Reading Reviews for The Only Exception
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Leaving

22nd February 2015:
Oh no! Stephen is getting blamed not good.

Oooo knowledge IS power! Oh Lucius, about to be a Golden Snitch! Doesn't he know the age old saying? "Snitches get stitches?" :P

Oh no David! Just when I like you and defend you, you go against Theo and I disown you for it! (Although only for like a week or something) Although we all know that you do care for Theo!

Aw I did really enjoy this! I loved seeing the inner workings of Narcissa's mind and everything her and Lucius have gone through, not to mention Draco as well. It's obvious that they both love each other and I liked that Lucius always had a plan. He's not as bad as I imagined.

Absolutely beautiful Sam! A marvelous work of art!

 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne Visiting

22nd February 2015:
Awww of course Draco would write about Harry! He loves him! Hes crushing on Harry so much haha.

*Cries* The Dark lord had to ruin everything by coming back *Yells loudly out of a window at Voldemort* GO AWAY, YOU MAKE ME SAD!!

AHHH STEPHEN ODELL! :D Hehehehehe

So many things are about to go down! I can't wait!!

I loved this! I loved seeing Stephen :D He makes me happy haha

 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne Breathing

22nd February 2015:
OOO it's Halloween night, such a sad, sad night! :( So much is going to happen.

See! David has a secret hidden side! There's emotion in there somewhere... and I bet a hug from me will help him get that emotion out. I'm 100% positive about that!

AWwww he blew up the living room :( *hugs him*

I love how much canon is in this and I love seeing the other side of what happened halloween night with the Death Eaters.

Such an intense chapter! So much emotion from David!!! (This is now totally the David chapter)

Excited about the next chapter! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Joining

22nd February 2015:
Eurgh! Bellatrix and Jane both mentioned in the same chapter! Eurgh! Eurgh!!

Aw Blaise!!! :D YAY!

Oh no! Now I've remembered Blaise's mother! Oh no oh no oh no! :( Now I'm sad. How did I forget about her?

Oh no, Bellatrix needs to go away! Oh no! Voldemort is there too! This is bad!

I love how quickly Lucius' mask slips into place when he sees them. I do really like that he only lets it slip for the two that he loves.

AH! DAVID NOTT!!! This makes me so happy! :D

I NEED TO KNOW LUCIUS' PLAN!! AND I ALSO NEED MORE DAVID!! I'm definitely crazy for liking David so much... it's those damn Notts! I can't resist any of them!

 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne Parenting

22nd February 2015:
AW!!! DRACO IS HERE!!! SO ADORABLE!!! Of course he was born in the manor :P Haha I don't know why I didn't think of these things before, now I need to think of how and where all of my characters were born haha :D

*sobs* Oh no! Not Regulus! I do love that Lucius suggested naming Draco after him though. :(

AH ADRIANNA! *calms down but is totally not even slightly calm ... in the slightest*

Hahaha she doesn't know what Lucius does for a living, he's like the Chandler Bing of the Wizarding world!

Awww I love how Draco gets his name! It's so cute!

I know the truth! *nods*

Another awesome chapter! All of your chapters are awesome! And I know I tell you all the time, but I shall continue to tell you.

SO AWESOME! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Wedding

22nd February 2015:
Yay the wedding! Awww and she wants Sirius there *cries* Who would have thought that things are only going to go downhill from here?

I love that Narcissa's dress is mainly to annoy Lucius' mother and her own.

Oooo I wonder what the surprise is?

Aw! Lucius is so awesome for having Andromeda as the surprise!! That makes me so happy! He can be nice! It's possible!

And she's seen Tonks!

This is such a happy chapter! So fluffy and happy :D

Of course I wonder these things! haha

Another awesome chapter!! Onwards to the next one! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Asking

22nd February 2015:
I do like the background into the old families, and why some are regarded more highly than others. It also makes sense that Lucius will known so much about so many people, that way he can keep himself on top of the game. Numbero uno!

I hope this Jane goes away! She needs to be hurt for trying to maim Narcissa. I also hope that Lucius' mother goes away as well and leaves them alone!

Aw yay! He's asked her to marry him! I was a little worried that he had agreed to join the dark lord. Although, I wonder how Narcissa reacts when he finally gets the dark mark, or the circumstances surrounding that.

Can't wait to read more, Sam!

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Dancing

22nd February 2015:
Jane is a crazy person name! And this Jane is very crazy and very jealous. I bet Lucius hates being called Luke. I would as well if I were him.

Narcissa's crush is cute haha :D

And them reading the book together is as well :D

I don't read Lucius and Narcissa together, it's never interested me for some reason, but I do really enjoy this story! I think it will be the only one of them I'll read and I'm glad it's one of yours :D

Next chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by rosiful Noticing

28th September 2014:
Hello!
I'm here from the Slytherin September Review Swap on the forums!

Firstly, I have to say that I love stories about the Malfoys and all the intricacies that come from being in their lifestyle, so I was automatically drawn to this story!

I really like how you've characterised Narcissa. She comes off as a naive teenager, but then at the same time is very self-aware and mature (just like a pureblood in that society should be.).

I loved the little mention of all the other kids in the Black family. The fact that she misses Andromeda is very believable, after all, you can't just forget a sister that you grew up with.

The memory and having Lucius hand her his coat is very sweet. A side of him that you don't usually see, but he couldn't have always been as we see him in the books! I love the fact that it's set when they were teenagers and still young and idealistic!

Overall, this first chapter was really well written and I very much enjoyed reading it!

-Rosiful

 Report Review

Review #10, by sominumaeternum Leaving

21st September 2014:
wow :) out of all of the fics I've read, this is the first lucius/narcissa that made me like lucius - he's so different from all of my impressions of him but in an entirely non-ooc way - loved it! :)
-a

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think so! I spent a lot of time on this so I could make them as non-ooc as possible, especially Lucius. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heaven Noticing

26th July 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Lucius/Narcissa is one of my favourite ships and I am so incredibly happy at finding this story! A story about Lucius and Narcissa! Starting as teenagers! While they're at Hogwarts! Woohoo!

I really like Narcissa's voice. She's young, but there's this sense of self awareness and maturity that can be a product of adolescence, especially at seventeen/eighteen. I like how she's very much aware of the kind of person Lucius is, but still can't help her feelings for him. Attraction is such an awkward thing, no?

And all the little mentions of the Black family are awesome! They're such a great bunch of crazy kooks I can't wait to meet some of them!

And Lucius. Of course I want to see more of Lucius. He's walking the line between rebel without a cause and reluctant gentleman rather well at the moment. I wonder which side of him will win when he's around Narcissa?

Lovely first chapter!

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad you found it. It's almost finished, so if you like it enough to continue you don't have to wait very long. :)

I'm glad you like Narcissa. It took me a little while to get her right, you know? But a like who she is and how she's turning out, so it's fun to write her. :)

Crazy kooks? Haha! Yes, they are. :D

Lucius will be back, but it's mostly about key moments in Narcissa's life, so he's not a main character. If you can believe that. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by HufflePuff_Blitz Noticing

30th May 2014:
Reward Review Number 1:
Sorry it took me so long Sam. I keep forgetting to do this :/.
Anyways. I really enjoyed this. I liked the light and airy tone of this chapter and how you portrayed Narcissa not liking the parties. Also the slip ins about James, Sirius, Bella, and Andromeda. I hate to admit this but I also like Lucius's character so far.
The only wierd thing I noticed was the mention of Dobby. While it was nice to see, I don't know how well house elf's age, but in the books Dobby didn't seem like an older house elf to me, but i'm not sure.
I liked reading this and I promis I'll get to the next review as soon as I can!
-Kyle :)

Author's Response: Hey, Kyle!

No worries. I do the same thing, though I try not to.

I tried to make it sort of fairy tale-esque in a way. The ball and the guests, but then there's Narcissa disagreeing with it all because she knows it's not a fairy tale. Lucius is a complex guy. ;)

Dobby. Dobby got added because I also see Dobby as a young elf - compared to others anyway. And when Lucius is a teenager, Dobby is practically a baby (if House Elves are...). Just telling him that Narcissa was in the room was his job. Dobby being there his whole life, therefore being well informed of the consequences of telling Harry about the Malfoys in CoS just made sense to me when I wrote it. Dobby is also there because I love him. But mostly the first reason. If that makes sense. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheGirlOnFire Asking

1st March 2014:
Hello, this is for the blackout bingo:)

This chapter was good. It gave an insight to their relationship but I still think that Lucius should play a bigger part. Rather than Narcissa telling us about Lucius.

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Lucius doesn't play a bigger part because it's not about Lucius. It's all about Narcissa. I'm glad you like it, though. :)

Thank you for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by TheGirlOnFire Dancing

1st March 2014:
Hello, this is for the blackout bingo:)

Firstly, I'd like to say well done for another good chapter. The interactions between Narcissa and Lucius was nicely done. But I would have liked for us have read more about th through dialogue rather than narration. Narcissa dominating this and we can oonly make some assumptions on Lucius's character from the small pieces if dialogue he has.

Apart from that it was an enjoyable read.

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Hey!

Lucius is basically a minor character in this story; everything is about Narcissa and what she sees. Lucius will come in more, though, I promise. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheGirlOnFire Noticing

1st March 2014:
This is the first time I've real a Narcissa/Lucius story. I must say I'm pleasantly surprised. This is very goo and berry well written. I hope you carry on the good work.

TheGirlOnFire:)

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! I hope you continue to like it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by BKL8008 Parenting

21st February 2014:
I think it worked out very well, and the name fits perfectly. Junior?! hehe. Like you wrote, in a word...no! It's nice to see the Malfoys here as happy parents, too. I never really thought that Lucius would come across like the jerk that the 2nd movie made him out to be with Draco. Again, a very good story, and I hope to see more of it soon. 10

Author's Response: Aww, thank you, I'm so glad you like the name. The Malfoys are so different to what Harry sees, I'm sure. I'm glad you like it. More will come soon. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by BKL8008 Wedding

21st February 2014:
Very touching, in all the right topics. Everything about these people is captured here, but expressed just enough to remind us that many of these folks at the joyous occasion are not nice people. Excellently handled.

Author's Response: Yes, they're very bad people. I hoped I was able to show that well. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by BKL8008 Asking

21st February 2014:
Tasteful! Even with the dark undertones, it's still a great look into what once was - before the Darkness crept in.

Author's Response: The darkness. Yes. More darkness is coming. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #19, by BKL8008 Dancing

21st February 2014:
Tastefully done, with a plethora of issues addressed. Jane is a great addition, and the handling of the Andromeda topic and the Voldemort topic were superb. Also, not overly mooshy and fluffy; that's a huge plus, while still managing to be romantic.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like how I see the issues, more will come and I hope you like them as well.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by BKL8008 Noticing

21st February 2014:
I guess the "new story" for authors RSS doesn't always work? I didn't see this one until I looked at the 'most recent'. Normally, something like this would send me running in the other direction, but it sounded interesting. It's certainly started off that way. So little is known of the Malfoys early on, and it's a great take on what might have been. I look forward to reading the rest of it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it and decided to give it a go. I hope you continue to like my take on the Malfoys. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #21, by cleannmoore Parenting

21st February 2014:
i think this is awesome. I have never looked at the Malfoys in this way. Feels good to see them in a happier light.

Author's Response: There's definitely more to them than meets the eye, I think. I hope you like my views. :)

Thank you for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #22, by theblacksisters Asking

16th January 2014:
I liked it a lot; it's sometimes hard to find a good Lucius/Narcissa story. I'm also wondering when Lucius joins Lord Voldemort and what the story puts as his motivation for doing that.

Author's Response: Lucius joining and his motivation for joining is in chapter... six, I think? Yes, chapter six. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review, I'm glad you like it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #23, by MarieBlack Dancing

5th January 2014:
I LOVE THIS. Pardon the super enthused excitement there but I do love this story! Please keep posting. I am so enthralled with the love story between Narcissa and Lucius, and how it unfolds with the oncoming war and her relationship with her sisters.

Author's Response: I love super enthused excitement, please bring more. :D

I'm very happy that you like this story. I will keep posting. The next chapter will be up soon. I just have one to post before it. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by patronus_charm Dancing

30th December 2013:
Hi Sam, here for the 12 days of reviewing over at the forums and Iím so glad that Iím reading this!

I always love the Black family because of the fairy tale air they seem to evoke and it was definitely in this story. The first chapter, with the great introduction to them all and at a ball which went with the fairytaleness (new word!) of it all. Lucius and Narcissaís interactions with one and another were so innocent and sweet it really had me gushing over how they were still in the young love stage.

I liked her brief thoughts about her sister and wondering what she was up to with Ted and it makes me hope that those two make an appearance later on as I do love Ted and Andromeda. Also, I love the Only Exception by Paramore and I think itís a great inspiration for the story!

Aw the second chapter was just perfect! It was so perfectly pureblood with Narcissaís use of vocabulary, then the names of her friends, her innocent thoughts about Lucius and just the way theyíre going about courting one another and itís so cute. I just want to squish them or something. Also, their brief conversation about books was so sweet as it showed theyíre really beginning to get to know one another.

I liked that Lucius brought up Andromeda because it makes me think that heís open to accepting her as part of Cissyís family so she might see her later on. Gah, I just wish the Black girls could be friends at times, so reading this here is making my wish look more hopeful!

Aw they kiss, so cute! I hope thereís more soon, and poke me when there is!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey, Kiana!

The fairy tale air is something that draws me in, too, the same with Founders. There's just something about it and it was fun to include the ball and show a bit of fairytaleness (awesome word!). This is definitely the young love stage. :)

Andromeda does make an appearance. I don't know about Ted yet, so don't expect to see him, but I hope so. I love the song, too, it seemed very fitting.

The getting to know each other stage is definitely the cutest part of their relationship. I just want to hug them.

Lucius would do anything for Narcissa, including acknowledge her sister even if he doesn't agree with her actions. We'll find out what happens.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #25, by presi Noticing

16th April 2013:
This a beatiful story. I don't see many of good one of these two and I am glad that I found this one. It's simply lovely.
Thank you!

MEL

Author's Response: Aww, I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you so much for leaving a review. :)

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>