Reading Reviews for When a Wizard Grieves
  
66 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Danielle Felton When It Rains, It Pours...

7th February 2014:
These five chapters left me with an ache in my jaw, a tightness in my throat and a wetness in my eyes. Do you have a way with words! This was incredible! It was able to touch so many feelings and invoke so many thoughts...I literally was speechless after reading this. I don't know how old you are...but you must be quite an old, experienced soul to write with such fluent emotion. Very few stories have me feeling things after reading them...and this is definitely one of them. I have dealt with loss and reading this sort of refreshed it in my mind and pointed out all of the mistakes I'm making in my current relationships with my loved ones...you are a stranger living probably really far away from where I'm from...but just know you had really HUGE impact on me...with these five chapters you have written. Thank you for the opportunity to read your work of art. :)

Author's Response: Danielle Felton,
My apologies in taking so long to respond. I always get behind and I'm so sorry.

Thanks so much for taking a chance on this story and for telling me how you felt after reading it. It sounds like it really touched your heart on a personal level. It is a compliment to me as a writer that I could evoke those emotions from a reader.

As far as how old I am... well, I'd say I'm older than most of the writers and readers on this site. ;)

I'm so sorry to hear of your loss. And really, there are so many ways that people deal with grief. And I'm sure books do help, it was just part of Hermione's storyline. I do think that being around loved ones does help, even if we feel a bit lost in doing it.

Draco's issue with the letters he didn't want to read actually came from my Grandmother-in-law who lost 3 husbands in her life. She said it was the Sympathy cards that were the worst. They were too sad and she didn't open some of them. And when we went through my Grandmother's home, we found the sympathy cards that she got when she lost her 18 year old son in a car accident (my uncle). I wasn't born when it happened, but going through the letters from that time brought him to life and made him real to me. ;( You describe the tightness in your throat well, as that is exactly what happened. ;( I don't send sympathy cards anymore.

Awe, go hug the ones you love and tell them you love them and that you think of them often. Make amends where you can. Remember the good and forget the rest.

I may be a stranger in a far off land or the lady next door. You never know. :)

It is truly amazing to hear that I've made an impact on you. Honestly, it's amazing and I appreciate it very much.

I'm not sure what brought you to this story, but I'm so glad that you did.

From my heart,
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #2, by Hermionessister13 His Release

3rd February 2014:
This is a very heavy story,but a good one so far.

Author's Response: Hermionesister13,

Yes, heavy indeed. You describe it so well. I do hope you kept reading and enjoyed it. I always tend to write quite serious and sad, emotional stories with a bit of hope at the end.

Thanks so much for commenting! :)

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #3, by anyatheapocalypse When It Rains, It Pours...

31st October 2013:
Oh my gvyfgffrtyjgygvjyvvjtyu god. That was beatiful. I love your writing and I thought the no dialogue gave it so much more depth. I have read your other stories and I love them. You're an absolutely amazing writer and I am inspired by your work. I love the way you composed this story and I hope to read many more of your short stories as well as the continuation of your current novel(s). Thank you for reading my review

Author's Response: anyatheapocalypse,

Oh my dear, wow. Thanks so much for the wonderful compliments you give me as a writer. Thank you!

'No dialogue' was sometimes a bit difficult, but I loved giving them a connection on such a deep level, that words were not exactly necessary. I think you are so right that it gives them a depth that many couples would strive for. Also to me, these two have known each other for so long and with their experiences... they KNOW each other. It is a rare connection, indeed, but also realistic to me.

I give you inspiration? Wow, thank you!

Delilah is currently being worked on...
Thanks so much for your wonderful words. They inspire me and give me a wonderful dose of encouragement.

Thank you sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #4, by confusedlover When It Rains, It Pours...

25th October 2013:
Very lovely.

Oh, what a truly beautiful ending! This was an incredible story--so original and well written. You are an amazing writer, and I enjoyed this story very much. Keep up the amazing work!

Author's Response: confusedlover,
Wow, I have found every one of your comments quite lovely! I thank you for each and every one.

Your words are such encouragement to me as each story on this site is an experiment to me to see if I can do this 'writing thing.' :) So... I cannot thank you enough for being so wonderfully supportive.

With all sincerity and my dearest thank you from my writer's heart...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #5, by confusedlover "P.S. It's Raining."

25th October 2013:
Very lovely.

I truly love this story. An end is in sight, but I find that bittersweet. You are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: confusedlover,

Yes, the end is in sight. Only one more chapter. Thank you so much for your compliments to me as a writer.

So much appreciated...
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #6, by confusedlover Her Lightning

25th October 2013:
Very lovely.

This is so beautiful, I am honestly speechless. It's amazing that you have been able to compile this entire plot without any dialogue...it is simply amazing. Off to read some more!

Author's Response: confusedlover,

Hello again! Speechless? Awe, thank you!

And yes, no dialogue. It was an interesting challenge to have them communicate without speaking. But I absolutely loved giving them such an intimate way of knowing each other so well, that speech wasn't necessary.

Thanks so much for your comments! I'm glad that this story is pulling you along... :)

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #7, by confusedlover His Release

25th October 2013:
Very lovely.

This is overwhelmingly beautiful and tragic. I seriously love this story so much so far. I am very excited to see what happens next. The metaphoric component of this story is amazing.

Author's Response: confusedlover,

Oh, thank you so much for your lovely description! As you know, I love writing (and reading) sad and tragic stories that make my heart squeeze in my chest. :)

And thank you so much for commenting about the metaphor (a.k.a the rain). The idea came from Ron making it snow indoor when he broke up with Lavender.

Thanks so much for commenting!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #8, by confusedlover His Rain

25th October 2013:
Very lovely.

This is so lovely so far. I can't wait to read on and see where you are taking this story. It is very intriguing and original!

Author's Response: confusedlover,

Thank you dearly for all of your repeated reviews in my stories! You are always so supportive and wonderfully kind.

Thanks for finding this story and giving it a chance. I'm so glad that you liked it and find it original. :)

Thank you!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #9, by anaidra29 When It Rains, It Pours...

15th October 2013:
This was absolutely amazing. One of the best stories I have recently read.
I love it how you were able to show us what the characters were feeling and that you didnt have to use almost any dialogues between the characters.
It is so nicely written and the story is lovely and sad, yet so much beautiful.

Author's Response: anaidra29,

Wow, thank you so very much for your review and for considering this story so highly.

Yes, no dialogue at times was difficult, but I actually enjoyed getting in their heads and having them be so emotionally connected that they were able to have an unspoken communication between them.

Thanks so much for your compliments. I do tend to write sad stories. ;)

Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #10, by Leonore When It Rains, It Pours...

5th October 2013:
This is really beautiful. I can barely imagine what it must be like to go through something like that. The chapters without dialogue, and the use of the weather to illustrate emotions, are so effective. Thank you for sharing this.

Leonore

Author's Response: Leonore,

Yes, it is hard to imagine the grief of losing someone so very close and too soon.

I'm so happy to hear you liked the 'no dialogue' and the weather. The weather idea came to me during the part in the movie when Ron realized he had somehow broken up with Lavender and made it snow indoors.

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review for this story.

Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #11, by MysticalDisappearance  His Rain

6th August 2013:
I loved this chapter. I loved how your so descriptive!

Author's Response: MysticalDisappearance,
Intriguing pen name... :)

And thank you! Really, I felt that this story needed more description than normal since it has no dialogue (which is a bit difficult by the way). I hope you continue reading and thanks so much for the review!

Much appreciated...
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #12, by Quinn When It Rains, It Pours...

18th July 2013:
This is truly a magnificent piece of literature. Your writing gave me a whole range of emotions, mostly of anger and sadness, because I, too, lost a close family member. That is what makes great literature great, doesn't it? Making the reader express feelings that he or she may have repressed due to personal reasons. I have said it, and say it again: this is a magnificent piece of literature! You've expressed feeling in writing extraordinary well. Which is something I admire and envy, because I have a hard time expressing feelings on paper, let alone on dialogue!
The lack of dialogue actually created a more passionate vibe. Well done; this has become one of my favorite works that I will cherish and continue to re-read.

Author's Response: Quinn,
Wow, your review is quite amazing, thank you. My apologies for not responding timely.

I'm so sorry to hear of your loss and your feelings are understandable and justified.

At first, I thought the 'no dialogue' was going to be really difficult. It was challenging, but I just kept thinking of how some people just know how you feel without saying a word and somehow it is very comforting.

I think it is quite interesting that you mention bringing out repressed feelings while reading. I believe you are the 2nd person to say this, although it was with my novel regarding feelings of loss over a forbidden relationship. That kind of compliment is very, very dear to me and cherished as I try to write emotional stories that are heart-felt; that make you 'feel' something on the inside.

Again, I thank you for your wonderful review of this sad story that was written with hope in the end. May your rain conjure unexpected flowers...

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #13, by Harveyboy When It Rains, It Pours...

7th June 2013:
Such a fantastic ending...infact every bit of this chapter was great.I feel as if I have been on a roller coaster of feelings. This has got to be one of my favourite stories that I will read over and over again...well done...love the way you add a little hope to an almost impossible situation...so sweet when rose and blade find solace with each other at the end...

Author's Response: Harveyboy,
Well, what can I say? You have thrilled me with your generous multiple reviews.

Thank you so much for your words. This one was a roller coaster ride, you are so right.

It's wonderful of you to think of this story so highly on your list! *gasp* Thank you!

Oh, yes, I do tend to lend some hope in my stories. They are sad, but ususally some kind of redeeming hope remains.

An oh, Rose and Blade. He was holding so much in for so long... and so was she. I wanted their first kiss to be very similar to how Draco and Hermione came together. There were similarities.

It seemed right that these two would share the same struggle with anger and ultimately it is what would bring them together. They would feel guilty for their feelings, but eventually come to terms with it.

Anyway... thank you again and again for your kind and wonderful reviews. They are so encouraging.

Truly thankful,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #14, by Harveyboy "P.S. It's Raining."

6th June 2013:
How clever of you to use hermiones letter has dialogue...and the owls message was so poignant...the love scene was carefully done and that lump in my throat from sadness has disappeared to be replaced with a smile...I'm so glad they are together hope you don't upset me in the last chapter...

Author's Response: Harveyboy,
Oh, yes... "P.S. It's raining." Boo hoo. ;(
He knew what that meant and it was an easy decision at that point.

They sat for a long while and then... they loved.

It's wonderful to read that the lump in your throat turned into a smile. I really enjoyed that chapter, the two finally coming together when the time was right and they were not in some kind of frenzy. It was "right."

I hope I don't disappoint you as well. ;)

Thanks so very much,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #15, by Harveyboy Her Lightning

6th June 2013:
I am speechless...you handled the love scene wonderfully...they have such a need for each other at the moment but I am glad you didn't have them going any further I think it would have spoilt it at the moment...impressed you haven't used dialogue yet...your writing is so descriptive and I love the idea of it raining in every chapter adds to the feeling of sorrow...

Author's Response: Harveyboy,

Awe, wow, you're speechless? I'm so glad that you mentioned them stopping. Sometimes there is more meaning behind obstaining than actually going through with it. It was just too soon and their emotions too raw and they are adults who are wise to slow down and just breathe.

Yes, still no dialogue. Sometimes there really aren't words when someone is going through tradegy. And it shows how much they know each other already... a connection from knowing each other since they were ten or eleven years old.

And oh, the rain... it is a serious and sad theme in this story that I enjoyed writing about in each chapter, especially the last.

Thank you so much for your heart-felt review and your kind words.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #16, by Harveyboy His Release

6th June 2013:
This is wonderfully...you are so clever at making me feel all the sad emotion Draco is feeling and I am so glad you have portrayed hermione and Ron very happily married...I loved the idea that Scorpius had given his ring to rose so touching...next chapter

Author's Response: Harveyboy,

Ah, yes... Draco is devastated in losing his only son and even if he is not aware, it weighs him down even further in not having anyone to share his grief or comfort him. ;( He is a sad one in deed.

I'm usually not so kind to Ron in having them happy together. But that's because I'm so bias. LOL! Although I wasn't exactly kind to him in this either. Oh, well. That's just my die hard Dramione shipping coming through. I'm glad you liked that they were happy. She really did miss him so very much.

Ah, yes that ring. I'm glad Draco had it on in the movies. I always found it inspiring with so many questions... where did it come from? Does it do anything magical? One can make up these things. But really... poor Rose in using it to bind the flowers. ;(

Thanks so much for your review.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #17, by Harveyboy His Rain

6th June 2013:
Hi it's me again...I am planning to read all your work so expect lots of reviews...I am loving your stories and I think the beginning of this story is so sad and emotional and very very clever not using any dialogue at all...must read on...

Author's Response: Harveyboy,

Well, finally I am able to sit down and respond to your generous reviews. My apologies in taking so long.

Thank you so much for seeking more of my stories on the Archive. I really appreciate it.

"When a Wizard Grieves" is near and dear to my heart. I wrote of some of the feelings from experience. ;(

I'm glad you like the 'no dialogue' as it is a theme carried thoughout the story (as is the rain).

Thank so much,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #18, by HannahJune When It Rains, It Pours...

1st May 2013:
Love it! Can't get enough of Dark Whisper's stories!

Author's Response: HannahJune,

Oh, thank you so much for your wonderful compliment to my stories! It is so sweet of you. I wish I had the time to write more.

:)

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #19, by sarsh When It Rains, It Pours...

24th April 2013:
Thank you for this story! it was so gut -wrenching! broke my heart!

Author's Response: sarsh,

Awe, thank you. This was a sad one, for sure and heart-felt. And I think them not speaking throughout gave it a really sad tone to the the whole thing.

Thanks so much for your review.
Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #20, by Queen Mom When It Rains, It Pours...

29th March 2013:
Wow that is the only way to describe your level of writing. You made me feel all the emotion that the characters were feeling. Wonderful job, hope to read more of your stories soon.

Author's Response: Queen Mom,
Thank you so much for your review of this story. This one was really heart-felt to write. It is so nice to hear that you 'felt' this one.

As far as more stories, a new one-shot just came up in the queue today if you are interested.

Thanks again for your review.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #21, by Tonks Her Lightning

18th February 2013:
Well of course Ron would disprove of her being with a Death Eater and when she thinks about it she's going to realize that because of the Resurrection Stone she knows she's going to see Ron again; and he's going to be disgusted with her.

Author's Response: Tonks,
I take it you are not a Dramione shipper? Teehee.

Well, he is no longer a Death Eater. And we all know that he had the mark, but like Dumbledore mentioned, his heart never really was into it. JKR says that his mark is now more like a scar. So, he is no Death Eater at this point.

And of course, Harry dropped the Resurrection Stone in the Forbidden Forest, so it is unlikely that Hermione would find it to see Ron again.

And finally, Ron is gone. And so, he would not be able to judge her or make her feel bad about being with ex-Death Eater Draco.

They are not in school anymore. They are adults who have experienced a terrible loss. They have grieved and figured out a way to dull their pain by being together.

Thanks so much for the review.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #22, by MsJacksonMalfoyMellark When It Rains, It Pours...

12th February 2013:
Absolutely amazing, this story was. You should write more fanfics like these, they are really good. The relationship between Draco and Hermione was done very well in this story. Also, the small details like their weddings rings, and Ron's portrait; they held such great meaning in this story, I don't think I could have thought them as that much of importance, but I see now they are. Every single detail gone into this story is beyond beautiful. Truly incredible. This story was overall brilliant. :)

Author's Response: MsJacksonMalfoyMellark,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful reviews of this story. They mean so much to me. What can I say to thank you?

I really appreciate your comment about their relationship. I think people that don't ship them feel that they just aren't believable. I try to make them 'real' and give them good reasons to be together. In this case, it is their shared grief and understanding each other that brings them together and keeps them together. :)

The wedding ring was actually something I experienced in my own life. It was actually my little engagement ring. When my love and I broke up for a few months, I couldn't bring myself to take it off. Even when I began seeing someone else and was asked to remove it... I told him that I couldn't. I told him the truth when I said that it reminded me of the happiest time of my life and I'd remove it when I was ready (I never did). So, I understand those feelings of not wanting to take it off and included them in Hermione's wedding ring. It's a heart-wrenching thing to experience, trust me. I wouldn't wish it on anyone, but alas, some must and it is a tragedy regardless of the reason.

Thank you again for your reviews. They truly warm my heart and make me feel like the time creating my stories is 'worth while' in that people read them and enjoy them.

My heart thanks you,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #23, by jkelly When It Rains, It Pours...

12th February 2013:
Really great job! Perfect ending!

Author's Response: jkelly,

Oh, thank you so much for your little review. I appreciate it very much.

Just so you know, I've enhanced the last chapter as it now includes a letter from Rose to Scorpius left at his grave. Very sad. :(

Just FYI...
Thanks again for commenting,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #24, by Cynthia When It Rains, It Pours...

7th February 2013:
BRILLIANT. You moved me deeply...

Thank you so much for this story.

Author's Response: Cynthia,
Ah, thank you for your review. This is a very sad story and was inspired by loved ones lost. You give me a wonderful compliment about being 'moved deeply.'

Thanks so much for taking a chance on it.
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #25, by Jchrissy His Rain

4th February 2013:
Hi darling! I'm trying to review some authors that I haven't before during this whole ship off, and I'm so happy I stumbled across this!

I don't love or hate Draco Hermione. Just like any other story, it depends on how it's written for me. I won't ship them above all, but I won't turn down their story if it's done well.

I really think your start to this was awesome. You give us a realistic position. They're older, they've lived so much life, and they've lost.. a lot.

Rose. Gah. That detail was so sad. She's lost her father, her love... poor thing. And Hermione's desperation for Ron to just have some imprint of life, even as a portrait, really made a strong statement and I love that you want to make it clear that he absolutely loved her.

Draco's unexpected entrance. the way he came as a broken father instead of the arrogant man really took my breath away. I think you ended this on such powerful lines, and was impressed with the fact that you kept the rain symbol going through this.

I think this is a really awesome start, and I'm so happy to have stumbled over it!

♥ Jami

Author's Response: Jchrissy,

Well, hello to you. It is very nice of you to check out more authors that you haven't before. The ship-off was fun, as I did the same. I found an amazing Krum fic that I adored. :)

Anyway, I'm happy to see that you liked this chapter. It set the mood and time-frame as you mention.

Yes, that portrait is very important in the next few chapters as she struggles with her loss, even after a year. It is a detail not to be taken lightly.

Rose... yes, poor Rose. The final chapter details what she is going through and her uncertain future... the poor dear.

Draco... yes, he is a father grieving above anything else. Thank you so much for your comments about his sad, but powerful entrance.

The rain continues throughout the story, which is now completed. The rain and storms being connected to their grief is my way of keeping the story 'magical'. I do try to keep things magical. :)

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for giving it a chance.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>