Reading Reviews for Decoding the Tutshill Tornados
  
287 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LP The One with the New Code

23rd July 2014:
Hah! I knew you took King Henrik from Lundqvist!

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore The One with the Distractions

11th July 2014:
This isn't really relevant for the chapter review, unfortunately, but how awesome is Fangirl? I swear that everyone who reads on here should read it - and I did actually think of authors like you when I was reading it, in comparison to Cath ;)

Oh, Nia. I didn't expect to see her back, to be honest, but at least she didn't try and kiss James or anything like that. (Yet.) And she's being helpful, and letting them know some of the plans to hurt him - I think. You've got me in such a state about this story and the plan to take down James that I'm suspecting everyone except James and Avery right now. I can't deal with this for much longer!

By the way, do you have any idea how long this story is going to be yet? If it's as long as BTQC and keeps up the tension like this for that amount of time, I'm not sure I'll be able to cope... :P

So, I'm liking the honesty that's arisen from this distraction. One of the things I love about this story is that you're never afraid to show James's insecurities, no matter how much James tries to hide them from other people. It doesn't surprise me that Avery is ready and James isn't, but I like the fact you've twisted something that's usually the other way around in stories and made James the vulnerable one who isn't ready for that stage of the relationship yet. It's something I don't think I've seen in FF before, and another brilliant aspect of your work.

Oh my goodness - that ending! I'm sure that you're determined to make me go prematurely grey with all the tension and suspense in this story, and we're only 16 chapters in - the season hasn't even started yet! I hope that Amy's okay, and that it wasn't because of James that she was hurt!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore The One with Fern

11th July 2014:
Oh no. Oh no, oh no, oh no. The return of David Flynn! I'm starting to regret nominating him for best villain now - I really didn't want him to turn up again and start ruining things (or continue ruining them) for James and Avery! (I don't regret nominating it at all, by the way, but I don't want David Flynn back - that can never be good news!)

It might be because it's been a while since I read BTQC, but I can't really remember exactly what gives David Flynn his influence over everyone in the Quidditch world, from the sounds of it. He's not just sinister and mean, he's awful - what sort of man makes his own daughter's life miserable just because he doesn't like James Potter, her boyfriend (husband) all that much? It's crazy, and I feel so sorry for Avery suffering through training and not actually getting any training because she's having to do stupid things like pick up litter. Ugh. David Flynn. Someone needs to use Ron's slug charm on him!

The prison scene was unnerving. I just can't work out what on earth Mason could be doing to benefit David Flynn while he's in prison - to what extent is he still in control, even though he's locked up? It's almost like he's a mafia boss, or something, and still has people answering to him no matter what. Gulp. I don't like the sound of this plan that they have to take James down, whatever it is. It can't be good, especially not if it's already in motion...

Ah yes, Avery! What a great girl! I'm glad she's taking care of herself (she can probably do it better than James, to be honest), but at the same time, there's a niggling feeling in the back of my mind... David Flynn knows his daughter, and he knows the sort of things she'll do in revenge - what if that's just playing into his hands, and it's all part of his plan? Ah, I have to read on and find out!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore The One with the Birthday

11th July 2014:
Aw, I really feel sorry for James after this chapter! The poor guy just can't catch a break - not only is everything he does tracked in the media, but he gets kidnapped and beaten up on his 18th birthday, and wakes up with dead animals on him... ugh, poor James!

Emerson and Mason definitely don't do things by halves, do they? I'm not entirely sure what their real reasons behind it were, except for jealousy, but they seriously need help. I guess James could be quite annoying if you didn't get to see in his head (which we do, and he's actually awesome), but nothing that justifies what they did! I can't wait to see James and Avery and the others get the two of them back - it should be great! Although I'll admit I am worried about this mention of David again, he's a real antagonist...

Aw, I'm so glad that James did get to go to his birthday party in the end! It's so much fun to read the story from his point of view anyway, but drunk James is absolutely hilarious, and I've missed him - I don't think he's been around for a while! (Well, he's been drunk, but not while narrating :P). And the mention of Bink and Rose was really interesting - it'll be good to see how they progress when Rose has to go back to school. Poor Bink - things aren't going well for him in any area of his life right now, it seems...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore The One with the Kidnapping

11th July 2014:
Oh. Wow, okay. I did not expect that to happen next in this story... somehow you have a talent of still surprising me with your plots (despite the chapter titles) even when I've read hundreds of the chapters you've actually written...

I can understand why James was upset with the way he came home to find his family watching the video and talking about him, but maybe his reaction was a little over the top? I don't know, I guess James can be quite dramatic at times :P But it was great to see Harry come along and try and make it up to him!

I actually love the way that you write Harry so much right now. I have to agree with him on so many things that he says, especially the stuff about the lack of necessity for a code and this:
You're going to find a way to get back at Mason because karma is for Hufflepuffs.
This, clearly, is why I'm in Gryffindor! Mason definitely needs to be got back at, and that's even without what happens later in the chapter...

Okay, so the KIDNAP! I didn't see that coming, which is stupid because I should have done with the chapter title. But when I read about the secret plans for James's birthday, I thought, like him, that it was Bink and Fred. Until they didn't answer him, because I'm sure even they couldn't have kept quiet for that long. How on earth did Mason and Emerson team up and find out how to get James alone? I'm really worried about what they're going to do to him now, and whether he'll manage to get away... hopefully his family and friends manage to find him!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore The One with the Fundraiser

11th July 2014:
Ah, of course things wouldn't work out for James and Avery and the press would have found out pretty much as soon as they got married! It's typical, really - I also suspect that you like torturing them a little bit too much :P

To be honest, I can understand Ginny's reaction, and I think it's reasonable. James may have been trying to be responsible and mature and deal with his problems himself instead of running off to the nearest adult to help him, but you can't deny the fact that he didn't tell her that he'd married Avery, and even after all she's done for him and supported him through, she had to find out from a reporter. So I think she's being reasonable, if a little unfair, trying to ground James and the rest of the family ignoring him!

Having said that, I do think James has dealt with the situation pretty well, actually trying to do something for himself instead of relying on everyone else to sort it. It's not worked out, but I'm quite proud of him too!

The fundraiser was a really lovely idea, and I think it's great that you've included something like this in your story, because it's one of the topics that's avoided a lot of the time in fanfiction. It also shows a much deeper side to James, and while the media attention is going to be focused on him and Avery being married, it's clear that he holds more important values as well. The fundraiser was really sad but I felt like it was a fitting tribute to Nathan.

I'm looking forward to seeing how they deal with married life!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodore The One with the Vows

11th July 2014:
Oh my goodness, I'm so behind on this story and I can't even believe how much I've missed James and Avery now that I've had a chance, finally, to come back and read more of them! You just write so well and the characters in your stories always come to life, so I've missed this story a lot.

Ah, so James and Avery are married! That's a big change, and I can't work out what it's going to mean for them in terms of their Quidditch - surely there's a difference between dating and being married to a Quidditch player from another team? I hope so!

Oh my goodness, I cannot believe that they got married in a magical chapel and that their ceremony was officiated by someone dressed as Merlin! That's so brilliant and funny - how do you even come up with these things? Apparently, Italy is the wizarding equivalent of Vegas...

I'm so glad that we got to see the video of their wedding, since we didn't see the wedding itself. It's definitely not how things would traditionally be done and something I suspect they wouldn't have got round to for a long time, but I loved seeing how much they love each other, even if they were drunk and James was swaying all over the place!

They're right, though. Seventeen is definitely a little young to be married and there being no way to get out of it for a whole month...

I didn't like that judge, not at all, although I can kind of understand his frustration because he probably does see quite a lot of people like James (or that he thinks are like James) in there, trying to get their marriages annulled. But I can't believe that there's that 30 day clause on the marriage contract! I suspect that keeping this quiet is not going to go well...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by DancingMooncalf The One with the Distractions

30th June 2014:
Oh bugger. I think you should know I have a headache from reading so much, a stomach ache from lauching so much and a haert ache for poor James who doesn't seem to be allowed easy happiness. And then you stop the chapter on this cliff, letting us hang in here hurting all over from the effort of not falling down in the depts of pondering depression.
I just have to let you know that over the past few days I read my way through the entire BTQC and all the currently published chapters of DTTT. It has left me wanting more!
I have not left many reviews, sorry about that, but I really couldn't stop reading for long enough to get a review down. That might sound like a lame excuse, but ask by roommates, I have literally been read non stop (okay, with the occational stop to eat or sleep a few hours.)
I have grown to love you character though. At the start of BTQC I found James to be a bit arogant, which he was, but that is so his natural form it is acutally endearing (I suggest you don't tell him I said that though. he might not like me for that unmanly phrase!) I also managed to understand his insecureties, which are why he acts all bigheaded sometimes. I love how you display them. He is a really strong (sometimes stupid and stubborn) personality and I acctually feel like he could be a real guy. If he was I would really want to meet him btw.
I do love Avery. I loved her al along. Long before James realized why he cared so much. She is a wonderful girl. One of those genuinely nice but down to earth people that can make light of everything. I think her and I could be friends... but than again I'm not that good at Quidditch... we wouldn't have much in common there.
I am also very happy for Fred and Amy. which is making this cliffhanger so much worst. And if you see Bink sulking around tell him to tell Rose himself, he has to at some point. And she has to be nice for once. She can try and do that.
I do wish Lily good luck with her team... and I do wish to kick mr. Flynn were it hurts.
Also. can Avery decide she doesn't mind staying married. They are incredibly cute together, her and James. Now I know they are still a bit young, byt does it really matter. It has not changed their relationship that much.
They have a bit of a Rachel-Ross relationship, don't they. Only they are a bit more rational. I have a feeling that is going to change thouhg. Last time when I breathed a 'finally' in regards to their relationship it all blew up in chips and bits. I don't dare getting my hopes up. to delicate.
Send all my love to James, he needs it. Give the others a bit too on second thought. I don't want them to get jalous.

That will be the end of my ramble. I love your story, your writing and most of all your incredible talent. Wish I could borrow some.

Please update as quick as you can!!!
Love, Maya

 Report Review

Review #9, by javu The One with the Distractions

26th June 2014:
Love. Love. Love.

I absolutely love your characterization of James -- so engaging. I literally read this fic and the prequel in two days. Be proud.

Mason Mucker, Dweebson, Gitson, Dirpson ...?

 Report Review

Review #10, by fiascofire The One with the Distractions

21st June 2014:
Just yesterday I wrote you a review on the last chapter of BTCC stating that I was glad I found it after you had finished writing it.

This chapter is a perfect example as to why that is the case.

However, it's probably a good thing that it takes a while to get these chapters up. It lets me focus on my life and not James' or Avery's (especially now that my boss is back from leave).

Very well done, very fun read. You even got me to tear up a bit during the fundraising chapter. Not an easy feat, I assure you. Not only that, but I ended up making an account just so that I can get notified when you post more chapters.

You are very talented. Again, thanks for putting these stories up.

- Mark

 Report Review

Review #11, by jack The One with the Distractions

10th June 2014:
I enjoy this story. I like the vast majority of this chapter. I have some issues with the revelation of Aves V-card was. I figured that she did not have it. You have gone a little overboard on James being the only virgin among his male peers, and it would have just been him and aves amoung their peers in general. its also unlikely that two people who are 18 years old would lose it together, especially in this story. the fact that she finally tells him after all this time and has finally mentioned that she is ready is however less believable, i mean she does know what she is missing. The fact that it was lost to a character we never met feels like a cop out as. my main issue might be the random hook up over summer cliche. I do like the scene with their talk, but in all reality this scene should have been in the last story rather then this on. At least you did have James mention that the conversation should have already happened. Another issue i have is that i have apparently been reading her wrong as i didnt think she was a character would have lost it in a random hook-up as in these stories it seems to be done just so there is no fairy tale relationship. To sum up my pointless rant, I have no issues with the fact that she isnt a virgin but i do have issues with how it happened and how long it took for this 'surprise' to come to light. Glad to see Nia again. That brings me to another issue, I do not see how a Potter can have that much difficulty when it comes to quiditch politics. I am usually able to dismiss the feeling, but i wasnt able to during this chapter for some reason. I hope blink is alright by the way i would not have had an issue if he was the one who you said aves lost it with. we know that he has had secret relationships, he is her friend, it would create drama, and most importantly he is an established character.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ohmymerlin The One with the Distractions

31st May 2014:
[heavy breathing]

oh god

what's going to happen

and ahh James being for real about not being ready! I'm so glad to see that you have a story where the boy isn't ready! I actually don't know any guys like that in real life but I know that there are guys like that and I love to see it being portrayed! But it really made me laugh when he was in the lingerie store! :P

Also, I wonder what on earth is happening with Bink! I'm so curious!

Anyway, I really liked this chapter! I can't wait to read the next one! :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 The One with the Distractions

31st May 2014:
NOT AMY OH MY GOD NOT AMY PLEASE LET HER BE OKAY! Oh boy poor James all he wanted to do was play quidditch! Why is Avery's dad such a freaking menace?? Can't he leave people alone?? And this whole code thing about dating other people like it makes more sense to ban inter team dating!!! The rest of the league should be fair game!! They're all adults it's just aggravating haha. Anyways I LOVE YOUR STORY, I didn't think anything could be as awesome as BTQC but your sequel is turning out perfectly! I can't wait for another update!

10/10

Clea

 Report Review

Review #14, by FredAndGeorgeAreAwesome The One with the Distractions

31st May 2014:
I love the way the story has gone, and I still think you're an amazing writer. Now that I'm up to date on this series I can't wait for you to release more. I have dedicated the last 3 or 4 days of my life to reading BTQC and DTTT. These are great stories and I cannot begin to express how much I really like them. This is a great look into James's life, and I think Avery is an amazing character. I'm worried about Amy. When James is stressed about his life I stress too. Now that is a sign of an amazing piece of writing. Keep your amazing story going because I can't wait to read more

 Report Review

Review #15, by James2009 The One with the Distractions

29th May 2014:
Great Chapter like always! I just can't understand why James won't turn to Harry for help. I mean I understand but at the same time I don't, very frustrating feeling. I feel that Harry can help James through all of this, and it is not fun watching James throw away his personal and professional life because he thinks he doesn't need help.
Hopefully things will start working out soon, cause its sad to see someone as good-hearted as James and Avery suffer.
All the best,
James2009

 Report Review

Review #16, by hai The One with the Distractions

28th May 2014:
ahh loved this. the lingerie scene was cute. worried for the next chapter though. sorry this is so short :P its really late.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Tom The One with the Distractions

27th May 2014:
Really Aves? Francis? Avery you were supposed to wait for James, there would have been fireworks and happiness and James commentating on it like a Quidditch match...
James, man up, take care of business, then go home to your loving wife and go at it like you're supposed to do at Hogwarts.

 Report Review

Review #18, by omgjamespotter The One with the Distractions

26th May 2014:
ga;fa omg javery feels ~AALL THE WAY

like james is so precious and avery is so nice about it and i KNEW she didn't have her v-card!!! seriously wth francis, who do you even think you are…

Also can I just say how amazing it was that James didn't start freaking out and try to kill francis? he is growing up so fast

And amy?? No! Ahh! Aww Freddie!

and YAY NIA THAT JUST MADE MY WEEK. WELCOME BACK YOU.

Sorry I just had to get that rambling out… whooo. Ok.

I'm really really excited about how this story is moving because throughout all these years you have always remained so true to your characters, and that is super refreshing. One of my favorite parts of BTQC and DTTT ever was when James and avery are sitting on the couch, and he confesses his love and stuff… it was just so breathtaking and simple, but perfect, because it fit exactly with how we all imagined it to be. I'm also so SO glad you didn't make james immediately jump into bed with avery after that talk, because it really makes us appreciate how special and caring james is.

Seriously I just love you and this so much, and I'm really thankful for the update.



 Report Review

Review #19, by omgjamespotter The One with Fern

21st May 2014:
Back about a year ago, I started reading BTQC. I think that time it wasn't completed, but very near done; and I read the whole thing in about a day. That is a credit to your amazing writing, which literally keeps me on the edge of my seat and makes it incredibly easy to fall in love with all of your characters. Since I first read it, though, I stopped reading HPFF regularly.

However, I have come back every once in a while to catch up on my favorite stories, and every time I end up binge-reading BTQC - the entire thing, and also DTTT.

I know a lot of people say stuff like that, almost in a cocky way, like "Wow, I'm so good, I can read 50 chapter fanfics super fast" - every time I hear that I just internally groan - but seriously, the reason I am able to read your fanfics so quickly has absolutely zero to do with me: they are incredibly compelling and well-written, and that is all to do with you.

I've also read Hide and Seek and Keep Away, but this series will always be a favorite of mine.

For me, I think the main reason for this is that James and Avery are both amazing individually, but even better together. Let me just start with James, because what the hell, that boy is actually the greatest. You would think that he might be a bit cliche, with the way he is obsessed with Quidditch and pretends not to be emotional or whatever - like the "no i can't LOVE her, I have to think manly" type stuff in crappy fics these days - but your James is just so refreshingly real and complex that it doesn't come across this way at all. I think, also, that one of the greatest examples of why James is so great is in the way Avery is described in the story: obviously, we all love her so much, because she comes off in such a bad af, lovable, emotional way - but we also can't forget that it is from James's POV that she is described. He obviously just looks up to her so much and basically treats her like a goddess, and it just shows how much he values her - I wish all guys were like this, hahah. Not saying that Avery is any less amazing - she might just be my favorite anyways. I mean, how can you not love Avery?? I don't think there are many people who would say that they wouldn't want to be similar to her if they could.

Anyways, I just felt like this review was long since overdue, seeing as I haven't written any of those times I've binge-read this story. I hope you update soon because your chapter preview sounds very compelling!!

Thank you so much for the consistency you have in writing this story and just for sticking with it - it honestly restores my faith in there being well-written HPFF, lol.

Ella

 Report Review

Review #20, by 12tmnt34 The One with Fern

21st May 2014:
I just signed up for an account here so I could write this review. I spent the last 2 weeks binge-reading this and BTQC (great btw) for the simple reason that it is awesome. Great stuff! While the style isn't exactly JK Rowling, its some of the most believable (in context of canon books) that I've ever read.

That being said, where is James going with this? Clearly he's in over his head - at some point he's going to realize he needs help from someone responsible, right? Henrik? Harry? Neville?

PS: Is 'King Henrik' a reference to Henrik Lundqvist (also a keeper/captain who is ridiculously good looking)?

Cheers! Looking forward to an update.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Anon The One with Fern

4th May 2014:
This is my absolute favorite story ever. It's so funny. Love it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ruby_slippers The One with Fern

28th April 2014:
Ahahaha Avery is the greatest!
"She did. I found out the next morning when Avery sauntered in and tossed Emerson's St Mungo's bracelet on my chest. "One down." She said. "He won't be asking me to dinner any time soon.""
Such a crack up.
I reckon James should go to his dad now. This definitely wouldn't make him look soft this is a pretty massive problem hey. Anyway can't wait to see where you take this - love your work!
God Bless
x

 Report Review

Review #23, by QkStephen The One with Fern

27th April 2014:
Man o Man I love your work. David Flynn seems to be
the character I love to hate

 Report Review

Review #24, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 The One with Fern

23rd April 2014:
I knew I always loved Avery, but this story... She's a goddess 😘

I HAVENT REVIEWED OR READ IN FOREVER AHHH IM SO SORRY! I love your stories!!! I just was super busy, but I'm kind of really sick right now so more time to read lol. So keep working! This is already a beautiful sequel! I love how James and everyone especially Bink are dealing with leaving hogwarts, it makes the story so much more real. Fred and Amy are the couple I would like to be one day lol. Well I have lots of time to do absolutely nothing now, so keep updating! But no pressure :)

10/10 because you're brilliant!

Clea

 Report Review

Review #25, by AgentPH22 The One with Fern

22nd April 2014:
Yay!!! You updated that means you're alive! Pretty please with sugar on top update sooner I cannot deal with the wait

Author's Response: Yes, I'm alive :) Thank you for the review! I'm actually updating 3 stories (it was four, but I just finished one) so I update them in order. That's usually why it takes a bit longer for one story to be updated.

I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>