Reading Reviews for The Perfect Present
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dojh167 The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015

I generally prefer dramatic or angsty stories to fluffy ones, but there is already so much drama in this couples life that I'm happy to see you've written fluff about them.

I really like how you've shown Cedric to be so relate-able uncertain n the year of GoF. By this point we've already seen the school raise him for being a Quidditch Captain, Tri-Wizard Champion, and fighting a dragon, so it's quite humanizing to see him so nervous about this.

I think that his choice of gift was very sweet, because it was so small and simple. I always think of them as a bit of a power couple, and the fact that you make it clear that their relationship is in such a young timid place really makes its tragic ending so much worse.


 Report Review

Review #2, by bittersweetflames The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
Oh. I know that feeling of despair that Cedric feels. I have personally promised myself that I would complete my Christmas shopping before I would be in a desperate state over it but it's rare that I am ever successful. So I can feel as he feels and you've really managed to capture that well. And, OF COURSE, it had to be for that MOST SPECIAL person. Isn't that always the way? Anyway, I love the way his mind works. Should you buy a gift? Should you not? But it really seems as though he is earnest in his desire to find her a good gift. And, I love the way you captured both their personalities so well with their commonalities regarding Quidditch. And then, that moment! That moment he found her perfect gift. I could feel his elation, his excitement and his triumph. I think the gift you wrote was really perfect and I could actually imagine Cho wearing it and I am sure that she would have been happy with it.

Thanks for sharing this lovely little slice of an HP moment. I enjoyed it.

House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:

Here for House Cup 2015 Gryffindor, Amazing Race Part 2.

So I saw Cedric on your AP and couldn't resist. I really like Cedric and I was so gutted that he wasn't in the books for long. I'm love it when authors write about him.

And this was so cute! I loved the little tidbits at the start - him leaving his christmas shopping until last minute and making sure he had everything gift wrapped. I also loved his internal debate over whether to get Cho a gift or not. I think all teenagers go through this kind of thing when dating so it made me smile to read.

The gift he finally picks though is really cute. I like the Quidditch theme and of course the tornadoes. As he thinks, it seems like the perfect gift.

I'm really glad I stopped by here, this was really lovely and put a smile on my face!


 Report Review

Review #4, by DracoFerret11 The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
Hi again, Alo! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the House Cup 2015! So, let's go over things:

Plot: Aww, look, fluff! Haha, I don't read much about Cedric or Cho, but this was pretty sweet. I totally understood his nerves about finding a significant other a Christmas gift. People can be so difficult to shop for! But this was cute, and I liked it. Well done.

Characterization: As I sort of mentioned, I can totally see Cedric being nervous about finding Cho a gift. I can barely shop for my boyfriend, and we've been dating for two and a half years, and I've known him for four. Impossible. So his nerves made me laugh, and I empathized.

Descriptions: I think you added just the right number of details to this story to make it believable and interesting. I enjoyed envisioning the scene and the gift he finally found. It was nice. Well done.

Overall, this was cute. Fluffy, yes, but cute. We all need some fluff every now and then, right? ;)

--Emily (DarkRose)

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #5, by rosiful The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
It honestly amazes me how some authors can get such a simple idea, and transform it into a beautiful story like this one.
This story was so cute. I'm a big fan of the Cho/Cedric relationship, though never read any stories about them together before.

I can definitely sympathize with Cedric, my boyfriend is impossible to buy for! Everything he wants, he just buys himself -_-
The hair clip is such a cute idea! It's not a big, crazy, over-the-top present, but something sweet and personal, and those are often the best gifts!

I really enjoyed this!

Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #6, by tangledconstellations The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015 :)

Agh, this was just the cutest thing ever! The whole Cho/Cedric romance thing, even though it's only really in GoF (*sob*) is just so cute. I imagine them to be the ultimate keen, awkward couple. Obviously they both really like each other, and I think given their ages they're each others first girlfriend and boyfriend, so I just imagine them to be SO cute and to really mean well when trying to do things for each other. I also loved that this was from Cedric's perspective, because you're giving us more of a character that I think was set up do well in the books - but adding in those missing moments. I love that despite Ron thinking he's a berk and Harry being a bit jealous of him, Cedric is just a really nice guy. And he's not perfect - he doesn't know what's right to get Cho, but he obviously really likes her and doesn't want to get it wrong because he cares a lot about her. This was really lovely to read, and I'm so happy he got the right gift!

I think it's extra special that Cho's gift wasn't just something ordinary like chocolates of jewelry. I think Cedric's dilemma is one that EVERY guy has when he doesn't know what to get the girl he likes for a present, but even though the situation is a relatively familiar one, this piece did feel really personal to them. This was just really lovely to read and gave more insight into their relationship.

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #7, by krazyboutharryginny The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
Hey Alo! I'm here for the Amazing Race for 2015's House Cup! Go go GRYFFINDOR!

I don't think I've ever actually read a Cho/Cedric story before, but this one is absolutely adorable. It was funny to see Cedric struggling like this over a present because in the books we saw him through Harry's eyes, and since he was older than Harry, Harry saw him as cool and confident. But at the end of the day, he too is a teenaged boy like Harry and it was nice to see him in a way that showed that he, too, was confused by girls, and wasn't always sure of himself, etc.

I also thought the idea of the charmed hair pin was so creative. It's definitely the perfect Christmas present for Cho. It's not too big but it's also something she'll really like. I would never have come up with an idea like that, honestly - I would have just gone with a scarf or something!

This story is short, but you manage to pack a lot of character into the small word count. You showed a whole new side of Cedric really successfully. I really enjoyed reading this!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

Hi again Alo!

Ooh, this is such a cute little moment that you've written about. I like how you're able to take small instances and expand on them with so many details, ending up with such a solid little fic. I've read quite a few fics about Cho and Cedric but none of them focused so much on Cedric's thoughts. I love how he knows so much about her and has such a lovely personality. It's interesting to see that even though boys put up a certain kind of front with their friends, when it comes to picking out things or thinking about their loved ones, it's so unlike what stereotypes make them out to be, and I love that you've portrayed his thoughts in such a caring manner. It really stuck out in this. And it's so cute how Cedric is flustered over a gift for her, especially since they haven't really begun dating yet. Love it!

Your writing itself flows very well and i love the way your sentences convey so much about Cedric just through those simple thoughts that he has in such a situation. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore The Perfect Present

9th July 2014:
Hello again, Alo!

Ah, this was such a cute story! I think before now the only Cho/Cedric stories I've read seem to take place when Cedric has died, so it was a really nice change to read something at the beginning of their relationship and from Cedric's point of view.

I felt sorry for Cedric here, at the beginning of the piece. It's always hard to know whether or not you should buy someone a gift when you're starting out on a relationship with them, and even more so trying to decide what's actually appropriate to buy for them. The paragraph containing all the questions really helped to emphasise his uncertainty about what to get for her.

When he went into the shop I wasn't sure he'd manage to find something that was a good gift to give Cho - for some reason I always tend to think of Quidditch supplies being expensive - so it was great when he found the hair clip with the Tornadoes on there! I loved the way that you described it because it seemed like something precious and beautiful, and it really was a perfect gift for Cho!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by Beeezie The Perfect Present

17th July 2013:
Oh, this was so cute!

I sympathize with Cedric, a lot. It's always difficult to know what to do when you're first starting to get into a relationship with someone and a holiday like Christmas or their birthday comes up, because expectations are just so confusing. Even once you decide that you should get something, you often still don't know the person well enough to know exactly what they'd like and what they even have. This was a great depiction of that uncertainty, and I liked it a lot.

I also really liked the way you had Cedric resolve the situation - a hair clip like that is a nice gesture for someone you're still getting to know. It says, "I care" without being flashy and making you seem creepy.

Excellent job. This was such a cute one-shot.

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jchrissy The Perfect Present

5th April 2013:
This is such a sweet little story. Cho and Cedric is actually a pairing that I really like, and I think this small glimpse into such a simple part of their life was a really sweet piece.

I'm sure we've all been in that position where we really have no idea what to get someone, or if we're even expected to get someone, but the fact that Cedric is spending so much time into it actually shows quite a lot about his character. He isn't the kind of person to just grab something and hope it works. Someone like one of the Weasley twins would have just grabbed the first thing they saw and figured out a way to spin it into sounding like it was meant for the receiver, but Cedric really put thought into it.

I was so happy when he chose the hair clip. When he walked in I was going, No Cedric don't get her a pair of Quidditch socks or anything stupid! And then the clip was just perfect!

Your writing style is very dreamy. That's the best word I think I have... but I really love it. Everything just feels so perfect, nothing overly harsh or overly definite. I don't know. I'm not making sense.

I really enjoy this. I wish you'd write more!

 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charm The Perfect Present

13th December 2012:
Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

Hi :) I really liked this story as I've never really read any fan fiction from Cedric's perspective before so it was nice to read it. I really liked his characterization as it did seem to fit with how I imagined him to be. It also fits his Hufflepuff side through the thought and consideration he put into his Christmas present.

I was wondering myself what the Christmas present would be and I find the hairclip fitting for Cho.

I really enjoyed this one-shot and I found it flowed very smoothly so it was enjoyable to read.

patronus_charm :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshp The Perfect Present

11th December 2012:
Holiday Review Extravaganza Event Two

Hey! I quite liked this little christmas story :) I liked how you characterised Cedric, it does seem like him. The uncertainty about what to buy for Cho was so typical boyish, hehe. The sudden way in which he "got" the gift he felt was perfect for Cho was quite cliche, but sweet at the same time.

Seeing that this story wasn't edited, you have done a fairly good job. Any grammar/spelling mistakes didn't stand out to me. The narrative was smooth and made for a good quick read.

I liked it! Good work!



 Report Review

Review #14, by Siriusly Love Sirius The Perfect Present

10th December 2012:
Short and sweet, love it! I was wondering throughout this whole story what he could possibly give to Cho, and the hair clip took me by surprise! Very original and different, and so special :) Very well done, and nice and easy to read :) Good job and good luck!

~Siriusly (from the surprise gift challenge)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login