Reading Reviews for Inventing Imperfection
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kayleefrank The Glory of Pie

23rd December 2013:
I'm guessing she has some sort of mental illness like bipolar. If that's what you're going for, I would like to let you know that if she finds some guy, dating won't make it better, at least at first. I'm bipolar and being happy usually ends with a manic depressive episode. But I like it so far.

Author's Response: Oh, don't worry, I definitely don't plan on having a guy come in and "fix" her. There is planned romance, but as someone with depression and anxiety, I know that's not how these things work. Thank you for reviewing!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #2, by Rosibel The Glory of Pie

12th May 2013:
Just because of the note about potatoes, I feel I have to comment. Potatoes are more important to me than pie. I am a fan of potatoes in every form.

I like Finding Faith, and this story shows promise too.

Author's Response: First off, I just want to say I'm sorry this response has taken so long. I've been away from my account for quite a while now :(

Haha, don't get me wrong here, I love potatoes. I would eat them at every meal if I could, not going to lie. Rose, however, does not feel the same way. The silly girl.

I'm hoping to get back to this story again soon. Sorry for the wait!


 Report Review

Review #3, by IsoldeAughisky The Glory of Pie

21st April 2013:
I love it! It's very interesting, and I can't wait to see how this will end up, and I'm dying to discover what it is that has Rose to tied up, so hurt. Can't wait for the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it. The next chapter is in progress, but I'm not sure when it'll be updated. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by free elf 25 The Glory of Pie

21st February 2013:
I love this! I'm kinda guessing at what is wrong with Rose, but I'm still slightly confused. I adore the characters, and can't wait for the next chapter. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Confusion is good. Confusion is wonderful. I'm purposefully being kind of vague about it, though it really shouldn't be shocking or surprising. There might just be more to it than you think. I will update - I can't promise as to when - but it will happen. I have a lot of plans for this story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by WildCat The Glory of Pie

14th February 2013:
Wow! I'm so excited you wrote a sort of sequel to finding faith! I love that story! Is scorpius in this story at any poing because I do love scorose and that would make this story even better!

Update soon!

WildCat

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you liked Finding Faith, and I'm also glad that you're reading this one! Yes, Scorpius will be in this story. I'll probably introduce him in either the next chapter or the one after that. This isn't going to be a primarily Scorose story, but it will be featured a lot.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Tantin The Glory of Pie

8th February 2013:
O.m.g u bloody did it again u did awesome and keep on going :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lily's Sidekick The Glory of Pie

4th February 2013:
I like them. All of them. And their little quirks -Hugo's fixation on a girl, Rose's love for pies, Al and Brendan... I like the way you write the Weasleys - how they're close, but not all stuffed into one compartment for the whole train ride. You portray Rose well - how you make it clear that she's really good in school, and works very very hard, because it can never be good enough. Or, that's how it seems to me. You make her moods understandable, too. I get it, when she feels fed up of a conversation, or rolls her eyes at everyone's reactions. ...I hope we get to see good days too.

Author's Response: Thank you! I like all the characters, too. I'm really excited to write more of this story - it's just really difficult, for some reason. You will certainly get to see some of Rose's good days - and some days that are even worse than this one.

Thanks for the lovely review!

-Laura


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dezire_427 The Glory of Pie

4th February 2013:
Hi Laura! Here I am with your review.

"Uncliché-fying a cliché"- you do that very well. There have been numerous fanfics, in which it has been shown that Rose studiously buries her nose in her textbooks, and other ignore her or make fun of her. For the first time, we see her own perspective of it, and it's very accurate. We also see thst she quitted Prefect-ship, and claimed to be under lots of pressure, which I'm guessing is because she's Hermione's daughter and her parents are war heroes. Still, it can't be healthy for her. Also, it kinda points to the fact that she is not a multitasker and cribs about her grades, kinda like her mum.

You have hinted at numerous things in this chapter- like the fact that Brendan serves her food, how she complains over all the starch, and this sentence- In fact, I really shouldn’t be eating it (pie) at all. I can definitely see hazy clues at point at image issues. Also, you've mentioned her St. Mungo's appointments again. All this and more makes me very, very suspicious. *cue narrowed eyes and finger-tappings on chin in classic "Something's cooking" pose*

I eagerly wait for more updates of whatever comes next, and of course, Scorpy-poo. :D

Crusty, flaky apple-pies,
-Akansha.

PS. The city I come from is chock-full of bakeries and confectionaries. You can only imagine what Rose's descriptions of pies did to me and my stomach ;)

Author's Response: Yes, yes, so many hints in this chapter. I'm sure it won't really be a huge shock when it all comes into the open, although perhaps parts of it will be. This story is going to be very complicated, and definitely more along the lines of Finding Faith, rather than Choices.

I know you must be eagerly awaiting dear Scorpius, and it will be coming soon. Maybe next chapter or the one after that. He'll definitely have an interesting effect on the story, although maybe not as much a one as you might think. I want to focus more on Rose by herself than the Rose/Scorpius pairing. But rest assured, it will be there!

Thanks for the lovely review (and the pie!)

-Laura

I have a deep, obsessive love for pie (as you may be able to tell), so writing that part certainly made me hungry as well!


 Report Review

Review #9, by pookielow Issues

23rd January 2013:
plz write more chapters!!

Author's Response: I will, I promise! Chapter 2 is in the works right now. It's just being really difficult :/ But soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by hph:) Issues

5th January 2013:
hi:) I've read all of your stories and I can say that you are a brilliant writer, wow!! I love the beginning of this story and I really really want to know what happens!!! I just had a thought mirrors- mirror of erised, hmmm, though I can assume that you have some sort of plan, which Is why you are withholding sone vital information!! anyway, I really loved this and I know that life gets in the way but do please keep at it with this and I will be eagerly Reading!! thanks x

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like them all. I do already have quite a few plans for this story, but I've been having a lot of difficulty writing the next chapter. Never fear though, because I'm getting closer and closer to finishing it each day! This will be my next update and shouldn't take too long.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lily's Sidekick Issues

25th November 2012:
I love it! You're so good at portraying characters. Making them believable, complex, spinning a story.
My first guess would be that Rose has to deal with manic depression. I guess that'll stick in my head, until you clear things up a bit more.

Author's Response: Thank you! That means a lot - I really like having clear characters in books, so I'm glad you think I'm good at writing them. And you'll just have to wait and see what Rose's issues are :) You may be right, you may be wrong. I'm leaving it confusing on purpose. Ain't I a stinker?

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dezire_427 Issues

25th November 2012:
Bam! First review!

You've done it again. The start's really interesting, and gets the reader curious as hell. All I'm thinking is, 'what'll happen next?' or 'Wait...what appointment?' or 'Wow... Now where's Scorpius?' So many questions, all hoping to be answered soon. (Hint: Update quickly).

One thing I can't help but notice, you've never once described Rose. That, coupled with her dislike of reflective surfaces, puts some really strange ideas in my head. This may, at first, seem like a very clichéd ol' plot, but I think that awesome mind of yours will be putting in a lots of neck-jerking twists and turns.

There are a few typos and grammar errors here and there, but they don't disrupt the flow. Still, you might wanna sort them out.

Fluffy teddy bear hugs,
-Akansha.

PS. Faith&James! *le dies*
PPS. You can't imagine how awfully perfect 'Little Things' by One Direction would be for this fic. Espesh this last part-
You've never loved yourself half as much as I love you/ You never treat yourself right darling, but I want you to/ If I let you kno-o-ow i'm here, for you/ Maybe you'll love yourself like I, love you.
Strange coincidence, that this solo is sung by Niall Horan, who, in my mind, is the perfect Scorpius.
PPPS. When can we see a beautiful banner???

Author's Response: Hello, my love! How lovely to see your wonderful reviewing.

It's meant to be kind of confusing. Rose has a very tumultuous personality... and for very good reason. There's a lot going on with her, a lot of which I want the readers to be guessing at. This story will be kind of similar to Finding Faith, in dealing with deeply personal issues, but it'll be darker, I'm thinking. Scorpius will have show up soonish, although I'm holding back on it. I want too establish Rose a bit more, and her problems, before I introduce Scorpius. And that will be a whole other deal. Very messy. Very complicated.

Hmm... your thoughts may be correct, possibly. Yes, no description of Rose. A dislike for her reflection or her image. What could this possibly mean? I'll tell you this, it's part of her many issues.

I keep telling myself I should actually go through and really edit my stories for little errors like that (because I normally hate them in books) but then I don't. Oops. I'm planning on fixing those all in Finding Faith, since it's finished now, but I should probably do more of that. We'll see.

I have a (very amazing) banner lined up. I'll post it soon - I hope you like it because I'm really excited for it.

With fondness and kittens,

-Laura

P.S. YES! Faith and James! I can't tell you how hard it was not to make the entire chapter about them.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login