Reading Reviews for And Then There Were Three
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HEG A New Beginning and a Promise

23rd March 2014:
HI

Ok so this is a nice little one shot you've got here. The description you have used is so real that it seems like I'm watching a mini film inside my head. *laughs* at Arthur calling Molly Mollywoobcales was it that? Sorry I haven't got a good memory. Aww it's so cute when James gets born,

Good job,

HEG :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TidalDragon A New Beginning and a Promise

2nd March 2014:
It was obvious from the story that you put a lot of effort into addressing all the aspects of the childbirth from family to friends to the joy and concerns of the new parents.

I also really appreciated how you mixed in seriousness with tenderness and humor in varying measures so that no single emotion dominated. I think that is a really crucial aspect of the birth of a couple's first child to capture because the thoughts and feelings really do shift a lot from moment to moment.

I did think Harry was a little bit heavy at points talking to his son in terms of what even a first-time father would share, but it all came around in the end and I thought you did a good job keeping all the canon players in character.

Thanks for sharing this!

Author's Response: Hi!

I did put quite a bit of effort into it. I had some of my own experiences with the birth of my sons to draw on, which helped a lot I think. Being a new parent is like getting hit with a tidal wave of different emotions.

I think it always helps to mix in some situationally-appropriate humor into a story, no matter how serious the subject matter. To want to laugh is human.

Harry was feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all, which can make a person rather introspective. During his conversation with James, he was often talking as much to himself as to James.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Karou_Marauder A New Beginning and a Promise

24th January 2014:
Hi there!
This is such a touching story... I know others have said it but the love between the three of them is so huge and unbreakable. You get the feeling that Harry would do anything for his son. (I'm sure Ginny would too but she's not in it as much as Harry.) I really like the bit at the start with "another one of those 'big' life discussions". You've got Ron just right with all his, um, Ron-comments. All your characters are excellent. One small CC - the scene with the Chocolate Frog Card-guy is slightly confusing.
Great story! (10/10)

Author's Response: Hi, yourself!

I'm really glad that you found it touching. I wrote this for a challenge, and the person I gifted it to had been mired in a long stretch of writing Ginny and Harry on the outs from one another in her own story. It was nice to be able to gift her a moment of pure happiness for the two of them.

Truthfully, I'm not completely unhappy about your reaction to that scene. It's meant to be chaotic and possibly a little confusing.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lady Asphodel A New Beginning and a Promise

30th December 2013:
Hi! Alishya here from the review thread! :D

So I am planning to learn how to write long and proper reviews, because 1.) I need to anyway, and 2.) I am planning to open my own review thread soon. ;P


Therefore, you'll be my first practice lol! :P

Not that I haven't left long reviews before, but I know I at times I be leaving short and useless ones... for example the review I left on your one-shot with Hagrid and Harry... I cringed at how my comment... and I felt incredibly stupid for doing that...

I mean I really enjoyed that fic too! I just didn't express it right. :( So I hope you forgive me.


Sorry for the ramble! -^__^'-


Thus, I'm writing down each thought that pops into my head as I am reading down. n_n



Okay so reading the first few paragraphs, I loved how you built a mystery and then you broke the tension with Ron's Ron-like witty remarks and of course Mrs. Weasley's being a mother that she will always be. :P

It made me laugh reading Ron's confusion from the nurses/healers. *feeling nostalgic*


The part with Mr. Weasley telling Ron and Hermione that their life can most likely change and when Ron said about not needing to have a baby because everyone else was - and checked to see that he haven't offended Hermione - I am SO glad that you didn't make Hermione offended. I have read like A LOT of fics where Ron ALWAYS says the wrong thing and he and Hermione would end up in an argument and/or not talking to each other after that. I found it quite annoying and repetitive... Sorry falling off track, but I am seriously glad that you didn't make it that way! :D


I also love the endearing parent aura between Arthur and Molly... and haha, to me Ron and Hermione sort of act childish at that specific moment.


Ah... that was so incredibly adorable, describing the bundle! Plus, it was a great touch you did there, having the healer who helped birth Ginny with her own baby.


OMG! I am squeeling from the adorableness between Ginny and Harry and how nervous they are now that they're parents! :D And you display their love for each other so brilliantly - it shines! ♥

It's been a long time since I've actually read a good canon fic! *those feels*


Omg! I... You my friend have shown me a side that I never really paid attention to... and what I mean is...

When I read about Harry and Ginny becoming parents... It's either A.) The writer(s) doesn't go too deep into it - like skip years or something or B.) The writer would make Harry & Ginny perfect little parents... but you gave me an insight as to how much parents actually worry for their young ones... and I guess the reason why when I never really paid any mind to parenting fics is because I am no parent at all. The only thing I can be close to is how my parents feel about me and my sister.

But thank you for that. I am seriously emotionally tied to this fic! :D


Ooh - oooh! XD So unbelievably cute as to how you have Harry speaking to James. ♥ ♥ ♥

Ginny was marvelously funny at how she told Harry to look after their son. Again while I am no mother, I can imagine the 'ladies' condition she's going through and I'm putting it mildly. :P


And then the moment between Harry, Ginny, and James. The ones who matter most... The feels I tell you. The feels.

This was absolutely amazing! Again. It's a good thing that I started writing out my thought process from the beginning because now I am utterly speechless.


You just don't know how much this fic here struck a cord to my heart. You've reminded me more of why I love HP so much... and just *shakes head*


Forgive me if my review was rubbish. I'll keep working on it.


Any who - Great job! Honestly speaking! And this fic will forever stick with me


- Asphodel

Author's Response: Hi, there! First off, let me say that your reviewing has improved noticeably. It makes me feel good to see how you and some of the people who joined HPFF around the same time are really turning into awesome members of the community.

I guess my biggest anxiety about this story has always been that the first section with Ron, Hermione, Arthur and Molly doesn't gel well enough with the second section. I'm glad that it worked for you. It was a lot of fun to write this scene where Arthur and Molly are completely in their element while Ron and Hermione were far outside of their comfort zone.

I drew a lot on my own experiences after my sons were born to write the scene in Ginny and Harry's hospital room. There is a lot of cuteness with newborn babies, but also a lot of fear and anxiety. Being a first-time parent can be terrifying because no matter now much you read and listen to other parents, nothing can really prepare you. Suddenly, there's this little person(s) who is(are) completely dependent on you for everything. Messing it up, even in some small way, feels like it would be the biggest failure in history.

Calling it a "ladies condition" is putting it quite mildly. Whenever I hear somebody gushing about how everything is wonderful as a new mother, I'm always tempted to believe that either a) they don't have kids or b) they were on such powerful painkillers that everything felt awesome. Because being a new mother is hard. Your body has just gone through this crucible and you're exhausted and emotional and scared... Crazy stuff.

Harry's conversation with James and then Ginny's addition to it felt pretty awesome to write. The things that Harry says are things that I always imagined him feeling deep down, but he's not the gushy sort. When would he ever get an opportunity to say these things in his normal life? It's not like he and Ron are known for sitting around, talking about their feelings. I felt like there was a unique opportunity here.

Your review was most certainly not rubbish! I really enjoyed finding out what things you reacted strongly to. That always helps me figure out how a story is playing in the reader's mind.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by prettywishes A New Beginning and a Promise

23rd December 2013:
This was so sweet! I thought that it was fun to do the first part from the point of view of those who were waiting for the baby to be born! Ron and Hermione are so clueless though! It was actually sort of funny! And then the chaos of the baby being brought out, and the hustle and bustle because they're famous, especially the chocolate frog card! That was a cute detail to include. And then the moment with James and Harry was the most adorable thing I have ever read! He was so cute the way that he was telling him how everything was worth it in the end to get where they were, and the fact that Ginny overheard some of it was sweet. Such a cute little family! You have a really great ability to capture a moment with one-shots! I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I was in sort of a soppy mood when I wrote this. When you beta read for a story where Harry and Ginny happen to be in Splitsville at the moment, it's cathartic to write them at one of the happiest moments of their life together.

Ron and Hermione were a fun contrast to the place that Ginny and Harry are at in their lives. It also gave Arthur and Molly a chance to be wise and witty.

I admit, I got a little misty-eyed myself when I was writing Harry's dialog with baby James. The poor guy went through so many awful things in his life, yet he ended up happy. He seems like the sort who definitely would have thought it was all worth it in the end.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MissesWeasley123 A New Beginning and a Promise

30th November 2013:
I command you to not judge me for not finishing Detox and reading this instead.

Anyway, well, this is perfect. Just, wow. Your ability to write Harry and Ginny and make them likable once more, first in Puzzle and now n this is amazing. Again, you give them so much "oomph" haha.

As always, I love Ron and Hermione's screen time. Hermione's overthinking personality and Ron.. oh Ron. This line absolutely killed me:

Ron was bracing himself for another one of those "big" life discussions while the hard look in Hermione's eyes made it plain that she was ready to argue her point regardless of what he had to say.

And then this after:

He felt an odd sort of anxiety looking at his wife, as though eye contact might result in an unplanned pregnancy.

LOLOLOL = me = true.

Everything else was just so sweet and warmed my heart. I loved Harry and his first moments with James and Ginny... OH MY GOD GINNY. :') That was hilarious. And especially the last line. The turn of emotions again was perfect. You let the build up happen, and then the sweetness with Harry and then the hilarity Ginny brought. It struck such an awesome balance, I loved it.

Great work as always! Maybe you'll see me soon. Maybe.

(okay you will but let me get geared up, okay?)

Author's Response: Hello, there!

I'm glad you find a lot of "oomph" in my portrayals of Ginny and Harry. I think of both of them as being very dynamic people who happen to be a bit outside of what you'd call normal. The same is true of Ron and Hermione, although their quirks are obviously a bit different. And I'm glad you liked those two lines. They were among my favorites.

I wanted the end of the chapter to feel serious, but not **too** serious. So I thought Ginny's, err, *issues* were a good way to lighten the tension a bit. It's probably a little insensitive to make light of things like that, but I'm hoping she wouldn't mind. She doesn't seem like the type who takes herself overly seriously.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ReeBee A New Beginning and a Promise

29th November 2013:
Hi There! Review Thread!

Gah!! Awesome awesome awesome!! I don't have any CC! It was the perfect little special slice of life! The characterisation was good; you took advantage of the fact that we already know Ginny and Harry really well, due to JK!! A lot of people make the mistake of not using that to their advantage!

The dialogue was beautiful! I got tears in my eyes! The fact that Ginny isn't a 'perfect' mum from the beginning is gorgeous! I love your portrayal of her! :D

The only thing that I would recommend is to maybe edit the scene where everyone's crowding around the Boy Who Lived's son. It was a but unclear and fuzzy.

But, I loved it!! I literally have nothing to say!! :D

Xoxo,
ReeBee

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed the story. It was fun to write and I did try to take advantage of the combination of things we know from canon and my own experiences. I don't think of either Ginny or Harry as "perfect" parents because nobody really is. But they'll try hard. :)

I sort of wanted the scene in the hospital hallway to seem chaotic and fuzzy, because in my mind it was near pandemonium. I'm glad it came out that way.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by toomanycurls A New Beginning and a Promise

12th November 2013:
This managed to make me feel horrified at having a child and yet quite hopeful about what it would be like. My husband and I have been trying for a while so the baby theme was quite close to my heart. (the horrifying parts where were my mind wandered to what Ginny was going through)

The waiting room part hit me on several levels. They definitely sounded and acted like four people who have been waiting *forever* in a waiting room for someone/somthing. Their idle chat at the start of the chapter managed to capture their voices and personalities. Your line about Hermione's answering questions being a carthartic action was beautifully written - not because of what it said but because of how you said it.

Arthur's advice on how their lives will change now that their peers are having kids was incredible advice (I mean, in RL as well as for Hermione and Ron). I laughed at Hermione for comparing watching Teddy for an afternoon with being able to deal with the influx of children in their lives.

:-o those people trying to get a look at Ginny and Harry are quite unbelievable. You really show the human impact of rabid fans trying to get their moment with their hero/celebrity of choice.

Your connection between the first part and second part go together quite will with the healer acting as the transitional character. Both parts have quite different tone and pace but the healer there was a great link between both parts.

Harry and Ginny have all the first baby jitters I'd expect. It was both humorous and poignant that they were worried he was suffocating and that the blanket was too tight. There's are 1000+ things about having a baby that aren't explicitly listed in a baby manual (this keeps me up at night).

O.o I'm not sure I want to know what happened to Ginny before and in the shower.

I don't think the conversation Harry has with James is what I'd expect from Harry in DH - but given this is a few years later, post-marriage, and starting a family - this seems quite in line with a more mature and slightly scared Harry. The dialogue itself is almost heartbreaking. When Harry was saying that everything he lived through was worth it to be there with James and Ginny choked me up. Harry and Ginny are quite sentimental but I feel it's well justified by the moment in their life.

Ah, poor Ginny, she must be going through some post-birth issues. O.o (all of this kind of freaks me out)

Really awesome story. You've captured such a sweet moment in the family's history.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi, Rose!

First off, I wish you and your husband all the best. I've been in that situation before and I know it can be very stressful and emotional. I hope that the magic happens for you and it's everything you ever dreamed it could be!

I'm glad the waiting room scene worked well for you. I did my best to let the characters' personalities just play out in a situation that's obviously less than perfect. Poor Hermione is so far out of her depth that she's just clinging to whatever seems safe and familiar. And I think Ron is so thrown by seeing Hermione so out of sorts that he's instantly blown out of his comfort zone. Arthur and Molly take it pretty easy on them, actually.

I'm not sure what would have happened to "the Boy Who Lived and the Famous Ginny Potter of the Holyhead Harpies" in St. Mungo's, but again I sort of let my imagination run with that one. They're definitely not the usual hospital guests.

Ah, the first baby jitters. I remember them well. I'm pleased that they sounded right to you. I tapped heavily on personal experience for those.

Ginny is having... issues. I guess it's best to leave it at that. A nice, long shower was exactly what she needed at that moment.

Harry gets a little sappy here, but I think he's allowed. In this moment, he's living out a moment that he didn't think was possible during the books. I've always felt like family would be very important to both Harry -- who didn't really have one until he turned 11 -- and Ginny -- who came from a huge, very close-knit family. I don't know, once I started writing that section, it all just sort of came gushing out.

Yeah, you pretty much summed up Ginny's issues. Don't worry, though. She's young and tough. She pulled through just fine. ;)

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it, and best of luck to you and your husband! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by APerkins A New Beginning and a Promise

11th November 2013:
Aw. I hadnt read this one (actually, there are a few I havent read. Ive been away for a wile n kinda forgot)

ok So I havent had kids.clearly you have thought.

And your story is kinda graphic.

and.. well.

Maybe I never want kids...

Maybe.

Im kinda trying to decide if the love and the baby are worth it. You have made that aspect sound so appealing, and yet the physical side of things sound so...

Argh!
How can you make me think about the meaning of life (etc) with a story about Wizards!

Ahh. to be able to write and to make people stop and think. Yeah, you're good. you are really good. I have (yet again) been guilty of assumptions. Awful Awful assumptions. I assumed that its a story about babies therefore I wont be interested.
And yet somehow, you make the most unappealing topics fascinating, funny, touching heartwarming, real.


Well done.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Err, yeah, parts of it are definitely a bit graphic. Come on, though. What do you really have without those parts? Another soppy, "greatest moment in our lives, man!" story. Take it from someone who's been there: having a baby isn't that kind of party. Aside from just injecting some realism into this rather overdone trope, I also wanted to show that you *can* write stories that push the envelope on HPFF and do it in a way that gets the point across without breaking the rules. It's not easy, but, hey, challenge accepted!

Please don't let this put you off of having children if you want them. That is the one thing I would feel genuinely bad about. They **are** worth it, trust me. (Says Dad, who was only a bystander for most of this...)

Anyway, I'm glad that the story made such an impact on you. I hope it wasn't overly scarring. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by anythingcouldhappen A New Beginning and a Promise

15th October 2013:
I need to preface this by saying that I absolutely love babies. They are the most beautiful little things in the world, despite sometimes looking a little squashed! Anyway you really captured that feeling I think! I have never experienced it as a mother, but as a big sister I think I can relate at least a little bit!

I really loved how Harry related to James in how he just got lost in James' tiny features. There is just such an immense love there, and I think you wrote that really well. Same with Harry and Ginny--they obviously love each other but its not all sappy. I think Ginny getting up and wanting to shower is definitely characteristic of her activeness and spirit.

The beginning scene with the family waiting was great too! I can so relate to that anxiousness just dying to meet the new baby! All of the characters were great, and I especially loved Ron and Hermione!

I feel like this review is all over the place, so to sum up I think you did a fantastic job of the feelings that come along with a new baby! Thanks for the beautiful story that brightened my day in the midst of midterms!

Author's Response: Hi, there! What an awesome surprise!

I have a really soft spot for babies, myself. I miss my own kids being that size. Well, not the crying and the diapers, but the little faces and hands and feet I totally miss. So I tried to focus on those details that I really remember enjoying.

To me, it's always seemed that Harry would have had an immense love for his children. We know from the books that he's capable of incredible acts of love and sacrifice, and he was deprived of love for most of his childhood. There's just no way he would ever allow his own children to grow up without it.

I really liked the scene in the waiting room, I was just worried that it didn't connect well enough with the rest of the story. So I'm really glad you liked it.

I'm really glad that you liked the story and I enjoyed your review immensely. You brightened my day, as well! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #11, by harrypotterwriter3 A New Beginning and a Promise

21st August 2013:
This is adorable! I love it!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by missclaire17 A New Beginning and a Promise

12th July 2013:
aw this was such a sweet story!
the way that Ron and Hermione were all anxious but really didn't think that it'd change that much, and the way that Arthur and Molly tried to tell them how much having their own nephew is going to make a load of difference.
That one bit in the beginning with Hermione was so well written! "The idea of something so important happening without any ability to schedule and plan... it offended her sensibilities at a level so deep that her perfectly rational understanding of human biology couldnít quite overcome it."

The part when Harry and Ginny were both freaking out was hilarious to read but also so realistic. The fact that they were so worried and their reactions was such a pleasure to read.

When Harry started telling James about everything that happened, and when Ginny joined them, I can already picture the super sweet scene in my head.

Awesome job writing this! (:

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad you liked it. I was worried that the two sections of the story didn't fit together well, even with the scene outside the hospital room sort of "bridging" them, but it seems like that didn't bother you at all.

I like writing Hermione. Out of the Trio, I find her to be the easiest to figure out, because I think my brain works a lot like hers. I get OCD about things that won't conform to an orderly schedule, as well.

I've lived that freak-out moment that Harry and Ginny shared. At the time, it seems like tragic death lurks around every corner. Being a first-time parent is scary.

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Canadian_Hogwarts A New Beginning and a Promise

10th June 2013:
That was such a sweet story :) I really enjoyed it! Your writing is so good!
The first part, in Ron's POV was excellent (so was the second part, actually...overall awesomeness!); I thought your characterization of Ron was really well done. The humour was there, and his relationship with Hermione seemed very realistic. Arthur and Molly were also well done...their experience in all things baby was sweet. I did think though (just to give some constructive criticism) that Hermione was a little off, characterwise. I'm not sure why...she seemed a little too naive, I think. Then again, the story didn't focus too deeply on her, so it might just be an interpretation on my part :)
I really, really liked the mob scene (that sounds weird but you know what I mean!). I think that Harry and Ginny would be under constant scrutiny, especially at such a crucial point of their life. You portrayed this very well! That part in particular struck me.
I liked the Harry/Ginny relationship; Ginny's sarcasm, and the way she managed Harry was very true to the books. And Harry's such a sweetie.
I'm a sucker for first-birth-of- canon-couple stories, and this one got me. I loved it! Great work!!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Thanks so much for all of the compliments. I really try hard to put everything in the character's own voice and think about how they behave and react, so I'm really glad that they worked well for you. I take your point on Hermione. I felt like she was pretty far out of her comfort zone, so she was behaving a bit off. I could see how it might look strange.

I have to imagine that all of the "heroes" of the war would have to deal with a lot of media scrutiny and interference in their lives. A momentous occasion like the birth of Harry and Ginny's first child definitely would have brought out the jackals.

Aww, I'm really glad you liked Harry and Ginny. They were so much fun to write!

Thanks so much for the surprise review. It definitely made my day!


 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotter A New Beginning and a Promise

27th May 2013:
Hello! Here from the forums for your review. I am SO sorry it's taken me this long to get around to doing it, it was my birthday over the weekend and I got a little distracted!

I think your characterisation is perfect in this, as with the other story of yours that I reviewed. I can just picture Ron pacing and fidgeting in frustration and his mum and dad sitting calmly humouring him. The part where Molly and Arthur are explaining how their lives are going to change was lovely, I love how Ron immediately became defensive, it's so like him!

It's not often that fanfiction makes me cry but I totally teared up at Harry talking to James, Ginny too. Their first moments with their son is just so perfect, everything they do, say and worry about is exactly as I would have imagined from them.

Again, your ability to write a women's perspective amazes me, as a mother myself, Ginny's behaviour and comments after having the baby were both incredibly accurate and hilarious, I particularly loved the end line!
I can only assume that you have children yourself, if not I'm even more amazed at how well you've managed to capture the behaviour of new parents.

As for your areas for concern: the two parts hold together brilliantly, they really compliment each other and it flowed from one to the other really well. It's not too soppy at all, parenthood is never too soppy! And as I've already mentioned, I adored Harry's conversation with James.
Another beautifully written story, feel free to request again. Well done and thank you for requesting :)

Author's Response: Hi, there! Like I said before, please don't worry about how long it takes you go get to my requests. I always appreciate the offer.

I'm really glad that it was easy to picture the characters behaving the way that I have them. It's important to me that they sound real and natural. Poor Ron and Hermione are more than a little out of their element here. The world is growing up too fast around them.

Aww, I never like to make anyone cry, but I'm glad that you felt that way about Harry and Ginny's first moments alone as a family. I have 5-year-old twin boys, and I tapped into a lot of what I remember -- memory is a bit fuzzy, of course -- to write this. As far as Ginny's experience, well, I got to hear a lot about that. ;)

I'm really pleased that it all holds together well for you. That has always been my biggest concern.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heaven A New Beginning and a Promise

23rd April 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

GAH!!! THIS IS SO CUTE! It's almost two in the morning in my neck of the global woods, and I have more than half an essay to write, which is due in tomorrow, but WHO CARES BECAUSE HARRY AND GINNY HAD A BABY!

Sorry about that - I think I got a little carried away, there. But really, this story is such a wonderful read!

First off, let me start with Ron and Hermione. I thought your take on Hermione was a bit more uptight than what I had expected, but it worked well within the story. I guess when they have kids of their own, she might loosen up a little! Ron was typically Ron. He was pretty ignorant of the magnitude of what having a baby entails, but was still very loyal towards Harry and Ginny when all those crazy people came out of nowhere. To be fair though, Hermione didn't seem to get how big of a deal a baby was, either!

Molly and Arthur were adorable! I guess it wasn't much of a surprise that two pretty decent parents would make two pretty decent grandparents, as well, and it showed. Molly acted like the maternity ward was her second home, and Arthur was a very calm and wise force in the room.

Harry and Ginny's reactions to becoming parents seemed really in character and very realistic in the setting. Even heroes don't know what to do when it comes to parenting! I liked how you showed their insecurities, fears, and general noobness in such a light and humorous way!

Actually, the entire piece was so light and funny - it was a delight! In my opinion, you handled a very monumental occasion with the right amount of humour, so that the entire piece came off as being very poignant and sweet!

I don't think I can say this enough, but this really was a really nice read!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Sorry to keep you up so late and I hope your essay turned out alright.

I think Ron and Hermione are both a little out of sorts because they can feel life changing around them and they aren't quite sure what to make of it. Ron comes from a large family and Hermione understands what children are in an academic sort of way, but suddenly it's happening to (gasp!) people their own age. It's an unsettling feeling, from what I recall.

Molly and Arthur have now been through this six times with their own children and twice with Victoire and Dominique, so there aren't really any surprises left for them. I'm glad you liked them in this.

Harry and Ginny's reactions are more or less exactly what I remember feeling after my boys were born. Once we were back in our hospital room and the nurse walked out the door, we suddenly looked at each other and had no idea what to do next. You figure it out, obviously, but it's a very weird feeling!

I'm really glad that you liked the story. It was a lot of fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by shadowcat2 A New Beginning and a Promise

21st March 2013:
"He felt an odd sort of anxiety looking at his wife, as though eye contact might result in an unplanned pregnancy."

haha. that was so Ron. :D

I have so many favourite lines. This is one of the cutest Ginny and Harry one shots ever. I absolutely love how you write about this two. The story was amazing. I felt fuzzy and warm inside. It almost 5 in the morning right now and I can't stop smiling.

As always, thank you.

Author's Response: Hi, there! It's really nice to see you back!

Of all the stories I've written, this is one of my absolute favorites. It was so rewarding to capture these characters in the middle of a life-changing moment that was free of any sort of sadness or loss. That doesn't happen very often in HP canon.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by ValWitch21 A New Beginning and a Promise

9th February 2013:
Hi Dan! It seems to be a curse, really, that I read your stories without ever reviewing them...

Anyway. The first thing that strikes me when reading this story is the amount of personal experience you've included in it -- I think? This was so detailed and accurate, much more precise than all the pregnancy/giving birth scenes found around here, and wonderful to read.

The relationship between all the characters is spot on. You've got Ginny's independance, Harry's helplessness at how a real family functions, and the general 'Oh God, what do we do now?' state of mind, that, again, tends to be overlooked because for some reason all fanfiction female characters have a maternal instinct (I'm guilty of this, by the way).

So. I really loved every bit of this story, and Ginny's line at the end had me on the floor.

Great piece of writing again!

Author's Response: That's a pretty nasty curse. Good thing you found the counter-curse. ;)

There is a lot of personal experience in this one. Going to the hospital and having a child (children) for the first time is most assuredly one of the most surreal things you will ever experience. In Harry and Ginny's case, the attention they're drawing makes it even more so. I'm glad you enjoyed the reality (surreality) of the moment. To be fair, I doubt that most people who write these scenes on HPFF have ever lived them.

I'm glad you liked the way I wrote the characters. I tried really hard to stick with the way I thought of them from the books. And the, "Oh, god, what do we do now?" moment is one that I remember well.

I'm happy that you got a charge out of Ginny's closing line and that you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by magnolia_magic A New Beginning and a Promise

6th February 2013:
Hi! Since we're having a Valentine's day Review-a-Thon, I thought I'd take the opportunity to come look at your story. And I am so glad I did!

This just made me feel so warm and fuzzy from start to finish. I love to read about families and how they work, and this look at Harry's new family was just beautiful. I can see how much it means to him to be able to give James the life he never had as a child. His "conversation" with his son was probably my favorite part of this chapter. It just really tugged at my heartstrings, and even though I've never had children, it made me think about what I might say to them when I do. You just made it so easy to put myself in Harry's position, which is a sign of a very skilled writer.

The other thing I loved was how real everything seemed. I mean, it was very heartwarming, but not in a cheesy way. Harry and Ginny are so comfortable with each other, and I love that you show us their everyday banter as well as the tender moments between them. Molly and Arthur are clearly veterans in this area, and their wisdom makes me smile. And their scene with Ron and Hermione is another high point for me, because it brings up an idea that I had never thought about. When the world around you changes, you change with it. I loved watching Ron and Hermione's apprehensive reaction to that idea, and they add a great little dose of comedy to the serious subject matter.

I'm so glad I read this; you did a great job with it! Good luck in the ship-off!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm glad that the story resonated with you. For me, it was really rewarding to capture Harry and Ginny in this very special, very happy moment. All of the canon characters go through so many awful things in the book and more generally in fan fiction. The good times deserve a bit of play, I think too.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Dark Whisper A New Beginning and a Promise

4th February 2013:
Cam,

Congrats on your nomination.
This story is really sweet. I do love this conversation between Harry and his newborn. I especially liked that he mentioned so many things about his history and how it was all worth it. Awe...

And truly, Ginny is so right about his modesty.

I also liked the Weasley's insights and about choked when Hermione speaks of her experience with children as "one afternoon" with Teddy... hahaha! Funny.

Best wishes on the Valentine's poll.
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi, there.

Thank for the congratulations and well-wishes. I was really proud that so many people enjoyed the story.

I wanted to capture a happy moment in Harry and Ginny's life and write the story as a gift to my beta reader. The two of them are in a difficult stretch in her story at the moment. Being able to catch Ron and Hermione in a funny moment was an added bonus.

I'm really glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by zipzin A New Beginning and a Promise

3rd February 2013:
Your style of writing is amazing! It's funny but sweet at the same time and very interesting to read. I love the way you represent Harry and Ginny. This is great!

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. This was a lot of fun to write. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by UnluckyStar57 A New Beginning and a Promise

24th January 2013:
Hi! I am so sorry that it took me this long to leave a review on this story for you, but I've just been so very busy lately...

Excuses aside, here I am with the long-awaited review!!

I really loved this. You seem to write a lot of very dark and mysterious stuff, but this was quite fluffy and light. It was a nice change of pace, and it proves that yes, you really are the God of Harry Potter Fanfiction, because let's be honest: What CAN'T you write?! :)

I especially enjoyed Harry's characterization. I have trouble visualizing him as that totally goofy, doting, silly father, because he's been through a whole lifetime of hurt, and I thought that the little monologue he was having with baby James was very in-tune with his character after the war. Of course, he IS a loving dad, but he still remembers and is haunted by the horrors that he once faced. The story he tells is also indicative of the way your version of James will be raised: He'll grow up hearing stories about death and magic and (most of all) love, so hopefully he'll be a different guy than the people who live vicariously through fanfiction wish him to be (if you know what I mean!!).

Anyway, excellent work, as usual!! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi, there! Please don't worry about the timing. Everyone is busy and you're doing such a service to the community by offering up your time to help other authors out! I really appreciate it.

I wrote this story as a gift to my beta reader, who asked me to "write something that shows Ginny and Harry in a happy time." In her WIP, they're going through a rather dark time in their relationship and I think it's weighing on her a bit. So I went for arguably the happiest moment in any young couple's life.

What can't I write? Well, I haven't tried any song fics. And I'm not sure how slash would turn out for me, since I don't have any first-hand experience. But I'm willing to give anything a try.

I do think that Harry will be fairly doting, but more because he's trying to give his children the childhood that he never had. Ginny is more likely to be the one who metes out discipline in that household, because she doesn't want the children to grow up spoiled, like all of the nasty Slytherin kids who used to tease and bully her and Ron. Overall, I think they probably find a good balance.

I'm glad that you enjoyed this. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella Hunter A New Beginning and a Promise

7th January 2013:
HELLO!

HEY! Hey. Its me, Gabbie with your requested review and I'm done yelling for no reason at all. Hehe. So, this was the sweetest little one-shot ever! I still haven't gotten the hang of writing them myself but it was great reading this, it really took me away for a moment. The opening bits with Ron and Hermione were a surprise, since I thought you'd do the obvious thing and have it being Harry. But the conversations between Ron, Hermione, Molly and Arthur were funny and enlightening. It seems as if those two aren't really inclined on having babies just yet and I loved how you had them still like they were in canon. For some reason, I'd like to see Hermione suffering from labor pains, that's something that she wouldn't be able to control and plus, it'd just be funny to see Ron suffering a little. Heehehe. >:D
So, onto the baby and the news! How unsurprising that they were getting so much press and rude of them, if you ask me. Can't Harry and Ginny procreate without all the fuss?
I absolutely adored what you did with Harry and Ginny's relationship, I was able to gather quite a bit about it from the way they spoke with one another. I always found them so hard to write for and avoid them, Dumbledore and Snape like the plague. What you've done here shows how much they've grown and how much they've really grown to care for one another even more that they have a little baby. :3
I love kids, so excuse me for blabbering on about how adorable imagining a baby James is. I thought their moment of freaking out was pretty hilarious too and relatable, I know quite a few friends who would have done the same thing. But James was only making spit bubbles, not dying, hahaha.
So, I'm going to skip ahead a little to my favorite part of this! The ending! Haha, I'm kidding. I actually really, really appreciated and loved Harry's conversation with his son. It was probably the most touching thing I've ever read about his life and how much stronger he is for it. I don't even have proper words to go on and on about it, just know that it was lovely.
No CC's for this either, I thought you did a wonderful job! :D
And that last line? Hilarious! Hahah. I should read more of your work on my own, you're pretty darn fantastic.
Much love and thanks for the great read!
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi, there! Sorry to take so long to respond.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it and thought it was sweet. I guess it wasn't so hard for me to write, but I've been through the experience so I think that helped a lot.

I really try not to do obvious things at the beginning of my stories. I think it grabs the reader's interest a little more if they have to guess for a while to figure out what's going on. Anyway, I'm pleased that you liked the conversation between the four Weasleys because I was worried that it didn't fit well with the rest of the story.

I don't think there's much that Harry and Ginny *can do* without there being a fuss, but the situation in the hospital definitely got out of control. Good thing the nurse was there to restore order.

I see Harry and Ginny as both being "family people", but in different ways. Ginny has never known anything but a loving, supporting family. It's just "normal" to her. Harry craves a normal, loving family more than anything because he never had one.

I'm happy to excuse your blabbering. I was happy that you liked it so much. To me, Harry's words to James, especially the ones near the end, were straight from the heart. He finally has the thing that he's wanted for as long as he can remember. The thing that he suffered and fought and literally died for.

The last line, as well as all of Ginny's other commentary about her, um, condition, was something that I felt like I needed to keep this story realistic. Having a baby isn't all joy and cuteness and snuggles. There are some fairly gross realities that go along with the experience.

Wow. I'm tickled pink with this review. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #23, by CloakAuror9 A New Beginning and a Promise

7th January 2013:
Hello!

I'm introducing myself to everyone as the crazy girl who wants to give out 100 reviews by the end of the month. But I think we both know that I'm just a crazy girl. End of story. :P

Anywho...

This was so fluffy, Dan! I can't believe I've only seen this now. Why haven't you told me about this?! Argh. I love it!

Everything in the story melted my heart! Oh my gosh! Harry telling little James the story of everything he's been through while they were alone, I thought that was just such a perfect moment. Also, I know you're a parent, so I'm pretty sure that a part of this story was probably based on that. Maybe that's why it feels so real...so canon. :P

I noticed that the story isn't just fluff there was also humour in it like the bit where James was apparently chocking. Not that there's anything funny about a newborn child choking (but here wasn't even choking!), but it was more of Harry and Ginny's reaction. Nonetheless, them panicking like that just shows you how much they care for their son. And now I'm starting wonder, whether you panicked like Harry and Ginny did in those first few months with the twins. Every parent probably did.

And then there's Ron, Hermione! Those too are such a cute couple, but I have to admit, I found it SO weird (and funny) when Ron thought about unplanned pregnancy through eye-contact with his wife. Is that what waiting for your sister's baby does to you brain? In puts in weird thoughts? O.o

I just realised how much of a ramble this review is, but I can't help it. I like to ramble too much. D: Anyway, this was a really amazing story! I wish you'd write more fluffy stories in the near future! -nudge, nudge- wink, wink-

I'll be back soon to review more!
~Izzy

12 reviews out of 100. Will I accomplish this? O.o

Author's Response: Oh, Izzy, I've missed you!

I, um, don't know how you missed it. Maybe I've been subconsciously hiding stories from you. Bad Dan, bad!

There were parts of this that were fun to write and parts that were warm and emotional to write. James and Harry's "conversation" was a little of both.

Large parts of this were based on my own experiences, so it was pretty easy to write, actually. I'm pleased as can be that it felt very real to you. It's good to know that all the feelings came across.

Of course there's a bit of humor in it. This is me, after all. :-P I think every parent goes through that "is the baby choking?!?!?!" moment a few times before everything settles down in your brain. They seem incredibly fragile in the beginning, to the point where you wonder how they can survive. But survive they do.

I really worried about whether the first section with the four Weasleys was sufficiently connected to the second section for the story to be coherent. But I really loved putting Ron and Hermione through that odd moment of realization. I wouldn't know about waiting for a sibling's baby to be born, but I definitely think that Ron and Hermione weren't ready to be parents yet before James was born.

I'll probably write more fluffy stuff again some time. It's pretty easy to write and sometimes it clears out your brain when you've got writer's block.

Thanks so much for offering to read and review! I always love reading your thoughts and reactions. Don't be a stranger!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Pixileanin A New Beginning and a Promise

3rd January 2013:
On the twelfth day of Christmas...

Betcha think I wasn't going to be able to do it...

I just had to see what fluffy CambAngst was all about, so I went over to this story and...

Awww! There were some really touching moments here. Everything from Ron and Hermione trying to figure out what Molly and Arthur were up to to Harry and Ginny having their first moment with their son, you captured a very precious time for all of them.

Ron was perfect here:

"He felt an odd sort of anxiety looking at his wife, as though eye contact might result in an unplanned pregnancy."

I'll have to tell you a funny story that came to mind when I read that. I loved Molly's and Arthur's patience through all of it and the way that Ron was so impatient, but he didn't have a clue why. I'm glad the chief maternity nurse had everything well in hand, or it would have been a right mess out there, with Ron attempting to do what he thought was right at the time. As much fun as a battle scene would have been in the maternity ward, I'm sure that wasn't what you were going for.

The uncertainty and awe of both Harry and Ginny was beautifully captured. The sense of panic too, which made it all real, that, "what the heck do we do now??" moment when their baby does, well, anything really. I wonder if Ginny was regretting not reading the "boring" parts of those books that Hermione gave her. Harry, in particular, couldn't imagine what his life was going to be like, especially since he didn't have any real experiences to fall back on, which was a sad and touching point to make. It just makes me feel so glad that his story had a happy ending and that he has so many wonderful people around him to help him through this next great adventure in his life. He said some lovely things to James that I hope he ends up repeating to him when the little guy becomes more self aware. These are the things that a child never tires of hearing from his parents.

As for the ending, it was a good thing that Harry didn't have a clue what Ginny was up to in that shower. Some things don't need to be shared. Regardless, I think you covered just about all of it with her last line. ;)

Fluffy, wholesome goodness, with a touch of poignant warmth. Perfect for the season. Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Hello, again! I am feeling so marvelously spoiled at this point, I don't quite know what to say about it. :)

Yep, this one's fluffy as can be. Obviously, I tapped into a lot of my own recollections of the day our boys were born. It all felt oddly fresh in my mind, considering the first 6 months flew by like a blur.

I really wasn't sure how well the first part of this story connected with the second part, so I'm glad that it didn't seem to bother anyone too much. I imagine Ron and Hermione getting a very different sort of "baby experience" from what Harry and Ginny are getting, but valuable nonetheless. And Molly and Arthur have obviously forgotten more about new babies than most people will ever know.

Oh, how I remember that feeling of, "ummm... what now?" It's universal, unless you come from one of those huge families full of aunts who just take over the show. Ginny and Harry both are probably wishing that they'd paid more attention to all the books and advice that people always lavish on first-time expecting parents. It doesn't make any difference, of course. Nothing can prepare you...

And no, Harry didn't have the foggiest idea what was going on with Ginny in the shower. And he's happier that way, believe me.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for all of your lovely, thoughtful and all-around wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Toujours Padfoot A New Beginning and a Promise

28th December 2012:
There is nothing you can't write! I enjoy your lighter, happier stuff just as much as your dark dramas.

I can definitely tell that you've been through all this before, with the childbirth and what comes after. Brings all the memories of post-labor rushing back to me. D: Oh my god, Ginny had it exactly right with the word 'disgusting'. All that beautiful new joy, and then all of that...eww. *shudder* The details of Ginny needing help walking because she was still shaky, and her reaction to her...condition...it was all so realistic. Even though you're a guy and haven't delivered a child yourself, you've written it with more realism than I've ever seen on this archive, which is female-dominated and rampant with pregnancy stories. It was spectacularly done. You wrote it in such a way that it was impossible not to feel like I was right there with them.

You really have a knack for making characters sound like JKR wrote them. Like Hermione looking at Arthur with the expression in her eyes that she was going to argue her point no matter what he said.

A few of my favorite parts:

The idea of something so important happening without any ability to schedule and plan...it offended her sensibilities at a level so deep that her perfectly rational understanding of human biology couldnít quite overcome it.
- Hermione. ♥ So, so, Hermione-ish.

He felt an odd sort of anxiety looking at his wife, as though eye contact might result in an unplanned pregnancy.
- This made me laugh out loud. Ron is one of my all-time favorite fictional people. His flaws make him so beloved.

All I have are a few old pictures that their friends saved for me and some really hazy memories that are more like feelings, really."
- I know that feeling exactly, having memories that are more so emotions. It was really impressive that you captured that and wrote it down, because it's such a human thing that we don't always really notice it.

Harry's story about his family to James made me smile. He has such a bittersweet history - lots and lots of sadness, and the bright spots mostly centering around the family he married into. A lot of people scoff at Harry ending up with Ginny, but I think it's the most natural thing in the world. Ginny embodies everything he ever wanted: family. He got his dream family at last, and Ginny's temper is the perfect match for someone who is being hailed as the savior of the wizarding world, and therefore susceptible to getting a very large head. And her easy-going-ness is good for someone who likes to blame himself and beat himself up. She is absolutely perfect for him.

What a heartwarming story. :) Thank you for participating in my challenge!

Author's Response: Hi!

First off, I'm so pleased that you found this all realistic, even the sort of yucky parts. I was going off of my own recollections from after our boys were born, and there are definitely a lot of things -- some less pleasant than others -- that tend to get glossed over in your average mismatched-couple-teen-unplanned-pregnancy-happy-ever-after fic that you find on HPFF. So I'm sorry if I took you down an unpleasant stretch of Memory Lane, but I couldn't be happier with your reaction.

When I tried to place Hermione in my own recollections of the process of having a baby, that was something that stuck out in my mind. She's so relentless with her timetables and schedules, yet here's something that simply can't be planned, organized or mapped out in advance. I bet it bugged the heck out of her! And poor Ron is struggling so badly in this. He's not quite ready to grow up that much and he's desperately hoping that Hermione isn't going to make him.

I imagine that the only memories Harry could possibly have of his parents are the emotional variety. Feelings of tenderness and security. Poor guy had to live without that for a long time...

I love your thought process on Harry and Ginny. Mostly because it's the exact same as mine!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this. sophie seemed rather pleased with it, as well. Thanks again for organizing such a fun, rewarding challenge and thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>