9th January 2013:
At first, when I started reading this, I thought it was good and that the writing was great.

By the end of it, I was giddy with excitement and now I can't wait for more.

Great job on the chapter though. I like this Lily, you don't see this type of Lily in a lot of stories so it was nice to see something different.

I started laughing when Lily was begging them to take pity on her and going on about compassion when barely a few seconds ago she was saying how her friend had emotions on her side while she had science.

Anyway, great chapter and I'll be looking forward to the next one!

 Report Review

Review #16, by slytherinchica08 Prologe: A Bet

5th January 2013:
I wanted so badly to return the wonderful reviews that you have given me and when I saw that nobody else had responded to the tag yet I knew I had to, and boy let me tell you I'm so glad I did! This story is wonderful! Now I will admit that I haven't read anything by John Green yet, though his stuff is on my list to read this year so I'm not sure what you are talking about but I'm already in love with this story/plot idea! This will be on my favorites list and I look forward to any new posts on this story very much. It has sucked me in right away and kept my interest until the very end of the chapter! I'm actually rather sad that there are no more chapters for me to read at this moment because I want to know what is going to happen. How will James react to finally getting the girl of his dreams, and she is seeking him out?! Gah I must know! Please update this story soon as you have me so interested and sucked in. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #17, by PorridgeWomanEndings14 Prologe: A Bet

2nd January 2013:
An Abundance of Katherines is great. Finally, another person who knows it!

I love Lily in this story. A genius (or so she thinks), and wonderfully crazy. You write the fine line between hysterical and cliche, and you manage to stay on hysterical.

Good work. Update soon!
Simone

 Report Review

Review #18, by Aurelia Vance  Prologe: A Bet

1st January 2013:
I squealed when you mentioned John Green, he's amazing. Have you read The Fault In Our Stars? Oh yeah and who made your banner? It's gorgeous. I love the chapter, can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: John is brilliant *swoons* and yes, I have! It's my favourite of his, next to AoK (and yes, I know I'm a minority in that regard XD)

And I make all of my banners, so it's really flattering to hear that you think it's pretty :)

Thank you so much for the kind words! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it!

xx Molly


 Report Review

Review #19, by patronus_charm Prologe: A Bet

1st January 2013:
Ha I loved this! It was really good how you changed Lily to make her a science nerd as usually when I read stories based on her she's generally the same in all and it can get a bit boring to read so this was a great change. I loved it how she's still connected to her muggle roots by the use of science and how she was proud of it! I also loved how she dismissed them for being purebloods as that's what they usually do to muggle borns so it was great to this reversal! I loved it so write more soon as I want to know what happens :D

Author's Response: Awe, thank you so much! I've said it before and I'll say it again - I HATE reading same-old, cliche Lily, so it means a lot that people are seeing her in a different light in this story.

Muggleborns being proud of their muggle roots and holding on to them is really important to me in fiction as well, so I'm delighted that that came across clearly :D

Thank you for the review!

xx MOlly


 Report Review

Review #20, by Violet Gryfindor Prologe: A Bet

31st December 2012:
This is awesome! It's been a long time since this kind of plot has been exciting and interesting to me, but your story gives the Marauder era and the Lily/James ship new life. I read this prologue with a giant grin on my face, knowing how it was going to end, but still enjoying every minute of Lily's rational explanations and her friends' perfect revenge. This story is going to be so much fun!

Lily's characterization in this is probably one of the most creative I've seen. She's a challenging character to write at the best of times because it's easy to fall into cliche, but you're far from that point here. I love the idea of making her a scientific genius (at least in her eyes :P). What's great about the way you portray this is how she compares her Muggle knowledge of chemistry and mathematics with the shortcuts and weird things that are instead learned by magical folk. She's proud to be a Muggleborn in this respect because it opens up the world in different ways for her - but of course, she restricts herself by being so rational. One just knows that she's going to become emotionally compromised because of this - how this happens will be the fun part. ;)

What's also great about this story is it's humour. You've hit on just the right style and language to make this scene hilarious. Lily may be brilliant with numbers, but she's also incredibly blind. You don't overplay this fact, which is perfect - it's hinted at subtly, even ironically, enhancing the humour of Lily's situation. She's accidentally set herself up, and her friends will definitely be enjoying themselves (unless/until Lily succeeds, that is, haha).

"It was mental. But it's for science!" *bursts into giggles* I'm looking forward to updates on this story - it's a delight to read so far!

Author's Response: Omg Susan I love you XD You always leave the nicest, most detailed reviews, seriously.

I'm so glad that you found in interesting! One of my biggest worries about doing ships like Jily is that I'll write them too cliche, which no one wants to read about, so I'm happy that I managed to put a different spin on something that's done so often.

I also hate it when people write muggleborn characters without having them hold on to any significant part of their heritage. Like, their whole world has become magic and they don't care about anything else, even though the majority of them go home and spend their summers with muggles, and they all spent the first eleven years of their life living without magic. So I wanted Lily to still have a strong connection with the world which she grew up in, and I'm glad that came across well :)

And you have no idea how much that humour comment means to me XD I'm usually awful at writing stories that aren't filled with angst, so to hear it didn't sound like I was trying too hard to write something funny is a wonderful thing to hear.

Thank you so much for the kind words, Susan. You really are too nice to me :D

xx Molly


 Report Review

Review #21, by Mystique Prologe: A Bet

31st December 2012:
Hi, I'm here with your requested review.

This story is refreshing, I think, from all the other Marauders stories that are out there. I've never really read a story like this and that made me enjoy it all the more.

Just one thing that I noticed was sometimes when a word was italicized, then it happened to join with the following word. Such as in this sentence and seeing as I can't italicize it, I put little bracketey thingys around it.

"to be in a{relationship} with James Potter"

I never really considered that Lily might be quite mathematical and scientist like, but it was definitely funny to read about. And your characterization of her was really good. I loved this line here,

"Of course, these were wizards she was dealing with - sure, transfiguring an animal into a water-goblet made complete sense, but as soon as you tried to talk chemistry with them they blanked out."

It definitely does describe wizards!

I really liked how you just jumped straight away into the story, however it left me wondering just how Lily invented this formula.

I'm really looking forward, though, to find out just how Lily asks James out. That should be really funny.

I hope I helped and feel free to re-request.
Charlie

Author's Response: Ugh, stupid italics :/ I'll definitely fix that up and watch for it in future chapters!

Thank you so much! This review was lovely - the fact that people seem to enjoy my characterization of Lily hear is really wonderful to hear, because she is quite different from how she's normally written and I was worried it wouldn't work :/ But I'm thrilled to know that it didn't turn out all bad.

And Lily's invention of the formula will be explained in flashbacks later on, promise ;)

Thank you so much for the review, love! I'm super grateful, and I'm glad you seemed to enjoy it :)

xx Molly


 Report Review

Review #22, by Mysterious Prologe: A Bet

31st December 2012:
love this! the plot idea is really clever and you portrayed lily exactly hoe i'd imagine her. please write more!x

Author's Response: Awe, thank you! I'm glad you liked Lily :) I'll have more up ASAP, just for you ;) xx

 Report Review

Review #23, by Faith100z Prologe: A Bet

30th December 2012:
This is just perfect Lily! :) The way she spent a ton of time making formulas and doing math :p

This was an amazing prologue, it held my attention all the way through and it set the stage for the rest of the story really well. The interactions between the girls are very realistic and natural too, good work!

I'll definitely be back once the next chapter is up! Awesome job, you're a great writer! 10/10!

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you so much, really. I'm glad you enjoyed how I wrote Lily - I wanted to do something different, so I'm thrilled it paid off. Thank you love xx

 Report Review

Review #24, by Pixileanin Prologe: A Bet

29th December 2012:
Tag!

This.

"Of course, these were wizards she was dealing with - sure, transfiguring an animal into a water-goblet made completesense, but as soon as you tried to talk chemistry with them they blanked out."

I loved that line. It said so much about wizards and the world that Lily came from, and of course about her character and where she is in life. I love your premise and your fresh take on Lily and how you skipped all the boring parts and just jumped into the seventh year of the Marauders and now we get to see what comes of it. I love how one of her friends knows how to do maths and is willing to make her do this thing and how Lily is so willing to go all out for the sake of "science" of all things.

Neat premise. Engaging first chapter. Keep running with this. It's gotta be good!

Author's Response: Skipping the boring parts is pure laziness on my part XD But yeah, nothing interesting happens then anyways, and I figured I would just jump into the good stuff XD

and I'm glad you liked it! I always wondered how much purebloods knew outside of magic, like basic maths, and that was something I wanted to toy with. Thank you so much for the review - I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I definitely plan to keep going! xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by magnifique11 Prologe: A Bet

29th December 2012:
Oh my gosh, I love it already! I love the idea of Lily being sort of like a little mad scientist, and all her friends being completely skeptical. It's such a fresh spin on a Jily. :D I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Awe, thank you! I'm glad you like it XD I hate predictable Jily fics, so I'm really happy it didn't come across that way. Thank you love! xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>